2 STARS

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Accidentally Hers (Sterling Canyon #1) by Jamie Beck

Accidentally Hers (Sterling Canyon #1) by Jamie Beck

 
 

November 17, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Accidentally Hers 

Author :           Jamie Beck

Series :            Sterling Canyon #1

Release date :   October 6th 2015

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : When ruggedly sexy backcountry guide Grey Lowell moves to Sterling Canyon, Colorado, after buying the ski-expedition company Backtrax, his plans don’t include romance. Still, it’s fun to look—especially across a crowded restaurant at a beauty he dubs “Bambi.” But all his plans change later that night when he’s injured by a drunk driver.Physical therapist Avery Randall is shocked to learn that Grey’s the man her brother struck with his car, and even more stunned when he arrives at the clinic expecting her help. Despite her reservations and Grey’s silly new nickname for her, Avery agrees to work with him, and passion begins to simmer. Yet with his livelihood at stake, Grey must make tough decisions that could hurt Avery and her family. Before long, Avery’s loyalties are tested, and the choices she and Grey each make may cost them their chance at lasting love.

 

Review : Accidentally Hers was my first book by Jamie Beck and I am honestly not sure if it was the writing style or simple just this plotline that didn’t work out for me. I want to believe that it was the plotline so I can give the author another chance as I really liked the idea behind this book.

 

I can not even tell anymore how or when precisely the story lost me but after an intriguing start there were simply to many times that I found myself actually cringing at the plotline. And I was not able to understand why those two actually even began to have a relationship.

 

There was just to much wrong with the whole package. Quite frankly Avery did not deserve such a nice Guy so the book title was the biggest truth of all… Maybe I am the odd one out here but those are my thoughts : -)

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Come As You Are (City of Lakes #1) by Theresa Weir

Come As You Are (City of Lakes #1) by Theresa Weir

 
 

November 23, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Come As You Are 

Author :           Theresa Weir

Series :            City of Lakes #1

Release date :   September 20th 2013

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Molly Young has a secret. To keep it she holds the world at a distance. Behind her lies a trail of dumped boyfriends who came too close to discovering what no one can know. When her estranged father dies of an unexpected heart attack he leaves an even deeper secret, one tied to Molly’s.At the funeral repast Molly is unable to tolerate the shoulder-to-shoulder mourners and runs out the door and down the street to the nearest bar. Come dawn, with no memory of the past ten hours, she finds herself in bed with a beautiful stranger. She slips away before he wakes up, unaware of the role he’s about to play in her life. Is he the one guy who can convince Molly to face her painful secret and become the person she’s meant to be?

 

Review : Thankfully, this was a fast read as I could totally not connect with the leading characters. It wasn’t even the story, because that was pretty decent – It was more the writing style, because the characters felt flat to me. I could not feel with them or relate to them in any way. That resulted in the fact that throughout most of the book I was wondering what was wrong with it instead of enjoying the story

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Beautifully Chaotic by Natalie Barnes

Beautifully Chaotic by Natalie Barnes

 
 

June 25, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

Title :              Beautifully Chaotic

Author :           Natalie Barnes

Series :            n/a

Release date :   May 12, 2016

Rating :           2 Stars

 

Blurb :

 

These lies…

Don’t seem to hurt

Bend this soul.

Down to the earth

Why try…

to feel the sting

It only, causes burn…

Wash away…

all this dirt

Only me,

is all who knows

Fading far,

never be heard

And I try,

God, have I tried

To live again

With peace…

in my own soul

That’s desperately.

Begging for the end.

 

Review : Yeah – wow – what a Blurb. And with a Blurb like this reviewing this book could have gone every direction. I am sorry to say that it abosolutely did not work out for me.

 

Which mostly is due to the fact that the whole plotline was not for me. (which was hard to guess by that blurb or I would not have chosen it in the first place)

 

The problem is also that I am not sure what the author wants to be revealed in an review and what not so I am not sure what to write.

 

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Underwater by Maayan Nahmani

Underwater by Maayan Nahmani

 
 

November 9, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Underwater

Author :           Maayan Nahmani

Series :            n/a

Release date :   June 26th 2016

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : In an instant, my world turned upside down

Because of one incident, my life will never be the same

 

Every day I struggled to breathe

Every day I went through the motions

 

I felt too much

I was numb

 

I was drowning

I was lost inside the black

 

So they made me go there

I was already there, watching from the dark

 

And then I met him

And then I saw her

 

He scared me to death

She took my breath away

 

He was darkness

She was my light

 

They whispered he can’t be touched

She was the only one I could touch

 

I couldn’t be with him, they needed me

I fucking needed her

 

So I told him I would be his friend

I told her I would be her friend. For now.

 

But I couldn’t resist him for long

She finally realized that she’ll always be mine

 

We were a hot mess

We were the perfect kind of mess

 

Then reality dawned on me

Then my demons broke loose

 

I was underwater, trying to break through to the surface

I reached out my hand, trying to pull her to shore

 

Could he really help me?

Would she accept me, scars and all?

 

This was us

This was our story

 

Author’s Note: “This book is based on true events and contains sensitive subjects that may be a trigger to some readers, such as violence, abuse and post-traumatic stress disorder. It also contains a parent with cancer. It is recommended for ages 18 and up.”

Safe. No cheating/OW

 

Review : The blurb sounded really great and I think the plot itself has true potential. It is just that the intense feeling that you can already almost touch from the blurb – get lost in the actual story. 

 

The whole book felt like a diary entry. I get that this is suposed to be based on true envents but the plotline demanded a different treatment for the reader to actually FEEL the story.

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Sight Unseen by Barbara Cutrera

Sight Unseen by Barbara Cutrera

 
 

October 5, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Sight Unseen

Author :           Barbara Cutrera

Series :            n/a

Release date :   04 Oct 2016

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Marketing consultant Beth Panera thrills at the prospect of working with computer engineer Logan Kirkland to make his new business, Sight Unseen, a success in Sarasota, Florida. When they meet face-to-face and Beth discovers that Logan is blind, she welcomes the opportunity to learn how someone who is visually impaired can live independently and run his own business. Despite her hesitation when it comes to trusting men, she and the sexy, charismatic Logan become fast friends, comfortable with each other and their unique talents and quirks.Once the Sight Unseen store opens and their business association ends, they decide to explore their relationship on a much deeper level. Logan’s blindness and society’s preconceived notions about it are only two of many difficulties that they face as a couple.Beth comes to think of Logan as her “blind warrior,” a strong, handsome, honorable man she loves in spite of her fear of betrayal. However, it becomes clear that Beth is not the only one in their relationship who has trust issues to resolve. Logan’s greatest challenge lies ahead, and Beth’s blind warrior must fight the greatest battle of his life if he wants to win her heart forever.

 

Review : I liked the Blurb of “Sight Unseen” so I decided to request the ARC for review. Barbara Cutrera was a “new to me” author so when I started reading “Sight Unseen” I was unsure of what to expect.

 

The writing of this author is solid and basically it could have been a really great story.

 

Basically that is …

 

Usually I refrain from going deeper into the plot to avoid spoiler, but I am afraid in this special case I need to go at least a little into detail to explain better where my problems with this book are.

 

So if you avoid spoilers please stop reading here – thank you

 

The biggest issue is that I think that the plot wants too much. We have a basic plot that is the developing relation between Logan and Beth. That plot is already going very into details at times that I felt were not necessary and overloading the story.

 

But worse was that this plot is to frequently disturbed by plot strings that are not really followed through and stole away from the building relationship that took a backseat to the drama. And in the quantity in which these side plots occurred they made the plot unbelievable und unrealistic.

 

  • There is Beth’s Brother

  • The Ex-boyfriend

  • There are Beth’s parents

  • Then there is the whole family mess with Logan

  • the Nuns

  • his parents

  • Ex-wife

  • his brother

  • last but not least both of their friends drama

 

… there is so much going on. I am sorry to say but LESS would have been more. · There are so many accidents and drama happening that it unfortunately became unrealistic. (and I am talking unrealistic for a novel and not for a real life)

 

I honestly only read it until the end to find out how the author was going to get out of this plotline.

 

My second issue could be simply described with “pot calling the cattle black”

 

Beth is disgusted so frequently by actions she notices happening towards Logan and she is fast and loud in her critic towards others – claiming they should know better before judging or taking actions.

 

But she herself is the loudest to call her father “sick” because of his lifestyle when she has no idea what she is talking about.

And she should never attempt to compare what her brother is doing to the normal situation of that way of life because it shows she really has NO idea what she is talking about.

 

So NO – not only was it impossible for me to connect to the story because it was really over the top too much – but also the narrow minded point of view of the female lead made it impossible to relate to the story.

 

The only positive thing in this story was Logan. He was a great character and very believable written.

 

I think it could be a good story if the author would take out some of those story strings … like for example the complete string relating to the nuns and all that follows it – because that was over the top.

 

There was enough drama already without that. I am not sure what to recommend about Beth because I will never be able to relate to her preachy comments as they are based on wrong assumptions and half knowledge but as a reader I assume I will have to accept that.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Wheels (Tabor Heights Year Two #4) by Michelle L. Levigne

Wheels (Tabor Heights Year Two #4) by Michelle L. Levigne

 
 

December 1, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Wheels 

Author :           Michelle L. Levigne

Series :           Tabor Heights Year Two #4

Release date :   April 20th 2014

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Natalie was the little girl across the street who adored Tommy and planned to marry him when they grew up. In the wake of Tommy’s broken back and the disintegration of his family, Natalie’s family left town. She never thought she would see him again, until she was assigned to cover the Mission’s handicap awareness campaign — led by Tommy. He didn’t seem to recognize her, and she didn’t want to embarrass him by bringing up the past, but she had to warn him before the past found Tommy in the shape of his estranged father. Just when was the right time, in the middle of the campaign and threats from petty criminals who were blackmailing one of Tommy’s friends?

 

Review : A friend thought I might like this book judging by its blurb … so I had that book lying around here forever until I thought I would give it a try.

 

And really only judging by that I really should have liked it. I am not even sure what happend … Maybe I was not in the right state of mind for it but this book was really not for me.

So sorry … Maybe I will give it a try sometime again and revisit my oppinion but for now …

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Echoes in the Wind by Debra Jupe

Echoes in the Wind by Debra Jupe

 
 

February 15, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Echoes in the Wind

Author :           Debra Jupe

Series :            n/a

Release date :   31 Jan 2014

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Geology instructor Darla Hennessy’s dreams are shattered when her longtime boyfriend dumps her to marry someone else. On the rebound, she lets a friend drag her to a party where she meets former teen idol Eric Boyd, the Scottish rocker she had a crush on years ago.Eric has one goal: return to the industry as a legitimate musician and earn the respect of his peers. But his manager is missing, someone is murdering his former band mates, and he might be next on the killer’s list. The last thing he needs is a relationship.Despite their growing chemistry, Darla is wary of getting involved too. But when the killer attacks Eric, she can’t turn her back. On the run, they have to stay one step ahead of a madman even as their attraction heats up. It may be love, but can they survive long enough to find out?

 

Review : Most probably I am the odd one out here when it comes to giving a rating on Echoes in the Wind by Debra Jupe.

 

I read the book and made up my mind on it but judging from the other reviews I seem to be thinking in a totally different direction.

 

So I am sorry to say that I could totally not connect with this story. The plotline was good but the way of the story was told felt detached from the characters for me.

 

I could not feel any emotions with them or for them. And as a reader it is very important for me to feel for the leading characters.

 

It felt foreign to me that everything in this plotline was so on and over the top when people talked about it.

 

And parts of the plot felt as if you would have to know a previous story of the characters you meet but you were not invited to that knowledge.

 

Hard to explain without giving details on the plot, but their actions contradicted the emotions they should have experienced, they all felt numb.

Numb for me as a reader and numb in their interactions with each other.

 

It seemed that the growing usage of cigarettes was the only indication of their nerves.

 

I read about 60 % – but than I felt I should stop – so I am really sorry but this book was not for me.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Echoes in the Wind by Debra Jupe

Echoes in the Wind by Debra Jupe

 
 

February 15, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Echoes in the Wind

Author :           Debra Jupe

Series :            n/a

Release date :   31 Jan 2014

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Geology instructor Darla Hennessy’s dreams are shattered when her longtime boyfriend dumps her to marry someone else. On the rebound, she lets a friend drag her to a party where she meets former teen idol Eric Boyd, the Scottish rocker she had a crush on years ago.Eric has one goal: return to the industry as a legitimate musician and earn the respect of his peers. But his manager is missing, someone is murdering his former band mates, and he might be next on the killer’s list. The last thing he needs is a relationship.Despite their growing chemistry, Darla is wary of getting involved too. But when the killer attacks Eric, she can’t turn her back. On the run, they have to stay one step ahead of a madman even as their attraction heats up. It may be love, but can they survive long enough to find out?

 

Review : Most probably I am the odd one out here when it comes to giving a rating on Echoes in the Wind by Debra Jupe.

 

I read the book and made up my mind on it but judging from the other reviews I seem to be thinking in a totally different direction.

 

So I am sorry to say that I could totally not connect with this story. The plotline was good but the way of the story was told felt detached from the characters for me.

 

I could not feel any emotions with them or for them. And as a reader it is very important for me to feel for the leading characters.

 

It felt foreign to me that everything in this plotline was so on and over the top when people talked about it.

 

And parts of the plot felt as if you would have to know a previous story of the characters you meet but you were not invited to that knowledge.

 

Hard to explain without giving details on the plot, but their actions contradicted the emotions they should have experienced, they all felt numb.

Numb for me as a reader and numb in their interactions with each other.

 

It seemed that the growing usage of cigarettes was the only indication of their nerves.

 

I read about 60 % – but than I felt I should stop – so I am really sorry but this book was not for me.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Wild for Him (Steele Brothers #6) by Elizabeth Lennox

 

 

 

Wild for Him (Steele Brothers, #6)

  

Wild for Him
Steele Brothers #6
Elizabeth Lennox
June 05th 2017

 

He was going to talk to her!

Mindy thought that the big guy who owned the company across from her office was the sexiest, most amazing man she’d ever seen. But he wouldn’t talk to her!

Determined to be friends, Mindy sat down to eat lunch with him – not taking no for an answer. But at his continued silence, her confidence waned. He was so big and gruff and…hot! But what was she doing wrong?

Gus had successfully avoided the vivacious woman for months. So it was a shock when she sat down and started talking to her. She was sweet and funny, determined and sexy. But he’d learned the hard way not to trust women. He wasn’t going to lose himself in her sweet smiles.

But he was only human and Mindy was…she was everything he wanted and never thought he could have. But could he trust her with his secret?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

I Found You by Lisa Jewell

I Found You by Lisa Jewell

 
 

March 3, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              I Found You

Author :           Lisa Jewell

Series :            n/a

Release date :   July 14th 2016

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb :

‘How long have you been sitting out here?’

‘I got here yesterday.’

‘Where did you come from?’

‘I have no idea.’

 

East Yorkshire: Single mum Alice Lake finds a man on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, no idea what he is doing there. Against her better judgement she invites him in to her home.Surrey: Twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.Two women, twenty years of secrets and a man who can’t remember lie at the heart of Lisa Jewell’s brilliant new novel.

 

Review : The Blurb sounded interesting but after reading an excerpt I felt that the writing style was detached from the emotional scene that was evolving. Adding the fact that the E-book !! was supposed to be purchased online at a price of $ 18.32 (which is actually 8$ MORE than the hardcover copy by the same well known seller – which is something I will never understand as this can only come from political but not from economical reasoning). I decided that this book is nothing for me.  A judgement on a book is not only based on the content but also on the price I need to pay for it because even if this book would be wonderful I can honestly not find it in my heart to recommend to pay so much money for an electronical file.

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 2 3 11
error: Content is protected !!