REVIEW

 

Merken

BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS REVIEW

REVIEW : Perfectly Imperfect by Harper Sloan

Title :

Perfectly Imperfect

Author :

Harper Sloan

Series :

N/A

Release date : November 17th 2015
Rating : 3 Stars
Blurb :

Mirror, mirror … who’s the fairest of them all? I still cringe when I hear that line. A fairy tale that had girls pretending they were the fairest, the most beautiful, and the most entitled. A fairy tale most couldn’t grow out of turned my haunted childhood memories into a living nightmare. Girls who grew up believing that pile of garbage became the meanest of all ‘mean girls.’And those mean girls were right – it was a line meant for all the beautiful people in the world – and I knew the answer would never be me.The women with long legs, flat stomachs, and perfect chests.The type of women Kane Masters gravitated toward.Well, that’s definitely not Willow Tate. No. That will never be me.Because I’m completely imperfect. And … I hate myself. I have no idea what Kane could possibly see in someone like me when he could have them.

Review :

My main issue with this book was that even though the characters were dealing with a very emotional subject I could not feel it as a reader. Good writing and interesting plotline – but something was missing

As this might be only my issue – we are still recommending it to other readers

reviewed by

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Divining Elise: Granite Lake Romance by Jody A. Kessler

 

 

Divining Elise: Granite Lake Romance

  

Divining Elise
 Granite Lake Romance 
 Jody A. Kessler
June 14th 2018

 

Elise Martinez wished her date with destiny didn’t include being run off the road by the most caring, handsome, and intelligent man she’d ever met.

Moving to Granite Lake to manage a bookstore and coffee shop meant Elise could finally leave her haunted past behind, but being a psychic mom to a deaf child has its benefits and downfalls—and her guarded heart isn’t ready for a new romance.

Rob Everett never imagined giving up corporate law to open a brewery with his brothers in Granite Lake would begin with a car accident and the arrival of a surprise baby.

As if being a single dad and starting a new business weren’t challenging enough, Rob can’t get the beautiful, mysterious, and feisty bookstore manager out of his mind.

For Elise and Rob, falling in love is a complicated, sexy, and emotional enterprise.

Mix in a baby, a haunted brewery, craft beer, and a dangerous ex-husband into this recipe of love and their future isn’t as easily divined as the fates would have foretold.

**A steamy, sexy, stand-alone novel with a happy ever after.

**Intended for 18+ for mature language and sexual content.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS REVIEW

REVIEW : Community Service by Dakota Madison

Title :

Community Service

Author :

Dakota Madison

Series :

N/A

Release date : November 20th 2013
Rating : 4 Stars
Blurb :

As Maggie Mitchell enters her final semester of college, the last thing she wants is a guy in her life, let alone two of them. Her new lab partner, Sawyer Reed, is still the overconfident and sexy jock that made fun of her in high school. The only thing that has changed is that he now uses a wheelchair, the result of a skiing accident. Jude Marino is a hot actor, who all the girls want and would do anything to get. He works at a local theater where Maggie has been assigned to complete community services hours after rear-ending a police car. Both Sawyer and Jude want Maggie but only one of them will be able to capture her heart.

Review :

I have had this book on my TBRpile since forever finally finding the time to read it I must say it was an enjoyable read. My problems with this story were basically for one the insta love between the leading characters. And the other was that, what happend between Sawyer and Jude was explained by a fact that for me would never suffice for the extrem dislike between them.

reviewed by

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Nanny and the Beast by Georgia Le Carre

 

 

Nanny and the Beast

  

Nanny and the Beast 
—-
 Georgia Le Carre
July 25th 2018

 

 
Yuri

A year ago Yulia, my niece, lost both her parents. Two months ago she completely stopped speaking. Her psychiatrist thought a gentler presence around the house might be good for her. She suggested a nanny for the child. Naturally, I would do anything that would help her regain her happy childhood.

But I didn’t expect the woman who stepped into my office. Yeah, she’s got my attention, all right, but for all the wrong reasons. I sure as hell don’t need this ripe fruit to distract me day and night in my own home.

I tell her she hasn’t got the job, and watch her leave my study, but Fate has other plans. Resistance is futile.

April

He lives in a white mansion in London’s Knightsbridge, a magnet for playboys and Russian billionaires.   Big, burly bodyguards look at me as if I’ve not come for a job interview, but to steal the family silver. Whatever. I maintain my professionalism, I’m determined to get this intriguing job of caring for the girl who refuses to speak. A prim woman leads me to his study. She knocks, and a deep, smooth voice beckons us to enter. The door opens and I set eyes on Yuri Volkov.

OMG.

His eyes are like a wolf’s. Pitiless. Mesmerizing Dangerous. Obviously he Is drop dead wrong but, I can’t stop imagining his big, tanned hands caressing every inch of me. After the briefest interview in the history of interviews he informs me I haven’t got the job. As I walk away, humiliated, from his study, it happens. The unthinkable.

And I’m suddenly back in the game.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS REVIEW

REVIEW : Tested by Her Web Master (Web Master #2) by Normandie Alleman

Title :

Tested by Her Web Master

Author :

Normandie Alleman

Series :

Web Master #2

Release date : February 18th 2016
Rating : 5 Stars
Blurb :
He’s my addiction, my love—my life. He’s my Dominant—my everything. He’s changed me, and I never want to go back. But now, he’s asking for too much. Going too far. It’s out of my comfort zone–not who I am. I’ll swallow my pride and face my fears But something tells me he has ulterior motives for this extreme request, and I will get to the bottom of it. That is, if I can pass his test.
Review :

Before starting on my thoughts about “Tested by Her Web Master” (Web Master #2) by Normandie Alleman let me go back to “Her Web Master” the first book in that series of 3 books.

When I received the ARC of the second book YESTERDAY (yeah you are reading correctly I directly devoured the book) … I went back for a second to the first book.
I read the blurb again, read my review to get my thoughts together on how and where I was when reading the first book (which is a usual behavior for me) … accidentally I noticed some reviews that where placed after I reviewed the book.
And frankly speaking I have a problem when I read “there was too much dirty talk” or “there was too much kinky stuff … Ahm …
IF I choose to read a book that mentions in its Blurb:
“Warning: If you’re not a fan of dirty talk or dominant alpha males, “Her Web Master” may not be for you, but if you’re looking for a filthy online boyfriend who will make your toes curl, meet Sophie’s mysterious Dom”
I should not complain about kinky stuff or about dirty talk… I should simply say sorry I did not like the plotline or it did not work out for me.
Sorry but I had to mention that for once.
Coming back to the actual book. As mentioned, I read “Tested by Her Web Master” almost immediately after I received it. I knew I was going to like the writing style if it compared to the first book and I believe now that it became even better.
Ms. Alleman throws you unapologetically directly right into the story, which is a quite fitting way for a description of Sophie’s Relationship with her Dom. I am not sure what I can tell you about the plotline.
I liked that Blurb is not giving to much away and honestly as there are not many reviews there yet I do not want to be the one that throws the spoiler around.
So lets be vague …
Sophie’s Relationship with her Dom is developing but the question is … are they on the same page?
The things she would like to happen would mean a progress and it seems that he is quite content where they are. Or so it seems ? So when he approaches her with a new idea? Request? .. No… suggestion … no lets be fair… it is actually more a non-negotiable instruction / command – she only reluctantly follows.
I think she is not so sure herself of the reasons why. Because he is her Dom would be the simple answer … but is it really the only answer?
During the journey of this book, Sophie discovers more about herself and about her Dom. In addition, at one point there are revelations that will force their relationship to show its true face.
And Ms. Alleman, you can color me impressed … I have really no idea what will happen in the last part of the series … because so far we only know what Sophie feels but I just took a sneak a peek on the blurb of the third part … and If this really promises a view into the mind of our “Dom” … I can hardly wait …
reviewed by

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Break (A Second Chance Stand-Alone Romance) by Cassia Leo

 

 

Break (A Second Chance Stand-Alone Romance)

  

Break
A Second Chance Stand-Alone Romance
Cassia Leo
July 27th 2018

 

 
From the New York Times bestselling author of the Shattered Hearts Series comes a sweet and sexy stand-alone rock star romance.

For most of my life, Ben Hayes was the gorgeous bad boy musician next door. My brother’s heart throb best friend.

Then, he was my boyfriend for six of the happiest years of my life. Until he dumped me on social media in front of millions of people, officially cementing his role as my worst enemy.

Three years later, Ben returns to our small beach town with an ego the size of California, a drinking problem, a movie deal that’s about to fall through, and a secret that only he and his dying father know.

I’m not the same pathetic girl I was when he broke my heart. I’m stronger now. I won’t let him break me again.

But it’s hard to resist those ocean-blue eyes, that sculpted, tattooed body, that smooth voice, that enormous… Well, you get the picture.

Every time he makes me laugh or swoon, my defenses fracture. The walls around my heart are crumbling fast. And Ben’s wrecking ball of a secret is about to deliver the final blow.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS REVIEW

REVIEW : His Reason to Stay (In the Line of Duty #6) by Cathryn Fox

Title :

His Reason to Stay

Author :

Cathryn Fox

Series :

In the Line of Duty #6

Release date : February 16th 2016
Rating : 5 Stars
Blurb :

“They made one beautiful mistake. The consequences could haunt them for life.”

“In the Line of Duty,” Book 6
From the moment the Nelson brothers took a lonely young girl from the wrong side of the tracks under their wing, Rachel Andrews loved them both with all her heart. But it was James who won her hand.Now widowed, she s trying to pick up the pieces for her daughter s sake as well as her own, but once again loneliness is her closest friend until James s brother comes back to town. The man she secretly wishes had asked her first.
Army ammunitions expert Kyle Nelson would rather face live fire than face the raw reminder that the woman he loved chose his brother over him, but he s tired of running. And ready to step up to be the man everyone needs him to be especially the young niece he s never met.As time runs short before Kyle ships out again, the desire Kyle and Rachel have suppressed breaks free in a fiery rush. Tempting her to reveal a secret that could give him a reason to stay or burn their love to ash.
“Warning: Contains a hot military man who will steal your panties as well as your heart.””
Review :

I was surprised by how intense my feelings were when reading “His Reason to Stay” the 6th book in the “in the Line of Duty” series by Cathryn Fox.

Expecting an easy romance novel I found a well-developed and really deep novel.
I could easy relate to the decisions the leading characters made at certain steps of their life and I was routing for them.
I am not sure if they could have made better choices or what decision I would have made faced with their options.
I believe both did the best they could and the author told their story in a wonderfull way.
A recommendable read
reviewed by

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Eric 754 (Cyborgs: Mankind Redefined #4) by Donna McDonald

 

 

Eric 754 (Cyborgs: Mankind Redefined, #4)

  

Eric 754
Cyborgs: Mankind Redefined #4
Donna McDonald
 November 25th 2015

 

 
He often forgets he’s a cyborg. All she sees in the mirror is a killing machine.

Marine Lance Corporal Eric Anderson tended to forget he was cyborg. Hell–most of the time he didn’t give being mostly a military machine any thought. He’d always lived by his human gut, not his logic chip, so thinking out of the cybernetic box was just how he worked. 

Then he met her–Evelyn 489–a female cyborg so erratically dangerous she has to be kept locked away. Angry, violent, and full of deadly intentions, she epitomizes every fear about cyber scientists that ever kept him awake at night. Some warped cyber scientist stripped away her real identity to create the perfect companion. Until he gave into his urge to be her hero, the woman didn’t know she used to be Army Captain Lucille Evelyn Pennington. 

Though Peyton is full of doubts, Eric is compelled to help Kyra and Nero restore the woman who once liked to be called Lucy. It doesn’t help his cause that several people seem determined to kill her.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS REVIEW

REVIEW : Taken By Desire (Demonic Desires #1) by Valerie Twombly

Title :

Taken By Desire

Author :

Valerie Twombly

Series :

Demonic Desires #1

Release date : May 18th 2015
Rating : 4 Stars
Blurb :

Greydon has two important missions: Find his brothers and rescue his people. His duty becomes complicated when he’s forced to beg a human to save his life. Aimee Jarvis always considered her bookstore a detour to bigger things. Little did she realize her next stop would be the intriguing world of a demon prince. Yet, she finds the dangerous Greydon alluring. While their attraction continues to burn, they both deny what their hearts already know. It will take the mystery of an ancient civilization and a shocking discovery for them to admit their desire.

Review :

“Taken By Desire”, the first of the “Demonic Desires” series was the first book that I read by Valerie Twombly.

The plotline was so intriguing and well written that it drew me right in.
She created an interesting view on the world and developed her characters wonderful and just deep enough to relate to them. #laughing well at least to Aimee.
And actually I was left to wonder… who is to blame for the picture that the word “Demon” automatically creates in your mind. No one ever said a Demon could not be a hot guy ….
Ahm OK that sounds weird but I think you get what I mean.
Anyway I am looking forward to more form this series as this book leaves the readers on an edge
… Enjoy
reviewed by

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Cord’s Chance (Men of Mercy #7) by Lindsay Cross

 

 

Cord's Chance (Men of Mercy #7)

  

Cord’s Chance
Men of Mercy #7
Lindsay Cross
 June 12th 2018

 

 
He thought he was done. His career as a special forces sniper was over. He’d lost his leg and his dignity in that ambush. Now, after nearly a year of rehab, he was fighting the toughest battle in his life: prove he was still worthy to serve.

His chance:
Contract with a security firm to pull protection for a rancher by the name of Sam Bishop. If he succeeded in routing out the bad guy, Cord would be back on the team.

The bonus:
He’d be able to get the hell away from all the counselors and therapists trying to tell him how to come to grips with his PTSD and missing limb. There were no emotions and feelings in west Texas, just rough necks and grit. Exactly what he needed.

The catch:
Sam’s real name is Samantha and she’s not a codgy old man – she’s the one girl from Cord’s past he never got over. He thought he’d lost his chance with her, and now that he wasn’t a whole man, he didn’t deserve her.

Samantha is determined to show Cord he’s everything she ever wanted. Her biggest battle isn’t the stalker threatening her life: it’s making Cord see he’s worthy of her love and so much more.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 166

Merken

Merken

Merken

error: Content is protected !!