ARC’s

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Josey’s Christmas Cookie by Sharon Kleve

Josey’s Christmas Cookie by Sharon Kleve

 
 

December 23, 2015

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

Title : Josey’s Christmas Cookie 

Author : Sharon Kleve

Series : N/A

Release date : November 23rd 2012

Rating : 4 Stars

 

Blurb : In the blink of an eye, Josey lost the most important people in her life, her parents.Can a hound dog named Cookie, a pair of Mourning Doves, and a passionate vet bring the holiday spirit back into Josey’s life in time for Christmas?

 

Review : A short review for a short, but very sweet novella!

 

Usually I am not really the type of person who likes to read short-stories as I more or less always feel like the book would be much better as a full-length novel.

 

This is also my opinion about this book, but this just tells me that I really like this short story.

 

Within this around 28 pages we get introduced to some really interesting characters who all together create a lovely Christmas-y story.

 

I love the way the story turns out in the end. Definetly something for the Christmas holidays!

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Keeping London (Flawed Heart #2) by Ellie Wade

REVIEW : Keeping London (Flawed Heart #2) by Ellie Wade

 
 

July 4, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Keeping London

Author :           Ellie Wade

Series :            Flawed Heart #2

Release date :   June 30th 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

Blurb :

GONE.

He’s gone away,Deployed.

My biggest fear realized.

Well, my second biggest fear.

He’s overseas, but he’s alive.

When Loïc left, my heart went with him.

In shattered pieces of good-bye.

Until we are together again…

 

GONE.

Leaving her was the hardest thing I’ve ever done.

Until I got here.

The danger, the fear, the pain—It’s real.

I promised I’d get back to her.

A promise I’m determined to keep.

A vow that might be harder than I thought.

A battle of my heart.

A war with my mind.

A fight to return to London…

 

Review : When reading books of a series back to back I always have a difficult time writing the reviews separate because in my head it is an ongoing story and it is difficult for me to cut it somewhere when I read it together.

 

So therefore here are my thoughts on “Finding London” and “Keeping London” by Ellie Wade.

 

Who came up with that name ? Loïc? That was one of my thoughts … it took me a long time until I found out how to pronounce that – but on the other hand … intriguing and it keeps you thinking.

 

Those two books where the first I read by this author and I like her authentic writing style. The discussions between the characters are spot on from the beginning of the first book.

 

The second book only added an emotional edge on top of it.

 

I admit also that it is (again) difficult for me to give a final vote on a book if it is not a standalone and I could not yet read all of the books in a series, because I am known to be a sucker for good written endings and there were books where the last 20 % killed the whole vote for a book – so just imagine what a whole missing book might do to my opinion.

 

So I like to leave my vote on the story for the last book.

 

So far I like the development of the plotline and the characters are well developed. Still some parts feel a little longer than necessary, but that might also be because I am not a fan of “flashbacks”. And the first book especially had a little too much of the past in it.

 

Somehow it therefore took a long time to really get to know the characters. The second book opens at least for me a new level on the emotional side of the characters. They became deeper and I admit it made me think in some moments.

 

The author sure seems to know her business around the military because for an outsider like me the stuff she told felt solid and real.

 

The pace of the story was not constant which made it on one side difficult to get into a reading rhythm for me – but on the other hand you never knew what would happen next so it was also a benefit to the story.

 

I feel that the second book is slightly better developed character & story wise than the first which totally lets me hope for a big bang in the 3rd book. If it would have been just for the first book I would think about a 3 star read but adding the second I think I would apply a solid 4 stars.

 

So now lets wait for the last book in that series so I can finalize my opinion …

 

GOD I hate waiting …but from the looks of it I have reasons to believe that the author will not keep us waiting too long.

 

So enjoy the story …

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF

In Too Deep (Doing Bad Things #2) by Jordan Marie

 

 

In Too Deep (Doing Bad Things, #2)

  

In Too Deep
Doing Bad Things #2
Jordan Marie
 October 17th 2017

 

I did a bad thing.

I did a really bad thing.

I’m not a bad person, I swear. I just made a few mistakes.

Mistake number one was agreeing to rent my hotel out to an insufferable a**hole, named Aden Smith­.

Mistake number two was ignoring his threats to sue me when he handed over a list of items he deemed “unacceptable”.

Mistake number three was diving into the pool to save his life when he fell. It would have been less complicated to hide his body.

When the hospital refuses to let me know how he is, I panic.

Claiming to be his wife might be my biggest mistake yet—especially when he believes me!

He might have been the one drowning, but I’m sinking in a bed of lies, going down fast—and there’s not a rescue in sight.

 

 

 

In Too Deep is the first book I read from the author Jordan Marie. Weeks ago when I first got offered this book to review I was assuming it was a standalone or at least the first I a series. While the first assumption was right – it IS indeed a standalone, the second is not correct as it is the second book in “Doing Bad Things” which kind of is sad – as I would have loved to read the first book where I spoilered myself the ending now.

 

Anyway it IS readable as a standalone and  I am super sorry but this review will not go over with at least some hints at spoilers sooo…… careful please

 

As for my thoughts and rating s on this book … I am at a loss honestly.

I loved this book until I reached the 98% mark of the book and this is honestly something that never happened before in all my years of reviewing.

 

While the reader gets thrown directly into a setting I felt still felt like I had already met the leading characters. And I really liked them. As the story is told from both points of view the reader gets to understand the thoughts of each character at the moment something happens. Which is great as there is a lot going on.

 

The leads are harsh and really leave no opportunity out to hit each other with words where it hurts the most. So the road this story takes might seem brutal at first but when you follow the story you honestly reach a point where you think “OK I get it” – at least for a while….

Then Hope starts to get trapped in her net of lies which was a point where my opinion got divided …

I could understand some of her lies as they came from the situation and were necessary to keep up the charade… then there were a few that felt like she wanted to get back at Aden and yeah he kind of deserved them at least that was the first thing I thought…. Then I felt they made no sense as getting back at him when he had no idea what he did made no sense… and that brought me to the lies that where over the top and I felt the author should have been more careful

 

I loved their sparring and banter but I felt sorry for Aden as he was at a disadvantage for a long time in this story

Oh and before I forget … I went forward and backward but where is Hope diving into the pool to save him from drowning as it is mentioned in the Blurb ?

 

Sorry where was I … Ahm yeah the disadvantage … I get that Hope reaches a point in her carefully construction of lies where she cannot find any outcome that will not result in a disaster.

I get her reasons really I DO … and I started to develop the feelings I need to give a book 5 stars they were all there when IT happened… the moment where I felt the author rushed to the end.

 

At first it started with the inevitable blow – I mean lets face it – no spoiler here that story has to blow up in some way. The way it was handled here felt like a comedy setting of the 80s (or maybe the final scene in Notting Hill when all the people pile in that car to get to the press conference)  – there were suddenly people present that made no sense for the story and it felt like an overkill.

 

But hey I dealt with it – because the story was good so far…

 

Which brings me to the 98% mark … for all the disadvantages that Aden suffered he deserved a little something here and what the reader got here felt not enough. Sorry maybe I am selfish and greedy . But I felt to much for the characters and the situation needed a moment to develop and not be handled within the span of the time it took here  (sorry being vague) – it was to fast and rushed and I am talking ONLY about Aden’s part in it. I liked what he did and how but not the speed …

 

So yes I loved the book but unfortunately this is the first book ever to loose its 5th star 2% before it ended.

 

I am pretty sure the people will love this book and it kind of deserved 5 stars honestly but I am disappointed for Aden so I will deny this star.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Four Doors Down by Emma Doherty

REVIEW : Four Doors Down by Emma Doherty

 
 

July 5, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Four Doors Down

Author :           Emma Doherty

Series :            n/a

Release date :   5 July 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

Blurb : Becca McKenzie is just trying to make it through her senior year of high school. She has good friends and a gorgeous boyfriend but Ryan Jackson, the bane of her existence, keeps popping up everywhere. She doesn’t care that they were best friends for years. She doesn’t care that their moms are close and therefore she hears more about him that she’d ever care to know. She doesn’t care that their mutual friend, Jake, keeps pushing them all to hang out together, and she especially doesn’t care that the rest of the school bows down and worships him. Becca decided years ago that he wasn’t worth her time and nothing, NOTHING, is going to change her mind.

 

Review : Gosh – help me – Becca McKenzie must have been the most annoying and dense heroine that I read in a novel that I ever read so far. It is actually a wonder that she made it to her senior year in high school.

 

Ah – now I can already see the wheels in your head start turning – how can a book with that review opening get 4 Stars from me – you wonder? Right ?

 

Well I guess it’s the writing talent of Emma Doherty that she managed to write “Four Doors down” in such an engaging way that even an annoying character will not keep you from reading further– I can not remember and I did not count the number of times I thought can this girl really be THAT dense ?

 

I even went so far to imagine what a movie with this plot might look like… and at that moment I understood something. Becca might be the most dense character I have ever encountered so far – but I actually enjoyed reading about her. 

 

Even if only to try and wrap my brain around the fact that she really had literally NO IDEA what was going on. It was like OUT in the open – WIDE for anyone to see – even a blind person could have FELT the vibes and the tension.

 

But Becca was happily oblivious in her own little reality.

 

I am not sure if that was the authors intension because usually characters are written in a way that the reader can connect WITH them (which sorry to say was not possible in any way with her).

 

But somehow – once I made my piece with that fact – the whole plot became actually pretty damn funny and I felt so sorry for Ryan at times (scratch that – it was really MOST of the time – he was such a nice person and really had the patience of a saint).

 

I might even go so far to say that it was Becca – that was the bane of Ryan’s existence and not the other way around like the blurb suggests …

 

If you think the Blurb sounds interesting – you should really try the book – just be patient with Becca – #still laughing …

 

be really patient #yes still laughing

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

One Christmas Wish (Heart of the Rockies #2.5) by Sara Richardson

One Christmas Wish (Heart of the Rockies #2.5) by Sara Richardson

 
 

November 5, 2015

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

Title : One Christmas Wish 

Author :Sara Richardson

Series : Heart of the Rockies #2.5

Release date: November 3rd 2015

Rating :  3 Stars

 

Blurb : There’s nothing like a Christmas wedding to warm a girl’s heart—or to distract everyone else from the fact that one particular bridesmaid intends to quickly skip town. Julia Noble’s accident was years ago, and she’s tired of being overprotected. She needs to be on her own. But before she flees Aspen, Colorado, Julia wants to make sure her brother has the perfect wedding and all her ducks are in a row. Yet duty soon turns to pleasure when three days before the big day Julia runs into the only man she ever dreamed of marrying.Fresh out of the navy, Isaac Nash just wants to feel normal again. But starting his new life means winning back the girl who captured his heart years ago. Isaac didn’t know the truth behind the tragedy that changed Julia’s life forever, and he can’t stop blaming himself for not being there for her. After all this time, he knows that Julia is what he wants, this and every Christmas. Now Isaac just has to convince her that she’s earned a miracle, too.

 

Review : The Book “One Christmas Wish” by Sara Richardson has two sides – at least for me –

 

On one side it is a well written and nice Christmas novel with everything that your heart desires in a shorter novel.

 

Julia and Isaac are two loveable characters and I could totally relate to their story.

 

On the other side … under the surface there were some severe holes in that plot … Unfortunately I can not go deeper into them as I do not want to spoiler anything of the story.

 

The biggest gap is again this “InstaLove-thing” which is even worse in this case if I consider their history versus the opening of the book.

 

There is just something I find extremely hard to believe about it.

 

So if you are looking for a nice and easy romance novel in a Christmas cozy setting – this is your go-to but if you are looking for something deeper – you might find some problems within the plot.

 

Nevertheless – I enjoyed my time with Isaac ;- )

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : In the Pursuit of Charity by Alexandria Sure

 

 

In the Pursuit of Charity

  

In the Pursuit of Charity
Alexandria Sure
March 1st 2018

 

He expected her to recognize him.
He expected her to be seduced by his charms.
He expected her to fall for him.
Expectations are a funny thing …When his parents named him Herbert Lincoln James, they already had expectations that Linc would attend an ivy league university and go into politics. Linc didn’t. As captain of his swim team, he was expected to win the big relay to carry his swim team to the state championship for the first time in decades. Linc didn’t. Society expected him to walk past her. He couldn’t.

She expected him to see through her.
She expected him to make her into a joke.
She expected him to be cruel.
Expectations are a funny thing …

 

 

 

Intrigued by the Blurb I choose to read an ARC of In the Pursuit of Charity by the new to me author Alexandria Sure. The book is a rather short one that I read in one session. Her writing style and character development is very different from what I usually read so it took me a little longer to get into the story and its characters. The plot flows at a slower but very steady pace which accentuates the characters very well I felt after I allowed myself to “get into” it. 

And let me also inform you that either this is a series or the ending might not be what you expect. I at least was surprised by it so I am kind of expecting there to be at least a second book. This book is not a loud full-blown romance novel – it is quieter – the characters deal with a lot of stuff that the author took right out of the real life and that is also what it feels like when you follow the developing relations in the story.

But do not expect it to be predictable because of that – because it is not.  This is a story about social standards and expectations and what happens when you either suddenly do not follow them anymore – or when you were never within them to begin with.

The story’s I usually read are louder and faster so this is indeed an unusual one but that does not take away anything from the message of the book. I would like to hear what happens next to the characters – but I have to admit that I would not mind if the author would allow a little faster pace without losing sight of the characters needs.

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Welcome Home for Christmas by Annie Rains

Welcome Home for Christmas by Annie Rains

 
 

December 23, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Welcome Home for Christmas

Author :           Annie Rains

Series :            n/a

Release date :   08 Nov 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : The bestselling Hero’s Welcome series continues with a juicy Christmas romance, a short novel set in Seaside, North Carolina, where the bustling military base keeps this small town stocked with dedicated, lovable heroes.

 

Three-hundred-and-sixty-four days a year, Allison Carmichael doesn’t mind being single. It sure beats dating another loser, and it keeps her heart safe. Then there’s that three-hundred-and-sixty-fifth day: Christmas Eve, the traditional time her entire family gathers together—and gangs up on her, demanding to know when she’s going to get married. This year, she swears, is going be different. And that’s why, at a charity auction she’s throwing on-base, she buys herself a man. Sergeant Troy Matthews insists that he’s not for sale. His time is, though, and he’s happy to donate it. Happier still when he learns the identity of the winning bidder: the redhead with the killer good looks and smart mouth who runs the veteran’s center. Allison needs Troy’s help to fool her family into believing they’re an item, and he’s all too happy to indulge her. But by the time Christmas Eve rolls around, their little charade is working a little too well . . . because Troy’s falling head over heels.

 

Review : I actually received my first Christmas review copies in the end of JUNE … and I have to be honest I refused reading them until beginning of November. So I had a little “early Christmas” last weekend to get myself into the mood. The weather outside was bad with freezing rain and wind so I simply left the curtains drawn to shut out the outside – turned on a few candles and got myself some cake and hot chocolate before I started with :

 

  • Twelve Days of Christmas of Debbie Macomber

  • Which was followed by Once Upon a Royal Christmas by Robin Bielman

  • And I ended my Xmas Binge read with Welcome Home for Christmas (Hero’s Welcome #4) by Annie Rains

 

Like the first X-Mas novel I feel that Troy’s and Allison’s story would have also worked perfectly for another occasion and the flair of the winter season was only an added bonus to the warmth of the plot. The leading characters were believable and their connection was interesting, because even though it happened fast the author kept it at least slightly believable – when you allow the Xmas and Book bonus on believing

 

Also this book had me really laughing at the point when Troy actually met Allison’s Mother the first time. And all their freaking out on creating a made up story as real as possible was just really adorable.

 

When I compare those three X- Mas Novels I am not sure which one I would recommend to you as the Best one because I think all three are equally appealing in their romantic “in the season” way.Please check their Blurbs to find out which one of them would suit your reading needs the most.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

PROMO / REVIEW : Irish Crown by Nashoda Rose

Title: Irish Crown
Author: Nashoda Rose
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: November 26, 2018
Cover Designer: Sara Eirew
Model: Mike Chabot
Hosted by: Buoni Amici Press, LLC.

From the New York Times & USA Today bestselling author Nashoda Rose, comes a new, sexy standalone romance novel.
It was one night together.
I wasn’t supposed to see him again.
I never thought I would.
And then, the six foot three cement graffiti wall of badass strides back into my life, and does it full force.
Now he’s protecting me from his past and I’m protecting myself against the heated chaos he erupts in my body. It doesn’t help that he can do playful and sweet, when he’s not doing bossy.
But the overly confident, playboy Deaglan Kane is danger, has no boundaries, and is totally off limits.
And I know behind his walls there’s a man with a dark and damaged past.
A man more dangerous. A man who may be the greatest threat of all.
The Irish Crown.

 

 

 

Nashoda Rose is a New York Times and USA Today International bestselling author of twelve novels, including the Tear Asunder series, the spin-off Unyielding series, and her paranormal Scars of the Wraiths.

She lives outside of Toronto where she enjoys hiking with her Newfoundland dog and riding her horses

BookBub

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

I am not exactly sure how long “Irish Crown” by Nashoda Rose was on my reading schedule – but even after the first release was postponed I could not bring myself to take it off the list. Usually I mark these books in Goodreads and clear my reading schedule but I read a bunch of books by this author and I knew this book would be worth keeping it on that list.

Having it there ensured that I would keep in mind to check upon the status regularly and you can imagine my joy when about two weeks ago I got the notice that the book will now be finally released. During one of my check in’s with the author she told me that she felt something as not right with the story so she postponed the release. Now after reading the book I really wonder –  I wonder what the plot was like before because now – well now it was damn’ near perfect for me. 

It had been a loooooong while since I read her previous books but I directly felt – wow – I know a bunch of these guys (which is a feature considering I read like a 1000 books or so since then NO KIDDING). So I went back to check on the authors book list to refresh my memory – there they were – gosh it all came flooding back. But make no mistake – If you haven’t read anything by this author before – you will be perfectly able to read this book as a standalone – and you will be yearning to hear more about some of the secondary characters. Surprise surprise – their books are already there … Usually with other authors you often get spoilered on these kind of characters and you learn their whole story – so you would never go back to read the other books. Here ? nothing like that – you will only be left with a pull towards these guys wanting to know more about them – and well you can…

With my memories also my NEED came back –  how much I loved these character and how I wanted to have more – (greedy little reader that I am) and even I got a surprise – because there is still room for new books as even I found a new and interesting character I want to read more about – (his name is Vic by the way).

And finally – there was this damn near perfect male specimen that got the lead in this book and I am still looking for his flaws – nope sorry couldn’t find anything worth mentioning. Except maybe his questionable taste for one night stands. Interesting is the authors ability to make this character so damn ( I use that word a lot today I am noticing) intriguing without really given a lot of information on him for a loooooong time – #writer magic – I guess. Oh and his Name is “Deaglan” by the way and “he has such a way with words” – well that alone should have been enough to dislike him – but NOPE that did not work. Any other guy calling telling his girl “Pet, I got shit to do” well – lets say it would not have been pretty But Deaglan well he lets a line like that get followed by “Baby, I broke every fuckin’ rule in my book the second I walked up to you. Did it anyway” –And any half sane woman has molten by the time he is finished speaking.

Eva the female lead feels good to read, believable – not to soft and not to hard as a character. I liked her as she was easy to relate to. So it was no hardship that most of the book is told from her PoV – it only made the few chapters that Deaglan spend with the reader even more remarkable.

There is not a lot of forward and backward like other romances with tortured heroes tend to have – these characters only go one way and that is forward without apologizing. And it’s refreshing. No excuses – no complaining and a male lead that is almost psychic in his abilities when it comes to his woman – crazy ? no more remarkable and probably what every woman dreams about if she is honest with herself.

So is there anything that this book did not have –

Yeah – one tiny thing – MORE PAGES …. And please dear Ms. Rose – do not let us wait to long on the next chapter of this amazing journey through the plots you pull from your mind. I understand perfection like Deaglan needs time but your readers are a greedy bunch and your characters are simply to amazing ….

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Wilde About Alec (The Brothers Wilde Series, #1) by Cate Faircloth

 

Wilde About Alec - The Brothers Wilde Series Book One

  

Wilde About Alec
The Brothers Wilde Series, #1
Cate Faircloth
 July 18th 2018

 

All Alec Wilde wanted was to disappear.

Running from his past and the secrets that haunted him landed him in the chocolate box town of Bridgeport, Connecticut.

With nowhere else to go, Alec rents a room from local florist, Mia Lane. A witty and driven beauty who wastes no time capturing his heart – though she’d never know.

Alec keeps his cards close.

Not getting attached means not getting hurt – and not having to tell Mia the painful truth about exactly who he is.

 

 

 

“Wilde About Alec” is the first book in the “The Brothers Wilde Series”  by –  what looks to me like a debut author – Cate Faircloth. From it’s plot it can be assumed that there will be about 9 novels in this series each featuring one of the brothers. Alec was an intersting start into the series but – me being me – I already saw two brothers in that family that intrigue me even more than Alec did.  The writing style and the character development are well done, so it was an entertaining journey.

Alec himself was a little hard to understand for me – maybe because of the way the author threw me into the story. In the beginning I felt like I was reading a spin off book and I should know things about the characters which I naturally did not know.  Alec’s issues are real ones and I do not want to be to crytical on him – but – what the blurb suggests and what the issues are – they somehow do not go 100 % together for me. I am leaving it at this generalized comment to not go deeper into anything ending up as a spoiler.

Mia was an enjoyable character, with all her irritation about Alec and their banter. At times she could have been more forcefull but she was just right somehow for the way the plot developed.

While I think Alec will not be my favorite brother in this series – I DO see a lot of potential in at least two of the other brothers depending what the author has in store as their backstories. And I will pay close attention to this series when their turn comes.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Wrong Place, Right Time (The Bourbon Street Boys #2) by Elle Casey

REVIEW : Wrong Place, Right Time (The Bourbon Street Boys #2) by Elle Casey

 
 

July 5, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title:  Wrong Place, Right Time 

Author :  Elle Casey

Series:  The Bourbon Street Boys #2

Release date:  05 Jul 2016

Rating : 5 Stars

 

Blurb : Jenny’s single-parent life revolves around her kids and her job, which means that hours of Animal Planet and strings of computer code are about all she has time for. Not that Jenny’s looking for adventure or romance—she’s the type of woman who believes in playing it safe.When Jenny is called upon to do some consulting for the Bourbon Street Boys—a New Orleans private security firm—she knows she should stay away. They conduct surveillance on known criminals and put themselves in harm’s way pretty much every day, so No is the obvious answer…Problem is, there’s a guy on the team with a body to die for and a dimple that just won’t quit luring Jenny in, tempting her to throw all caution to the wind.Will Jenny take the risk or will she do what she’s always done—play it safe and wait for the right time?

 

Review : I just read “Wrong Place, Right Time” (The Bourbon Street Boys #2) by Elle Casey and can not express properly how surprised I was by this book.. I have to admit, when it appeared on my kindle I had to check back into Goodreads to refresh my Mind what it was about.

 

I remembered when the Blurb turned up that I was drawn to that really silly name for a security firm and something in the wording of that Blurb was catching my eye – even though I could not quite place my finger on it. Then I saw – that I had rad another book by this author and that it was not in my 4Stars and above list – so for a moment I was second guessing my decision with this book.

 

And I started browsing through other book blurbs by this author noticing something interesting. It seems that this author is not afraid to try any genre that comes to mind. Actually what might sound strange made me feel better because – who knows – maybe it was just that one book that was not working for me (and no I did not go back to check what I wrote in my last review – I did not want it to influence this review in any way – I will check later)

 

So coming back to the book itself – I started reading the book and I was so pleasantly surprised that I will really recheck all of the other books by this author. I will definitively read the first one of that series – because I need to know how May ended up with her man.

 

I also need to see if some of the other books might fit my reading “needs” – but I will pay carful attention to the genres – now knowing that there might be some books that I do not like. Which actually is nice – because it makes reading also feel more real.

 

And real also being a MAIN word for “wrong place – right time” … I loved the conversations that Jenny was having. No matter if they were “inner dialogues” “loud thoughts” or really her “word vomit” – she felt so real.

 

She mad me laugh so hard at times – when she was describing herself or certain situations.

 

It has been such a long time that I can hardly remember laughing so much at so silly yet real observations. If you would ask my opinion I would say the dialogue really came from deep in the authors heart – pure – real and honest.

 

And than there is Dev he feels like a huge misunderstood gentle giant – he is so warm and fluffy (don’t laugh) (I know I am missing the right word – there is nothing to really describe him correctly).

 

It’s wrong to say gently giant because I suppose – from some comments in the book – that if I had read the first book I would consider him a hard and tough guy given his occupation alone.

 

But in this book from the first second that he meets Jenny he is just adorable (kill me)

– yes – he is a seven! foot tall – food killing – hard bodied – drill instructing – TEDDY BEAR … (am I drooling ? – I am used to bad boys so this is something really new to me and I kind of love it )

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 2 3 69
error: Content is protected !!