5 STARS

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Mister Moneybags by Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward

Mister Moneybags by Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward

 

October 14, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Mister Moneybags

 

 Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward

 

 

 

  April 8th 2017  

 

 

 

 

 

 A new standalone from New York Times bestselling authors Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward. I met Bianca in an elevator.She was on her way to interview me when we got stuck.The beautiful, raven-haired reporter assumed I was a delivery guy because of the way I was dressed.She had no clue I was really Dex Truitt, the wealthy, successful businessman she’d dubbed “Mister Moneybags”—her afternoon appointment. Bianca told me how much she hated Dex’s type—snobby, over educated, silver- spooned men who didn’t appreciate the simple things in life.So, after the elevator finally started moving again, I cancelled the interview and let her believe I was someone I wasn’t—a bike messenger named Jay. I loved the way she looked at the fake me and didn’t want it to end.I began dating her as “Jay”—all the while letting her interview the real me over email.I didn’t expect that our chemistry online would be just as hot. I didn’t expect the mess I’d gotten myself into.I didn’t expect that Jay and Dex would fall in love with her.And she was falling for two men. Only, both men were me. And when she found out, we were both going to lose her.Nothing could have prepared me for that day. And I certainly wasn’t prepared for what came after.All good things must come to an end, right?Except our ending was one I didn’t see coming. 

 

 

 

 

 

Once you started reading a book by the Duo Penelope Ward and Vi Keeland you simply have to love it. I already like both of their writing separately but together they are just unbelievably good.

 

I personally think one of them is the one with the MORE depth while the other is the one with the MORE fun in their writing – and together they simply highlight each other strength and make whatever they touch so much fun while never loosing the focus and development of a story.

 

Lover of the series will wonder if the reoccurring “thing” is going to making an appearance again and in which way. And I have to say they are becoming better and better at this … even though I was waiting for it I almost overlooked it when it came first and I only noticed it the second time around #congratulations ladies

 

I really hope the readers are getting more from you soon. I truly do not want this series to stop anytime soon.

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Review – The Ghostwriter by Alessandra Torre

The Ghostwriter Book Cover The Ghostwriter
Alessandra Torre
Mystery
DCA
29th September
kindle version
303

From New York Times Bestseller Alessandra Torre...
Four years ago, I lied. I stood in front of the police, my friends and family, and made up a story, my best one yet. And all of them believed me.

I wasn't surprised. Telling stories is what made me famous. Fifteen bestsellers. Millions of fans. Fame and fortune.

Now, I have one last story to write. It'll be my best one yet, with a jaw-dropping twist that will leave them stunned and gasping for breath.

They say that sticks and stones will break your bones, but this story? It will be the one that kills me.

Advance Praise:

"The Ghostwriter brilliantly illustrates Alessandra Torre's talent for the mysterious and the suspenseful. I could not put this book down, even to pick up my jaw. This book is an insane roller coaster ride through one betrayal and twist after another." New York Times Bestseller CD Reiss

 

A perfect morning. A perfect husband. A perfect daughter. Yet all a perfect lie.

It’s not a romance but a mystery don’t let that deter you from reading it. It was exactly what I needed to read and is one of the most memorable books of 2017 for me.

I’m also going to be vague here as it is something you as a reader need to go into blind. I quoted the hell out of this book but it is nothing I can add without ruining. IMO at least.

Told in multiple POVs in the book in no way distracts from the book quite the opposite really it adds depth, perception and a gauntlet of emotions that can’t be defined. There are layers of fine layers of this story but can’t be fully understood by just reading it once.

What is life without love? What is it without young love? Where the heart is still raw, exposed, vulnerable, it burns the brightest, hits the hardest and touches the deepest.

I love the protagonist of the book she is real, she is selfish, she is bossy. But she is lost, she is strong, she is resilient. She is secretive, stubborn, fixated on her writing and socially inept. She is who she is and she makes no excuse of who she is.

But it is her time to tell her secrets.

The Ghostwriter of the book is priceless both for our protagonist and the reader. Not to be expected nevertheless a treat to read and experience. The friendship that develops between them is beautiful unlikely but a friendship that would have never occurred under the circumstances.

The more and more I think about this book the more it touches me. The more I think about what masterpiece has created and after letting it sink in for a while I’ve moved my rating from 4 stars to there are not enough stars in the universe to give to this book.

It’s not all tryst, depressing and grey there are moments were you will laugh. Happy moments of the past. Of going to the cinema. Of the baby calf. That pick you up again but in the end it will all be torn down.

Ms. Torre I can say that yes I do love the love, the sweat and emotions that went to every chapter. I love the protagonist. You have made her a character that you might love or hate but at least to understand her.

2 Replies
5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

A Change In Tide by Freya Barker

A Change In Tide by Freya Barker

 

October 10, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 A Change In Tide

 

 Freya Barker

 

 

 

 May 1st 2017 

 

 

 

 

 

What impact would it have when everything suddenly faded to black? For Mia, a crowded subway ride changes her entire life. Retreating to the wilderness helps her cope with a world that is suddenly too loud, too turbulent. Her existence safely contained to the small cottage on the lake, she is unprepared for the neighbor that moves across the bay. A career-ending injury has Jared permanently benched. His reputation as The Enforcer won’t survive the unanticipated responsibilities awaiting him. Away from the public eye, he adjust to his new reality, under the quiet observation of the intriguing hermit on the other side of the water.

 

 

 

 

 

There are certain author names that evoke certain reactions in me as a reader. Certain expectations that you connect automatically when your read them.

 

So when the name Freya Barker appeared on my kindle my mind directly connected it to intense storylines that I read from her in the past. And you can believe me when I tell you her newest book “A Change In Tide” picks up right where she left us when she finished her last series.

 

We find ourselves in a different setting with different characters yet we get told a story with an intensity that I truly love from this author. Her description of the setting really brings the reader into the story and the characters invited my to join them during the developing plot.

 

I felt like I was right beside Mia, the female lead when she faced her daily struggles and she made me want to hug her and tell her to hold on. The male lead was as confusing to me as he felt to Mia at first.

 

 

Jared is a strong minded guy with a big heart that is hidden under layers of old pain. Pain that is not obvious to outsiders and is therefore often misunderstood. I loved the developing relationship between the leads but as this is one Freya’s trademarks that was really no surprise to me.

 

The leads were remarkable, fragile yet strong. I enjoyed every minute of reading and I will pick up a book from this author at any time if the plot appeals to me.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO RECOMMEND RELEASE REVIEW

Unloved by Katy Regnery

 
 
 
 
 
The sins of the father. The burden of the son.

Unloved by Katy Regnery is LIVE!

 

BUY IT NOW!

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2xVZ87E
iBooks: http://ow.ly/M2Ub30dJORp
Barnes & Noble: http://ow.ly/dHX930dMySA
Kobo: http://ow.ly/LD2t30dJQQw

 

My name is Cassidy Porter…

My father, Paul Isaac Porter, was executed twenty years ago for the brutal murder of twelve innocent girls.

Though I was only eight-years-old at the time, I am aware – every day of my life – that I am his child, his only son.

To protect the world from the poison in my veins, I live a quiet life, off the grid, away from humanity.

I promised myself, and my mother, not to infect innocent lives with the darkness that swirls within me, waiting to make itself known.

It’s a promise I would have kept…if Brynn Cadogan hadn’t stumbled into my life.

Now I exist between heaven and hell: falling for a woman who wants to love me, while all along reminding myself that I must remain…

Unloved.

**NOTE: This book is intended for readers 18+**

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS:

Official UNLOVED, a love story, webpage: http://ow.ly/ULLF30ftMYU
Add this book to your Goodreads TBR list: http://ow.ly/R3Fs30dJOOn
Check out Katy’s Pinterest inspiration board: http://ow.ly/M7Ie30dJP2x
For updates and news, follow Katy on Facebook: http://ow.ly/qpz730dJPFY

Signed paperback copies of this book can be ordered here: http://ow.ly/f6pH30dtYHj     

I have read a few of Katy Regnery’s book and I liked them so when I cam across her newest Release

“Unloved” I read the Blurb and I fell for it almost instantly. I knew if the story would only be half the way I imagined I had to love it.

Interesting enough judging by the plot you read in that blurb, you would imagine that this is a dark romance. But who the author is really a huge factor in  how a blurb works out in the end. And this book is proof for that.

 

Amongst all the darkness and despair that the male leading character exudes there was always a small silver lining. The reader could feel the hopelessness of the situation yet it felt never at any point as if there could never ever be a solution.

 

I am not sure what to say about the female lead except that she was partly extremely empathic and clever while in other situations almost stupid – no scratch that not almost she WAS stupid.

 

The male lead was in such a devastating situation that the reader will feel his heart being bent and broken several times. Innocent yet doomed from the beginning #sigh

 

The cover artist captured the mood of the book perfectly and I truly love the Cover art.

While reading I was wondering how the author would be able to find a solution for the problems at hand – IF there could be one …. And my heart was breaking along the process over and over

 

Then the author did something unexpected that I will not describe and that surprised me – and that also took away any doubt from my side that this book was 5 star worthy. This author moved def. on my “keep an eye on the next releases” list …

 

You will have to find out for yourself what happens

Great piece of writing

5 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Review- Soul Resurrected (Sons of Wrath #2) by Keri Lake

Soul Resurrected Book Cover Soul Resurrected
(Sons of Wrath #2)
Keri Lake
Paranormal
31st October 2013
kindle version
552

As Wrath’s fiercest son, Logan carries the scars of fifty years spent in the most dreaded prison of the underworld, for a sin he’d kill to keep secret. Enduring decades of gruesome torture has left Logan feared by and detached from others, until a female Alexi’s blood resurrects his soul from death and, with it, the pleasures he’s been denied for so long.

Plagued by shame of her own, Calla is drawn to the ruthless demon, Logan, whose insatiable craving for her touch rouses buried passions and, for once, leaves her feeling desired.

A dark and dangerous evil has been reawakened, however, and when Calla is drawn too close to its breeding grounds, Logan vows to summon the violence of Wrath in order to keep her safe. First, though, Calla must save him from a past riddled with deceit and corruption … but only if she can accept the chilling consequences of unearthing his vilest skeleton.

Sons of Wrath
Never gamble with vengeance …

Warning: This book contains explicit language, sex, and violence. Not suitable for readers under 18 years of age.

 

A gritty, suspenseful, a sinfully and insanely good paranormal series. A must read IMO at least.

Ms. Lake has created a truly unique series you can’t just get enough of. I was on the edge of my seat so many times especially towards the end of the book.

Calla is an Alexi soldier who was betrayed by her own people but saved by the sons of wrath. I liked Calla. She is strong and sassy yet has a certain vulnerability about her that didn’t get in the way of her doing what she had to do. She is also a mini martyr.

A chain of events has been set off where she has to save Logan’s life. Only virgin blood will do.

Logan one of the sons of wrath is not happy to be laid up with nearly dying and all that and at least of all feeling something with the annoying Alexi soldier where he embraces the numbness in full force. But with time and the feelings that he can be touched by Calla he starts to feel and he can’t leave her alone.

They don’t get off to the best start but with time they work together to find Zeke and so their love develops.  They is so much sick shite in the book and well at times it was so gritty but I just couldn’t get enough of all the characters.

My one complaint. What happens after with her being a sang? Or will that come later in the series? Left somewhat open ended.

5 STAR AUTHOR INTERVIEW BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF GIVEAWAY RECOMMEND REVIEW

Blade of Darkness (Immortal Guardians Book #7) by Dianne Duvall

 

From New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author, Dianne Duvall, comes the next heart-pounding romance in the Immortal Guardians series – BLADE OF DARKNESS! Order your copy today!
 
 

28700596Blade of Darkness by Dianne Duvall
Immortal Guardians Book #7
Releasing September 19th, 2017

Return to the “utterly addictive” (RT Book Reviews) world of New York Times bestselling author Dianne Duvall’s Immortal Guardians.

Dana Pembroke has been able to glimpse the future of those she touches for as long as she can remember.  But she never saw Aidan coming.  When the tall, dark Celt with the charming grin yet world-weary eyes walks through her door, the future she sees for him is one full of violence, danger, deception… and passion.  Because amidst the terrifying battles that unfold in her visions, she also sees herself in Aidan’s arms and in his bed.  Dana knows she should keep her distance, but the tender moments and laughter they share entice her even as she finds herself thrust into a world of vampires, immortals, and other preternatural beings.

Immortal Guardian Aidan O’Byrne has been hunting and slaying psychotic vampires for nearly three thousand years, so visions of bloody battles don’t trouble him.  The battles Dana foresees, however, show Aidan’s brethren turning against him, so he can’t help but feel alarmed.  While he spends as much time as he can with Dana, struggling to decipher her dire predictions, Aidan finds himself utterly smitten. Hope rises that he has finally found a woman who can banish the darkness and loneliness that plague him. But when vampires begin targeting Dana and a powerful enemy spawns chaos, will fate grant them time to find happiness together?

Blade of Darkness Character Interview

 

Thank you for joining me!  I’m happy to be here at Jeri’s Book Attic, celebrating the release of BLADE OF DARKNESS, the seventh book in my Immortal Guardians series. If you like powerful preternatural heroes, strong heroines, action scenes that will keep you flipping pages well past your bedtime, and romance that is alternately steamy and sweet and laced with humor, then I hope you’ll pick up a copy, because you’ll find all of this in Aidan and Dana’s story. And don’t worry if you’re new to the series. Each book can be read as a stand-alone novel. You’ll just know more about the secondary characters if you read the books in order.

 

Today Sheldon, one of the mortals in my series (and a favorite of many readers, thanks to the comic relief he provides) will be interviewing Seth, the eldest and most powerful immortal in the series and the self-proclaimed leader of the Immortal Guardians.

 

Sheldon: Thanks for agreeing to an interview, sir.

 

Seth: No problem, It’s been a while since we did the last one, and a lot has happened since then.

 

Sheldon: A LOT.

 

Seth: smiles I take it the humans who work for us down at the Network are feeling a little . . .

 

Sheldon: Antsy? Yes. I mean, first mercenaries blew the hell out of the original Network headquarters. Then Gershom wreaked havoc at the new one. Now Aidan is haunting the hallways . . .

 

Seth: Aidan makes them nervous?

 

Sheldon: laughs Yeah. It isn’t intentional. It’s just the whole ancient Celtic immortal thing and all of the gifts he possesses. Some of the humans find it a bit intimidating.

 

Seth: I can understand that. looks around curiously Any particular reason you chose this location for the interview?

 

Sheldon: You mean instead of doing it down at the Network?

 

Seth: Yes. The humans there are accustomed to seeing me on a fairly regular basis. Some may view me with something akin to fascination, but I don’t think they fear me.

 

Sheldon: No, they’re fine with you. I just thought you’d be more comfortable here.

 

Seth: In David’s backyard?

 

Sheldon: Yes.

 

Seth: stares at him, unspeaking

 

Sheldon: Well . . . David’s place IS sort of the hub of the Immortal Guardians’ world here in North Carolina and—

 

Seth: What do you want, Sheldon?

 

Sheldon: narrows his eyes Are you reading my mind?

 

Seth: grimaces No. There’s too much—

 

Sheldon: Porn and weird crap up there. Yeah, yeah. I’ve heard it before.

 

Seth: So spit it out. What do you want?

 

Sheldon: shifts I was kinda hoping you’d do me a favor.

 

Seth: releases a beleaguered sigh Fine. I’ll do it.

 

Sheldon: eyebrows fly up Really? You know what it is?

 

Seth: I assume it’s the same thing you wanted for your birthday?

 

Sheldon: Yes. You’ll really do it?

 

Seth: Yes.

 

Sheldon: Why?

 

Seth: Because you’re good with Adira.

 

Sheldon: waves a hand in dismissal Who ISN’T good with Adira? That cutie has every one of us wrapped around her little finger.

 

Seth: Nevertheless, I appreciate everything you do for her. For Marcus and Ami as well. rises and backs away Are you ready?

 

Sheldon: grins big Absolutely!

 

Seth: shifts into the form of a huge dragon that dwarfs the sprawling house behind them

 

Sheldon: gapes up at it as the dragon roars and breaths fire that buffets him without burning him

 

Seth: shifts back into his natural form and retakes his seat

 

Sheldon: That. Was. AWESOME!!!

 

Seth: lips quirk Fun, too.

 

Sheldon: Will you do it again and let me—

 

Seth: You’re not climbing onto my back and going for a ride, Sheldon.

 

Sheldon: Oh,come on. I give Adira piggy-back rides all the time.

 

Seth: Seriously? That’s your argument?

 

Sheldon: shrugs with a grin It was all I could think of.

 

Seth: laughs

 

Marcus: opens the back door, leans out with a pretty toddler on his hip and casts them an exasperated look Really? I JUST got her down for a nap.

 

Sheldon: winces Sorry, man.

 

Seth: My apologies. We’ll keep it down from now on.

 

Marcus: ducks back inside with a sigh

 

Sheldon: Okay. Where were we?

 

Seth: Before I shape-shifted? I believe you were telling me that Aidan is making the employees down at the Network nervous.

 

Sheldon: Right. While we’re on the subject of Aidan . . . Rumor has it he’s smitten with a psychic.

 

Seth: That’s correct.

 

Sheldon: How’s that going for him?

 

Seth: It would go a lot better if all hell didn’t break loose every time an immortal falls in love.

 

Sheldon: I hear ya. What do you think of Dana?

 

Seth: I like her. She’s a fighter.

 

Sheldon: I’ve heard some things about the first few times you met her . . . It’s pretty wild.

 

Seth: lips twitch There were . . . extenuating circumstances.

 

Sheldon: laughs Well, if even half of it is true, that woman is ballsy!

 

Seth: laughs As I said, she’s a fighter.

 

Sheldon: Strong women are so hot.

 

Seth: Yes, they are. Aidan is a lucky man.

 

Sheldon: Immortal males all seem to be drawn to strong women.

 

Seth: nods Every one of us.

 

Sheldon: Even you?

 

Seth: Next question.

 

Sheldon: Hey, I had to ask. The ladies at the Network are very curious about your love life . . . or lack thereof.

 

Seth: Is there a question in there somewhere?

 

Sheldon: Fine. If you won’t talk about that, then let’s talk about the latest problems that have arisen. How are you holding up?

 

Seth: I’m fine.

 

Sheldon: I know things have been . . . pretty tough lately.

 

Seth: A bit of an understatement.

 

Sheldon: Tempers are flaring.

 

Seth: wry smile Yes, they are.

 

Sheldon: The Immortal Guardians have acquired quite a formidable foe.

 

Seth: Not just the Immortal Guardians. Gershom wants to watch the world burn. If we don’t stop him, EVERYONE will lose.

 

Sheldon: No pressure, right?

 

Seth: laughs Right.

 

Sheldon: Kinda makes you long for the days when the only enemies Immortal Guardians fought were psychotic vampires.

 

Seth: huffs a laugh as his cell phone rings Life WAS simpler then. retrieves his phone from a back pocket, looks to see who is calling, then answers Ja? frowns Ik ben onderweg. pockets the phone and rises I have to go.

 

Sheldon: Okay. Thanks again for the interview.

 

Seth: Anytime. vanishes

 

Sheldon: That is so cool.

 

To quote and use my favorite line of this book : “There is a slight chance … that I might have …. “ fallen in love with this series even more …. “how slight …. ? GARGANTUM!”

 

#sigh – I “live” for those small Zach and/or Bastien moments …

 

Series are usually heading into one direction when they go on for a long time and that is repeating previous stories.

With the immortal guardians I never experienced that problem so far and when I take a look at the background story and the characters I also do not see it anywhere in the future.

Quite the opposite actually I am kind of afraid that the author might at some point not continue that series and I will never get to hear all those great stories that I can practically see lurking in the background.

So DEAR AUTHOR don’t you ever do that to us please …

 

While the way the couples fall in love might always be close to instantly (which is normally something I dislike) their love stories never get boring. They are never common or easy … I agree with Seth on that fully … Non of our Guardians got a real nice courtship with his woman … so why should it be any different with Aiden – especially with him not leaving anything out to finally find a woman. (that is no spoiler but a fact that followers of the series know) …

 

I think there is no series honestly where I memorized so many character names … and no matter how much time passes the moment I open a new book all the stories that I read come back to me. Usually I have to re-read older books to get back into the story but here … the basic storyline always comes back to me …

 

So I really can not review this as “Aiden’s” story – for me this is a complex network of people and I love to revisit all of them at all times ….

Let me tease you … we all know our unsocial Roland right ? Are we sure he really is unsocial ? How much would you like to find out ?

Would you ever expect Bastien to care about anyone else then his woman ? …

And then there is Cliff …. Yeah he is there … no spoiler here but what will happen to him … ? He is this background secondary character that has I think like Sheldon his own fans waiting on hearing the full stories …

 

I loved that we got glimpses of a Seth that almost seemed “human” – and some comments make me wonder when we will get his story.

Readers will get to meet some new guardians as well …

And I loved the way the author threw some thoughts out there about stuff that happened that might not have been what it looked like … (sorry being vague on purpose) – so I hope to hear about a guardian again that ….(vague sorry)

 

See ? you open Aiden’s story but believe me you will get so much more …

And I honestly already can not wait on the next story and I am sure it will be far to long before we get it – but it will be OK  as long as we WILL get it … I can be patient … (But it would be nice as a Christmas present 2017 #laughing)

 

So in total ? you ask me for my NO. 1 paranormal series ?

Look no further start with this series WITH BOOK 1 and slowly fall in love …

 

The Immortal Guardians Series:

About the Author

Dianne Duvall is the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author of the Immortal Guardians series and The Gifted Ones series. Reviewers have called Dianne’s books “fast-paced and humorous” (Publishers Weekly), “utterly addictive” (RT Book Reviews), “extraordinary” (Long and Short Reviews), and”wonderfully imaginative” (The Romance Reviews). Her books have twice been nominated for RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards and are routinely deemed Top Picks by RT Book Reviews, The Romance Reviews,and/or Night Owl Reviews.

Dianne loves all things creative. When she isn’t writing, Dianne is active in the independent film industry and has even appeared on-screen, crawling out of a moonlit grave and wielding a machete like some of the vampires she creates in her books.

For the latest news on upcoming releases, contests, and more, please visit DianneDuvall.com. You can also find Dianne online . . .

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Pinterest | Goodreads | Google Plus

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

23 Replies
5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Review – Storm Gathering (Scorpius Syndrome #4) by Rebecca Zanetti

Storm Gathering Book Cover Storm Gathering
(Scorpius Syndrome #4)
Rebecca Zanetti
Adult Dystopian
RAZ INK LLC
19th September 2017
ebook
359

Even before surviving the Scorpius bacterium, Greyson Storm was a lone wolf navigating minefields. As a kid, he learned to take a hit and find safety. As an adult, he joined the military and quickly learned how to protect and defend. When the world ended, he created a mercenary camp with military precision, no entanglements, and a promise to avenge a fallen friend. As part of that vow, he kidnapped Maureen Shadow, but now that he has let her go, her blue eyes and intriguing mind keep haunting him…

As possibly the only Biotechnology Engineer still living, Maureen Shadow might be humanity’s one hope to survive the aftermath of Scorpius, making her frighteningly valuable to both allies and enemies. Even after sexual tension explodes with Greyson, she’s not sure which camp he belongs to—friend or foe? Worse yet, survival may mean thwarting his prime mission, putting her in even more peril. When danger and seduction collide, there is no safety in this new world.

 

One of my favourite series of all time. The Scorpios Syndrome is action packed with an exceptional plot.  It sucked me and I haven’t found a book so engaging for a long time. Ms. Zanetti can do no wrong in my opinion.

 

Greyson Storm all I can say he is on a whole new level when it comes to being a leader, an alpha. Leader of the mercs. They are brutal, ruthless but protective. They also have to adapt and the time has come to either align with the president or Vanguard. I know who I’ll choose. Greyson however is being a douche.

 

I loved Greyson and I hated him. He was a bit of a bully. He knows it won’t get him far for much longer especially with Moe. As Damon said Grey made a colossal mistake but I get him but he should have trusted Vanguard. Trying to put too many fires out at once doesn’t help.  I loved his softer side.

 

Maureen Shadow is a scientist through and through. Focused on trying to feed the population until she is kidnapped from her desert lab to exploit her brother. Greyson has resorted to extortion but gets a lot more than he bargained for.

 

The ladies are the ones that will keep morals in the new world. The men just don’t realise what is going on. I liked Moe she is different to the other female heroines. She is slightly more vulnerable and sneaky. Well I love sneaky.  

 

I always get somewhat antsy when I start a book in a series that love. Luckily enough it didn’t crush and burn.

 

This book takes place on the timeline of the other books. Book 4 and life after the deadly virus continues leaving everyone different. Some are stronger, some are smarter and some are just incredible insane. Just like President Atherton and his VP Lake. This plot added to the world that has been built and it gets better every single time.

 

My favourite side character. Atticus the old coot.

 

I was going to give it 4 * but I’m going with the full 5 stars. I need more of every one of what is to come and how things will progress of Damon and April. What will happen with Moe and the Mercs and Vanguard. So many questions that need to be answered so many books that are to come.

5 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

SBPRBanner-JEM-TF-BT

The Forbidden
by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Publication Date: August 8th, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Romance

The Forbidden, an all-new story from Jodi Ellen Malpas is available now!!

TheForbidden

Annie has never experienced the ‘spark’ with a guy-that instant chemistry that renders you weak in the knees. That is, until a night out brings her face to face with the dangerously sexy and mysterious Jack. It’s not just a spark that ignites between them. It’s an explosion. Jack promises to consume Annie, and he fully delivers on that promise.

Overwhelmed by the intensity of their one night together, Annie slips out of their hotel room. She is certain that a man who’s had such a powerful impact on her must be dangerous. She has no idea that he belongs to another. That he’s forbidden.

💛 A Note From The Author 💛

“The Forbidden” is exactly that. Not allowed. Prohibited. Banned. At least, that’s what society says. But what about your heart? It took a massive leap of faith for me to put these words on paper. I’ve always said that I write what my heart tells me to write, not what people want me to write. Never has my own motto been so significant in my writing career. I questioned my sense when I came up with the idea of The Forbidden. Then I reminded myself of my motto, of my heart’s desire, and my heart really wanted to tell this story, despite knowing that it might not be what people expect from me. I couldn’t let my fear of the taboo subject matter dictate my writing. So I dove right in—no holding back, no inhibitions, no softly-softly approach. The Forbidden is controversial. I’ve no doubt it’ll cause debate, and I’m cool with that. As a writer, you accept that what you send out into the world is going to be picked apart, sometimes for the good, sometimes for the bad. This story is about the conflict. The feelings. The questions. It’s about the heart ruling the head. I ask you to go into it with an open mind, and please remember that it is a story. One of passion, of love, and of heartache. It’s about falling in love with the wrong person at the wrong time. Because it happens. Every single day. But above all of that, it’s about being true to yourself and your heart. It’s about finding your soulmate and fighting for them. It’s about standing by what you believe in. And we all believe in true love.

JEM x

JEM-TF-AN

Read Today!

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2wxldGo

Amazon UK: https://goo.gl/higox5

iBooks: https://goo.gl/Z182zB

Nook: https://goo.gl/3GdHzy

Kobo: https://goo.gl/zoM2ZQ

Add to GoodReads: https://goo.gl/1qjL9E

Photo of sensual kissing couple

About Jodi:

Jodi Ellen Malpas wrote her debut series, The This Man Trilogy, in secret, worried about what people might think if they knew what her imagination was capable of. She was shocked herself. But she finally found the courage to unleash her creative streak and self-published THIS MAN – the first book of the This Man Trilogy – in October 2012. She took a chance on the story with a hero who soon became one of modern day fictions most prolific alpha male characters. Jesse Ward – also affectionately known as The Lord of The Manor, sparked incredible reactions from women across the globe and catapulted Jodi into the world of women’s fiction.

Jodi went on to self-publish the second book in the trilogy, Beneath This Man in Jan 2013, just before Grand Central Publishing, part of the Hachette Book Group, picked up the popular trilogy and the unknown Jodi. The third book of the trilogy, This Man Confessed, took Jodi to the top of the bestsellers lists, earning her the proud title of #1 New York Times Bestselling Author. This Man has since been voted one of the top romance novels of all time.

With so much love, enthusiasm and a thirst for her words from her readers, Jodi suddenly wasn’t afraid of her imagination anymore. She went on to write The One Night Trilogy with the delectable and mysterious Miller Hart, and stole the hearts of her readers once again. Her first stand-alone novel, THE PROTECTOR, released in September 2016 and has since been nominated for a Reviewers’ Choice Best Book Award. Jodi’s next stand-alone novel. THE FORBIDDEN, is set for release in August 2017.

All seven of her published novels have hit the New York Times best sellers list – as well as the Sunday Times list and various international best seller lists. Her work is now published in over 24 languages across the world.

Jodi was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys and a beagle. She is a self-professed daydreamer, a mojito addict, is famous for her obsession with Converse, and has a terrible weak spot for Alpha Males. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters has become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers

JEM LOGO - Copy

Connect with Jodi:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JodiEllenMalpas/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JodiEllenMalpas

YouTube: https://goo.gl/2kGLbt

Instagram: http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/instagram/

http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/home/

Bookbub: bit.ly/JEM-BookBub

Movie News: bit.ly/JEM-Movies

 

 

 

The Before and After of The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

 

Actually this is the first time I am doing something like this. And maybe I will crumble this electronical paper into a ball and dispose it later on to start a normal review but for now this is the way it is going to be.

 

The Before ….

 

As you can never “unsee” / “unhear” or “unknow” anything I have to start writing now .. while it is still “before”. When a book is titled “The forbidden” – the Blurb tells you it is “forbidden” and the author opens the book with a warning well then there is actually only a few “excuses” to read on … one being the obvious, which is curiosity and the other is the love for the writing of a specific author.

 

I was fangirling when I saw this author has a new book coming out – I was sure I wanted to read the book. Then I saw the blurb and I was starting to get intrigued … I mean who doesn’t like a most probably (knowing the author) well written book.

 

So when you are offered to read the book early who is going to say NO – well not me obviously. But then you open the book and you see this warning and well lets say now right this moment I am scared. I love this author so I will read the book but I was thinking what if my oppinon changes once I know “IT” … ?

 

That is when I decided this is going to be a before and after review

I started reading and I have to admit the writing is as solid and developed as I expected no surprises here. And I loved the way the book opens to introduce us to the leads (well at least I assume they are the leads) …

 

My mind starts to swirl on what could be forbidden … thoughts pop up and already disappear as I mentally check them as “not that is not the reason” … and the list is getting shorter and shorter…

 

I get the attraction the leads have for each other and Ms. Malpas is doing great in getting that across to the reader – so whatever happens next well – for now I get what is going on.

During my lunchbreak I had the chance to read a little further –

 

Ms. Malpas describes the connection between the leads in a way that I can almost feel myself what those characters describe as their chemistry – it feels of the charts. I really do get it and I also get the reason why the female lead acts the way she does. What I don’t get are her tears at a certain moment – they make no sense as they look to others as if something happened that she did not want …

 

But back to my list of reasons to be forbidden – it  is very short now and that is why I started writing here … Maybe it is something totally different. Something that has not crossed my mind yet.

 

And if it is not – there are many ways to maneuver in a dangerous territory but still I admit to being scared because whatever happens next might cross the line of triggers I have … Will I be able to read on ? Will I like it ?

 

Anyway the inevitable is coming closer I can sense it – I read a line that indicated a revelation is nearing

 

So any minute now I might enter the line of “after” – and it is no joke or game for me – there are already reviews that I could have read to find out what happens but I didn’t do that – I am maneuvering blind…. Let’s head for

 

The After…

 

 

I am there – to be precise I am at 75 % probably heading for the finale … so I thought I’d drop a line here again …

 

What I am thinking – well … actually Ms. Malpas brought it down to one line and it was like

“Cause our Symptom” ….

 

As I did not read any reviews that are already out there I have no idea how much of the story has been disclosed – so I will stay true to my ways and try not to spoiler.

What I am feeling though is simply two things that could not be further apart from each other if they wanted.

 

Yes it was one of the triggers I feared but actually I get it … I am not going to disclose on the reasons of WHY I get it – because for one they would be of a private nature. Secondly, Ms. Malpas writes them in a way that almost everyone that is not ice-cold (or has a stick where it should not be) should be able to relate to the situation.  

 

My reasons for this situation being a trigger will never change because it simply is one …but as always in life there are two sides. And for every black and white there is also a gray and I think this trigger is a sort of gray. Gosh I never thought I would ever say this but there might actually be a situation when this gray is acceptable. But only as long as the leading characters are looking for a solution. And I am not moving from this PoV … this kind of Gray can never be the grand finale …

 

I have some ideas what the last 25 % will bring and I assure you my thoughts are not pretty lets see how you get this mess sorted out Ms. Malpas – shall we ?

 

The End

 

There are many things I could tell you now but all of them would either spoiler to much of the story or would hit to close to the home of my trigger. So I will stay with this being the most emotional book from Ms. Malpas for me since the “grand finale” of the “this man” trilogy.

I am pretty sure Lovers of her writing style will not be disappointed as she remains true to herself. But I am also pretty sure that there will be a bunch of people that will have a problem with the plotline and its triggers and will therefore not like the book. But if you like the writing style up to the moment when the trigger occurs I can only ask those people to remain open and try to feel for the leading characters. Place yourself in their position …. try to answer yourself one question … if you would be in that position could you continue your original path – the path before you met – knowing it was not the right one – for the rest of your life ? knowing you have only ONE LIFE …. Being human means making mistakes – but why does it have to be the new decision that is the mistake – couldn’t it also be the old one ?

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

SBPRBanner-JEM-TF-RB.jpg

The Forbidden
by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Publication Date: August 8th, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Romance

The Forbidden, an all-new story from Jodi Ellen Malpas is LIVE!!

TheForbidden

Annie has never experienced the ‘spark’ with a guy-that instant chemistry that renders you weak in the knees. That is, until a night out brings her face to face with the dangerously sexy and mysterious Jack. It’s not just a spark that ignites between them. It’s an explosion. Jack promises to consume Annie, and he fully delivers on that promise.

Overwhelmed by the intensity of their one night together, Annie slips out of their hotel room. She is certain that a man who’s had such a powerful impact on her must be dangerous. She has no idea that he belongs to another. That he’s forbidden.

JEM-TF-ReviewBlurb-RTBookReviews

Read Today!

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2wxldGo

Amazon UK: https://goo.gl/higox5

iBooks: https://goo.gl/Z182zB

Nook: https://goo.gl/3GdHzy

Kobo: https://goo.gl/zoM2ZQ

Add to GoodReads: https://goo.gl/1qjL9E

RDBlitz

About Jodi:

Jodi Ellen Malpas wrote her debut series, The This Man Trilogy, in secret, worried about what people might think if they knew what her imagination was capable of. She was shocked herself. But she finally found the courage to unleash her creative streak and self-published THIS MAN – the first book of the This Man Trilogy – in October 2012. She took a chance on the story with a hero who soon became one of modern day fictions most prolific alpha male characters. Jesse Ward – also affectionately known as The Lord of The Manor, sparked incredible reactions from women across the globe and catapulted Jodi into the world of women’s fiction.

Jodi went on to self-publish the second book in the trilogy, Beneath This Man in Jan 2013, just before Grand Central Publishing, part of the Hachette Book Group, picked up the popular trilogy and the unknown Jodi. The third book of the trilogy, This Man Confessed, took Jodi to the top of the bestsellers lists, earning her the proud title of #1 New York Times Bestselling Author. This Man has since been voted one of the top romance novels of all time.

With so much love, enthusiasm and a thirst for her words from her readers, Jodi suddenly wasn’t afraid of her imagination anymore. She went on to write The One Night Trilogy with the delectable and mysterious Miller Hart, and stole the hearts of her readers once again. Her first stand-alone novel, THE PROTECTOR, released in September 2016 and has since been nominated for a Reviewers’ Choice Best Book Award. Jodi’s next stand-alone novel. THE FORBIDDEN, is set for release in August 2017.

All seven of her published novels have hit the New York Times best sellers list – as well as the Sunday Times list and various international best seller lists. Her work is now published in over 24 languages across the world.

Jodi was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys and a beagle. She is a self-professed daydreamer, a mojito addict, is famous for her obsession with Converse, and has a terrible weak spot for Alpha Males. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters has become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers

JEM LOGO - Copy

Connect with Jodi:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JodiEllenMalpas/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JodiEllenMalpas

YouTube: https://goo.gl/2kGLbt

Instagram: http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/instagram/

http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/home/

Bookbub: bit.ly/JEM-BookBub

Movie News: bit.ly/JEM-Movies

 

 

The Before and After of The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

 

Actually this is the first time I am doing something like this. And maybe I will crumble this electronical paper into a ball and dispose it later on to start a normal review but for now this is the way it is going to be.

 

The Before ….

 

As you can never “unsee” / “unhear” or “unknow” anything I have to start writing now .. while it is still “before”. When a book is titled “The forbidden” – the Blurb tells you it is “forbidden” and the author opens the book with a warning well then there is actually only a few “excuses” to read on … one being the obvious, which is curiosity and the other is the love for the writing of a specific author.

 

I was fangirling when I saw this author has a new book coming out – I was sure I wanted to read the book. Then I saw the blurb and I was starting to get intrigued … I mean who doesn’t like a most probably (knowing the author) well written book.

 

So when you are offered to read the book early who is going to say NO – well not me obviously. But then you open the book and you see this warning and well lets say now right this moment I am scared. I love this author so I will read the book but I was thinking what if my oppinon changes once I know “IT” … ?

 

That is when I decided this is going to be a before and after review

I started reading and I have to admit the writing is as solid and developed as I expected no surprises here. And I loved the way the book opens to introduce us to the leads (well at least I assume they are the leads) …

 

My mind starts to swirl on what could be forbidden … thoughts pop up and already disappear as I mentally check them as “not that is not the reason” … and the list is getting shorter and shorter…

 

I get the attraction the leads have for each other and Ms. Malpas is doing great in getting that across to the reader – so whatever happens next well – for now I get what is going on.

During my lunchbreak I had the chance to read a little further –

 

Ms. Malpas describes the connection between the leads in a way that I can almost feel myself what those characters describe as their chemistry – it feels of the charts. I really do get it and I also get the reason why the female lead acts the way she does. What I don’t get are her tears at a certain moment – they make no sense as they look to others as if something happened that she did not want …

 

But back to my list of reasons to be forbidden – it  is very short now and that is why I started writing here … Maybe it is something totally different. Something that has not crossed my mind yet.

 

And if it is not – there are many ways to maneuver in a dangerous territory but still I admit to being scared because whatever happens next might cross the line of triggers I have … Will I be able to read on ? Will I like it ?

 

Anyway the inevitable is coming closer I can sense it – I read a line that indicated a revelation is nearing

 

So any minute now I might enter the line of “after” – and it is no joke or game for me – there are already reviews that I could have read to find out what happens but I didn’t do that – I am maneuvering blind…. Let’s head for

 

The After…

 

 

I am there – to be precise I am at 75 % probably heading for the finale … so I thought I’d drop a line here again …

 

What I am thinking – well … actually Ms. Malpas brought it down to one line and it was like

“Cause our Symptom” ….

 

As I did not read any reviews that are already out there I have no idea how much of the story has been disclosed – so I will stay true to my ways and try not to spoiler.

What I am feeling though is simply two things that could not be further apart from each other if they wanted.

 

Yes it was one of the triggers I feared but actually I get it … I am not going to disclose on the reasons of WHY I get it – because for one they would be of a private nature. Secondly, Ms. Malpas writes them in a way that almost everyone that is not ice-cold (or has a stick where it should not be) should be able to relate to the situation.  

 

My reasons for this situation being a trigger will never change because it simply is one …but as always in life there are two sides. And for every black and white there is also a gray and I think this trigger is a sort of gray. Gosh I never thought I would ever say this but there might actually be a situation when this gray is acceptable. But only as long as the leading characters are looking for a solution. And I am not moving from this PoV … this kind of Gray can never be the grand finale …

 

I have some ideas what the last 25 % will bring and I assure you my thoughts are not pretty lets see how you get this mess sorted out Ms. Malpas – shall we ?

 

The End

 

There are many things I could tell you now but all of them would either spoiler to much of the story or would hit to close to the home of my trigger. So I will stay with this being the most emotional book from Ms. Malpas for me since the “grand finale” of the “this man” trilogy.

I am pretty sure Lovers of her writing style will not be disappointed as she remains true to herself. But I am also pretty sure that there will be a bunch of people that will have a problem with the plotline and its triggers and will therefore not like the book. But if you like the writing style up to the moment when the trigger occurs I can only ask those people to remain open and try to feel for the leading characters. Place yourself in their position …. try to answer yourself one question … if you would be in that position could you continue your original path – the path before you met – knowing it was not the right one – for the rest of your life ? knowing you have only ONE LIFE …. Being human means making mistakes – but why does it have to be the new decision that is the mistake – couldn’t it also be the old one ?

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND RELEASE REVIEW

Release – The Silent (Irin Chronicles #5) by Elizabeth Hunter

The Silent Book Cover The Silent
Irin Chronicles # 5
Elizabeth Hunter
Paranormal/Fantasy
Elizabeth Hunter
28th July
ebook/Kindle Edition/Paperback
336

They are called kareshta, the silent ones.
But the silent are waking.

Kyra has lived her life in the shadow of a powerful Grigori brother. She’s ignored her own desires for the good of her family, but an unexpected request from Thailand sends her on a mission that could change her life and alter the fate of free Grigori all over the world. Sons of the Fallen hidden in the mountains of Thailand have adapted an ancient human magic for their own purposes. Will this practice bring peace or lead to even greater danger for the Irin race?

A simple diplomatic mission sends Leo to Bangkok, but he didn’t expect to see a familiar face in surveillance photographs. He’s tried everything to drive Kyra from his mind, since he was convinced the gentle kareshta wanted to hide from the world. How did she turn up halfway across the globe, living with Grigori who may or may not be Irin allies?

Leo has bided his time. He’s given Kyra her space.

But this scribe is ready to hear a kareshta sing.

THE SILENT is a romantic fantasy, and the fifth book in the Irin Chronicles series.

 

 

Still the mind. Still the soul. Still the heart.

Kyra, one of the oldest Kareshta is in a gilded cage and the time has come for her to spread her wings and fly. Sent to Thailand on a mission to help others in her situation in return the they will help their fellow Grigori.

Kyra might seem demure but she is far from it. She has an inner strength that would rival any Irina. As the daughter of a cardinal angel she has her own powers but The Silent are still trying to find their voices. The Irina are skeptical to pass on the knowledge they have. The Rending broke a lot and it will take time to heal.

I had my difficulties with Kyra but through her development throughout the book she really started to stand out. I liked her and then I loved her but torn at the same time. She wanted to live the life she has to the fullest but she is on borrowed time.

Leo is sent to Thailand to open up communications between the Thailand Scribe house and the honorable Grigori. Finally, to his surprise he can get closer to Kyra.

Now Leo on the other hand I love Leo. He knows exactly what he wants. Kyra. And no one can stop him. He is badass with a soft and gooey center. He is absolutely adorable. I want my own Leo.

“I’m very large,” he said. “Damian says if I’m not thinking about it, I can mow through a room like an enthusiastic tank.” Kyra smiled. “I’ve never felt mowed down.” “I’m glad.”

Be still my beating heart. I wanted to wrap him up in a big bow and take him with me.

Leo & Kyra have been on a collision course for years now and the inevitable is finally happening. Each love that is created by Ms. Hunter between the main characters of the book is beautiful, unique and wonderful to experience.

Kyra is other. Leo’s heart ached for her. They try a relationship and although they are different it works. They are both vulnerable and inexperienced. Although though they are so different. Leo comes across as naïve but he is just very optimistic.

Throughout most of the books we made to believe that the Grigori are evil very few manage to lead an honorable life. But here a balance has been achieved. And I sympathize with Kostas, Sirius and the other honorable Grigori.

Beautifully written. Flawless writing and absolutely stunning. With each new book Ms. Hunter expands the Irin/Grigori world that flows well and isn’t stilted. That the possibilities here are endless. What I love about these books is that there is no other man/woman drama there is no room for as they are either mated or Reshon.

One of my favorite side characters? Vasu. There is something quite childlike about him but also mature if that makes sense. He talks in riddles and is hilarious.

“I’ll let Kyra know you’re thinking about helping her brother,” Leo said. “I’m sure she’d be grateful.” Vasu disappeared and reappeared as a cat that jumped on Leo’s lap. “You try to create obligation in me. It’s an interesting theory. I told them you were smarter than you appeared,” the cat said, curling up on Leo’s lap. “Now pet me.” “Are you serious?” Narrow claws dug into Leo’s leg.

What is to come next? What I would like to see? A Grigori male and an Irina. But I’m positive no matter what Ms. Hunter will knock me off my feet.

I do have one small thing to complain about. I hope that the plot will not be a constant throughout other books that are too come. Not that I don’t love her plots I just don’t want the author to get stuck in a rut.

Oh, and another thing when we introduced to Kenneth I swear that I heard his British accent in my head. Exactly what a Brit should sound like.

 

 

1 2 3