3 STARS

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : A Thousand Reasons by Mariah Dietz

 

 

A Thousand Reasons

  

A Thousand Reasons
  Mariah Dietz
 June 21st 2018

 

My life is like a coin.
There are two sides.

On one side, I am Leela Walsh: daughter, sister, employee at three minimum-wage jobs.
I cook. Do laundry. Contribute to the debt my family is sinking in.

On the second side, I am Leela Walsh: Straight-A student, top graduate of my class, med student.
No one knows of my brother’s sordid past. My sister’s poor decisions. Or that I’m the first in my family to graduate high school.

The balance between these two sides is nearly impossible to maintain. And it only becomes more difficult when I meet Wes McCleary.

He’s never had a job. Never wanted for anything.
And now, he wants me.

There are a thousand reasons we shouldn’t be together, and just one that keeps bringing us together.

Will that one reason be enough?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Special Forces: Operation Alpha: Protecting Us (Special Forces: Operation Alpha #12) by Magan Vernon

Special Forces: Operation Alpha: Protecting Us (Special Forces: Operation Alpha #12) by Magan Vernon

 
 

September 17, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Special Forces: Operation Alpha: Protecting Us 

Author :           Magan Vernon

Series :            Special Forces: Operation Alpha #12

Release date :   July 19th 2016

Rating :           3 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Calder “Doc” Thompson spent his whole life preparing to be an Undersea Medical Officer for the United States Navy. When an IED took out both of his legs, he was left with a pair of prosthetics and a job he hated at the local university Student Health Services. Ready to drown it all, he headed to Ace’s Bar and Grill where he met Maya Halliwell, the beautiful new bartender with a secret. A secret that has kept her away from the water for the last four years. Until she watches Calder step into the water and never come up. Now both of their lives are unraveling and the only way they’re able to stay afloat is if they protect each other.

 

Review : Adminting I had no Idea this would be turning out into a paranormal novel. I am not sure If I would have chosen to read it – had I known that fact before. Because eventhough I like paranormal – I do not read all kinds of paranormal and this would have been one of the kinds I do not read. 

 

I think this must have been the first time ever to combine such sensitve subjects like PTSD to … well a paranormal subject. And funny about that is – it actually worked. And while it was a short read and felt not really totally developed at times it was still enjoyable once I managed to read it with an raised eyebrow.

 

BUT because of the missing relationship devolpment / insta love and what felt like unfinsihed business in the end and that plus the (for me missing emotions) lead to the “only” 3 stars

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Visibly Broken by Chelsea Camaron, M.J. Fields

Visibly Broken by Chelsea Camaron, M.J. Fields

 
 

September 20, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Visibly Broken

Author :           Chelsea Camaron, MJ Fields

Series :            n/a

Release date :   20 Sep 2016

Rating :           3 Stars

 

 

Blurb : In a powerful, smoldering novel from the bestselling authors of the Caldwell Brothers series (“Bad boy heroes to die for!”—Tracy Wolff), two tortured souls team up to overcome the past, finding the courage to heal . . . and to love.Jason “Cobra” Stanley was born to fight. With a father like his, he had to toughen up just to survive. Now Cobra tries to take out all of his frustration, all of his anger, and all of his pain in the MMA cage. But after he receives one too many hits to the head during a match with Jagger Caldwell, the cycle of violence comes to a screeching halt. Cobra wakes up in the hospital, under the care of a nurse whose blond hair shines like a halo—and whose pure heart touches him on the deepest level.Lorraine Bosch is a fighter too. Having escaped from her own controlling father, she prides herself on remaining professional, despite the chaos of the ER. But Cobra is the ultimate distraction. Lorraine knows she should run away screaming from his rippling muscles and shattered psyche. And yet how can she deny this broken man a second chance—especially since she knows exactly what he’s been through? Lorraine’s used to playing guardian angel. Now it’s her turn to find heaven in Cobra’s arms.

 

Review : I just finished reading Visibly Broken by Chelsea Camaron, M.J. Fields a few days ago and I am still not sure how I feel about it.

 

The book is a well written novel about two people that are (from my point of view) already more than just “broken”.

 

“Cobra” is dealing with it more or less for anyone to see – using violence as his outlet. An underground fighter who’s family is basically destroying him bit by bit – day by day just by being there. But the other one I think is even worse, because

 

“angel” is basically living several life’s. A before and an after, her life and … another, the nurse and the ….(spoiler alert). And the downward spiral for her seems to go even faster than “cobras”

 

Can two broken – basically really broken beyond repair – people really save each other ?

 

During reading I often wonder where those two were ever going to find a common ground. Because the darkness within and around them just seemed to constantly pile up instead of getting less.

 

But I could not feel the buildup between them, for me the spark was missing. It felt more like it remained what it was from beginning on “his DREAM of an Angel with blond hair shining like a halo”

 

But judging from the other reviews I see I am the odd one out here so I think if you feel you like the blurb you should give it a try and then later please comment to me what you felt …

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR BOOKSHELF

REVIEW : Silent Threat (Mission Recovery #1) by Dana Marton

 

 

Silent Threat (Mission Recovery #1)

  

Silent Threat
Mission Recovery #1
Dana Marton
 January 2nd 2018

 

A former Navy SEAL, Cole Makani Hunter has returned home from a disastrous black ops mission without his best friend, his hearing, or the use of his right arm. So when his ex–commanding officer assigns him to an undercover mission at a rehab center for vets to discover who leaked sensitive military information to an enemy, he’d rather be anywhere but there. Almost immediately, Cole finds himself at odds with Annie Murray—a peace-loving ecotherapist whose dream is to open an animal sanctuary out of her home. While the two seemingly have nothing in common, their spirited arguments soon fuel a passion for each other.

But just as things begin to heat up between therapist and patient, dangerous complications arise. So does the past—and a shocking revelation that puts Cole and everything he now holds dear in the path of a murderous traitor.

 

 

 

I struggled to connect with these characters – the whole plot felt more like a version of Beauty and the Beast somehow and that was not what I expected when I started reading.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Our Chance (Chance Series #2) by Natasha Preston

Our Chance (Chance Series #2) by Natasha Preston

 

 
 

November 12, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Our Chance

Author :           Natasha Preston

Series :            Chance Series #2

Release date :   April 12th 2015

Rating :           3 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Nell Presley believes that no good can come from love. Her grandparents screwed it up, her parents screwed it up, so why would it be any different for her? She would rather keep it casual and protect herself.Damon Masters was happy with casual through university but his feelings for Nell develop and he now wants more.With the aid of Nell’s best friend, Chloe, Damon sets out to smash down the wall Nell’s built around her heart and show her that not all love is doomed to end in disaster. But is Nell be strong enough to let someone in or will Damon end up getting his heart crushed?

 

Review : If I am totally honest – I somehow could not relate to Nell at all. The first part of the book it felt strange how she was acting all against relationships, because she is not the first person in that position. Later after receiving more informations about her background I should have been able to relate better with her but it felt throughout the whole book that we got off on a bad start and unfortunately that did not change. 

 

Still this author has an enganging writing style and I am sure others will love the story and it is just me being the odd one out here … therefore I would still like to recommend this book to you.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Always For You: A Small Town Georgia Romance (Always Love #1) by Tawdra Kandle

Always For You: A Small Town Georgia Romance (Always Love #1) by Tawdra Kandle

November 19, 2016

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

Title :              Always For You: A Small Town Georgia Romance 

Author :           Tawdra Kandle

Series :            Always Love #1

Release date :   November 24th 2015

Rating :           3 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Come back to Burton! If you fell in love with this quirky Georgia town in THE ONE Trilogy, you’ll want to return for this trilogy and catch up with your favorite characters . . . Maureen Evans has had a crush on Smith Harrington since they were in college together. She always knew he didn’t see her as anything more than his best friend—just one of the guys—but that didn’t stop her from weaving sexy fantasies about him. Now, after years of maintaining a long-distance friendship, Smith’s moving to Burton, Georgia, Maureen’s hometown, to become her partner at the veterinary clinic. After all this time, she should be able to handle working with him without getting hot and bothered. Or maybe not. The more determined Maureen is to maintain their just-friends bond, the more Smith seems intent on testing those boundaries. And when flirting crosses the line into something more, it ends in a night neither of them can forget. When friendship is no longer enough, there’s always love.

 

Review : It seems my luck in blindly choosing a random book to read when I have time to read something besides my blog assignments is getting worse by the minute.

 

Most probably totally nothing is wrong with this book because obviously a lot of people read it and felt good about it.

 

And it seems that I have been repeating myself when saying “am I the odd one out here”.

 

But this story was just too sweet for me to nice to polished – so please if you like sweet romances go ahead you will probably love it but I actually cringed at how soft and fluffy everything felt … so sorry … but those are my thoughts

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Stoner & Spaz (Stoner & Spaz #1) by Ron Koertge

Stoner & Spaz (Stoner & Spaz #1) by Ron Koertge

 
 

November 18, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Stoner & Spaz

Author :           Ron Koertge

Series :            Stoner & Spaz #1

Release date :   January 5th 2004

Rating :           3 Stars

 

 

Blurb : For sixteen-year-old Ben Bancroft — a kid with cerebral palsy, no parents, and an overprotective grandmother — the closest thing to happiness is hunkering alone in the back of the Rialto Theatre and watching Bride of Frankenstein for the umpteenth time. The last person he wants to run into is drugged-up Colleen Minou, resplendent in ripped tights, neon miniskirt, and an impressive array of tattoos. But when Colleen climbs into the seat beside him and rests a woozy head on his shoulder, Ben has that unmistakable feeling that his life is about to change. With unsparing humor and a keen flair for dialogue, Ron Koertge captures the rare repartee between two lonely teenagers on opposite sides of the social divide. His smart, self-deprecating protagonist learns that kindred spirits may be found for the looking — and that the resolve to follow your passion can be strengthened by something as simple as a human touch.

 

Review : While I really like the plotline I had a really difficult time with the writing style of the author and therefore my rating is on the lower side. But I still would like to recommend the book to other readers as I feel it is just me being again the odd one out here

 

Give it a try and judge for yourself

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Awake by Natasha Preston

Awake by Natasha Preston

 
 

November 22, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Awake

Author :           Natasha Preston

Series :            n/a

Release date :   August 4th 2015

Rating :          3 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Scarlett Garner doesn’t remember anything before the age of four—but a car accident changes everything. She starts to remember pieces of a past that frighten her. A past her parents hid from her…and a secret that could get her killed.

 

Review : Never would I have expected the twists and turns of this novel. It fascinated me from beginning to end and the suspense towards the end made it a page-turner that I could hardly put down. Yep I know you are now looking at the star rating I gave and you are thinking … “I wonder if she made a mistake” when giving only 3 stars.

 

Sadly not – I really liked the plot, my problem was more the way it was written. A story with this much content and anticipation needs more feeling and that was what was missing for me.

 

I could not feel with the leading characters. There was so much happening and to me as a reader it was like a newspaper story … it did not involve me … and what might be alright in a newspaper story does not work for a novel. But still a good read …  

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Reckless by Teagan Kade

 

 

Reckless

  

Reckless
Teagan Kade
May 25th 2018

 

My mountain, my rules.
Until Federal Agent Edie Ness arrives and breaks every god-damned one of them.
She’s not some candy-ass local girl looking for a midnight booty call.
She doesn’t care the mountain’s named after my family, that the only thing bigger than my ego is my coc…
…compassion for animals.
With her perfect curves and sassy mouth she’s going to get herself killed going after these poacher bastards.
Unless I stand in their way.
Because I always protect what’s mine.
And she will be mine–screaming and moaning for every hard inch.
Claiming her isn’t going to be easy.
But I’m always up for a challenge.
Especially ones that bite back.

Rugged, untamed, Derick Halbbitter is as wild as the woods that surround him. Fall hard for the latest Devil in this thrilling, steamy, full-length standalone complete with happily-ever-after and no cliffhangers. Includes bonus content for a limited time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Blog Tour -FORTUNATE ENCOUNTERS by Caterina Passarelli

Today we have the blog tour for FORTUNATE ENCOUNTERS by Caterina Passarelli, a first in the new Signs Series!

Title: FORTUNATE ENCOUNTERS
Series: The Signs Series
Author: Caterina Passarelli
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release: September 20
Cover Designer: Najla Qamber Designs

About FORTUNATE ENCOUNTERS

Sitting at the wrong table turned my life upside down.

I was supposed to be on a date with one man but made a huge mistake—a mistake I keep bumping into all over New York City.

Clark Chambers is arrogant, straightforward, devastatingly handsome, and takes what he wants. And right now his sight is set on me.

But he only wants friends with benefits. And I’d rather eat dirt than agree to that.

After an “enough is enough” moment, I turn to the Universe for help & ask for a special sign.

And it’s just my luck … looks like rabbits & romance really do mix!

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA

Add to Goodreads

Enter the Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Caterina Passarelli

Former TV News Producer turned Romance author, Caterina Passarelli has always had a love for words. From real-life Detroit crime to fictional love stories around the globe, she hopes to take her readers on a fast-paced adventure.

Caterina is the author of five titles in multiple genres: Romantic Comedy, Contemporary Romance and Romantic Suspense.

When she’s not writing about alpha males and strong, sarcastic women, she is the CEO of an online fitness coaching company.

Caterina is the fur mom to her three-year-old rescue dog, Piper, who she spoils uncontrollably.

She loves hearing from her readers on her Facebook page!

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Amazon

 

 

A sweet, sexy and light read.

Juliette is a young single professional who is looking for love unfortunately her dates are subpar at best. On one of those said dates she sits down at the wrong table only realising that her real date is standing at the table she sat down at. After she begs off early from her date she can’t stop thinking about Clark.

Clark is sitting at table minding his own business and then a woman who isn’t usually his type sits down in front of him he is amused by all of this but with all of his amusement he can’t seem to forget her. He doesn’t have time for relationships he has a life plan that he is working on make as much money as possible and then have kids, his outlook on life is a bit skewed.

After their first encounter they keep on seeing one another all over the place. But Clark doesn’t want a relationship so offers friends with benefits. Juliette hasn’t really lived a lot so she agrees to the idea only at some point as always feelings always start to get involved. Which here is also the case.

I wasn’t convinced on the chemistry between these two and with all the push and pull I felt as if that spark was missing.

The author in her writing style is talented and she has created a fun and sexy read with no other woman drama.

I have to admit it’s been about a week since I finished this and I’m a bit fuzzy on the details. It has been a really busy week and well I guess it could speak for the book not being that memorable but in all honesty it is me.

 

1 2 3 23
error: Content is protected !!