REVIEW

 

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Conn (Skin Walkers #5) by Susan A. Bliler

 

 

Conn (Skin Walkers, #5)

  

Conn
Skin Walkers #5
Susan A. Bliler
 August 14th 2012

 

Worn out and on the run, Aries Bracken’s life has quickly gone from bad to worse. Kidnapped by a team of mercenaries, she tries to convince their domineering commander that he has taken the wrong woman. She’ll play the helpless female until they slip up and when they do, she’ll be gone!

Skin Walker Commander Conn Drago’s mission was simple, retrieve the woman and deliver her for payment. However, he quickly discovers that not only is the beautiful and spirited Aries not the intended target; she’s also unaware of the fact that she too is a Skin Walker. When Conn realizes others are hunting Aries as well, he can’t fight his compulsion to protect her. He’ll have to battle both her unknown enemies, his own Skin Walker kind, and Aries’ desire to be free to claim what he has decided belongs to him.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS REVIEW

REVIEW : Resist by Missy Johnson

Title :

Resist

Author :

Missy Johnson

Series :

Resist #1

Release date : Apr 12, 2016
Rating : 4 Stars
Blurb :

In this sizzling short novel from New York Times bestselling author Missy Johnson, a young journalist goes undercover in a world of desire—and gets seduced by the billionaire bachelor she’s supposed to be chasing. Recent college grad Charlotte Lucas thinks she has found her breakout story. It all begins when she answers a provocative want ad posted by a secretive mogul who happens to be a prime suspect in his girlfriend’s disappearance. Young and inexperienced, Char has never been pushed to the limit—until their games take her to the very edge. Char has gone in looking for the truth, but now she’s in way too deep with a master who plays her body like it belongs to him. Jaxon Murphy knows a lot more about Char than he lets on. Although the media has made him out to be a monster, he’s not about to come clean about his tormented past—at least not before he turns this good girl bad and sends her out to do his dirty work. After all, Jax didn’t make it to the top without breaking some rules. But as their play grows passionate and achingly real, Jax can’t resist taking a shot at something that’s bigger and more powerful than revenge: love.

Review :

With “Resist” by Missy Johnson you become part of an emotional roller coaster that keeps you on the edge from the very beginning to the end.

It´s filled with lots of sexual tension that is accompanied by lust, rawness and even a bit of a dark side that makes it a quick read.
I haven´t read any other books by this author yet, but think that her writing style is pretty interesting.
All in all a good story that at some times is lacking of a bit more deepness. I really enjoyed reading this book, but wished at some points for mote details, a bit more story…..
I will definetly look out for this author.
reviewed by

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Recker (Skin Walkers #17) by Susan A. Bliler

 

 

Recker (Skin Walkers, #17)

  

Recker
Skin Walkers #17
Susan A. Bliler
March 26th 2018

 

Recker Rhodes is a Skin Walker with a serious problem. Given a mission he doesn’t want, assigned to some guy he doesn’t want to shadow, Recker’s world is rocked when it turns out the guy, Alex, is actually an Alexandra.

Alexandra “Alex” Hayworth needs a new life. After the death of her mother, she’s suffering from debilitating loneliness. She’s given up on finding a man or any hope for children, so working with the Skin Walkers is her last shot at happiness. She’ll do whatever it takes to ensure she gets passed the initial vetting, even if it means opening up to big burly Recker Rhodes.

Two reluctant hearts collide in the newest installment in the Skin Walkers series.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS REVIEW

REVIEW : Dirtiest Secret by J. Kenner

Title :

Dirtiest Secret

Author :

J. Kenner

Series :

S.I.N. #1

Release date : Apr 19, 2016
Rating : 4 Stars
Blurb :

it was wrong for us to be together, but it was even harder to be apart. The memory of Dallas Sykes burns inside of me. Everyone knows him as a notorious playboy, a man for whom women and money are no object. But to me, he’s still the one man I desperately crave—yet the one I can never have. Dallas knows me better than anyone else. We bear the same scars, the same darkness in our past. I thought I could move on by staying away, but now that we’re drawn together once more, I can’t fight the force of our attraction or the temptation to make him mine. We’ve tried to maintain control, not letting ourselves give in to desire. And for so long we’ve told ourselves no—but now it’s finally time to say yes.

Review :

With “Dirtiest Secret” , J. Kenner created another world packed with a dominant alpha that definetly doesn´t back off from pulling the reader into the story.

In general I am a big fan of this really talented author as she never fails to get me. Also not with this story. Again she created something that is filled with a man that without a doubt is meant to drive you crazy as he pushes the story forward in a way that makes it a joy to read this book.
In this book it´s also the combination of the male main character and the woman that kept me on the edge while reading. It´s another great book by a really talented author that never tends to fail.
reviewed by

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Leto (Skin Walkers #6) by Susan A. Bliler

 

 

Leto (Skin Walkers, #6)

  

Leto
Skin Walkers #6
Susan A. Bliler
April 23rd 2013

 

Shy Brookes is in a world of hurt. Attempting to rescue the handsome man she discovered her fellow scientists were hoping to use as a live specimen, Shy finds herself locked up and tortured in a cell of her own. When a team of mercenaries tears through the facility and effectively rescues her, Shy assumes her problems are over. Wrong! The team of Skin Walkers insist that she belongs to the handsome prisoner she’d attempted to free. Claiming she carries the man’s scent, the Walkers are determined to return her to her mate.

Leto Reigns doesn’t know who’s to blame for his captivity at the Megalya labs, but he’s certain Shy has played a role. She’s admitted to being an employee of the facility that hunts and experiments on his kind…Skin Walkers. His plan is to snap her pretty little neck the first chance he gets, but first he’s determined to find out why she carries his scent. He’ll have to control his temper and his disconcerting attraction to the auburn haired beauty to get his answers, if she’d stop running from him long enough to allow him to get close.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS REVIEW

REVIEW : One Broken Promise by Deanndra Hall

Title:One Broken Promise
Author :Deanndra Hall
Series:N/A
Release date:February 10th 2016
Rating : 2 Stars
Blurb :

Hayden Patterson has a simple rule. And he’s never broken it. Sleeping with a woman more than once simply isn’t going to happen. He’s always managed to hang onto his resolve, and so far, no woman’s ever blasted her way through. It’s one and done, with no prospect of ever having anything permanent. His childhood gave him that thinking and he has no plans to ever change. Two women alone, and one of them is in more danger than anyone realizes. It’s hard being a teenager. Kacey Flournoy knows that all too well. Stuck in a school district full of snobby rich kids, she doesn’t fit in on her single mom’s salary. When she’s cast as a bully, it only gets worse – especially since she’s the one being bullied. And her poor mom, Delaina, doesn’t know what to do. Since Kacey’s dad died while serving in the military, it’s all she can do to put food on the table. When Hayden draws his first assignment through Citadel Security, he can’t believe it. No way does he want to follow a poor little rich girl around all day to guard her from a bully. It doesn’t take him long, however, to figure out that something’s terribly wrong. And when he tries to right it, he meets the one woman who just might make him break his long-standing promise. That would mean he’d have to let go of the past, but he’s sure he’s not ready and he never will be. A novella nestled between the first and second books in the first spinoff series from the Love Under Construction series, One Broken Promise takes the hunted to the hunter, the oppressor to the oppressed, and one very scared man to a place that will bring him to his knees. If you’ve ever been bullied, you’ll feel the pain. But you’ll also taste the joy of a promise broken.

Review :

Unfortunately the title of “One Broken Promise” by Deanndra Hall was all too fitting. I had high hopes about this book because the plot sounded really promising but unfortunately the storytelling did not work out for me.

The “bodyguard” theme together with the “bully” theme sounded intriguing so I chose to read it.
But the way it was handled was somehow off for me.
Hayden was supposed to be a strong guy that could handle stuff, but he came off as a tired 1970’s cop waiting for his next doughnut break. So I was already struggling with the “bodyguard” part of the plot when the “bully” was entered into the mix.
On top of that there was a third “string” thrown into the mix. And a Romance between the adults of that story.
I am so sorry to be so blunt but it felt like mixing oil and water – it will not work.
When the one side was up it felt like a YA novel but the other half was a strange mix between some psychological cop bodyguard something thriller that wanted to be a romance novel …
The line was finally crossed for me when it came to the ending and the way stuff was solved around “the villain” … – I was shaking my head thinking it could have only been worse if someone gave him a gun and said “Ahm I did not think he would shoot”.
I feel the author wanted to add too much into it – I know I am the odd one out here probably but it is how I feel.
reviewed by

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : King (Skin Walkers #1) by Susan A. Bliler

 

 

King (Skin Walkers, #1)

  

King
Skin Walkers #1
Susan A. Bliler
October 28th 2013

 

A consummate professional, Lilly Worthington, has been personal assistant to CEO, Monroe StoneCrow for years. In that time, she’s witnessed much that leads her to believe there is something strange about Monroe and his staff. Tight-lipped and unwilling to rock the boat, Lilly performs her duties with skilled efficiency. Nothing could make her falter from her schooled indifference to the odd occurrences that plague StoneCrow…that is until King Mulholland arrives.

After years of being surrounded by Monroe’s gorgeous staff, Lilly is disconcerted to find that she cannot shake her attraction to King. Worse, he’s assigned as Monroe’s Chief of Security meaning he’s constantly in her presence. The distraction of King coupled with sudden threats at home has Lilly wondering if the two aren’t somehow connected. Are Monroe and King hiding something?

Skin Walker, King Mulholland, is called home to repay a debt to his friend, and Dominant Skin Walker, Monroe StoneCrow. Determined to even the field and then move on, King goes to great lengths to avoid Monroe’s machinations where pairing Walkers is concerned. Only two things stand between King and his freedom: Monroe’s scheming, and Lilly Worthington.

Inexplicably drawn to Monroe’s personal assistant, King is certain Monroe is somehow to blame. King struggles to fight his urges where Lilly is concerned; however, when Lilly is attacked all bets are off. Single-minded, feral, possession consumes him and his need to protect Lilly begins to outweigh his desire to play hardball with Monroe.

When King is finally stricken with what Monroe calls the affliction, King is more than ready to claim his angel…he is eager!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS REVIEW

REVIEW : If You’re Gone by Brittany Goodwin

Title :

If You’re Gone

Author :

Brittany Goodwin

Series :

n/a

Release date : June 20th 2016
Rating : 4 Stars
Blurb :

If You’re Gone traces a trying summer for rising high school senior Lillian White as she struggles to cope with the sudden disappearance of her boyfriend, Brad Lee – reported missing the morning after his graduation ceremony. When law enforcement dismisses the case and classifies Brad as voluntarily missing, Lillian becomes desperate to prove that he couldn’t have just walked away. Not from his friends. Not from his family. Not from her.Launching her own investigation into the darker side of her small North Carolina town, Lillian begins to uncover secrets from Brad’s past that force her to question everything she thought she knew about him and their relationship.”Soul-stirring… Truly one of the most innovative voices to come along in a while. Goodwin has weaved an engaging web of deceit and intrigue that embodies not only her storytelling prowess but highlights her visionary filmmaking abilities in novel form.” (Justin Price, creator of ‘Future’ SVOD channel)If You’re Gone will be available June 20th, 2016 from Edge of 22 Publishing.

Review :

If You’re Gone by Brittany Goodwin weaves an intriguing and believable story around the disappearance of Brad.

For me the book was not so much about the relationship between Lillian and Brad. It was more about how within only a few months a complete life can gradually change. Not like those total life changing events that change your life from one moment to another but like one of those backstabbing diseases that creep into your life slowly changing everything and when you finally notice it is too late.
Accompanying Lillian on her journey the reader starts to wonder if you really ever get to know a person even when he obviously seems to love you.
The story is told so believable that it could have actually happened or could happen at any given time. So please do not expect a big BANG when you are getting near the end of the book. In fact it is more a silent ending. There will be closure so much I can say without giving spoilers.
The end is also the reason that the book did not get 5 stars. The author did such a great job creating this whole plotline that I was a bit – well not directly disappointed but frustrated that the explanation we got was the way it was ( I can not say more to avoid giving away to much).
I would have expected something “different” not more complicated but also not so simple and I really did not need the last “chapter” because that is the only thing that sounded fake in this book – a slight change of the events before and without THAT time gap and it would have been perfect.
reviewed by

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Marko (Skin Walkers #16) by Susan A. Bliler

 

 

Marko (Skin Walkers, #16)

  

Marko
Skin Walkers #16
Susan A. Bliler
 December 29th 2017

 

Thea Kinsey is pregnant with a Skin Walker child and on the run. Worse, how does she explain to the father that she shot him by accident? There’ll be no explaining. He’s vowed retribution and Thea has no choice but to run fast and hard to keep from being caught.

Marko Storm is as messed up as they come. Having been captured by Skin Walker enemies years ago, he’s never been able to fully control his shifts or abilities. Things get even worse when Thea’s injected with some strange drug that has him unable to resist her. When Thea disappears from the Estate, Marko goes on the hunt, and when he finds Thea, the affliction hits with a powerful blast that’s almost as painful as the bullet she shoots into him. Thea doesn’t know that since their coupling, Marko’s completely lost the ability to shift, but that won’t keep him from hunting her. He knows she’s carrying his baby and once he finds Thea, he plans to capture and to keep.

****

“Hang on!” Marko shouted as he climbed into the truck and twisted the key in the ignition. Jamming the truck into gear, it lurched forward even as panic hit.

Thea’s hope that the dart had been a placebo, meant to terrify instead of doing any real damage, faded a quick death as her overheated body and suddenly sensitized flesh told her they’d definitely injected her with something. Moaning, Thea curled in on herself.

“Thea, hang on!”

She couldn’t formulate words, so she lifted a shaky hand and grabbed the empty tranq dart beside Marko’s thigh where he’d dropped it onto the seat.

His eyes shot down, and he cursed. “Fuck! What is it?”

She could only shake her head as her belly clenched hard, shooting pain to her sex that was surprising and frightening. She breathed through the round of agony and only caught bits of Marko’s words as he spoke into his comm.

“I don’t know what the fuck it is, but she’s in pain! Yes, I know she’s a SW friendly. I’ve read her file!”

Another wave of agony hit, and she breathed deep and slow, embarrassed that her clit suddenly chose this moment to come to life and find the friction of the denim bunched between her legs enticing.

“We can’t come in! They’re on us. I need help!”

Thea heard him say someone was on them and she struggled up with a groan to peer out the back window. The movement was a mistake. On her knees, the material of her pants pressed tighter against her clit and had her rocking forward and backward. Why did it feel so good? What in the hell is going on?

“Thea, stay down!” Marko’s large hand on her back flattened her to the seat before he went back to his conversation. “Someone just took ‘em out. We’re making a run for it. We’ll hole up and wait for you to come to us.”

Thea slid to the floor and squeezed her legs tighter, rocking quicker until to her utter mortification, orgasm seized her. She breathed through it and prayed Marko couldn’t tell. Huddled on the floor of the truck she moaned and wanted to cry when the pain returned full force and then some. Her orgasm only gave her a brief respite. Oh no!

“I don’t know,” Marko barked, and she peeked up from where she hid her face in arms resting on her knees to see him snag the dart from the seat. He held it to his nose and inhaled deeply. “I smell…” He paled and didn’t respond. Slowly, his eyes left the road and slid to her. His mouth fell open and his eyes rounded in horror as he stared at her in complete shock.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS REVIEW

REVIEW : Fighting for Control(Against the Cage ,Book 3) by Melynda Price

Title :

Fighting for Control

Author :

Melynda Price

Series :

Against the Cage #3

Release date : Mar 22, 2016
Rating : 4 Stars
Blurb :

For Nikko “The Bull” Del Toro, an ex-marine turned MMA fighter, only two things quiet the demons raging inside him—facing an opponent in the cage…and the memory of his hottest one-night stand. But when his PTSD resurfaces, causing him to lose control at a CFA press party, it’s his career that may be KO’d.Dr. Violet Summers is stunned to discover her newest patient is the man who rocked her world—and put her heart in a clinch after her nasty divorce. She’s determined to delve deep into the darkness that haunts him and to keep all further encounters strictly professional.Nikko doesn’t want a shrink. What he needs is Violet. With the memory of their passion blazing between them, it’s only a matter of time before they give in to desire. Can Violet help save this surly fighter from his own personal nightmare? Or will he forfeit his career and his last chance at love?

Review :

This book surprised me. This book captured me. This book made me feel….a lot!

What an amazing read! Really…..I still don´t know what to say even though I finished it two days ago. But now it´s time to write the review. Which is what I am doing right now- without talking about the first two books in the series which I haven´t read- yet. But I will do it for sure as this author is uncredibly talented.
At some points I was worried about her putting too much content in the story which at some points was the case. But it got better and better. Especially visible when looking at the development of the amazing characters that I definetly won´t forget about.
reviewed by

1 2 3 176

Merken

Merken

Merken

error: Content is protected !!