4 STARS

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Gilt Hollow by Lorie Langdon

Gilt Hollow by Lorie Langdon

 
 

September 27, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title:  Gilt Hollow

Author :  Lorie Langdon

Series:  n/a

Release date:  September 27th 2016

Rating : 4 Stars

 

Blurb : Willow Lamott’s best friend is a convicted killer, and no one in the small town of Gilt Hollow will let her forget it. Over four long years, she’s tried to fade into the background—but none of that matters when Ashton Keller comes striding into school, fresh out of juvie and fueled by revenge.

 

The moment their eyes meet, Willow no longer feels invisible. Drawn to the vulnerability behind Ashton’s mask of rage, she sinks deeper into his sinister world and begins to question whether he’s a villain, a savior, or both.

 

Ashton thought he wanted vengeance, until Willow Lamott stepped back into his life. Now he longs to clear his name and become the person she sees in him. But the closer they get to uncovering the truth, the darker the secrets become, and Ashton wonders if his return to Gilt Hollow will destroy everyone he loves.

 

 

Review : After a long time I finally came across a really good YA Novel again. Gilt Hollow by Lorie Langdon was a very satisfying read. The author did a really great job on capturing all that is to say about small towns and how they work.

 

The setting of Gilt Hollow brings us to a kind of darker version of a the Gilmore Girls’ Stars Hollow. At least I felt that way. And thinking about it you could also consider Willow a kind of sad version of Rory Gilmore (but that’s where the comparison ends – because all the other characters were in no way to compare to the Gilmore Girls)

 

Also please don’t let me bring the wrong light onto that story- the story has no comparison to that TV series – it were just some things in the town setting that reminded me of it a lot only in a darker more twisted way.

 

We get to know Ashton and find out really soon about the background of the story and how he became the person he is now. It takes a lot of guts – walking back to where he came from knowing he would not be met with open arms. He is intriguing like a dark angel and the reader will feel compelled to follow him through his story.

 

Willow is pure loyalty – the kind of friend anyone could wish for. Nothing will make her stray from the right path once she set her mind to it. Not even the opinion of a whole town. Admirable. Really !

 

You will meet a lot of clichés throughout the story – but I honestly already expected those.

 

What I did not anticipate was the suspense.

The author had me really guessing for a while. What were the reasons, who were the responsible and what really happened that fateful day.

 

The pace of the book was not fast but I felt it was fitting to the development inside the story. The writing style was capturing and the characters were intriguing.

 

I would not mind reading another book like this.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Almost Never by Amy Lamont

 

 

Almost Never

  

Almost Never
Amy Lamont
 2018

 

A new standalone novel from USA Today Bestselling Author Amy Lamont…

Son of an aging rock star, Declan Cooper is considered royalty on the Warren College campus. When he meets petite freshman Harper Warden, he dismisses her as just another groupie. He realizes his mistake pretty quickly, but despite his near-obsession with the premed student, he keeps his distance. The last thing she needs is the notoriety that comes along with being connected to his infamous family.

Getting blown off by the sexy and popular King of Campus is the kiss of death for the new life Harper hoped to make for herself at college. Her only goal now is to get into medical school so she can leave her past, and Declan Cooper, far behind. But when the plans Harper made are threatened, Declan might be the only person who can help. All she has to do is trust him with a few small things—like her heart and her future.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

TRUCKER (The Good Guys #1) by Jamie Schlosser

TRUCKER (The Good Guys #1) by Jamie Schlosser

 
 

September 29, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              TRUCKER

Author :           Jamie Schlosser

Series :            The Good Guys #1r

Release date :   July 13th 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb :

 

ANGEL

I know what you’re whispering in the car as you pass me by. Hitchhiker. When you see me walking along the side of the road with my thumb out, you’ll probably keep driving without giving me a second glance. You probably think I’m foolish. Naïve. You might assume I’ve made some bad decisions. You might think I’m too young to be on my own. You might be right.

 

TRAVIS

I love my job, but driving an eighteen-wheeler comes with a certain stereotype. When you hear I’m a trucker, a specific image might come to mind. Uneducated. Dirty. Perverted. Rough around the edges and a little bit dangerous. But the truth is, I’m not any of those things. In fact, I’m pretty far from it. You’d be surprised to find out I’m one of the good guys.

 

Review : It has been a long time since I read such a sweet and almost innocent romance.

 

Amongst the tons of books it is a real rare treat to find a book that is filled with such a great story that needs almost no sex to be still totally hot and romantic at the same time.

 

Make no mistake it is not a “clean” book but in comparison to the stuff we usually read in our blog it is really innocent.

 

That is also why I had to smile at the chosen name for the female lead – “Angel” – the author could not have found a better name for her.

 

I am not sure what I should say about this book except that if you are looking for something entirely sweet with little drama and yet a full developed plot.

 

Choose this book.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Dare (Brothers of Ink and Steel #1) by Allie Juliette Mousseau

Dare (Brothers of Ink and Steel #1) by Allie Juliette Mousseau

 
 

October 1, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Dare

Author :           Allie Juliette Mousseau

Series :            Brothers of Ink and Steel #1

Release date :   January 12th 2015

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Josh North is UFC’s Light Heavyweight Champion—but he’s about to meet his match.Sophie Garner is a single mom who’s been raising her daughter on her own, fighting for both of their lives ever since going into hiding to escape her abusive husband.When Sophie gets offered the job of a lifetime as the exclusive massage therapist for Josh “The Jackhammer” North’s team, it’s difficult to say no to the outrageous salary—and the bet—that Josh proposes. But for Sophie it’s a risk that could cost a lot more than just her heart – if she’s found, it could cost her her life.Should she dare? Josh wants to break through Sophie’s fortified walls, but is unwilling to put the jackhammer to his own and reveal his secrets and the side of him few have ever known or seen. To do that, he’ll have to confront the darkness of his past.Will he dare?

 

Review :  What a great start in a new series by a new to me author. I really loved everything about the book. The writing was just so well developed that it was easy to releate to the characters. 

The build up of the plotline was perfect and the characters more than likeable. Josh was just the almost perfect guy.  And I really can not wait for the next part of that series ….

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

REVIEW : Guarded Desire (NM Protectors, #1) by Christi Snow

 

Guarded Desire (NM Protectors, #1)

  

Guarded Desire
NM Protectors, #1
Christi Snow
June 21st 2018

 

Kidnapped and terrorized, I refuse to let anyone break me. I can stand on my own, no matter what it costs…even if that cost is my life.

Elle…
I was living the life of an ordinary college coed, but that existence was blown wide open when I was kidnapped while visiting my very famous mother, rock-star, ViviAnna.

Now I’m back at college, pretending life is normal while dodging paparazzi and dealing with my face showing up regularly on the nightly news. Trying to find a new balance isn’t happening and the effort to not jump at every shadow or bump in the night is messing with my head more than I ever expected.

Jonah…
I’m a highly trained bodyguard, but that doesn’t mean I want to deal with some spoiled pop princess’s daughter, especially if she’s anything like her handsy mother.

But when I met Elle, she shocked the hell out of me. She’s nice and thoughtful with an incredible inner strength. Even more surprising…she doesn’t want me anywhere near her. But every once in a while I see a flash of fear and vulnerability that make all my protective instincts flare.

I have to protect her.

Because they never caught her kidnapper…

Note: This book is the first in a series of stand-alone, romantic suspense, new adult novels involving sexy bodyguards and the coeds they protect.

 

 

 

The tiny differences – this is the second book from this author that I read sofar and while the other book was good – this book is great – the difference … I am not sure maybe writing style of the author developed ? or it was simply the plot…

 

The characters Elle and Jonah were interesting in their development. Both unusual and different form the norm in these kind of romances- so def. not cliché material. Reading their developing story felt fresh and that is something that I can really recommend.

I honestly cannot wait to read the next book in that series because this author even got me interested in a set of secondary character that I normally not tend to find that intriguing. Lets hope we do not have to wait to long for the next book

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Why Stars Chase the Sun (Forget Me Knot #1) by C.R. Ellis

 

Why Stars Chase the Sun (Forget Me Knot #1)

  

Why Stars Chase the Sun
Forget Me Knot #1
C.R. Ellis
June 26th 2018

 

 

JADE
Twenty-four hours.
A no-strings-attached adventure with the most gorgeous man I’ve ever seen—this was my alcohol-slash-lust-fueled proposal, and given before I could consider the potential ramifications. While his looks alone are enough to make a girl swoon, it’s the rest of him—a perfect balance of mysterious, sweet, and effortlessly charming—that draws me in. Through his cryptic comments and half-answers, he’s quickly become an enigma I’m determined to solve.

One way or another, this adventure promises to snap the stagnant, lackluster pattern my love life has been locked in lately.
Is it naïve and a little reckless to think this won’t blow up in my face? Probably.
But the bigger question is the only one I need to answer…
Is the chance to soar among the stars worth the risk of being burned when the sun eventually rises?

EMMETT
Love is a mistake I won’t make again.
My rules are simple. Keep things surface-deep. Don’t make plans. And never, ever get attached.
One look at her is all it takes for me to break my first rule.
One conversation with her is all it takes for me to question everything.
Which means accepting her proposal is bound to be a mistake.
She has no idea who I am or what kind of demons I live with, so I tell myself there’s no harm in spending one day with her. But the more I lose myself in her, the more she brings me out of the darkness and into her light, the harder it’ll be to let her go.
When reality comes crashing down on us in the worst way possible, I have to decide between walking away…or risking everything for the woman who breaks all of my rules.

 

 

 

Moments when I love my reading life …

Why Stars Chase the Sun by C.R. Ellis – was another great first time read from an new to me author.

I have to admit when I first read the title – and please dear author forgive me – I almost passed on it without reading the blurb – I simply thought it would be a (and yes I am ashamed) a sweet  romance and I was so not in the mood for that.

But then I did take a look at the Blurb and I was intrigued …

And believe me after reading you will probably be as surprised as I am – when you look at the title – the cover – think of the blurb and what you just read.

This story has an all in one package – it is well written – has great characters – some suspense and a well developed plot. What more could a reader want …

And here comes the icing … it’s the DEBUT novel of this author … so there is still room for development – there always is – and that should only mean great writing is on the horizon 

Yes I admit there were one or two things that I would have wished for to be different – but that was really only artistic freedom and no big deal.

I think the blurb mentions enough about the story so I will not go into that any deeper and only leave my recommendation here to read this book. The only reason this book did not receive 5 stars is my “Emotion” rule (see my profil)…. So others would might classify it as 5 star read I am pretty sure…

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

A SEAL’s Oath (The SEALs of Chance Creek #1) by Cora Seton

A SEAL’s Oath (The SEALs of Chance Creek #1) by Cora Seton

 
 

October 27, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              A SEAL’s Oath

Author :           Cora Seton

Series :            The SEALs of Chance Creek #1

Release date :   January 12th 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb :  Navy SEAL Boone Rudman and his friends are ready to make their mark by creating a sustainable community that can be replicated anywhere in the world. But they need land, so when Martin Fulsom, iconic leader of the Fulsom Foundation, offers them Westfield, an uninhabited ranch in Chance Creek, Montana, they take it sight unseen-and agree to Fulsom’s condition that they document their progress on a reality television show. Building a working community will be hard enough, but Boone’s got another problem.

 

Fulsom expects families-not single men-to make up the population of the new town. Now Boone’s got to find a wife, fast, before he loses his funding, and his dream. So when he arrives at Westfield to find it already occupied by Riley Eaton, the woman he thought he’d lost forever, he wonders if fate itself has provided him with an answer.

 

Riley Eaton’s played by the rules all her life, but it hasn’t gotten her anywhere. Now she’s out of work and no closer to being a full-time artist–or meeting a man and starting a family. Never happier than when she’s buried in a Jane Austen novel, she knows she’s not the only woman longing for a simpler, more beautiful life-one that allows time for art, literature and music.

 

When she discovers her friends are in the same frame of mind, she throws caution to the wind and invites them to Westfield, the ranch her uncle inherited long ago, but has never lived in. Equipped with a key and a standing invitation to stay there whenever she likes, she heads to Chance Creek and gives up all things twenty-first century in order to take a six-month Jane-Austen style vacation.

 

Westfield is perfect for Regency living with its wide lawns, extensive gardens and large ballroom. But when sexy, stubborn Boone shows up with plans to build a hyper-modern sustainable community on the ranch, it’s clear her Regency paradise is over before it even began.

 

Now Boone has thirty days to marry Riley or lose the ranch to developers, and Riley has to decide whether to marry Boone or say good-bye to Westfield–and her Jane Austen life–forever. Can they overcome their prejudices to help each other? Or will their pride destroy both their futures?

 

Review :  Ahm well at first I thought I ended up in a set up for a reality soap – then I dismissed that thought and was struggeling to come to terms with what I was reading and then suddenly one line “plopped” up in my head 

 

“The Truman Show” and after that I actually enjoyed it and I will read the next one too – but please do not ask me on the details – read for yourself

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : LOVE REDEFINED (Kings Grove #3) by Delancey Stewart

 

LOVE REDEFINED (Kings Grove, #3)

  

LOVE REDEFINED
Kings Grove #3
Delancey Stewart
June 26th 2018

 

 

Chance Palmer is the hottest bachelor in Kings Grove, and even his younger brother Sam sees him as a playboy and a charmer. It’s nice to be admired, but Chance is ready for something serious–something like the love he had once before. The love he refuses to talk about. 

Michaela “Mike” Grayson fell in love once. And though that relationship gave her the son she’d never trade for anything, it came with a darker side she’s still trying to escape. 

When Michaela’s job requires her to scout a tiny town called Kings Grove as a potential resort destination for her company, she’s not prepared for what awaits her there:  a charming playboy with a knack for making her feel like everything in her world just might work out fine. And Chance is unprepared for the feelings he finds inside himself for Michaela, and for her son, Finn. 

Can Mike overcome the darkness in her past enough to trust that Chance might be more than just a fantasy? Can Chance Palmer move past the pain of his first love and fall again?

This is Book 3 in the Kings Grove Series. Each book can be read as a standalone.

 

 

 

I am a reader that usually craves dark and edgy books, but – and this is important – they need to have a HEA.  I am not doing to well with warm romances – fact-

Or maybe not ? well there are a few authors – and I call  Delancey Stewart one of them – who can get away with presenting me something like “Love Redefined” because I really like it.

Feelings and Taste are a very personal issue – so I find it hard to explain what distinguishes her writing style from others. Maybe it is the fact that she can also write more edgy books – I really have no idea.  I can only say that her writing feels warm  and comfortable and the more a series like Kings Grove progresses it feels like you are coming home to characters that you have come to love and were intrigued to find out more about.

Book 3 here is no difference – her characters are deep and well written the story setting is great and the plot leaves no wishes open. I know her stories are very different from what I usually read but I would like to recommend her books to you if you – just like me –  Sometimes need some peace and light in the middle of all the dark, edgy reads and Delancey Stewart is really a great choice for these moments

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Gorgeous Consort (Beautiful Entourage #2) by E.L. Todd

 

 

Gorgeous Consort (Beautiful Entourage, #2)

  

Gorgeous Consort
Beautiful Entourage #2
E.L. Todd
April 29th 2015

 

Standalone. No cliffhanger. HEA. Other books in the series can be read in any order.

Being an escort comes with predetermined rules that can never be broken.

No kissing, no feelings, and definitely, absolutely, no sex.

But what will Troy do when Harper, a beautiful blonde, walks into his life. Still suffering over the lost of his long-time girlfriend, Troy is trying to move on and find his place in life. He still doesn’t understand why the relationship ended or why she cheated. As a result, love is off the table.

When Harper hypnotizes him with her beauty, sass, and remarkable intelligence, what will he do? Will be able to keep his promise to himself?

Or will he break every rule?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

A SEAL’s Vow (The SEALs of Chance Creek #2) by Cora Seton

A SEAL’s Vow (The SEALs of Chance Creek #2) by Cora Seton

 
 

October 28, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              A SEAL’s Vow

Author :           Cora Seton

Series :            The SEALs of Chance Creek #2

Release date :   June 5th 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb :  Navy SEAL Clay Pickett needs a wife, fast, or he’ll lose the model sustainable community he and his friends came home to Chance Creek to build. He’s got just the woman for the job in mind: sexy, sensitive Nora Ridgeway.

 

Too bad she’s not interested in rushing to the altar. When Nora leaves her job as a school teacher to open a Jane Austen Bed and Breakfast with her friends—and finally get a chance to write her novel—she’s relieved to escape the escalating threats of violence from an unknown student stalker, and more than a little interested in the Navy SEAL who’s after her heart.

 

But when trouble starts stalking her at Chance Creek, Nora begins to wonder if she’s left her past behind after all. Can Clay and Nora find a way to be together when everything is trying to tear them apart?

 

Review :  Ahm well at first I thought I ended up in a set up for a reality soap – then I dismissed that thought and was struggeling to come to terms with what I was reading and then suddenly one line “plopped” up in my head 

 

“The Truman Show” and after that I actually enjoyed it and I will read the next one too – but please do not ask me on the details – read for yourself

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 2 3 50
error: Content is protected !!