ARC’s

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Going In Deep by Carly Phillips

BLOG REVIEW : Going In Deep by Carly Phillips

 

October 22, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

Going In Deep

Carly Phillips

 

 

 May 9th 2017

 

 

 

 He isn’t Mr. Nice Guy… Julian Dane thought he’d hit rock bottom — until he met a woman (isn’t that what they all say?). He used her and broke her heart. Now he wants to turn things around but the damage he dealt stands in his way. Kendall Parker’s unique issues have made it hard to live a normal life. Very few people understand her and she trusts even less … but she believed in Julian once, and he only betrayed her. Now Julian is back — a new man — and determined to win Kendall’s heart. But this reformed bad boy just might find that Going in Deep is harder than it looks. Billionaire Bad Boys: Rich, Powerful and Sexy as hell. All Billionaire Bad Boys Novels stand alone!

 Going In Deep by Carly Phillips can be read as a standalone. But as it was the first book for me in that series and from this author I have to say that I felt missed out on the intensitiy of their previous relationship.

I suppose that the previous books mentioned the details of whatever happened between Julian and Kendall, even if they were only secondary characters there. I think to feel stronger about the characters I should have read those (if they contained details) because from the beginning on I could feel Julians remorse but I could not feel the hurt or the reasons for resentment I probably should have felt.

So basically Julian came to me as a nice guy feeling bad for no reason at all. And the same goes for Kendall. She was “fresh to me” and I could not feel or see any “leftovers” of her issues. Other then her thinking or talking about it there were no traces of them.

Also I could not feel her personal struggle to start a relationship with Julian. The only obvious and understandable thing was her reason to not disturb her relationship with her sister.

So in general I would not recommend to read the book as a standalone. (Still I am not sure if one of the previous books contained more details, I am just assuming this because of the general writing style of the author).

The story itself might work as a standalone but to feel more connected I as a reader needed a little more, because the story requested a lot of relating to the past of the characters.

But do not worry this ranting of mine is only the reason why this book did not get 5 stars… simply because my feelings were not on course.

As for the rest…this book is a great read, well written with wonderful characters that I can really recommend.

Julian’s remorse was heartfelt even if I could not fully comprehend his reasons (see above explanation). I really liked the development of their relationship and the storyline was beautiful developed and just flowing at the right pace.

Enjoy

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Perfect Illusion by Winter Renshaw

The Perfect Illusion by Winter Renshaw

 

October 18, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 The Perfect Illusion

 

 Winter Renshaw

 

 

  April 4th 2017  

 

 

 

 

 

It’s only pretend…

And it’s only three months.

I’m in the midst of scrawling “I QUIT!” onto his fancy cardstock letterhead when my boss corners me. He needs a favor, he says. And then he asks how well I can act …

Hudson Rutherford needs a fiancée.

With his old-moneyed parents forcing him to marry some bratty hotel heiress and his hedonistic, playboy lifestyle at stake, the only way to get them to back off is to make them think he’s truly, madly, deeply in love … with me—his third personal assistant this year.

But I can hardly stand working for him as it is.

Hudson is crazy hot and well-aware. He’s arrogant, spoiled, and silver-spooned. He checks me out when he thinks I’m not looking, and his life is a revolving door of beautiful women. Plus, he can’t even pronounce my name correctly—how’s he going to convince his family he’s in love with me?!

I’m seconds from giving him a resounding “no” when he flashes his signature dimpled smirk and gives me a number that happens to contain a whole mess of zeroes …

On second thought, I think I can swallow my pride.

But, oh baby, there’s one thing I haven’t told him, one teensy-tiny thing that could make this just a hair complicated …

Here’s hoping this entire thing doesn’t explode in our faces.

 

 

 

 

 

The Perfect Illusion by Winter Renshaw was not the first book by this author that I read and I really love her writing style.

 

She perfectly manages to draw you into the story that she presents you at that time. No matter where your mind was before but after 10 minutes you are in the story.

 

The Perfect Illusion is not different. Starting from 0 to 100 within 5 minutes you are thrown into a whirlwind of emotions that you have trouble keeping up until you finally reach a calmer water that lets your breath and think about what just happened.

 

Which brings me to the story and its leading character. I liked the characters – I can not say I LOVED them to be honest because I kind of stumbled over one or two things within the storyline that I either have to count as mayor character flaw of the leads or as glitch in the storyline.

 

One was that I could not really follow the female lead falling in love because it went to fast for my taste.

 

The other – and that was more serious – was that I had trouble digesting some reasoning’s that were uncovered as the story unfolded. They were explained but honestly they sounded childish in the concept of the whole storyline. More like something I would have expected from a YA novel and not from this book.

 

But anyway that is just my personal taste and others might see it totally different.

 

AND (and that is more important) it does not change my opinion on this authors writing – I love it – and as not every story can be a love at first sight – it would never stop me from picking up her next book at any given time.

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Ghost in His Eyes by Carrie Aarons

Ghost in His Eyes by Carrie Aarons

 

October 17, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Ghost in His Eyes

 

 Carrie Aarons

 

 

 

 

  April 23rd 2017  

 

 

 

 

 

He was as magnetic as a deadly hurricane to the shore.Carson Cole was my first love. The boy I’d shared my whole self with.He was the man who’d taken the other part of my soul and drowned it in the sea we’d grown up in.And now he’s back. Ten years later, and the demons of our past are still haunting every breath trapped between us.She was as wild as the horses who owned the beach highways we drove down.Blake Sayer was the beautiful daredevil who had me wrapped around her finger from the time we were seven.Until a horrible accident stole every piece of joy from her life.Ten years later, she’s a shell of the girl she once was, and it’s all my fault. The whispers of our history shackle her to the island I left behind.Just like lost years and unspoken words, love had slipped from our fingers like grains of sand. We’d barely made it out alive last time, was it even possible to reconstruct the shattered pieces of us?

 

 

 

 

 

While the plotline of Ghost in His Eyesby Carrie Aarons was enjoyable I still have to admit that I could not get into the story the way I wished I would have.

 

It took me a while to realize that it was the writing style that somehow disconnected me from the characters. And I really need to feel close to the characters to be able to give a good rating to the book.

 

Strangely there was so much emotion WRITTEN in the book but I could not feel it while reading.

 

Not long ago I read a book with a very similar plot and I could not help but compare the story as it progressed and here I felt it was very slow – to slow in fact.

 

The characters – especially the female lead seemed to wallow in their despair without any chance of moving forward. Also I felt it was suddenly a too fast (or too easy?) when it came to their HEA, with all the despair I would have expected more drama towards their goal.

 

So overall I have to admit that while I like a good second chance novel – this version will not be one of my favorites. But judging from the raving ratings I see I think the author does not need to worry about the reviews and I am just the odd one out here. So don’t mind me and enjoy this read.  

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Blog Tour – Gun Shy by Lili St. Germain

Gun-Shy-iBooks.jpg



A stand alone psychological thriller.
** NOT A ROMANCE **



HAVE YOU SEEN THIS GIRL?

In the middle of a fierce snowstorm in Gun Creek, Nevada, seventeen-year-old Jennifer Thomas disappears without a trace.

The second girl in nine years.

Identical cases. Identical conditions. Only last time, the girl was found. Dead, stuffed in a well beside the creek that feeds the town’s water supply.

The killer was never found.

As the small town mobilizes and searches for newly vanished Jennifer Thomas, one suspect comes to the fore. But did he do it? Or is there something else at play? Something nobody could have anticipated?

For Jennifer’s friend Cassie Carlino, the worst is yet to come. As she pins MISSING posters to store windows and joins the search, she begins to suspect that Jennifer’s disappearance might be much closer to her than she could have ever imagined.


Leo

I visit Jennifer every evening at the diner; she seems to like the attention, and I could use the distraction. I make sure to turn up just before her shift ends, and she gives me a ride home every night. The first night she came over we ended up talking for hours. My mouth hurt by the end, every sense on high alert. I was a gentleman. I didn’t lay a hand on her again, not after she started to talk. She’s in trouble. A lot of trouble. I think it eased her mind to be able to confess to somebody who pretty much wrote the book on trouble in this town.
I mean, there’s not a thing I can do to help the girl. Not unless she tells me who got her into this mess in the first place. “That’s the problem with men,” she said to me when I urged her to give me the name of the guy blackmailing her. “They always jump straight to problem-solving. Men always want to fix everybody.”
“You don’t want to be fixed?” I’d asked her.
“I can fix myself,” she’d replied. “I just need somebody to understand.”
I don’t understand. Her predicament is something I’ve never experienced. But I can listen. I listen to her talk as she drives me home in her shiny new car every night, and it makes me feel less of a fuck-up. I mean, she hasn’t killed anyone. But she’s planning to. And that’s why we’ve found each other. I am a killer and she is ready to spill blood. She is a welcome distraction from my sins, and I am a makeshift altar for her to lay her own sins upon. Because when I’m with Jennifer, I don’t think about Cassie Carlino. I don’t think of Karen Brainard. And, most especially, I don’t think of Teresa King and the way she burned beside me in that car.
* * *
The night Jennifer Thomas disappears is like all the rest. I go to the diner. Order nachos and a Coke. I’m surprised Jennifer is working. It’s Thanksgiving, and the place is deserted. Even Amanda is nowhere to be seen.
“Working on Thanksgiving?” I ask Jennifer, as she slides my food in front of me. She shrugs, that glitter lipgloss catching the light as she moves. “It’s just another day, isn’t it?”
I nod.
“Besides,” she says, “It pisses my dad off. I asked for this shift.”
At ten, I help her to turn out all the lights. I wait beside her as she locks the front doors of the diner, feeling vaguely worried about the fact that somebody left a sixteen year old cheerleader alone to lock up this late at night. I note the lack of video surveillance, the remote location, the fact that everyone is tucked safely inside their houses while Jennifer is alone with a convicted criminal in the dead of night.
Jennifer offers me a ride home, which I accept. Except, instead of driving me straight home like she has done for the past six nights in a row, Jennifer pulls her Range Rover off the road into an uncleared section of pine trees that tower over us. The track is narrow and winding and she doesn’t answer me when I ask her where she’s taking us.
She stops in a small clearing and cuts the lights. The engine is still running. Bits of snow fall outside, slow and bloated in their trajectory toward the ground. Jennifer’s hands are small as they grip the steering wheel; her eyes lit up by the red illumination of the dashboard, making her look almost demonic.
“What are we doing here?” I ask her again.
“I don’t want to go home,” she says staring straight ahead.
“Fair enough,” I reply. I watch her as she struggles to find words. She squirms in her heated leather seat, her nails shiny and perfect, her shoulders sagging under the weight of something I cannot see.
“Do you think I’m pretty?” she asks me in a tiny voice, and she sounds so mouse-like and weak that I almost laugh.
“Do I think you’re pretty?” I echo, feeling a smirk cut its way across my face. “Jennifer, you’re so pretty I could die just from looking at you.”
She rolls her eyes. “You think I’m stupid. You’re just here because you feel sorry for me, Leo.”
I shake my head. “I don’t think you’re stupid. And I’m not here because I feel sorry for you.”
She swallows thickly; I can see the pulse beat nervously in her throat. “Then why are you here?”
“Well, I guess I’m here right now because you just drove us off the road and into the woods.”
“You know what I mean.”
Do, I, though? I sigh. “Because you’re the only person in this town worth talking to who will even look at me.”
She bites her lip and I have the sudden, piercing urge inside my skull to wrap my hands around her throat and drag her onto my lap. That’s some messed up shit. She’s sixteen. Six. TEEN. I’m repeating the number in my head over and over, willing my dick to settle down. I can feel the throb of wanting her in my cock, in the thunderous rush of blood that makes my heart hit my ribcage like the firing of a gun, bang, bang, bang. My need eclipses my rationality. So what if she’s sixteen? She drove into this fucking clearing and licked her lips and asked me if I thought she was pretty.
“Why have you been back to the diner every single night, just as I’m about to get off shift?”
“Umm,” I try. “It’s the only decent place in town?”
She narrows her eyes at me and there’s a fire inside her pupils; it might be below freezing outside, but it’s a billion degrees in here. We’re already fogging up the windows with our breath, and I haven’t even laid a finger on her.
“Liar,” she says. “I want the real reason.”
You’re about to get the real reason, sweetheart. I grip the armrest. I grip it so hard my fingernails ache.
“I’m here because I’m a bad guy, Jennifer.”
“And?”
“Because you’re so pretty I can’t think about anybody else. Because I want to do things to you… that would probably frighten you. Things that might hurt you.”
Her cheeks are flush; her breathing quickens. I haven’t even touched her, and she’s already excited. Or scared. Or both. I want to reach between her thighs and see if it’s lust I’m reading on her face.
“What kinds of things?” she asks.
I cover my face with my hands.  
“What kinds of things?” she repeats, a hand on my shoulder. I let my hands fall into my lap and fix my stare on this girl who should be home with her family, not out here in the dark in the woods and snow with a criminal. I watch in awe as she slides her seat back and reaches her hands up underneath her skirt, tugging a pair of panties down her legs and unhooking them from her heels. She can’t look at me as she hands me a pair of baby blue silk panties with a bow on the front. I grip the underwear in my fist so tight I could tear it to shreds with a single pull, but I don’t rip it. I find the damp spot of arousal in the center of the material and bring it up to my face. I close my eyes. I breathe Jennifer in.
I shouldn’t be here. Not with her. Not like this. I will get out of the car, I decide. I will walk home. I will not touch this girl.
But then, “I promise I won’t tell anyone,” she whispers.
Fuck.
I grab her. I drown her shock out with my mouth. I squeeze her slender neck with my prison-rough palms. I keep my promise and I hurt Jennifer Thomas until I’m sated.
It’s only after when I’m looking at the blank expression on her face, the odd tilt of her neck, the bruises blossoming on her spread thighs, that I understand what I have done.
By then, it’s too late.
The night Jennifer Thomas disappears is like all the rest.
Apart from the way it ends.

Lili writes dark, delicious romance full of love, lust and revenge. Her USA Today Bestselling Gypsy Brothers series focuses on a morally bankrupt biker gang and the young woman who seeks her vengeance upon them. The Cartel series is a trilogy that explores the beginnings of the club, published through HarperCollins.

Lili quit corporate life to focus on writing and so far is loving every minute of it. Her other loves in life include her gorgeous husband and beautiful daughter, excellent coffee, Tarantino movies and spending hours on Instagram.

She loves to read almost as much as she loves to write.
Author Links

LSG USA_logo with black tag.png

“Beware the dark pool at the bottom of our hearts. In its icy, black depths dwell strange and twisted creatures it is best not to disturb.”

I think that wraps up everything into a nice package but alas not possible so how do you write a review for a book that leaves you in a position not able to find the words, not yesterday when I finished it, not now while I’m writing my review and neither tomorrow or next week if I had to put down how this book made me feel? Near impossible but I will try.

I feel like I have waited an eternity for this book. Yeah mildly exaggerated but I wanted to read this book that bad. It wasn’t what I expected but when I pick up a Lili St. Germain book it usually isn’t. The writing was impeccable, the characters flawed, gritty and full of emotion. If I could pick her brain apart I would for sure. She can put a psychological spin on anything.

It is cruel and savage this is what real life can about. Small town living truly ain’t that grand after all. The town is toxic, poison and only a few manage to escape. Read about lust, about greed, wrath, envy and pride and how it can break all of us. How minds splinter and how being deranged makes sense.

I hang my head and say that I can’t give it the whole five stars as it was clear who was involved and to what extent that they went to. It is sick, it is depraved and yet it is a beauty to read. Yeah throw stones at me cause I love the book. It is always an experience for me to venture into unknown territory but when I do. I’m blown away. It had me on the edge of my seat. I felt with the characters. The book is crazy, amazing, violent and not for the faint of heart.

Before I sign off my last words are

This is not a fairytale and there is no happy ending, no prince to ride in on his horse to save her.
Sometimes a gal needs to save herself.

Read the book. It is worth it.

Songs listened to while writing my review.
Marilyn Manson – Killing Strangers
Curtis Stigers & The Forest Rangers – John the Revelator
Rage against the Machine – Killing in the Name of
Lukas Graham – Better Than Yourself
Aerosmith – Livin’ on the Edge
Three Doors Down – Kryptonite
Imagine Dragons – Believer
Matchbox Twenty – Unwell

 

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Review – Sledgehammer (Hard to Love #2) by P. Dangelico

Sledgehammer Book Cover Sledgehammer
(Hard to Love #2)
P. Dangelico
Sports Romance
-
11th September 2017
ebook
-

Amber Jones is in a pickle. And when I say pickle, I mean deep do-do. She knew she shouldn’t have gone to her ex’s New Year’s Eve party. And she reeeaally didn’t mean to almost burn down his house. It was the chafing dish’s fault, dang it! Now she needs a good lawyer, stat. But where to find one?

All work and no play make Ethan Vaughn a very sad and lonely lawyer. Not to mention horny. He really shouldn’t have agreed to help his best friend’s wife’s bestie with her imbroglio. Now she’s remanded on bail––and living in his house. The woman is a walking, talking category five hurricane. And considering his track record with women, he needs to stay as far away from this one as possible. Problem is, he just can't seem to make himself.

Heads up folks, this little heroine has a propensity for prolific profanity. Our girl's got a potty mouth and strong opinions. If you are easily offended, this book is not for you. If you have delicate nerves, this book is not for you. If you are under 18, this book is definitely not for you. Consider yourself warned.

Only 2.5 Stars. What can I say? This ain’t for me. Shocker. But I’m being benevolent and rounding it up.

Every epic love story starts with a grand gesture.

This is an okay read for me. Nothing to write home about if I’m being honest. It is funny, heartfelt in places and well written. I was at least tickled pink that it is well written but I have to say this is no Wrecking Ball. I know I’m in the minority here.

The author informs us in the blurb of the following:

This little heroine has a propensity for prolific profanity. Our girl’s got a potty mouth and strong opinions. If you are easily offended, this book is not for you. If you have delicate nerves, this book is not for you.

And whereas I like all of the above in a heroine it took me the whole book to figure out what Amber Jones is.

She is self-absorbed. There I said it and I am not ashamed by it.  

It is all about her and the apparent or not so apparent choices/mistakes she has made in life. She is selfish and only looking out for herself. She has a half-sister? Yeah she isn’t really interested. She doesn’t want to be like her mother? Well sweetheart you are on your best way of going there. I didn’t get her issues. I didn’t see her problems. I felt some sympathy for her but the shite she just spewed? Yeah oblivious to me. IMO I would have left her sorry arse to rot in jail.

Everybody is probably screaming at me that is her coping mechanism that may be but at the age of twenty something she should have realised that kind of shite hasn’t gotten her very far in life. Now she is being charged for arson and living in the house of the guy who bailed her out.  

My advice to Ethan Vaughn will go unheard because dude you should run the fuck away. But no it is too late for that. He is everything a book boyfriend is meant to be and he saved the book pretty much for me. Oh, Cam and Cal helped as well.

But getting back to Ethan, E my man why? I’m pleading with you here man. She. Isn’t. Worth. It.

The funny moments and banter when she wasn’t being selfish kept me going admittedly I did skim in places. I enjoy slow burn but to date I have only found one author who can pull it off. I started it and hit the 8% and decided it wasn’t a book wasn’t in the mood for. So I stopped but I was in a strange mood and had no idea what to read so in the end I went back to reading it. My interested waned throughout the book.

It got to the point that I started watching Ninja Warrior and I rarely watch TV so you can see where I’m coming from here. I was fascinated by their muscles, holy smokes I was drooling.

To each their own. Please read it cause you know my opinion is to be taken with a pinch of salt.

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

How To Pleasure A Playboy by Talia Hunter

How To Pleasure A Playboy by Talia Hunter

 

October 11, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 How To Pleasure A Playboy

 

 Talia Hunter

 

 

 

  April 18th 2017  

 

 

 

 

 

 Blogger Lacey Gibson is officially fed up with her playboy landlord. (Actually, he’s her playboy slumlord). Everything about her place in The Baxter apartment building is a mess. The roof leaks and the floor is rotting, but Bronson Reyne refuses to fix a thing.Her solution? Use Twitter to goad him into a winner-takes-all bet.

 

#PamperedPlayboy is used to silk sheets. A bed in #TheBaxter would be more than he could handle.

#TheBaxter is history. I’m pulling it down and I want you out.If you want me out, come get me. Is that an invitation? Ask nicely and I’ll think about it. Last 7 nights in #TheBaxter, and I’ll move out. If I win, you fix up the building.

 

Deal made. I’m bringing my silk sheets, so you’re in for a treat. But I’ll only let you share them if you don’t snore.Bronson Reyne’s determined to pull the Baxter down, and he’ll do what it takes to get Lacey to move out. That includes taking her bet and moving into her place, no matter how bad it is. He’s a playboy who likes his bad reputation, but there’s no way he’s pampered.

 

Besides, living with Lovely Lacey for a week won’t exactly be tough.Well, it shouldn’t be…Now they’re living in close quarters, driving each other crazy. Both playing dirty to get what they want. While the building collapses around them, their attraction explodes. But this game has only one rule. No sleeping with the enemy.

 

 

 

 

 

 How to Pleasure a Playboy by Talia Hunter was my first book by this author and I really enjoyed the ride. The story was deep enough and well written. And the characters were interesting enough to keep my attention.

 

The plot should not be taken to seriously, because if I start to think too hard about it I assume I would find several things that were – how to phrase this – lets say not totally developed. I found myself several times thinking “really?”, which is a clear sign of that for me.

 

Due to the setup and some story strings I involuntary had a cast ready in my head – so if you want to know what my setup looked like, it would be from the movie : Two weeks notice … where “Dedicated environmental lawyer Lucy Kelson (Sandra Bullock) goes to work for billionaire George Wade (Hugh Grant) as part of a deal to preserve a community center.”

 

And once that setup took residence in my head, I neglected to think about the parts of the plot that at first did not feel so well developed and I simply started going with the flow and that turned out quite well for me.

 

I think readers are going to enjoy the funny and witty banter between the leading characters so I would like to recommend this book to all the people that liked the movie I mentioned and to everybody who thinks this blurb would be something they might like to read.  

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

A Change In Tide by Freya Barker

A Change In Tide by Freya Barker

 

October 10, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 A Change In Tide

 

 Freya Barker

 

 

 

 May 1st 2017 

 

 

 

 

 

What impact would it have when everything suddenly faded to black? For Mia, a crowded subway ride changes her entire life. Retreating to the wilderness helps her cope with a world that is suddenly too loud, too turbulent. Her existence safely contained to the small cottage on the lake, she is unprepared for the neighbor that moves across the bay. A career-ending injury has Jared permanently benched. His reputation as The Enforcer won’t survive the unanticipated responsibilities awaiting him. Away from the public eye, he adjust to his new reality, under the quiet observation of the intriguing hermit on the other side of the water.

 

 

 

 

 

There are certain author names that evoke certain reactions in me as a reader. Certain expectations that you connect automatically when your read them.

 

So when the name Freya Barker appeared on my kindle my mind directly connected it to intense storylines that I read from her in the past. And you can believe me when I tell you her newest book “A Change In Tide” picks up right where she left us when she finished her last series.

 

We find ourselves in a different setting with different characters yet we get told a story with an intensity that I truly love from this author. Her description of the setting really brings the reader into the story and the characters invited my to join them during the developing plot.

 

I felt like I was right beside Mia, the female lead when she faced her daily struggles and she made me want to hug her and tell her to hold on. The male lead was as confusing to me as he felt to Mia at first.

 

 

Jared is a strong minded guy with a big heart that is hidden under layers of old pain. Pain that is not obvious to outsiders and is therefore often misunderstood. I loved the developing relationship between the leads but as this is one Freya’s trademarks that was really no surprise to me.

 

The leads were remarkable, fragile yet strong. I enjoyed every minute of reading and I will pick up a book from this author at any time if the plot appeals to me.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO RECOMMEND RELEASE REVIEW

Unloved by Katy Regnery

 
 
 
 
 
The sins of the father. The burden of the son.

Unloved by Katy Regnery is LIVE!

 

BUY IT NOW!

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2xVZ87E
iBooks: http://ow.ly/M2Ub30dJORp
Barnes & Noble: http://ow.ly/dHX930dMySA
Kobo: http://ow.ly/LD2t30dJQQw

 

My name is Cassidy Porter…

My father, Paul Isaac Porter, was executed twenty years ago for the brutal murder of twelve innocent girls.

Though I was only eight-years-old at the time, I am aware – every day of my life – that I am his child, his only son.

To protect the world from the poison in my veins, I live a quiet life, off the grid, away from humanity.

I promised myself, and my mother, not to infect innocent lives with the darkness that swirls within me, waiting to make itself known.

It’s a promise I would have kept…if Brynn Cadogan hadn’t stumbled into my life.

Now I exist between heaven and hell: falling for a woman who wants to love me, while all along reminding myself that I must remain…

Unloved.

**NOTE: This book is intended for readers 18+**

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS:

Official UNLOVED, a love story, webpage: http://ow.ly/ULLF30ftMYU
Add this book to your Goodreads TBR list: http://ow.ly/R3Fs30dJOOn
Check out Katy’s Pinterest inspiration board: http://ow.ly/M7Ie30dJP2x
For updates and news, follow Katy on Facebook: http://ow.ly/qpz730dJPFY

Signed paperback copies of this book can be ordered here: http://ow.ly/f6pH30dtYHj     

I have read a few of Katy Regnery’s book and I liked them so when I cam across her newest Release

“Unloved” I read the Blurb and I fell for it almost instantly. I knew if the story would only be half the way I imagined I had to love it.

Interesting enough judging by the plot you read in that blurb, you would imagine that this is a dark romance. But who the author is really a huge factor in  how a blurb works out in the end. And this book is proof for that.

 

Amongst all the darkness and despair that the male leading character exudes there was always a small silver lining. The reader could feel the hopelessness of the situation yet it felt never at any point as if there could never ever be a solution.

 

I am not sure what to say about the female lead except that she was partly extremely empathic and clever while in other situations almost stupid – no scratch that not almost she WAS stupid.

 

The male lead was in such a devastating situation that the reader will feel his heart being bent and broken several times. Innocent yet doomed from the beginning #sigh

 

The cover artist captured the mood of the book perfectly and I truly love the Cover art.

While reading I was wondering how the author would be able to find a solution for the problems at hand – IF there could be one …. And my heart was breaking along the process over and over

 

Then the author did something unexpected that I will not describe and that surprised me – and that also took away any doubt from my side that this book was 5 star worthy. This author moved def. on my “keep an eye on the next releases” list …

 

You will have to find out for yourself what happens

Great piece of writing

3 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Blog Tour – Pitch Dark by A.M. Wilson & Alex Grayson

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Review – Hooked on a Witch by Zoe Forward

Hooked on a Witch Book Cover Hooked on a Witch
Keepers of the Veil #4
Zoe Forward
Paranormal
ebook
230

Pleiades witch Shannon Randolph has been framed for a theft she didn't do. She has one week to return a stolen relic to the god it belongs or she'll be executed. What's worse? Evil magic-wielding wackos are coming out of the woodwork after her to get it. But the biggest danger is Merck. This sexy, dangerous witch-hunter who understands all forms of magic might be her only hope. Enlisting his help may require she be a very naughty witch.

The moment Shannon strolls back into Jason Merck's life he's in trouble. There's something about the witch he can't resist, but he must. The witch hunter can't fall for the witch.

Well this went downhill half way through the book for me.
I loved the beginning and thought this is going to be good exactly what I need and compared to the first book it looks good. But half way through the book I just wasn’t feeling it.
I liked the main characters and the world building is always solid with the author but at some point it just kept on dragging on to the point that I felt annoyed by everything.
This is just my personal opinion

1 2 3 9