1 STAR

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Scarred (Believe #3) by Trista Jaszczak

 

 

Scarred (Naughty Ever After #3)

  

Scarred
Believe #3
Trista Jaszczak
 February 27th 2018

 

Who could ever learn to love a beast?

18+ due to adult content. This isn’t one of your mama’s fairy tales.

Eric Morris had his priorities straight. Money, motorcycles, and models. That is until a motorcycle accident leaves him permanently scarred and angry with the world. He finds comfort in isolation, refusing to leave his own home for fear of what the world will think of the once beautiful man. With work beginning to pile up he has no choice but to hire a personal assistant to cater to his every need, including taking the force of his attitude. What he doesn’t realize is that Elle Davis is not like other women and she fully intends on putting Eric right into his place. Will Eric be able to make her see through his scars…will he be able to change for her?

 

It was a DNF for me the characters were superficial and I really could not care for the story. I promise to try reading it at a later point again but for now it is what it is. And while I am preparing this post I saw that the book has been released 4 years ago and there is not even a cover yet or hardly any notice by other readers – which really makes me wonder (without being rude)

═══ PLEASE SUBSCRIBE / LIKE / FOLLOW US ════

Blog : https://www.jerisbookattic.com
FB Page : https://www.facebook.com/JerisBookAttic
Twitter : https://twitter.com/JeriTRyan
Goodreads : https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/20537528-jeri
Bloglovin : https://www.bloglovin.com/@jerisbookattic

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Thirty Day Boyfriend by Whitney G.

 

 

 

Thirty Day Boyfriend

  

Thirty Day Boyfriend
Whitney G.
November 2nd 2017

 

I should’ve never agreed to this arrangement…

Thirty days ago, my boss—Mr. Wolf of Wall Street, came to me with an offer I couldn’t refuse: Sign my name on the dotted line and pretend to be his fiancée for one month. If I agreed, he would let me out of my employment contract with a “very generous” severance package.

The rules were pretty simple: No intimate kissing, no actual sex. Just pretend to love each other for the press, even though I’ve secretly wanted to knock that sexy smirk off his face since the first day we met.

I definitely didn’t need to think twice about this. I signed my name and started counting down the seconds to when I would never have to deal with his special brand of ass-holery again.

I only made it to one minute…

We argued the entire four-hour flight to his hometown, failed to make a convincing impression with the welcoming press, and right when I was about to knock that arrogant look off his face in real life? He purposely dropped his bath towel in front of me, distracting me with his nine-inch cock to “show me who the bigger person was” in our relationship. Then he gave me his trademark smirk once again and asked if I wanted to consummate our marriage.

Tragically, this is only day one.
We still have 29 more days to go…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

One Night with Him by Sienna Ciles

 

 

 

One Night with Him

  

 One Night with Him
Sienna Ciles
October 30th 2017

 

New Job. New Life.
It was time to leave it all, and the mistakes I’d made, behind.
At least that was plan, until I spent the night with him
He was supposed to be a one and done.
Someone I’d forget and never think about again.

Twenty-four hours later, my life is center stage.
Standing in front of a thousand strangers
and right next to the one-night stand I promised to forget.
The man I had spilled all of my drunken secrets to.

To make matters worse…he’s my boss’s son and he’s about to spill a secret of his own.

One Night with Him is a billionaire romance with a HEA.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Fumbled Hearts (A Tender Hearts Novel) by Meagan Brandy

 

 

 

Fumbled Hearts (A Tender Hearts Novel)

  

Fumbled Hearts
A Tender Hearts Novel
Meagan Brandy
September 21st 2017

 

After months of refusing, I finally agreed to make the move to Alrick Falls. My family thought it was best – that a new scene would be good for me – and I was sick of having the same conversation.
So here I am, and the plan is simple. Smile through each day and avoid her at all costs.
It’s perfect.

Until the cocky quarterback comes into play.

The last thing I want is his crooked grin and dark brown eyes focused on me.
Yet here he is, constantly in my space, pushing me, daring me to care. Telling me what I think and feel, as if he knows.
He doesn’t know anything. And I plan to keep it that way.

He’s the persistent playboy who refuses to walk away. I’m the impassive new girl with nothing left to give.

Things are about to get complicated.

 

 

 

When I found myself at 10% or so and my eyes had already started to hurt form doing repeated eye rolls I knew this story would not work out for me. There is too much unrealistic stuff going on and the male lead is really not that “likeable” … (Not even talking about the fact that they fall in love almost instandly …. yep me rolling my eyes while writing) … but hey maybe YOU are looking for that kind of story then be my guest … it is not bad written or anything just the way it is done ist not for me.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Social Experiment by Addison Moore

 

 

 

The Social Experiment

  

 The Social Experiment
 Addison Moore
September 28th 2017

 

Two Strangers. Six Weeks.

*A romantic comedy from the New York Times bestselling author Addison Moore*
Rowen Garret is a jackass of the highest order. I knew signing up for some experimental dating experience would not pan out to be a good thing, but after kissing a stranger in the dark for five solid savory minutes only to have the lights come on and expose him for the jerk he is, I have the sudden urge to strangle my new roommate who talked me into this nightmare.

Sophie Meyer is a handful. I should know, I hung out in her living room for so long I became a fixture. But that was when her older brother, Braden, and I actually got along, before he snatched my long time girlfriend out from underneath me and stopped speaking to me as if I were the one who hijacked his life. And now here I am with his feisty little sister in my arms, her face lit up in horror at the thought of what we’ve just done. I would never kiss Sophie Meyer under normal circumstances, never even entertain the thought. Nope, this was a bad idea through and through. This is one social experiment I never want to think about again. But one thing is for sure. I will never forget that kiss.

Two strangers, six weeks, the social experiment says the odds are in their favor, Rowen and Sophie says they aren’t.

 

 

 

When I read the reasons for ending up in that experiment I already knew The Book and me were going to have a hard time with each other – and I was right…..

DNF @ 20%

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Wrong Number, Right Guy by Tara Wylde, Holly Hart

 

 

 

Wrong Number, Right Guy

  

Wrong Number, Right Guy
Tara Wylde, Holly Hart
 September 23rd 2017

 

I never knew I wanted a baby.
Or that I already had one…
My billions don’t make up what I’ve lost: Ella.
She’s been keeping this secret so long.
It’s time to make things right.
Ella

I have a secret.
She’s seven years old.
But she has a problem. Her heart.
I’ll do anything to save her. Turn to anyone.
Even when I know I shouldn’t…

Jason

Ella was different.
It was only one night, but I’ve chased her for years.
But she’s lost without a trace.
Until I pick up the phone…
Ring. Ring. “Hello?”

 

 

 

Thinking about this story still makes me shake my head – a week after reading it ….I can not even give a detailed descripton of what went wrong with this book for me, because it were to many tiny details

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Mr. Right by J.S. Cooper

Mr. Right by J.S. Cooper

 
 

October 24, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Mr. Right

Author :           J.S. Cooper

Series :            n/a

Release date :   July 26th 2016

Rating :           1 Star

 

 

Blurb : Some nights are meant to remain a secret. Some nights are meant to be for fun. Some nights are meant to last just one night. It was never supposed to happen. But, we couldn’t stop ourselves. One night became too many. He was the one man I wasn’t supposed to want. The one man I wasn’t supposed to have. The one man that could never possibly be my Mr. Right. However he’s the one man I can’t get out of my mind. He’s the one man that’s going to change everything. Only he has a secret that’s bigger than everything else. He has a secret that could ruin everything.

 

Review : Unfortunately it seems to be becoming clearer with each book I try that the writing style of J.S. Cooper does not agree with my reading needs.

 

I tried several books so far – the latest being now Mr. Right and again I am left wondering why I even started reading it.

 

The Blurb’s of the stories always sound appealing and the basic plotlines are not bad at all but there is just something about that writing style that is just not for me.

 

In this case here I was wondering throughout the whole book why the female lead did what she did. And why she remained where she was ( I am vague on purpose because of spoilers )

 

Almost nothing made sense to me. Strangely only Evan (at least on the surface) made sense in the “obvious” plotline.

 

The not so obvious plotline was even worse – she made totally no sense.

 

I am just now sitting here (shaking my head NO) when I am thinking on how to express what was going on in that plot.

 

Suffice to say I started skipping a few chapters in the second half of the book because even though I hoped there would be some light in the dark – it only became worse.

 

And that the dialogue that made me finally close the book without reading the actual end was about one person admitting a big lie (and I am talking HUGE) to another and the other person basically saying DIRECTLY WITHOUT BIG FUSSING AROUND “its ok you played me because I love you” … ahm that did it – sorry.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Branding the Virgin by Alexa Riley

Branding the Virgin by Alexa Riley

 
 

October 26, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :             Branding the Virgin 

Author :           Alexa Riley

Series :            n/a

Release date :   July 13th 2016

Rating :           1 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Mary-Jane wasn’t looking for drama. All she wanted was a family of her own, so she decided to make that happen. A mix-up at the sperm bank leaves her with a baby in her belly, but the father is none the wiser.Ty was injured in a bull-riding accident, and now all he plans on doing is working on his ranch and keeping to himself. That is, until a little dark-haired woman shows up on his doorstep.When their paths cross, will Mary-Jane be able to reveal to Ty that he’s the father? Will Ty be able to keep Mary-Jane from running? Will there be a lot of steam in this book? You betcha!

 

Warning: This pregnant virgin story is wonderfully ridiculous and just as sweet as it sounds. Saddle up and take an evening stroll with this easy quickie.

 

Review : I assume from bunch of 4 or 5 star reviews that I seem to be either missing a huge point in “Branding the Virgin” by Alexa Riley or I am the odd one out there. But unfortunately I am honestly not able to give this story more than 1 Star. And this ONLY due to my own rating system which I religiously follow – because it honestly feels more like a DNF

 

Well first of all this is a short story which I was not really aware of (might have been my mistake but well with all the warnings you read nowadays a hint on this being a short story might have been nice.

 

Anyway the blurb warns the reader that this //quote// pregnant virgins story is wonderfully ridiculous and just as sweet as it sounds //un-quote//.

 

I agree with the first point – it is ridiculous … really which might have been ok – given this warning. But my problem is really the second point in this statement “as sweet as it sounds”. Because this point I could see nowhere in these pages honestly.

 

Clearly a short story does not leave much time to develop characters – therefore I am always reluctant to read those – BUT I have seen it being done in a decent form. Still adding an almost nonexistent form of InstaLove (yeah I just made that up – but I have no idea how to explain what really happened in that story) … anyway adding this to the short story there is no space for anything even remotely sweet.

 

Because SWEET implies some sort of connection between the characters.

 

Ok I think I can in this special case not avoid to spoiler something to make myself clear. I usually avoid that as best as I can. Therefore be warned to read further.

 

Ty, the male lead does not fall in InstaLove with Mary-Jane… no. He simply wants to keep her because an “important part” of the male anatomy stirs when he sees her. And given the fact that this part of him was supposed to be “broken” this is a huge deal.

 

So if this would be a dark romance that plot might really work in a different setting … but not within a story settling like this one – I am missing the sweet part her fully – really sorry – might be only me but I can not help it.

 

The writing itself isn’t bad or so and the plot idea also was good – but the handling did not work out with the length of the story and especially not with the reasoning of the leading characters to fall in love with each other.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Random Acts of Crazy (Random #1) by Julia Kent

Random Acts of Crazy (Random #1) by Julia Kent

 
 

December 10, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Random Acts of Crazy

Author :           Julia Kent

Series :            Random #1

Release date :   July 13th 2016

Rating :           1 Stars

 

 

Blurb : I never intended to pick up a naked hitchhiker wearing nothing but a guitar. A guitar. Really. I don’t collect guys like that (don’t ask what kind of guys I do collect), but when you spot a blonde, tanned, sculpted man with a gorgeous smile and his thumb poking up and practically begging you to stop – you stop.And I definitely never thought I’d be staring into the bright blue eyes of Trevor Connor, the lead singer for Random Acts of Crazy, an indie rock star I followed like the slobbering fileshare fangirl I am. How he came to be nude and lost six hundred miles from home is quite the tale, but how we fell in love is even more unreal.Because someone like Trevor Connor, headed to Harvard Law next year, isn’t supposed to want someone like me, a rural Ohio chick majoring in Boredom at Convenience Store University who is all curves and frizzy blonde hair and manners so unpolished they have sharp edges that make you bleed.But he did.When his best friend, Joe Ross, the bass player for Random Acts of Crazy and a man who makes Calvin Klein models look like Shrek, drove eleven hours through the night to rescue him, though, it got real complicated. It’s one thing to like two different guys and be torn.What do you do, though, when maybe – just maybe – you don’t have to choose?As my Aunt Josie says sometimes, “It’s always complicated.”

 

* * * * * * Random Acts of Crazy is a standalone, full-length novel (300+ pages, 85,000 words) featuring Darla Jo(sephine) Jennings, the 22-year-old niece of Josie Mendham from the Her Two Billionaires series. It has, like many New Adult novels, an exploration of sexuality for the three main characters, doesn’t shy away from mature content, and Darla has a sailor’s mouth.

 

Review : If sombody has any idea what I just read please tell me, because I do not have the slightest clue … at about 40% I started skimming through the pages and even gave that up to just take a look at the end. Then I found myself staring out of the window and shaking my head alternating between trying to clear mind or getting myself something strong to drink. Because alcohol induced fog would explain a lot …

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Guiding Lights (Lights of Scotland #1) by Jessica Florence

Guiding Lights (Lights of Scotland #1) by Jessica Florence

 
 

May 30, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Guiding Lights

Author :           Jessica Florence

Series :            Lights of Scotland #1

Release date :   August 20th 2015

Rating :           1 Stars

 

 

Blurb : He sings of suffering. His eyes hold the pain of living in sorrow.

The moment our gaze meets recognition flares within.

We are tortured souls drifting in a sea of darkness.

He knows I have secrets that I’ll never tell.

I am numb

I am broken

I am dirty

I can never be the guiding light through the darkness he thinks I am.I have forsaken my past, I rely on keeping myself shut off.

 

But he has secrets too, secrets that would destroy everything I have left.

I wish things were different, that maybe we could be each other’s lifeline.

But destiny drags us down like an anchor.

The broken can only drift in the sea barely staying afloat.

 

Review : Guiding Lights (Lights of Scotland #1) by Jessica Florence had a beautiful plot idea and a gorgeous cover but that’s it on the plus side of this book.

 

The story dragged on for 50% of the book without a real clue as to what was behind all the suffering – and then when the clues came it felt like that could have been a totally different plotline – it went into a direction that moved to far from the blurb and it is where I went into a DNF.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 2 3 4
error: Content is protected !!