1 STAR

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Mr. Right by J.S. Cooper

Mr. Right by J.S. Cooper

 
 

October 24, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Mr. Right

Author :           J.S. Cooper

Series :            n/a

Release date :   July 26th 2016

Rating :           1 Star

 

 

Blurb : Some nights are meant to remain a secret. Some nights are meant to be for fun. Some nights are meant to last just one night. It was never supposed to happen. But, we couldn’t stop ourselves. One night became too many. He was the one man I wasn’t supposed to want. The one man I wasn’t supposed to have. The one man that could never possibly be my Mr. Right. However he’s the one man I can’t get out of my mind. He’s the one man that’s going to change everything. Only he has a secret that’s bigger than everything else. He has a secret that could ruin everything.

 

Review : Unfortunately it seems to be becoming clearer with each book I try that the writing style of J.S. Cooper does not agree with my reading needs.

 

I tried several books so far – the latest being now Mr. Right and again I am left wondering why I even started reading it.

 

The Blurb’s of the stories always sound appealing and the basic plotlines are not bad at all but there is just something about that writing style that is just not for me.

 

In this case here I was wondering throughout the whole book why the female lead did what she did. And why she remained where she was ( I am vague on purpose because of spoilers )

 

Almost nothing made sense to me. Strangely only Evan (at least on the surface) made sense in the “obvious” plotline.

 

The not so obvious plotline was even worse – she made totally no sense.

 

I am just now sitting here (shaking my head NO) when I am thinking on how to express what was going on in that plot.

 

Suffice to say I started skipping a few chapters in the second half of the book because even though I hoped there would be some light in the dark – it only became worse.

 

And that the dialogue that made me finally close the book without reading the actual end was about one person admitting a big lie (and I am talking HUGE) to another and the other person basically saying DIRECTLY WITHOUT BIG FUSSING AROUND “its ok you played me because I love you” … ahm that did it – sorry.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Branding the Virgin by Alexa Riley

Branding the Virgin by Alexa Riley

 
 

October 26, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :             Branding the Virgin 

Author :           Alexa Riley

Series :            n/a

Release date :   July 13th 2016

Rating :           1 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Mary-Jane wasn’t looking for drama. All she wanted was a family of her own, so she decided to make that happen. A mix-up at the sperm bank leaves her with a baby in her belly, but the father is none the wiser.Ty was injured in a bull-riding accident, and now all he plans on doing is working on his ranch and keeping to himself. That is, until a little dark-haired woman shows up on his doorstep.When their paths cross, will Mary-Jane be able to reveal to Ty that he’s the father? Will Ty be able to keep Mary-Jane from running? Will there be a lot of steam in this book? You betcha!

 

Warning: This pregnant virgin story is wonderfully ridiculous and just as sweet as it sounds. Saddle up and take an evening stroll with this easy quickie.

 

Review : I assume from bunch of 4 or 5 star reviews that I seem to be either missing a huge point in “Branding the Virgin” by Alexa Riley or I am the odd one out there. But unfortunately I am honestly not able to give this story more than 1 Star. And this ONLY due to my own rating system which I religiously follow – because it honestly feels more like a DNF

 

Well first of all this is a short story which I was not really aware of (might have been my mistake but well with all the warnings you read nowadays a hint on this being a short story might have been nice.

 

Anyway the blurb warns the reader that this //quote// pregnant virgins story is wonderfully ridiculous and just as sweet as it sounds //un-quote//.

 

I agree with the first point – it is ridiculous … really which might have been ok – given this warning. But my problem is really the second point in this statement “as sweet as it sounds”. Because this point I could see nowhere in these pages honestly.

 

Clearly a short story does not leave much time to develop characters – therefore I am always reluctant to read those – BUT I have seen it being done in a decent form. Still adding an almost nonexistent form of InstaLove (yeah I just made that up – but I have no idea how to explain what really happened in that story) … anyway adding this to the short story there is no space for anything even remotely sweet.

 

Because SWEET implies some sort of connection between the characters.

 

Ok I think I can in this special case not avoid to spoiler something to make myself clear. I usually avoid that as best as I can. Therefore be warned to read further.

 

Ty, the male lead does not fall in InstaLove with Mary-Jane… no. He simply wants to keep her because an “important part” of the male anatomy stirs when he sees her. And given the fact that this part of him was supposed to be “broken” this is a huge deal.

 

So if this would be a dark romance that plot might really work in a different setting … but not within a story settling like this one – I am missing the sweet part her fully – really sorry – might be only me but I can not help it.

 

The writing itself isn’t bad or so and the plot idea also was good – but the handling did not work out with the length of the story and especially not with the reasoning of the leading characters to fall in love with each other.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Random Acts of Crazy (Random #1) by Julia Kent

Random Acts of Crazy (Random #1) by Julia Kent

 
 

December 10, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Random Acts of Crazy

Author :           Julia Kent

Series :            Random #1

Release date :   July 13th 2016

Rating :           1 Stars

 

 

Blurb : I never intended to pick up a naked hitchhiker wearing nothing but a guitar. A guitar. Really. I don’t collect guys like that (don’t ask what kind of guys I do collect), but when you spot a blonde, tanned, sculpted man with a gorgeous smile and his thumb poking up and practically begging you to stop – you stop.And I definitely never thought I’d be staring into the bright blue eyes of Trevor Connor, the lead singer for Random Acts of Crazy, an indie rock star I followed like the slobbering fileshare fangirl I am. How he came to be nude and lost six hundred miles from home is quite the tale, but how we fell in love is even more unreal.Because someone like Trevor Connor, headed to Harvard Law next year, isn’t supposed to want someone like me, a rural Ohio chick majoring in Boredom at Convenience Store University who is all curves and frizzy blonde hair and manners so unpolished they have sharp edges that make you bleed.But he did.When his best friend, Joe Ross, the bass player for Random Acts of Crazy and a man who makes Calvin Klein models look like Shrek, drove eleven hours through the night to rescue him, though, it got real complicated. It’s one thing to like two different guys and be torn.What do you do, though, when maybe – just maybe – you don’t have to choose?As my Aunt Josie says sometimes, “It’s always complicated.”

 

* * * * * * Random Acts of Crazy is a standalone, full-length novel (300+ pages, 85,000 words) featuring Darla Jo(sephine) Jennings, the 22-year-old niece of Josie Mendham from the Her Two Billionaires series. It has, like many New Adult novels, an exploration of sexuality for the three main characters, doesn’t shy away from mature content, and Darla has a sailor’s mouth.

 

Review : If sombody has any idea what I just read please tell me, because I do not have the slightest clue … at about 40% I started skimming through the pages and even gave that up to just take a look at the end. Then I found myself staring out of the window and shaking my head alternating between trying to clear mind or getting myself something strong to drink. Because alcohol induced fog would explain a lot …

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Guiding Lights (Lights of Scotland #1) by Jessica Florence

Guiding Lights (Lights of Scotland #1) by Jessica Florence

 
 

May 30, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Guiding Lights

Author :           Jessica Florence

Series :            Lights of Scotland #1

Release date :   August 20th 2015

Rating :           1 Stars

 

 

Blurb : He sings of suffering. His eyes hold the pain of living in sorrow.

The moment our gaze meets recognition flares within.

We are tortured souls drifting in a sea of darkness.

He knows I have secrets that I’ll never tell.

I am numb

I am broken

I am dirty

I can never be the guiding light through the darkness he thinks I am.I have forsaken my past, I rely on keeping myself shut off.

 

But he has secrets too, secrets that would destroy everything I have left.

I wish things were different, that maybe we could be each other’s lifeline.

But destiny drags us down like an anchor.

The broken can only drift in the sea barely staying afloat.

 

Review : Guiding Lights (Lights of Scotland #1) by Jessica Florence had a beautiful plot idea and a gorgeous cover but that’s it on the plus side of this book.

 

The story dragged on for 50% of the book without a real clue as to what was behind all the suffering – and then when the clues came it felt like that could have been a totally different plotline – it went into a direction that moved to far from the blurb and it is where I went into a DNF.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Inked Passions: (A Love Struck Bad Boys Romance) by Amber Burns

Inked Passions: (A Love Struck Bad Boys Romance) by Amber Burns

 
 

May 31, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Inked Passions

Author :           Amber Burns

Series :            A Love Struck Bad Boys Romance

Release date :   December 15th 2016

Rating :           1 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Kindle version includes a FREE copy of our bad boy military romance novel,The Heart of a Hero, for a limited time!

 

Biker and tattoo artist Cade Winters isn’t much for weddings or other sappy celebrations. He prefers dive bars, his beloved bike and fighting at underground clubs; the last of which lands him in the hospital after a sore loser attacks Cade in an alley. However, when his best friend Tommy asked Cade to be his best man, Cade didn’t hesitate. Growing up without a family to call his own, Cade would do anything, even attend a wedding, for those he now considers his family. Uncharacteristically dressed up, his tattoos barely covered and shaggy beard neatly groomed, Cade meets Cindy; the maid of honor at Tommy’s wedding. Cindy is the opposite of anything Cade has ever looked for in a woman, yet he finds himself falling helplessly in love with her. Determined to make Cindy his, Cade must not only win her over but also her controlling and disapproving parents; who will stop at nothing to convince their daughter that a shaggy tattoo artist is not the one for her.

 

Review : I am really sorry to say that this is the second skimmed book for me within 24 hours. Inked Passion by Amber Burns might be a nice story for people that like insta love that really has no background or deeper feelings. But unfortunately it was not for me. While the Leading characters and the plot idea were kind of nice the plot itself failed in its depth with me.

 

reviewed by

 

 

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Crush: A Billionaire Romance by Bella Winters

Crush: A Billionaire Romance by Bella Winters

 
 

July 3, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Crush: A Billionaire Romance

Author :           Bella Winters

Series :            n/a

Release date :   January 8th 2017

Rating :           1 Stars

 

 

Blurb : You always want to have the forbidden, right? I would be lying if I said that I did not lust after Andrew! Andrew….the guy is gorgeous, sexy, rich…..he’s everything that I saved my V card for.But, I don’t want to confess it. Until…. He decides to make me say it….not once, not twice….multiple times…over and over again. And the problem is I love saying it. So what, if it is forbidden!This is a sexy, standalone story with explicit content and guaranteed HEA. This edition comes with a special 60k words bonus story – STEAL ME.

 

Review : Yes I read that there were basically 2 books in one but honestly at Amazons listed 670 Pages I expected the original story to be more than just the 10% on my reader. THIS IS NOT A BOOK THIS IS A SHORT STORY – A NOVELLA AT THE MOST !

 

I am not sure what the rest of this book is but THIS Story here is not more than a novella that seems to have stopped right in the middle. 

 

Basically the above Blurb tells the whole story and is about as long as the story.  The story started out like any normal book would do but at the point where in a criminal case the investigation on the murder would have started – this novel only offered : Here is the murderer

 

Ahm – NO .. simply NO

What a shame there was potential

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Rock Hard by Paige North

Rock Hard by Paige North

 

September 22, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Rock Hard

 

 Paige North

 

 

 

 March 2nd 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 *Rock Hard is a standalone romance with a guaranteed HEA*

 

Jayce Owens. Music’s biggest star. Sexiest man alive. My new boss. And the man who could bring my world crashing down around me… I felt like I couldn’t breathe when he stared at me from underneath the brim of his cowboy hat. Those sexy brown eyes, the way his penetrating gaze raked up my body… it made me break out in goose bumps. Why did he single me out? I’d seen the women he’d taken to the CMAs before, and they were tall and lanky and fancy, like gourmet biscotti. Me? I was vanilla ice cream. His presence overpowered, commanded, and given different circumstances, I might’ve said yes to a date. But I couldn’t. I worked for him now, and I refused to be one of those girls who slept their way to stardom. I didn’t spend four years getting a B.A. in Music Performance, learning guitar, piano, and vocals, moving to Nashville to try and make it against my family’s will, all so some cocky country star could woo me with his charisma. But with the way he looked at me, the way he touched me, the way he said my name….I just couldn’t resist. Before I knew it, I was just like every other girl who’d met Jayce Owens…tangled up in his web of secrets, half-truths, and twisted desire. And just like any good country song… the whole thing was destined to end in nothing but heartbreak.

 

 

 

 

 

I am really sorry to say that from the first page I had problems to get into this book. What could have been a gorgeous story was somehow disturbed by the characterdevelopment. I totally did not like the characters and as I am known for having a problem with anything that feels “INSTA” – I have to say that this book was not for me.  I might be the odd one out here as this is really just my personal issue – so I am not the one to tell you to not read this book.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Nanny and the Beast by Carter Blake

The Nanny and the Beast by Carter Blake

 

September 18, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 The Nanny and the Beast

 

Carter Blake

 

 

 

 March 8th 2017 

 

 

 

 

 

My new nanny may just be the most stubborn, frustrating…sexy woman I’ve ever met. And I can’t get her out of my f*cking head. She thinks I’m a cold, heartless, beast. And she’s right. I’m used to getting what I want, used to people trembling at my feet, but the only trembling Eliana does is when I touch her. Too bad all those curves she hides under baggy sweatshirts and jeans are off limits. Because as much as I want to silence that sassy little mouth of hers with my own, I can’t ruin the first good thing that’s come into my daughter’s life since her mother abandoned us. I have three rules when it comes to Eliana… Don’t touch. Don’t feel. Don’t fall for the Nanny. But tonight, I’m going to break each one. Give her everything her body has been begging me for. And show her just how much of a beast I really am. **The Nanny and the Beast is a steamy, standalone romance with an HEA, no cheating, and no cliffhanger**

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Secret Lucidity by E.K. Blair

 

 

Secret Lucidity

  

Secret Lucidity
 E.K. Blair
 February 26th 2018

 

(A forbidden romance stand-alone.)

This wasn’t supposed to happen.
But it did.
This wasn’t supposed to be my life.
But it was.

I was just a typical girl, living a typical life. Nothing was out of the ordinary until tragedy threw me into a turnstile I couldn’t see my way out of. That was, until him.

I never could’ve imagined my heart falling the way it did. Hard, fast, and with unbounding beauty.

The only problem?
He was off limits.
Forbidden.

But he became my everything, and I became his, so we risked it all. It was only a matter of time until I realized that our risk came with unimaginable consequences.

My name is Camellia Hale and his is David Andrews, and this is our love story.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Come Back To Me by Kathy Coopmans

 

 

 

Come Back To Me

  

 Come Back To Me
 Kathy Coopmans
August 23rd 2017

 

From USA Today Bestselling Author Kathy Coopmans comes a soul crushing story of second chance love.

Come Back To Me.

What does one do when everyone you love dies?
How much is a woman supposed to take before she crumbles?
How much?
Adriana Jensen is the woman to ask.
She’s lost too many people to count.
The one death that destroyed her the most
was her husband’s.

Only… he didn’t die.

What does one do when forced to walk away from his wife?
How much will it take to win her back?
How much?
Blake Jensen, Adriana’s estranged husband, is the man to ask.
He has one question to ask himself.
How much will it take for her to come back to me?

 

 

 

no

NO

NO

and NOPE

 

sorry – the plotidea sounded so good but then reading the story itself forced me to continously shake my head …

All the given reasons and the ways the characters were acting were just so “out of thin air” … there was nothing behind it

and for all the suffering that was supposed to go on they were kind of fast leaving it behind… I mean thinking your husband is dead … than THAT and wham bang back in bed again (which kind of answers the last line in the Blurb – sorry but … ahm did I mention NO ?

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 4
error: Content is protected !!