3 STARS

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Beautiful Monster (Beautiful Monster #1) by Bella Forrest

 

 

Beautiful Monster

  

Beautiful Monster
Beautiful Monster #1
Bella Forrest
 May 13th 2013

 

Liam Swift is a young man Amy has always admired from afar. She’s seen his face a thousand times; on the screen and in magazines. He seems unstoppable as his talent and beauty send him hurtling toward becoming a Hollywood legend…

Until one day – in what appears to be a fit of madness – he stuns the world by throwing it all away. Not even the most persistent reporter can fathom the reason behind Liam’s decision.

Never in Amy’s wildest dreams could she have imagined this God of acting would go on to accept employment at her local boarding school. Or that he’d personally start teaching her drama lessons.

It seems life can’t get much better for Amy… until the sound of tortured weeping starts echoing through the thin walls of her dorm room each night, leading her to stumble upon a horrifying secret Liam had hoped to keep hidden forever.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

ATTIC REVIEW : Submission is Not Enough (Masters and Mercenaries #12) by Lexi Blake

ATTIC REVIEW : Submission is Not Enough (Masters and Mercenaries #12) by Lexi Blake

 
 

March 28, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Submission is Not Enough

Author :           Lexi Blake

Series :            Masters and Mercenaries #12

Release date :   October 25th 2016

Rating :           3 Stars

 

 

Blurb : A fallen hero rebornTheo Taggart lost everything the night he died. His family, his beautiful Erin, and worst of all, he lost himself. A twisted doctor brought him back from the brink of death, but reprogrammed his identity to serve her will. Rescued by his brothers, he must fight to reclaim the man he was and the life, and love, that were stolen from him.A love worth fighting forErin Argent thought she’d lost Theo forever. When he walked back into her life, it was nothing short of a miracle. Months of torture and conditioning at the hands of Dr. Hope McDonald have done damage to Theo that may never be mended. He has no memory of her or the life they shared. Breaking through to him, and helping him rediscover all he lost, will be the toughest mission she’s ever faced. Luckily for Theo, Erin loves a good fight.Their reunion under siegeUnfortunately, Hope is far from done with Theo Taggart. Obsession with her prize experiment, she will do anything to get him back. If the only way to finally break him of his past life is to kill Erin and his son, then she’s only too happy to oblige…

 

Review : I think it is a well written story but my attempt to read it as a standalone failed miserably …

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

ATTIC REVIEW : Shadow Game (GhostWalkers #1) by Christine Feehan

ATTIC REVIEW : Shadow Game (GhostWalkers #1) by Christine Feehan

 
 

March 30, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Shadow Game

Author :           Christine Feehan

Series :            GhostWalkers #1

Release date :   August 26th 2003

Rating :           3 Stars

 

 

Blurb : The classified experiment is the brainchild of renowned scientist Peter Whitney and his brilliant daughter, Lily. Created to enhance the psychic abilities of an elite squadron, it can transform their natural mental powers into a unique military weapon. But something goes wrong. In the isolated underground labs, the men have been dying-victims of bizarre accidents. Captain Ryland Miller knows he is next. When Dr. Whitney himself is murdered, Ryland has only one person left to trust: the beautiful Lily. Possessed of an uncanny sixth sense herself, Lily shares Ryland’s every new fear, every betrayal, every growing suspicion, and every passionate beat of the heart. Together, they will be drawn deeper into the labyrinth of her father’s past and closer to a secret that someone would kill to keep hidden.

 

Review : This is not my first Christine Feehan rodeo and I knew “what I was getting myself into” but yet I had to try as the blurb sounded so interesting. And it was but still I am only able to rate it with 3 stars maximum… why ? you ask ?

 

Simply because this author has a tendency to be so brilliant in creating an amazing surrounding that the plot and the characters get lost in that surrounding. I read several books from Ms. Feehan’s “Dark” series and I loved them because this trait of hers for being so perfect in creating a world just worked really well for that series. Here ? not so much….

 

There was so much focus on the surrounding that I even had a moment when I was rechecking the names of the characters because I forgot for a second. And then in the second half of the book we suddenly get all the names of the team and their traits thrown at us it felt like the author noticed he missed out on the introduction before.

It was too much …

 

When I choose to read this book I saw a review that said “if you found this book boring – please give at least the second book in that series a try” and I think I will but I am not sure when. Maybe it is the same experience I made with the “Dark brotherhood” … I was only able to get into it after I tried a second time.

 

Let’s see

 

reviewed by

 

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

ATTIC REVIEW : Dangerous Care by M.M. Cameron

ATTIC REVIEW : Dangerous Care by M.M. Cameron

 
 

April 8, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Dangerous Care 

Author :           M.M. Cameron

Series :            Dangerous Care Saga Book 1

Release date :   October 31st 2016

Rating :           3 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Kat Davis is headed into a storm. She has created the perfect professional life and reputation as a physiotherapist to the elite, but this is all threatened when she meets a new client, the dominating and mysterious Madoc Pearson. Suddenly and unwillingly thrown into his world of lies, espionage and danger, Kat struggles to find out who Madoc really is, unveiling not only his true identity but also the growing sexual tension between them. Kat’s destiny is soon inextricable intertwined with Madoc and his elite security team and their mission to protect the Prime Minister from a growing terrorist threat. Not only does the mission jeopardize Kat’s life, Madoc’s demanding and passionate presence threatens her career, reputation and ultimately her heart.

 

Review :

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Billionaire Bodyguard by Jill Snow

 

 

Billionaire Bodyguard: Clean Billionaire Romance (The Irish Billionaires, #1)

  

Billionaire Bodyguard
Jill Snow
February 21st 2018

 

A fast-paced, sweet billionaire romance with a few twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat..Emily Williams is on a mission to change the face of the gaming industry. She doesn’t have time for romance least of all with the new CEO of the worst offending gaming company. 
Conor Dunne is a man who needs no one. He’s far too busy taking over failing businesses and turning them around to feel lonely. He enjoys all the trappings of his billionaire lifestyle, or at least he did until recently. Now his days and nights seem longer. He needs a new challenge. Butting heads with his new rival provides the excitement he is missing.

Sparks fly when they meet at a fundraiser. It’s safe to say their lives and those of the people around them will never be the same again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : The Reluctant Billionaire (Island Escapes Book 2) by Caitlyn Lynch

 

 

The Reluctant Billionaire (Island Escapes Book 2)

  

The Reluctant Billionaire
 Island Escapes Book 2
 Caitlyn Lynch
 April 26th 2018

 

Sunfish Island Resort seems like the perfect place for Jace Hunter to recover from a serious illness… as long as nobody figures out his family owns the island.

Meeting Nessa, a psychiatrist turned bartender, Jace comes to realize that maybe the society life he’s been living isn’t where his future happiness lies.

Tempted to pour him some iced water, she asked instead, “Virgin?”
Jace blinked in surprise. “It’s been a while, but no, I’m not.”
The bartender threw her head back and laughed. She was pretty, Jace had noticed that right off: her skin a rich dark bronze with black hair falling to her waist in a mass of tiny braids. When she laughed, she was really beautiful, dimples appearing in her cheeks, light amber-brown eyes flashing with mirth.
“I was asking if you want a hard or a soft drink. Alcoholic, or not,” she said through girlish giggles.

The Reluctant Billionaire first appeared in the Billionaire Ever After box set and is now available for the first time as a standalone read.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF RELEASE REVIEW

One to Keep (Nights in Bliss #3) by Lexi Blake

 

Stefan Talbot likes order and control. He approaches his life with the same meticulous precision that he uses to put paint on his canvas. Nothing good comes from chaos, and that is why he has refused to allow himself to get close to Jennifer Waters. They are like fire and ice. Though she is younger, her talent as an artist is unquestionable. But she lives her life like she paints—with wild, passionate abandon. It is intoxicating and terrifying, and he can’t get her out of his head.

Jennifer ran from Bliss to put Stef behind her. She had come to the mountain town seeking a mentor but found much more than she bargained for. Cool and distant, Stef was like a marble statue and no matter how hard she tried, she couldn’t break through his shell. She moved to Dallas to start over, but nothing is going as planned. When the art gallery where she works is robbed and a precious painting is stolen, Jen is accused of the theft. Jen is thrilled when her bail is met, until she realizes her savior is Stef and he has a few conditions. First and foremost, she has to return to Bliss.

 

Against the backdrop of the Winter Festival, Stef and Jen’s attraction catches fire. But the dark forces behind the robbery in Dallas have followed Jen home. A criminal syndicate believes she still has the stolen painting and they’ll kill to get their hands on it.

 

 

AVAILABLE NOW

Amazon | iBooks | Barnes & Noble | GooglePlay | Kobo | Smashwords

 

 

 

 

 

  • * * *

 

Stef turned back to Jen. “Let’s move, Jennifer. I have a plane ready. We need to be at Love Field in an hour. I have an officer waiting to process you out.”

Jen’s head whirled. “Plane?”

“Yes, plane. We’re going back to Bliss.”

“No way.”

Cool, gray eyes slitted, and she could practically feel the will rolling off him. Stef was tense, and she knew it was a bad idea to push him, but she couldn’t help it.

“I’m serious, Stef. I’m not going anywhere with you.” She couldn’t go back to Bliss. Panic threatened to swamp her. He was here. He was right here in front of her, and her heart didn’t give a damn that he was a bastard. For the first time in months, she felt desire for something besides her art. She couldn’t, wouldn’t, go down that path again.

He got into her space, a move he’d perfected seemingly long before he met her. She held her ground. Even though he didn’t touch her physically, he seemed to surround her. Suddenly her whole world was Stef, his gray eyes, the heat of his body, his masculine, clean scent. He filled her every sense.

“I’m not going home with you.” She forced herself to say the words.

His lips hitched up. “At least you admit Bliss is your home.”

That wasn’t what she’d meant. Bliss, Colorado, had felt like home when she’d been there, but she knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that Bliss wasn’t big enough for the two of them. “It’s your home. Hell, Stef, it’s your little kingdom, and you like to play the king, don’t you?”

“Yes, because everyone does what I say.” Stef’s low growl made her breath speed up. “Everyone in Bliss bows down to me. Have you been gone for so long that you forget Max regularly kicks my ass? And Nell and Henry are currently protesting my gardening practices.”

He was too close for comfort. She gave in and took a step back. She could see plainly that he was satisfied with her discomfort. “Don’t try to play the poor rich boy with me. You’re a puppet master. You like to pull the strings and see how people dance. Well, I’m not in your kingdom anymore, and there’s no way you can get me there again. So you can take your money and go back to Colorado.”

It was stupid. Even as she said the words, she wanted to take them back. She’d spent the last twenty-four hours terrified in a jail cell. She would have to be the stupidest woman in the world to turn him down, but she’d never thought around Stef. Since the moment she’d met him, she’d been a quivering mass of emotion and desire every time he entered a room.

“Stubborn thing. I’ll make it easy on you.” His hands caught hers, and before she could think she felt cold metal surrounding her wrists. He flicked the cuffs on with the cool precision of a man who often cuffed the women in his life.

“What are you doing?” She stared at her hands. At least this time they were in front of her. She preferred it that way. Damn, her life had taken a wrong turn when she could compare and contrast her experiences with men who handcuffed her.

“Taking you home, Jennifer. Whether you like it or not.”

He leaned down and picked her up. She was in his arms, nestled close to his chest. She looked up at the square, inflexible line of his jaw. His arms tightened around her, and she was caged more closely than she’d been in the holding cell. She had the suspicion that this time Stef would be harder to escape from than before. He kicked open the door and started down the hall.

Yep, like it or not, she was going back to Bliss.

 

 

 

 

NY Times and USA Today bestselling author Lexi Blake lives in North Texas with her husband, three kids, and the laziest rescue dog in the world. She began writing at a young age, concentrating on plays and journalism. It wasn’t until she started writing romance and urban fantasy that she found the stories of her heart. She likes to find humor in the strangest places and believes in happy endings no matter how odd the couple, threesome, or foursome may seem.

FACEBOOK / TWITTER / WEBSITE / AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE

 

 

A slighty different review going on here peeps and it ain’t pretty.

You know the whole spiel I love LB bla, bla, bla and I ‘m a fan bla, bla, bla but this book is just bla, bla, bla.

I was more interested in Alexei that I had to go and look to see if he gets a book. He so totally gets a book. Yay! I found Max, Rachel and Rye a pleasure to catch up with. I even loved that Sebastian Talbot finally got together with Stella. All these things made the book enjoyable.

Stef and Jennifer ruined this book for me. I could tolerate them when they were apart but when they were together. Well for the love of God it was painful.

I mean with these two I landed in crazy town and maybe a bad B movie. I met King Stef in book 1 of the series and well I could tolerate him just barely. By book 2 I was intrigued and with his book I went back from intrigued to tolerating him to effing loathing him.

Why you ask?

Because he is King Stef and he can dictate what everyone can do especially Jennifer. He kept on pushing her away repeatedly. So much back and forth repeatedly. I know where his anger came from but I didn’t get it. After having one conversation with Rye & Max he suddenly has a come to Jesus moment? Puh-lease!!!
On top of that I really do know why Jennifer put up with that crap. Talk about a doormat till the very end. Jennifer deserved better and for me they were over even before they began.

If you read LB then you know how awesome a writer she is. The plot and pace flow and there is never a boring moment. But when you have two idiot main characters even that doesn’t make it better. In all honesty I was more interested in Alexei. Be still my beating heart. And Big Tag was there so you know it was worth it in the end.
I would recommend this series but to be honest not her best work and I would personally skip this book.

3 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Built to Last (Black Knights Inc. #12) by Julie Ann Walker

 

 

Built to Last (Black Knights Inc., #12)

  

Built to Last
Black Knights Inc. #12
Julie Ann Walker
 July 3rd 2018

 

Masterful, mysterious, and completely ruthless, Jamin “Angel” Agassi joined the Black Knights Inc. after a mission-gone-wrong forced him to undergo extensive plastic surgery and change his name. He’s going to bring down the world’s worst crime syndicate, and hopefully keep Sonya Butler, a love from his past, from discovering who he really is…

When a dark-eyed stranger gets caught up in Sonya’s latest mission, she starts to question all her hard-won instincts. Something about Angel tells her he’s more than he seems, and sometimes, when she least expects it, he reminds her of a man she used to know. As the bullets fly, she realizes that in love and war nothing is ever what it seems…

 

 

 

How to review a book when you thought the plot would be for you but it was the first book of that author that you read and now you know that the writing style was not for you ?

 

I guess I will go with 3 stars because the book was good just not for me. I know that this might be a confusing way of thinking but it’s just the way I feel.  As it might not have been my brightest Idea to start a new author when it’s the last book in a long series is one reason for me to decide this way – but in my defense I do that all the time and usually I can handle it.

 

Also the plot really sounded good – Not sure what I was thinking would happen but somehow I just did not consider that the author might approach this from the suspense side of it. My bad.

 

The leading characters are well developed and you can just sense that this book is part of a series that developed over a long time. So if you are a lover of classical suspense romances that follow a clever plot and you liked what your read in the Blurb this is your book.

 

Me on the other hand I am into a different kind of romance and therefore had a hard time connecting to the characters – parts of that problem might also be because I never read a book in that series before.

 

As I said  – I don’t blame the book – “It’s not you it’s me” ….

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Torpedo by Joanna Blake

 

 

 

Torpedo

  

 Torpedo
 Joanna Blake
January 17th 2017

 

There’s three things I love: my crew, my ship, and sinking my torpedo.

I wanted to serve my country for life, but then my ship blew up. Now I’m stuck on indefinite shore leave, holed up in my hometown with no crew, no ship, and definitely no women.

Until, after five years, she walks back into my life .

Tabitha Peterson.

Shabby Tabby, the beautiful girl from the wrong side of the tracks. She didn’t have money for fancy clothes, but Tabitha still caught every eye in a hundred mile radius – especially mine. Back then, I’d have done anything to catch her – with zero luck.

I’d always wondered where she ended up.

Now I know – because she’s in my house, the caregiver sent to tend to me. I’m broken, maybe forever, but she’s more tempting than ever, with her crazy curves and big, beautiful eyes.

I go from being bored stiff to having the challenge of my life.

I have two missions: learn to walk again, and get Tabby where I’ve wanted her all this time. In my arms and in my bed.

We can do it lying, sitting, or standing on one leg – I don’t need both legs to show her a good time. I just want to tear her walls down as I tear her clothes off.

When they fall, I’m not prepared for what comes next. How badly she’s been hurt… or how badly I want to protect her.

But I’ll risk everything to make her mine, for good.

 

 

 

Gosh I have to be very careful with my thoughts on this book – I liked the writing style and the plot – basically this is a solid 4 star read. But something buggs me…

I am a blogger and I read tons of books and from almost the first page on I had the feeling I read that book before … right down to the name “shabby Tabby” – so I wonder now – did this book get a new name .. new cover or anything because I do not have a review for it under this name AND THIS AUTHOR … … so I am careful with my thoughts and leave it at 3 stars

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Fury by Ashton Blackthorne

 Fury

  

Fury
Ashton Blackthorne
January 30th 2018

 

Sexy, alluring Jax Paulson is an author on top of the world.

The love of his life has just accepted his proposal and he is well on his way to realizing all his dreams.

However, a dark secret from his past is lurking in the shadows threatening to destroy him.

A string of murders are being linked to him.

With everything he loves on the line, Jax can’t afford to hesitate.

He must act now before he finds himself overtaken by…
FURY.

The sequel to Obsessed, Fury is a roller coaster ride full of thrills and steamy scenes. It’s a full length 40,000 word romantic thriller.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 20
error: Content is protected !!