2 STARS

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Billionaire’s Price by Ansela Corsino

 

 

 

The Billionaire's Price

  

The Billionaire’s Price
Ansela Corsino
September 16th 2015

 

“You don’t have to like me, Ms. Slade. But if you deliver results, I might be able to tolerate your presence in my home.”

Fresh out of graduate school and unable to find a job as a writer, Victoria Slade is lucky to land a job as a study companion to an overachieving ten-year-old boy — a job she thinks is going to be a piece of cake. That is, if it were not for her boss, the stern, enigmatic billionaire Sebastian Chase. Victoria bristles under his low opinion of her and her working-class status, yet can’t help wondering just how cold and hard he really was under his impeccable tailored suits.

Sebastian isn’t prepared for the sudden presence of the fiery redheaded girl in his home, or in his thoughts. He offers her a way to both explore their attraction to each other and keep their professional distance. But it comes with a price, and he is not a man to be easily satisfied.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Tempting the Beast (Breeds #1) by Lora Leigh

 

 

 

Tempting the Beast (Breeds, #1; Feline Breeds, #1)

  

 Tempting the Beast
 Breeds #1
 Lora Leigh
November 24th 2003

 

Callan Lyons is a genetic experiment. One of six fighting for freedom and the survival of their Pride. Merinus Tyler is the reporter who will tempt him, draw him, until the fury of the “mating frenzy” locks them into a battle of sexual heat there is no escape from.

Deception, blood, and the evil Genetics Council are hot on their trail. Callan will use his strength to try and save them both…and do all in his power to keep his woman in the process.

 

 

 

I really tried to get into this writing style because this plot is rally SO up my Alley but I am sorry I can not “work” with it. I know there are tons of readers out there that love it – But I am not one of them

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Sleepless Fate by Janae Keyes

REVIEW : Sleepless Fate by Janae Keyes

 
 

June 30, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

Title :              Sleepless Fate 

Author :           Janae Keyes

Series :            n/a

Release date :   May 29th 2016

Rating :           2 Stars

 

Blurb : Should a person have to put their life on hold for another? Another, they planned to spend the rest of their life with? Another who has been in a coma for the past two years? Brielle Elliot has spent the past two years at the side of her comatose fiancé Keaton. Life is moving on around Brielle, but she has been dedicated to Keaton until Patrick comes into her life. Patrick is the COO of his step-dad’s company, he is rich, good looking, and his silky his voice alone makes panties drop. He has also been infatuated with Brielle since first meeting her in Business School. It seems as if fate has brought these two back together, but others have their own idea of how their story should end.

 

Review :  I’m really sorry but …

 

I was really looking forward to reading this book, because the blurb sounded so interesting. Eventhough I was not looking forward to a reading about a love triangle.

 

It turns out that there was not much to worry about. I am soo soo sorry and writing a negative comment on a book is never easy for me, because I know how much of his/her heart an author puts into a story.

 

But this whole plot just did not work out – like at all. I can not go into details because of the spoilers but there was so much wrong for me in the plot and character development that I found myself skipping pages and somewhere in the second half of the book even whole chapters.

My biggest problem was that I could not connect to  the characters and I felt eventhough the backgroundstory was well developed the characters themselves were missing depth.

 

Both men are not what I would have expected from the Blurb (again no spoiler) and Brielle would be better of alone instead of with any of those guys. The plot developed in a way that I can totally not agree with – and I am not talking abou if it has a HEA or not – that is not the question. The question is how the characters end up there .

 

I am really sorry about this – but from my very personal point of view I can not recommend this book to my friends.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : More Than Crave You (More Than Words #4) by Shayla Black

 

 

 

More Than Crave You (More Than Words, #4)

  

More Than Crave You
More Than Words #4
Shayla Black
 September 18th 2018

 

I’m Evan Cook—billionaire tech entrepreneur and widower. Professionally, I’ve got it all. But since my wife died, my personal life has fallen apart. Remarrying seems like the obvious answer, so I place an ad. I’m not asking for much. The ideal woman only needs to be smart, organized, pretty, and helpful—both in and out of bed—without expecting romance. I never thought to look right in front of me…but it turns out that Nia Wright, my sexy, sassy assistant, just might be the perfect candidate.

After an unexpectedly hot night together, I’m ready to stop interviewing strangers and simply marry her. On paper, she ticks every box on my list. Best of all, she’s far too sensible to fall for me. I didn’t see the flaw in my logic until it was too late. I never thought I’d lose my heart for the first time. And I definitely never imagined Nia could consume me. But she’s harboring a secret that could tear us apart. Can I prove I more than crave her before it’s too late?

More Than Crave You is a sexy and emotional standalone novel from New York Times bestselling author in the More Than Words Series.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : The Promise of Everything – Garner-Willoughby Brothers Book Three by Blaire Broderick

 

 

 

The Promise of Everything - Garner-Willoughby Brothers Book Three

  

The Promise of Everything
Garner-Willoughby Brothers Book Three
Blaire Broderick
July 16th 2018

 

She’s living for today…

Sophie is dying—probably. An aneurysm at the base of her brain is just waiting to burst, and though she tries to keep her mind off the inevitable by painting away the pain, she simply can’t forget that her days are numbered.

He’s yearning for tomorrow…

Jamison is stuck. His past is a mess he’d rather not revisit, and his present is so dull he can hardly stand it. He takes refuge in his nightly walks where he looks up from the silent New York streets and stares into the window of a tragically beautiful girl painting her masterpiece.

They were made for each other…

A near collision in the dead of night brings them together, and fate means to keep it that way. But when Jamison turns out to be Sophie’s surgeon—the best in the city and her only chance at survival—will she be forced to choose between the love of her life and life itself?

They’re perfect together. But will the curse of the Garner-Willoughby family tear them apart?

**This is a full-length standalone romance with a HEA and no cliff hanger.**

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : The End of Everything – Garner-Willoughby Brothers Duet Book Two by Blaire Broderick

 

 

 

The End of Everything - Garner-Willoughby Brothers Duet Book Two

  

The End of Everything
Garner-Willoughby Brothers Duet Book Two
Blaire Broderick
 July 2nd 2018

 

JUDE

I’m not worthy. I don’t deserve her. And I know it.

I’ve been called lots of things in my day. An anomaly. A walking contradiction. A complicated a$$hole. But I’ve never been called someone’s hero… until her.

EVIE

I don’t understand him, and I sure as hell don’t understand what’s happening. He confuses me, and at times, I want to slap him and kiss him all at once. I didn’t even know he existed. Nothing makes sense anymore. All I know is he’s the most complex man I’ve ever met, and as much as I try to deny the way I feel about him, I’m powerless in the solace of his embrace. Our relationship may be inappropriate and unconventional, but it’s ours. And in a weird sort of way, he’s my hero.

But there are secrets and self-loathing behind his eyes, words left unspoken, and questions unanswered. And I’m determined to find out what the hell is going on.

**Part Two of this Duet is a full-length novel with a HEA and no cliffhanger**

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : The Beginning of Everything – Garner-Willoughby Brothers Duet Book One by Blaire Broderick

 

 

 

 
The Beginning of Everything - Garner-Willoughby Brothers Duet Book One
 
 

  

The Beginning of Everything
Garner-Willoughby Brothers Duet Book One
Blaire Broderick
June 19th 2018

 

Gold digger.
Opportunist.
Trash.

That’s what they called me.

Only I was just a girl from the wrong side of town, hired to care for a dying man with more money than God.

We never meant to fall in love.
We never meant to hurt anyone.
We never meant for any of this.

But when death came knocking at his door … so did all of his secrets.

And all the things he never told me.

AUTHOR’S NOTE: This is a full-length Romance and Book One of the Garner-Willoughby Brothers Duet. It does end with a cliffhanger. Book Two is available for pre-order and will release on July 2nd, 2018.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF

REVIEW : Gabriel’s Inferno (Gabriel’s Inferno #1) by Sylvain Reynard

 

 

Gabriel's Inferno (Gabriel's Inferno, #1)

  

Gabriel’s Inferno
Gabriel’s Inferno #1
Sylvain Reynard
 April 4th 2011

 

Enigmatic and sexy, Professor Gabriel Emerson is a well respected Dante specialist by day, but by night he devotes himself to an uninhibited life of pleasure. He uses his notorious good looks and sophisticated charm to gratify his every whim, but is secretly tortured by his dark past and consumed by the profound belief that he is beyond all hope of redemption.

When the sweet and innocent Julia Mitchell enrolls as his graduate student, his attraction and mysterious connection to her not only jeopardizes his career, but sends him on a journey in which his past and his present collide.

An intriguing and sinful exploration of seduction, forbidden love and redemption, “Gabriel’s Inferno” is a captivating and wildly passionate tale of one man’s escape from his own personal hell as he tries to earn the impossible…forgiveness and love.

 

 

 

This might actually be one of the rare cases that I usually experience when reading dystopien novels. Because in this gernre I usually dislike the books and love the movies. I really tried to connect to the leading characters but especially the male lead was next to impossible for me to connect to. So I am really hoping  – now that it has been picked up to be made into a movie that I might like it then.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Perfect Imperfections (Moments #1) by J. Wells & L. Wells

 

 

 

Perfect Imperfections (Moments, #1)

  

Perfect Imperfections
 Moments #1
J. Wells & L. Wells
June 05th 2017

 

At the age of 27, Natasha is just a few months away from marrying her long-term boyfriend, Josh. Suddenly, he is called out of the country to take over the running of his father’s business. While he’s away, Natasha arranges a surprise wedding present for him – a portrait of herself.

The handsome artist who agrees to paint the portrait is Gabriel Owens, a gifted painter who is partially sighted. He is sarcastic and brash, and Natasha finds herself always saying the wrong thing at the wrong time.

It turns out that Josh isn’t the perfect fiancé that Natasha believed him to be and she is left reeling, her life in free fall. Does Gabriel have the tenacity and inner strength to pick up the pieces when he himself has so many insecurities and his own life is far from perfect?

Perfect Imperfections is the first book in the Moments series. It’s an emotional story, which can be read as a standalone novel. You won’t find a cliffhanger here, but instead a heartfelt ending that definitely won’t disappoint.

 

 

 

The author tried to work with to many different subjects and I felt it was too much

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Regret by B.D. Anderson

 

Regret

  

Regret
B.D. Anderson
 August 9th 2017

 

Jayden Winston runs a successful business, yet he has lived with regret for the last ten years of his life due to a life changing decision he made upon his college graduation.
Because of his struggle with mysophobia, Jayden is rich but alone. He ended his relationship with his college sweetheart, Tamaeya Jackson due to pressure from his parents and his belief that she would soon tire of his compulsion to clean.
He now learns through her lawyer that he fathered a set of twins with Tamaeya and that she’s requesting support. Stunned by the news, Jayden demands that his lawyer set up a meeting.
With this new spark of hope, Jayden realizes that he has a chance to make things right with the woman he never got over, but will Tamaeya take him back and will the twins he unknowingly fathered accept him into their lives even with his obsessive compulsive behavior?

 

 

 

This book has “issuses” and I do not mean the OCD of the male lead – THAT is the least of its problems. I love damaged characters but I could not find anything with these two there was no chemistry nothing – sorry…..but to me it felt cold and impersonal from the beginning on

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 13
error: Content is protected !!