ARC’s

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Gilt Hollow by Lorie Langdon

Gilt Hollow by Lorie Langdon

 
 

September 27, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title:  Gilt Hollow

Author :  Lorie Langdon

Series:  n/a

Release date:  September 27th 2016

Rating : 4 Stars

 

Blurb : Willow Lamott’s best friend is a convicted killer, and no one in the small town of Gilt Hollow will let her forget it. Over four long years, she’s tried to fade into the background—but none of that matters when Ashton Keller comes striding into school, fresh out of juvie and fueled by revenge.

 

The moment their eyes meet, Willow no longer feels invisible. Drawn to the vulnerability behind Ashton’s mask of rage, she sinks deeper into his sinister world and begins to question whether he’s a villain, a savior, or both.

 

Ashton thought he wanted vengeance, until Willow Lamott stepped back into his life. Now he longs to clear his name and become the person she sees in him. But the closer they get to uncovering the truth, the darker the secrets become, and Ashton wonders if his return to Gilt Hollow will destroy everyone he loves.

 

 

Review : After a long time I finally came across a really good YA Novel again. Gilt Hollow by Lorie Langdon was a very satisfying read. The author did a really great job on capturing all that is to say about small towns and how they work.

 

The setting of Gilt Hollow brings us to a kind of darker version of a the Gilmore Girls’ Stars Hollow. At least I felt that way. And thinking about it you could also consider Willow a kind of sad version of Rory Gilmore (but that’s where the comparison ends – because all the other characters were in no way to compare to the Gilmore Girls)

 

Also please don’t let me bring the wrong light onto that story- the story has no comparison to that TV series – it were just some things in the town setting that reminded me of it a lot only in a darker more twisted way.

 

We get to know Ashton and find out really soon about the background of the story and how he became the person he is now. It takes a lot of guts – walking back to where he came from knowing he would not be met with open arms. He is intriguing like a dark angel and the reader will feel compelled to follow him through his story.

 

Willow is pure loyalty – the kind of friend anyone could wish for. Nothing will make her stray from the right path once she set her mind to it. Not even the opinion of a whole town. Admirable. Really !

 

You will meet a lot of clichés throughout the story – but I honestly already expected those.

 

What I did not anticipate was the suspense.

The author had me really guessing for a while. What were the reasons, who were the responsible and what really happened that fateful day.

 

The pace of the book was not fast but I felt it was fitting to the development inside the story. The writing style was capturing and the characters were intriguing.

 

I would not mind reading another book like this.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Almost Never by Amy Lamont

 

 

Almost Never

  

Almost Never
Amy Lamont
 2018

 

A new standalone novel from USA Today Bestselling Author Amy Lamont…

Son of an aging rock star, Declan Cooper is considered royalty on the Warren College campus. When he meets petite freshman Harper Warden, he dismisses her as just another groupie. He realizes his mistake pretty quickly, but despite his near-obsession with the premed student, he keeps his distance. The last thing she needs is the notoriety that comes along with being connected to his infamous family.

Getting blown off by the sexy and popular King of Campus is the kiss of death for the new life Harper hoped to make for herself at college. Her only goal now is to get into medical school so she can leave her past, and Declan Cooper, far behind. But when the plans Harper made are threatened, Declan might be the only person who can help. All she has to do is trust him with a few small things—like her heart and her future.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

REVIEW : #Moonstruck (#Lovestruck #2) by Sariah Wilson

 

 

#Moonstruck (#Lovestruck #2)

  

#Moonstruck
#Lovestruck #2
Sariah Wilson
 July 17th 2018

 

Over one million “likes”—but only one of them matters.

After pop star Ryan De Luna praises Maisy Harrison’s YouTube cover of his classic hit, he offers Maisy and her fledgling band the opportunity of a lifetime: to be his opening act.

Music may be Maisy’s life, but she has one ground rule: never date a musician. That goes double for a heartbreaker like Ryan. If only she didn’t feel so vulnerable to his larger-than-life charm. And maybe now more than ever, when he asks for her help to shake off his playboy image. How can she resist playing the part of his fake girlfriend for the duration of the tour?

Ryan’s never met anyone like Maisy. She sees past all the star-studded fame and treats him like any other guy. And the more time they spend together, the more he finds himself falling for her. Now he’d like to make their imaginary fling an IRL thing. But can he convince her to take a chance and trust him with her heart?

 

 

 

Already when I read #Starstruck I knew this would become a great series – don’t ask me why it was just my gut feeling.

 

#Starstruck and #Moonstruck are the first books I read by this author and if they are indication on the writing style her other books should be equally addictive.

She presents well-developed characters and a great story and I loved the developing relationship between the leads.

If you are a lover of books, where stars meet and engage with “commoners” these books will be a great addition to your collection.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Why Stars Chase the Sun (Forget Me Knot #1) by C.R. Ellis

 

Why Stars Chase the Sun (Forget Me Knot #1)

  

Why Stars Chase the Sun
Forget Me Knot #1
C.R. Ellis
June 26th 2018

 

 

JADE
Twenty-four hours.
A no-strings-attached adventure with the most gorgeous man I’ve ever seen—this was my alcohol-slash-lust-fueled proposal, and given before I could consider the potential ramifications. While his looks alone are enough to make a girl swoon, it’s the rest of him—a perfect balance of mysterious, sweet, and effortlessly charming—that draws me in. Through his cryptic comments and half-answers, he’s quickly become an enigma I’m determined to solve.

One way or another, this adventure promises to snap the stagnant, lackluster pattern my love life has been locked in lately.
Is it naïve and a little reckless to think this won’t blow up in my face? Probably.
But the bigger question is the only one I need to answer…
Is the chance to soar among the stars worth the risk of being burned when the sun eventually rises?

EMMETT
Love is a mistake I won’t make again.
My rules are simple. Keep things surface-deep. Don’t make plans. And never, ever get attached.
One look at her is all it takes for me to break my first rule.
One conversation with her is all it takes for me to question everything.
Which means accepting her proposal is bound to be a mistake.
She has no idea who I am or what kind of demons I live with, so I tell myself there’s no harm in spending one day with her. But the more I lose myself in her, the more she brings me out of the darkness and into her light, the harder it’ll be to let her go.
When reality comes crashing down on us in the worst way possible, I have to decide between walking away…or risking everything for the woman who breaks all of my rules.

 

 

 

Moments when I love my reading life …

Why Stars Chase the Sun by C.R. Ellis – was another great first time read from an new to me author.

I have to admit when I first read the title – and please dear author forgive me – I almost passed on it without reading the blurb – I simply thought it would be a (and yes I am ashamed) a sweet  romance and I was so not in the mood for that.

But then I did take a look at the Blurb and I was intrigued …

And believe me after reading you will probably be as surprised as I am – when you look at the title – the cover – think of the blurb and what you just read.

This story has an all in one package – it is well written – has great characters – some suspense and a well developed plot. What more could a reader want …

And here comes the icing … it’s the DEBUT novel of this author … so there is still room for development – there always is – and that should only mean great writing is on the horizon 

Yes I admit there were one or two things that I would have wished for to be different – but that was really only artistic freedom and no big deal.

I think the blurb mentions enough about the story so I will not go into that any deeper and only leave my recommendation here to read this book. The only reason this book did not receive 5 stars is my “Emotion” rule (see my profil)…. So others would might classify it as 5 star read I am pretty sure…

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

REVIEW : Incognito by Siobhan Davis

 

 

Incognito

  

Incognito
Siobhan Davis
June 30th 2018

 

 

 

A troubled popstar forced into hiding… A sweet small-town girl overcoming tragedy… And the kind of love that only happens once in a lifetime.

Dakota’s dreams of attending Juilliard were shattered the night tragedy struck her family. It’s one year later, and she’s now enrolled at a local university trying to piece her life back together.

Shawn is one of the world’s most famous faces, having lived under a spotlight since his star exploded when he was fourteen. Now jaded by an industry forcing him to perform music he no longer enjoys, he craves normalcy and the opportunity to rediscover his muse. When a crazy stalker gets too close, and death threats start mounting, Shawn’s management team comes up with a plan—one which will allow him to work on his latest album while staying incognito on a college campus.

Romance is the last thing on Dakota’s mind, but after she crosses paths with a hot, prickly cutie with rock-hard abs and smoldering good looks, she can’t shake him from her thoughts.

Shawn can’t afford to bring any girl into his fucked-up life, but the gorgeous blonde with the sad blue eyes captivates him in a way no girl ever has, and he finds himself falling hard and fast.

But outside forces are conspiring against them.

When danger draws closer, and secrets are revealed, will their love survive?

 

 

If you would request that I describe Incognito by Siobhan Davis with one word that word would be

DOOMED

When you are reading a lot of books you might have come across a plot looking like this one once or twice already. But I am pretty sure it only LOOKED like this plot – because honestly sofar I never read a story of two persons in this situation that felt so doomed from the beginning.

Imagine a typical storyline … and than think again adding a twist and turn at every possible corner. When the focus of a relationship should be going forward – here in this story the author tortures his leadas not only by going forward and backward but also be going in circles. So its character torture at its finest. And I loved every second of it.

Being on Top of everything – seperated from the real world and being in the spotlight – dissected – subjected to the mercy of the public eye – basically public property – that is Shawn our male lead here.

At the Bottom of everything – at least when it comes to personal wishes, hopes and loss – that is Dakota

These two could not be more different and more perfect together. Their story is a trainwreck waiting to happen. As a reader you get the front row – including the “no don’t do that please” moments where you know what will happen, that it will be bad but you still get the reasons. Talking about a rock and a hard place.

A thought that crossed my mind was that I felt our leads should have been a year or two older. There were some plot related moments that had me feeling this way. Everything was perfectly working from the timeline its just a very personal feeling.

On a sidenote – I was pleased to read that the author did not let go of two of my favorite previous characters. I was delighted to see them here in a secondary but still centere role.

I am not sure if Inseperable and Incognito are ment to be a series or not but due to the reoccuring characters I would suggest reading Inseperable first – also because its a great story.

Incognito is slighty sweeter than Inseperable was. Reading the story of Shawn and Dakota did not nearly hurt so much as the other book. But here it was really intersiting how many missunderstandings could be placed in one story and magically the story did not suffer. If anything it became more intriguing.

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Rock Legend (Nothing But Trouble #2) by Tara Leigh

 

Rock Legend (Nothing But Trouble, #2)

  

Rock Legend
Nothing But Trouble #2
Tara Leigh
July 17th 2018

 

 
Fans of Kristen Callihan, L.J. Shen, and Kylie Scott will scream for this sizzling bad boy rock star romance!

I’m no Prince Charming.

Most people know me as the drummer for Nothing but Trouble. Depending who you ask, I’m also a playboy, a loner, the life of the party, a screw-up, or according to my fans, “The Sexiest Rock Star on the Planet.” Apparently, I’m a legend.

Am I surprised? Hell, no. It’s a reputation I’ve earned behind my drum kit and behind closed doors. No one thought foster kid Landon Cox would become famous. Infamous, maybe. Notorious, probably. But successful? Never. No one except Piper Hastings. But I had to make a choice: my woman or my career. I picked fame and fortune… and spent every damn day since pretending I don’t regret it.

Now fate’s dropped Piper back into my life. I want to believe it’s a second chance for me – for us. But while I can give her a few great nights, I can’t give Piper a future.

Because there’s a difference between a legend and a fairy tale…
Only one of them ends happily ever after.

 

 

 

Here I am again …. Reading Tara Leigh’s second book in the “Nothing But Trouble” series ….
If you read my review for “Rock King” which was the first book in that series … you can imagine that I had really high expectations when it came to Rock Legend…. And …. Ms. Leigh delivered!
I will not say exceeded because I am careful, as I do not want to raise my own expectations (as well as my fellow readers’ ones) even more when it comes to the next book. *lol*

But she truly delivered. Already in the previous story I felt that her writing style was really engaging. The pain and depth of the characters felt real to me. Her characters have so many layers that it is really a pleasure to meet them only to start peeling all these layers off. The story is written in a way that this peeling does not stop until the very end which keeps the story fresh from beginning to end.

There were a lot of parts I would love to quote (my kindle is full of markings) but those would mean little if I did not include spoilers so I refrain. But some parts of the storyline really hit home and my heart was heavy reading lines that felt privately familiar to me. I really had a moment wondering how it was Moments like this I wished it was acceptable to quote half the book here just to make people understand how it felt.

Because there’s a difference between a legend and a fairy tale…
Only one of them ends happily ever after

My thoughts … In the beginning I was not sure if I liked our male lead here – but I trusted the author to guide him (and me) and as the story progressed he became an interesting person with significant past and background. What I didn’t like ? Well there was an issue with a person taking his cell phone – yeah the part is needed to get the story to a certain point but I was enraged wishing for a different explanation, a better one, as this was not enough for me – but true to her writing style – Ms. Leigh guided me through these feelings as well.

Our female lead was overall likeable only there was an issue with a cucumber and the story part that lead to the cucumber where I was shaking my head thinking … “you can not seriously believe that” – but I loved that she never went over board with her actions like a lot of characters do.

The secondary characters of the story – which are basically the other members of the band – slowly move into focus during the story and get a few layers added to them. So I knew early on who would feature the next book. And I noticed something interesting in my own reaction to them. While I am not that impressed yet with the idea of the next female lead I am intrigued with the male, because of some hints that were dropped during the story. Last time I felt the same but when I read the story exactly the opposite happened so lets see if the same happens with the next book.

And I really can not wait to read the next one. :- )

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Racer (Real #7) by Katy Evans

 

 

Racer (Real, #7)

  

Racer
Real #7
Katy Evans
September 28th 2017

 

A bad boy with something to prove.
A woman with a mission.
The race of their lives.
The love of a lifetime.

I don’t think his parents expected him to live up to his name—Racer Tate—but once he felt the adrenaline rush behind the wheel, he was addicted.

He’s the fastest, fiercest driver around.

Scouting new talent brings me to his doorstep…
but his smile sends me to my knees.

The sexy, mysterious Racer Tate is not the kind of man a girl like me falls for. He’s secretive, reckless, elusive. But his proximity pushes me beyond reason, and his kiss….

This is our last chance to win, and he is our only hope. I’m supposed to watch him—make sure he doesn’t get into trouble. But it’s an impossible task. And now the one in heart wrenching, toe-curling, soul-crushing trouble is me. Because when your heart belongs to someone, their truths become your own, and their secrets become your salvation…or your curse.

He says he wants me. He says I’m the One. But he also thinks he’ll break my heart, one piece at a time until it’s gone.

 

 

 

I am still under the heavy impression of what I just finished reading … and that was Racer by Katy Evans …

When you aim to read a book a day (and almost mange it) you reach a point where you think that you will not encounter anything really new anymore. And in some dark moments you might even think that nothing really surprises or grips you anymore…. That being said and collecting my thoughts Here comes something NEW to me – something I was sure I would never say.

I think If you come across Katy Evans Books for the first time … you would expect me to tell you to read them in some sort of order … but Racer broke with that – and for the first time in my life I am not sure what I should suggest to tell a reader …..  read Racer first and then the other books or read them in the order like I did…

Trying to keep it vague for spoiler reasons let me phrase it this way … Racer is closely related to a previous lead in another book and I really struggled with two facts that came with that knowledge.

Readers knowing this authors books will understand and probably already guess one issue because it is a logical worry …..Where I personally was not so much struggling with the worry itself but more with the fact that at the moment I realized the relation I already KNEW “things”…

After some contemplating I think you should read them in the way they were released but you might encounter the same feeling that had me thinking – and that was my second “issue” and that is TIME …. Like in the moment when Racer said …. “together for 30 years” – well I am not sure what I felt but it was strange …

Do not misunderstand me – it is absolutely no issue of the book – just my personal issue – I felt OLDER in that moment … like I also met them 30 years ago – you know ? Where it still felt so real like it was yesterday…

Because that character I am talking about was so remarkable that he never left me … and as music is a big part in this book – Racer evoked the same feelings in me – it was like a renewal …

Everything about this guy was so raw …. And even when I felt that the love he developed with Lana was a little on the insta side – the knowledge of his background made me comfortable where I in any other case might have complained.

I am honest … some of the tears I encountered at a certain moment of the book felt like they were also due to the knowledge I already had – which also enforces my thoughts of keeping the reading order.

Racer 2.0 was “further” developed and knew better how to handle things and I admired him I really did …. (when you read the story you will get the meaning of this line)

You can read Racer as a standalone ( I think – I mean I can not know as I read all the other books too) but I strongly believe that you might not have the same range of deep feelings because you might not understand some of the struggle as it seems lighter in this book. Or maybe I am just thinking that because I encountered a really bad case before ? As I said – I will never know as I can not change my knowledge and the more I write I think I do not want to change that knowledge – so yes keep the reading order …

But those 30 years – damn – sorry – they are hard to digest for me … hahaha

Did I already say I love the book ? not sure (I try to never scroll back while writing)  – but anyway I DO-

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Branding the Virgin by Alexa Riley

Branding the Virgin by Alexa Riley

 
 

October 26, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :             Branding the Virgin 

Author :           Alexa Riley

Series :            n/a

Release date :   July 13th 2016

Rating :           1 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Mary-Jane wasn’t looking for drama. All she wanted was a family of her own, so she decided to make that happen. A mix-up at the sperm bank leaves her with a baby in her belly, but the father is none the wiser.Ty was injured in a bull-riding accident, and now all he plans on doing is working on his ranch and keeping to himself. That is, until a little dark-haired woman shows up on his doorstep.When their paths cross, will Mary-Jane be able to reveal to Ty that he’s the father? Will Ty be able to keep Mary-Jane from running? Will there be a lot of steam in this book? You betcha!

 

Warning: This pregnant virgin story is wonderfully ridiculous and just as sweet as it sounds. Saddle up and take an evening stroll with this easy quickie.

 

Review : I assume from bunch of 4 or 5 star reviews that I seem to be either missing a huge point in “Branding the Virgin” by Alexa Riley or I am the odd one out there. But unfortunately I am honestly not able to give this story more than 1 Star. And this ONLY due to my own rating system which I religiously follow – because it honestly feels more like a DNF

 

Well first of all this is a short story which I was not really aware of (might have been my mistake but well with all the warnings you read nowadays a hint on this being a short story might have been nice.

 

Anyway the blurb warns the reader that this //quote// pregnant virgins story is wonderfully ridiculous and just as sweet as it sounds //un-quote//.

 

I agree with the first point – it is ridiculous … really which might have been ok – given this warning. But my problem is really the second point in this statement “as sweet as it sounds”. Because this point I could see nowhere in these pages honestly.

 

Clearly a short story does not leave much time to develop characters – therefore I am always reluctant to read those – BUT I have seen it being done in a decent form. Still adding an almost nonexistent form of InstaLove (yeah I just made that up – but I have no idea how to explain what really happened in that story) … anyway adding this to the short story there is no space for anything even remotely sweet.

 

Because SWEET implies some sort of connection between the characters.

 

Ok I think I can in this special case not avoid to spoiler something to make myself clear. I usually avoid that as best as I can. Therefore be warned to read further.

 

Ty, the male lead does not fall in InstaLove with Mary-Jane… no. He simply wants to keep her because an “important part” of the male anatomy stirs when he sees her. And given the fact that this part of him was supposed to be “broken” this is a huge deal.

 

So if this would be a dark romance that plot might really work in a different setting … but not within a story settling like this one – I am missing the sweet part her fully – really sorry – might be only me but I can not help it.

 

The writing itself isn’t bad or so and the plot idea also was good – but the handling did not work out with the length of the story and especially not with the reasoning of the leading characters to fall in love with each other.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : LOVE REDEFINED (Kings Grove #3) by Delancey Stewart

 

LOVE REDEFINED (Kings Grove, #3)

  

LOVE REDEFINED
Kings Grove #3
Delancey Stewart
June 26th 2018

 

 

Chance Palmer is the hottest bachelor in Kings Grove, and even his younger brother Sam sees him as a playboy and a charmer. It’s nice to be admired, but Chance is ready for something serious–something like the love he had once before. The love he refuses to talk about. 

Michaela “Mike” Grayson fell in love once. And though that relationship gave her the son she’d never trade for anything, it came with a darker side she’s still trying to escape. 

When Michaela’s job requires her to scout a tiny town called Kings Grove as a potential resort destination for her company, she’s not prepared for what awaits her there:  a charming playboy with a knack for making her feel like everything in her world just might work out fine. And Chance is unprepared for the feelings he finds inside himself for Michaela, and for her son, Finn. 

Can Mike overcome the darkness in her past enough to trust that Chance might be more than just a fantasy? Can Chance Palmer move past the pain of his first love and fall again?

This is Book 3 in the Kings Grove Series. Each book can be read as a standalone.

 

 

 

I am a reader that usually craves dark and edgy books, but – and this is important – they need to have a HEA.  I am not doing to well with warm romances – fact-

Or maybe not ? well there are a few authors – and I call  Delancey Stewart one of them – who can get away with presenting me something like “Love Redefined” because I really like it.

Feelings and Taste are a very personal issue – so I find it hard to explain what distinguishes her writing style from others. Maybe it is the fact that she can also write more edgy books – I really have no idea.  I can only say that her writing feels warm  and comfortable and the more a series like Kings Grove progresses it feels like you are coming home to characters that you have come to love and were intrigued to find out more about.

Book 3 here is no difference – her characters are deep and well written the story setting is great and the plot leaves no wishes open. I know her stories are very different from what I usually read but I would like to recommend her books to you if you – just like me –  Sometimes need some peace and light in the middle of all the dark, edgy reads and Delancey Stewart is really a great choice for these moments

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Rocking Standby by Cassandra Lawson

 

 

Rocking Standby

  

 Rocking Standby
Cassandra Lawson
September 22nd 2017

 

Gage
There are a lot of perks that go along with being an up and coming rock star. I may not get the private jet, but I always fly first class. Gone are the days when I have to pursue a woman. They toss their panties at me and shove their numbers in the front of my jeans. I am living a charmed life.

So, how did I end up stuck as a standby passenger, hoping to get a flight? Not only did I get stuck in coach, I ended up seated next to the girl next door. Bentley seems sweet and genuine, a far cry from the women I normally date. At least, that’s what I believed before finding out Bentley is a deceitful gold-digger.

Bentley
There is no room in my life for romance. That’s what I’ve been telling myself since I lost the number of the sweet guy I met on my flight. He somehow managed to turn my bad day around, and for a short time, I considered going out with him. He’d been funny and sweet, or so I’d believed. Boy was I wrong.

Gage Addison isn’t just some guy from my flight. He’s lead guitarist of Reckless Release—a freaking rock star! No matter how sweet they seem, I don’t date musicians, especially one who calls me a gold-digging whore the second time he sees me. Getting involved with Gage is not an option, no matter how hot he makes me.

 

 

 

Rocking Standby by Cassandra Lawson really has the perfect title to describe the two leading characters . It was my first book by this author and I liked her writing style. The characters she created are another thing.

Gage is a great person – actually almost to sweet and caring (leaving out his one slip when he went out all a**hole- but yeah I mean it was because he cared so much for his brother) …

Bentley on the other hand is a super confusing character. She was super reluctant on one side and on the other almost alpha when she wanted something – like for example a one night stand.
Just following her line of thoughts gave me a whiplash…. So forgive me for saying that she is not my favorite person in this story.

Do not get me wrong – just because I do not like Bentley so much—(she really is different that the average ) – it does not mean that the story is bad – quite the opposite actually – and it is totally OK for me that the female lead is that way

If there was one thing that was bugging me in total – it was that issue with Gabe’s mum …. I felt odd that she was living the way she was given her situation – (being vague because of my little to no spoiler rule)

I really liked the story in total – and I can absolutely see a series here with the secondary characters we meet. I am pretty sure I would pick up another book featuring the characters of this series – so go on enjoying this one …

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 62
error: Content is protected !!