3 STARS

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Guardian’s Hope (Guardians of the Race #2) by Jacqueline Rhoades

 

 

Guardian's Hope (Guardians of the Race, #2)

  

Guardian’s Hope
Guardians of the Race #2
Jacqueline Rhoades
April 7th 2013

 

Hope Parsons has heard about the evil of demons since she was a child in the little isolated community where she grew up. Demons were part of the outside world; demon sex, demon drink, demon music, demon woman. According to her father, her mother had a demon in her, too.

This is Hope’s world until she finds a box her mother hid years ago and the remnant of a letter her runaway sister wrote begging for help. These finds are the impetus she needs to embark on a journey out into the world and the city where she hopes to find her sister and learn more about her mother’s legacy. Once there, she learns her father was wrong about most of the evils of the outside world. Unfortunately, he was right about one; living, breathing demons are real.

Nico ad Nimeni, with his dark charm and magazine cover good looks, is a recent addition to Canaan ad Simeon’s House of Guardians. As a Guardian of the Race, it’s his job to protect his people, the Paenitentia, along with humankind from the demons who cross over from the Otherworld, but Nico knows there are demons other than those that stalk the night preying on the fear and flesh of humankind. Nico’s personal demons are the ones that plague a man’s soul and insist he stand apart.

When circumstances bring Hope to the House, she finds a place where everything she was taught about good and evil is turned upside down. In this world of witches and demons, vampires and Paenitentia, she learns that things are not always what they seem and that a shy, self-conscious country girl can be beautiful and find love in the arms of a suave sophisticate.

Join Hope and Nico as they search for her missing sister and discover in each other the healing power of love.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Guardian’s Joy (Guardians of the Race #3) by Jacqueline Rhoades

 

 

Guardian's Joy (Guardians of the Race, #3)

  

 Guardian’s Joy
Guardians of the Race #3
Jacqueline Rhoades
 March 10th 2015

 

Running from an unknown past… JJ Justice has spent her adulthood lost and alone and vulnerable to the haunting of a past she can’t remember. It’s no wonder she feels different from other people and not surprising that she chose the police force as a way of standing up for others who are defenseless against the evils of the world, but when her only friend and partner is brutally murdered by a creature not of this world, JJ discovers a greater purpose. She is called to hunt the monsters only she can see. Once again, she resigns herself to living her life alone, because the one thing she knows for sure is that letting people in only causes pain. Guardian of the Race, Bernardo ad Tormeo, longs for a woman of his own, one that’s as fun loving and loyal as his Liege Lord’s Lady, Grace, and as soft and gentle as his fellow Guardian’s mate, Hope, but the chances of meeting such a woman seem slim to none. What with the nightly patrols and his gaming business, he hasn’t the time to go searching for love. Nardo is sworn to protect his people and their human cousins from the demons who cross over from the Otherworld. He never thought he would be hunting a vampire; just like he never thought of falling in love with a leather clad ex-cop who can kick demon butt with the best of them. How do you romance a woman who thinks more of knives than roses? How do you help her fight the demons of her soul when she can’t remember who they are? Nardo doesn’t know, but he’s determined to find out. He only hopes he and his new love can find the answers before a monster from Joy’s past takes away the only woman he will ever love.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Before I Fall (Falling #1) by Jessica Scott

 

 

Before I Fall (Falling, #1)

  

Before I Fall
Falling #1
Jessica Scott
 March 10th 2015

 

Stay focused. Get a job. Save her father’s life.

Beth Lamont knows far too much about the harsh realities of life her gilded classmates have only read about in class. She’ll do whatever it takes to take care of her father, even if that means tutoring a guy like Noah – a guy who represents everything she hates about the war, soldiers and what the Army has done to her family.

Noah Warren doesn’t know how to be a student. All he knows is war. But he’s going to college now to fulfill a promise and he doesn’t break his promises. Except he doesn’t count on his tutor being drop dead gorgeous and distracting as hell. One look at Beth threatens to unravel the careful lies Noah has constructed around him.

A simple arrangement turns into something neither of them can deny. And a war that neither of them can forget could destroy them both.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Dare (In Safe Hands #2) by S.M. Shade

 

 

Dare (In Safe Hands, #2)

  

Dare
 In Safe Hands #2
  S.M. Shade
October 21st 2016

 

Ayda

I hear him.
His deep voice and rumbling laugh. The bang of the headboard slamming the wall and fake screams from yet another woman. Derek is a pile of muscle and ink, a bad boy fantasy only a few layers of wood and plaster away. It’s all I expect or want him to be.
Until that irresistible voice begins talking to me.

Dare

I hear her.
The clicking of her fingers on a keyboard, her music or TV playing in the background. Her musical laugh and soft cries of pleasure, accompanied by a low, steady buzz. Ayda is a good girl who keeps to herself, and I have no business pursuing her, but I’m not a man known for doing the right thing.
I’m an ex-con. I’m a criminal.
And I want her.

This is book two in the In Safe Hands Series and can be read as a standalone.
Please disregard page number count during pre-order period. This will be a full length 60,000+ word novel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Justus (In Safe Hands #3) by S.M. Shade

 

 

Justus (In Safe Hands, #3)

  

Justus
 In Safe Hands #3
  S.M. Shade
 March 10th 2017

 

Justus

I’m not conceited.
Really, I’m not. It just so happens I have a body a Greek God would be jealous of, and a face that could make an angel weep. Other than that, I’m just your everyday normal guy who happens to take his clothes off for money. Sure, I’ve had to dispose of a few guys for In Safe Hands, the organization I work with that helps track predators and child molesters, but other than that, completely normal.
Women flock to me, screaming and paying for the right to touch me, so why is this woman so stubborn? Sadie Belmont’s curvy body and sharp tongue have haunted me since I met her a year ago. There’s something about her that gets stuck in my head like a bad song, and I’m determined to find out why I want her so badly, and why she can’t stomach the thought.

Sadie

I can’t believe I’m doing this. Of all the men in the world, I’m taking Justus Alexander to my childhood home in Oklahoma to meet my mother. A stripper who has a revolving door of women jumping in and out of his bed. Nine months ago when I lied to my mother and told her I had a steady boyfriend, I didn’t expect it to come to this. She doesn’t have long to live, and her only wish is to know I have a husband before she goes.
I can’t disappoint her, and male escorts cost way more than I can afford, so when Justus volunteered, I took him up on his offer. I know what he wants. After annoying me with constant pick up lines for a year, he sees an opportunity to get me in bed. It’s not going to happen. I just need to get through this week with my sanity intact.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Jeremy (In Safe Hands #5) by S.M. Shade

 

 

Jeremy (In Safe Hands #5)

  

Jeremy
 In Safe Hands #5
  S.M. Shade
May 22nd 2018

 

This is the fifth and final book in the In Safe Hands Series. Book one is titled Landon, and is free.

Melissa

I escaped.
For the first time in almost four years, I’m free.
My freedom came at a steep cost, leaving me on my own with no family or friends. I have a lot of healing to do, and this beautiful lake house seems like a perfect setting to find myself again.
I can do this.
The only thing I have left is hope.

Jeremy

I ran.
For the first time in my life, I’m alone.
I failed to appreciate what I had until it was too late, and now I can’t bear the grief of my friends while suffering my own. That’s not the only reason I’ve relocated.
Twenty-two people were murdered, including the woman I love.
The only thing I have left is revenge.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Jeremy (In Safe Hands #5) by S.M. Shade

 

 

Jeremy (In Safe Hands #5)

  

Jeremy
 In Safe Hands #5
  S.M. Shade
May 22nd 2018

 

This is the fifth and final book in the In Safe Hands Series. Book one is titled Landon, and is free.

Melissa

I escaped.
For the first time in almost four years, I’m free.
My freedom came at a steep cost, leaving me on my own with no family or friends. I have a lot of healing to do, and this beautiful lake house seems like a perfect setting to find myself again.
I can do this.
The only thing I have left is hope.

Jeremy

I ran.
For the first time in my life, I’m alone.
I failed to appreciate what I had until it was too late, and now I can’t bear the grief of my friends while suffering my own. That’s not the only reason I’ve relocated.
Twenty-two people were murdered, including the woman I love.
The only thing I have left is revenge.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Inappropriate (Bristol Island #2) by Elizabeth Finn

 

 

Inappropriate (Bristol Island, #2)

  

 Inappropriate
 Bristol Island #2
  d #2) by Elizabeth Finn
February 22nd 2015

 

A New Standalone Bristol Island Tale.

Cohen is a man apart on Bristol Island—an outcast loved by all but separated by his position within the community. Dylan is the newest resident in town, but she arrives with a dark secret and a desire to keep it buried.

But when burning attraction is thrown into the mix, his job and her secrets are quickly forgotten—that is until one impetuous decision renders a relationship off-limits, unethical, and utterly inappropriate.

Living next door to one another on the island’s isolated peninsula guarantees their paths will cross time and time again. With fate tempting Cohen to ignore his conscience and, for the first time in his life, gamble with the rules, will he risk everything for Dylan?

And what happens when Dylan’s past suddenly catches up to her? Will she find the strength to bare her soul to him? Or will she let her secrets take them both down?

Sometimes the inappropriate relationship is the most appropriate of them all.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Blog Tour – Royally Bitten by Lexi C Foss

 

ROYALLY BITTEN, the second book in the Blood Alliance Series, by USA Today Bestselling author Lexi C. Foss. ROYALLY BITTEN is out now and FREE in Kindle Unlimited

 

Title: ROYALLY BITTEN
Series: Blood Alliance Series
Author: Lexi C. Foss
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Release: January 31

About ROYALLY BITTEN

ROYALLY BITTEN Synopsis:

Once upon a time, humankind ruled the world while lycans and vampires lived in secret.
This is no longer that time.

Rae

Blood Day–the culmination of my training. The day I find out my fate.
I will not cry. I will not beg. I will remain calm.
Emotions are for the weak, and I am not weak.
My name is Rae and I will survive this.
But I never expected him to call my name…

Kylan

Someone wants to frame me for immortal insanity? Be my guest, darling.
I’ll just pick a fighter as my bait, a consort with a hint of defiance.
And when the culprit attempts to bite, I’ll be the one who bites back.
Because no one touches what’s mine, including the fiery redhead at my side.

Welcome to Kylan City.
I dare you all to come out and play.

Read Now FREE in Kindle Unlimited

Amazon

Enter the Giveaway

Win a signed Paperback of Royally Bitten and a $10 Amazon Gift Card

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Lexi C. Foss

 

 

Lexi C. Foss is an award winning and bestselling author of paranormal romance. She loves complex plots, twists and turns, and writing fantasy with strong, realistic elements. Many of her readers comment on how her worlds feel real, and she not-so-secretly wishes they were—at least some of them.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads | Bookbub

 

 

 

 

This is one of these books were I just don’t know how to rate it. There were times were I wanted to quit because it was annoying me but also times where I was really liking it. Basically I am on the fence.

After humans lost the war and failed miserably to be top dog the Blood Alliance was born. Where humans are no more than cattle where they are divided into factions. Where vampires and the lycans rule with terror, manipulation, indoctrination where your choices are being a slave or death. Where blood virgins are coveted, and blood day is a memorable day for all.

Characters & Chemistry

Kylan is one of the oldest vampires, he is vampire royalty but rumour has it that he is going insane as he killed his harem. He has his own region and he is known for his cruelty, sadistic and violent but he is not insane. Someone is trying to frame him.

What can I say about Kylan? I hated him at times and at other times I barely tolerated him but occasionally he did something good and I liked him kind of. We get a glimpse of his true nature and he is loyal, he treats his personnel and servants.

Rae has been at the university her whole life to train for the immortal cup and to be twelve who win immortal status. But there is a culling of all and well Rae is chosen for a harem which she despises.

Rae was strong at the beginning but somewhere along the lines she became very dependent on Kylan and I didn’t like that. She still had spirit but at times it was irritating that as a character she wasn’t what I wanted her to be.

I liked her but I don’t know she was so strong and defiant at the beginning that I missed that person at the end of the book.

There was too much sex here and I can’t believe I just said that but there was it took for me too much away from the plot. There is some sharing but that was the way of the world that the author has built. I found that to be quite disappointing.

Writing, Plot & Pace

The writing is good here and the author knows how to captivate you and write something truly unique. The author toned down on the repetitiveness here in this book which for me made it more enjoyable.

As I said the author has created a unique world. The vampire world isn’t really my thing I have always preferred shifters but this somehow worked for me. The plot of wanting the world to go back to the way it was or that all species can co-exist where humans once again have rights intrigues me very much.

The pace could have been better it ebbed too much for me and didn’t flow that well. There was a lot of push and pull and too much sex that also broke up the plot in places.

The Verdict

I really enjoy this series as it is unique. It does push me out of my comfort zone and to be honest I don’t really know why. It’s a dark and twisted world and I really enjoyed it.

 

 

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Fate Undone (The Mythean Arcana #5) by Linsey Hall

 

 

Fate Undone (The Mythean Arcana #5)

  

Fate Undone 
 The Mythean Arcana #5 
 Linsey Hall
 May 28th 2015

 

“Linsey Hall’s brilliantly imaginative Mythean Arcana is THE must-read series of the year for fans of paranormal romance.” – Maggie Shayne, NY Times Bestselling Author of TWILIGHT GUARDIANS

A god in disguise
No one in the Prison for Magical Deviants knows that prisoner Logan Laufeyson has secret identity. He is the ancient trickster god Loki, in magical disguise on a mission of his own. A mission that will come to a sudden and disastrous end…

The woman he’s never forgotten
Demi-goddess Sylvi has spent eight hundred years trying to forget her long-ago affair with Loki, which destroyed her dreams and got her banished from her home. When Loki escapes from prison and stumbles through her door with a problem that threatens both their lives, she must set aside her anger while trying to resist a passion she’s never forgotten. The fact that her magic can be enhanced by sex makes ignoring Loki even harder—especially when they must utilize her rare talent.

A threat of ultimate evil
Thrown together, Loki and Sylvi must foil a masterful plot that threatens not only their lives, but every god in existence. It will take all of their power, and all of their long-buried love, to face the ultimate danger – or vanish and be forgotten forever…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 35
error: Content is protected !!