4 STARS

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Dirty Pleasures (Dirty Billionaire #2) by Meghan March

Dirty Pleasures (Dirty Billionaire #2) by Meghan March

 

August 23, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Dirty Pleasures

 

 Meghan March

 

Dirty Billionaire #2

 

 December 29th 2015

 

 

 

 

 

I did it. I married a billionaire.My reasons are my own, but the last thing I expected was to feel owned.I may have taken vows, but I’m still determined to be me.Now his rules are taking over my world, but I’m not the kind of girl to just obey.There’s only one problem: I might actually be falling for him…I have no idea how this marriage is going to go, but holding onto a piece of myself while succumbing to his dirty pleasures is shaping up to be the ride of a lifetime.

 

Dirty Pleasures is the second book in The Dirty Billionaire Trilogy. Dirty Together, the conclusion of this filthy trilogy, will release on 1/12/2016.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Chasing Kade (Thrill of the Chase, #1) by Anna Paige

Chasing Kade (Thrill of the Chase, #1) by Anna Paige

 

August 24, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Chasing Kade

 

 Anna Paige

 

Thrill of the Chase

 

 Published 2017

 

 

 

 

 

There’s no such thing as too much fun…Wrong. Incredibly, immeasurably, categorically false.Try: It’s all fun and games until someone ends up in the tabloids. Again. Kade Edenfield was rock royalty. If every rock god in history gathered for dinner, his seat would be at the head of the table. He was that good. His band was elevated to a level few ever reached, and he was having the time of his life. Until one misstep too many landed him on the front page of every gossip rag around the globe, and the band’s label decided to saddle them with a PR priss whose sole mission in life was to suck the fun right out of his. He wanted her gone. Until he realized he just plain wanted her. Aubrey Taylor didn’t ask to be assigned to babysit a band full of troublemakers, but she wasn’t given a choice. Wanted or not, she intended to fix the mess they’d made. She’d do it quickly, efficiently, and then she’d get the hell out of there. Unfortunately, after meeting their openly hostile singer—the one with the notoriously menacing stare—it was clear she was in over her head. When Kade made a point to challenge her at every turn, unafraid of using intimidation to get her to back down, she found herself in even deeper trouble.While she ‘officially’ resented and feared him, their power struggle secretly turned her on.She desperately wanted to win their little standoff, but what was she supposed to do when she realized she wanted him even more?

 

 

 

 

 

I just finished reading Chasing Kade by Anna Paige which is the first book in the “Thrill of the Chase” series and also my first book by this author.

 

It can be read as a standalone – but you will soon notice that there have to be other books by this author as there are characters crossing your path that you will want to know more about and those are from the “Broken” series. So in case you planned on reading that series you should do so before reading this book or it will spoiler you their ending – obviously.

 

Well where do I start with this book. Maybe with my thought that this could have been a 5 star read if the ending had not been the way it was. I will not go into detail but for all the build up in the book I expected an equal loud blow up in the end and I felt that this was not “loud” enough – If I may describe it in a non spoilering way.

 

I liked several things about this book but the problem is all of them would be to detailed to be mentioned without spoilers, but I will try.

 

So there is the reason why “the warden” #chuckling was brought in … I liked that the facts were quiet obvious for the reader from beginning on.

 

And then there was the kind of “banter” that went on between the leads … it is so different from what I was used to and it was well… HOT

 

Then there was this chapter where something that happened between Aubrey, Kade and “someone” and I never read anything like it so far. And if you had asked my yesterday I would have told you I have no interest in ever reading something like that but … here – in this story and with these persons it was special and reading it felt right …. I admit I liked it a lot.

 

So I learned that my answer to a situation like this from now on will not be NO WAY but simply “With the right person and in the right moment – anything is possible” #yeah I see a lot of people scratching their heads at my cryptic comments – sorry

 

The dynamics in the complete group of characters in this group felt real and believable. I liked the personalities that were given to the group and I am really looking forward to reading more about the other members as my interest was peaked many times by actions or comments.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Start Over: A Novel (Start Again Series #2) by J. Saman

Start Over: A Novel (Start Again Series #2) by J. Saman

 
 

July 23, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Start Over: A Novel

 

 

 

J. Saman

 

 

 

Start Again Series #2

 

 

 

2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like to play by the rules. But when I get coaxed into crashing a party, I run into the last man I ever thought I’d see again, my one and only one-night stand, Luke Walker. It’s been ten years since we’ve seen each other, but our chemistry is just as palpable as it was that night so long ago. Only problem is, I’m leaving in one month for a pediatric fellowship across the country.

I like to keep everything close to my chest. But when I see Ivy Green again, the woman I was never able to get out of my mind, I want her. It doesn’t matter that my dark past and dangerous present mean I can’t keep her. That my secrets would destroy any shot at a real future. After all, she’s leaving in a month. What’s the worst that could happen?

Warning: strong language and moderate sexual content

 

 

 

 

 

There was a lot that surprised me about this book and one thing I could not get over. Let’s start with the obvious thing that is no secret from the blurb. Its the one thing I could not get over – that was the instant attraction that sparked between the leads.

 

It bugged me – the author placed so much feelings into this novel that this instant attraction did not fit into the plot somehow.  It might have if it had been introduced differently but the way it was done did not work that well with me, which is why it ended at 4 stars in my rating . 

 

After I was struggeling with this instant elements I was surprised by the depth of development that followed. There were a ton of struggles for the leads in general.  And the baggage Luke carries is not easy to swallow that is for sure.

 

Yet both characters get a second chance and they will make use of that chance, it will not be without hurt and they will need to work their way to a mess of their own creation as well as a mess that is out of their hands.

 

Some revelations will shock you – well at least they shocked me – others are to be expected when you follow the plot.

 

There were moments when I wished for a little more background on what was happening and why but for the most part the story is well developed and written.

 

Therefore I can definitely recommend this book for lovers of second chances that do not hesitate to stick to their leads even if the road gets rough 

 

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Scars and Tats by Kristi Pelton

Scars and Tats by Kristi Pelton

 
 

July 27, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Scars and Tats

 

 

 

 

Kristi Pelton

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

February 21st 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Scars are tattoos with better stories…

 

A scarred, lonely woman

A curious little boy

One uninvited, tattooed guest

A nasty blizzard

One cabin

Two guns

A set of handcuffs

 

What could possibly go wrong? Mela McKinley fled with her infant son and disappeared four years ago trying to heal the awful scars inside and out. Taking refuge in the mountains of Colorado, not one person had come near their secluded doorstep… though she was prepared for a fight. In the middle of a historic blizzard, little Beck points out the window to a figure approaching in the snow. After hiding Beck…and fully armed, Mela confronts Jackson Winslow and has zero reservations about shooting him, if necessary. Ultimately, saving him from the forces of nature, she takes the uninvited stranger prisoner in her home holding the upper hand. While cautiously tending to him, she realizes how much she has missed a man—though this scarred and tattooed man is not who he seems. Once he has invaded her thoughts in a delicious way, her guard is down and suddenly, the tables are turned and now…it’s his turn. What she doesn’t know is who he really is and what he brings to her doorstep.

 

 

 

 

 

The young mother that is on the run with a baby. Hiding out in the wildness for years. Until that one day that a stranger appears at her doorstep.

 

To be very honest – this story is not a new concept and I am pretty sure I at least saw one movie with that same subject.

 

So I think it is fair to say that there are probably even more books out there featuring the same idea. So what makes this book stand out in what is probably a sea of similar ideas ? It is the enganging writing style of the author .

 

´Scars and Tats by Kristi Pelton is well written and even if I was not conviced at first this book still managed to draw me in after a few chapters and kept me engaged until the End.

 

While it might not have been the most surprising story it was well developed and its characters were deep enough so the reader could relate to them. I would therefore like to recommend this book to you if you like good solid romance with suspense. 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Hinged (Soul Mate Rescued #2) by Char Sharp

Hinged (Soul Mate Rescued #2) by Char Sharp

 

August 25, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Hinged

 

 Char Sharp

 

Soul Mate Rescued #2

 

 March 14th, 2017

 

 

 

 

 

She can’t remember him.He’ll never forget her.When Robin Finch is abducted and tortured by an evil cybercriminal, her salvation comes in an unlikely hero, Dr. Ramsey Gunn, trauma surgeon and computer genius. Developing amnesia after enduring her captor’s sadistic torture, Robin has no memory of her previous life. Dr. Gunn rescues Robin away from their captor and goes off the grid to keep her safe for years. But Dr. Ram Gunn may not be the savior he claims to be.Upon his return from a mission, Navy SEAL Cooper Baron discovers his fiancée missing and presumed dead. Not believing she’s dead and hell-bent on discovering the truth about Robin’s disappearance, he will stop at nothing until she is back in his arms. Through the long years, searching for her in every woman’s face, he’s determined to locate the woman who haunts him. But finding Robin may put her in more danger than she’s ever faced before. Can Cooper’s love help her restore her memories without forcing her to confront the horrific reality of her abduction?Once the reality is known, can their love survive the truth?

 

 

 

 

 

Hinged by Char Sharp leaves me with a lot of mixed emotions. It is the second book in the “Soul Mate Rescued” and I have to admit I did not read the first book and this is also my first book by this author.

 

When I considered reading this book I was already having mixed feelings. The first time I read the Blurb I thought – that sounds good – then I started overthinking it and decided against it – only to come across it again thinking “OK lets do it before I overthink this again”.

 

The reason ? Obvious I have triggers when it comes to certain plots and “the other man” is one of them. I was not sure where this plot would lead me and that left me open for doubts.

 

Well my” as little as possible spoiler” policy does not allow me to elaborate but I can tell you that in the end it was not those doubts that left me with mixed emotions. It was more the way the storyline was pursued.

 

The author really has a great plot here at her hands but it felt to me like there were moments when she could have savored certain strings more. Because this story should have as much romance as there is suspense and with a plot like that certain things need to be made the most of.

 

There is more in here much more and especially in the beginning the romance part felt more “clinical” to me. I could not feel Cooper being in love I only HEARD that he was and Robins’ amnesia was … (not sure how to say something without saying something)

 

The suspense however is something the author really managed to transfer to the reader, the writing is well developed and well constructed.

 

I am pretty sure someone will be screaming at me but throughout the whole book something must have gone wrong with my attention span because my favorite character is Ram…

 

He was the most developed person in the book to me. For the sake of the storyline I am not about to disclose if he was the good, the bad or something in-between but I would like to hear more about him.

 

Not sure what the first book in the series was about, if Cooper appeared in there and if the reader would know more about him by reading that book. As it was I was thrown into a situation where I could not feel the love that Cooper was supposed to be feeling for Robin, it felt more like the SEAL that was trying to solve a problem.

 

Again I need to say that the author has a really good plotline at her hands but for my taste it is a little too much suspense and I would have loved to feel more of the romance.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Changing Lanes by Leaona Luxx

Changing Lanes by Leaona Luxx

 
 

July 29, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Changing Lanes

 

 

 

  Leaona Luxx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 January 20th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 CHANGE…It’s change and how well you handle it which defines a person.Three times in my life, I have been faced with such changes. Once when I was fourteen. Again, at eighteen. And now again at twenty-eight. Twice, she was there.Ten years ago, I gave up everything, including her. At the time, it was the right thing to do, for both our sakes. Walking away from her isn’t what I wanted, it’s what had to be done.Now, she’s here. People like me don’t always get second chances, this happens to be mine. That’s if she’ll have me. If she’ll accept why I left and the fact, she’ll always be second.You see, I have a secret. It could change everything when she learns the truth. She may be the one walking away this time.We’re about to find out.

 

 

 

 

 

Changing Lanes by Leaona Luxx is the first book by this author that I read and I have to admit that it was an intense journey.

 

At first I expected this to be a second chance small town novel but I am happy that I was wrong and this story turned out to be so much more than that. It was not only well written and well developed no – it had even small suspense elements and it was so complex that the reader was taken on the journey together with the characters.

 

These characters were intense and I liked or disliked them as the author intended (I think) and there is really only one characters development that I disagree with and that is “THE” father.

 

I hope that it is no spoiler because I try to keep it as vague as possible while still telling my thoughts. So this father I am talking about is unfortunately not believable as character to me due to events happening towards the end of the book which kind of disturbed the flow for me as his role is an important one.

 

But other than that this is really an author to pay attention to and I am sure I will pick up another book when I come across one.

 

Therefore I would like to recommend this book to lovers of second chances.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Silenced by Leddy Harper

Silenced by Leddy Harper

 
 

July 28, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Silenced

 

 

 

 Leddy Harper

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 February 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Haunted by a photographic memory, I couldn’t escape the worst night of my life.

 

The blood they shed.

The pain they endured.

The evil that still walked free.

It was all I saw.

 

Those memories, my childhood—the images.

Silenced and scarred.

But nothing lasts forever.

Torment turned to blinding rage.

Hate sought revenge, which pursued death.

 

Then there was life.

The moon.

Rylee Anderson.

I had to choose…

 

 

 

 

 

  Leddy Harper is an Author that will not write in a certain way just to please readers. No that is not the way she works, she will not write what we expect but she will write what her characters need.

 

And sometimes that will make a journey uncomfortable for a while, when a story does not develop in a way you expect or want. But in the End you will notice that all that happens during here stories is necessary for her characters to get where they need to be in the end.

 

Her newest book “Silenced” is no exception to that rule. Reading it was not my first rodeo with this author so I knew what to expect of her writing style . What I did not know – and what you will never know with her in advance – is where her story will take you.

 

Yes I admit that I did not like everything that happened in this book, but honestly for this authors stories that is not necessary. This book is a love story, a story of second chances, a journey to find out who you are.

 

If you ask me I would recommend to simply follow the people that already read this book in their journey 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Fear Me (Broken Love #1) by B.B. Reid

Fear Me (Broken Love #1) by B.B. Reid

 
 

August 1, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fear Me

 

 

 

B.B. Reid

 

 

 

Broken Love #1

 

 

 

January 26th 2015

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t believe in fairy tales and Prince Charming.I believe in fear.He taught me how to be afraid.We first met on a playground on a wonderful summer day. It was the first time he hurt me and it wouldn’t be the last. For ten years, he’s been my tormentor and I’ve been his forbidden. But then he went away, and yet I was still afraid.Now he’s back and wants more than just my tears. You see…he thinks I sent him away so now he wants revenge…and he knows just how to get it.Warning: Fear Me contains sensitive themes.

 

 

 

 

 

 I am not sure what to think about this story and I am honestly kind of scared to read the second book of this series. But it is the kind of scared that you feel in that horror movie.

 

You know the one where you hide behind a pillow but still can’t help yourself and you will peek from behind that pillow to the screen. You will watch that movie even if you are terrified, just because you can not stop yourself. Yeah that is this book, you just can not stop yourself.

 

I have honestly know idea where this is going. I am not even sure this is a romance … I just know that this is one of the most complex storylines that I read this year so far and that it has been a long time since I came across something like this.

 

Oh and in case you wonder why not 5 stars, well I really love the storyline’s complexity but I don’t love the storyline…

 

#confused much ? well read the book.  

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Don’t Speak (A Modern Fairytale) by Katy Regnery

Don’t Speak (A Modern Fairytale) by Katy Regnery

 
 

August 3, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Don’t Speak

 

 

 

Katy Regnery

 

 

 

A Modern Fairytale

 

 

 

February 27th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From New York Times bestseller Katy Regnery comes a new twist on a beloved fairytale.A fisherman’s daughter.The governor’s son.Two very different worlds.In this modern retelling of The Little Mermaid, a fisherman’s daughter from an Outer Banks island untouched by time, meets the son of North Carolina’s governor at a fancy party where she’s working.Laire, who wants so much more from life than her little island can offer, is swept away by wealthy, sophisticated Erik, who is, in turn, entranced by her naiveté and charm. The two spend a whirlwind summer together that ends on the knife-point of heartbreak and forces them to go their separate ways.Years later, when fate leads them back to one another, they will discover the terrifying depth of the secrets they kept from each other, and learn that shattered hearts can only be healed by a love that willfully refuses to die.All novels Katy Regnery’s ~a modern fairytale~ collection are written as fundraisers. 10% of the e-book sales for in March and April 2017 will be donated to P.E.O. International, a non-profit organization that celebrates the advancement of women, awards scholarships and grants, and provides motivation for women to make their dreams come true.

 

**Contemporary Romance. Due to profanity, adult themes and very strong sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.**

 

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ Don’t Speak is part of the ~a modern fairytale~ collection, which includes six standalone, completely unrelated novels inspired by beloved fairy tales:

The Vixen and the Vet (Beauty & the Beast) – available now

Never Let You Go (Hansel & Gretel) – available now

Ginger’s Heart (Little Red Riding Hood) – available now

Dark Sexy Knight (Camelot) – available now

Don’t Speak (The Little Mermaid) – available soon

Swan Song (The Ugly Duckling) – available late-2017

 

 

 

 

 

Katy Regnery uses her words like weapons even when she re-tells you her version of a fairytale. I think there is no question about the writing style of this author, at least there shouldn’t be one.

 

In her latest novel Ms. Regnery again uses the power of her pen to take the reader away into another reality. This time it is a sort of second chance novel. The story of two young people that come from different worlds and are basically doomed from the start.

 

I know it – they know it and even you will know it after reading just the first pages.

 

It is so simple it has been told a million times before yet when it is told with such powerful words the experience of reading it feels new.

 

I had a slight problem with the reference to “The little Mermaid” tale as I could not fully connect to this comparison due the developments in the story. I get the idea and in the beginning the comparison might have worked, yet later during the developments of the story it distanced itself to much to be still related to that fairytale.

 

Nevertheless it is a beautiful and strong story that is a great read on a cold day in front of an open fire

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Remingtons: Mended by Love by Stacy Eaton

The Remingtons: Mended by Love by Stacy Eaton

 

August 26, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 The Remingtons: Mended by Love

 

 Stacy Eaton

 

 

 

 December 4th 2016 

 

 

 

 

 

 Josey Napier had given up on love after a longtime crush told her he loved her like a sister. Intent on staying busy at work as a surgical nurse to suppress the pain, Josey is shocked when she recognizes Tucker Wheatcraft, the police officer who saved a friend’s child from drowning, on her operating room table—fighting for his own life. Four months after pulling a young boy from the freezing water while off duty, Tucker is struck by a car and shot. When he wakes up and finds the woman he’s had his eye on standing vigil over him, he’s thankful to be alive, but after weeks of therapy, Tucker still isn’t getting the feeling back in his legs, and the mind games are starting to wreak havoc with him. Can he ever be the kind of man that Josey deserves?

 

Mended by Love is Stacy Eaton’s third Remington Kindle Worlds Romance. Cured by Love is a full length novel that was published in 2015 and Revived by Love is a novella published in early 2016.

 

 

 

 

 

A few days ago the plot of “Mended by Love” from Stacy Eaton captured my attention and I thought I should give this book a try as soon as my busy blog schedule allows.

 

Turns out it was sooner than expected because another book was late. I was not sure what to expect when it came to the writing style of this author as this is my first book from her.

 

Even if you like a Plot and the story is really well developed that still does not mean that you are going to like the writing style. So I was pleased to find out that she has a steady and well developed style, so just the way I like it. Knowing it was the third book in a series I was careful when starting it because I was unsure if it would work out as a standalone.

 

But I am happy to report that it can easily be read as just that, the only thing you will have to live with is that you will inevitably spoiler the ending of the first books to you – obviously.

 

I still have the first two books here to read and I will do so soon, but I was just to curious about this one to start in the right order.

 

We meet our characters right when the female lead is in the middle of her busy work and the male leads world suddenly comes to a full stop. I liked the playful dialogues that got better and better during their developing relationship.

 

And I really REALLY liked the way the author did not shy away from subjects relating to Tucker’s injuries, things that are often neglected in other novels. And believe me I read a bunch of novels around these subjects.

 

This honest writing style made the story feel more real to me. During the progress of the storyline I could easy follow the train of thoughts the leading characters had until a certain point near the end.

 

Here I would have wished for the story to be a wee bit more slow and less jumpy, because until then the pace had been steady, but here I felt a little like the characters were deprived of their great finale.

 

Therefore I was unfortunately not able to give the full set of stars but only 4 (but to be honest getting the 5 stars is really not that easy with me as I have a very strict rule that includes “No crying, laughing or other strong emotions during reading = NO 5 Stars)

 

Mended by love is a solid romance that I can only recommend if you thing this Blurb appeals to you.  

 

 

Reviewed by

 

  

1 2 3 35
error: Content is protected !!