Title :

Fighting for Devlin

Author :

Jessica Lemmon

Series :

Lost Boys #1

Rating :

4 Stars

Blurb :

Devlin Calvary makes his own luck. Orphaned as a young child, he was taken in by a crew of bookies and gamblers—and they became his family. They’re the reason Dev’s running a trendy bistro, living in a high rise, and enjoying the good life with a string of women who never ask for too much. Until, one night, he finds out how much it hurts to trust the wrong people. . . .Rena Lewis sticks to the straight and narrow, determined not to slip up again . . . like the terrible night of partying four years ago that ended in tragedy. A waitress at Oak & Sage, she knows that sleeping with her boss is not a smart move. But when Dev shows up on her doorstep, beat up and clearly shaken, Rena’s not about to turn him down . . . or kick him out of bed.Dev reawakens something primal within her—a need to go wild. And Rena soon finds out that the heart she’d sealed away years ago still has the power to fight for love.

Review :

The first two actions I took after reading Fighting for Devlin by Jessica Lemmon? Easy answer…

first : check when the next part is due to be release and I am NOT amused because I saw it was due in Dec. 2016 – which is by far to long
second: check up on other books from this author and add some to my huge TBR pile.
I guess this action alone gives away some of my opinion on this book. SO yes it was a good read. I am always carful when I read recommendations in a blurb that state “ perfect for “ or “fans of… will love”.
But in this special case I can follow the assumptions of the blurb that it would be perfect for fans of Katy Evans. I am not sure though if I agree with the relation to “Christina Lauren”. I would have mentioned more something like Devlin being a nicer version of Jodi Ellen Malpas Jesse Ward. In a “distant cousin” kind of way. Devlin can not really be compared to Jesse as a character, it is more this darkness looming around him that reminds me of Jesse. Very difficult to explain – sorry .
I really liked the plot and the characters were developed quite good. Even if I have to admit that I feel the balance in this development between Rena and Devlin was off. I felt as a reader I received much more Intel about Devlin than about Rena and that was a point I regretted.
But in total this is a really great book and I can only recommend it to all readers that like Katy Evans characters and writing style.
reviewed by