2 STARS

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Blackstone (Four Fathers #1) by J.D. Hollyfield

 

 

 

Blackstone (Four Fathers, #1)

  

Blackstone
Four Fathers #1
 J.D. Hollyfield
April 2nd 2018

 

I am meticulous. Structured. A single father.
I obsess over things and crave control.
And when a hot, feisty little woman throws a wrench in my carefully laid out plans, I lose my mind.
My every thought revolves around making her bend to my will—until they become less about her doing things my way and more about just her.
My name is Trevor Blackstone.
I am an obsessive, complicated, demanding man.
People may not understand me, but it doesn’t stop them from wanting me.

 

 

 

 

Blackstone (Four Fathers #1) by J.D. Hollyfield is not exactly the first book by this author that I read, as I read AND LOVED  “Text 2 Lovers” (2 Lovers #1) that was co-authored by both K. Webster and J.D. Hollyfield.

 

So color me surprised by my reaction to Blackstone. Seeing the raving reviews from other reviewers – I assume I am the odd one out here. I apologize upfront for my totally different view but a review & rating needs to be honest.

 

I loved the storyline – there is no way around that fact. Also the basics as the characters were described were just great. The female lead was a little over the top in a chaotic but still likeable way. And the male lead was just that kind of tortured damaged character that I absolutely love.

 

So much for the theory.

But than reality hit

 

The male lead was an asshole of epic proportions (sorry for that word – I usually try not to curse in my reviews but sometimes there is no way around it to bring my point across). I get that most of the book characters I love usually start out at just that – so despite of having that certain feeling in my guts – I went on reading past my 3 chapter rule. Thinking – he will show his redeeming qualities at a certain point. They always do – right? Especially when a plot seems this good … right ?

 

Unfortunately, this time that assumption was wrong … until the last page he remained just what he was from the beginning. I really had a hard time believing what I was reading.

He really had everything he needed to be the next book boyfriend …  

 

I can not go into the details because of my own spoiler rules but please be assured my opinion about him had nothing to do with him being an alpha male  (I love Jodi Ellen Malpas character Jesse Ward and it can not get any more demanding than him). And I also have no issues with the fact that he “obsesses over things” as the blurb calls it (hell I loved Split

by J.B. Salsbury and it can not get any stranger than that) – No it was simply the man he was that was not likeable on top of all of that. Its really hard to describe but I guess this is just one of these book characters that you are either going to love or hate and well seems I fall into the later category

 

I apologize again for being the odd one out there and as I said I truly loved the plotline and the idea of the characters. But it was just like when a book is being turned into a movie … I think the director choose the wrong actor for me to fill the role …

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Royally Relinquished: A Modern Day Fairy Tale by Hayley Faiman

Royally Relinquished: A Modern Day Fairy Tale by Hayley Faiman

 

September 9, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Royally Relinquished: A Modern Day Fairy Tale

 

 Hayley Faiman

 

 

 

 March 23rd 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 A Complete Standalone — Coming March 23, 2017

 

The only thing royal about Caitriona Geneva Grace is the blue of her beat-up sedan. While luxury and vanity are terms she could use to describe her everyday life, they’re not words she lives by. Rather, they’re words that keep her fed—barely. As a receptionist at a medical spa, her life is far from glamorous, but she gets by. For Cait, anything beats the life she left behind when she said goodbye to her small town after high school.

 

His highness, Prince Henrik Stuart, is a slave to his royal status. Bound by duty and controlled by the crown, he fears a future chained to a woman of good breeding–a match not made in love. While known as the foolhardy prince, the thought of settling down isn’t what troubles him. Rather, if he could find a woman who cared nothing of his title, he would give her the world.

 

When a weekend trip leads to a chance meeting, both Caitriona and Henrik feel a spark between them unlike any they’ve experienced before. To each, the other is too good to be true, but one night of fun cannot be denied.When she said ‘yes’ to the handsome, green-eyed stranger, Caitriona didn’t know that she was stepping into her very own fairytale.

 

What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas…except when it’s legally binding.

*Recommended for readers 18+ due to Sexual Content and Language.

 

 

 

 

 

Royally Relinquished: A Modern Day Fairy Tale by Hayley FaimanThat was the book I just finished like five minutes ago – and I have been contemplating now for more than 24 hours – that was about when I hit the 25% mark – how I should write a review on this book or even give it a rating at all.

 

I know that books are like babies to their authors and since I am writing a little myself I know how it feels to come up face to face with a person that has a problem with something I wrote. So I have the highest respect for someone that places his writing out to the world to read – but reading for review also means that I cannot close my eyes and pretend that everything was ok for me.

 

Given the fact that I stay away (if possible) from spoilers in my reviews I have a little difficulty in describing my issues with this book. It was my first by this author therefore I do not know if this book is written in her usual style or if it is different but it what I know is that this book was not for me.

 

While I could not put it down (which is strange given the fact that it was not for me in the end), I came up with far to many loose ends or potholes as you may also call them. Events and facts that made no sense to me, that were simply wrong or felt wrong and in the end to top it off a male leading character that up until the last pages could not meet a standard of a fairytale prince.

 

I think I am capable of distinguishing facts and fiction, but when a fictional story uses a contemporary surrounding, I expect that daily events are kept real. If in a paranormal novel a vampire would drive a human car I would expect that car to have four wheels.

 

So one of my big issues in this plot is hidden in this link here – https://www.vegas.com/weddings/las-vegas-wedding-legal-requirements/ . (I did not check because of the book but because I was personally interested in it some time ago so when I came across it in the book it bugged me – and I think its no spoiler to mention it here as it is kind of mentioned in the book blurb)

 

Basically in this story it seems that there were a lot of ideas on the mind of the author that she tried to install into one plot no matter if they would work out or not or were even close to being believable, it was just TOO MUCH.

 

The plot idea it self was sweet and probably would have worked out just fine. But instead of simply staying in the sweet way that a fairytale should work, it feels that the author not only tried to make it modern by exchanging the carriages and horses with cars and planes but also she tried to give it more of an edge which did not work out at all…

 

If I would neglect my no spoiler rule I would not even know where to start with my problems. But still until the epilogue I was still positive that it would somehow work out – because I was still reading right ? So it meant that there was something in that story that kept me glued on my kindle. But it turns out that in the end I must have been a glutton for punishment.

 

I mean no disrespect to the work of this author but this fairytale dream turned out to be a royal nightmare for me and its crown was the epilogue that added more drama when an epilogue should be the closure to something and it installed the leading character as a man that is not able to change his ways.

 

In the end now – I had to check what my own rating system said and according to what I once fixed I can not rate this book with more than two stars because I finished it but it was far from a solid read to me. In this special case I really truly feel sorry about it because there was something there within the lines

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Crashing Into Me (Crashing Into Me #1) by R.L. Jackson

 

 

 

Crashing Into Me (Crashing Into Me #1)

  

Crashing Into Me
Crashing Into Me #1
R.L. Jackson
 February 14th 2017

 

An alternate cover for this edition can be found here.

Getting dumped at the altar almost broke Lana Mckenzie beyond repair. A year wiser and later she finally started to get her life back together. Until she runs into her ex and his new fiancé.

After an embarrassing ordeal in public, mortified and in need of a quick departure, she jumps at a chance opportunity to housesit.

Tucked away in Hamby, GA awaits a beautiful secluded estate up in the mountains.

Kayden Capshaw. Handsome, out of control, party-boy is still struggling with the death of his brother, trying to make amends with his sister and avoid his overbearing mother.

Wracked with grief, he heads to the house on the mountain to lay low, but that becomes impossible when he finds himself an unwelcome roommate to the distracting Lana.

She’s feisty, stubborn and gorgeous and he soon finds he can’t resist her.

He’s arrogant, flashy and hotter than the sun, and she’ll do everything she can, to stay away.

Soon Lana finds herself being drawn closer to him and the ice melts between them. It’s short-lived when unwelcomed guests arrive and threaten the delicate fabric of their new existence. Will the fiery passion they’ve discovered burn bright, or will outside forces put out the flames?

 

 

 

I read this book now because the second book is supposed to be released by the time I post this review. And as I am not a big fan of sitting on cliffhangers I try to keep my reading together as much as possible. 

Drawn to this book by its plot description I was in for a rude awakening because I did not expect that I would find it this difficult to connect with the writing style of the author.

The plotline felt jumpy and timeline not always right.

But my biggest issue came with the male lead. To say I did not like him would be putting it mildly – I flat out dislike him honestly. Given all his background and stuff his actions are really OUT OF CONTROL like the blub says just not in the way i would have thought. 

Sorry, I usually do not spoiler but running people of the road, running off , DUI and almost killing people in the process is not what I would call  “a party-boy taht is still struggling with the death of his brother, trying to make amends with his sister and avoid his overbearing mother.”

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Embracing Love (Once broken #1) by Alison Mello

Embracing Love (Once broken #1) by Alison Mello

 

September 11, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Embracing Love

 

 Alison Mello

 

 

 Once broken #1

 

  March 28th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 McKenzie McCormick moved back home for one reason only, and falling for a soldier isn’t it…Fort Stewart is only a few miles away, which means her hometown has its fair share of soldiers. But Kenzie chooses to steer clear of them, as she still struggles to cope with the grief of losing her father to war. All she wants to do is help her aunt take care of her ill grandmother—until a gorgeous green-eyed Army Captain moves back into town.The last thing Captain Remington Bennett expects to find is a pretty brunette while out on his morning run… Intrigued by the woman he passes almost every morning, Remy is determined to get to know the brown-eyed beauty. Kenzie is reluctant to get too close, but his persistence in pursuing her slowly breaks down her defenses, turning what started out as nothing more than a nod and a shy smile into something neither of them could have predicted. War has already taken too much from her, and Kenzie can’t afford to lose her heart to a soldier…Even though the mutual attraction becomes too strong to ignore, Kenzie keeps fighting her feelings for the handsome Captain. But when Remy is called out on a mission and she’s faced with the possibility he might not come back, Kenzie realizes she may have let her only chance at love slip through her fingers.Now that Kenzie is finally ready to embrace love with the kind of man she has spent her entire life avoiding, it might just be too late…

 

 

 

 

 

What happened ? those are the two words I am left with after I finished reading Embracing Love (Once broken #1) by Alison Mello. This was not the first book I read by this author so I was quite confident when I read the Blurb that I was going to like it. But then … I started reading it and from the first page on there was something off.

 

It was not the Blurb – there I am still very confident – because I really liked that. It was actually the writing – so I DO KNOW what happened to the book I am just not sure what happened to the writing style. The story lost itself in tiny background details like and while I am all in for a well developed background this was just too much.

 

The leading characters were so preoccupied in doing their background filling stuff that I did not see the actual story for a long time. Not even talking about a building relationship between Remington and McKenzie. I found my mind drifting while reading which is not a good sign.

 

Still I tried to find a connection to the story and its characters but then came the final nail to the coffin – I can not go into details as those would be a spoiler but I am referring to the part that happens after the Blurb mentions

 

“But when Remy is called out on a mission and she’s faced with the possibility he might not come back, Kenzie realizes she may have let her only chance at love slip through her fingers.Now that Kenzie is finally ready to embrace love with the kind of man she has spent her entire life avoiding, it might just be too late…”

 

This is not what I expected to happen from a women that was supposed to be in love, gosh – even from just a simple friend I would have expected something different, something MORE.

 

Which again brought me back to my final resume that the original story somehow got lost in the tiny background details and there really was no building relationship that felt real to me.

 

I am so so sorry about me being the odd one out here, especially as there were already books by this author that I liked. But this book just totally did not work for me even though the Blurb was good (which is the main reason I finished reading the book)

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Blindsided by Ava Ashley

Blindsided by Ava Ashley

 

September 20, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

Blindsided

 

 Ava Ashley

 

 

 March 6th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

Sex and spice and cold as ice. Those are the facts I uncover about football star Lennox Hardy after a long night of martinis and bad choices. Hardly the stuff of tabloid headlines. Everyone knows the Cougars’ star quarterback is a womanizing bad boy whose voicemail is practically set to “no comment.”What they might not know is that the sex? Kind of disappointing.Of course, that didn’t stop me from getting knocked up.But it’s when I confront Lennox and discover that I’d actually slept with his identical twin brother Logan, a rising politician, that my life goes from page twelve news to a gossip columnist’s wet dream.Lennox is used to cleaning up his brother’s messes, and he barely blinks before he asks me to move in with him and pretend the baby is his, at least until his brother’s election is over. Giving me full access to his elusive, private life and the story that will make my career.What’s a reporter to do?But sharing an apartment with a brooding, private man who’s sexy as sin and my raging hormones may not have been the best idea. And when the only investigating I do happens with our clothes off, I know my plan has gone seriously awry…

 

 

 

 

 

This story suffers from a bad case of “so not what I expected”-plotline. Others might feel totally different than me but there were several things that totally did not work for me. And while it is well written it was not for me.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Billionaire From San Diego (United States Of Billionaires Book 1) by Susan Westwood

 

 

 

The Billionaire From San Diego: A Thrilling BWWM Billionaire Romance (United States Of Billionaires Book 1)
 

  

The Billionaire From San Diego
United States Of Billionaires Book 1
Susan Westwood
January 14th 2018

 

Launch Sale: FREE to borrow with Kindle Unlimited for a limited time only, 99c to keep! Be quick!

When 22 year old Kelissa Knight received an invite to San Diego from a well known billionaire she was not sure what to do.

Then she thought “f*ck it!” and jumped on the plane.

David Rogers was as good looking as he was wealthy. All he wanted was a pretty woman on his arm to accompany him to the many social events he often attended.

Neither expected they would find love from this arrangement but love is often found in the most unexpected places.

However, Kelissa had no idea that falling in love with a billionaire from San Diego would come at such a big price.

This is because David has secrets. Dark ones. And they were coming back to haunt him at the worst time possible…

This is a SEXY and often THRILLING Billionaire Romance novel. If you like a romance that is a page turner and will keep you on the edge of your seat then this is the book for you. Download now and strap yourself in for a wild ride!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF RELEASE REVIEW

Release – Shake It Up by J Kenner

SIU_SBPR_RB BANNERShake It Up, an all-new sexy standalone by #1 New York Times bestselling author J. Kenner, is LIVE!

8 - August - Shake It Up

There are a million reasons why I need to stop thinking about Taylor D’Angelo naked.

She’s too young for me, for starters.

She’s too ambitious.

She’s my job.

Romance was the last thing on my mind when I agreed to look into her stalker as a favor.

Now, she’s all I can think about–and in every position I can imagine.

I’m not the only one obsessing.

The threats against her are intensifying along with our connection.

If I give in, if I let our bodies take over, it could draw her stalker out.

Our passion could save her.

Or it could destroy us both.

Meet Mr. August – He’ll do anything to protect her.

**Shake It Up is part of a binge read series by New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Publishers Weekly, and #1 International bestselling author of the million copy Stark series, J. Kenner.

Each book in the series is a STANDALONE novel with NO cliffhanger and a guaranteed HEA!

Available Now

Read Today!

Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2Hwr18K

Amazon Universal: http://mybook.to/ShakeItUp

iBooks: https://apple.co/2AutnBp

Nook: https://bit.ly/2FhtC4K

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2jgOL9P

Google Play: https://bit.ly/2r6KtC8

Add to GoodReads: https://bit.ly/2qXIvF4

SHAKE IT UP_TEASER 4.1

Start the Series of Standalones Today!

Down On Me

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2hqLF2p

Amazon Universal: myBook.to/DownOnMe

iBooks: http://apple.co/2AsnDrJ

Nook: http://bit.ly/2AsnOmT

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2iN8nOZ

Google Play: http://bit.ly/2iNkziM

Add to GoodReads: http://bit.ly/2jd6hs6

About J. Kenner

J. Kenner (aka Julie Kenner) is the New York Times, USA Today, Publishers Weekly, Wall Street Journal and #1 International bestselling author of over seventy novels, novellas and short stories in a variety of genres.

Though known primarily for her award-winning and international bestselling erotic romances (including the Stark and Most Wanted series) that have reached as high as #2 on the New York Times bestseller list, JK has been writing full time for over a decade in a variety of genres including paranormal and contemporary romance, “chicklit” suspense, urban fantasy, and paranormal mommy lit.

JK has been praised by Publishers Weekly as an author with a “flair for dialogue and eccentric characterizations” and by RT Bookclub for having “cornered the market on sinfully attractive, dominant antiheroes and the women who swoon for them.” A five time finalist for Romance Writers of America’s prestigious RITA award, JK took home the first RITA trophy awarded in the category of erotic romance in 2014 for her novel, Claim Me (book 2 of her Stark Trilogy). Her Demon Hunting Soccer Mom series (as Julie Kenner) is currently in development with AwesomenessTV/Awestruck.

Her books have sold over three million copies and are published in over twenty languages.

In her previous career as an attorney, JK worked as a clerk on the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, and practiced primarily civil, entertainment and First Amendment litigation in Los Angeles and Irvine, California, as well as in Austin, Texas. She currently lives in Central Texas, with her husband, two daughters, and two rather spastic cats.

jkenner

Connect with Julie:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JKennerBooks/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/juliekenner

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/juliekenner/

Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/+JulieKenner-author

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/juliekenner/

Tumblr: http://juliekenner.tumblr.com

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/juliekenner

Newsletter: http://juliekenner.com/contact/subscribe-to-the-julie-kenner-newsletter/

Website: www.jkenner.com

 

 

UNPOPULAR OPINION

Harsh but true for me!

How very lackluster & unimaginative. #Sorry #NotSorry

To write my review I went back and took a look at the blurb and wow the blurb is amazing. That should have been a sign. Was she too young? 11 years and seeing she was nearly 25 I don’t consider that to be jailbait.

Apparently she is too ambitious, yeah really saw none of that in the book. It was mentioned once that after her masters she wanted to go to LA or NY but as soon as she was with the Hero she was looking for jobs in Texas.

She’s his job, yeah only because you offered you twit and it’s not a job if you don’t get paid so you were actually doing Brent and Taylor a favour.

Usually Ms. Kenner can grip me with her writing and banter at least but here nada, zero, and zilch. It was torture to read. The whole stalker trope has been done so many times. Yawn It was like re-inventing the wheel. But churning out so many books in such a short period of time must have given her a lack of ideas.

It’s your typical trope, the villain has been caught but he escapes, hunts down the heroine shite hits the fan, the Hero is the knight in armour and it is all swept under the carpet because it is the end of the book. It was a whirlwind of a book and not in a good way.

I skimmed. There I said it. It was either that or throw my kindle through the room or dnf it. Not even the sex scenes could save it.

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Beg (God of Rock #2) by Eden Butler

 

 

 

Beg (God of Rock, #2)

  

Beg
God of Rock #2
Eden Butler
February 3rd 2018

 

I am a liar. My words were poison and everything I touched got filthy. Except Iris.

She was the best part of who I was. The only bright spark in my dull, gray world.

But denial made me stupid and a cruel insult destroyed everything I hoped to have with the girl of my dreams.

Now I will crawl on my knees and grovel because sometimes, even rock Gods have to beg.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Kneel (God of Rock #1) by Eden Butler

 

 

 

Kneel (God of Rock, #1)

  

Kneel
God of Rock #1
Eden Butler
 December 22nd 2017

 

Dash Justice wrote the songs everyone sings.

His face hangs on every girl’s wall. But Dash wasn’t always a rock God.

Once, he was just Jamie, the boy I loved.

But when my name, sung from his lips promised I was good for only one thing, all sweet thoughts of him die.

Now his excuses mean nothing. His apologies are weak and I’m about to show the world that even rock Gods can be brought to their knees.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Review – Talon (Uncompromising #1) by Sybil Bartel

Talon Review Goodreads

 

Uncompromising Series Book One

Talon

I surf.
I fuck.
I pretend to smile.

Two years ago my life was perfect, until it wasn’t. I scattered my wife’s ashes then walked away from the Marines. I didn’t think I had anything left to lose.

I was wrong.

The blond showed up at my surf shop, beaten and stabbed. I did what I was trained to do—I stitched her up. I didn’t have a clue who she was and I told myself I didn’t care. Until they came looking for her.

I swore I’d take my last breath before I let anyone else hurt her except I didn’t know she was keeping a deadly secret. Now I had two choices, her life or mine.

Marriage and combat taught me the same thing—I was no one’s hero. And I was about to prove it.

 

I didn’t know until I started reading this book that it was a spin off series from the ‘Unchecked’ series. This is a peeve for me as I hate it when I don’t know it beforehand. I feel as if I’ve missed something and that I need to back track and read the others. I didn’t with this book.

This was a nice quick read that was easy to read and sucked you into the story but and this is just my personal opinion, most of the heroes in books like these become game changers. Which I’m slightly irritated by.

This had the possessive hero in all his glory although he didn’t want it as he thought that he had already lost too much to care but he is wrong.

The heroine has secrets but the Hero gets to the bottom of things. They are instantly attracted to one another but the one thing that annoyed me was that she just stabbed someone and she’d been stabbed and they decide to go at it? Ah she has been stabbed dude! That shit has got to hurt.

Every time I thought that we were then getting somewhere then something would arise which frustrated me.

I can only say that in this case it is not the author or the book but me and that isn’t just a line. So please be aware that this is my opinion on this review and can only be taken at face value.

1 2 3 9
error: Content is protected !!