ARC’s

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Fake Fiancée by Ilsa Madden-Mills

Fake Fiancée by Ilsa Madden-Mills

July 24, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fake Fiancée

 

 

 

Ilsa Madden-Mills

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

February 6th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A new standalone romance from Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author Ilsa Madden-Mills…They say nothing compares to your first kiss,But our first kiss was orchestrated for an audience.Our second kiss…that one was REAL.He cradled my face like he was terrified he’d f*ck it up.He stared into my eyes until the air buzzed.Soft and slow, full of sighs and little laughs,He inhaled me like I was the finest Belgian chocolate,And he’d never get another piece.A nip of his teeth, his hand at my waist…And I was lost.I forgot he was paying me to be his fake fiancée.I forgot we weren’t REAL.Our kiss was pure magic, and before you laugh and say those kinds of kisses don’t exist…Then you’ve never touched lips with Max Kent, the hottest quarterback in college history. Get ready for breathtaking kisses, dreamy football players, a heroine who yearns for the guy she can’t have, and a hero who will do anything for the girl he loves…

 

 

 

 

 

Having read and enjoyed Dirty English and Filthy English by Ilsa Madden-Mills it was not farfetched to assume that I also might like Fake Fiancée which is the newest novel by this author. It seems that this author is getting better and better with each book and if it is not a subject that is totally against me likes it seems fair to assume that she might be a safe “one-click-to-buy” in future.

 

Her writing is so engaging and her characters are so alive that they seem to leave the book and fill your surrounding while your reading. At first I was a little hesitant about the subject and wondered how it would be approached but. But my worries soon disappear as the author approached the subject head on just like the previous books I read from her.

 

Sunny, Max the secondary characters – well actually the whole setting felt so real I could hardly put down the book while reading and I can truly hardy wait to get the next book by this author in my hands. I need to engage with the characters of a book to really enjoy myself and this author makes it so easy for you – a true MUST READ

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Story of Us by D. Nichole King

The Story of Us by D. Nichole King

 
 

July 22, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Story of Us

 

 

 

D. Nichole King

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

February 9th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Moments.

Every life is made of thousands of them, each one strung together with the next. Some are yellow and happy, some are blue and sad, and some…Some wipe out color altogether.“I love you,” is what I should have told Maverick.“I’m sorry.”“I’m still fighting.”Instead I just watched him leave.Now my husband, my everything is battling for each breath, and all I can do is stare at the machines as the clock ticks off precious minutes.The doctors said the first twenty-four hours are critical—but every moment is critical.You never know which will be your last.This is our story, and I’m not ready for it to end.

 

 

 

 

 

When I read THE STORY OF US by D. Nichole King all I could think about was … She must have experienced something like this or know someone who has.

 

There is no way you could write something like this in such a way without having the misfortune of a personal experience.

 

Because of the very special way the story is told basically everything about this story hurt. And it hurt a lot. It felt so real … this story could be you, me, anybody.

 

At times again I thought that I will hopefully never find myself in such a situation. But in the blink of an eye anything can change and and the only hope is that when it happens you will have no regrets.

 

We walk through little more than 2 years in the life of the leading characters – we follow their building relationship, in a “now and then kind” of telling.

 

With the focus and starting point of the now where we find them at the crossroads from several points of views that will be revealed during reading.

 

The setting is gut-wrenching and I felt that hart and cold steel cramp around my body that would not let me breath at times.

 

One session deep into the night was all it took for me to finish this book as I could not find a point where I was comfortable enough to stop reading to go to sleep.

 

That being said … please feel this book as much as I did … 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF RELEASE REVIEW

Review – Locked Out by Anna Chastain

Locked Out Book Cover Locked Out
Anna Chastain
contemporary romance
19.06.2018
ebook

My name is Holly O'Brian and I am a cautionary tale.
I saw a sexy man across the bar, I let him walk me home, and now I'm pregnant.
Obviously, I left out a few minor details, but I think you get the idea.
I've lived a quiet adult life: high school librarian by day, book editor by night (glamorous, I know), and I was fine with it. I loved my jobs, I loved my cute little house...so why did I tempt the fates and go all cave woman over Dean Slade and drag him home with me by the hair (okay, that's a slight exaggeration)?
Well, he is the most handsome man I've ever laid eyes on, it's true. He is broody and gruff and so, so sexy, also true. And the storm that hovers in his eyes, I can't help but want to be the calm to, at least for one night.
So I guess there is no answer, I guess I followed my heart (a.k.a., my loins) and decided to spend a night with a sexy Marine.
Only now I'm pregnant. And I have to tell him. And I have to let his family into my life. And I have to figure out how I'm going to make room in my schedule for a big, stupid, sexy Marine. Oh. My. Lanta, my life.

 

I am a mixed bag of emotions on this one.

So be patient with me.

I have read all of Anna Chastain’s books and I have enjoyed all of them, but it seems that here this book wasn’t for me.

The first time we meet Holly and Dean it is in Locked In and I was dying to see what these two were going to get up to.

They spend one night of passion and then two pink lines pop up a couple of weeks later. Holly sees Grace, Dean’s sister in a café and blurts out that she is pregnant and so it all begins. Holly has more time to acclimatize to becoming a parent. Dean has some problems at the beginning, but he really does try to get his head on straight.

He does behave like a douchecanoe but I do understand his point of view in the matter. Now let me get to the lovely, funny, infuriating, immature and selfish Holly. There is having pride and then there is Holly anymore false pride and yes, I would have decked a pregnant woman ß no need to hate, I’m kidding kind of. Holly’s inner monologue and her inability to accept help from people who want to help just grated on me so much.  I thought we were making progress and then she’d pull something silly.

It depicts how to strangers must come to terms and adjust that they will be in both of their lives forever. The struggles are real for both couples and this book is as close to RL as you can get which is refreshing.

To be honest this is all ME and not the book. My love for romance is currently waning Take my review with a pinch of salt and give the truly talented Ms. Chastain a chance as she writes down to earth and light bantered romance with some angst.

I would most certainly read other books by AC once they have been released and if she was to approach me again.

 

2 Replies
4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Start Over: A Novel (Start Again Series #2) by J. Saman

Start Over: A Novel (Start Again Series #2) by J. Saman

 
 

July 23, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Start Over: A Novel

 

 

 

J. Saman

 

 

 

Start Again Series #2

 

 

 

2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like to play by the rules. But when I get coaxed into crashing a party, I run into the last man I ever thought I’d see again, my one and only one-night stand, Luke Walker. It’s been ten years since we’ve seen each other, but our chemistry is just as palpable as it was that night so long ago. Only problem is, I’m leaving in one month for a pediatric fellowship across the country.

I like to keep everything close to my chest. But when I see Ivy Green again, the woman I was never able to get out of my mind, I want her. It doesn’t matter that my dark past and dangerous present mean I can’t keep her. That my secrets would destroy any shot at a real future. After all, she’s leaving in a month. What’s the worst that could happen?

Warning: strong language and moderate sexual content

 

 

 

 

 

There was a lot that surprised me about this book and one thing I could not get over. Let’s start with the obvious thing that is no secret from the blurb. Its the one thing I could not get over – that was the instant attraction that sparked between the leads.

 

It bugged me – the author placed so much feelings into this novel that this instant attraction did not fit into the plot somehow.  It might have if it had been introduced differently but the way it was done did not work that well with me, which is why it ended at 4 stars in my rating . 

 

After I was struggeling with this instant elements I was surprised by the depth of development that followed. There were a ton of struggles for the leads in general.  And the baggage Luke carries is not easy to swallow that is for sure.

 

Yet both characters get a second chance and they will make use of that chance, it will not be without hurt and they will need to work their way to a mess of their own creation as well as a mess that is out of their hands.

 

Some revelations will shock you – well at least they shocked me – others are to be expected when you follow the plot.

 

There were moments when I wished for a little more background on what was happening and why but for the most part the story is well developed and written.

 

Therefore I can definitely recommend this book for lovers of second chances that do not hesitate to stick to their leads even if the road gets rough 

 

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Singe (Guardian Protection #1) by Aly Martinez

Singe (Guardian Protection #1) by Aly Martinez

 
 

July 25, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Singe

 

 

 

Aly Martinez

 

 

 

Guardian Protection #1

 

 

 

February 6th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

She was my nightmare. Every time I closed my eyes, I watched her fall into that inferno. Over and over, I failed to save her.I hadn’t been able to reach her, and the guilt only burned hotter over time. Four years later, I was the unreachable one. Heroes aren’t always saints. Sometimes, we’re nothing more than jaded sinners driven by sleepless nights and hearts full of darkness. And then I met her. She was a dreamer who managed to soothe my scars and heal my wounds. But, as the flames closed in around us, I feared I wasn’t the right man to save her. That is until I realized she was the one woman I’d burn the world down to protect.

 

 

 

 

 

Get the warning signs out

Get the readers into the safe bookstores

Hope that your children will be preoccupied in school, with homework or with their friends – otherwise you are in serious trouble

 

Because Aly Martinex did it AGAIN … She dared to release a book Singe (Guardian Protection #1) by Aly Martinez is out and I must say it left me speechless.

 

If you had asked me before I would have said that it is not possible that her writing style could become even better but here I am shaking my head because she proved me wrong

 

Somehow I don’t want to say anything about the book story because it is so unique that it should be discovered by the reader himself. And in case you read books by her before and liked her style – buy this book I doubt you will regret it.

 

The story is so beautiful as it is ugly and I can not wait to hear more from the secondary characters that we get to know and love here. And I think it is fair to say that I have never encountered a female lead that was so broken and yet so strong at the same time. Incredible piece of writing.

 

MUST READ

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Scars and Tats by Kristi Pelton

Scars and Tats by Kristi Pelton

 
 

July 27, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Scars and Tats

 

 

 

 

Kristi Pelton

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

February 21st 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Scars are tattoos with better stories…

 

A scarred, lonely woman

A curious little boy

One uninvited, tattooed guest

A nasty blizzard

One cabin

Two guns

A set of handcuffs

 

What could possibly go wrong? Mela McKinley fled with her infant son and disappeared four years ago trying to heal the awful scars inside and out. Taking refuge in the mountains of Colorado, not one person had come near their secluded doorstep… though she was prepared for a fight. In the middle of a historic blizzard, little Beck points out the window to a figure approaching in the snow. After hiding Beck…and fully armed, Mela confronts Jackson Winslow and has zero reservations about shooting him, if necessary. Ultimately, saving him from the forces of nature, she takes the uninvited stranger prisoner in her home holding the upper hand. While cautiously tending to him, she realizes how much she has missed a man—though this scarred and tattooed man is not who he seems. Once he has invaded her thoughts in a delicious way, her guard is down and suddenly, the tables are turned and now…it’s his turn. What she doesn’t know is who he really is and what he brings to her doorstep.

 

 

 

 

 

The young mother that is on the run with a baby. Hiding out in the wildness for years. Until that one day that a stranger appears at her doorstep.

 

To be very honest – this story is not a new concept and I am pretty sure I at least saw one movie with that same subject.

 

So I think it is fair to say that there are probably even more books out there featuring the same idea. So what makes this book stand out in what is probably a sea of similar ideas ? It is the enganging writing style of the author .

 

´Scars and Tats by Kristi Pelton is well written and even if I was not conviced at first this book still managed to draw me in after a few chapters and kept me engaged until the End.

 

While it might not have been the most surprising story it was well developed and its characters were deep enough so the reader could relate to them. I would therefore like to recommend this book to you if you like good solid romance with suspense. 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

#1 Crush (#1 Series #1) by T. Gephart

#1 Crush (#1 Series #1) by T. Gephart

 
 

July 26, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#1 Crush

 

 

 

T. Gephart

 

 

 

#1 Series

 

 

 

February 20th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#1 Crush

Tia Monroe was smart, sassy and successful. Sure, she could get a little crazy at times—life around Tia was never boring—but that was part of her appeal. And while she didn’t see herself as ‘classically beautiful’, she had no shortage of options in the boyfriend department. She just hadn’t found one who held her interest.

 

Until she laid eyes on Eric Larsson, and then it was lust at first sight.He packed the perfect mix of smoldering sexy and unapologetic cool into his blond-haired, blue-eyed, ridiculously hot six-foot-four frame. One smile from him was enough to twist her insides, making her girlie bits tingle in the most delicious way. But it wasn’t just his looks, he was smart and funny—charming in the most a-dork-able way.The only problem was . . .

 

Tia had never actually met him.Eric Larsson was one of Hollywood’s hottest movie stars, rising to the top of his game and leaving a trail of disintegrated panties in his wake. Tia’s were no exception—but she wasn’t delusional. Love, marriage and happily-ever-after were not part of her fantasy; she just wanted to meet him. Just one time. One time. Confident that just seeing him in the flesh would get him out of her system.

 

So, with her resolve steeled, Tia set off on a quest to make it happen while avoiding her mug shot being splayed across the five o’clock news.

 

 

 

 

 

Have you ever read a book that you know from the beginning you should not take to seriously but you still had such a good time reading it ?

 

Well I just had that some days ago when I read #1 Crush by T. Gephart. Have you ever really Fan-crushed over a famous person and dreamed of meeting that person ?

 

Well here is THE Book that will guide you through that dream. In the first minute I thought I might have made a mistake in choosing this book as there was a notice that suggested this to be a kind of FanFiction because there was a REAL existing Person used as a base.

 

And maybe this really is a FanFiction of sorts but to be very honest … after a few minutes it was very easy to forget about that specifically mentioned person…

 

And after a few more minutes I simply exchanged that person with an Actor of my personal liking and from that moment on…..

 

Well lets say I was right in the middle of my own girly fantasy and I promise you will be too.

 

The authors engaging writing style will take you there if you let her and you will love it…

 

Trust me…

 

 

Reviewed by

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Changing Lanes by Leaona Luxx

Changing Lanes by Leaona Luxx

 
 

July 29, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Changing Lanes

 

 

 

  Leaona Luxx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 January 20th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 CHANGE…It’s change and how well you handle it which defines a person.Three times in my life, I have been faced with such changes. Once when I was fourteen. Again, at eighteen. And now again at twenty-eight. Twice, she was there.Ten years ago, I gave up everything, including her. At the time, it was the right thing to do, for both our sakes. Walking away from her isn’t what I wanted, it’s what had to be done.Now, she’s here. People like me don’t always get second chances, this happens to be mine. That’s if she’ll have me. If she’ll accept why I left and the fact, she’ll always be second.You see, I have a secret. It could change everything when she learns the truth. She may be the one walking away this time.We’re about to find out.

 

 

 

 

 

Changing Lanes by Leaona Luxx is the first book by this author that I read and I have to admit that it was an intense journey.

 

At first I expected this to be a second chance small town novel but I am happy that I was wrong and this story turned out to be so much more than that. It was not only well written and well developed no – it had even small suspense elements and it was so complex that the reader was taken on the journey together with the characters.

 

These characters were intense and I liked or disliked them as the author intended (I think) and there is really only one characters development that I disagree with and that is “THE” father.

 

I hope that it is no spoiler because I try to keep it as vague as possible while still telling my thoughts. So this father I am talking about is unfortunately not believable as character to me due to events happening towards the end of the book which kind of disturbed the flow for me as his role is an important one.

 

But other than that this is really an author to pay attention to and I am sure I will pick up another book when I come across one.

 

Therefore I would like to recommend this book to lovers of second chances.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Silenced by Leddy Harper

Silenced by Leddy Harper

 
 

July 28, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Silenced

 

 

 

 Leddy Harper

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 February 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Haunted by a photographic memory, I couldn’t escape the worst night of my life.

 

The blood they shed.

The pain they endured.

The evil that still walked free.

It was all I saw.

 

Those memories, my childhood—the images.

Silenced and scarred.

But nothing lasts forever.

Torment turned to blinding rage.

Hate sought revenge, which pursued death.

 

Then there was life.

The moon.

Rylee Anderson.

I had to choose…

 

 

 

 

 

  Leddy Harper is an Author that will not write in a certain way just to please readers. No that is not the way she works, she will not write what we expect but she will write what her characters need.

 

And sometimes that will make a journey uncomfortable for a while, when a story does not develop in a way you expect or want. But in the End you will notice that all that happens during here stories is necessary for her characters to get where they need to be in the end.

 

Her newest book “Silenced” is no exception to that rule. Reading it was not my first rodeo with this author so I knew what to expect of her writing style . What I did not know – and what you will never know with her in advance – is where her story will take you.

 

Yes I admit that I did not like everything that happened in this book, but honestly for this authors stories that is not necessary. This book is a love story, a story of second chances, a journey to find out who you are.

 

If you ask me I would recommend to simply follow the people that already read this book in their journey 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Cross Checked by Kristen Hope Mazzola

Cross Checked by Kristen Hope Mazzola

 
 

July 30, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Cross Checked

 

 

 

 Kristen Hope Mazzola

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 February 23rd 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 One accident – a freaking car crash. That’s all it took to send my life into a tailspin. Little did I know that out of the wreckage, everything would fall into place. I would get everything I had ever worked for.Little did I know that I would find the woman who would cross check my life, flipping everything upside down.Even though she’s melting the ice that surrounds my heart, I’m still waiting for the other shoe to drop. Will I ever be able to find my footing or am I destined to stay pinned against the boards?

 

 

 

 

 

I am not sure what happened and I am really sorry about it but I could not connect to the characters of Cross Checked by Kristen Hope Mazzola.

 

It was supposed to be a standalone novel but from the first moment on I felt thrown into a story where pieces were missing for me. So I was running after details from the beginning on and I

 

… Never managed to get up to date.

 

…Never managed to connect to the characters because there was too much that seemed to be missing

 

After I finished I checked the details of this author and found that there is another book that seems to be connected to this one in some way.

 

Maybe if I had read this book my thoughts and feelings would be different. But at this was supposed to be a standalone I never gave that a thought in advance and that is the base on which I have to set my review.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 2 3 49
error: Content is protected !!