2 STARS

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

ATTIC REVIEW : Jerk: Bad Boy Sports Romance by Vanessa La Porte

ATTIC REVIEW : Jerk: Bad Boy Sports Romance by Vanessa La Porte

 
 

March 20, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :             Jerk: Bad Boy Sports Romance

Author :           Vanessa La Porte

Series :            n/a

Release date :   November 2nd 2016

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : The Star of the Football Team is Her Idea of A Neighbor From H-E-L-L!

So Why is She So Attracted to Him?

 

~*Chance*~

 

Another day, another letter.

 

Another STUPID-ASS letter from my stick in the mud neighbor complaining about the noise… again! She thinks annoying me with these dumb notes is the best way to get me to turn the music down? Yeah right! Every time I get another complaint from her, I’m just going to turn the music up louder and party even harder. And if she calls the cops on me one more time, I will make her life hell! I’m just having a little fun… maybe she should try it sometime.

 

When I finally come face to face with her… I’ll be damned if she isn’t the hottest stick in the mud I’ve ever seen. I’m about to pound this girl hard and make her scream my name louder than my music ever was… she can write me a letter about it later. I won’t stop until I make this girl mine…

 

Read to the end and enjoy FREE full story bonuses!!

 

AUTHOR’S NOTE: This book contains adult themes and language and is intended for 18+ readers only.

 

Review : 

 

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

 
 
 
 
2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

BLOG REVIEW : Blind (Senses #1) by Xavier Neal

BLOG REVIEW : Blind (Senses #1) by Xavier Neal

 
 

March 23, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Blind

Author :           Xavier Neal

Series :            Senses #1

Release date :   September 1st 2014

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Aside from being blind to the fact his best friend, Maxx Hughes, is madly in love with him, Logan ‘Unbreakable’ Kellar has it made. He’s the best amateur fighter at TKO, has a buffet line of women desperate to be taken by him, and three friends that are his family. However, when Maxx crosses over from Logan’s blind spot on the side lines to the dead center of his vision, he realizes that he can’t stay blind to the fact this girl, is the girl.

 

Review : Yeah its probably me being the odd one out here but this was an almost DNF for me – because I found myself skimming the pages. Others found the writings style charming – I thought it was rather annoying. And the leading characters were not that good either. I am really sorry for being so blunt but this was not a book for me. 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

ATTIC REVIEW : Woodsman: A Bad Boy Romance by Abby Brooks, Wren Williams

ATTIC REVIEW : Woodsman: A Bad Boy Romance by Abby Brooks, Wren Williams

 
 

March 27, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Woodsman: A Bad Boy Romance

Author :           Abby Brooks, Wren Williams

Series :            n/a

Release date :   October 2nd 2016

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : “Oh you sweet thing. Tonight, let me show you what it means to be mine.”

 

Skye

 

On my twenty-first birthday, I did a dangerous thing. Something so reckless and wild it changed the way I think of myself. The only person who knows the whole story is a man with a gun and a thunderstorm in his eyes. A man I never thought I’d see again outside of my wildest fantasies and dirtiest daydreams. Now, three years later, I see him walking down the street in my hometown like he belongs here. I need to find him. I need to talk to him. I never even found out his name.

 

Ethan

 

I’m not a bad man, but I’ve done bad things. Three years ago, I made a choice that changed the course of my life. A choice that made me drop everything and run. A choice with only one witness, a girl in a black dress and red f*ck me heels. A girl so beautiful, no woman has lived up to her since. When I see her again three years later, I know I should keep on walking. Danger is following me and I’d be a fool to lead it to her. Turns out I’m a selfish bastard because nothing on earth could make me walk away without her.

 

Review :

 

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF READING

REVIEW : Tailor Made by Tasha Lewis

 

 

 

Tailor Made

  

Tailor Made
Tasha Lewis
May 14th 2018

 

Rayleigh
Dating, who has time for that? Between working and my art, I have room for nothing else. That is until my best friend sets me up on Tailor Made: a website where I can design the perfect guy and my dream date. Crazy? I thought so too. Until he shows up and proves me wrong. It’s supposed to be just one night of fun, but in my life, things rarely go according to plan.

Mason
Working at Tailor Made is the perfect arrangement: all the perks of dating without the commitment. Between school, two jobs and raising my sister, I don’t have time for relationships, nor the demands that come with them. Then a client books me for a night out and I know, one night will never be enough. What’s supposed to be a simple date, just a job, flips my world upside down.

Sometimes the perfect fit comes along when you least expect it.

 

 

 

I usually don’t “do” spoilers and this is actually not a review – this is the email that I send the author to explain my rating therfore it contains spoilers so do not read further if you would like to avoid those

Knowing how hard it is to place your debut “baby” out there it is double bad to get the first rating that is not good.

Thing is reviews need to be respectful BUT honest otherwise they do not help in any way

I liked the storyline really but I feel it needs editing. There are the issues I mentioned and while I read on (and finished) there were a few others that I did not list because at that time I already felt that the story needed someone to have a look at it. I rarely do Beta reading because English is only my second language and hesitate to correct grammar when I can hardly follow the rules myself.

What I do is automatically check the consistency of stories … it’s like a curse like an OCD I can not stop it.

Don’t feel bad if several people read the story and did not find the issues … I think its impossible to have one person do both at the same time – check grammar and consistency.
Also if people close to you read the story they will never be as critical as strangers no matter how hard they try – only strangers can do that
And the author is also not able to check because when you are the source of the story everything makes sense.

The consistency issues are one thing but why I honestly can not give the book the 4/5 stars that the storyline should have received is another problem. This book is designed as a romance and it starts out great and mysterious but then the romance gets lost in tiny details that are repeated several times (like the way the breakfast sandwich is prepared – just one example). The spark is taken out of the plot to early (he knows where she lives – he could have simply dropped the phone number at any given time in her mailbox) and the characters seem to be sidelined around their issues (at times they almost forget about each other I could not feel the yearning), after their first meeting where they really had something in the storyline going for them THEIR story is lost … People pop up throwing things into the plot just to disappear again leaving me as a reader wondering about the meaning – her boss – the tailor … there were just too many things around their romance that left me wondering …. other issues were left open or disappeared into thin air (he could not contact her – even given her his number for months and then suddenly it was just a mistake that he kind of misunderstood the contract he requested himself) – at the end I wondered where the romance went because the spark I felt, in the beginning, was not there anymore #sigh

Really it might be just me and my curse to always think too deep when I go into a book but I need things to make sense no matter if a story is contemporary or even paranormal – my “curse” demands that.
I checked last night after I finished what other readers thought so far – ( I try to avoid doing that before I write my review so I am not influenced) – so far the readers were generous. Are they avoiding to be the first ones to give a bad rating ? not sure. Am I to critical ? Maybe

But one thing is sure – I will not be the only one noticing things and now there is still time to consider combing the story with some very critical beta readers.

So – this email is basically my review that I will hide on Goodreads as I usually don’t post spoilers but when I started reviewing – much like Mason made his contract – I made my review rules so I do not waver when it gets hard/difficult and when I take a look at them I have no other choice and I hope you can forgive me for only leaving two stars with the story as it is .

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

ATTIC REVIEW : Wired (The Solomon Brothers #1) by Leslie North

ATTIC REVIEW : Wired (The Solomon Brothers #1) by Leslie North

 
 

April 1, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Wired

Author :           Leslie North

Series :            The Solomon Brothers #1

Release date :   November 1st 2016

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Star quarterback Marcus Kingston lives and breathes football. He’s trusted his abilities and instincts to get him this far, but an injury last season nearly ended his career. When his coaches want him to wear biofeedback technology to analyze his game, Marcus thinks the idea is ridiculous. Plus, the mousy scientist behind the project knows nothing about sports, and she quickly gets under his skin. But with another QB waiting on the sidelines, Marcus can either agree to participate, or be benched—permanently.

 

Scientist Clare Wynifred values intellect above most things. With her brain constantly working, she has little interest in her appearance and zero interest in sports. She never imagined her wearable tech being used to improve someone’s game, but its success with the team could get her a military contract. Clare may be too late to save her brother, but her technology could save the lives of countless soldiers. She just has to make it work with the stubborn quarterback, and she’ll be one step closer to her goal.

 

Marcus and Clare butt heads at first, but their mutual attraction quickly grows. And yet, with everything to lose, it’s easy to ignore that together they might be able to go the distance.

 

Review :

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Rising (Vincent and Eve #1) by Jessica Ruben

 

 

 

Rising (Vincent and Eve #1)

  

Rising
Vincent and Eve #1
Jessica Ruben
May 1st 2018

 

As the bus approaches my stop on the Lower East Side, I raise the hood of my black sweatshirt. Anonymity is key in my neighborhood—particularly as a lone female walking at night.

All I want is to leave my crime-ridden shadow of a home in New York City. I’ve done everything I can to keep my head down and focus on my studies. College is my only goal; love has never been on the map…
That is, until my sister brings me to an underground fight, where I meet a gorgeous and mysterious man: Vincent.

He is the ghost in my shadows, showing up to feed me pieces of his upper-crust life, then evaporating into darkness until his next visit. I’m falling hard and fast. How can I trust him amidst the depth of his secrets?

Vincent may be even more dangerous than the dark world I’m trying to escape.

 

 

 

I really tried to like this book as I had high hopes for the plot. But the way the author told the story was absolutely not my taste. There will be lots of people out there loving the story this way but I am not one of them.

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

ATTIC REVIEW : Seaside Hearts (Seaside Summers #2) by Melissa Foster

ATTIC REVIEW : Seaside Hearts (Seaside Summers #2) by Melissa Foster

 
 

April 7, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

Title :              Seaside Hearts

Author :            Melissa Foster

Series :            Seaside Summers #2

Release date :   October 21st 2014

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Seaside Hearts is a USA Today BestsellerJenna Ward is vivacious, spontaneous, and confident—except when she’s around the man who stole her heart years earlier, strikingly handsome, quiet, and reliable Pete Lacroux. After years of trying to get his attention and overwhelmed from dealing with her mother’s new cougar lifestyle, Jenna’s giving up on Peter—and is ready to explore other men.As the eldest of five siblings, with an alcoholic father to care for, boat craftsman Pete Lacroux always does the right thing and has no time for a real relationship. He’s looking forward to seeing his friend Jenna, a welcome distraction who’s so damn sexy and so painfully shy that she equally entertains and confuses him.When Jenna picks up a hard-bodied construction worker, jealousy ignites Pete’s true feelings, and he’s powerless to ignore the desires for Jenna he never realized he had. But Pete’s not the quiet guy he appears to be, and his life is anything but conducive to a relationship. Can Jenna handle the real Pete Lacroux—the sexiest, most passionate alpha male she’s ever seen—or will she crack under pressure? And can Pete reclaim the life he once had without tearing apart his family?

 

Review : Again and again I am trying to read books from Authors like Melissa Foster. They are so popular to the wide public – yet they do nothing to fulfill my reading needs.

They are not bad novels but they are to fluffy and to nice for my taste.

While I also crave a Happy Ending for the characters in the books I love – I want mine to suffer before reaching it and books like this simply can not satisfy that demand

But on the other hand if you love it fluffy and nice than Melissa Foster is def. your author because her writing is well developed and her plots have depths.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Signs of a Quiet Heart (My Heart Is Yours, #1) by Teri McGill

 

 

Signs of a Quiet Heart (My Heart Is Yours, #1)

  

Signs of a Quiet Heart
My Heart Is Yours, #1
Teri McGill
February 9th 2015

 

When Robbi Bennett, special education teacher extraordinaire, decided to move from New York to California, it was for reasons beyond trading snowstorms for sunshine and surfing. Following the tragic death of her parents, and several doomed relationships, she craved a fresh start; an opportunity to reinvent herself.
Tyler D’Angelo, bad-boy biker and self-proclaimed man-whore, equates love with weakness. For decades, he has kept his heart on lockdown, but meeting Robbi turns his solitary life inside out as they are inexplicably drawn to each other. Can love be strong enough to overcome a lifetime of fear?
Note: There is a cliffhanger involving secondary characters, which does not affect the romance. The mystery is eventually resolved in Book 2, with the assistance of several new characters.

(This story features deaf and hard-of-hearing characters. The story also involves information related to deafness, deaf education, and American Sign Language.)

 

 

 

I am really not sure what to say about this book as there was not really anything I liked about it …

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

ATTIC REVIEW : Uncontrollable (Country Roads #6) by Shannon Richard

ATTIC REVIEW : Uncontrollable (Country Roads #6) by Shannon Richard

 
 

April 12, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Uncontrollable

Author :           Shannon Richard

Series :            Country Roads #6

Release date :   November 1st 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : THE THIN LINE BETWEEN LOATHING . . . AND LUST

 

It’s been a tough year for Beth Boone. She’s lost the person she cared about the most: her big sister. But Beth isn’t grieving alone. She’s now guardian to her sister’s three children and though she loves them fiercely, so far she’s not exactly winning at parenting. In this noisy, peanut-butter-everywhere chaos, there is no calm. None. So Beth has zero patience with the infuriating guy next door-not to mention his destruct-o “puppy”-wreaking more havoc in her life.Except that Tripp Black is all muscles, deep brown eyes, and lips that promise way-too-delicious things. Every time Tripp and Beth confront each other, there’s an undercurrent of red-hot sexual tension, one that threatens to break down all her carefully constructed walls. She’s been burned before, and Tripp is a self-proclaimed bachelor for life. There’s no way that Beth’s too-hot-neighbor-from-hell could ever be the man for her-until their uncontrollable attraction becomes so much more

 

Review :

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Cowboys Don’t Dance by Linda Style

 

 

 

Cowboys Don't Dance

  

 Cowboys Don’t Dance
 Linda Style
November 25th 2014

 

LOVE…REDEMPTION…AND SECOND CHANCES

HE’S GOT NOTHING TO LOSE…
Fate has taken away everything former hot-shot Air Force pilot J.D. Rivera ever held dear–his family, his fiancée and his career. Inheriting his crazy aunt’s broken down ranch in Los Rios, Arizona, is the last thing he wants. For J.D. the ranch is just another bad memory. But if he doesn’t take over the ranch, all the people who work there will lose their jobs. And the one person who’d believed in him would cry in her grave.

SHE COULD LOSE EVERYTHING…
A traumatic experience caused Madeline Inglewood to withdraw from life, but now she’s determined to change all that. Maddy believes her new job teaching English to Spanish speaking workers at the Tripplehorne Ranch is perfect for her new start. But when she arrives, her employer is dead–and the new owner is man with a secret. He’s also dark, handsome, and if locals are to be believed–dangerous. And he has no interest in hiring an English teacher.

But when sparks fly between J.D. and Maddy, love…redemption…and second chances are theirs for the taking…if they can let down their defenses long enough to trust each other.

 

 

 

From the first page on this book and I got off on the wrong foot.

I could not connect with the writing style and the male character was just not for me so I am sorry to say but I found myself skimming a lot of pages to get to the end and in my rules that book can therefore not get more than two stars – sorry –

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 10
error: Content is protected !!