4 STARS

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

ATTIC REVIEW : Enshrine by Chelle Bliss

ATTIC REVIEW : Enshrine by Chelle Bliss

 
 

March 31, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Enshrine

Author :           Chelle Bliss

Series :            n/a

Release date :   January 26th 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb :

STANDALONE NOVEL FROM CHELLE BLISS

EVERYTHING CHANGED IN AN INSTANT.

 

I thought I knew what was important, but one phone call sent my life into a tailspin. Alone and afraid, I clung to the one man I shouldn’t. I was warned about him and told to stay away. “He’s dangerous,” they said. But the man who could hurt me the most, gave me the greatest comfort. “He’s not who they think,” I told myself. But just like an illusion, things are never what they seem.

 

Review : In the beginning I wondered where this story would be going but after a few pages I was sucked into it. Wanting to find out more about “the man”. It was such an unusual plot that it was hard to put the book down. I really liked the characters and the plot was so engaging that I was moving along with our heroine in her quest to find out more about “her man” and I routed for them every step of the way. 

 

 

Great story – well developed – well written … I ended up rating it just short before 5 stars because eventhough the plot was heartbreaking at times I did not find myself crying and therefore there was some tiny touch missing.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

BLOG REVIEW : Riddick (The Saints #1) by Kathy Coopmans

BLOG REVIEW : Riddick (The Saints #1) by Kathy Coopmans

 
 

April 2, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Riddick

Author :           Kathy Coopmans

Series :            The Saints #1

Release date :   December 5th 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : From USA Today Best Selling Author comes the first book in a series of standalone’s.

The Saints Series.

 

She told me Heaven would knock on my door one day.

That I would be swept away from the hell I lived in.

She was right about one thing and so wrong about the other.

Heaven came in the form of an angel just like she said.

Beautiful.

Perfect.

An angel.

And then.

My life became hell.

She disappeared.

Vanished.

I left.

Went to war.

Killed.

All for her.

 

Every face was the man who took her. Every dream filled with her.

For twelve years I existed in hell.

Breathed in the fires from down below.

Until her, the woman on the beach outside of my home.

Captivating.

Enchanting.

Mesmerizing.

It couldn’t be my Cora, my angel, my heaven on earth.

She was dead.

Wasn’t she?

 

Review : I just finished reading Riddick (The Saints #1) by Kathy Coopmans. It was not my first book by this author so I was positive I was going to like her writing style (and I was right to assume so).

 

But you are probably wondering just now “Isn’t that an MC romance?” – Yes it is..

Further you might be asking “and YOU chose to read it?” – Yes I did

 

I understand your surprise – believe me – I was surprised too and I took some time considering if I wanted to read this book. Really “normal” MC romances are not my “thing” – true. But the Blurb of this book drew me in. I am a hopeless romantic.

 

One of those people that gave up watching movies like Titanic because I can not change the outcome. Yeah … I am one of those that whish to rewrite Romeo and Juliet so that it finally goes “my way”.

 

And that is where Riddick comes into view… I am not saying it’s a “version” of Romeo and Juliet – no that is not what it is but in some ways reading this story made me think of it. I liked the characters and the plotline very much.

 

Why it “only” got 4 instead of 5 stars ?There is this one thing in the plot that does not add up with the natural curiosity of human kind, which with the addition of the age of digital information’s everywhere is hard for me to stomach. I know it is needed to support the plot and I tried to ignore it but it kept coming to my mind so I can not ignore it in my rating (yeah that’s me being vague on purpose because of spoilers – so in case you need to know – PM me)

 

And the second thing is … 5 Stars in my rating world require me either to laugh my ass of or cry a river or be shocked to (almost) death – neither of these three things happened.

 

Having said my piece … I can totally recommend this book to all those hopeless romantics that want to believe.

 

Please believe in Riddick

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Without Promises by Delancey Stewart

 

 

Without Promises

  

Without Promises
Delancey Stewart
 May 21st 2018

 

Trent McNeil was a classic trust-fund kid until he watched a team of firefighters save his family home. From that moment on, he rebelled against the path his parents were determined to keep him on. Now a San Diego firefighter, he knows he’ll eventually be expected to take over the family empire. But until that day, his only plan is to have fun and enjoy life.

After a childhood of upset and uncertainty, Amy Hodge is going to make something out of herself. She has her future all planned out. She’s starting medical school and is going to be busy…far too busy for a relationship. But she does have time for a quick fling before she buckles down and concentrates on her studies.

Amy quickly realizes that playboy Trent is not all he seems to be. Never relinquishing control and sticking to her plans has done well for Amy, but no one has ever made her want to throw caution to the wind like this sexy firefighter.

Each book in the Under the Pier series is STANDALONE:
* Without Words
* Without Promises

 

 

 

I already read several books by this author and so far I liked them all. The same goes for the writing style of this book. But this book is actually the first where I am not that sure if I loved the characters. Amy was an OK female lead for me but while I like strong male leads –  Trent is a strange? Confusing? Too much? Character. And on the other hand he tends to be somehow frozen when it comes to his family – especially his mother. Its not that he doesn’t know or understand all that is going on it just seems that he is unable? Unwilling? to stop it…

 

He seems to be the cliché of the “How-do-I-rebel-against-my-parents-without-becoming-a-bad-boy” guy. From the outside everyone looking at him sees a hard working firefighter someone you could be proud of … everyone … except his father.

– to me his rebellion was sort of shallow especially when it came to his mother….don’t let me get started on that women (the author did a great job there – she serves her purpose well – I do not tend to be violent but I experienced a moment where I was considering how to physically hurt a virtual person)

 

There is a lot going on in this story and there was a moment when I wanted to put the book aside because the actions of the leading characters were really not what I wanted to read at that moment – yet strangely I could not because I also wanted to know what comes next.  

 

So may I say that I liked the story but not so much the characters ? … I guess I am not conventional somehow but still the story alone was enough for me in this special case to give 4 stars. But I am pretty sure that this is not a regular / normal thing to happen when you read a book but really just this authors magic.

 

Usually I am pretty depending on my like or dislike of the characters and if I do not like them – then the plot will not be able to keep a good rating. I believe this book will find lovers in several corners of the reader world, for either its characters or the plotline or in best cases both – give it a try if you think the blurb appeals to you

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

BLOG REVIEW : A Promise Made by Anissa Garcia

 
 
 

BLOG REVIEW : A Promise Made by Anissa Garcia

 
 

April 3, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              A Promise Made

Author :           Anissa Garcia

Series :            n/a

Release date :   November 3rd 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Josh McKenzie may come off as intimidating with his solid build and cold stare, but when trouble calls, Marla quickly learns there is more to the sexy tatted man with the British accent. And if she’s not careful, she can easily lose herself in his gentle touch and soft voice. A feisty redhead with a mouth that won’t quit, Marla Sullivan knows how to push all of Josh’s buttons, making him want her in the worst way. His biggest hurdle is breaking through her stubborn walls and proving he’s here to stay. When Marla’s faced with an unknown danger, Josh is forced to reveal his buried past. Promises made and surfaced truths may be the catalyst that brings them together…or pushes them further apart.

 

Review : Reading “A Promise Made” by Anissa Garcia was an interesting experience for me because it taught me that I do not have to love the characters to like the book.

 

Because I seriously could not wrap my brain around Marla. Always when I felt I was nearly connecting to her she did something or said something that threw me of course.

 

Josh was so sweet and attending and yet confusingly deep and thoughtful at times, while Marla always felt like Josh was a nuisance to her. I wondered why he did not give up and kept on trying.

 

Reading my thoughts you must think that I did not like this story but that is honestly not true – I just did not love Marla. The story itself was pretty good and held my attention from beginning to end.

 

I even consider to read the first book of that series now because some things mentioned during the plot piqued my interest (even though I already know how it will end, because it is obvious as the character that are featured in “A Promise Kept” re-appear in this book here).

 

Thinking about it I even wonder if I could have connected better to Marla if I had read the first book before ? Basically they are standalone stories but still featuring the same group of characters and therefore they are bound to have a story in the first book that I missed so far.

 

The plot is well developed even if some things were quiet obvious to me as a reader but I did not mind that fact, as all the characters including a certain gorgeous dog drew me into their story and kept me there until the end.

 

And I have certain ideas on which character might be featured the next book in that series – lets see…

 

Anyway I can totally recommend this book but I would suggest to read the series in the right order and start with “A Promise Kept” before reading this book

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Royal Mess by Jenna Sutton

 

 

Royal Mess

  

Royal Mess
Jenna Sutton
May 8th 2018

 

From award-winning author Jenna Sutton comes a story of two princes who discover that falling in love is messy…

Prince Leo’s icy demeanor has earned him an amusing nickname—the Polar Prince. Unfortunately, the king doesn’t see the humor. If Leo wants to secure the throne of Alsania, he must improve his image. Participating in an organ donation campaign seems like a good start. He expects to donate his organs on his deathbed, so he’s surprised to be matched with a complete stranger who needs his help now.

Tessa Lulach hates to admit it, but she’s a damsel in distress. When a handsome prince offers to save her with a hunk of his liver, she joyfully accepts. She can’t wait to feel like herself again and return to her beloved flower shop. Instead, her identity is revealed, and the quiet life she loves is turned upside down.

As Leo and Tessa deal with the nosy public and ruthless paparazzi, she realizes the Polar Prince is much warmer than he seems—scorching hot, in fact. He willingly gave her a part of his liver, but can he give her his whole heart?

*****

Everyone loves Prince Marco of Alsania, despite his reckless antics … or maybe because of them. So why does sexy schoolteacher Cassie Lulach prefer a boring investment banker over him? Wounded by her indifference, he has an erotic encounter with a masked woman at a royal ball who reminds him of the one he really wants.

After another failed relationship, Cassie is frustrated with immature, inconsiderate guys. Wanting to escape reality, she attends a masquerade ball and finds herself alone with a masked stranger. For the first time in her life, she acts on impulse, only to end up pregnant and absolutely clueless about the identity of her baby’s father.

When Marco learns of Cassie’s pregnancy and her plans to raise the baby alone, he promises to be there for her, hoping she’ll finally see him as more than just a playboy prince. But then he discovers she’s the woman from the masquerade ball and panics. Will the truth destroy his chance to win over Cassie, or will he convince her that they can have their own happily ever after?

 

 

 

It’s no secret that I am not a big fan of short stories and Insta love – so what was the reason for me to choose to review Royal Mess by Jenna Sutton – ? Well it was the plot – it was far to tempting so I went into it knowing there was a 70 / 30 chance of me NOT like it.

But yeah the plot sounded that good so I took the chance.

 

And what can I say – the 30 % won …

 

I was mostly drawn to the first story in this book which is the story of the “Ice” Prince Leo.  The author goes against anything I have read so far when it comes to royal romances. I guess its no secret as the blurb tells it already – placing his own life at risk  – especially being a crown prince – and not because he wants to do good but simply because he wants to improve his image… yeah you figured it out #controversial much ?

So I had to find out where this would go.

 

And the author really went for it full force with no excuses. I love the traditional approach on royal contemporary romances but as confusing as it sounds it was refreshing the way this was written. Very different.  Maybe because it did not feel royal somehow ? – it felt more like a “simple” high profile wealthy family. But I leave that for all the other readers to decide for themselves.

 

The only thing I can say is that I believe a lot of readers will love this story and if you are looking for an entertaining read that is not to long this might be your book if the blurb appeals to you. While I can not give this story a full 5 star rating as the characters were not deep enough (but that was to be expected of a novel of this length)  – it still was much better than I had originally hoped.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

ATTIC REVIEW : Bad Neighbor by Molly O’Keefe

ATTIC REVIEW : Bad Neighbor by Molly O’Keefe

 
 

April 6, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Bad Neighbor

Author :           Molly O’Keefe

Series :            n/a

Release date :   November 21st 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : He’s sexy… He’s dangerous… He’s right next door. I gave up everything to save my sister from a monster, and now I’m lying low in this rundown apartment so I can stay out of danger. Hiding from everyone.

 

Except for the guy in apartment 1A.

 

He’s rude. Silent. Muscled, mysterious, and hot as hell. I don’t know if he likes me or hates me, but the more time I spend with him, the less it matters.I want him.And for the first time in my life I’m going to go after what I want.

 

She doesn’t belong in my world.From the second 1B moves in, I know she’s keeping secrets. She doesn’t belong here, much less with a street fighter like me.But that doesn’t stop me from craving her. Her softness and sweetness. She’s a drug, and suddenly I’m addicted.

 

I know someone is going to try and hurt her and I can’t let that happen. But unless I push her away and get her out of my world, that someone could be me…

 

Review : As it was not my first book by this author I knew I would like the writing style. The plot was intriguing and I loved the female lead. She was so different and I likd that about her. 

 

It would have been a 5 star read if I had not been so surprised at the “soft” outcome after all the build up. But still I want to read the next book that connects to this story. (Due to reasons I can not get into because of spoilers – but no worries there is no cliffhanger here)

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Love on Hold by Mia Miller

 

 

Love on Hold

  

Love on Hold
Mia Miller
 April 26th 2018

 

We both put love on hold until now. How long will love wait for us?

3:45 in the morning: unknown number calling.
Send the stranger on their way and go back to sleep, right? Except – his gruff voice made me think twice.
I was a small girl with big dreams. I juggled college, charity, and a job, while dodging an annoying ex. Getting to know a guy? That was way down on my list. So I had every intention of ignoring sexy Joel Thomas when he woke me up.
But he wouldn’t let me. When did texting and calling turn into feelings? We kept our identities a secret, and didn’t see each other. Yet, we fell in love.

Will our chemistry stand the test of reality?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Come As You Are by Lauren Blakely

 

 

Come As You Are

  

Come As You Are
Lauren Blakely
 April 16th 2018

 

An intensely sexy Billionaire Fairy Tales standalone novel by Jackie Ashenden that is billionaire romance meets Little Red Riding Hood with a happily ever after.

Wicked. Ruthless. Obsessed.

Sent away from his family as a boy because he couldn’t be controlled, Rafe DeSantis’s new guardian turned him into a monster. One who wants only two things out of life: To get revenge on the father who destroyed his life. And to possess the woman who was kept from him. Ella Hart has been his obsession for years, and now that he’s her guardian he’s finally in position to black mail her into his bed. And once he has her there? He’s going to eat her up.

Innocent. Alone. Hunted.

Ella has been living with her grandmother since the death of her parents when she was a child. She’s learned to pour her grief and pain into dance, and it’s become her escape. Her passion. Now she’s set her sights on a prestigious dance school in Paris. But there’s one problem. Ella was so young when her parents died, her money was left in the hands of the DeSantis family…and it’s now controlled by Rafe. A man she’s always found compelling and terrifying at the same time. Rafe offers her an ultimatum: Give herself to him, body and soul, and she’ll get the money she needs.

Ella isn’t in a position to refuse, though she tries to resist the sexy billionaire. It feels good, until her heart becomes involved. Does the big bad billionaire want to capture her heart? Or does he only want to own her body?

Don’t miss these standalone Billionaire Fairy Tales:
The Billionaire’s Virgin (Cinderella)
The Billionaire Beast (Beauty and the Beast)
The Billionaire’s Intern (Sleeping Beauty)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : The Billionaire Beast (Billionaire Fairy Tales #2) by Jackie Ashenden

 

 

The Billionaire Beast (Billionaire Fairy Tales, #2)

  

The Billionaire Beast
Billionaire Fairy Tales #2
Jackie Ashenden
March 7th 2017

 

Dark, tortured, and intimidating, these dominant billionaires will steal their innocent heroines’ breath away. Overwhelmed by their desire to control their world, they push their heroines to explore their deepest desires. But even the most unworldly of heroines can unlock these billionaires’ secrets.

Nero de Santis: Damaged. Bastard. Beast.

Nero hasn’t left his house in ten years—he demands the world come to him, and the world is only too happy to bend to the strong-willed billionaire. Ruthless, cold, and selfish, Nero wants for nothing and takes care of no one but himself. His last handful of assistants have left his house in tears, but the prim redhead applying for the job looks up to the task. Nero has spent his life shut within the walls he built, with no care to have more than a window to the outside world. But the fiery passion he senses beneath his reserved assistant’s exterior makes him want to break down the barriers he lives behind, and unleash the beast within.

Phoebe Taylor: Uptight. Misunderstood. Engaged.

Phoebe needs the obscene amount of money that comes with being Nero’s personal assistant for one thing, and one thing only—to pay for the mounting hospital costs that her fiancee’s two-year coma continues to incur. She’s heard rumors that the de Santis beast is a force that cannot be tamed—but even she isn’t prepared to handle the smoldering intensity simmering beneath his hard shell of feral dominance. Nero is hiding something, something he is fighting with every step he takes. Yet he can’t help but stake his claim on this woman who has shaken up his life, and Phoebe can’t believe this animal of a man is the one person to ever look into her eyes and see her soul. Nero wants to keep her. He wants to devour her. And Phoebe just might let him.

 

 

 

I can never resist a good version of Beauty and the Beast so I doubt there is much to explain about the plot of this book. What made this book a little differnt was that I actually really did not like our Beast and while reading I was wondering how the author would manage to change my mind.

Well suffice to say … I changed it and I actually had a little silent laught when I realized why the name Nero fits this Beast so well and why if felt so familar with the setting. Anybody here that grew up in the 1970’s /80’s ? Doese the name “Nero Wolf” ring a bell – hahahah … not going into this any deeper but if it rings a bell – you will understand when you read it 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

BLOG REVIEW : Lost in Time (The Fine Art of Deception #3) by Alyssa Richards

BLOG REVIEW : Lost in Time (The Fine Art of Deception #3) by Alyssa Richards

 
 

April 9, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Lost in Time

Author :           Alyssa Richards

Series :            The Fine Art of Deception #3

Release date :   November 28th 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Searching for the answers she needs, will Addie lose everything she has?Adeline “Addie” Montgomery is searching for the truth. As she and Blake travel back to 1922, she expects her nemesis Otto is behind a string of art forgeries. The only problem is that the villain has completely disappeared. Addie must now find Otto without blowing her cover to keep the past intact, as long as a lover from a past life doesn’t get in the way…Blake Greenwood wants nothing more than to catch Otto and return to the present with Addie, the love of his life. When his mother goes missing as well, he leaves Addie alone with his half-brother to save his family. As the future begins to change in unexpected ways, Blake and Addie begin to question everything. Can they find Otto and save their relationship before what they had disappears for good? Lost In Time is the third book in an absorbing series of paranormal romance time travel novels. If you like museum capers, psychic powers, and romance that’s both steamy and sweet, then you’ll love Alyssa Richards’ thrilling conclusion to the Fine Art of Deception Series. Buy Lost In Time to complete the enthralling journey today!

 

Review : Lost in Time (The Fine Art of Deception #3) by Alyssa Richards finally concludes the series with a “BANG”. Many series tend to drag themselves to their end when the author has exhausted all possible plotlines to early to fill the pages.

 

Then there are books like this … since the first pages from the first book the reader was pushed into a never ending twist and turn of events. The contemporary romance morphed into suspense, into mystery, into paranormal, into time travel.

 

There was never a dull moment and I regret that it comes to an end. But its best to get out while you are ahead and this story definitely is.

 

Each of the books seemed to have a focus on a certain genre and while for example the first book was mostly the mystery and the idea of suspense with a hint of paranormal – here in the third book I felt it was mostly the romance and the time travel.

 

I am not a fan of time travel – but the way it was used here – with the fact that the characters were already familiar to me – it worked for me. Including all plot twists and the way the relationship between Adeline and Blake developed it kept me engaged until the end.

 

I have to admit it was quite hard to get back into the swing of things because it has been more than 1,5 years since I read the first book. This really is a series that should be read back to back and now that all 3 parts are out – why not do it during your next holiday ?

 

I really loved all the characters and how all the different strings wove into a complete plot

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 2 3 42
error: Content is protected !!