REVIEW

 

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Guardian’s Hope (Guardians of the Race #2) by Jacqueline Rhoades

 

 

Guardian's Hope (Guardians of the Race, #2)

  

Guardian’s Hope
Guardians of the Race #2
Jacqueline Rhoades
April 7th 2013

 

Hope Parsons has heard about the evil of demons since she was a child in the little isolated community where she grew up. Demons were part of the outside world; demon sex, demon drink, demon music, demon woman. According to her father, her mother had a demon in her, too.

This is Hope’s world until she finds a box her mother hid years ago and the remnant of a letter her runaway sister wrote begging for help. These finds are the impetus she needs to embark on a journey out into the world and the city where she hopes to find her sister and learn more about her mother’s legacy. Once there, she learns her father was wrong about most of the evils of the outside world. Unfortunately, he was right about one; living, breathing demons are real.

Nico ad Nimeni, with his dark charm and magazine cover good looks, is a recent addition to Canaan ad Simeon’s House of Guardians. As a Guardian of the Race, it’s his job to protect his people, the Paenitentia, along with humankind from the demons who cross over from the Otherworld, but Nico knows there are demons other than those that stalk the night preying on the fear and flesh of humankind. Nico’s personal demons are the ones that plague a man’s soul and insist he stand apart.

When circumstances bring Hope to the House, she finds a place where everything she was taught about good and evil is turned upside down. In this world of witches and demons, vampires and Paenitentia, she learns that things are not always what they seem and that a shy, self-conscious country girl can be beautiful and find love in the arms of a suave sophisticate.

Join Hope and Nico as they search for her missing sister and discover in each other the healing power of love.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Guardian’s Joy (Guardians of the Race #3) by Jacqueline Rhoades

 

 

Guardian's Joy (Guardians of the Race, #3)

  

 Guardian’s Joy
Guardians of the Race #3
Jacqueline Rhoades
 March 10th 2015

 

Running from an unknown past… JJ Justice has spent her adulthood lost and alone and vulnerable to the haunting of a past she can’t remember. It’s no wonder she feels different from other people and not surprising that she chose the police force as a way of standing up for others who are defenseless against the evils of the world, but when her only friend and partner is brutally murdered by a creature not of this world, JJ discovers a greater purpose. She is called to hunt the monsters only she can see. Once again, she resigns herself to living her life alone, because the one thing she knows for sure is that letting people in only causes pain. Guardian of the Race, Bernardo ad Tormeo, longs for a woman of his own, one that’s as fun loving and loyal as his Liege Lord’s Lady, Grace, and as soft and gentle as his fellow Guardian’s mate, Hope, but the chances of meeting such a woman seem slim to none. What with the nightly patrols and his gaming business, he hasn’t the time to go searching for love. Nardo is sworn to protect his people and their human cousins from the demons who cross over from the Otherworld. He never thought he would be hunting a vampire; just like he never thought of falling in love with a leather clad ex-cop who can kick demon butt with the best of them. How do you romance a woman who thinks more of knives than roses? How do you help her fight the demons of her soul when she can’t remember who they are? Nardo doesn’t know, but he’s determined to find out. He only hopes he and his new love can find the answers before a monster from Joy’s past takes away the only woman he will ever love.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Blood to Dust by L.J. Shen

 

 

Blood to Dust

  

Blood to Dust
 L.J. Shen
July 17th 2016

 

His name is Beat, and I should hate him.

Bound, blindfolded and bruised, I’m tied in his basement, waiting for the men who stripped me from clothes and humanity to collect his debt to them. Me.

His name is Nate and I should hate him, but I don’t.

I’m not supposed to know his real name, even worse, I’m not supposed to care. He is nothing to me but means to an end. The plan is simple: break free, collect the pieces of my broken soul, kill the bastards and run away.

His name is Nathaniel Thomas Vela, and I’ve never seen his face, though I hear that it’s beautiful.

Behind the rugged and handsome exterior, there’s a quiet murderer, a killer who thinks guns are for pussies and ends people with his bare hands.

His name doesn’t matter, neither does his face, but what does matter is my heart. And right now, sadly, it’s his.

Blood to Dust is a standalone, full-length novel. It contains graphic violence and adult situations some may find offensive.

 

 

 

Dark stories used to be a trigger for me – same like mafia books were.

There were some great authors that made me warm up to the mafia theme so every once in a while I dare reading a book on that subject.

And just lately I encountered some authors that also made me more adventurous when it comes to the darker stories out there – so when I saw the Blurb of Blood to Dust by L.J. Shen I was torn between trying it out and being afraid that it might be an epic fail for me.

Because there is one thing that I need even if the stories are dark (sorry I can not tell because of mayor spoiler …) and it is always a huge gamble if the book I choose will have it or not.

Ahgrr .. I really need to say more – but no – not possible … lets leave it at “what I need is something that is offered usually more rare in a darker story than in other books”

But this book is different … because it not only has what I was looking for but also it manages to combine subjects of darker nature with moments of laughing which I can not remember ever finding in another book.

And on top of that it is really hard at times to keep up with all the twists and turns the story is taking. And lets not forget suspense an action.

So YES it is a dark romance but an unusual one I think. But it should be left in that genre because of triggers it might contain for readers.

If this book is any indication on the writing style of this author I believe she should be watched closely. I think I will put her book “Sparrow” next on my reading list because I just read some quotes of it that really got my attention because they reminded me of an even darker version of Jodi Ellen Malpas’ Character Jesse Ward (This Man)

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Before I Fall (Falling #1) by Jessica Scott

 

 

Before I Fall (Falling, #1)

  

Before I Fall
Falling #1
Jessica Scott
 March 10th 2015

 

Stay focused. Get a job. Save her father’s life.

Beth Lamont knows far too much about the harsh realities of life her gilded classmates have only read about in class. She’ll do whatever it takes to take care of her father, even if that means tutoring a guy like Noah – a guy who represents everything she hates about the war, soldiers and what the Army has done to her family.

Noah Warren doesn’t know how to be a student. All he knows is war. But he’s going to college now to fulfill a promise and he doesn’t break his promises. Except he doesn’t count on his tutor being drop dead gorgeous and distracting as hell. One look at Beth threatens to unravel the careful lies Noah has constructed around him.

A simple arrangement turns into something neither of them can deny. And a war that neither of them can forget could destroy them both.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Dare (In Safe Hands #2) by S.M. Shade

 

 

Dare (In Safe Hands, #2)

  

Dare
 In Safe Hands #2
  S.M. Shade
October 21st 2016

 

Ayda

I hear him.
His deep voice and rumbling laugh. The bang of the headboard slamming the wall and fake screams from yet another woman. Derek is a pile of muscle and ink, a bad boy fantasy only a few layers of wood and plaster away. It’s all I expect or want him to be.
Until that irresistible voice begins talking to me.

Dare

I hear her.
The clicking of her fingers on a keyboard, her music or TV playing in the background. Her musical laugh and soft cries of pleasure, accompanied by a low, steady buzz. Ayda is a good girl who keeps to herself, and I have no business pursuing her, but I’m not a man known for doing the right thing.
I’m an ex-con. I’m a criminal.
And I want her.

This is book two in the In Safe Hands Series and can be read as a standalone.
Please disregard page number count during pre-order period. This will be a full length 60,000+ word novel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Justus (In Safe Hands #3) by S.M. Shade

 

 

Justus (In Safe Hands, #3)

  

Justus
 In Safe Hands #3
  S.M. Shade
 March 10th 2017

 

Justus

I’m not conceited.
Really, I’m not. It just so happens I have a body a Greek God would be jealous of, and a face that could make an angel weep. Other than that, I’m just your everyday normal guy who happens to take his clothes off for money. Sure, I’ve had to dispose of a few guys for In Safe Hands, the organization I work with that helps track predators and child molesters, but other than that, completely normal.
Women flock to me, screaming and paying for the right to touch me, so why is this woman so stubborn? Sadie Belmont’s curvy body and sharp tongue have haunted me since I met her a year ago. There’s something about her that gets stuck in my head like a bad song, and I’m determined to find out why I want her so badly, and why she can’t stomach the thought.

Sadie

I can’t believe I’m doing this. Of all the men in the world, I’m taking Justus Alexander to my childhood home in Oklahoma to meet my mother. A stripper who has a revolving door of women jumping in and out of his bed. Nine months ago when I lied to my mother and told her I had a steady boyfriend, I didn’t expect it to come to this. She doesn’t have long to live, and her only wish is to know I have a husband before she goes.
I can’t disappoint her, and male escorts cost way more than I can afford, so when Justus volunteered, I took him up on his offer. I know what he wants. After annoying me with constant pick up lines for a year, he sees an opportunity to get me in bed. It’s not going to happen. I just need to get through this week with my sanity intact.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Jeremy (In Safe Hands #5) by S.M. Shade

 

 

Jeremy (In Safe Hands #5)

  

Jeremy
 In Safe Hands #5
  S.M. Shade
May 22nd 2018

 

This is the fifth and final book in the In Safe Hands Series. Book one is titled Landon, and is free.

Melissa

I escaped.
For the first time in almost four years, I’m free.
My freedom came at a steep cost, leaving me on my own with no family or friends. I have a lot of healing to do, and this beautiful lake house seems like a perfect setting to find myself again.
I can do this.
The only thing I have left is hope.

Jeremy

I ran.
For the first time in my life, I’m alone.
I failed to appreciate what I had until it was too late, and now I can’t bear the grief of my friends while suffering my own. That’s not the only reason I’ve relocated.
Twenty-two people were murdered, including the woman I love.
The only thing I have left is revenge.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Jeremy (In Safe Hands #5) by S.M. Shade

 

 

Jeremy (In Safe Hands #5)

  

Jeremy
 In Safe Hands #5
  S.M. Shade
May 22nd 2018

 

This is the fifth and final book in the In Safe Hands Series. Book one is titled Landon, and is free.

Melissa

I escaped.
For the first time in almost four years, I’m free.
My freedom came at a steep cost, leaving me on my own with no family or friends. I have a lot of healing to do, and this beautiful lake house seems like a perfect setting to find myself again.
I can do this.
The only thing I have left is hope.

Jeremy

I ran.
For the first time in my life, I’m alone.
I failed to appreciate what I had until it was too late, and now I can’t bear the grief of my friends while suffering my own. That’s not the only reason I’ve relocated.
Twenty-two people were murdered, including the woman I love.
The only thing I have left is revenge.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS REVIEW

REVIEW : Fighting for Devlin (A Lost Boys Novel) by Jessica Lemmon

Title :

Fighting for Devlin

Author :

Jessica Lemmon

Series :

Lost Boys #1

Rating :

4 Stars

Blurb :

Devlin Calvary makes his own luck. Orphaned as a young child, he was taken in by a crew of bookies and gamblers—and they became his family. They’re the reason Dev’s running a trendy bistro, living in a high rise, and enjoying the good life with a string of women who never ask for too much. Until, one night, he finds out how much it hurts to trust the wrong people. . . .Rena Lewis sticks to the straight and narrow, determined not to slip up again . . . like the terrible night of partying four years ago that ended in tragedy. A waitress at Oak & Sage, she knows that sleeping with her boss is not a smart move. But when Dev shows up on her doorstep, beat up and clearly shaken, Rena’s not about to turn him down . . . or kick him out of bed.Dev reawakens something primal within her—a need to go wild. And Rena soon finds out that the heart she’d sealed away years ago still has the power to fight for love.

Review :

The first two actions I took after reading Fighting for Devlin by Jessica Lemmon? Easy answer…

first : check when the next part is due to be release and I am NOT amused because I saw it was due in Dec. 2016 – which is by far to long
second: check up on other books from this author and add some to my huge TBR pile.
I guess this action alone gives away some of my opinion on this book. SO yes it was a good read. I am always carful when I read recommendations in a blurb that state “ perfect for “ or “fans of… will love”.
But in this special case I can follow the assumptions of the blurb that it would be perfect for fans of Katy Evans. I am not sure though if I agree with the relation to “Christina Lauren”. I would have mentioned more something like Devlin being a nicer version of Jodi Ellen Malpas Jesse Ward. In a “distant cousin” kind of way. Devlin can not really be compared to Jesse as a character, it is more this darkness looming around him that reminds me of Jesse. Very difficult to explain – sorry .
I really liked the plot and the characters were developed quite good. Even if I have to admit that I feel the balance in this development between Rena and Devlin was off. I felt as a reader I received much more Intel about Devlin than about Rena and that was a point I regretted.
But in total this is a really great book and I can only recommend it to all readers that like Katy Evans characters and writing style.
reviewed by

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Inappropriate (Bristol Island #2) by Elizabeth Finn

 

 

Inappropriate (Bristol Island, #2)

  

 Inappropriate
 Bristol Island #2
  d #2) by Elizabeth Finn
February 22nd 2015

 

A New Standalone Bristol Island Tale.

Cohen is a man apart on Bristol Island—an outcast loved by all but separated by his position within the community. Dylan is the newest resident in town, but she arrives with a dark secret and a desire to keep it buried.

But when burning attraction is thrown into the mix, his job and her secrets are quickly forgotten—that is until one impetuous decision renders a relationship off-limits, unethical, and utterly inappropriate.

Living next door to one another on the island’s isolated peninsula guarantees their paths will cross time and time again. With fate tempting Cohen to ignore his conscience and, for the first time in his life, gamble with the rules, will he risk everything for Dylan?

And what happens when Dylan’s past suddenly catches up to her? Will she find the strength to bare her soul to him? Or will she let her secrets take them both down?

Sometimes the inappropriate relationship is the most appropriate of them all.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 152

Merken

Merken

Merken

error: Content is protected !!