5 STARS

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Scarred Perceptions Jackie Williams

 

 

Scarred Perceptions

  

Scarred Perceptions
Scarred
Jackie Williams
November 13th 2017

 

A chance sighting started it. A mere bump and the slightest flicker of recognition, but there are some people so vile, so greedy, self-centred and egotistical, they are impossible to forget. Why was the man there? And what havoc was the slime about to unleash? Surely a little digging through some computer databases wouldn’t go amiss.

The truth is almost too much to handle. Alex is already way too late. The damage has been going on for years. Will carry on if he doesn’t do something about it. But who can he trust? Not the military. They are already ignoring his frantic calls, his terrifying emails. And now they have sent someone after him. They are on his tail, closing in fast, and he’s out of time, out of luck, and out of options. Until he can get hold of vital evidence, he’s on the run.

But how could he leave without seeing his friends one last time? It would be chancy. Though he trusts them with his life, he daren’t let them know the truth. They wouldn’t stand back and let things run their course. They would require action. Fast and furious. Lethal retribution. Immediately. But one wrong move would bring them all down, close the château, and finish the rehabilitation centre. Something that couldn’t happen. Too many people needed them.

Perhaps if the person following him could be avoided, Alex would have time to complete his investigation. Time to collect enough proof to give them all some peace of mind. All he needs to do is find out who they are. Then shut them out and take them down.

With right on his side it should be easy. It’s just a pity that their investigator has stalked a path straight into his heart.

Scarred Perceptions is an easy read romance suitable for anyone 16+ due to sensual scenes and typical army guy language. The book can be read as a standalone romance but the Scarred series is best read in order to appreciate the relationships between past characters and situations.

 

 

 

I was taken by surprise do find this next installment in a series I love very much. And I directly started reading it. There is not much I have left to say about the writing style of the author as I obviously like it, otherwise I would not have already read the previous 6(?) books.  Anyway – please do not attempt do read this story as a standalone – it will not work because you will have no idea about the people and what is really going on. I admit you might be able to read it but you will never enjoy it fully.

I have to admit even I never knew or recognized really what was going on with Alex. And due to very personal reasons Alex is now a character very close and dear to my heart. Because there are some things that distinguish one person from another person a the first look and there are other issues that you will never directly see.  And I would like to use this moment for a very personal message. If you see a person in a situation where food is involved asking strange questions please do not automatically think  they are just trying  to be a pain – do not assume they are snobs or picky if they do not eat stuff that is served. I have been living with this “sticker” now for 10 years always between a rock and a hard place. I either have to tell my lifestory and and take the pitty that is not wanted nor does it help. Or I choose to look like a prick resuming to not eat or bring my own food.  And I can not even count the times or occasions that I paid for food at places just to look normal in a group and never ate it.  I know this has nothing to do with the story but yeah but reading about Alex again made me realize I never read about this before so it mad me feel things and I would like to thank the author to also bring subjects like this into her books.

So yeah I really liked this book as it fits perfectly into the already existing series and I am looking forward to the next stories

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Soul (Spirit Trilogy #3) by D. Nichole King


   

The Soul (Spirit Trilogy, #3)

The Soul
Spirit Trilogy #3
D. Nichole King
October 2016

 

A soul is not meant to be severed from its spirit.

Neither is it meant to be ripped in two.

Half of Lucas’s soul is lost, and the rest he forfeited to save Carrie’s life. Now, the piece residing in her calls out for unity, and the cry is too much for her to bear. Her spirit suffers, and Lucas fears for her life.

The connection between the couple grows, but so does the evil pursuing them.

When Carrie falls into the clutches of a demon, she and Lucas realize Hell is invested in their search for his soul. Demons know Villisca is without a necromancer, and that Carrie sees the auras of supernaturals. So they offer Carrie a deal.

A prophecy is given. A choice is made.

Love is supposed to conquer all, but the closer Lucas and Carrie come to merging his soul, the more ephemeral their future together appears. When the price is finally revealed—

More than one life is at stake.

 

 

 

Gosh – I knew why I waited so long to start reading the Spirit Triology by D. Nichole King.

I had several reasons, one was that at first I wanted the trilogy to be complete before starting (again as mentioned before you may thank Sylvia Day for that OCD). Another reason was that as a blogger my reading schedule is always more than full. But the morst important was that I need to have the right mindset.

I promised to read it and now over the last weekend I finally did. And wow … this was just like I hoped it would be. A reader always looks for that HIGH he felt the first time he read a book and loved it. And when you read a Blurb and think “this could be the next one of those” you tend to get afraid of disappointment (at least I do).

So when I read the blurb of this series I felt THIS COULD BE IT … the next really big story after a series that left real big footsteps to follow. And I got scared… of me being not open minded enough. (I am not going to mention the series because that has been done so often in other cases and I know I tends to irritate me – not going there) …

And what can I say … it did not last long and my mind was drawing lines to connect dots in the plot right to THOSE books…. There was even one passage where I thought “seriously?” .. but suddenly I felt I was being unfair to the book and it was when talked myself into letting this comparison go I really started to like the book.

Still I can not get all those thoughts out of my mind because really there are a lot of similarities in the plotline but the characters themselves are completely different.

If there is one thing I do not like about these books it is the triangle factor. I always struggle with that – no matter the novel. The blurb never mentioned that and I am not sure what my reaction would have been when it came to choosing this book to read it – if I had known about that.  

Other than that I am not really sure what to say about the plot that has not been mentioned in the blurb. Telling much more would be spoilering parts of the story and I think I already did enough of that by simply mentioning the triangle …

But on the other hand these few lines feel insignificant and insufficient for the quantity of pages that I read.

So lets stick to feelings during reading. From the first pages the reader feels welcome in this new world that the author created. It seems to be a simple world and the reader is slowly eased into the plot. Then step by step this world becomes more complicated until you realize that you have been drawn into it and I could not put the book down. So yes I am happy to have decided that I will only start reading until this series is completed.

BUT to be fair to the Author – she was kind to the reader, even if you knew that the story continued you never felt like you were left with a huge cliffhanger at the end of book 1 & 2. It was like eating tofu, you weren’t hungry anymore but you were never fully satisfied (I think some people are staring at me now… others will get it)

There is love, friendship and sacrifices.

So many feelings….

In total the way this story is written it might have been better to make the characters a tiny bit older… more college than high school, because they felt so grown up … all of them from the first page on that some moments you wondered how old they really were.

I really loved this story and I want to recommend it to all lovers of YA/NA paranormal romances. Let this Idea of Lucas grow… it is really so well developed an unique

Be open … don’t let other stories cloud your mind.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Body (Spirit Trilogy #2) by D. Nichole King


   

The Body (Spirit Trilogy, #2)

The Body
Spirit Trilogy #2
D. Nichole King
November 18th 2014

 

They vowed to never return.

Their lives depend on it. With last summer behind them, Lucas and Carrie think they’re safe.

Only the Moore House isn’t through with them.

When Lucas receives bad news, the search for the elusive half-demon who holds the key to Lucas’s death becomes first priority. The creature might be Lucas’s only shot at finding his soul. Problem is he doesn’t want to be found.

Dead ends and blocked attempts leave them wary.

Lucas seems to be fading away. His eyes no longer glow, his skin pales. Exhaustion consumes him, leaving him distant when he’s with Carrie. Not knowing what’s happening to him kills her.

From all around, shadows creep in, and there’s nowhere to hide.

Then, a mysterious stranger suddenly appears in town and unlocks a deadly secret from Lucas’s past. When the Moore House becomes their only escape—

No one is safe.

 

 

 

Gosh – I knew why I waited so long to start reading the Spirit Triology by D. Nichole King.

I had several reasons, one was that at first I wanted the trilogy to be complete before starting (again as mentioned before you may thank Sylvia Day for that OCD). Another reason was that as a blogger my reading schedule is always more than full. But the morst important was that I need to have the right mindset.

I promised to read it and now over the last weekend I finally did. And wow … this was just like I hoped it would be. A reader always looks for that HIGH he felt the first time he read a book and loved it. And when you read a Blurb and think “this could be the next one of those” you tend to get afraid of disappointment (at least I do).

So when I read the blurb of this series I felt THIS COULD BE IT … the next really big story after a series that left real big footsteps to follow. And I got scared… of me being not open minded enough. (I am not going to mention the series because that has been done so often in other cases and I know I tends to irritate me – not going there) …

And what can I say … it did not last long and my mind was drawing lines to connect dots in the plot right to THOSE books…. There was even one passage where I thought “seriously?” .. but suddenly I felt I was being unfair to the book and it was when talked myself into letting this comparison go I really started to like the book.

Still I can not get all those thoughts out of my mind because really there are a lot of similarities in the plotline but the characters themselves are completely different.

If there is one thing I do not like about these books it is the triangle factor. I always struggle with that – no matter the novel. The blurb never mentioned that and I am not sure what my reaction would have been when it came to choosing this book to read it – if I had known about that.  

Other than that I am not really sure what to say about the plot that has not been mentioned in the blurb. Telling much more would be spoilering parts of the story and I think I already did enough of that by simply mentioning the triangle …

But on the other hand these few lines feel insignificant and insufficient for the quantity of pages that I read.

So lets stick to feelings during reading. From the first pages the reader feels welcome in this new world that the author created. It seems to be a simple world and the reader is slowly eased into the plot. Then step by step this world becomes more complicated until you realize that you have been drawn into it and I could not put the book down. So yes I am happy to have decided that I will only start reading until this series is completed.

BUT to be fair to the Author – she was kind to the reader, even if you knew that the story continued you never felt like you were left with a huge cliffhanger at the end of book 1 & 2. It was like eating tofu, you weren’t hungry anymore but you were never fully satisfied (I think some people are staring at me now… others will get it)

There is love, friendship and sacrifices.

So many feelings….

In total the way this story is written it might have been better to make the characters a tiny bit older… more college than high school, because they felt so grown up … all of them from the first page on that some moments you wondered how old they really were.

I really loved this story and I want to recommend it to all lovers of YA/NA paranormal romances. Let this Idea of Lucas grow… it is really so well developed an unique

Be open … don’t let other stories cloud your mind.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Since Drew by J. Nathan

 

 

Since Drew

  

 Since Drew
 J. Nathan
 April 23rd 2015

 

All Andi Parker has ever wanted, all she’s ever dreamed of is a spot on the Olympic track team. But when an accident leaves her hospitalized with serious injuries and shattered dreams, she’s not only uncertain what her future holds but also completely alone.

Drew Slater is a wanted man. Professional football teams want him for his arm. Women want him for his good looks and magnetic personality. But the well-crafted disguise he wears, the one that helps him score on and off the field, hides secrets. Conceals lies. Threatens the happiness of everyone around him.

One chance encounter brings Andi and Drew together, changing their worlds in ways they never thought possible. Unfortunately, what they thought they knew about themselves—and about each other—might just be the biggest lie of all.

*A NEW ADULT SPORTS ROMANCE WITH A TWIST!!!

 

 

 

This was an amazing story – with a twist I did see coming a mile away like literally within 20 pages after starting. But the other twist – well THAT one took me by surprise and I really loved how it was played. I really loved the writing style of the author, the plot development and the characters. 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Spirit (Spirit Trilogy #1) by D. Nichole King


   

The Spirit (Spirit Trilogy, #1)

The Spirit
Spirit Trilogy #1
D. Nichole King
 April 28th 2014

 

Carrie Reese doesn’t believe in ghosts—until she falls in love with one.

From the moment he walks through the door, a cool breeze surrounds Carrie. She knows Lucas is too good to be true…and he is. Because he’s dead.

Devastated over her parents’ divorce, 17 year-old Carrie is spending the summer with her grandparents in Villisca—the creepiest town in Iowa. Even though it makes her skin crawl, Carrie doesn’t regard the haunting of the infamous Moore House to be anything more than superstition.

Lucas, however, knows exactly why the mysterious farmhouse should be avoided. But that’s not what brings him to town. As a ghost, he cannot cross over into the afterlife until he finds his soul, and there’s someone in Villisca who can help. Instead, he finds Carrie. And there’s something about her that draws him in. Why didn’t he find her sooner? Like, when he was alive?

When the force of their love disrupts the containment spell around the Moore House, the rift to Hell inside the attic opens, releasing the demons. Since love isn’t meant to be shared between the living and the dead, the demons target the lovers, intent on dragging them to where their souls will face eternal destruction.

Sometimes there’s more at risk than merely dying.

 

 

 

Gosh – I knew why I waited so long to start reading the Spirit Triology by D. Nichole King.

I had several reasons, one was that at first I wanted the trilogy to be complete before starting (again as mentioned before you may thank Sylvia Day for that OCD). Another reason was that as a blogger my reading schedule is always more than full. But the morst important was that I need to have the right mindset.

I promised to read it and now over the last weekend I finally did. And wow … this was just like I hoped it would be. A reader always looks for that HIGH he felt the first time he read a book and loved it. And when you read a Blurb and think “this could be the next one of those” you tend to get afraid of disappointment (at least I do).

So when I read the blurb of this series I felt THIS COULD BE IT … the next really big story after a series that left real big footsteps to follow. And I got scared… of me being not open minded enough. (I am not going to mention the series because that has been done so often in other cases and I know I tends to irritate me – not going there) …

And what can I say … it did not last long and my mind was drawing lines to connect dots in the plot right to THOSE books…. There was even one passage where I thought “seriously?” .. but suddenly I felt I was being unfair to the book and it was when talked myself into letting this comparison go I really started to like the book.

Still I can not get all those thoughts out of my mind because really there are a lot of similarities in the plotline but the characters themselves are completely different.

If there is one thing I do not like about these books it is the triangle factor. I always struggle with that – no matter the novel. The blurb never mentioned that and I am not sure what my reaction would have been when it came to choosing this book to read it – if I had known about that.  

Other than that I am not really sure what to say about the plot that has not been mentioned in the blurb. Telling much more would be spoilering parts of the story and I think I already did enough of that by simply mentioning the triangle …

But on the other hand these few lines feel insignificant and insufficient for the quantity of pages that I read.

So lets stick to feelings during reading. From the first pages the reader feels welcome in this new world that the author created. It seems to be a simple world and the reader is slowly eased into the plot. Then step by step this world becomes more complicated until you realize that you have been drawn into it and I could not put the book down. So yes I am happy to have decided that I will only start reading until this series is completed.

BUT to be fair to the Author – she was kind to the reader, even if you knew that the story continued you never felt like you were left with a huge cliffhanger at the end of book 1 & 2. It was like eating tofu, you weren’t hungry anymore but you were never fully satisfied (I think some people are staring at me now… others will get it)

There is love, friendship and sacrifices.

So many feelings….

In total the way this story is written it might have been better to make the characters a tiny bit older… more college than high school, because they felt so grown up … all of them from the first page on that some moments you wondered how old they really were.

I really loved this story and I want to recommend it to all lovers of YA/NA paranormal romances. Let this Idea of Lucas grow… it is really so well developed an unique

Be open … don’t let other stories cloud your mind.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Mr. North by Callie Hart

 

 

Mr. North

  

Mr. North
Callie Hart
November 2017

 

Law student Beth Dreymon is out of money and struggling hard. If she wants to finish her degree, she’s going to have to earn some money and fast. When she learns of an exciting opportunity—playing chess with New York’s most elusive billionaire—the offer sounds too good to be true. Reassured the offer is legit, Beth gets her game face on and prepares to geek out…

Only, when she steps foot into Raphael North’s luxurious penthouse, the rulebook goes flying out of the floor-to-ceiling windows. North is beautiful and damaged—a terrible temptation—and he has his sights set on winning Beth over. He’s just a job, though. A job Beth needs in order to make ends meet. If she plans on making her life in New York work, she needs to keep her eye on the prize. The road to hell is paved with good intentions, however, and it isn’t long before Beth finds herself entangled in Raphael’s world of dark desire.

Captor.

Curator.

Lover.

Enigma.

Beth should run from the devastatingly attractive blue-eyed devil, but Mr North has other ideas…and he’s about to make his next move.

 

 

 

The second book I read by this author was again a winner all the way. She has really a wonderful way to create characters that are so different and special. I loved every second of this book and I can only recommend it. I wish to hear more form these characters because while the book does have no cliffhanger it still feels as if the leads have more to say and I am sure the readers will want to hear it. 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Silent Song by Jaci Wheeler

 

 

Silent Song

  

 Silent Song
 Jaci Wheeler
January 22nd 2018

 

*Barrett*
I’m Deaf. What most people view as a disadvantage, I see as an advantage.
I feel my way through life in my 1969 Ford Fairlane. The vibrations and speed sustain me, the race track is where I dominate.
I thought racing was all I needed to survive…but I was wrong.*Presley*
Music is my life. I inhale the melody and breathe in the lyrics.
That was until I met someone that opened my eyes to a new culture. Who knew all it would take was silence for me to really experience music.When Silence and sound collide it creates an explosion of the senses.

 

 

 

It hast been a few days since I read “Silent Song” by Jaci Wheeler now. And my mind is still processing the book. So I guess the author did something right. It seems from what I saw this book was the first journey into this kind of contemporary genre for the author. The other books I could see seem more a touch of paranormal. It sure was my first book by this author. And I am 100 % sure that I will read the next book from this author too if it contains a contemporary plot with these kind of “broken/hurt/brooding” leading male character.

I am not even sure what to say about the book because I want to avoid under any circumstance to give away to much on the plot … but I am going to pick up a card from this deck that I rarely play and that is the comparison card… Please let me mention Two books – and please do not take the mentioning of these book as face value for the plot but just as my very personal comparison of what I felt when I read the book. OK here it comes

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover
Dangerous to Know & Love by Jane Harvey-Berrick

I am not going to comment on the reasons for this comparison again because of spoilers (this time because of the mentioned books) but lets say these two books left me with a similar feelings but questions and Silent Song was finally able to answer a lot of these questions. So in any case if you read one or both of the above mentioned books and loved them as much as I did – you are going to want to read this one and vice versa.

I admit to being an addict to these kind of stories so I scan all outlets on regular base for these kind of novels and if you read this review and know of a book that fits these descriptions please feel free to drop me a line – comment – message whatever…

I loved the writing style of this author. Without going into details as you have to experience it for yourself (and please read her explanation so no skimming on the first pages please) I can only say that it was exhausting to read it. I can almost feel your confusion so I confirm. YES I loved it and YES it was exhausting. But it was necessary that it was like that because that was one of the things that makes this book unique and that helped me understand some things. Gosh I wished I had a way of precisely telling you what I mean but really you need to try for yourself.

The only thing I come up with that I can tell is that the writing style helped me understand how exhausting and loud the world is and how full of unnecessary things. How unimportant the words of an answer are when you can read it in the face of the person you are talking with.

There is so much more I would like to say but then I would have to mark this whole review as spoiler and I do not want to do that.

This book opened my eyes … and I feel ashamed that even after reading so many books in this genre I still did not grasp the complete picture until now. I think now I do. And I would like to thank the author for that.

═══ PLEASE SUBSCRIBE / LIKE / FOLLOW US ════

Blog : https://www.jerisbookattic.com
FB Page : https://www.facebook.com/JerisBookAttic
Twitter : https://twitter.com/JeriTRyan
Goodreads : https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/20537528-jeri
Bloglovin : https://www.bloglovin.com/@jerisbookattic

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR 2 STAR 3 STAR 4 STAR 5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Books of 2017

My aim was to read 150 books this year. I wanted to read less compared to the other years. Yes I consider 150 books to be light reading. Yep I’m crazy. 

I actually managed to read 272 books this year. There is a lot to say about the books that I read this year. Around 160 where ARCs the rest I actually bought. Yes, I bought books. I’ve managed to get a lot of hit reads but there were times when it was a major miss. My taste in books has also changed and I read books I normally wouldn’t have read. I even started buying paperbacks again. There is just something about having books on your shelves. 

The Good, the Bad & the Ugly. 

My first read of 2017 and it didn’t go as planned. I wanted to start out with a bang and all I got was a poof.

 

Let’s get to the rest of the year so here comes the Good of 2017

 

 

 

Top 10 and in no particular order. These are all 4/5 Star reads. 

 

Come Closer by Brenda Rothert

A pleasure to read actually for me it was pure perfection. There were so many twists and turns and I usually see them coming but here nope. I had no clue what was going to happen. 

Dear Aaron by Marina Zapata

One of the best books where all of the interaction took place via email. Ms. Zapata is the QUEEN of slow burn crockpot romance. Read her other books as well. 

Gifts by Brynne Asher

The third book in the series and one of my favourites. Ms. Asher is an author that is extremely underestimated IMO and deserves more recognition. Asa the Hero of the book is one of the best Hero’s of 2017. 

The Staff and the Blade by Elizabeth Hunter

One of the most unique series in paranormal romance. The main characters love spanned a lifetime and was so beautiful. 

Sugar & Gold by Emma Scott.

Ms. Scott is my new to me author of 2017. The first book I read by her was The Butterfly Project and well she is a genius and blends a lot of unique characters to fall in love. 

           

Gun Shy by Lili St. Germain.

When you request a book by this author you just know that it will be filled with mindfuckery. 

“Beware the dark pool at the bottom of our hearts. In its icy, black depths dwell strange and twisted creatures it is best not to disturb.”

Pretty much sums it up. Even now when I think of the heroine she still gives me goose bumps. 

Bombshell by C.D. Reiss.

My first read by this author and I loved every moment of it. There was no other woman drama and the real star of the book was the little Bombshell. I am impressed by the author’s work not all of it is for me but that is fine. 

Ashwin by Kit Rocha.

A spin-off series from Beyond and I waited a frigging long time for Ashwin to get his book with Dr. Cora. These two really know how to create a world. If you’re not into kink then you don’t have to read the Beyond Series although it is amazing to read. 

Crave Me by Cecy Robson

Loud and brash Irish family that get involved in everything? Sign me up. I loved the heroine in this book and how they complemented one another. There were so many laugh out loud moments. The book is a riot.

Storm Gathering by Rebecca Zanetti

There are so many dystopian series out there but this one tops all of them and a bonus? It’s not for teenagers but for adults. I have loved this series from the beginning and would recommend it. 

Let’s get to the rest of the year so here comes the Worst of 2017

 

Top 10 and in no particular order.

                  

Something There and in Between by S. Ferguson. 

The Hero gushes about the heroine throughout the beginning of the book and then decides to get a bj from the bird his brother fobbed off on him. And to leave with her. The heroine can’t be that important. 

Darkest Sunrise by Aly Martinez

Keeping it real here. I don’t want predictable from this author. I want exceptional and this isn’t what I got.

Breaking Grace by Rose Devereux. 

Just wrong on so many levels. 

Midnight Kiss by Thea Harrison

If you’ve read the other books then you know why this fell short. 

Born to be Wilde by Jenn Stark

Although the heroine is kickarse she is just too predictable in her actions and doesn’t think before she does something which only gets her into trouble. Probably meant to be that way but it doesn’t work for me. 

                  

I knew You were Trouble by Lauren Layne. 

The MC antagonised one another too much. They were downright mean to one another and that is the kind of shite I don’t want to read about. I was finding the author’s books tiresome but then I met her and well she wasn’t what I expected. 

Oracle’s Moon by Thea Harrison. 

Yes she made it twice. This book bored me to frigging tears. Nuff said. 

Forged in Desire by Brenda Jackson.

I caught a lot of flack for this review in 2017. I once again found that the story and the author’s writing skills (what skills?) didn’t appeal to me. 

Fake Fiancée by Ilsa Madden-Mills. 

Not liking it is completely on me is that I thought a Fake Fiancée sounded cool and was intrigued and it is by the talented Ilsa Madden-Mills. But the fake fiancée is a well-used plot sometimes it works sometimes it doesn’t.

 

The Hitchhiker by Charlie Lee. 

What is completely on me is that I thought a Fake Fiancée sounded cool and was intrigued and it is by the talented Ilsa Madden-Mills. But the fake fiancée is a well-used plot sometimes it works sometimes it doesn’t.

Let’s get to the rest of the year so here comes the Ugly of 2017. 

 

There really wasn’t a lot of Ugly this year. But there were some series that I started that turned frigging ugly.

The Fever Series. 

Original, action-packed with amazing characters that keep you hooked to the book. All worked well until book 5 where Mac still wasn’t getting any slack and IMO she is TSTL.

Her reasoning in book 5 was ridiculous to say the least. Maybe one day I will go back to it. 

              

Charley Davidson Series. 

I’ve decided to stop with this series because even though I like Charley and her awesome sarcasm. I just can’t deal with her & Reyes at the moment. Maybe I will change my mind but I found out they get back to square one later on in the series. So no! I mean why?

 

       

The First Taste by Jessica Hawkins

This was recommended to me by a friend of mine and it was a freebie as well so I just couldn’t say no. This book is amazing and surprised me so much that I consider it to be one of my favourites. 

The Ghostwriter by Alessandra Torre

This is my first book by this author and I was blown away with what was delivered. Be aware that it isn’t romance but a mystery/thriller. To be honest I don’t know why I picked it up but I’m glad I did. I’ve also bought the paperback, so nuff said really. 

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

This was a charity shop buy as a paperback as everybody had been raiving about this series and well I didn’t want to pay that much. Another book in a genre I wouldn’t have usually read. But it is YA Fantasy apparently Erotica as well. I see some bits but not all of it. 

        

The hard truth about Sunshine by Sawyer Bennett. 

This here once again isn’t your typical romance but more of what life throws at you and what you make out of the lemons that you get. It had me laughing and crying all over the place. An outstanding read!

The Bourbon Thief by Tiffany Reisz

Just. Read. This. Book!

Spellbinder by Thea Harrison

A fabulous paranormal read where I thought I wouldn’t like the Hero but he is an Anti-Hero which made it all so much better. Thea Harrison is a fantastic author and although two of her books are on my worst list of 2017 the others outweigh those two by miles.  

The Kate Daniels Series.

   

One of the best series that I have ever read. I love the world that has been created. When I grow up I want to be Kate Daniels. Curran is an amazing Hero. Oh then there is Derek. But the best thing of all? Hugh D’Ambray. 

                                  

The Boston Underworld Series.

I avoid mafia books like the plague but when I was at RARE #17 in Berlin I met the author and I bought the second book, she was generous enough to give me the first book for free and since then I have been hooked.  

               

 

 

  • I was bullied into taking a review down by an author and till this day I really regret it. 
  • It was an honour when Ms. Hunter asked me to be on her ARC review team. 
  • I was trolled on numerous accounts and I’m not sure why. Being judged for not wanting to read a book is ridiculous. I don’t force my tastes on other people so why do it to me?

On a personal note not everything in 2017 was shiny for me. 

We tried a medical treatment and it didn’t take. I was gutted but apart from that I’m alright. 

The Pursuit of Happiness seems like an Urban Myth. It seems my expectations are too high. 

What I would like for 2018

To move buy/build a house. 

A new job because I am being smothered by my boss in so many ways and I need a new challenge.

Bookwise I would say that I want to read quality books. No more bad writing. No more unappealing titles. No more misleading blurbs. To finish series that I have started.  

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Heartthrob by Katie McCoy

 

Heartthrob

  

Heartthrob
Katie McCoy
November 28th 2017

 

Move over, Colin Firth – there’s a new Darcy in town!

Jax Hawthorne is Hollywood’s sexiest bad boy. I’m a glorified secretary who thinks color-coding my library is a wild Friday night. So when he shows up after all this time wanting to make good on our childhood deal to tie the knot, it’s not because he can’t resist my perfect credit score.

He needs a fake girlfriend to rehab his reckless image, and I’m the (safe, sensible) girl for the job. I would be insulted… if the proposal didn’t come with an all-expenses-paid trip to England while he shoots a new movie version of ’Pride & Prejudice.’

Goodbye, my dumpster fire of a dating life. Hello, steamy nights with a chiseled hunk who knows all the right moves.

Soon, I’m knee-deep in the English mud – and on-set drama. But all our fake-smoldering is getting my very real panties in a twist. It turns out, Jax is so much more than just a reckless playboy. He makes me want to forget our ‘arrangement’.. and break all the rules.

Can our pretend romance turn to something real? Or will scheming actresses, control-freak PR crews, and a pesky little thing called love ruin the best (fake) relationship of my life?

Find out in the hot, hilarious new romance from Katie McCoy!

 

 

 

Yeah I know Hollywood Romances are the stuff that fairytales are made of. That might sound harsh but to be very honest its also honest because we all need our fairytale once in a while right ? …. Did anyone see “Notting Hill” the movie with Julia Roberts ? Did you like it ? well then you are going to love  Heartthrob by Katie McCoy. Because I sure did.

 

In the moment that “Darcy” connection was made I saw the pictures of that movie in front of me #swoon.

 

And lets face it –  the Picture of that British Heartthrob male lead – that the author created was really yummy. #Sigh I can not help but be a goner for that British-ness

 

If you leave the part aside where the whole plot sounds to good to be real. (and please do that in order to enjoy the story) … you can really feel the characters. They feel as real as they can be in that specific setting. I liked the developing of their relationship, their dialogues towards others as well as their banter with each other –

 

may I quote a line here ? (no spoilers so no worry) >>>… Both of Jax’s parents stared at me and Jax cast me a grateful, if not amused glance. “Let’s have tea,” Kira said after a long, tense pause. Great, I thought. Better I put food in my mouth than continue to try to shove my foot down there.”… <<<

I guess you can imagine that this and other dialogues like it had me laughing out loud in the most inconvenient places … but who cares #hahahah

What felt so good about the humor was it was subtle and not over the top which had me smiling.

 

The more I think about it – I think my reference to Notting Hill will be the most helpful if you are considering to read this book. But please do not think that the plot is the same, because it is not … just the feeling and some of the settings might be lets say feel “related”.

 

My suggestion would be … just take a dive into it … be prepared to swoon …

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Talk British to Me (Wherever You Go #1) by Robin Bielman

 

Talk British to Me

  

Talk British to Me
Wherever You Go #1
Robin Bielman
2017

 

As the Dating Guy on L.A.‘s top morning show, I give the single guy’s perspective on dating, love, and sex—and I give great advice. Everyone’s hooking up…well, except for me. Sure, I can get any woman I want, but I’ve got a “no relationship” clause in my contract and the only woman I want has “relationship” written all over her. Probably stamped on her ass, too. And wouldn’t I like to confirm that.

Unfortunately, she wants nothing to do with me. At all. Something about the next Ice Age might have even come up in her rebuttal. Adorable. Because she’s determined to ignore what one simple kiss proved: she wants me as badly as I want her.

Everything in me is screaming to go after her, but I’ve got a secret that I’m fairly certain will end up with her roasting my nuts over an open fire. So, job on the line? Check. Nuts on the line? Check. Can’t get her out of my head? Nail…meet coffin. But what a way to go…

 

Talking about intriguing characters and plotlines …. One of my latest reads comes to mind …

Talk British to Me (Wherever You Go #1) by Robin Bielman

 

When I read the Blurb I was not sure it sounded like a 50/50 chance of a plot that I would like. I read a book from that author before and liked her writing style so I gave the Plot the benefit of doubt and started reading it.

AND it actually turned out to be more than I would have expected.

The plot does not sound like there could be much depth in the story – so please imagine my surprise at how the author gives the characters their own voice. I do not like to go into the storyline because once I start I know I will spoiler stuff and that is something I always try to avoid.

Lets just say the characters are great and have a lot of depth and their funny / witty dialogues will keep the reader entertained.

The storyline is intriguing enough so the reader will not want to be disturbed while reading …

~Enjoy

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 9