Tags

,

Title : Code of Honor
Author : Missy Johnson
Series : Spontagio Family, #1
Rating : 3 Stars
 
Blurb : In a series debut for fans of Tracy Wolff and Sylvia Day, New York Times bestselling author Missy Johnson asks a burning question: What happens when love is undeniable—and taboo? Pietro Gustovi is loyal, polished, and hard as stone, the kind of guy women want and men respect. At twenty-three, he’s survived tragedies that would break men twice his age. And he owes it all to his father’s closest friend, Giovanni Spontagio, who took him in as an orphaned teenager. Pietro would give his life for Giovanni . . . but his heart belongs to Giovanni’s daughter. Raised in Chicago under the spotlight of power and privilege, Lucy Spontiago feels most alive on stage. Determined to become a prima ballerina, she escapes her father’s protective gaze long enough to audition for the ballet in New York City. Soon, however, Lucy realizes that she is not alone. Pietro is watching her back. And though he’s like a brother to her, Lucy cannot deny the thrill she feels knowing his eyes are on her. Pietro could never betray his mentor by sleeping with his only child. But Lucy follows her passions, no matter how forbidden. Soon their nights are consumed by explosive, red-hot temptation—a dance that will expose shocking secrets and burn everything else to the ground.
 
Review : I thought that Code of Honor by Missy Johnson might be an interesting read for me when I received this ARC, but even if the writing was good I totally could not connect with the characters and the story.
The pace is rather slow and its only in the second half of the book that “stuff” is really starting to happen. I could not feel the Mafia part so much that was supposed to be there and well … about the sex … no I am not going to spoiler, let’s just say that there were some things I could not relate to.
But still the basic concept was OK therefore my rating remains on the rather positive side of the scale.
 
> > > I have received this Book as an ARC from the Publisher < < < > > > In Exchange I promised an honest Review < < <