REVIEW

 

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

REVIEW : #Moonstruck (#Lovestruck #2) by Sariah Wilson

 

 

#Moonstruck (#Lovestruck #2)

  

#Moonstruck
#Lovestruck #2
Sariah Wilson
 July 17th 2018

 

Over one million “likes”—but only one of them matters.

After pop star Ryan De Luna praises Maisy Harrison’s YouTube cover of his classic hit, he offers Maisy and her fledgling band the opportunity of a lifetime: to be his opening act.

Music may be Maisy’s life, but she has one ground rule: never date a musician. That goes double for a heartbreaker like Ryan. If only she didn’t feel so vulnerable to his larger-than-life charm. And maybe now more than ever, when he asks for her help to shake off his playboy image. How can she resist playing the part of his fake girlfriend for the duration of the tour?

Ryan’s never met anyone like Maisy. She sees past all the star-studded fame and treats him like any other guy. And the more time they spend together, the more he finds himself falling for her. Now he’d like to make their imaginary fling an IRL thing. But can he convince her to take a chance and trust him with her heart?

 

 

 

Already when I read #Starstruck I knew this would become a great series – don’t ask me why it was just my gut feeling.

 

#Starstruck and #Moonstruck are the first books I read by this author and if they are indication on the writing style her other books should be equally addictive.

She presents well-developed characters and a great story and I loved the developing relationship between the leads.

If you are a lover of books, where stars meet and engage with “commoners” these books will be a great addition to your collection.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Why Stars Chase the Sun (Forget Me Knot #1) by C.R. Ellis

 

Why Stars Chase the Sun (Forget Me Knot #1)

  

Why Stars Chase the Sun
Forget Me Knot #1
C.R. Ellis
June 26th 2018

 

 

JADE
Twenty-four hours.
A no-strings-attached adventure with the most gorgeous man I’ve ever seen—this was my alcohol-slash-lust-fueled proposal, and given before I could consider the potential ramifications. While his looks alone are enough to make a girl swoon, it’s the rest of him—a perfect balance of mysterious, sweet, and effortlessly charming—that draws me in. Through his cryptic comments and half-answers, he’s quickly become an enigma I’m determined to solve.

One way or another, this adventure promises to snap the stagnant, lackluster pattern my love life has been locked in lately.
Is it naïve and a little reckless to think this won’t blow up in my face? Probably.
But the bigger question is the only one I need to answer…
Is the chance to soar among the stars worth the risk of being burned when the sun eventually rises?

EMMETT
Love is a mistake I won’t make again.
My rules are simple. Keep things surface-deep. Don’t make plans. And never, ever get attached.
One look at her is all it takes for me to break my first rule.
One conversation with her is all it takes for me to question everything.
Which means accepting her proposal is bound to be a mistake.
She has no idea who I am or what kind of demons I live with, so I tell myself there’s no harm in spending one day with her. But the more I lose myself in her, the more she brings me out of the darkness and into her light, the harder it’ll be to let her go.
When reality comes crashing down on us in the worst way possible, I have to decide between walking away…or risking everything for the woman who breaks all of my rules.

 

 

 

Moments when I love my reading life …

Why Stars Chase the Sun by C.R. Ellis – was another great first time read from an new to me author.

I have to admit when I first read the title – and please dear author forgive me – I almost passed on it without reading the blurb – I simply thought it would be a (and yes I am ashamed) a sweet  romance and I was so not in the mood for that.

But then I did take a look at the Blurb and I was intrigued …

And believe me after reading you will probably be as surprised as I am – when you look at the title – the cover – think of the blurb and what you just read.

This story has an all in one package – it is well written – has great characters – some suspense and a well developed plot. What more could a reader want …

And here comes the icing … it’s the DEBUT novel of this author … so there is still room for development – there always is – and that should only mean great writing is on the horizon 

Yes I admit there were one or two things that I would have wished for to be different – but that was really only artistic freedom and no big deal.

I think the blurb mentions enough about the story so I will not go into that any deeper and only leave my recommendation here to read this book. The only reason this book did not receive 5 stars is my “Emotion” rule (see my profil)…. So others would might classify it as 5 star read I am pretty sure…

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Drowning to Breathe (Bleeding Stars #2) by A.L. Jackson

Drowning to Breathe (Bleeding Stars #2) by A.L. Jackson

 
 

October 20, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Drowning to Breathe

Author :            A.L. Jackson

Series :            Bleeding Stars #2

Release date :   September 15th 2015

Rating :           5 Stars

 

 

Blurb : The danger in pretending is it becoming real…

 

Sebastian Stone, Sunder front man and guitarist with a rap sheet about ten miles long, escaped to Savannah, Georgia, to get away from the trouble he’d caused.

 

Not find more of it. The moment he saw Shea Bentley, he saw beneath all her sweet and innocence to something that went deeper.

Darker.

Their relationship was built on secrets; their love built on lies.Sebastian never imagined how deep her secrets went.When the past and present collide, Sebastian and Shea find themselves fighting for a future neither believed they deserved. Their passion is consuming and their need unending.

 

Now, holding the truth in his hands, Sebastian is faced with sacrificing everything he’s come to love to protect Shea and his family.

Two pasts intertwined.

Two lives bound.

 

Will their demons drown them or will Shea and Sebastian finally learn to breathe?

 

Drowning to Breathe is Book 2 in Sebastian and Shea’s two-part duet. Their story begins in A Stone in the Sea.

 

Review : I squeezed the first book of the Bleeding Stars series “A Stone in the Sea” into my tight reading schedule thinking it was a standalone book I a series of standalones – but I was surprised by just this book being a two-part.

 

Usually I dislike such surprises but it this case I decided to postpone a already scheduled read just to start with the second book “Drowning to Breathe” (Bleeding Stars #2) by A.L. Jackson immediately. Hence my rating for the books.

 

 

Wow…. What a journey I can tell you now after I finished both books. A.L. Jackson has a unique way of writing emotions to paper that is really captivating.

 

She just moved herself up to the list of “lets check if this author has something new” …

A trusted list I go to when I read a bunch of new authors that could not really captivate me and I am not sure if I am at an all time low or if I am just choosing the wrong books. In those moments I need a sort of calibration for which I use my Go-To authors where I am sure I like their style of writing (just maybe a certain plot might not be up my alley)

 

The plot that was “woven” was not a new on in this book – not that would be to far fetched. But it was told in a refreshing way that made it feel new. And I very much liked the depth that both characters had.

 

Sebastian and Shea both had equal dark secrets that where not all directly on the table from page one which kept the reader occupied in guessing. Yeah I admit there were some threads in that storyline – especially near the end where I was thinking stuff like “that is a tad to much coincidence”.

 

But that was really not interrupting with the overall reading pleasure which is an accomplishment in itself because usually once that thought takes residence in my mind the stars for a book begin to fall out of the sky – here? Not so much …

 

I am really looking forward to reading a certain story of another “family member” that I hope will come soon. I can not wait to make space in my reading schedule to read that

 

Please enjoy this great read.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Cuckoo by Scarlett Finn

Cuckoo by Scarlett Finn

 
 

October 12, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Cuckoo

Author :           Scarlett Finn

Series :            Kindred, #3

Release date :   September 5th 2016

Rating :           5 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Cuckoo

 

She’s shrewd and unforgiving, Focused on her own agenda.Her motives are selfish,And she always gets her man.

 

Zara’s existence is unrecognizable from life before Raven. Given all they’ve lost, the Kindred are still trying to find their rhythm. Except when an almost impossible-to-refuse bid for Game Time comes in, they have to get their shit together fast.

 

Raven is hesitant, Swallow is sure, and Swift is right in the middle. Facts they’d always accepted as sacred are suddenly called into question. With the truth no longer certain, they have to be willing to do whatever it takes to rewrite history.

 

Warning: Contains explicit language and imagery. Suitable only for ages 18 and over

 

Review : Am I the only one thinking that Scarlett Finn seems to writing constantly? She really seems to breathe books. Usually the reader has to complain about a long waiting time until he gets the next book in a series but not with this author.

 

Ms. Finn lets you barley breath through your emotions of the last ride you took with her when already the next journey is knocking on your door. Not that I am complaining – far from it – because it keeps you in the middle of things.

 

This time it was “Cuckoo” the 3rd book in the “Kindred-series” that I had the pleasure of reading. Writing a review without giving away anything about the story has become an almost impossible, because any tiny bit I tell might be too much.

 

And given my emotional Outbursts during reading … well – lets say “If I would let my honest emotions flow into this review there would be a lot of ##beeps## to erase offensive words”

 

In many points the book was exactly as I expected (in a good way) in others it wasn’t and that also was a good thing, because it kept me guessing whether or not I was right about certain things and developments. Turns out to be 50/50 which is actually a good sign as usually when an author writes a series it gets easy for the reader to predict certain events happening the more books he read in that series.

 

Looking back to the first book in that series I somehow feel now, after reading Cuckoo, that the balance of power between Raven and Swallow has shifted. And I think if you asked me before reading this 3rd part I would have refused to admit that I like it.

 

Things will be getting interesting now because the next books will most likely be focusing on other members than Raven and Swallow and it will be interesting to see if the dynamics that have been established can be maintained.

 

And how much the reader will get to see from our favorite couple in the future. But I admit I can hardly wait to hear Swifts and/or Zave’s story.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

REVIEW : Incognito by Siobhan Davis

 

 

Incognito

  

Incognito
Siobhan Davis
June 30th 2018

 

 

 

A troubled popstar forced into hiding… A sweet small-town girl overcoming tragedy… And the kind of love that only happens once in a lifetime.

Dakota’s dreams of attending Juilliard were shattered the night tragedy struck her family. It’s one year later, and she’s now enrolled at a local university trying to piece her life back together.

Shawn is one of the world’s most famous faces, having lived under a spotlight since his star exploded when he was fourteen. Now jaded by an industry forcing him to perform music he no longer enjoys, he craves normalcy and the opportunity to rediscover his muse. When a crazy stalker gets too close, and death threats start mounting, Shawn’s management team comes up with a plan—one which will allow him to work on his latest album while staying incognito on a college campus.

Romance is the last thing on Dakota’s mind, but after she crosses paths with a hot, prickly cutie with rock-hard abs and smoldering good looks, she can’t shake him from her thoughts.

Shawn can’t afford to bring any girl into his fucked-up life, but the gorgeous blonde with the sad blue eyes captivates him in a way no girl ever has, and he finds himself falling hard and fast.

But outside forces are conspiring against them.

When danger draws closer, and secrets are revealed, will their love survive?

 

 

If you would request that I describe Incognito by Siobhan Davis with one word that word would be

DOOMED

When you are reading a lot of books you might have come across a plot looking like this one once or twice already. But I am pretty sure it only LOOKED like this plot – because honestly sofar I never read a story of two persons in this situation that felt so doomed from the beginning.

Imagine a typical storyline … and than think again adding a twist and turn at every possible corner. When the focus of a relationship should be going forward – here in this story the author tortures his leadas not only by going forward and backward but also be going in circles. So its character torture at its finest. And I loved every second of it.

Being on Top of everything – seperated from the real world and being in the spotlight – dissected – subjected to the mercy of the public eye – basically public property – that is Shawn our male lead here.

At the Bottom of everything – at least when it comes to personal wishes, hopes and loss – that is Dakota

These two could not be more different and more perfect together. Their story is a trainwreck waiting to happen. As a reader you get the front row – including the “no don’t do that please” moments where you know what will happen, that it will be bad but you still get the reasons. Talking about a rock and a hard place.

A thought that crossed my mind was that I felt our leads should have been a year or two older. There were some plot related moments that had me feeling this way. Everything was perfectly working from the timeline its just a very personal feeling.

On a sidenote – I was pleased to read that the author did not let go of two of my favorite previous characters. I was delighted to see them here in a secondary but still centere role.

I am not sure if Inseperable and Incognito are ment to be a series or not but due to the reoccuring characters I would suggest reading Inseperable first – also because its a great story.

Incognito is slighty sweeter than Inseperable was. Reading the story of Shawn and Dakota did not nearly hurt so much as the other book. But here it was really intersiting how many missunderstandings could be placed in one story and magically the story did not suffer. If anything it became more intriguing.

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Mr. Right by J.S. Cooper

Mr. Right by J.S. Cooper

 
 

October 24, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Mr. Right

Author :           J.S. Cooper

Series :            n/a

Release date :   July 26th 2016

Rating :           1 Star

 

 

Blurb : Some nights are meant to remain a secret. Some nights are meant to be for fun. Some nights are meant to last just one night. It was never supposed to happen. But, we couldn’t stop ourselves. One night became too many. He was the one man I wasn’t supposed to want. The one man I wasn’t supposed to have. The one man that could never possibly be my Mr. Right. However he’s the one man I can’t get out of my mind. He’s the one man that’s going to change everything. Only he has a secret that’s bigger than everything else. He has a secret that could ruin everything.

 

Review : Unfortunately it seems to be becoming clearer with each book I try that the writing style of J.S. Cooper does not agree with my reading needs.

 

I tried several books so far – the latest being now Mr. Right and again I am left wondering why I even started reading it.

 

The Blurb’s of the stories always sound appealing and the basic plotlines are not bad at all but there is just something about that writing style that is just not for me.

 

In this case here I was wondering throughout the whole book why the female lead did what she did. And why she remained where she was ( I am vague on purpose because of spoilers )

 

Almost nothing made sense to me. Strangely only Evan (at least on the surface) made sense in the “obvious” plotline.

 

The not so obvious plotline was even worse – she made totally no sense.

 

I am just now sitting here (shaking my head NO) when I am thinking on how to express what was going on in that plot.

 

Suffice to say I started skipping a few chapters in the second half of the book because even though I hoped there would be some light in the dark – it only became worse.

 

And that the dialogue that made me finally close the book without reading the actual end was about one person admitting a big lie (and I am talking HUGE) to another and the other person basically saying DIRECTLY WITHOUT BIG FUSSING AROUND “its ok you played me because I love you” … ahm that did it – sorry.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Dear Bridget, I Want You by Penelope Ward, Vi Keeland

 

 

Dear Bridget, I Want You

  

 Dear Bridget, I Want You
Penelope Ward, Vi Keeland
September 18th 2017

 

From the New York Times Bestselling authors of Stuck-Up Suit and Mister Moneybags, comes a sexy new standalone novel.

Dear Bridget,
I’m writing this letter because it’s highly doubtful I’ll ever garner the courage to say this to your face.
So, here goes.
We’re totally wrong for each other. You’re the proper single mum with a good head on your shoulders. I’m just the carefree British doctor passing through town and temporarily living in your converted garage until I head back to England.
But here’s the thing… for some bloody reason, I can’t stop thinking about you in very inappropriate ways.
I want you.
The only reason I’m even admitting all of this to you right now is because I don’t believe it’s one-sided. I notice your eyes when you look at me, too. And as crass as I appear when we’re joking around about sex, my attraction to you is not a joke.
So, what’s the purpose of this note? I guess it’s a reminder that we’re adults, that sex is healthy and natural, and that you can find me just through the door past the kitchen. More specifically, it’s to let you know that I’m leaving said door cracked open from now on in case you’d like to visit me in the middle of the night sometime.
No questions asked.
Think about it.
Or don’t.
Whatever you choose.
It’s doubtful I’ll even end up sliding this letter under your door anyway.
–Simon

 

 

 

Dear Ms. Ward – What is it with you and your “thing” for underwear ? – #MeLaughing … I am not sure but this book reminded me in so many GOOD way’s of Stepbrother Dearest … I really loved every minute of it.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Rock Legend (Nothing But Trouble #2) by Tara Leigh

 

Rock Legend (Nothing But Trouble, #2)

  

Rock Legend
Nothing But Trouble #2
Tara Leigh
July 17th 2018

 

 
Fans of Kristen Callihan, L.J. Shen, and Kylie Scott will scream for this sizzling bad boy rock star romance!

I’m no Prince Charming.

Most people know me as the drummer for Nothing but Trouble. Depending who you ask, I’m also a playboy, a loner, the life of the party, a screw-up, or according to my fans, “The Sexiest Rock Star on the Planet.” Apparently, I’m a legend.

Am I surprised? Hell, no. It’s a reputation I’ve earned behind my drum kit and behind closed doors. No one thought foster kid Landon Cox would become famous. Infamous, maybe. Notorious, probably. But successful? Never. No one except Piper Hastings. But I had to make a choice: my woman or my career. I picked fame and fortune… and spent every damn day since pretending I don’t regret it.

Now fate’s dropped Piper back into my life. I want to believe it’s a second chance for me – for us. But while I can give her a few great nights, I can’t give Piper a future.

Because there’s a difference between a legend and a fairy tale…
Only one of them ends happily ever after.

 

 

 

Here I am again …. Reading Tara Leigh’s second book in the “Nothing But Trouble” series ….
If you read my review for “Rock King” which was the first book in that series … you can imagine that I had really high expectations when it came to Rock Legend…. And …. Ms. Leigh delivered!
I will not say exceeded because I am careful, as I do not want to raise my own expectations (as well as my fellow readers’ ones) even more when it comes to the next book. *lol*

But she truly delivered. Already in the previous story I felt that her writing style was really engaging. The pain and depth of the characters felt real to me. Her characters have so many layers that it is really a pleasure to meet them only to start peeling all these layers off. The story is written in a way that this peeling does not stop until the very end which keeps the story fresh from beginning to end.

There were a lot of parts I would love to quote (my kindle is full of markings) but those would mean little if I did not include spoilers so I refrain. But some parts of the storyline really hit home and my heart was heavy reading lines that felt privately familiar to me. I really had a moment wondering how it was Moments like this I wished it was acceptable to quote half the book here just to make people understand how it felt.

Because there’s a difference between a legend and a fairy tale…
Only one of them ends happily ever after

My thoughts … In the beginning I was not sure if I liked our male lead here – but I trusted the author to guide him (and me) and as the story progressed he became an interesting person with significant past and background. What I didn’t like ? Well there was an issue with a person taking his cell phone – yeah the part is needed to get the story to a certain point but I was enraged wishing for a different explanation, a better one, as this was not enough for me – but true to her writing style – Ms. Leigh guided me through these feelings as well.

Our female lead was overall likeable only there was an issue with a cucumber and the story part that lead to the cucumber where I was shaking my head thinking … “you can not seriously believe that” – but I loved that she never went over board with her actions like a lot of characters do.

The secondary characters of the story – which are basically the other members of the band – slowly move into focus during the story and get a few layers added to them. So I knew early on who would feature the next book. And I noticed something interesting in my own reaction to them. While I am not that impressed yet with the idea of the next female lead I am intrigued with the male, because of some hints that were dropped during the story. Last time I felt the same but when I read the story exactly the opposite happened so lets see if the same happens with the next book.

And I really can not wait to read the next one. :- )

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Racer (Real #7) by Katy Evans

 

 

Racer (Real, #7)

  

Racer
Real #7
Katy Evans
September 28th 2017

 

A bad boy with something to prove.
A woman with a mission.
The race of their lives.
The love of a lifetime.

I don’t think his parents expected him to live up to his name—Racer Tate—but once he felt the adrenaline rush behind the wheel, he was addicted.

He’s the fastest, fiercest driver around.

Scouting new talent brings me to his doorstep…
but his smile sends me to my knees.

The sexy, mysterious Racer Tate is not the kind of man a girl like me falls for. He’s secretive, reckless, elusive. But his proximity pushes me beyond reason, and his kiss….

This is our last chance to win, and he is our only hope. I’m supposed to watch him—make sure he doesn’t get into trouble. But it’s an impossible task. And now the one in heart wrenching, toe-curling, soul-crushing trouble is me. Because when your heart belongs to someone, their truths become your own, and their secrets become your salvation…or your curse.

He says he wants me. He says I’m the One. But he also thinks he’ll break my heart, one piece at a time until it’s gone.

 

 

 

I am still under the heavy impression of what I just finished reading … and that was Racer by Katy Evans …

When you aim to read a book a day (and almost mange it) you reach a point where you think that you will not encounter anything really new anymore. And in some dark moments you might even think that nothing really surprises or grips you anymore…. That being said and collecting my thoughts Here comes something NEW to me – something I was sure I would never say.

I think If you come across Katy Evans Books for the first time … you would expect me to tell you to read them in some sort of order … but Racer broke with that – and for the first time in my life I am not sure what I should suggest to tell a reader …..  read Racer first and then the other books or read them in the order like I did…

Trying to keep it vague for spoiler reasons let me phrase it this way … Racer is closely related to a previous lead in another book and I really struggled with two facts that came with that knowledge.

Readers knowing this authors books will understand and probably already guess one issue because it is a logical worry …..Where I personally was not so much struggling with the worry itself but more with the fact that at the moment I realized the relation I already KNEW “things”…

After some contemplating I think you should read them in the way they were released but you might encounter the same feeling that had me thinking – and that was my second “issue” and that is TIME …. Like in the moment when Racer said …. “together for 30 years” – well I am not sure what I felt but it was strange …

Do not misunderstand me – it is absolutely no issue of the book – just my personal issue – I felt OLDER in that moment … like I also met them 30 years ago – you know ? Where it still felt so real like it was yesterday…

Because that character I am talking about was so remarkable that he never left me … and as music is a big part in this book – Racer evoked the same feelings in me – it was like a renewal …

Everything about this guy was so raw …. And even when I felt that the love he developed with Lana was a little on the insta side – the knowledge of his background made me comfortable where I in any other case might have complained.

I am honest … some of the tears I encountered at a certain moment of the book felt like they were also due to the knowledge I already had – which also enforces my thoughts of keeping the reading order.

Racer 2.0 was “further” developed and knew better how to handle things and I admired him I really did …. (when you read the story you will get the meaning of this line)

You can read Racer as a standalone ( I think – I mean I can not know as I read all the other books too) but I strongly believe that you might not have the same range of deep feelings because you might not understand some of the struggle as it seems lighter in this book. Or maybe I am just thinking that because I encountered a really bad case before ? As I said – I will never know as I can not change my knowledge and the more I write I think I do not want to change that knowledge – so yes keep the reading order …

But those 30 years – damn – sorry – they are hard to digest for me … hahaha

Did I already say I love the book ? not sure (I try to never scroll back while writing)  – but anyway I DO-

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Branding the Virgin by Alexa Riley

Branding the Virgin by Alexa Riley

 
 

October 26, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :             Branding the Virgin 

Author :           Alexa Riley

Series :            n/a

Release date :   July 13th 2016

Rating :           1 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Mary-Jane wasn’t looking for drama. All she wanted was a family of her own, so she decided to make that happen. A mix-up at the sperm bank leaves her with a baby in her belly, but the father is none the wiser.Ty was injured in a bull-riding accident, and now all he plans on doing is working on his ranch and keeping to himself. That is, until a little dark-haired woman shows up on his doorstep.When their paths cross, will Mary-Jane be able to reveal to Ty that he’s the father? Will Ty be able to keep Mary-Jane from running? Will there be a lot of steam in this book? You betcha!

 

Warning: This pregnant virgin story is wonderfully ridiculous and just as sweet as it sounds. Saddle up and take an evening stroll with this easy quickie.

 

Review : I assume from bunch of 4 or 5 star reviews that I seem to be either missing a huge point in “Branding the Virgin” by Alexa Riley or I am the odd one out there. But unfortunately I am honestly not able to give this story more than 1 Star. And this ONLY due to my own rating system which I religiously follow – because it honestly feels more like a DNF

 

Well first of all this is a short story which I was not really aware of (might have been my mistake but well with all the warnings you read nowadays a hint on this being a short story might have been nice.

 

Anyway the blurb warns the reader that this //quote// pregnant virgins story is wonderfully ridiculous and just as sweet as it sounds //un-quote//.

 

I agree with the first point – it is ridiculous … really which might have been ok – given this warning. But my problem is really the second point in this statement “as sweet as it sounds”. Because this point I could see nowhere in these pages honestly.

 

Clearly a short story does not leave much time to develop characters – therefore I am always reluctant to read those – BUT I have seen it being done in a decent form. Still adding an almost nonexistent form of InstaLove (yeah I just made that up – but I have no idea how to explain what really happened in that story) … anyway adding this to the short story there is no space for anything even remotely sweet.

 

Because SWEET implies some sort of connection between the characters.

 

Ok I think I can in this special case not avoid to spoiler something to make myself clear. I usually avoid that as best as I can. Therefore be warned to read further.

 

Ty, the male lead does not fall in InstaLove with Mary-Jane… no. He simply wants to keep her because an “important part” of the male anatomy stirs when he sees her. And given the fact that this part of him was supposed to be “broken” this is a huge deal.

 

So if this would be a dark romance that plot might really work in a different setting … but not within a story settling like this one – I am missing the sweet part her fully – really sorry – might be only me but I can not help it.

 

The writing itself isn’t bad or so and the plot idea also was good – but the handling did not work out with the length of the story and especially not with the reasoning of the leading characters to fall in love with each other.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 2 3 113

Merken

Merken

Merken

error: Content is protected !!