Title : Anya and the Shy Guy
Author : Suze Winegardner
Series : Backstage Pass #4)
Rating : 4 Stars
Blurb : It’s always the quiet ones…Anya Anderson doesn’t just need a big break, she needs any break. Living on the streets doesn’t leave a girl many options, so when she scores a gig reporting on the Seconds to Juliet tour, she jumps at the chance to earn enough money to sleep somewhere safe. And the paycheck will get bigger—and keep her off the streets for good—if she can dig up dirt on Will Fray, the irritatingly hot “shy guy” of the band. Problem is, Will Fray isn’t who everyone thinks he is. In fact, he’s not Will at all. Matt, Will’s identical twin, is actually the guy onstage, reluctantly covering for his brother while he’s in rehab. To make matters worse, Matt’s being shadowed by a cute reporter with troubled eyes determined to get the scoop. On him. And he’s having trouble finding the willpower to keep his distance…But if the secret gets out, it won’t just be his head on a platter—it’ll be the whole band’s. This Entangled Teen Crush book contains steamy make out scenes, graphic language, and a love story so hot your copy may spontaneously burst into flames. You’ve been warned.
Review : I had the pleasure of reading Anya and the Shy Guy by Suze Winegardner the 4th novel in the series around the Band s2J (seconds to Juliet). Each book is written by a different author and could be read as a standalone.
The fact that each book is written by a different author is the plus as well as the minus for this series. While I did not read the first two – I read the third one and I must say that “Anya and the Shy Guy” is written totally different from “Daisy and the Front Man”.
Which is a plus for me as I was missing out on some things in the last book. This book felt much more complete in its story. On the other side – the minus one – I feel that those books are too independent from each other. As I said – without reading the first two – I cannot speak for the whole series – but those two I read have barley a connection with each other. They are only connected with a few basic facts and the names of the characters.
Which is actually a shame as there could be much more inside these books if they were more connected with each other. Do not get me wrong – I like series books that are still readable on their own but I still need to feel that there actually were other books and I need to feel that I was missing out NOT reading them. But in this series the complete feeling for the characters you developed in the last book was wiped clean and the guys I got to know in “Daisy and the Front Man” were barely the same persons I met here.
Honestly I liked the plot and the writing around Will, and the story was actually better developed than book 3. In fact the writing style was fluent and the development within the story was great…but still … without the authors getting the story closer together this series will never be a 5 star read for me – which it could accomplish IF the books became more close to each other.
I understand how difficult it is to write such novels with several authors – really – but still it is possible to transfer more of each characters behavior and story from one book to the next.
Still – I am intrigued enough to find myself wanting to read the next one and I believe Suze Winegardner is an author to keep an eye on as her writing is really good and should not be judged alone on the fact of this series …
> > > I have received this book as an ARC from the publisher. < < < > > > In exchange, I promised an honest review. < < <
Cliffhanger : (KLICK to find out) !!!
HEA? : Series still continues (KLICK to find out) !!!

Be The First To Share ....