Tags

, ,

 

 

Hart of Mine (Cale & Mickey #4)

 

  

Hart of Mine
Cale & Mickey #4
Annie Arcane
 June 25th 2017

 

God, this woman drives me insane.

In all of the good, most of the bad, and some of the ugliest ways imaginable. But it doesn’t matter because she’s mine. My little sadist. My crazy girl. My beautiful wife.

And you don’t ever f*ck with what’s mine.

Warning: Strong language, mature content, drama, and angst included. Shirt sold separately.

This novella is an adult contemporary romance featuring a disabled hero who (still) happens to be a rich and sexy alpha male with a potty mouth.

Cale and Mickey: Book 4 of 4

 

 

 

Wow – there are many thoughts swirling in my mind after I finished that book . First and most important – I did not want that story to end. It felt special – not just because of the characters but also because of the writing style.

I am careful when it comes to comparisons. Often I read lines like “if you liked book “x” you are going to love book “y” which basically compares writing styles or authors directly. And once I finished reading book “y” I felt there was nothing similar about the books. More often than not it left me kind of angry or disappointed. Which resulted in maybe unfair reviews? or undeserved critic? For the book in question. If that is true though I will never know because who knows what would have happened if I had read that specific book without having a certain expectation that was based on that comparison.

And here is a gem about those comparisons .. LUCKY for this book … I read the comparison AFTER I read the book “Fans of Me Before You and Flowers from the Storm will appreciate this” – Seriously ? Comparing this book to “Me Before You” leads readers to a totally different Idea and considering the how the plotline develops. Lets say “Even though I loved Me Before You – it destroyed me in a way that I most probably would have never picked up this book if I had read THAT comparison before”. ( I do not know the other book and the only thing that I take from this comparison is that I will check what that other book is about *lol*)

As you can imagine there is a BUT and here it comes. There are tons of Genres and even after decades of reading (yeah I am THAT old #laughing) and years of reviewing I find it hard to understand some of the genre titles out there so sometimes it is easier to compare a book/author to another book/author to give other readers an better understanding of the genre. And this is one of those cases because the authors that write this style are few and far in-between. Actually only one comes to my mind and that is Ruth Madison and her writing style is totally different.

I love tortured / disabled leads / heroes – and the moment when I discover an new author that writes in that genre its like Christmas to me. And I just had my Christmas in July- and YES I am super serious about that.

Most reviewer recount a book plot and add their thoughts to it in their reviews. I am more of a “voicing my feelings” kind of a reviewer. But reading this book I honestly almost felt TO (insert swearword ) much…. And I usually do not quote from books in my reviews but with these books I feel the need to share with you the depth of feelings … I think this one is my favorite amongst others from the first book.

 

The morning after never looks anywhere near as beautiful as the night before. Sometimes, it’s downright ugly. Because you can finally see everything. The cracks in the foundation. The shattered pieces. The old scars. The fresh wounds. The bloodshed. The carnage. And trust me, hearts don’t break without carnage. A lot of freakin’ carnage. And you just want to run. Because you don’t want to look… But it’s the only way that you can assess the damage.

 

I felt that need so much that when I noticed on goodreads that there were no quotes yet saved for this series I stopped writing this review and started copying from my kindle notes all sorts of marks I made just so that fellow readers will be able to get an idea what they will be facing while reading this story….

The writing style of this book is so unique … I admit it confused me sometimes because it took a second to find out who was talking to the reader but the way it was written was just mind-blowing …

Trying to come up with something I did not like – well the only thing that comes to my mind is the length of part 2-3-4. If I may be honest I am not a fan of those novella sized books – she should have simply told the bundled the story to 2 books … OR she is willing to write another 200 pages I would not mind a 3 book …. #laughing

I hope this author will continue this way of writing for a long time and I hope to read many more books from her…. OH and Ms. Arcane in case you read this – here comes a line you will not hear often from me in a review because I never have enough hours for the pile of books I am requested to review …

DEAR AUTHOR… if you ever need someone on your ARC reading team or even an Beta Reader (but I only do timeline and plot checks no editing) … please contact me … I would love to apply for that job …

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken