2 STARS

2 STAR BOOKSHELF

REVIEW : Gabriel’s Inferno (Gabriel’s Inferno #1) by Sylvain Reynard

 

 

Gabriel's Inferno (Gabriel's Inferno, #1)

  

Gabriel’s Inferno
Gabriel’s Inferno #1
Sylvain Reynard
 April 4th 2011

 

Enigmatic and sexy, Professor Gabriel Emerson is a well respected Dante specialist by day, but by night he devotes himself to an uninhibited life of pleasure. He uses his notorious good looks and sophisticated charm to gratify his every whim, but is secretly tortured by his dark past and consumed by the profound belief that he is beyond all hope of redemption.

When the sweet and innocent Julia Mitchell enrolls as his graduate student, his attraction and mysterious connection to her not only jeopardizes his career, but sends him on a journey in which his past and his present collide.

An intriguing and sinful exploration of seduction, forbidden love and redemption, “Gabriel’s Inferno” is a captivating and wildly passionate tale of one man’s escape from his own personal hell as he tries to earn the impossible…forgiveness and love.

 

 

 

This might actually be one of the rare cases that I usually experience when reading dystopien novels. Because in this gernre I usually dislike the books and love the movies. I really tried to connect to the leading characters but especially the male lead was next to impossible for me to connect to. So I am really hoping  – now that it has been picked up to be made into a movie that I might like it then.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Perfect Imperfections (Moments #1) by J. Wells & L. Wells

 

 

 

Perfect Imperfections (Moments, #1)

  

Perfect Imperfections
 Moments #1
J. Wells & L. Wells
June 05th 2017

 

At the age of 27, Natasha is just a few months away from marrying her long-term boyfriend, Josh. Suddenly, he is called out of the country to take over the running of his father’s business. While he’s away, Natasha arranges a surprise wedding present for him – a portrait of herself.

The handsome artist who agrees to paint the portrait is Gabriel Owens, a gifted painter who is partially sighted. He is sarcastic and brash, and Natasha finds herself always saying the wrong thing at the wrong time.

It turns out that Josh isn’t the perfect fiancé that Natasha believed him to be and she is left reeling, her life in free fall. Does Gabriel have the tenacity and inner strength to pick up the pieces when he himself has so many insecurities and his own life is far from perfect?

Perfect Imperfections is the first book in the Moments series. It’s an emotional story, which can be read as a standalone novel. You won’t find a cliffhanger here, but instead a heartfelt ending that definitely won’t disappoint.

 

 

 

The author tried to work with to many different subjects and I felt it was too much

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Regret by B.D. Anderson

 

Regret

  

Regret
B.D. Anderson
 August 9th 2017

 

Jayden Winston runs a successful business, yet he has lived with regret for the last ten years of his life due to a life changing decision he made upon his college graduation.
Because of his struggle with mysophobia, Jayden is rich but alone. He ended his relationship with his college sweetheart, Tamaeya Jackson due to pressure from his parents and his belief that she would soon tire of his compulsion to clean.
He now learns through her lawyer that he fathered a set of twins with Tamaeya and that she’s requesting support. Stunned by the news, Jayden demands that his lawyer set up a meeting.
With this new spark of hope, Jayden realizes that he has a chance to make things right with the woman he never got over, but will Tamaeya take him back and will the twins he unknowingly fathered accept him into their lives even with his obsessive compulsive behavior?

 

 

 

This book has “issuses” and I do not mean the OCD of the male lead – THAT is the least of its problems. I love damaged characters but I could not find anything with these two there was no chemistry nothing – sorry…..but to me it felt cold and impersonal from the beginning on

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Vigil by V.J. Chambers

Vigil by V.J. Chambers

 
 

January 9, 2014

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri

 
 

 

Title :  Vigil

Author : V. J. Chambers

Series : N/A

Rating :  2 Stars

 

Blurb : Super rich. Super Damaged. Super Sexy. A Billionaire Superhero Romance.  When newspaper intern Cecily Kane kisses a masked vigilante, she doesn’t realize she’s plunging headlong into a relationship with two separate identities. As Vigil, he is dark, sensuous, and irresistible. His touch skyrockets her to heights of pleasure. As Callum Rutherford, he is a billionaire playboy—arrogant, cold, and untouchable. She looks good on his arm, but without his mask, he holds her at arm’s length. Sex with a masked man. Dinner with a rich sophisticate. A fractured relationship with a complicated man.

Deep down, he is broken, twisted in some dark, hidden way. Some way he won’t reveal to her. She only knows that it is somehow connected to his obsession with The Phantom, the costumed villain whose murder spree has rocked the city.

She must unravel Vigil’s secrets. To make him whole. And to stop The Phantom.

**Recommended for mature readers due to explicit sexual situations, coarse language, and disturbing violence.**

 

Review : I’d like to borrow an expression i read in some reviews :

“…fifty shades of Batman”

Thats what it is
Not bad but not good either

It was lacking of depth at all corners only scratching the surface of both batman and christian grey. It was an interessting idea that was unfortunately written in a way of ” lets get the book out there asap”…
Given the story more pages and the characters and places more background it could have good
But like this it was like reading a newspaper on a train … Catching the headers – drawing conclusions – knowing the end .. Then leaving it where you ‘ve been sitting – because nothing in it is worth being taken home with you

Such a shame / as i said
#good idea
#bad workout

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Hollywood Heartthrob by Clarissa Carlyle

 

 

 

Hollywood Heartthrob

  

Hollywood Heartthrob
Clarissa Carlyle
May 14th 2013

 

Amy Prince was just a regular girl, in a regular teaching job, until Hollywood heartthrob, Josh Roberts came to shoot a movie on the campus where she teaches. Then her whole world got turned upside down!

Can any good come from a regular girl dating the hottest, most desired guy in Hollywood? Find out now in this enjoyable and romantic love story.

(This is a novella of approx. 27,400 words)

 

 

 

This story had to many plot holes to be enjoyable in the end

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Her Wounded Warrior by Kristi Rose

Her Wounded Warrior by Kristi Rose

 
 

September 1, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Her Wounded Warrior

Author :           Kristi Rose

Series :            n/a

Release date :  August 31st 2014

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : This is a short story (less than 1000 words) that was originally created for a magazine.

As an occupational therapist, Kelly knows that falling for a patient breaks her Code of Ethics. Having worked with Jeff over the last six months, helping him with his rehabilitation, she’s gone and done the unthinkable. She’s fallen for him, hard. But she could never tell Jeff how she really feels about him. Instead, she must watch him walk out of the hospital and her life knowing she might never see him again.

 

Review : This book is so short the the Blurb is almost longer than the actual story and while it has a nice plot – there is really no content to fill the idea – it really feels like a magazine story you would read a your doctors office.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

21 Years of Jane by Yolanda Olson

21 Years of Jane by Yolanda Olson

 
 

September 11, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              21 Years of Jane

Author :           Yolanda Olson

Series :            n/a

Release date :   July 24th 2014

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Paris, OH is a quiet town. Jane East thinks it’s the perfect place, since she’s been a loner most of her life. But when a new family moves near by and her parents insist she becomes friends with the new guy in town, things get turned upside down in ways she never thought possible.

 

Review : I read this book for free on my Kindle. But I am afraid to say that I guess it was a wrong choice for me. There have been several more than warm reviews about it. But I have a hard time with a book that wants to be as deep as “the fault in our stars” (as other reviewers compare it) but presents itself to its readers with an insta love that seems designed on som unexplained level by the parents. That on the other hand maybe do not want the leads to be together. 

 

Anyway except the instalove – (which is a totally impossible  – harsh I know – sorry – choice of entering a story of that supposed plot) there is also the fact that the two leads are supposed to be ya / na at an age over 20 years – yet I would feel more comfortable placing their interactions and dialogues with 16 year olds.

 

So I am sorry – even if I am the odd one out there and the book was for free – it was not for me …

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Accidentally Hers (Sterling Canyon #1) by Jamie Beck

Accidentally Hers (Sterling Canyon #1) by Jamie Beck

 
 

November 17, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Accidentally Hers 

Author :           Jamie Beck

Series :            Sterling Canyon #1

Release date :   October 6th 2015

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : When ruggedly sexy backcountry guide Grey Lowell moves to Sterling Canyon, Colorado, after buying the ski-expedition company Backtrax, his plans don’t include romance. Still, it’s fun to look—especially across a crowded restaurant at a beauty he dubs “Bambi.” But all his plans change later that night when he’s injured by a drunk driver.Physical therapist Avery Randall is shocked to learn that Grey’s the man her brother struck with his car, and even more stunned when he arrives at the clinic expecting her help. Despite her reservations and Grey’s silly new nickname for her, Avery agrees to work with him, and passion begins to simmer. Yet with his livelihood at stake, Grey must make tough decisions that could hurt Avery and her family. Before long, Avery’s loyalties are tested, and the choices she and Grey each make may cost them their chance at lasting love.

 

Review : Accidentally Hers was my first book by Jamie Beck and I am honestly not sure if it was the writing style or simple just this plotline that didn’t work out for me. I want to believe that it was the plotline so I can give the author another chance as I really liked the idea behind this book.

 

I can not even tell anymore how or when precisely the story lost me but after an intriguing start there were simply to many times that I found myself actually cringing at the plotline. And I was not able to understand why those two actually even began to have a relationship.

 

There was just to much wrong with the whole package. Quite frankly Avery did not deserve such a nice Guy so the book title was the biggest truth of all… Maybe I am the odd one out here but those are my thoughts : -)

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Come As You Are (City of Lakes #1) by Theresa Weir

Come As You Are (City of Lakes #1) by Theresa Weir

 
 

November 23, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Come As You Are 

Author :           Theresa Weir

Series :            City of Lakes #1

Release date :   September 20th 2013

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Molly Young has a secret. To keep it she holds the world at a distance. Behind her lies a trail of dumped boyfriends who came too close to discovering what no one can know. When her estranged father dies of an unexpected heart attack he leaves an even deeper secret, one tied to Molly’s.At the funeral repast Molly is unable to tolerate the shoulder-to-shoulder mourners and runs out the door and down the street to the nearest bar. Come dawn, with no memory of the past ten hours, she finds herself in bed with a beautiful stranger. She slips away before he wakes up, unaware of the role he’s about to play in her life. Is he the one guy who can convince Molly to face her painful secret and become the person she’s meant to be?

 

Review : Thankfully, this was a fast read as I could totally not connect with the leading characters. It wasn’t even the story, because that was pretty decent – It was more the writing style, because the characters felt flat to me. I could not feel with them or relate to them in any way. That resulted in the fact that throughout most of the book I was wondering what was wrong with it instead of enjoying the story

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Beautifully Chaotic by Natalie Barnes

Beautifully Chaotic by Natalie Barnes

 
 

June 25, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

Title :              Beautifully Chaotic

Author :           Natalie Barnes

Series :            n/a

Release date :   May 12, 2016

Rating :           2 Stars

 

Blurb :

 

These lies…

Don’t seem to hurt

Bend this soul.

Down to the earth

Why try…

to feel the sting

It only, causes burn…

Wash away…

all this dirt

Only me,

is all who knows

Fading far,

never be heard

And I try,

God, have I tried

To live again

With peace…

in my own soul

That’s desperately.

Begging for the end.

 

Review : Yeah – wow – what a Blurb. And with a Blurb like this reviewing this book could have gone every direction. I am sorry to say that it abosolutely did not work out for me.

 

Which mostly is due to the fact that the whole plotline was not for me. (which was hard to guess by that blurb or I would not have chosen it in the first place)

 

The problem is also that I am not sure what the author wants to be revealed in an review and what not so I am not sure what to write.

 

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
1 2 3 12
error: Content is protected !!