4 STARS

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Going In Deep by Carly Phillips

BLOG REVIEW : Going In Deep by Carly Phillips

 

October 22, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

Going In Deep

Carly Phillips

 

 

 May 9th 2017

 

 

 

 He isn’t Mr. Nice Guy… Julian Dane thought he’d hit rock bottom — until he met a woman (isn’t that what they all say?). He used her and broke her heart. Now he wants to turn things around but the damage he dealt stands in his way. Kendall Parker’s unique issues have made it hard to live a normal life. Very few people understand her and she trusts even less … but she believed in Julian once, and he only betrayed her. Now Julian is back — a new man — and determined to win Kendall’s heart. But this reformed bad boy just might find that Going in Deep is harder than it looks. Billionaire Bad Boys: Rich, Powerful and Sexy as hell. All Billionaire Bad Boys Novels stand alone!

 Going In Deep by Carly Phillips can be read as a standalone. But as it was the first book for me in that series and from this author I have to say that I felt missed out on the intensitiy of their previous relationship.

I suppose that the previous books mentioned the details of whatever happened between Julian and Kendall, even if they were only secondary characters there. I think to feel stronger about the characters I should have read those (if they contained details) because from the beginning on I could feel Julians remorse but I could not feel the hurt or the reasons for resentment I probably should have felt.

So basically Julian came to me as a nice guy feeling bad for no reason at all. And the same goes for Kendall. She was “fresh to me” and I could not feel or see any “leftovers” of her issues. Other then her thinking or talking about it there were no traces of them.

Also I could not feel her personal struggle to start a relationship with Julian. The only obvious and understandable thing was her reason to not disturb her relationship with her sister.

So in general I would not recommend to read the book as a standalone. (Still I am not sure if one of the previous books contained more details, I am just assuming this because of the general writing style of the author).

The story itself might work as a standalone but to feel more connected I as a reader needed a little more, because the story requested a lot of relating to the past of the characters.

But do not worry this ranting of mine is only the reason why this book did not get 5 stars… simply because my feelings were not on course.

As for the rest…this book is a great read, well written with wonderful characters that I can really recommend.

Julian’s remorse was heartfelt even if I could not fully comprehend his reasons (see above explanation). I really liked the development of their relationship and the storyline was beautiful developed and just flowing at the right pace.

Enjoy

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Fraud by J.L. Berg

BLOG REVIEW : Fraud by J.L. Berg

 

October 21, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

Fraud

J.L. Berg

 

 

 May 1st 2017

 

 

 

  From USA Today Bestselling author J.L. Berg comes a sexy standalone about love, lies and every dirty little thing in between.It wasn’t just a job.It was my way back to the top.After losing my position as a journalist for one of the biggest news publications in the world, I knew I’d do anything to get it back.Even if it meant breaking a few hearts to get there. She was the hottest author in the country. Known only by a pen name, there wasn’t a person alive who wasn’t dying to discover her true identity.And I’d figured it out.Her real name was Kate O’Malley and not only did I plan on finding her, but I fully intended on learning every dirty secret she had and exploiting it for my own gain.But I underestimated my prey. I didn’t anticipate how her words would intoxicate me, or how the curves of her body would consume me.I never meant to fall in love. And now I had a choice to make. Do I give up everything for the woman I set out to destroy, or walk away, making me the biggest fraud of all?

  Actually I am not sure why, but the dynamics of Fraud by J.L. Berg were different from the usual romance novel. It might be because the author spend a lot of the time in the head of the “villain” and his activities were not a secret to the reader. It was only a question WHEN not IF the victim would find out about the fraud.

I could totally relate to the female lead and her position and I really liked the way the character was developed.But even though the author spend this huge time with the “villain” I somehow could not feel anything for him.

He was a blank for me I could not even be angry with him and I guess the reason for that was that the reader knew from the very beginning everything that was going on.

It was like the whole plot was already laid bare from the beginning somehow, which was not bad and well told but it left no room for developments, which I felt was a shame as the story was really good.

I don’t know enough about the world of journalism to judge if what he did made any sense just that it reminded me really more of a stalker than a journalist. Not sure if I felt comfortable with that approach, I guess if I as the reader would not have gotten that look inside his head he would have given me shivers just seeing him creeping his way near to her.

And I am truly not sure how or when he fell for her and that is actually my biggest issue here. But well I have a certain feeling that this is only ME being the odd one out there and that most other readers will enjoy this plot as it is – so just ignore me will you #laughing

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Snare (Recoil Rock #3) by K.E. Osborn

BLOG REVIEW : Snare (Recoil Rock #3) by K.E. Osborn

 

October 20, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic 

Snare

K.E. Osborn

  

Recoil Rock #3

  

 May 11th 2017

 

 

 

 

 Fear—it’s swallowing me whole. The worry is always there of people finding out my secret. But she knew. The second we were alone…. she figured me out. My life has been one catastrophe after another, people judging without knowing me. I’m rude, obnoxious, stubborn, but that’s all to hide the pain of my demons.The pain of my childhood. No one knows why I’m the way I am. Except for my twin, but even he doesn’t know the extent of my despair. No one knew until Zaria Shafir came into our lives. Oscar-winning A-lister and actress extraordinaire.She saw right through me—through the bravado, through the act—she saw me.The thing is… she’s just as good at acting as I am. The diva attitude she throws around demanding everything like she owns the world. I see through her, too.We both have demons in our past.Will they keep us from having a future?

 Snare (Recoil Rock #3) by K.E. Osborn is the third book in this series that I read and while I still like the writing style of this author in general I have to say that the plotline of the particular book felt different to me than the others.

I enjoyed the book and storyline in general especially also because I already know about the history and dynamics having read the previous books. I know you sense the BUT coming and here it is.

Sorry to say so BUT there was something off in the relationship dynamic between the leading characters. It felt like both of them were missing their backbone. The forward and backward without any real reason gave me a whiplash of the worst kind.

Especially when it came to the female lead. Not going to spoiler on the actual story, but when I am pissed at someone for saying or doing something that is not simply disappearing within 2 minutes.

And more often than not in this storyline I found dialogues where there was an argument – and the relationship was stopped from developing or was dissolved – only to be reset by simply one of the involved parties changing their mind.

“I think we should not be together” – “OK”

“I think we should be together” – OK”

Yeah I know there was more to it and this is exaggerated but when I was nearing the end this is really the way I felt they were reacting whenever a disagreement turned up.

And that bugged me because they were interesting characters in an interesting setting. So yeah I am giving 3.5 Stars (counted as 4) because they were interesting but still to be honest their relationship development got on my nerves and I can not say I liked it very much because I need my characters to have more backbone.

I can work with them being wrong and changing their mind but the question is how that is transferred to the reader. Still I look forward to the next book because not every book can be loved the same as the previous.

Reviewed by

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

BLOG REVIEW : Last by J.L. Davis

 

October 19, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 Last

 J.L. Davis

  

 

   May 5th 2017

 

 

 

 

After losing her job, her bestie, and her boyfriend all at once, Jessa Phillips has no choice but to move back home and start over.

When she knocks on Alex Rogan’s door, she’s searching for employment but what she gets is so much more than a job. He’s tall, muscular, gorgeous…and very mysterious.

Jessa can’t shake the attraction and desperately wants more than he’s willing to provide. Can she get Alex to drop his guard in order to give them a real chance? To let her be his LAST?

 

Last by J.L. Davis was my First …

LOL – Pun intended

No seriously it was my first book by this author and somehow from what I found it might also be the debut novel of this author.

The author has an interesting and fresh writing style and the setting as well as the characters were well developed.

Additionally the setting of the storyline was different and a little unusual.

I am not sure how much to tell without spoilers but at first it sounded like there was an immense age difference between both leads which confused the setting a little. As I said “at first” but later it made the complete interaction between the characters more spunky I think. Especially when it came to Jesse’s new friend that actually got her the job with Alex.

Jesse and Alex were interesting yet totally opposite characters. While Jesse at first sight looked insecure she was the one getting Alex out of his funk. And on the other hand Alex who should be the more settled one is actually more insecure than Jesse.

Adding the circumstances, their environment and past – well lets say the reader is in for an interesting ride. But it will be one I am sure that the readers will enjoy – I can honestly say that I enjoyed it. It was a read that was a little fresher than the average sweet romance. If the author can keep up this kind of writing style the future will tell but for now I can say that I would pick up the next book by this author if the blurb appeals to me. 

Reviewed by

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Last by J.L. Davis

Last by J.L. Davis

 

October 19, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

  Last

 

  J.L. Davis

 

 

  

  May 5th 2017  

 

 

 

 

 

After losing her job, her bestie, and her boyfriend all at once, Jessa Phillips has no choice but to move back home and start over.

When she knocks on Alex Rogan’s door, she’s searching for employment but what she gets is so much more than a job. He’s tall, muscular, gorgeous…and very mysterious.

Jessa can’t shake the attraction and desperately wants more than he’s willing to provide. Can she get Alex to drop his guard in order to give them a real chance? To let her be his LAST?

 

 

 

 

 

Last by J.L. Davis was my First …

LOL – Pun intended

No seriously it was my first book by this author and somehow from what I found it might also be the debut novel of this author.

 

The author has an interesting and fresh writing style and the setting as well as the characters were well developed.

Additionally the setting of the storyline was different and a little unusual.

 

I am not sure how much to tell without spoilers but at first it sounded like there was an immense age difference between both leads which confused the setting a little. As I said “at first” but later it made the complete interaction between the characters more spunky I think. Especially when it came to Jesse’s new friend that actually got her the job with Alex.

 

Jesse and Alex were interesting yet totally opposite characters. While Jesse at first sight looked insecure she was the one getting Alex out of his funk. And on the other hand Alex who should be the more settled one is actually more insecure than Jesse.

 

Adding the circumstances, their environment and past – well lets say the reader is in for an interesting ride. But it will be one I am sure that the readers will enjoy – I can honestly say that I enjoyed it. It was a read that was a little fresher than the average sweet romance. If the author can keep up this kind of writing style the future will tell but for now I can say that I would pick up the next book by this author if the blurb appeals to me.

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Perfect Illusion by Winter Renshaw

The Perfect Illusion by Winter Renshaw

 

October 18, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 The Perfect Illusion

 

 Winter Renshaw

 

 

  April 4th 2017  

 

 

 

 

 

It’s only pretend…

And it’s only three months.

I’m in the midst of scrawling “I QUIT!” onto his fancy cardstock letterhead when my boss corners me. He needs a favor, he says. And then he asks how well I can act …

Hudson Rutherford needs a fiancée.

With his old-moneyed parents forcing him to marry some bratty hotel heiress and his hedonistic, playboy lifestyle at stake, the only way to get them to back off is to make them think he’s truly, madly, deeply in love … with me—his third personal assistant this year.

But I can hardly stand working for him as it is.

Hudson is crazy hot and well-aware. He’s arrogant, spoiled, and silver-spooned. He checks me out when he thinks I’m not looking, and his life is a revolving door of beautiful women. Plus, he can’t even pronounce my name correctly—how’s he going to convince his family he’s in love with me?!

I’m seconds from giving him a resounding “no” when he flashes his signature dimpled smirk and gives me a number that happens to contain a whole mess of zeroes …

On second thought, I think I can swallow my pride.

But, oh baby, there’s one thing I haven’t told him, one teensy-tiny thing that could make this just a hair complicated …

Here’s hoping this entire thing doesn’t explode in our faces.

 

 

 

 

 

The Perfect Illusion by Winter Renshaw was not the first book by this author that I read and I really love her writing style.

 

She perfectly manages to draw you into the story that she presents you at that time. No matter where your mind was before but after 10 minutes you are in the story.

 

The Perfect Illusion is not different. Starting from 0 to 100 within 5 minutes you are thrown into a whirlwind of emotions that you have trouble keeping up until you finally reach a calmer water that lets your breath and think about what just happened.

 

Which brings me to the story and its leading character. I liked the characters – I can not say I LOVED them to be honest because I kind of stumbled over one or two things within the storyline that I either have to count as mayor character flaw of the leads or as glitch in the storyline.

 

One was that I could not really follow the female lead falling in love because it went to fast for my taste.

 

The other – and that was more serious – was that I had trouble digesting some reasoning’s that were uncovered as the story unfolded. They were explained but honestly they sounded childish in the concept of the whole storyline. More like something I would have expected from a YA novel and not from this book.

 

But anyway that is just my personal taste and others might see it totally different.

 

AND (and that is more important) it does not change my opinion on this authors writing – I love it – and as not every story can be a love at first sight – it would never stop me from picking up her next book at any given time.

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Royally Screwed (Royally #1) by Emma Chase

Royally Screwed (Royally #1) by Emma Chase

 

October 16, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Royally Screwed

 

 Emma Chase

 

Royally #1

 

  October 18th 2016

 

 

 

 

 

 Nicholas Arthur Frederick Edward Pembrook, Crowned Prince of Wessco, aka His Royal Hotness, is wickedly charming, devastatingly handsome, and unabashedly arrogant; hard not to be when people are constantly bowing down to you. Then, one snowy night in Manhattan, the prince meets a dark haired beauty who doesn’t bow down. Instead, she throws a pie in his face.Nicholas wants to find out if she tastes as good as her pie, and this heir apparent is used to getting what he wants. Dating a prince isn’t what waitress Olivia Hammond ever imagined it would be.There’s a disapproving queen, a wildly inappropriate spare heir, relentless paparazzi, and brutal public scrutiny. While they’ve traded in horse drawn carriages for Rolls Royces, and haven’t chopped anyone’s head off lately, the royals are far from accepting of this commoner. But to Olivia, Nicholas is worth it.Nicholas grew up with the whole world watching, and now Marriage Watch is in full force. In the end, Nicholas has to decide who he is and, more importantly, who he wants to be: a King… or the man who gets to love Olivia forever.

 

 

 

 

 

I super enjoyed this read. There is a lot of cliché in the story that is for sure and I could see some strings to Books like “Princess Diaries” but I did not mind that at all.

 

The characters were enjoyable and the storyline was well developed and interesting.

 

And I totally did not see that “U-Turn” (if I may call it like that) coming – So the author got me there.

 

I am looking forward to pick up the next book of that series – I already have a suspicion about the leading couple.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

════  PLEASE SUBSCRIBE / LIKE / FOLLOW US  ════

Blog              : http://jeri-ryan.wix.com/jerisbookattic
FB Page       : https://www.facebook.com/JerisBookAttic
Twitter          : https://twitter.com/JeriTRyan
Goodreads   : https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/20537528-jeri
Bloglovin      : https://www.bloglovin.com/people/jerisbookattic-13468119

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Blog Tour – Gun Shy by Lili St. Germain

Gun-Shy-iBooks.jpg



A stand alone psychological thriller.
** NOT A ROMANCE **



HAVE YOU SEEN THIS GIRL?

In the middle of a fierce snowstorm in Gun Creek, Nevada, seventeen-year-old Jennifer Thomas disappears without a trace.

The second girl in nine years.

Identical cases. Identical conditions. Only last time, the girl was found. Dead, stuffed in a well beside the creek that feeds the town’s water supply.

The killer was never found.

As the small town mobilizes and searches for newly vanished Jennifer Thomas, one suspect comes to the fore. But did he do it? Or is there something else at play? Something nobody could have anticipated?

For Jennifer’s friend Cassie Carlino, the worst is yet to come. As she pins MISSING posters to store windows and joins the search, she begins to suspect that Jennifer’s disappearance might be much closer to her than she could have ever imagined.


Leo

I visit Jennifer every evening at the diner; she seems to like the attention, and I could use the distraction. I make sure to turn up just before her shift ends, and she gives me a ride home every night. The first night she came over we ended up talking for hours. My mouth hurt by the end, every sense on high alert. I was a gentleman. I didn’t lay a hand on her again, not after she started to talk. She’s in trouble. A lot of trouble. I think it eased her mind to be able to confess to somebody who pretty much wrote the book on trouble in this town.
I mean, there’s not a thing I can do to help the girl. Not unless she tells me who got her into this mess in the first place. “That’s the problem with men,” she said to me when I urged her to give me the name of the guy blackmailing her. “They always jump straight to problem-solving. Men always want to fix everybody.”
“You don’t want to be fixed?” I’d asked her.
“I can fix myself,” she’d replied. “I just need somebody to understand.”
I don’t understand. Her predicament is something I’ve never experienced. But I can listen. I listen to her talk as she drives me home in her shiny new car every night, and it makes me feel less of a fuck-up. I mean, she hasn’t killed anyone. But she’s planning to. And that’s why we’ve found each other. I am a killer and she is ready to spill blood. She is a welcome distraction from my sins, and I am a makeshift altar for her to lay her own sins upon. Because when I’m with Jennifer, I don’t think about Cassie Carlino. I don’t think of Karen Brainard. And, most especially, I don’t think of Teresa King and the way she burned beside me in that car.
* * *
The night Jennifer Thomas disappears is like all the rest. I go to the diner. Order nachos and a Coke. I’m surprised Jennifer is working. It’s Thanksgiving, and the place is deserted. Even Amanda is nowhere to be seen.
“Working on Thanksgiving?” I ask Jennifer, as she slides my food in front of me. She shrugs, that glitter lipgloss catching the light as she moves. “It’s just another day, isn’t it?”
I nod.
“Besides,” she says, “It pisses my dad off. I asked for this shift.”
At ten, I help her to turn out all the lights. I wait beside her as she locks the front doors of the diner, feeling vaguely worried about the fact that somebody left a sixteen year old cheerleader alone to lock up this late at night. I note the lack of video surveillance, the remote location, the fact that everyone is tucked safely inside their houses while Jennifer is alone with a convicted criminal in the dead of night.
Jennifer offers me a ride home, which I accept. Except, instead of driving me straight home like she has done for the past six nights in a row, Jennifer pulls her Range Rover off the road into an uncleared section of pine trees that tower over us. The track is narrow and winding and she doesn’t answer me when I ask her where she’s taking us.
She stops in a small clearing and cuts the lights. The engine is still running. Bits of snow fall outside, slow and bloated in their trajectory toward the ground. Jennifer’s hands are small as they grip the steering wheel; her eyes lit up by the red illumination of the dashboard, making her look almost demonic.
“What are we doing here?” I ask her again.
“I don’t want to go home,” she says staring straight ahead.
“Fair enough,” I reply. I watch her as she struggles to find words. She squirms in her heated leather seat, her nails shiny and perfect, her shoulders sagging under the weight of something I cannot see.
“Do you think I’m pretty?” she asks me in a tiny voice, and she sounds so mouse-like and weak that I almost laugh.
“Do I think you’re pretty?” I echo, feeling a smirk cut its way across my face. “Jennifer, you’re so pretty I could die just from looking at you.”
She rolls her eyes. “You think I’m stupid. You’re just here because you feel sorry for me, Leo.”
I shake my head. “I don’t think you’re stupid. And I’m not here because I feel sorry for you.”
She swallows thickly; I can see the pulse beat nervously in her throat. “Then why are you here?”
“Well, I guess I’m here right now because you just drove us off the road and into the woods.”
“You know what I mean.”
Do, I, though? I sigh. “Because you’re the only person in this town worth talking to who will even look at me.”
She bites her lip and I have the sudden, piercing urge inside my skull to wrap my hands around her throat and drag her onto my lap. That’s some messed up shit. She’s sixteen. Six. TEEN. I’m repeating the number in my head over and over, willing my dick to settle down. I can feel the throb of wanting her in my cock, in the thunderous rush of blood that makes my heart hit my ribcage like the firing of a gun, bang, bang, bang. My need eclipses my rationality. So what if she’s sixteen? She drove into this fucking clearing and licked her lips and asked me if I thought she was pretty.
“Why have you been back to the diner every single night, just as I’m about to get off shift?”
“Umm,” I try. “It’s the only decent place in town?”
She narrows her eyes at me and there’s a fire inside her pupils; it might be below freezing outside, but it’s a billion degrees in here. We’re already fogging up the windows with our breath, and I haven’t even laid a finger on her.
“Liar,” she says. “I want the real reason.”
You’re about to get the real reason, sweetheart. I grip the armrest. I grip it so hard my fingernails ache.
“I’m here because I’m a bad guy, Jennifer.”
“And?”
“Because you’re so pretty I can’t think about anybody else. Because I want to do things to you… that would probably frighten you. Things that might hurt you.”
Her cheeks are flush; her breathing quickens. I haven’t even touched her, and she’s already excited. Or scared. Or both. I want to reach between her thighs and see if it’s lust I’m reading on her face.
“What kinds of things?” she asks.
I cover my face with my hands.  
“What kinds of things?” she repeats, a hand on my shoulder. I let my hands fall into my lap and fix my stare on this girl who should be home with her family, not out here in the dark in the woods and snow with a criminal. I watch in awe as she slides her seat back and reaches her hands up underneath her skirt, tugging a pair of panties down her legs and unhooking them from her heels. She can’t look at me as she hands me a pair of baby blue silk panties with a bow on the front. I grip the underwear in my fist so tight I could tear it to shreds with a single pull, but I don’t rip it. I find the damp spot of arousal in the center of the material and bring it up to my face. I close my eyes. I breathe Jennifer in.
I shouldn’t be here. Not with her. Not like this. I will get out of the car, I decide. I will walk home. I will not touch this girl.
But then, “I promise I won’t tell anyone,” she whispers.
Fuck.
I grab her. I drown her shock out with my mouth. I squeeze her slender neck with my prison-rough palms. I keep my promise and I hurt Jennifer Thomas until I’m sated.
It’s only after when I’m looking at the blank expression on her face, the odd tilt of her neck, the bruises blossoming on her spread thighs, that I understand what I have done.
By then, it’s too late.
The night Jennifer Thomas disappears is like all the rest.
Apart from the way it ends.

Lili writes dark, delicious romance full of love, lust and revenge. Her USA Today Bestselling Gypsy Brothers series focuses on a morally bankrupt biker gang and the young woman who seeks her vengeance upon them. The Cartel series is a trilogy that explores the beginnings of the club, published through HarperCollins.

Lili quit corporate life to focus on writing and so far is loving every minute of it. Her other loves in life include her gorgeous husband and beautiful daughter, excellent coffee, Tarantino movies and spending hours on Instagram.

She loves to read almost as much as she loves to write.
Author Links

LSG USA_logo with black tag.png

“Beware the dark pool at the bottom of our hearts. In its icy, black depths dwell strange and twisted creatures it is best not to disturb.”

I think that wraps up everything into a nice package but alas not possible so how do you write a review for a book that leaves you in a position not able to find the words, not yesterday when I finished it, not now while I’m writing my review and neither tomorrow or next week if I had to put down how this book made me feel? Near impossible but I will try.

I feel like I have waited an eternity for this book. Yeah mildly exaggerated but I wanted to read this book that bad. It wasn’t what I expected but when I pick up a Lili St. Germain book it usually isn’t. The writing was impeccable, the characters flawed, gritty and full of emotion. If I could pick her brain apart I would for sure. She can put a psychological spin on anything.

It is cruel and savage this is what real life can about. Small town living truly ain’t that grand after all. The town is toxic, poison and only a few manage to escape. Read about lust, about greed, wrath, envy and pride and how it can break all of us. How minds splinter and how being deranged makes sense.

I hang my head and say that I can’t give it the whole five stars as it was clear who was involved and to what extent that they went to. It is sick, it is depraved and yet it is a beauty to read. Yeah throw stones at me cause I love the book. It is always an experience for me to venture into unknown territory but when I do. I’m blown away. It had me on the edge of my seat. I felt with the characters. The book is crazy, amazing, violent and not for the faint of heart.

Before I sign off my last words are

This is not a fairytale and there is no happy ending, no prince to ride in on his horse to save her.
Sometimes a gal needs to save herself.

Read the book. It is worth it.

Songs listened to while writing my review.
Marilyn Manson – Killing Strangers
Curtis Stigers & The Forest Rangers – John the Revelator
Rage against the Machine – Killing in the Name of
Lukas Graham – Better Than Yourself
Aerosmith – Livin’ on the Edge
Three Doors Down – Kryptonite
Imagine Dragons – Believer
Matchbox Twenty – Unwell

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Starring Me and You (A Bad Boy Movie Star Romance) by Ella Bradshaw

Starring Me and You (A Bad Boy Movie Star Romance) by Ella Bradshaw

 

October 13, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 Starring Me and You

 

 Ella Bradshaw

 

 A Bad Boy Movie Star Romance

  

2017 

 

 

 

 

 

‘Hollywood’s hottest star is out of control.

Darcy

 

Nate McCoy is a bad boy through and through. He doesn’t give a damn about anyone or anything and has broken more hearts than he can count. So why have they hired an inexperienced little Southern Belle like me to keep him under control? Because I’m the only one that can resist his charms.I’m not gonna be tossed aside like all the other girls. I’ll reel Nate in and save his career if it’s the last thing I do!

 

Nate

 

I don’t do relationships. I do passionate one night stands that leave them all begging for more. So what if a few hearts get broken in the process? That’s just part of the game.Then Darcy walks into my life and ignites a fire inside me like no one else. I’ll have her and use her just like I do with all the others…unless there’s something more to be had…

 

*Starring me and You is a standalone romance with no cheating and a HEA. Due to the adult nature of the book’s content it is recommended for adults only.*’

 

 

 

 

 

 

In true Colleen Hoover fashion let me start with a CONFESSION. I #CONFESS that lately I found myself truly reluctant to accept review copies of authors that have not yet published anything.

 

Why ? you wonder… because more often than not those others confused the request to review a book with the so called “beta-reading” or even worse the expected some sort of “editing”.

 

So it took Ella Bradshaw quite some convincing to bring me tor read her debut novel “Starring Me and You -A Bad Boy Movie Star Romance” I gave her some pointers that much I admit and I also told her she still needs to put an official Blurb to this book.

 

Because already for my review I need that Blurb to know how much I can tell about the storyline as I try to avoid spoilers at all costs. As that is still no Blurb let me work with what I can say for sure.

 

For a debut novel this book is really well done. I still found some typos in it but they were in a very obvious way so I am pretty sure that Ella will do her best to erase those as fast as possible.

 

The writing style is everything I would expect from a novel with that title and the plot can hold that promise. There were some “are you serious” moments for me and I think I had one “that is to obivious” moment too, when it came to the story development BUT only a few pages later Ella surprised me with a total different direction.

 

Like in one of those moments when you follow the show of a magician staring into the intended direction while suddenly something happens right behind you. And I admit there were also some of the “cliché” moments that you would expect in this kind of novel.

 

But I was totally fine with those. I am pretty sure this book will find fans within the community of “Hollywood/Actor Romance Novels”. The way it is now I would rate it with 3.5 Stars – showing 4 here on Goodreads.

 

The 0.5 is for the typos and the missing 5th star is due to the fact that I had no emotional outbursts (read my reviewing regulations for an explanation to that)

 

Anyway I can recommend this Book and I hope that the author will soon make the necessary changes and publishes it so others can enjoy it.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Broken Dreams by Callie Anderson

Broken Dreams by Callie Anderson

 

October 12, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Broken Dreams

 

 Callie Anderson

 

 

 

 April 27th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ethan is the boy who climbed into my bedroom every night.

He’s everything I love.

Laced with everything I despise.

 

He’s every happy memory.

And every shattered dream.

He’s my everything.

 

But he broke every part of me.

I’m supposed to hate him.

But I can’t.

I don’t know how.

 

 

 

 

 

Broken Dreams by Callie Anderson is a beautiful story full of second chances and love. It was my first book by this author and I truly devoured this complex and intense story. In parts it reminded my of the earlier books written by Colleen Hoover but there was still a tiny spark missing to her magic.

 

This comparison I made should ensure you of one thing …. This plot will hurt. One thing I am not a fan of is the “now and then” storyline, but this is an issue I have in general as to me it is quite clear what will happen once the contemporary part of the story has started so I hate going back all the time because that feels like watching Titanic.

 

I darn well know that ship will sink – if you get what I mean. I don’t mind an “then” start that changes to a “now” storyline, it is just the constant switching that I am not a fan of. Because of the way the story was woven into each other I had some problems to connect everything, I am not sure if the author really used the optimal way to present the plot.

 

Still – the plot is great no question about it and I will fully recommend the story to lovers of Colleen Hoover books as a “light” version / similar thinking style…. The complexity of this story is remarkable and you should make sure you have enough time to dive into this book as undisturbed as possible.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

1 2 3 5