1 STAR

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Guiding Lights (Lights of Scotland #1) by Jessica Florence

Guiding Lights (Lights of Scotland #1) by Jessica Florence

 
 

May 30, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Guiding Lights

Author :           Jessica Florence

Series :            Lights of Scotland #1

Release date :   August 20th 2015

Rating :           1 Stars

 

 

Blurb : He sings of suffering. His eyes hold the pain of living in sorrow.

The moment our gaze meets recognition flares within.

We are tortured souls drifting in a sea of darkness.

He knows I have secrets that I’ll never tell.

I am numb

I am broken

I am dirty

I can never be the guiding light through the darkness he thinks I am.I have forsaken my past, I rely on keeping myself shut off.

 

But he has secrets too, secrets that would destroy everything I have left.

I wish things were different, that maybe we could be each other’s lifeline.

But destiny drags us down like an anchor.

The broken can only drift in the sea barely staying afloat.

 

Review : Guiding Lights (Lights of Scotland #1) by Jessica Florence had a beautiful plot idea and a gorgeous cover but that’s it on the plus side of this book.

 

The story dragged on for 50% of the book without a real clue as to what was behind all the suffering – and then when the clues came it felt like that could have been a totally different plotline – it went into a direction that moved to far from the blurb and it is where I went into a DNF.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Inked Passions: (A Love Struck Bad Boys Romance) by Amber Burns

Inked Passions: (A Love Struck Bad Boys Romance) by Amber Burns

 
 

May 31, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Inked Passions

Author :           Amber Burns

Series :            A Love Struck Bad Boys Romance

Release date :   December 15th 2016

Rating :           1 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Kindle version includes a FREE copy of our bad boy military romance novel,The Heart of a Hero, for a limited time!

 

Biker and tattoo artist Cade Winters isn’t much for weddings or other sappy celebrations. He prefers dive bars, his beloved bike and fighting at underground clubs; the last of which lands him in the hospital after a sore loser attacks Cade in an alley. However, when his best friend Tommy asked Cade to be his best man, Cade didn’t hesitate. Growing up without a family to call his own, Cade would do anything, even attend a wedding, for those he now considers his family. Uncharacteristically dressed up, his tattoos barely covered and shaggy beard neatly groomed, Cade meets Cindy; the maid of honor at Tommy’s wedding. Cindy is the opposite of anything Cade has ever looked for in a woman, yet he finds himself falling helplessly in love with her. Determined to make Cindy his, Cade must not only win her over but also her controlling and disapproving parents; who will stop at nothing to convince their daughter that a shaggy tattoo artist is not the one for her.

 

Review : I am really sorry to say that this is the second skimmed book for me within 24 hours. Inked Passion by Amber Burns might be a nice story for people that like insta love that really has no background or deeper feelings. But unfortunately it was not for me. While the Leading characters and the plot idea were kind of nice the plot itself failed in its depth with me.

 

reviewed by

 

 

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Crush: A Billionaire Romance by Bella Winters

Crush: A Billionaire Romance by Bella Winters

 
 

July 3, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Crush: A Billionaire Romance

Author :           Bella Winters

Series :            n/a

Release date :   January 8th 2017

Rating :           1 Stars

 

 

Blurb : You always want to have the forbidden, right? I would be lying if I said that I did not lust after Andrew! Andrew….the guy is gorgeous, sexy, rich…..he’s everything that I saved my V card for.But, I don’t want to confess it. Until…. He decides to make me say it….not once, not twice….multiple times…over and over again. And the problem is I love saying it. So what, if it is forbidden!This is a sexy, standalone story with explicit content and guaranteed HEA. This edition comes with a special 60k words bonus story – STEAL ME.

 

Review : Yes I read that there were basically 2 books in one but honestly at Amazons listed 670 Pages I expected the original story to be more than just the 10% on my reader. THIS IS NOT A BOOK THIS IS A SHORT STORY – A NOVELLA AT THE MOST !

 

I am not sure what the rest of this book is but THIS Story here is not more than a novella that seems to have stopped right in the middle. 

 

Basically the above Blurb tells the whole story and is about as long as the story.  The story started out like any normal book would do but at the point where in a criminal case the investigation on the murder would have started – this novel only offered : Here is the murderer

 

Ahm – NO .. simply NO

What a shame there was potential

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Rock Hard by Paige North

Rock Hard by Paige North

 

September 22, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Rock Hard

 

 Paige North

 

 

 

 March 2nd 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 *Rock Hard is a standalone romance with a guaranteed HEA*

 

Jayce Owens. Music’s biggest star. Sexiest man alive. My new boss. And the man who could bring my world crashing down around me… I felt like I couldn’t breathe when he stared at me from underneath the brim of his cowboy hat. Those sexy brown eyes, the way his penetrating gaze raked up my body… it made me break out in goose bumps. Why did he single me out? I’d seen the women he’d taken to the CMAs before, and they were tall and lanky and fancy, like gourmet biscotti. Me? I was vanilla ice cream. His presence overpowered, commanded, and given different circumstances, I might’ve said yes to a date. But I couldn’t. I worked for him now, and I refused to be one of those girls who slept their way to stardom. I didn’t spend four years getting a B.A. in Music Performance, learning guitar, piano, and vocals, moving to Nashville to try and make it against my family’s will, all so some cocky country star could woo me with his charisma. But with the way he looked at me, the way he touched me, the way he said my name….I just couldn’t resist. Before I knew it, I was just like every other girl who’d met Jayce Owens…tangled up in his web of secrets, half-truths, and twisted desire. And just like any good country song… the whole thing was destined to end in nothing but heartbreak.

 

 

 

 

 

I am really sorry to say that from the first page I had problems to get into this book. What could have been a gorgeous story was somehow disturbed by the characterdevelopment. I totally did not like the characters and as I am known for having a problem with anything that feels “INSTA” – I have to say that this book was not for me.  I might be the odd one out here as this is really just my personal issue – so I am not the one to tell you to not read this book.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Nanny and the Beast by Carter Blake

The Nanny and the Beast by Carter Blake

 

September 18, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 The Nanny and the Beast

 

Carter Blake

 

 

 

 March 8th 2017 

 

 

 

 

 

My new nanny may just be the most stubborn, frustrating…sexy woman I’ve ever met. And I can’t get her out of my f*cking head. She thinks I’m a cold, heartless, beast. And she’s right. I’m used to getting what I want, used to people trembling at my feet, but the only trembling Eliana does is when I touch her. Too bad all those curves she hides under baggy sweatshirts and jeans are off limits. Because as much as I want to silence that sassy little mouth of hers with my own, I can’t ruin the first good thing that’s come into my daughter’s life since her mother abandoned us. I have three rules when it comes to Eliana… Don’t touch. Don’t feel. Don’t fall for the Nanny. But tonight, I’m going to break each one. Give her everything her body has been begging me for. And show her just how much of a beast I really am. **The Nanny and the Beast is a steamy, standalone romance with an HEA, no cheating, and no cliffhanger**

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Secret Lucidity by E.K. Blair

 

 

Secret Lucidity

  

Secret Lucidity
 E.K. Blair
 February 26th 2018

 

(A forbidden romance stand-alone.)

This wasn’t supposed to happen.
But it did.
This wasn’t supposed to be my life.
But it was.

I was just a typical girl, living a typical life. Nothing was out of the ordinary until tragedy threw me into a turnstile I couldn’t see my way out of. That was, until him.

I never could’ve imagined my heart falling the way it did. Hard, fast, and with unbounding beauty.

The only problem?
He was off limits.
Forbidden.

But he became my everything, and I became his, so we risked it all. It was only a matter of time until I realized that our risk came with unimaginable consequences.

My name is Camellia Hale and his is David Andrews, and this is our love story.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Come Back To Me by Kathy Coopmans

 

 

 

Come Back To Me

  

 Come Back To Me
 Kathy Coopmans
August 23rd 2017

 

From USA Today Bestselling Author Kathy Coopmans comes a soul crushing story of second chance love.

Come Back To Me.

What does one do when everyone you love dies?
How much is a woman supposed to take before she crumbles?
How much?
Adriana Jensen is the woman to ask.
She’s lost too many people to count.
The one death that destroyed her the most
was her husband’s.

Only… he didn’t die.

What does one do when forced to walk away from his wife?
How much will it take to win her back?
How much?
Blake Jensen, Adriana’s estranged husband, is the man to ask.
He has one question to ask himself.
How much will it take for her to come back to me?

 

 

 

no

NO

NO

and NOPE

 

sorry – the plotidea sounded so good but then reading the story itself forced me to continously shake my head …

All the given reasons and the ways the characters were acting were just so “out of thin air” … there was nothing behind it

and for all the suffering that was supposed to go on they were kind of fast leaving it behind… I mean thinking your husband is dead … than THAT and wham bang back in bed again (which kind of answers the last line in the Blurb – sorry but … ahm did I mention NO ?

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Uncharted Waters by Micah Persell

 

 

 

Uncharted Waters

  

 Uncharted Waters
 Micah Persell
September 11th 2017

 

When a hermit and a scientist are snowbound in a cabin in the woods, the sparks they generate just might melt it all down in this scorching and sensual romance.

Scientist Bethany Morgan discovers the schematics to a world-changing recycling system that will help her realize her greatest dream: providing clean water to the world. The only problem? She must track down the creator, a Dr. Anderson, to help her complete the prototype, and he’s been missing for decades.

James Anderson has clung to the quiet, pain-free existence he’s made in the mountains since his father’s death years ago. But when the determined scientist he rescued gets snowed in at his cabin for an undetermined time, his world is turned upside down.

As their chemistry sets their libidos ablaze, Bethany struggles to convince James the world needs this invention, despite his fears of re-entering public life. Will exploring this attraction mean she needs to sacrifice her long-held dreams and beliefs? Before the rescue team arrives, they must each make some hard decisions about what’s most important.

 

 

 

The Blurb of the story misled me to believe it was a kind of reclusive/hermit story when in fact it was more of a tarzan story which is a huge difference in my book. I tried to get into the book but the interactions between ALL the characters were just to strange for me (its not the right word but I am not sure how to describe it) – I could have worked with the story being more of a “tarzan meets jane” thing if that had been the only issue but I could not feel any kind of relationship or love developing – from my point of view it was only lust or primal need because there was no other female available – sorry but it was not for me …

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Look the Part by Jewel E. Ann

 

 

 

Look the Part

  

 Look the Part
 Jewel E. Ann
January 29th 2018

 

Flint Hopkins finds the perfect tenant to rent the space above his Minneapolis-based law office.

All the t’s are crossed and i’s dotted on Ellen’s application. Her references are good. And she’s easy on the eyes.

Until …

Flint discovers Ellen Rodgers, Board-Certified Music Therapist, plays music. Bongos, guitars, singing—not Beethoven administered through noise-cancelling headphones.

The cut-throat attorney serves up an eviction notice to the bubbly, constantly humming redhead who’s too sexy for her own good. But luck is on Ellen’s side when Flint’s autistic son, Harrison, takes an instant liking to her. A single dad can’t compete with guitars—and rats. Yes, she has pet rats.

This woman …

She’s annoyingly happy with a constant need to touch him—adjust his tie, button his shirt, invade his space, and mess with his mind.

Still …

She must go.

Their lust-hate relationship escalates into something beautiful and tragic. This sexy, romantic-comedy explores the things we want, the things we need, and the impossible decisions parents and children make to survive.

 

 

 

After telling my co-blogger that I had a DNF with this book she told me and (I quote)

“The author has that kind of effect on people. 
 
She’s like marmite you either love her or you hate her books”
 
Guess that means I will not be trying marmite anytime soon
 
I am not the one to usually spoiler and I wont start now … but I have to say that the male lead does something almost unforgivable in my eyes that is explained in the first pages of the book and he does nothing in my eyes to redeem himself.  I can not see any changes or redeeming qualities he is responsible for his situation and he punishes his surrounding with his presence and his (insert swearword) ways. 
 
Maybe at a certain point within the text after I gave up there is some explanation but I am pretty certain if things really happend the way they seem to have … he most probaly actually should be in jail and not working in the profession that he is – which leaves me with a questionmark.
 
Anyway I am garciously stepping aside for others that seem to like/love the book but this was not for me.
 
 
 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Mr. Everything by Emily Bishop

 

 

 

Mr. Everything

  

 Mr. Everything
Emily Bishop
August 14th 2017

 

I’ll protect her, no matter what!
One fake marriage.
One hot billionaire.
One beautiful nanny.

Trying to run a billion-dollar empire while my son chews up nannies for breakfast is tough.
Until Sabrina.
Blue eyes that could fill the sea and legs for days. I can barely talk to her without stuttering.
The gorgeous bomb shell is the only nanny my son has ever loved. She’s also the only nanny I’ve ever loved.
Her psycho ex-boyfriend is obsessed with marrying her. And he’s willing to do anything to have his way.
Only one option.
I marry her first.
I’ll do anything to protect her, but the ex takes it too far.
Now I must rescue her, before it’s too late!

 

 

 

 

I am not sure what happend with me and this story. I saw the cover (yeah I am one of those readers that ogles) – read the book and thought that book would be a solid one.

The next thing I know is that i find myself skimming through chapters and I can not even tell you a specific reason to explain myself. It was as if the story was not able to hold my attention which is weired as it really sounded like the perfect fit.

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3
error: Content is protected !!