ARC’s

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Turbulent Desires (Billionaire Aviators, Book 2) by Melody Anne

Turbulent Desires (Billionaire Aviators, Book 2) by Melody Anne

 
 

December 20, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Turbulent Desires

Author :           Melody Anne

Series :            Billionaire Aviators, Book 2 

Release date :   08 Nov 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : ER nurse Lindsey Helm used to be strong. Then a late-night attack at the hospital nearly killed her and left two close colleagues dead. Now Lindsey has retreated from the world. She knows she needs to move on, but every hint of danger seems threatening—including a certain sexy flyboy who’s determined to show Lindsey what she’s missing. But falling for F-18 pilot Maverick Armstrong is a risk she can’t afford…

 

Maverick knows that fear can eat away at the soul, and he won’t leave Lindsey to that fate. She needs someone to reach her and to remind her of the exhilaration and unbelievable passion of being touched. He’ll help her heal, and then he’ll walk away. He has to walk away. Because Maverick swore he would never fall in love and never marry. But this is a rescue operation, and Maverick will stay the course—even if things get hazardous. Even if saving Lindsey means surrendering his heart in the process…

 

Review : Hahaha – welcome to matchmaking 101… why wouldn’t the stuff that worked out so well in book 1 of the Billionaire Aviators also work in the newest book by Melody Anne.

 

I just read “Turbulent Desires” and I liked it as much as I did the first book. Also its nice to meet our old friends from the first book again. With Lindsey being the BFF to Stormy who’s story was featured in the first book, you can be sure that Maverick will not be far as Cooper is here as well.

 

Maverick and Lindsey have a story together – even though it is a short one and the attraction is there but it seems as if nothing would ever develop from that. And our Matchmaking friends from the first part have a hard time accepting that.

 

When Lindsey is facing massive problems due to an attack that nearly left her dead they see their chance to step in. Maverick is up for the challenge to try to get her back to the living even though he is not realizing that the endgame our matchmakers are planning is a little different.

 

Because as we know Sherman he will not accept anything less than a building romance between the two.

 

But with the woman who cannot stand to be touched by anyone and the man that swore to never fall in love might have been a to big bite to swallow, even for that usually successful group of matchmakers

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

BITING POINT (Sex on Wheels #1) by Azalea Amy Lezlynn

BITING POINT (Sex on Wheels #1) by Azalea Amy Lezlynn

 
 

December 19, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              BITING POINT

Author :           Azalea Amy Lezlynn

Series :            Sex on Wheels #1

Release date :   January 1st 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : LEGEND. KING. LOVER. RACER.

Three-T rules the roads.

 

But this is no televised championship, with its own rules and regulations.

 

There are no pretty flags or set race tracks in these street races.

 

My lover races raw.

He races wild.

He races illegally.

He races like a God.

 

I began to believe such a man could never love a girl like me, but love me he does… all of me … and there are plenty of my fuller-plus-size figured curves to love.

Together we stand strong at the head of his exotic car racing empire, but there is darkness brewing.

As fate would have it, regrets collect like old friends ready to relive his most agonizing moments. Dark secrets are awakened, whispering their threats of destruction. Will they be enough to take us down?

The moment arises for him to decide whom is more important. Me or his brotherhood of racing league members? This is where our legacy with the world’s fastest cars begins.

 

“We Ride Together … As One … ‘Til The End.”

 

WARNING : Possessive, Domineering, High-Handed, Loyal, Jealous, Protective, Loving & Passionately Sexual Italian Alpha Male – with – slight undertones of ‘Dominance & Submission’.{Contains Sexual Scenes with: strawberries, bondage with roses, ice cream, public & oral sex}

 

Modern Fantasy, New Adult, Contemporary, Erotica, Action Adventure.Due to strong language and graphic sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

 

Review : I just finished reading BITING POINT (Sex on Wheels #1) by Azalea Amy Lezlynn and now I am wondering how to explain this book to other readers.

 

Let me try like this … Think of it like a cocktail

 

The dedication at the beginning of the book (which is a beautiful one by the way) gives you a good idea about the book but I think it leaves out some important things

 

You need a big dose of fairytale and girly power (Ahm but not the Disney fluffy princess version – more the real life size 16 one)

 

Take a hot domineering Alpha male (I am talking Gideon Cross style) and place him in a “Fast and Furious” version of your favorite fairytale.

 

Yeah thinking about it I am acutally picturing Paul Walker here – his eyes were just one of the most remarkable ones I ever saw.

 

Still keep in mind we are talking fairytale style (so do not take the setting to serious there is just to much that you might find over the top or unrealistic) and

 

while you are shaking that cocktail you might want to at a hint of “Driven” by K. Bromberg just for good measures.

 

Take a sip … what do you think ?

 

Does it taste like something you might like ?

 

Than give this book a try – Enjoy

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND

PROMO / REVIEW : The Good Samaritan by RC Boldt

 

 
 
 
Title: The Good Samaritan
Author: RC Boldt
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: September 18, 2018
 
 
 
Blurb
The biggest story of her life is the one he wants to
hide.
 
I’m homeless by
choice.
I have no intention
of returning to my former life after what I’ve done.
This—living among
the filth and discarded remnants of others—is what I deserve.
As atonement for my
sins, I give back; I help those who cannot help themselves. But it’s always
under the guise of anonymity.
Newspaper headlines
throughout the city are clamoring to discover my identity.  Including the
beautiful woman who manages to see through my “armor.”
She has the
capability to put my entire life at risk.

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Purchase Links
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
B&N / KOBO / iBOOKS
GOOGLE PLAY

 
 
 
 
 
Author Bio

 

 
RC Boldt
currently lives on the southeastern coast of the U.S., enjoys long walks on the
beach, running, reading, people watching, and singing karaoke. If you’re in the
mood for some killer homemade mojitos, can’t recall the lyrics to a particular
80’s song, or just need to hang around a nonconformist who will do almost
anything for a laugh, she’s your girl.

 

 
 
Author Links
 

 

 

 

✔✖ My Review Check List ✖✔

AKA significant signs for a good book

Here ? The Good Samaritan by R.C. Boldt

  • (NOT WANTING TO PUT THE BOOK DOWN – WHICH INCLUDES CARRYING AN E-BOOK READER LITERALLY EVERYWHERE I GO, ALLNIGHT READING SESSIONS AND SNEAKING OUT OR IN PLACES INCLUDING TOILETS TO READ A FEW PAGES)

 

✔I might not have pulled an all-nighter with this one but still I had problems in putting it down – I wanted to get to the bottom of things. There was suspense that was pulling me back time and time again into the story

 

  • (TALKING WITH YOUR BOOK – NOMATTER WHERE YOU ARE AND WHO IS WATCHING YOU)

 

✔There wasn’t much reason to talk with this book it was more a loud thinking on the plot – the characters were more silent then others I read lately. But somehow that was the strength of this book.

 

  • (CRYING AND/OR LAUGHING – -OUT LOUD- NOMATTER WHERE YOU ARE)

 

✔Not much reason to laugh here if I am being honest. It is more on the thoughtful side of things but in this special case that really made no difference in the complete impression that book left with me

 

  • (THE INTENSE FEELING OF WANTING TO PUNCH OR HUG A VIRTUAL CHARACTER IN REAL LIFE)

 

✔There is a def. YES on the hugging part in this book. And there were lots of characters here that deserved one. And at least one I would have loved to punch – and not in the “punch some sense” way.

 

  • (REMEMBERING THE PLOT/ THE AUTHOR / THINGS AND/OR CONVERTING CONTENT TO YOUR REAL LIFE)

 

✔There is far too much “REAL” about this book to not remember it. It was my first book by this author and I directly checked on her older books. While most of them do not spark anything with me plot wise – there is one that I placed on my list and that is “Out of the Ashes (Out of #2)” – I will be reading that in near future and I will be sure to keep an eye on the next releases.

My Essence ?

This book holds a mirror to our faces – at least it did to me. In the way I look at people or even think about them. It is not easy to digest if you read it with that mirror in front of you but it’s a story that deserves to be told. The author wrapped it in a packing with suspense and well developed characters that simple make this book a great read.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Somewhere to Begin (Poison & Wine series #1) by Mika Jolie

Somewhere to Begin (Poison & Wine series #1) by Mika Jolie

 
 

February 7, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Somewhere to Begin

Author :           Mika Jolie

Series :            Poison & Wine series #1

Release date :   July 13th 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : There are wounds that never show on the body.For twenty-nine years, Colbie Bennington does as expected with an eternal smile stained on her lips. The biggest chances she’s ever taken can be counted on one hand, three fingers to be exact—her battered red chucks, painting her toenails a vibrant blue, and her wedding dress. Always the dutiful daughter and a Stepford fiancée, she has never acted on impulse, never been in love. She’s never lived.On her wedding day, Colbie ends a toxic relationship, drops the fake smile, and says, “I can’t do this anymore.”Navy SEAL Zander Serrano returns home broken and burdened with a volcano of remorse. Too trapped in a mental war to be at peace and too damaged to be at war, he shuts the world out. The last thing he expects is to feel, especially for a runaway bride with her own baggage.Two empty hearts marred in different spots find themselves drawn to one another. Each with their own scars. Some, the world can see. Others, unseen to the naked eye.They say two broken people should not be together. But for Colbie and Zander, their attraction is undeniable, unexpected. Can two souls with fractured parts be the best cure for each other’s wounds?Starting over is never easy, but sometimes in life, everyone needs somewhere to begin.

 

Review : The first maybe 20% of the story of Somewhere to Begin (Poison & Wine series #1) by Mika Jolie felt a little “bumpy” to me which made it a little bit more difficult for me to engage with the story.

 

But at around 25% the story started to take off at a reasonable pace and the story flow was steady and good until the end. I liked how the characters developed together with the story.

 

At times I felt that Zander was a little too reluctant but I got where he was coming from – Colbie on the other hand was a little more difficult – but once I had a closer look at her parents – well lets say. She turned out great DESPIDE the place she came from.

 

Both have to deal with a lot of issues from their past before they can even dare to attempt to think about a future. I liked the secondary characters that brought a lot of charm to the story.

 

Sometimes it felt as if they were carrying the leading characters to the place where they were supposed to be.

 

This author has a great way to approach the story and keep it real for the reader.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Split by JB Salsbury

Split by JB Salsbury

 
 

February 6, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

Title :              Split

Author :           JB Salsbury

Series :            n/a

Release date :   15 Nov 2016

Rating :           5 Stars

 

 

Blurb :  What do you do when you wake up with no memory of what you did last night?

 

Lucas spent the first half of his life protecting himself from others, but now his own mind is his biggest enemy. He doesn’t know what happens when the blackouts overtake him, but he can recall the feelings—the rage, the confusion, the fear. Thankfully the quiet life he’s found in Payson, Arizona has kept the darkness at bay. Until his boss’s estranged daughter shows up in town, asking questions she shouldn’t and sparking a desire Lucas can’t control. Getting close to Shyann is the best thing that’s ever happened to him, but when his blackouts return, unleashing the truth he’s battled so long to hide, he may just lose her forever . . .

 

Review : WOW

 

I finished reading Split by JB Salsbury last week and only just now I had time to sit down and write my review. Reading between 5-15 books a week (yes no joke) tends to leave your mind blank after just a few days when you try to remember the content of a book you read in the previous week.

 

I often stare at a title and have to reread the blurb and my kindle notes to remember my thoughts and feelings about a story.

 

BUT Not with this book.

– For me a book needs to fulfill 1 of 3 categories to receive 5 stars.

 

1. I need to cry

2. I need to laugh (not just a little but really really hard)

3. OR a story has to stay with me for a long time.

 

And no 3 is what applies in case of SPLIT….

 

When I just checked my schedule on what review was up next to write and I saw the title my thoughts directly wandered to the story. A story so unique – raw and real that it hurt.

 

The reader will find some suspense in it and romance but the biggest subject of the book for me was the well developed and raw storyline that surrounded Lucas.

 

I do not want to say anything about the plot itself or even compare it to other books because it feels as if I would betray the readers honest emotions to do so. But as the Blurb states it I would like to state that the line “perfect for fans of Katie Evans” feels very true to me. VERY TRUE and I have a very specific book in mind (which I can not mention for obvious reasons)

 

At the beginning I was not sure if I liked Shy as she felt a little rough around the edges to me but during the storyline she developed a very likeable character. But my heart really goes to Lucas – his character was written so wonderful

 

The main thing I liked about this book was that not everything is “fluffy” and “roses”. The plot does not ignore the problem or paints it in nice colors or even attempts to “remove” it (sorry for being so vague – I could tell a hole lot more but I do not want to) .

 

The story just showed a way of dealing with “IT” And that is where I started to like Shy. Not ignoring – not avoiding or trying to change what is a given – no she goes in HEAD FIRST and deals with it.

 

AND hey … refreshing was also … except for the “suspense factor” with its cliché touch – all the secondary characters for once lined up behind shy and not against her … NICE – really NICE …

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Hers to Heal (A Black Eagle Ops Novel) by Vonnie Davis

Hers to Heal (A Black Eagle Ops Novel) by Vonnie Davis

 
 

February 9, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Hers to Heal

Author :           Vonnie Davis

Series :            A Black Eagle Ops Novel

Release date :   22 Nov 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : In this powerful, sensual romance from the author of Her Survivor, a broken woman meets a shattered warrior—and discovers a passion strong enough to heal each other’s deepest wounds.

 

Navy SEAL Reece Browning sacrificed body and soul in the line of duty. He survived torture at the hands of America’s enemies, but lost his career and his voice in the process. Traumatized and desperate to get his PTSD under control, Reece escapes to Eagle Ridge Ranch. Under the big Texas sky, he finds peace, a renewed sense of purpose—and a woman who makes him feel like a man again. Her smile lights up his dark days, and her caress helps him forget the night terrors. Ex-Marine Gina Wilson also bears painful scars: emotional wounds inflicted by men she once trusted with her life. She has fought hard to overcome her demons and build a good life for her daughter, and Reece is too intense, too damaged, too raw to let into her heart. Yet she’s drawn irresistibly to his steely gaze and heated embrace. No one else understands what it’s like to suffer in silence. And when Gina’s daughter is threatened, it’s Reece who risks everything to save the day.

 

Review : OK – now it is official Vonnie Davis has me hocked to her “Black Eagle Ops” series – I just finished reading the second book in that series that is called “Hers to Heal”.

 

And I have to say that the second book held onto everything that the first book in that series promised.

 

When I read “Her Survivor” about half a year ago I found a romance that was just enough “sweet small town romance” to be endearing but not enough to make me run off and believe me I would have because I don’t “do” well with those “sugar coated romances”.

 

I fell in love with the characters and I could not wait to hear more about them. The intriguing part in this series is that the author uses components of those “small town sugar coated” romances and places some really tough soldiers in that setting.

 

And I can not help myself I love wounded warrior novels.

 

Also Ms. Davis used a clever spin as spice in this series (which I will not give away because using the words I would have to use to describe it some people might consider this book belonging to another genre and that is not true – it is just a little spice and not really a genre switch)

 

It seems that each book in the series will focus on a different couple and I have my feelings on what the next book(s) might be about.

 

Also the reader will find a background story that connects all of the books and that is connected to the fact that all of the leading characters are soldiers.

 

Reece and Gina were a great pairing and their developing relationship was well written. The suspense that was added was just the icing to this cake.

 

I really like the way this series is developing I hope we will not have to wait to long for the next release.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Change Rein (Willow Bay Stables #1) by Anne Jolin

Change Rein (Willow Bay Stables #1) by Anne Jolin

 
 

February 8, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Change Rein

Author :           Anne Jolin

Series :            Willow Bay Stables #1

Release date :   June 15th 2015

Rating :           3 Stars

 

 

Blurb : London Daniels is returning home to Willow Bay, Alberta, on the heels of a televised loss. She blew her shot at the Summer Olympics and cost Canada the gold medal in dressage. During her years of training abroad, her family’s stable has fallen on hard times, and thus, they’ve accepted an offer to board the racehorses of Branson Tucker, the infamous tycoon, for the winter.London lacks conviction after her ill-fated fall. And as if returning to her hometown to watch her epic failure replay on everyone’s big screen isn’t torture enough, she’s expected to cater to a man with an ego bigger than her hundred-acre farm just to earn a dime.Is London saddling up for another ride that will leave both her heart and her ass in the dirt? Or could the handsome, unwanted guest at Willow Bay Stables be her second chance to go for gold?

 

Review : The Blurb of Rein In (Willow Bay Stables #3) by Anne Jolin caught my eye and as it was already the third book in that series I thought (for a change) I should take the time and start a series at the beginning.

 

Therefore I took the time to first read Change Rein (Willow Bay Stables #1) and Eight-Second Ride (Willow Bay Stables #2)

 

And I think this series is a good example of an author that grew with writing…

 

In Change Rein I had trouble to connect to the leading characters the beginning was so sudden as was the appearance of Branson. It took me pages to get what he did and what was happening. And I have to be honest – for a very long time Branson felt more like a stalker to me than anything else and London is – I am not sure. Lets just say they were not my couple of the year.

 

With Eight Second Ride it was already a little different. Owen and Ray were a lot more likeable to me as a reader. I felt it was easier to connect with them. Maybe because by then I got a little used to the authors writing style ? Or because they were better developed ? not sure but for me as a “no Stetson” girl – I could work with that storyline a lot better.

 

Which brings me to the third book “Rein In” … it is the by far best of the three. From the first page on I was drawn into the story and connected with Rhys. He was a really great character so likeable from the start.

 

I can even confirm that Aurora the female lead is really like the blurb describes her – a modern day saint –The storyline is really well developed and contains a good dose suspense at the right moments.

 

It tugs and pulls at your heartstrings and I am pretty sure that the readers will love this book even more the previous books in that series.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Filthy Rich (Blackstone Dynasty, Book 1) by Raine Miller

Filthy Rich (Blackstone Dynasty, Book 1) by Raine Miller

 
 

February 11, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Filthy Rich

Author :           Raine Miller

Series :            Blackstone Dynasty, Book 1

Release date :   15 Nov 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Billionaire Caleb Blackstone lives in the glamorous world of wealth and success, with every material luxury. But the moment he sees Brooke Casterley, none of that matters. Caleb is filled with a raw, undeniable need that he can’t ignore…for a girl who is so completely different from everything and everyone he’s ever known.Only Brooke isn’t looking for love. She knows all too well just how much damage the wrong guy can do. Still, what sane, broke British girl can resist the charms of an incredibly sexy, chivalrous billionaire? What starts as flirtation quickly turns into all-consuming passion. Nothing could have prepared her for the searing heat of Caleb’s touch—or just how much she craves him.Their whirlwind romance is the stuff of high-society fantasy—but for every moment of pleasure, there is a cost. Past mistakes and tragedy shadow them both…and falling for him might be the kind of trouble she can’t afford.

 

Review : It has been quite some time since I read the books of the “Blackstone Affair” by Raine Miller – I think about 3 years ? – In Book Blogger time this equals a lifetime of books but still the Moment I read “Blackstone” and “Raine Miller” I knew I had to read “Filthy Rich”.

 

Because I directly remembered specific details of the “Blackstone Affair” that I had already read by this author. Considering the time that has past since I read Ethan’s and Brynne’s story and this is really a praise for this author because sometimes it only takes 1 or 2 days for a blurb to fade in my mind after reading a book.

 

Strong alpha males the way this author writes them are not something you can “digest” as a reader on every day but sometimes you crave them and when you do, you want them well written with a fully developed story. Raine Miller will give you that.

 

You will get Caleb the rich handsome alpha male that will sweep you off your feet. #check

 

The smart woman (Brooke) that doesn’t want too but still can not resist the guy #check

 

And their building relationship that is so well written that you can only enjoy it. #check

 

I am not sure what else to tell you and you will get what you expect – Solid Romance in a hot package 🙂

 

Except maybe – If you haven’t read the Blackstone Affair by this Author – I strongly suggest to correct this mistake #laughing

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO RECOMMEND REVIEW

PROMO / REVIEW : DIRTY HEADLINES by L.J. Shen

DH_BLOG TOUR.jpg

“Dirty Headlines is a fantastic enemies to lovers office romance with a perfect filthy asshole hero that I wish I’d written myself.” – Laurelin Paige, New York Times bestselling author

Dirty Headlines, an all-new sexy, enemies-to-lovers romance from bestselling author L.J. Shen is available NOW!

LJSDirtyHeadlinesBookCover6x9_BW_324

Célian Laurent.

Manhattan royalty.

Notorious playboy.

Heir to a media empire.

…And my new boss.

I could have impressed him, if not for last month’s unforgettable one-night stand.

I left it with more than orgasms and a pleasant memory—namely, his wallet.

Now he’s staring me down like I’m the dirt under his Italian loafers, and I’m supposed to take it.

But the thing about being Judith “Jude” Humphry is I have nothing to lose.

Brooklyn girl.

Infamously quirky.

Heir to a stack of medical bills and a tattered couch.

When he looks at me from across the room, I see the glint in his eyes, and that makes us rivals.

He knows it.

So do I.

Every day in the newsroom is a battle.

Every night in his bed, war.

But it’s my heart at stake, and I fear I’ll be raising the white flag.

DIRTY-HEADLINES-AN-TWO.jpg

Download your copy today or read FREE in Kindle Unlimited!

Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2wLg9ka

Amazon Worldwide: http://mybook.to/DirtyHeadlines:

Paperback: https://amzn.to/2MMSl9p

Add to GoodReads: https://bit.ly/2GuCKIB

DH 6 heartbreakingly beautiful.jpg

Excerpt:

He had an American accent. Not French. American. Smooth. Familiar. Ordinary. He fired out sentences at the speed of light. I heard him, but I couldn’t listen. Shock gripped my body as the pieces of the puzzle fell into place. My dirty one-night stand was my boss. My lying, American boss. And now I had to deal with that—hopefully for a very long time, because I desperately needed this job.

Someone snapped their fingers, and my gaze shot from Célian’s face to Grayson.

His forehead had crumpled into a frown. “You look like you’re trying hard not to cry or having a really intense orgasm. I’m hoping for you that it’s the latter and some kind of a weird-slash-awesome condition. You okay?”

I nodded, scraping up a smile. “Sorry. Zero orgasms happening under this dress. I just zoned out for a second.”Lies. I was about to orgasm just remembering how good Célianhad felt parting my thighs with his big, callused hands and dipping his tongue into my slit.

Then words stopped streaming down on everyone’s heads like a scalding shower, and I realized that indeed there was something worse than hearing Célianspeak in his perfect American English. And that was not hearing him speak at all. Because now the icicles were pointed at me like a cocked gun.

I glanced up to meet his gaze. He stared at me for exactly one second before his focus snapped to Grayson. “Am I understood, Gregory?” he asked.

Gregory?

“Crystal clear, sir,” Grayson bowed, his voice trembling at the edges.

Célian jerked his chin toward me. “Your cover girl material is going downhill.”

God. Damn. Bastard.

He recognized me, and I knew it. His eyes had kindled, melting the ice and growing darker the minute our gazes mingled. He remembered, and maybe it killed him that I was here in the same way it buried me.

I want my iPod back, my gaze told him. I had over three thousand songs on that thing, and they were all too good to be wasted on that jerk.

“Jude Humphry. Junior reporter. It’s her first day,” Grayson highlighted, almost pleadingly. He shifted in my direction, as if he might need to physically protect me from the sharp-tongued, suited monster.

I suppressed a smile when I realized I’d told Célianmy last name was Spears. Well, he certainly wasn’t a Timberlake. He was a Laurent. An American monarch through and through. A billionaire, a powerful force, and judging by our one and only encounter—a raging playboy.

This man was inside you, I internally shrieked. And not just once. His cock was buried so deep in you, you screamed. You can still taste the salty, earthy flavor of his cum.You know he has a freckle on his lower back. You know what sound he makes when he empties inside a woman.

I internally thanked my mind for ruining my panties in public, and nodded. “Pleasure to meet you, sir.” I offered him my hand, my face flushing with embarrassment at my choice of words.

Everyone was looking at us, and there were at least fifty people in the room. Célian—if that was even his name—ignored my outreached hand. Instead, he turned his face to the man beside him. “Mathias, any other words of wisdom?”

Mathias? Wasn’t that his father? Just how cold was the man with the icy blue eyes?

“I think you touched everything,” said the big boss—and he did have a heavy French accent, so at least the lie had a seed. Mathias stared at me placidly, like he could read the secret his son and I shared on my face.

Célian spun toward me, uncuffing his cufflinks and rolling his sleeves up his veiny forearms. “Accounting can go back to their unfortunate line of work. Couture is excused from this meeting—though not forgiven for their horrid blog. Miss Humphry?” He snapped his fingers impatiently.

He was already waltzing down the narrow hallway, knowing I’d chase him like a puppy, and no doubt taking pleasure in that fact.

“I have a bone to pick with you.”

Bone, boner—same difference, right?

I shot Grayson a please-save-my-butt look. His eyes said, I would but I still have a life to live.

I followed Célian down the hall, my Chucks slapping the floor in a hurry. He sliced through the throng of accountants, then stopped at a corner office, opened the door, barked “Out!” to the man inside, and tilted his head for me to go in. I did. He closed the door, and it was just the two of us.

Two feet of empty space between us.

About LJ Shen:

L.J. Shen is an International #1 best-selling author of Contemporary Romance and New Adult novels. She lives in Northern California with her husband, young son and chubby cat.

Before she’d settled down, L.J. (who thinks referring to herself in the third person is really silly, by the way) traveled the world, and collected friends from all across the globe. Friends who’d be happy to report that she is a rubbish companion, always forgets people’s’ birthdays and never sends Christmas cards.

She enjoys the simple things in life, like spending time with her family and friends, reading, HBO, Netflix and internet-stalking Stephen James. She reads between three to five books a week and firmly believes Crocs shoes and mullets should be outlawed.

LJShen

Connect with L.J. Shen:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorljshen/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lj_shen

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/authorljshen/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authorljshen/

Stay up to date with L.J. Shen by signing up for her mailing list:

http://bit.ly/2umcYPg

Website: http://www.authorljshen.com/

Dirty Headlines

 

 

 

I know I am repeating myself but still – here is my list of significant signs for a good book (not necessarily complete)

 

  • Not wanting to put the book down – which includes sneaking into toilets during parties to read a few pages ( #MeLaughing Penelope Ward totally “borrowed” that from me for her book – I AM JOKING- Kind of … sort of … well not sure who did it first )
  • Talking with your book – which includes being in open spaces with other people wondering what that weird women is doing
  • Crying and/or Laughing during reading – which includes (see above mentioned)
  • FINALLY … the intense feeling of wanting to punch or hug virtual characters in real life … either because you want to make them see what is right in front of them, comfort them or (and well there is no nice way to say it) because they are assholes.

 

Having that in Mind – let’s check “DIRTY HEADLINES” by L.J. Shen…

  • Not wanting to put the book down was a given – I mean it was an L.J. Shen book – you read one of hers ? you pretty much should know what I mean. Slowly she sneaked in and found her way into my all time favorite author list. And she def. keeps a “One –click –to – buy – without – checking – before” position in there too. I just checked and noticed that leaving a few anthology stories aside I read everything she ever released so far and only two books where on a 4 star – all the rest were 5stars. That is saying something. There is hardly any other author having such a clean high rating … trust me it is an honest rating too – no extra points because I got a book for free or anything.
  • Yes I found myself talking with the book – in this case especially repeating the hilarious conversations between the leads of this book. Ms. Shen I really wonder where you get your ideas for these dialogues from – they were just …(without words) and those “Jesus” thoughts …. Yeah these bring me to the next point
  • Which is the laughing/Crying part …. These “Jesus” thoughts – had me laughing so hard sometimes that there were even tears involved. Which completes this point because for me there was no actual ugly crying involved in this book.
  • When it comes to the intense feelings – well it evolved some pretty intense feelings but non of the plot needed ugly crying to be good in my opinion. Interesting enough where usually the plots of this author are more intense and maybe even a little darker? This one was lighter and caused by laughing – and I mean laughing because of the characters dialogues and not even so much about the plot. It is simply a masterpiece of great and tremendously well developed writing

 

My Essence ?

Pure and simple a great book with hilarious characters. In real life you probably would stay a mile away from a male lead like that but having insight into his mind like you have in this book makes it easy to like him. Dear Author if you keep up writing like that you will have an eternal fan here….

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Echoes in the Wind by Debra Jupe

Echoes in the Wind by Debra Jupe

 
 

February 15, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Echoes in the Wind

Author :           Debra Jupe

Series :            n/a

Release date :   31 Jan 2014

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Geology instructor Darla Hennessy’s dreams are shattered when her longtime boyfriend dumps her to marry someone else. On the rebound, she lets a friend drag her to a party where she meets former teen idol Eric Boyd, the Scottish rocker she had a crush on years ago.Eric has one goal: return to the industry as a legitimate musician and earn the respect of his peers. But his manager is missing, someone is murdering his former band mates, and he might be next on the killer’s list. The last thing he needs is a relationship.Despite their growing chemistry, Darla is wary of getting involved too. But when the killer attacks Eric, she can’t turn her back. On the run, they have to stay one step ahead of a madman even as their attraction heats up. It may be love, but can they survive long enough to find out?

 

Review : Most probably I am the odd one out here when it comes to giving a rating on Echoes in the Wind by Debra Jupe.

 

I read the book and made up my mind on it but judging from the other reviews I seem to be thinking in a totally different direction.

 

So I am sorry to say that I could totally not connect with this story. The plotline was good but the way of the story was told felt detached from the characters for me.

 

I could not feel any emotions with them or for them. And as a reader it is very important for me to feel for the leading characters.

 

It felt foreign to me that everything in this plotline was so on and over the top when people talked about it.

 

And parts of the plot felt as if you would have to know a previous story of the characters you meet but you were not invited to that knowledge.

 

Hard to explain without giving details on the plot, but their actions contradicted the emotions they should have experienced, they all felt numb.

Numb for me as a reader and numb in their interactions with each other.

 

It seemed that the growing usage of cigarettes was the only indication of their nerves.

 

I read about 60 % – but than I felt I should stop – so I am really sorry but this book was not for me.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 2 3 58
error: Content is protected !!