1 STAR

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Rock Hard by Paige North

Rock Hard by Paige North

 

September 22, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Rock Hard

 

 Paige North

 

 

 

 March 2nd 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 *Rock Hard is a standalone romance with a guaranteed HEA*

 

Jayce Owens. Music’s biggest star. Sexiest man alive. My new boss. And the man who could bring my world crashing down around me… I felt like I couldn’t breathe when he stared at me from underneath the brim of his cowboy hat. Those sexy brown eyes, the way his penetrating gaze raked up my body… it made me break out in goose bumps. Why did he single me out? I’d seen the women he’d taken to the CMAs before, and they were tall and lanky and fancy, like gourmet biscotti. Me? I was vanilla ice cream. His presence overpowered, commanded, and given different circumstances, I might’ve said yes to a date. But I couldn’t. I worked for him now, and I refused to be one of those girls who slept their way to stardom. I didn’t spend four years getting a B.A. in Music Performance, learning guitar, piano, and vocals, moving to Nashville to try and make it against my family’s will, all so some cocky country star could woo me with his charisma. But with the way he looked at me, the way he touched me, the way he said my name….I just couldn’t resist. Before I knew it, I was just like every other girl who’d met Jayce Owens…tangled up in his web of secrets, half-truths, and twisted desire. And just like any good country song… the whole thing was destined to end in nothing but heartbreak.

 

 

 

 

 

I am really sorry to say that from the first page I had problems to get into this book. What could have been a gorgeous story was somehow disturbed by the characterdevelopment. I totally did not like the characters and as I am known for having a problem with anything that feels “INSTA” – I have to say that this book was not for me.  I might be the odd one out here as this is really just my personal issue – so I am not the one to tell you to not read this book.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Nanny and the Beast by Carter Blake

The Nanny and the Beast by Carter Blake

 

September 18, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 The Nanny and the Beast

 

Carter Blake

 

 

 

 March 8th 2017 

 

 

 

 

 

My new nanny may just be the most stubborn, frustrating…sexy woman I’ve ever met. And I can’t get her out of my f*cking head. She thinks I’m a cold, heartless, beast. And she’s right. I’m used to getting what I want, used to people trembling at my feet, but the only trembling Eliana does is when I touch her. Too bad all those curves she hides under baggy sweatshirts and jeans are off limits. Because as much as I want to silence that sassy little mouth of hers with my own, I can’t ruin the first good thing that’s come into my daughter’s life since her mother abandoned us. I have three rules when it comes to Eliana… Don’t touch. Don’t feel. Don’t fall for the Nanny. But tonight, I’m going to break each one. Give her everything her body has been begging me for. And show her just how much of a beast I really am. **The Nanny and the Beast is a steamy, standalone romance with an HEA, no cheating, and no cliffhanger**

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Secret Lucidity by E.K. Blair

 

 

Secret Lucidity

  

Secret Lucidity
 E.K. Blair
 February 26th 2018

 

(A forbidden romance stand-alone.)

This wasn’t supposed to happen.
But it did.
This wasn’t supposed to be my life.
But it was.

I was just a typical girl, living a typical life. Nothing was out of the ordinary until tragedy threw me into a turnstile I couldn’t see my way out of. That was, until him.

I never could’ve imagined my heart falling the way it did. Hard, fast, and with unbounding beauty.

The only problem?
He was off limits.
Forbidden.

But he became my everything, and I became his, so we risked it all. It was only a matter of time until I realized that our risk came with unimaginable consequences.

My name is Camellia Hale and his is David Andrews, and this is our love story.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Come Back To Me by Kathy Coopmans

 

 

 

Come Back To Me

  

 Come Back To Me
 Kathy Coopmans
August 23rd 2017

 

From USA Today Bestselling Author Kathy Coopmans comes a soul crushing story of second chance love.

Come Back To Me.

What does one do when everyone you love dies?
How much is a woman supposed to take before she crumbles?
How much?
Adriana Jensen is the woman to ask.
She’s lost too many people to count.
The one death that destroyed her the most
was her husband’s.

Only… he didn’t die.

What does one do when forced to walk away from his wife?
How much will it take to win her back?
How much?
Blake Jensen, Adriana’s estranged husband, is the man to ask.
He has one question to ask himself.
How much will it take for her to come back to me?

 

 

 

no

NO

NO

and NOPE

 

sorry – the plotidea sounded so good but then reading the story itself forced me to continously shake my head …

All the given reasons and the ways the characters were acting were just so “out of thin air” … there was nothing behind it

and for all the suffering that was supposed to go on they were kind of fast leaving it behind… I mean thinking your husband is dead … than THAT and wham bang back in bed again (which kind of answers the last line in the Blurb – sorry but … ahm did I mention NO ?

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Uncharted Waters by Micah Persell

 

 

 

Uncharted Waters

  

 Uncharted Waters
 Micah Persell
September 11th 2017

 

When a hermit and a scientist are snowbound in a cabin in the woods, the sparks they generate just might melt it all down in this scorching and sensual romance.

Scientist Bethany Morgan discovers the schematics to a world-changing recycling system that will help her realize her greatest dream: providing clean water to the world. The only problem? She must track down the creator, a Dr. Anderson, to help her complete the prototype, and he’s been missing for decades.

James Anderson has clung to the quiet, pain-free existence he’s made in the mountains since his father’s death years ago. But when the determined scientist he rescued gets snowed in at his cabin for an undetermined time, his world is turned upside down.

As their chemistry sets their libidos ablaze, Bethany struggles to convince James the world needs this invention, despite his fears of re-entering public life. Will exploring this attraction mean she needs to sacrifice her long-held dreams and beliefs? Before the rescue team arrives, they must each make some hard decisions about what’s most important.

 

 

 

The Blurb of the story misled me to believe it was a kind of reclusive/hermit story when in fact it was more of a tarzan story which is a huge difference in my book. I tried to get into the book but the interactions between ALL the characters were just to strange for me (its not the right word but I am not sure how to describe it) – I could have worked with the story being more of a “tarzan meets jane” thing if that had been the only issue but I could not feel any kind of relationship or love developing – from my point of view it was only lust or primal need because there was no other female available – sorry but it was not for me …

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Look the Part by Jewel E. Ann

 

 

 

Look the Part

  

 Look the Part
 Jewel E. Ann
January 29th 2018

 

Flint Hopkins finds the perfect tenant to rent the space above his Minneapolis-based law office.

All the t’s are crossed and i’s dotted on Ellen’s application. Her references are good. And she’s easy on the eyes.

Until …

Flint discovers Ellen Rodgers, Board-Certified Music Therapist, plays music. Bongos, guitars, singing—not Beethoven administered through noise-cancelling headphones.

The cut-throat attorney serves up an eviction notice to the bubbly, constantly humming redhead who’s too sexy for her own good. But luck is on Ellen’s side when Flint’s autistic son, Harrison, takes an instant liking to her. A single dad can’t compete with guitars—and rats. Yes, she has pet rats.

This woman …

She’s annoyingly happy with a constant need to touch him—adjust his tie, button his shirt, invade his space, and mess with his mind.

Still …

She must go.

Their lust-hate relationship escalates into something beautiful and tragic. This sexy, romantic-comedy explores the things we want, the things we need, and the impossible decisions parents and children make to survive.

 

 

 

After telling my co-blogger that I had a DNF with this book she told me and (I quote)

“The author has that kind of effect on people. 
 
She’s like marmite you either love her or you hate her books”
 
Guess that means I will not be trying marmite anytime soon
 
I am not the one to usually spoiler and I wont start now … but I have to say that the male lead does something almost unforgivable in my eyes that is explained in the first pages of the book and he does nothing in my eyes to redeem himself.  I can not see any changes or redeeming qualities he is responsible for his situation and he punishes his surrounding with his presence and his (insert swearword) ways. 
 
Maybe at a certain point within the text after I gave up there is some explanation but I am pretty certain if things really happend the way they seem to have … he most probaly actually should be in jail and not working in the profession that he is – which leaves me with a questionmark.
 
Anyway I am garciously stepping aside for others that seem to like/love the book but this was not for me.
 
 
 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Mr. Everything by Emily Bishop

 

 

 

Mr. Everything

  

 Mr. Everything
Emily Bishop
August 14th 2017

 

I’ll protect her, no matter what!
One fake marriage.
One hot billionaire.
One beautiful nanny.

Trying to run a billion-dollar empire while my son chews up nannies for breakfast is tough.
Until Sabrina.
Blue eyes that could fill the sea and legs for days. I can barely talk to her without stuttering.
The gorgeous bomb shell is the only nanny my son has ever loved. She’s also the only nanny I’ve ever loved.
Her psycho ex-boyfriend is obsessed with marrying her. And he’s willing to do anything to have his way.
Only one option.
I marry her first.
I’ll do anything to protect her, but the ex takes it too far.
Now I must rescue her, before it’s too late!

 

 

 

 

I am not sure what happend with me and this story. I saw the cover (yeah I am one of those readers that ogles) – read the book and thought that book would be a solid one.

The next thing I know is that i find myself skimming through chapters and I can not even tell you a specific reason to explain myself. It was as if the story was not able to hold my attention which is weired as it really sounded like the perfect fit.

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Broken by Megan Hart

 

 

 

Broken

  

Broken
Megan Hart
May 1st 2007

 

This month my name is Mary. My name is different every month—Brandy, Honey, Amy…sometimes Joe doesn’t even bother to ask—but he never fails to arouse me with his body, his mouth, his touch, no matter what I’m called or where he picks me up. The sex is always amazing, always leaves me itching for more in those long weeks until I see him again.My real name is Sadie, and once a month over lunch Joe tells me about his latest conquest. But what Joe doesn’t know is that, in my mind, I’m the star of every X-rated one-night stand he has revealed to me, or that I’m practically obsessed with our imaginary sex life. I know it’s wrong. I know my husband wouldn’t understand. But I can’t stop. Not yet.

 

 

 

When I heard about this book I loved the idea behind it and was looking forward to reading it. (And yes I read other reviews to find out more about it)

But when I finally started I found that I could not work with the way it was written – so sorry….

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Breaking the Silence by Katie Allen

 

 

 

Breaking the Silence

  

Breaking the Silence
—-
Katie Allen
 December 26th 2008

 

After enduring a horrific childhood, William Jackson lives a solitary existence working as a computer programmer from his Minnesota home. His safe routine is blown to pieces when the daily sight of an unknown woman walking her dog sends his heart into a tailspin.

Jenny Fitzgerald’s love life is at a definite low. Her only potential date in sight is her annoying and creepy coworker, Evan—until a stunning man appears before her like a gift from some kindly sex god. Who is she to turn down what’s offered to her on a hunky blond platter?

Will and Jenny’s friendship develops as their hunger grows into love. Meanwhile, a jealous Evan watches, his rage building until it explodes in a brutal act of violence that tears Jenny’s life apart. Will struggles to help her rebuild her courage and sense of self as his own demons and fragile memories threaten their chance at happiness—but perhaps they can learn to heal each other.

Reader Advisory: This book contains a realistic, violent near-rape scene.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Managed 2: A Rock Star Romance (Managed #2) by Clarissa Carlyle

 

 

 

Managed 2: A Rock Star Romance

  

Managed 2: A Rock Star Romance
Managed #2
Clarissa Carlyle
 August 18th 2017

 

This is Book 2 in the Managed, a rock star romance series.

Hailey is hired as Jasper’s PR representative after a sex scandal hit social media and damaged his career. Her job is to rebuild his tattered reputation.

As she works with him she finds he is a different person than the rock star image he shows the world. Before she knows it she feels herself becoming lost in his eyes.

When he tries to kiss her, she felt her life spinning out of control. In desperation, she ran out in the street with him following her. Wanting to catch up with her he never noticed the speeding taxi that struck him.

Now, she fears for Jasper’s life and when he asks to help with his recovery, she is powerless to resist. As she helps him get back on his feet, she finds herself questioning whether she can keep her personal life away from her professional career.

Note: This series contains some adult situations. 18+, mature audiences recommended.

 

 

 

My thoughts on the first part of this series were :

I have a bad feeling where this journey is going to be honest – I liked the Blurb and started reading but already during the first pages I got the feeling that I would be having an issue here.

 

The characters were lacking depth and were simply acting immature (to be honest they were acting simply stupid) the dialogues were on the level of High School and so predictable that it almost hurt.

But I was thinking I will finish this because at some point this will have to get better – right ? – now the book is finished and I am not so sure – I think the only reason I finished this book was because it was so short …BUT I will try the second one before my final vote …

 

WELL and here I am again and what can I say the book developed #sarcasm

It still is all the things I mentioned above about the first part and now it adds “unbelievable” to the collection … and this happens in a way that I had to give up not only on finishing this 4 book series but already the finishing of the second part here . It was a DNF at around 70 % then skimming through the pages until I reached the end to make sure I do not miss any mayor breakthroughs

 

The blur already tells you that the male lead gets hurt so no mayor spoiler here from my side but in case you dislike spoilers do not read further

 

The description of the injuries of the male lead make me think that it is highly unbelievable that he is running around the way he is the day after the accident happens and I mean HIGHLY unbelievable

 

And the Issue with “who is going to handle his account”  while the male lead is sitting in a corner listening is not only HIGHLY unprofessional with the client in the room,  but also again done on the level of a High School disagreement – those two issues added on top of the rest and I had to give up on this story – sorry  

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3
error: Content is protected !!