2 STARS

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Snowed In by Shannon R. Nemechek

 

 

Snowed In (A Warranted Series Novella)

  

 Snowed In
Shannon R. Nemechek
 November 7th 2017

 

I met her, the girl of my dreams. We shared a kiss, we fell in love…and then I was deployed.

Now I’m back, but I’m no longer the man I used to be. I’m injured, scarred, and chances are I might never fully recover.

My heart still belongs to her—Annabelle—but my love for her demands I let her go. She deserves more than a broken man’s love, more than what I can offer.

But now, as I stare at her beautiful face, the sight of her cracking my heart in two, I pray I can be strong enough not to succumb to temptation. Both of us need time alone with our thoughts, so we came to the one place that made us feel whole again.   

Now we’re trapped in her family cabin, and I can’t help but wonder whether being snowed in with Annabelle is a wonderful mistake…or a disaster waiting to happen.

 

 

 

Most probably this is a nice story. But it really felt unreadable as a standalone to me. I only managed to read the first maybe 20 pages and I had to DNF because I could not get through the amount of stuff I did not know. Most probably because it had been told before in another book. So if you try to read this story be sure to check on previous books. I might revisit this at a later time when I had the chance to read previous stories but until than this is my oppinion … 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Under Siege by Aria Cole

 

 

 

Under Siege

  

Under Siege
Aria Cole
November 26th 2017

 

What happens when ten-foot-tall and bulletproof asks you to spend thirty days alone with him?

Tinsley Abernathy never thought she’d have to ask herself that question. And Ash Ford isn’t just any run-of-the-mill, drop-dead-gorgeous stranger, he’s the soldier she’s been exchanging letters with every week for the last three years. And now he’s back in town. And he’s ready to meet her.
After all, Ash has a proposition Tinsley would be crazy to refuse….

Warning: Ash is one sticky, sweet, military muscle-man in camo cargos. He’s set his sights on one woman only, and he won’t stop until her heart is Under Siege.

 

 

 

I wonder what the next and even faster description would be after using the line “insta-love” – because as much as I sometimes struggle with Insta-Love this here is not event that. The reader is thrown into a given situation without much explanation. No introduction to the characters no nothing. And than he is supposed to “understand” a relationship that happens within only a few pages. Sorry but this was not for me.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR 2 STAR 3 STAR 4 STAR 5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Books of 2017

My aim was to read 150 books this year. I wanted to read less compared to the other years. Yes I consider 150 books to be light reading. Yep I’m crazy. 

I actually managed to read 272 books this year. There is a lot to say about the books that I read this year. Around 160 where ARCs the rest I actually bought. Yes, I bought books. I’ve managed to get a lot of hit reads but there were times when it was a major miss. My taste in books has also changed and I read books I normally wouldn’t have read. I even started buying paperbacks again. There is just something about having books on your shelves. 

The Good, the Bad & the Ugly. 

My first read of 2017 and it didn’t go as planned. I wanted to start out with a bang and all I got was a poof.

 

Let’s get to the rest of the year so here comes the Good of 2017

 

 

 

Top 10 and in no particular order. These are all 4/5 Star reads. 

 

Come Closer by Brenda Rothert

A pleasure to read actually for me it was pure perfection. There were so many twists and turns and I usually see them coming but here nope. I had no clue what was going to happen. 

Dear Aaron by Marina Zapata

One of the best books where all of the interaction took place via email. Ms. Zapata is the QUEEN of slow burn crockpot romance. Read her other books as well. 

Gifts by Brynne Asher

The third book in the series and one of my favourites. Ms. Asher is an author that is extremely underestimated IMO and deserves more recognition. Asa the Hero of the book is one of the best Hero’s of 2017. 

The Staff and the Blade by Elizabeth Hunter

One of the most unique series in paranormal romance. The main characters love spanned a lifetime and was so beautiful. 

Sugar & Gold by Emma Scott.

Ms. Scott is my new to me author of 2017. The first book I read by her was The Butterfly Project and well she is a genius and blends a lot of unique characters to fall in love. 

           

Gun Shy by Lili St. Germain.

When you request a book by this author you just know that it will be filled with mindfuckery. 

“Beware the dark pool at the bottom of our hearts. In its icy, black depths dwell strange and twisted creatures it is best not to disturb.”

Pretty much sums it up. Even now when I think of the heroine she still gives me goose bumps. 

Bombshell by C.D. Reiss.

My first read by this author and I loved every moment of it. There was no other woman drama and the real star of the book was the little Bombshell. I am impressed by the author’s work not all of it is for me but that is fine. 

Ashwin by Kit Rocha.

A spin-off series from Beyond and I waited a frigging long time for Ashwin to get his book with Dr. Cora. These two really know how to create a world. If you’re not into kink then you don’t have to read the Beyond Series although it is amazing to read. 

Crave Me by Cecy Robson

Loud and brash Irish family that get involved in everything? Sign me up. I loved the heroine in this book and how they complemented one another. There were so many laugh out loud moments. The book is a riot.

Storm Gathering by Rebecca Zanetti

There are so many dystopian series out there but this one tops all of them and a bonus? It’s not for teenagers but for adults. I have loved this series from the beginning and would recommend it. 

Let’s get to the rest of the year so here comes the Worst of 2017

 

Top 10 and in no particular order.

                  

Something There and in Between by S. Ferguson. 

The Hero gushes about the heroine throughout the beginning of the book and then decides to get a bj from the bird his brother fobbed off on him. And to leave with her. The heroine can’t be that important. 

Darkest Sunrise by Aly Martinez

Keeping it real here. I don’t want predictable from this author. I want exceptional and this isn’t what I got.

Breaking Grace by Rose Devereux. 

Just wrong on so many levels. 

Midnight Kiss by Thea Harrison

If you’ve read the other books then you know why this fell short. 

Born to be Wilde by Jenn Stark

Although the heroine is kickarse she is just too predictable in her actions and doesn’t think before she does something which only gets her into trouble. Probably meant to be that way but it doesn’t work for me. 

                  

I knew You were Trouble by Lauren Layne. 

The MC antagonised one another too much. They were downright mean to one another and that is the kind of shite I don’t want to read about. I was finding the author’s books tiresome but then I met her and well she wasn’t what I expected. 

Oracle’s Moon by Thea Harrison. 

Yes she made it twice. This book bored me to frigging tears. Nuff said. 

Forged in Desire by Brenda Jackson.

I caught a lot of flack for this review in 2017. I once again found that the story and the author’s writing skills (what skills?) didn’t appeal to me. 

Fake Fiancée by Ilsa Madden-Mills. 

Not liking it is completely on me is that I thought a Fake Fiancée sounded cool and was intrigued and it is by the talented Ilsa Madden-Mills. But the fake fiancée is a well-used plot sometimes it works sometimes it doesn’t.

 

The Hitchhiker by Charlie Lee. 

What is completely on me is that I thought a Fake Fiancée sounded cool and was intrigued and it is by the talented Ilsa Madden-Mills. But the fake fiancée is a well-used plot sometimes it works sometimes it doesn’t.

Let’s get to the rest of the year so here comes the Ugly of 2017. 

 

There really wasn’t a lot of Ugly this year. But there were some series that I started that turned frigging ugly.

The Fever Series. 

Original, action-packed with amazing characters that keep you hooked to the book. All worked well until book 5 where Mac still wasn’t getting any slack and IMO she is TSTL.

Her reasoning in book 5 was ridiculous to say the least. Maybe one day I will go back to it. 

              

Charley Davidson Series. 

I’ve decided to stop with this series because even though I like Charley and her awesome sarcasm. I just can’t deal with her & Reyes at the moment. Maybe I will change my mind but I found out they get back to square one later on in the series. So no! I mean why?

 

       

The First Taste by Jessica Hawkins

This was recommended to me by a friend of mine and it was a freebie as well so I just couldn’t say no. This book is amazing and surprised me so much that I consider it to be one of my favourites. 

The Ghostwriter by Alessandra Torre

This is my first book by this author and I was blown away with what was delivered. Be aware that it isn’t romance but a mystery/thriller. To be honest I don’t know why I picked it up but I’m glad I did. I’ve also bought the paperback, so nuff said really. 

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

This was a charity shop buy as a paperback as everybody had been raiving about this series and well I didn’t want to pay that much. Another book in a genre I wouldn’t have usually read. But it is YA Fantasy apparently Erotica as well. I see some bits but not all of it. 

        

The hard truth about Sunshine by Sawyer Bennett. 

This here once again isn’t your typical romance but more of what life throws at you and what you make out of the lemons that you get. It had me laughing and crying all over the place. An outstanding read!

The Bourbon Thief by Tiffany Reisz

Just. Read. This. Book!

Spellbinder by Thea Harrison

A fabulous paranormal read where I thought I wouldn’t like the Hero but he is an Anti-Hero which made it all so much better. Thea Harrison is a fantastic author and although two of her books are on my worst list of 2017 the others outweigh those two by miles.  

The Kate Daniels Series.

   

One of the best series that I have ever read. I love the world that has been created. When I grow up I want to be Kate Daniels. Curran is an amazing Hero. Oh then there is Derek. But the best thing of all? Hugh D’Ambray. 

                                  

The Boston Underworld Series.

I avoid mafia books like the plague but when I was at RARE #17 in Berlin I met the author and I bought the second book, she was generous enough to give me the first book for free and since then I have been hooked.  

               

 

 

  • I was bullied into taking a review down by an author and till this day I really regret it. 
  • It was an honour when Ms. Hunter asked me to be on her ARC review team. 
  • I was trolled on numerous accounts and I’m not sure why. Being judged for not wanting to read a book is ridiculous. I don’t force my tastes on other people so why do it to me?

On a personal note not everything in 2017 was shiny for me. 

We tried a medical treatment and it didn’t take. I was gutted but apart from that I’m alright. 

The Pursuit of Happiness seems like an Urban Myth. It seems my expectations are too high. 

What I would like for 2018

To move buy/build a house. 

A new job because I am being smothered by my boss in so many ways and I need a new challenge.

Bookwise I would say that I want to read quality books. No more bad writing. No more unappealing titles. No more misleading blurbs. To finish series that I have started.  

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Dead End Road by Lori Whitwam

 

 

Dead End Road

  

 Dead End Road
Lori Whitwam
July 4th 2017

 

A writer, a musician, an unexpected love…and a killer who wants to destroy it all.

Reclusive author Abby Delaney never dreamed she’d meet her rock-n-roll fantasy Seth Caldwell in her quaint, lakeside town…or that his love might be deadly.

Seth is weary of road trips, endless parties, and dead-end relationships, but what choice does he have? Songwriting and performing are all he knows. Then he meets Abby and finally finds a heart he can’t stand to break.

But forget small-town tranquility. An attempt is made on Seth’s life, and another mysterious death hits eerily close to home.
Everyone’s a suspect, he’s taunted with ominous messages, and it’s only a matter of time until the killer finds his mark.
What if the only way to keep Abby safe is to do the one thing she can never forgive—walk away?

As the noose tightens, one thing becomes clear…

If the killer isn’t found soon, Seth and Abby will take their love to the grave.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Grind (Thrust #3) by Sybil Bartel

 

 

Grind (Thrust, #3)

  

Grind
Thrust #3
Sybil Bartel
 June 2017

 

Dane

I’m silent. I’m trained. I’m lethal.

My hand skimming down your thigh, my gaze a weapon—I know more ways to kill you than please you.

But you’re not paying for my aim. You’re paying for my control. Bringing you a breath away from ecstasy, watching you beg as I hold back your release, I’ll show you exactly what you’ve been missing. Your hunger is my currency and five thousand is my price. I only have one rule—no repeats, because I’m not for keeps. I’m for sale.

One slow grind and I’ll give you exactly what you paid for.

 

 

 

Drawn to this book by the beautiful cover I was disapointed by the character development / plot development …. The male lead probably was supposed to feel like an alpha male but to me he felt more like his ego was to large for his appearance.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Thrust (Thrust #1) by Sybil Bartel

 

 

 

Thrust (Thrust, #1)

  

 Thrust
 Thrust
Sybil Bartel
December 2016

 

I know the game. I know the angle. I know how to make you beg.

My hands on your body, my mouth hovering over yours—I’ll tell you everything you want to hear. Ten inches of real estate never felt so good.

But don’t take my word for it. My client list is long and my motto is short—one single thrust and you’re mine. I’m not good at what I do, I’m fantastic. But satisfaction doesn’t come cheap. So open your wallet and prepare to forget your name. I’m about to ruin you for any other man.

One single thrust and you’re mine.

 

 

 

Drawn to this book by the beautiful cover I was disapointed by the character development / plot development …. The male lead probably was supposed to feel like an alpha male but to me he felt more like his ego was to large for his appearance.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

A Thousand Letters by Staci Hart

A Thousand Letters by Staci Hart

 

August 10, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 A Thousand Letters

 

 Staci Hart

 

 

  

February 9th 2017 

 

 

 

 

 

Sometimes your life is split by a single decision. I’ve spent every day of the last seven years regretting mine: he left, and I didn’t follow. A thousand letters went unanswered, my words like petals in the wind, spinning away into nothing, taking me with them. But now he’s back.I barely recognize the man he’s become, but I can still see a glimmer of the boy who asked me to be his forever, the boy I walked away from when I was young and afraid. Maybe if he’d come home under better circumstances, he could speak to me without anger in his voice. Maybe if I’d said yes all those years ago, he’d look at me without the weight of rejection in his eyes. Maybe if things were different, we would have had a chance. One regretted decision sent him away. One painful journey brought him back to me. I only wish I could keep him.

 

*A contemporary romance inspired by Jane Austen’s Persuasion*

 

 

 

 

 

It might have been a great story but I could not moove past the fact that it was not only “inspired” by Jane Austen but also written in a style like Jane Austen would have done. That might be great for some readers I do not doubt that but it was not for me – sorry 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Forever Black by Sandi Lynn

Forever Black by Sandi Lynn

 

June 23, 2014

reviewed for

Jeri

 

 

Title : Forever Black

Author : Sandi Lynn

Series : Forever, #1

Rating : 2 Stars

 

Blurb : When Ellery moved to New York with her boyfriend, she thought they’d live happily ever after in their small New York apartment. She never thought he’d pack his bags and leave because he “needed space.” With her newfound single status and fear of being alone, Ellery buries herself in her artwork and paintings until one night she helps a mysterious intoxicated stranger get home safely. Little did she know the mysterious stranger is none other than CEO and millionaire Connor Black. After finding Ellery in his kitchen the next morning and assuming she broke his #1 rule about sleepovers, he becomes intrigued, not only by her stubbornness and defiance, but by her kindness.

Connor Black, emotionally dead and damaged, that stemmed from a personal tragedy, made a vow to never love or fall in love with a woman, until Ellery Lane walked into his life by accident. After she opens up and shows him her world, Connor starts to feel emotions and feelings he never knew existed. Despite the rumors and warnings regarding Connor Black and his use and misuse of women, Ellery finds herself being drawn into his world.

Ellery knows they can never be together because she is harboring a deep secret that could destroy Connor emotionally forever.
Join Connor and Ellery as they embark on a journey of courage, love and strength. Will it be enough to save them?

 

Review : I really – really wanted to like this book. You can check my normal ratings and will see that I am a generous Person with my stars.
But with this book I am having serious issues…
why?
when sitting in a train at a full speed and looking outside – what do you see ? – a blurr – everything is moving so fast you can not get a hold of anything – nothing is clear…
And this book made me feel like trying to read a story that hat the speed of an high speeding train… or maybe even a racecar …
The storyline was good – don’t misunderstand me – but the characters keept moving so fast that there was absolutly no time to give them deepth …. they were shallow…
I had the constant feeling like beeing pushed through the book – the story jumped – yes – JUMPED forward … like watching a film on fast forward …
which is a very unpleasend feeling when you started a book with the real feeling you would like it because of the storyline.
Normally i do not judge to harsh – as I know how hard it is to blow life into a creation like this story – and I don’t stick to judging typing mistakes or anything – as english is not my native – i would never dare to critizice gramma.
But the speed in this story – togehter with the jumping – is a real dealbreaker that even the good storyline couldn’t catch for me
Sorry – I really wanted to like it             

 

Cliffhanger : (KLICK to find out) !!!

 

HEA? :       (KLICK to find out) !!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Review – It’s You (It’s You #1) by by Katy Regnery/K.P. Kelley

Goodreads Review

 

 

ONCE UPON A TIME…
the most beautiful boy in the world kissed me.
I’ve never been able to forget.
Perhaps it was his jet-black hair,
or the changing copper-color of his eyes,
the intense way he looked at me…
or the fact that he awakened my passion for the first time,
at once otherworldly yet heartbreakingly real.

After that kiss, I never saw him again.

His name was Jack Beauloup.
Jack, my “Beautiful Wolf.”

Twenty years passed.
He has returned.
For me.

ODD. READER. OUT.

WARNING.

UNPOPULAR REVIEW AHEAD.

To all you readers that have rated the book with 4 & 5 stars. I would like to say that I am tickled pink that you loved it so much. It is a known fact that we can’t all like the same things and whereas I’m not on the same page about this book I am on the same page about this author.

What I love is when authors want to spread out into different genres. Ms. Regnery spread her wings with the Fairytale books they were darker and grittier then her other books. She found her groove and went with it and rocked it might I add. So her branching out to paranormal romance? Well although under a different name as in K.P. Kelley it was interesting for her to spread those wings and from all the fantastic reviews she rocked this as well.

You can tell that research has been done and that something unique was created and yet with all this I still am disappointed in what I have read.

It all started with a kiss. Over twenty bloody years. I could deal with ten years but twenty even if there is a binding come on, really? Yes, yes I seem to be cold hearted at Christmas time. All the terminology used then got confusing. Yeah you’re all thinking you dumb mare it isn’t rocker science. I think either way I’m on the shit list here so I might as well go all in. Since that summer and Darcy’s magical kiss she has had visions. What she likes to call it is Soulflight. That aspect intrigued me but what she kept on dreaming or seeing was always the same. Then we have Eyespeak and a binding. I have to say though that a lot of things were repetitive.

I found the writing style to be slow paced and that isn’t what I expect in a paranormal romance. Although picturesque and poetic in its story telling I found it still to be verbose.

I had no fucking clue what was going on which hold your horses people before you start throwing stones at me not a bad thing but how it is portrayed by the main characters of the book. I am so impressed by this character that I had to go and check her name again. Her name is Darcy for some reason I kept on seeing an Emma. The book and the characters are okay. Why oh why did Willow keep on calling Emma, sorry Darcy kid? It drove me absolutely frigging bonkers. They are the same age and Willow doesn’t act any more mature than Em, Darcy. Darcy even emphasised the fact that when she called Willow kid that it is implied that she didn’t like it.

A lot of description and narration but not a lot of conversation I just found it hard to believe.

#NOTSORRY

I stopped reading @ 63 % so basically I got Darcy’s side of the story but not Jack’s but that is fine. No. really. It. Is. FINE.  Seeing as I read that much of the book I think I have the right to rate it.

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Quicksand (Only Time Will Tell Series: Book One) by Dyllan J. Erikson

 

 

 

Quicksand (Only Time Will Tell Series: Book One)

  

Quicksand
Only Time Will Tell Series: Book One
Dyllan J. Erikson
 October 13th 2017

 

I thought I was prepared for all the ‘what if’s’.

I was prepared for the long deployments. I was prepared for the risks that come with being a military wife. But what I never considered was that he would bring the war home with him. I never thought he would take his own life.

For two years, I’ve woken every morning with a shattered heart. Two soul crushing years of sitting in this house alone, missing him. Until I wrote it all down, put my finger on the button, and clicked.

One single email.

One small confession.

And everything changed.

 

 

 

When I opened this book I was expecting something along the lines of Marian Zapata’s Dear Aaron. And I truly believe the author could nail this because this story has all the potential for it. But as it is now it feel like a rushed Insta love version and that is something that totally does NOT work with sensitive subjects as suicide and PTSD. It left me angry to be honest because of the potential the actual plot had. If I could suggest something to the author it would be :“ revisit this story and rework it to get rid of the Insta love and do it quick so the story will get a fair chance besides books like Dear Aaron”

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 4