ARC’s

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Soul (Spirit Trilogy #3) by D. Nichole King


   

The Soul (Spirit Trilogy, #3)

The Soul
Spirit Trilogy #3
D. Nichole King
October 2016

 

A soul is not meant to be severed from its spirit.

Neither is it meant to be ripped in two.

Half of Lucas’s soul is lost, and the rest he forfeited to save Carrie’s life. Now, the piece residing in her calls out for unity, and the cry is too much for her to bear. Her spirit suffers, and Lucas fears for her life.

The connection between the couple grows, but so does the evil pursuing them.

When Carrie falls into the clutches of a demon, she and Lucas realize Hell is invested in their search for his soul. Demons know Villisca is without a necromancer, and that Carrie sees the auras of supernaturals. So they offer Carrie a deal.

A prophecy is given. A choice is made.

Love is supposed to conquer all, but the closer Lucas and Carrie come to merging his soul, the more ephemeral their future together appears. When the price is finally revealed—

More than one life is at stake.

 

 

 

Gosh – I knew why I waited so long to start reading the Spirit Triology by D. Nichole King.

I had several reasons, one was that at first I wanted the trilogy to be complete before starting (again as mentioned before you may thank Sylvia Day for that OCD). Another reason was that as a blogger my reading schedule is always more than full. But the morst important was that I need to have the right mindset.

I promised to read it and now over the last weekend I finally did. And wow … this was just like I hoped it would be. A reader always looks for that HIGH he felt the first time he read a book and loved it. And when you read a Blurb and think “this could be the next one of those” you tend to get afraid of disappointment (at least I do).

So when I read the blurb of this series I felt THIS COULD BE IT … the next really big story after a series that left real big footsteps to follow. And I got scared… of me being not open minded enough. (I am not going to mention the series because that has been done so often in other cases and I know I tends to irritate me – not going there) …

And what can I say … it did not last long and my mind was drawing lines to connect dots in the plot right to THOSE books…. There was even one passage where I thought “seriously?” .. but suddenly I felt I was being unfair to the book and it was when talked myself into letting this comparison go I really started to like the book.

Still I can not get all those thoughts out of my mind because really there are a lot of similarities in the plotline but the characters themselves are completely different.

If there is one thing I do not like about these books it is the triangle factor. I always struggle with that – no matter the novel. The blurb never mentioned that and I am not sure what my reaction would have been when it came to choosing this book to read it – if I had known about that.  

Other than that I am not really sure what to say about the plot that has not been mentioned in the blurb. Telling much more would be spoilering parts of the story and I think I already did enough of that by simply mentioning the triangle …

But on the other hand these few lines feel insignificant and insufficient for the quantity of pages that I read.

So lets stick to feelings during reading. From the first pages the reader feels welcome in this new world that the author created. It seems to be a simple world and the reader is slowly eased into the plot. Then step by step this world becomes more complicated until you realize that you have been drawn into it and I could not put the book down. So yes I am happy to have decided that I will only start reading until this series is completed.

BUT to be fair to the Author – she was kind to the reader, even if you knew that the story continued you never felt like you were left with a huge cliffhanger at the end of book 1 & 2. It was like eating tofu, you weren’t hungry anymore but you were never fully satisfied (I think some people are staring at me now… others will get it)

There is love, friendship and sacrifices.

So many feelings….

In total the way this story is written it might have been better to make the characters a tiny bit older… more college than high school, because they felt so grown up … all of them from the first page on that some moments you wondered how old they really were.

I really loved this story and I want to recommend it to all lovers of YA/NA paranormal romances. Let this Idea of Lucas grow… it is really so well developed an unique

Be open … don’t let other stories cloud your mind.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Body (Spirit Trilogy #2) by D. Nichole King


   

The Body (Spirit Trilogy, #2)

The Body
Spirit Trilogy #2
D. Nichole King
November 18th 2014

 

They vowed to never return.

Their lives depend on it. With last summer behind them, Lucas and Carrie think they’re safe.

Only the Moore House isn’t through with them.

When Lucas receives bad news, the search for the elusive half-demon who holds the key to Lucas’s death becomes first priority. The creature might be Lucas’s only shot at finding his soul. Problem is he doesn’t want to be found.

Dead ends and blocked attempts leave them wary.

Lucas seems to be fading away. His eyes no longer glow, his skin pales. Exhaustion consumes him, leaving him distant when he’s with Carrie. Not knowing what’s happening to him kills her.

From all around, shadows creep in, and there’s nowhere to hide.

Then, a mysterious stranger suddenly appears in town and unlocks a deadly secret from Lucas’s past. When the Moore House becomes their only escape—

No one is safe.

 

 

 

Gosh – I knew why I waited so long to start reading the Spirit Triology by D. Nichole King.

I had several reasons, one was that at first I wanted the trilogy to be complete before starting (again as mentioned before you may thank Sylvia Day for that OCD). Another reason was that as a blogger my reading schedule is always more than full. But the morst important was that I need to have the right mindset.

I promised to read it and now over the last weekend I finally did. And wow … this was just like I hoped it would be. A reader always looks for that HIGH he felt the first time he read a book and loved it. And when you read a Blurb and think “this could be the next one of those” you tend to get afraid of disappointment (at least I do).

So when I read the blurb of this series I felt THIS COULD BE IT … the next really big story after a series that left real big footsteps to follow. And I got scared… of me being not open minded enough. (I am not going to mention the series because that has been done so often in other cases and I know I tends to irritate me – not going there) …

And what can I say … it did not last long and my mind was drawing lines to connect dots in the plot right to THOSE books…. There was even one passage where I thought “seriously?” .. but suddenly I felt I was being unfair to the book and it was when talked myself into letting this comparison go I really started to like the book.

Still I can not get all those thoughts out of my mind because really there are a lot of similarities in the plotline but the characters themselves are completely different.

If there is one thing I do not like about these books it is the triangle factor. I always struggle with that – no matter the novel. The blurb never mentioned that and I am not sure what my reaction would have been when it came to choosing this book to read it – if I had known about that.  

Other than that I am not really sure what to say about the plot that has not been mentioned in the blurb. Telling much more would be spoilering parts of the story and I think I already did enough of that by simply mentioning the triangle …

But on the other hand these few lines feel insignificant and insufficient for the quantity of pages that I read.

So lets stick to feelings during reading. From the first pages the reader feels welcome in this new world that the author created. It seems to be a simple world and the reader is slowly eased into the plot. Then step by step this world becomes more complicated until you realize that you have been drawn into it and I could not put the book down. So yes I am happy to have decided that I will only start reading until this series is completed.

BUT to be fair to the Author – she was kind to the reader, even if you knew that the story continued you never felt like you were left with a huge cliffhanger at the end of book 1 & 2. It was like eating tofu, you weren’t hungry anymore but you were never fully satisfied (I think some people are staring at me now… others will get it)

There is love, friendship and sacrifices.

So many feelings….

In total the way this story is written it might have been better to make the characters a tiny bit older… more college than high school, because they felt so grown up … all of them from the first page on that some moments you wondered how old they really were.

I really loved this story and I want to recommend it to all lovers of YA/NA paranormal romances. Let this Idea of Lucas grow… it is really so well developed an unique

Be open … don’t let other stories cloud your mind.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Release – Down on Me (Man of the Month #1) by J. Kenner

DOM_RB_BANNERDown On Me, the first standalone in the Man of the Month Series by #1 New York Times bestselling author J. Kenner is LIVE!

1 - January - Down On Me

Title: Down On Me

Author: J. Kenner

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publishing Date: January 16th

Tight muscles. Vibrant Ink.

Meet Mr. January. Winter’s never looked so hot …

Certified bachelor Reece Walker wants two things—to save the local bar he manages and to get Jenna Montgomery into his bed.

He has a few ideas for the bar. But Jenna . . . well, he’s going to have to rely on cold showers, because she’s been his best friend for years, and that’s a line he just can’t cross.

Until one wild kiss on a dark night changes everything. Now Reece is certain Jenna’s meant to be his.

And with long nights in bed, sensual caresses, and deep, lingering kisses, he sets out to thoroughly convince her that friends can be lovers, too.

**Down On Me is the first in a binge read series by New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Publishers Weekly, and #1 International bestselling author of the million copy Stark series, J. Kenner.

Each book in the series is a STANDALONE novel with NO cliffhanger and a guaranteed HEAT!

But even so, you won’t want to miss any in the series. Because then you can answer the question…

Who’s Your Man of the Month?

AVNOW

Read Today!

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2hqLF2p

Amazon Universal: myBook.to/DownOnMe

iBooks: http://apple.co/2AsnDrJ

Nook: http://bit.ly/2AsnOmT

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2iN8nOZ

Google Play: http://bit.ly/2iNkziM

Add to GoodReads: http://bit.ly/2jd6hs6

TEASER_5

About J. Kenner

J. Kenner (aka Julie Kenner) is the New York Times, USA Today, Publishers Weekly, Wall Street Journal and #1 International bestselling author of over seventy novels, novellas and short stories in a variety of genres.

Though known primarily for her award-winning and international bestselling erotic romances (including the Stark and Most Wanted series) that have reached as high as #2 on the New York Times bestseller list, JK has been writing full time for over a decade in a variety of genres including paranormal and contemporary romance, “chicklit” suspense, urban fantasy, and paranormal mommy lit.

JK has been praised by Publishers Weekly as an author with a “flair for dialogue and eccentric characterizations” and by RT Bookclub for having “cornered the market on sinfully attractive, dominant antiheroes and the women who swoon for them.” A five time finalist for Romance Writers of America’s prestigious RITA award, JK took home the first RITA trophy awarded in the category of erotic romance in 2014 for her novel, Claim Me (book 2 of her Stark Trilogy). Her Demon Hunting Soccer Mom series (as Julie Kenner) is currently in development with AwesomenessTV/Awestruck.

Her books have sold over three million copies and are published in over twenty languages.

In her previous career as an attorney, JK worked as a clerk on the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, and practiced primarily civil, entertainment and First Amendment litigation in Los Angeles and Irvine, California, as well as in Austin, Texas. She currently lives in Central Texas, with her husband, two daughters, and two rather spastic cats.jkenner

Connect with Julie:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JKennerBooks/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/juliekenner

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/juliekenner/

Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/+JulieKenner-author

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/juliekenner/

Tumblr: http://juliekenner.tumblr.com

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/juliekenner

4ish stars.

Overall and surprising enough an enjoyable read. See spoiler for why it shouldn’t have been.
I had a lot of fun with this book. It is upbeat with some angst but very entertaining.

Reece, Brent & Jenna have been best friends since childhood. Only 8 months ago things changed. Reece sees her for what she is. A beautiful woman. Not quite willing to take that step he lets it drop and she leaves the next day for LA.

Jenna has come back to Austin it didn’t quite work out in LA. She comes home to her family. And to the attraction that she left behind for one of her best friends. They both notice that it has become awkward and that something has changed but they need time to come to terms with it. Once they do they are all in. A romance from friends to lovers. There is inner monologue of push and pull because the dynamic of their relationship has changed or will change which was somewhat repetitive.

Reece is a bit of an arse but he has good character development throughout the book. Although he is an arse I still really liked him. God knows why if I’m being honest.

Jenna is a strong and sassy heroine and she stands up for what she wants but she doesn’t give Reece a chance an unfair ultimatium IMO.

With all books there is the buildup of the romance and then a spanner is thrown in the works. This spanner is slightly predictable but the grand gesture isn’t too bad.

The setup of saving The Fix on sixth street which is their local hangout is interesting and a lot can be done with the series. I like the author’s writing style it flows well and is easy to read. I don’t know if I’d read any of the other series by this author.

I’ve signed up for all twelve books ambitious, right? So, fingers crossed peeps. In a way I’m glad that I have because the secondary characters here are amazing and I’m sure that they are going to get their books.

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Since Drew by J. Nathan

 

 

Since Drew

  

 Since Drew
 J. Nathan
 April 23rd 2015

 

All Andi Parker has ever wanted, all she’s ever dreamed of is a spot on the Olympic track team. But when an accident leaves her hospitalized with serious injuries and shattered dreams, she’s not only uncertain what her future holds but also completely alone.

Drew Slater is a wanted man. Professional football teams want him for his arm. Women want him for his good looks and magnetic personality. But the well-crafted disguise he wears, the one that helps him score on and off the field, hides secrets. Conceals lies. Threatens the happiness of everyone around him.

One chance encounter brings Andi and Drew together, changing their worlds in ways they never thought possible. Unfortunately, what they thought they knew about themselves—and about each other—might just be the biggest lie of all.

*A NEW ADULT SPORTS ROMANCE WITH A TWIST!!!

 

 

 

This was an amazing story – with a twist I did see coming a mile away like literally within 20 pages after starting. But the other twist – well THAT one took me by surprise and I really loved how it was played. I really loved the writing style of the author, the plot development and the characters. 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

ARC BOOKPROMO REVIEW

#Starstruck by Sariah Wilson

Title: #Starstruck (#Lovestruck, #1)
Author: Sariah Wilson
Genre: Contemporary Romance/ Romantic comedy
Release Date: January 16, 2018
Cover Designer: Micheal Rehder
Hosted by: Buoni Amici Press, LLC.

With one uncharacteristically sassy tweet to her longtime celebrity crush, Zoe Miller’s life turns upside down. Ultrahot A-lister Chase Covington doesn’t just respond to Zoe’s tweet, he does the unthinkable: he messages Zoe directly. Now she must decide between walking away or meeting her crush in person.

Chase knows better than to trust anyone from the Internet, but Zoe’s saucy challenge has totally caught his interest—and her girl-next-door personality is keeping it. He’s been burned enough to know he needs to keep his heart close. But his feelings for Zoe might be a lot more than just an online flirtation. He just has to convince her…

When the press gets wind of Zoe and Chase’s secret relationship, their romance turns into tabloid headlines. Will they be able to hold on to their Hollywood love story?

“You must be Zoe Miller. I’m Chase. Covington.”
He added on his last name like I wouldn’t know who he was. It was kind of endearing. I stared at his hand until the girl on my right nudged me and I gave him mine. A zap of raw electricity sparked at his touch, his hand warm and strong and big. It shot up my arm and spread all throughout my body making every part of me tingle.
“Hi Chase Covington.” I don’t know how I was able to form words. Or how I hadn’t dissolved into an incoherent, blubbering pile of Zoe goo.
“Hi Zoe Miller.”
We were still shaking hands, which was basically holding hands at this point as it had gone on for so long. He was just grinning at me, like I was some long-lost friend he was excited to catch up with.
I didn’t want to imagine what my slack-jawed, overwhelmed face looked like. He would probably think I was an idiot.
A guy with dark brown hair and wearing a Bluetooth device in one ear came over. “Chase, Marty wants a word.”
Chase finally let go of my hand. “Thanks, One-F. Stick around Zoe Miller. There’s more to say.” He walked backwards a few steps, like he didn’t want to stop looking at me. With a wink he finally turned and headed over to the director.

Hollywood boulevard sign, with palm trees in the background

 

 

 

Bestselling author Sariah Wilson has never jumped out of an airplane, never climbed Mt. Everest, and is not a former CIA operative. She has, however, been madly, passionately in love with her soulmate and is a fervent believer in happily ever afters–which is why she writes romance. She has published many happily ever after stories. She grew up in southern California, graduated from Brigham Young University (go Cougars!) with a semi-useless degree in history, and is the oldest of nine (yes, nine) children. She currently lives with the aforementioned soulmate and their four children in Utah, along with three tiger barb fish, a cat named Tiger, and a recently departed hamster that is buried in the backyard (and has nothing at all to do with tigers).

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

I have divided feelings about #Starstruck by Sariah Wilson.

 

It was the first book by this author that I read. I really liked her fresh writing style that was really down to how life with social media is working today. I found myself in some of the lines of this book. Because I have been there as a fan.

 

The author really hit all the marks and clichés that are out there when it comes to the dreams of fans. When it comes to stardom and fandom. And there are some really great quotes I could repeat here from this book that will not leave me anytime soon.

 

But on the other hand the author really did use ALL there is out there and that means some of it was too much and if you want your “star-meets-fan” to feel real to you this might not be your book. Because the picture that was drawn there really is not realistic no matter how much you try to twist your view on it so it might look different.

 

There also were two comments in there that I did not like – one concerning the fandom of a certain type of novels and one about a country – nothing mayor but it still ruffled my feathers. (I am only human as I have personal relations to that country and that fandom) At first I thought it would weight into my rating but the great banters between the characters made up for it so in the end I decided to not do that but still mention it here.

 

No offense to fandom – as I have been there and actually I still am – but to really believe stuff to happen and turn out like it does here would be (no words)….  And this is coming from a woman that slept days at red carpets just to be in the front row for the evening when it happens…so I know what I am talking about.

 

Still there is a lot of good stuff in here and while it is cliché from beginning to end I truly loved too much about the dialogue to not like the book so do not misunderstand this as a negative review. It is really just that I have divided feelings like I said.

 

Especially the “thing” that twisted the story felt unsatisfying to me as actually all actions of one character proved the opposite of what the other was supposed to believe in that moment so I was like “wait what?” So for me personally that was a point where I would have wished for something with a little more power. But I guess that is really a matter of preferences and others might think its sufficient for the plot.

 

Still the dialogues between the characters had so much great banter that the things I did not like so much really moved to the background to be honest. It is hard to describe the style of these dialogues but it kind of felt that while the main story was really 100 % chliche – those dialogues were 100% unique and made me laugh.

 

If the plot twist had been a little stronger this would have been a 5 star review but as it is I will go for the best laughing 4 stars I had lately … so

 I can really recommend this book to you if you like feel good novels and dream about meeting your idol.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Spirit (Spirit Trilogy #1) by D. Nichole King


   

The Spirit (Spirit Trilogy, #1)

The Spirit
Spirit Trilogy #1
D. Nichole King
 April 28th 2014

 

Carrie Reese doesn’t believe in ghosts—until she falls in love with one.

From the moment he walks through the door, a cool breeze surrounds Carrie. She knows Lucas is too good to be true…and he is. Because he’s dead.

Devastated over her parents’ divorce, 17 year-old Carrie is spending the summer with her grandparents in Villisca—the creepiest town in Iowa. Even though it makes her skin crawl, Carrie doesn’t regard the haunting of the infamous Moore House to be anything more than superstition.

Lucas, however, knows exactly why the mysterious farmhouse should be avoided. But that’s not what brings him to town. As a ghost, he cannot cross over into the afterlife until he finds his soul, and there’s someone in Villisca who can help. Instead, he finds Carrie. And there’s something about her that draws him in. Why didn’t he find her sooner? Like, when he was alive?

When the force of their love disrupts the containment spell around the Moore House, the rift to Hell inside the attic opens, releasing the demons. Since love isn’t meant to be shared between the living and the dead, the demons target the lovers, intent on dragging them to where their souls will face eternal destruction.

Sometimes there’s more at risk than merely dying.

 

 

 

Gosh – I knew why I waited so long to start reading the Spirit Triology by D. Nichole King.

I had several reasons, one was that at first I wanted the trilogy to be complete before starting (again as mentioned before you may thank Sylvia Day for that OCD). Another reason was that as a blogger my reading schedule is always more than full. But the morst important was that I need to have the right mindset.

I promised to read it and now over the last weekend I finally did. And wow … this was just like I hoped it would be. A reader always looks for that HIGH he felt the first time he read a book and loved it. And when you read a Blurb and think “this could be the next one of those” you tend to get afraid of disappointment (at least I do).

So when I read the blurb of this series I felt THIS COULD BE IT … the next really big story after a series that left real big footsteps to follow. And I got scared… of me being not open minded enough. (I am not going to mention the series because that has been done so often in other cases and I know I tends to irritate me – not going there) …

And what can I say … it did not last long and my mind was drawing lines to connect dots in the plot right to THOSE books…. There was even one passage where I thought “seriously?” .. but suddenly I felt I was being unfair to the book and it was when talked myself into letting this comparison go I really started to like the book.

Still I can not get all those thoughts out of my mind because really there are a lot of similarities in the plotline but the characters themselves are completely different.

If there is one thing I do not like about these books it is the triangle factor. I always struggle with that – no matter the novel. The blurb never mentioned that and I am not sure what my reaction would have been when it came to choosing this book to read it – if I had known about that.  

Other than that I am not really sure what to say about the plot that has not been mentioned in the blurb. Telling much more would be spoilering parts of the story and I think I already did enough of that by simply mentioning the triangle …

But on the other hand these few lines feel insignificant and insufficient for the quantity of pages that I read.

So lets stick to feelings during reading. From the first pages the reader feels welcome in this new world that the author created. It seems to be a simple world and the reader is slowly eased into the plot. Then step by step this world becomes more complicated until you realize that you have been drawn into it and I could not put the book down. So yes I am happy to have decided that I will only start reading until this series is completed.

BUT to be fair to the Author – she was kind to the reader, even if you knew that the story continued you never felt like you were left with a huge cliffhanger at the end of book 1 & 2. It was like eating tofu, you weren’t hungry anymore but you were never fully satisfied (I think some people are staring at me now… others will get it)

There is love, friendship and sacrifices.

So many feelings….

In total the way this story is written it might have been better to make the characters a tiny bit older… more college than high school, because they felt so grown up … all of them from the first page on that some moments you wondered how old they really were.

I really loved this story and I want to recommend it to all lovers of YA/NA paranormal romances. Let this Idea of Lucas grow… it is really so well developed an unique

Be open … don’t let other stories cloud your mind.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Review – To Have and to Hold (The Wedding Belles #1) by Lauren Layne

Goodreads Review

Discovering her fiance is an international con man just moments before they exchange vows devastates celebrity wedding planner Brooke Baldwin’s business—and breaks her heart. Now a pariah in Los Angeles, she seeks a fresh start in New York City and thinks she’s found it with her first bridal client, a sweet—if slightly spoiled—hotel heiress. Then she meets the uptight businessman who’s holding the purse strings.

Seth Tyler wishes he could write a blank check and be done with his sister Maya’s fancy-pants wedding. Unfortunately, micromanaging the event is his only chance at proving Maya’s fiance is a liar. Standing directly in his way is the stunning blonde wedding planner whose practiced smiles and sassy comebacks both irritate and arouse him. He needs Brooke’s help. But can he persuade a wedding planner on a comeback mission to unplan a wedding? And more importantly, how will he convince her that the wedding she should be planning… is theirs?  

5 ‘Wedding Belle’ Stars 

Lauren Layne is one of my favorite authors. She manages in comparison to other authors to hit the right spot in it being sweet & funny but with a pinch of angst and a plus not so much fluff. Some authors tend to go overboard with the fluff which kind of makes me cringe. I am NOT a fluffy person.

 

Brooke Baldwin has moved from the West Coast to the East Coast due to some unfortunate event that made her flee. My heart went out to Brooke what with the embarrassment and the humiliation of the situation. So she starts over in New York as a Belle. 

Her first big wedding is the wedding of Maya Tyler, a heiress of Hotels that belong to the Tyler Group. The thorn in her side? Seth Tyler the brother.

 

Seth Tyler the CEO of the Tyler Group is controlling and after the death of his father he has become even more so. When his little sister confesses that she is getting married after only three months? His temper is hard to contain. So what is a possessive, controlling yet adorable big brother to do but tag along to damage control the situation. What also doesn’t help is that he is also an absolute cynic when it comes to love. But understandably so when he but his well you can’t really say heart but was rejected in a cruel manner that has colored many an aspect of his life. 

The mission for Seth is to implement stop sister marrying a dodgy bloke but the ditzy, bubbly wedding planner is in the way. He never expected to be instantly attracted to her. Brooke has in her opinion a conflict of interest and that conflict is Seth Tyler and his domineering ways. In the end they give into their attraction to one another and well they are a great couple. Seth did take some things a little too far. 

The secondary characters are just as fleshed out as the main characters and I love how we get a feel for them to see them in their upcoming books. What I find pretty cool is that Ms. Layne has a writing bucket list. So expect more awesomeness from the author.  

I am of the opinion that when I like an author I don’t always like all of her books but so far the books that I have read by LL have been a winner for me.

 

4 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO REVIEW

Everywhere Unraveled (Foundlings #2) by Fiona Keane

 
 
Title: Everywhere Unraveled
Series: Foundlings #2
Author: Fiona Keane
Genre: YA Romance
Release Date: January 9, 2018
Publisher: Limitless Publishing
 
 
 
 

 


 

They told me I had to leave her.
 
They were right.
 
It doesn’t matter that she’s the first thing I think about every morning, and my last thought before I sleep.
 
It doesn’t matter that the moment my heart started beating was when I laid it at her feet.
 
As long as she’s around me, she’s in danger. I have to keep her away, keep her safe, before this storm overtakes us.
 
The truth is something she cannot know, should never know. Even if that means I’ll never see her again.

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Fueled by coffee and rainy days, shelves of books consuming her home in the Pacific Northwest, and a vivid imagination, Fiona writes about love because she believes the world needs more of it. She could spend eternity lost in a story, taken into someone’s thoughts while she is left lingering there long after the pages have turned. Fiona works to meld themes in the current world and spin them into stories of longing, determination, and hope. Her characters are relatable and relevant, as they battle their own fictional version of existence.
 
 
 
 

HOSTED BY:

 
 

 

 

 

Everywhere Unraveled is a truly fitting title for the second book in the Foundlings series by Fiona Keane. It picks up directly where Nowhere Girl the first book in the series left the readers. Nowhere Girl placed this new to my author high in my lists as THE YA debut author of 2017 for me. Ms. Keane’s writing style is intense and I am still not sure how she did it but she completely changed the tone from the first book to the second. Where the first book was a YA romance with characters struggling to find a way to each other, the second book has a totally different feeling (at least to me) .

 

Right from the first page I could feel Sophia’s confusion and Jameson’s desperation. Those two emotions were headlining many chapters of the book until the characters finally managed to crack the walls and had a chance to take actions. Interesting was that I could really feel those emotions as a reader.

 

Jameson is really the readers hero and I liked him in this book even more then I did in the first (if that is even possible) – however I was struggling with Sophia a little. AND don’t even get me started on the secondary characters. To have a final opinion on them I now need the full picture more than ever, so we will have to wait for the third book on that issue.

 

The story definitely leaves the High school YA romance genre and moves to something containing more suspense and I am really not sure where the journey is going. For now it feels that a lot of the mysteries were unraveled but I somehow do not trust the author (I am laughing while writing that) – She changed the tone of the series while maintaining the intensity of the story so who knows where the last book will lead us.

 

When I gave those 5 stars to the first book I made it clear that given the fact that it’s a trilogy my opinion on the complete series will not be fixed until the last book is released. So when it comes to Everywhere Unraveled the jury is out if it is a 4 or 5 star read. For the time being I will give it 4 stars because I need to see where the journey is going and just now I am not sure how I feel about this total change in the “tone” of the story.

 

Tap … tap … tap… <- my fingers (while I am waiting for the conclusion of this intense journey

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Fret (Recoil Rock #4) by K.E. Osborn

 

Fret (Recoil Rock, #4)

  

 Fret
Recoil Rock #4
K.E. Osborn
June 05th 2017

 

Loss—the failure to keep someone or something.
I know all about loss, and the resulting damage can do more harm than good.
Losing everything in one fell swoop… yeah, Karma’s definitely not on my side.

My life has been somewhat monotonous. Look after my twin. Play in the band. Party like a rock star.
Women have filtered in but never stayed, and now that my band mates have all settled down, I’m looking for something… more.

My problem? I’m a perfectionist, and I desire a particular type of woman. I don’t want groupies or fangirls, they’re not my scene anymore.
No, I want the perfect ten. And I’m counting on an internet dating guidance guru to help me find her.

But I’m not doing this alone. My brother’s friend and gallery manager, Alex, is along for the internet dating ride, and we’re doing this ‘dating thing’ together for support.
And in doing so, we’ve become the best of friends. Inseparable one would say.

Now with chaos surrounding me—being arrested, accosted by thugs, and all the drama that comes with my internet dating life—it’s forced a wedge between us, and I’m faced with losing her forever.
And it’s only now I see what’s been in front of me the whole time.
You don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone…

 

 

 

Not my first ride with this author but again K.E. Osborn manages to surprise me with  Fret (Recoil Rock #4), because this book again has a different voice than the previous ones. So it never gets dull with that series.

I could use a ton of cliché lines to describe the storyline of the book. With “you never know what you got until it’s gone” being the first one that comes to my mind.

Yet non of them would do the story real justice. While the baseline is a cliché and the idea has been used multiple times. Matt’s story still manages to have its own voice.

I liked how the story started… intriguing you how a guy like Matt could end up in that situation. Yeah actually considering all his Ideas and thoughts it was kind of funny (well not for him in that moment but well you will get it in the end when you look at the complete picture)

Matt’s and Alex’s dance around each other is sweet and there are moments when I found myself just shaking my head wanting to shout at them to open their eyes. So I guess you could say I was definitely engaged with this story and liked it.

In total, it did not pull at my heartstrings which is why it gets “only” 4 stars but really in all honesty not that many books get the 5th star with me. I would have to find myself hysterically laughing or crying a river for that.

I love the writing style of this author and I would pick up a novel of her at any time.

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO REVIEW

Something So Irresistible (Something So #3) by Natasha Madison

 

 

 

 

Max Horton

They call me an outcast like it’s a bad thing.

An asshole byproduct of a shitty upbringing. I don’t care about anything except myself and my little sister.

I will always protect what’s mine.

With one year left on my hockey contract I’m keeping my head down and my eyes on the goal.

A collision, with her, changes my entire existence.

Allison Grant

Never fall in love with a sports star. That’s what my stepfather always said. He told me athletes are complicated and moody—that the higher their paycheck, the lower their morals.

As public relations for the New York Stingers I know exactly what he means, but I can’t seem to say no to a friendship with one beautiful, damaged man.

What started out as hate turned into something else.

We tried to stay away, to keep our distance, but the pull was too strong.

Something forbidden turned into something so irresistible.

“You may now kiss the bride,” Judge Reynolds says right before Max grabs my face in both of his hands.

“I love you,” he whispers, then his lips land on mine, gently and full of love.

My hands go to his waist as I close my eyes and take in the safety of my husband.

“I love you with everything that I am,” he murmurs against my lips. I smile and look into his crystal blue eyes.

“I love you more,” I say. He lets go of my face and we shake the judge’s hand. He grabs my hand and we walk out of his chambers while my chiffon train trails us.

Max proposed to me three hours ago. He got down on one knee and vowed to love me and only me till his last dying breath while I stood there in the middle of the shark reef in the Mandalay Bay. It took me two seconds before I nodded and got down on my knees with him, buried my face into his chest, and cried from happiness. I was completely and utterly in love with him. And not one person in my family knew. Well, none of the men knew. But this isn’t about them. This is about me, about Max, about how he took my heart into his hand and treated it like delicate crystal, making sure he bubble wrapped it to keep it safe.

Now here I am, watching my husband dressed in a black tux hold my hand and me in my two-piece lace dress. It is beaded from my collar all the way down. It ties around my neck but leaves my back bare. My arms are also bare. A gold belt ties the second part of the dress, floor-length split chiffon. My legs slip out while I walk, showing off my something blue, which is my Carrie Bradshaw Blue Manolo Blahnik.

As soon as the door to the chapel opens, my chiffon dress blows up almost like Marilyn Monroe’s, the hustle and bustle of Las Vegas almost non-existent since we are off the Strip. Someone in the distance must have snapped a picture because his flash went off.

“I think someone just took a picture of us,” I tell him while we make our way to the car that is waiting for us.

“Angel, it’s Vegas, everyone is taking pictures.” He waits for me to get in before climbing in after me. “So, my wife, where do you want to go?” Max turns to me and smiles while his thumb rubs the hand he’s holding.

“Back to our room.” I look at our hands. “I want to go back with you and lock the door and just be with my husband.”

“I was hoping you’d say that.” He pulls me to him, his arm going around my shoulder, and I fit perfectly in the crook of his arm.

We watch the city lights come into focus again once we get on the Strip. Walking through the lobby, I hold on to my husband’s hand, watching his ring glisten in the light. Max unlocks the door for us. Walking in, I head for the living room that is now turned into what looks like a small reception. Gone are the couches, and in their place is a cast iron square with blush pink roses wrapped all around it. Tea lights make it across. All the furniture is gone. The only thing in this room are blush roses, which are my favorites.

“This place looks like a fairy tale.”

Max walks to me, holding a bouquet in his hands. “For you.” He hands it to me as our song “Dive” comes on.

“Dance with me?” I ask him as I walk to him.

“Every single day of my life.” He wraps an arm around my waist. I hold the bouquet around his shoulders and we hold our free hands to his chest.

He takes his phone out and raises his hand, snapping a picture of us. I’m looking at the camera while he looks at me. “Stunning,” he says quietly as his cell phone rings. “Angel, don’t freak out.” His voice is curt, tight.

I don’t have to time to say anything because my phone buzzes with a text from Matthew.

Allison, when you get this you better call me.

“Oh my God.” I look at him. “What did we just do?” He looks at me shocked, steps back, and away from me.

“Max.” I reach out to him while he dodges me.

“A mistake.”

I don’t know if he’s asking or telling. My heart hurts as his eyes go dark. He darts out of the room and the front door slams after him. As I stand here in my wedding dress, a tear rolls down my face, and I look down and see my glistening wedding band.


 

 

When her nose isn’t buried in a book, or her fingers flying across a keyboard writing, she’s in the kitchen creating gourmet meals. You can find her, in four inch heels no less, in the car chauffeuring kids, or possibly with her husband scheduling his business trips. It’s a good thing her characters do what she says, because even her Labrador doesn’t listen to her…

Author Links

 

 

 

 

 

I have to admit I am not a sucker for sports novels. If I read one it is because something other about the plot appeal to me so you will usually not get any comments on the sports side of these novels from me.

 

Something So Irresistible (Something So #3) by Natasha Madison was my first read in that series and from that author. I had no problems following the plot so it is easy to read as a standalone, during reading I only found a few tiny situations that related to the other books so you will of course have spoilers here.

 

The author does a fine job on the character development and writing style so I can fully recommend that to you.

 

But there was one thing that bugged the hell out of me and that were Allison’s relatives. It might be that I did miss out on the reasons for their behavior because I did not read previous books but as it was both of the male relatives that were present behaved like domineering axshxles that need some spanking themselves. (sorry – I know strong words are usually not my thing but you may take this as indication for how much they went out off line here) – I mean we are talking about a grown up woman and not some child….

 

From my point of view Max might have made some mistakes in the past but a lot of the stuff was also bad luck and missunderstandings. So to treat him like he was the devil itself was well … a tad to much I feel #sigh – I cannot help but like him … maybe again that is because I did not read the previous books but whatever – I take it …

 

Thinking about it I believe that once you read this book without reading the previous ones you might have a problem reading the others later… that might actually be a thing but I am not sure – its just a feeling.

 

That same feeling is telling me you are going to like this book if you liked the blurb so enjoy…

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 24