REVIEW

 

Merken

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Going In Deep by Carly Phillips

BLOG REVIEW : Going In Deep by Carly Phillips

 

October 22, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

Going In Deep

Carly Phillips

 

 

 May 9th 2017

 

 

 

 He isn’t Mr. Nice Guy… Julian Dane thought he’d hit rock bottom — until he met a woman (isn’t that what they all say?). He used her and broke her heart. Now he wants to turn things around but the damage he dealt stands in his way. Kendall Parker’s unique issues have made it hard to live a normal life. Very few people understand her and she trusts even less … but she believed in Julian once, and he only betrayed her. Now Julian is back — a new man — and determined to win Kendall’s heart. But this reformed bad boy just might find that Going in Deep is harder than it looks. Billionaire Bad Boys: Rich, Powerful and Sexy as hell. All Billionaire Bad Boys Novels stand alone!

 Going In Deep by Carly Phillips can be read as a standalone. But as it was the first book for me in that series and from this author I have to say that I felt missed out on the intensitiy of their previous relationship.

I suppose that the previous books mentioned the details of whatever happened between Julian and Kendall, even if they were only secondary characters there. I think to feel stronger about the characters I should have read those (if they contained details) because from the beginning on I could feel Julians remorse but I could not feel the hurt or the reasons for resentment I probably should have felt.

So basically Julian came to me as a nice guy feeling bad for no reason at all. And the same goes for Kendall. She was “fresh to me” and I could not feel or see any “leftovers” of her issues. Other then her thinking or talking about it there were no traces of them.

Also I could not feel her personal struggle to start a relationship with Julian. The only obvious and understandable thing was her reason to not disturb her relationship with her sister.

So in general I would not recommend to read the book as a standalone. (Still I am not sure if one of the previous books contained more details, I am just assuming this because of the general writing style of the author).

The story itself might work as a standalone but to feel more connected I as a reader needed a little more, because the story requested a lot of relating to the past of the characters.

But do not worry this ranting of mine is only the reason why this book did not get 5 stars… simply because my feelings were not on course.

As for the rest…this book is a great read, well written with wonderful characters that I can really recommend.

Julian’s remorse was heartfelt even if I could not fully comprehend his reasons (see above explanation). I really liked the development of their relationship and the storyline was beautiful developed and just flowing at the right pace.

Enjoy

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Fraud by J.L. Berg

BLOG REVIEW : Fraud by J.L. Berg

 

October 21, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

Fraud

J.L. Berg

 

 

 May 1st 2017

 

 

 

  From USA Today Bestselling author J.L. Berg comes a sexy standalone about love, lies and every dirty little thing in between.It wasn’t just a job.It was my way back to the top.After losing my position as a journalist for one of the biggest news publications in the world, I knew I’d do anything to get it back.Even if it meant breaking a few hearts to get there. She was the hottest author in the country. Known only by a pen name, there wasn’t a person alive who wasn’t dying to discover her true identity.And I’d figured it out.Her real name was Kate O’Malley and not only did I plan on finding her, but I fully intended on learning every dirty secret she had and exploiting it for my own gain.But I underestimated my prey. I didn’t anticipate how her words would intoxicate me, or how the curves of her body would consume me.I never meant to fall in love. And now I had a choice to make. Do I give up everything for the woman I set out to destroy, or walk away, making me the biggest fraud of all?

  Actually I am not sure why, but the dynamics of Fraud by J.L. Berg were different from the usual romance novel. It might be because the author spend a lot of the time in the head of the “villain” and his activities were not a secret to the reader. It was only a question WHEN not IF the victim would find out about the fraud.

I could totally relate to the female lead and her position and I really liked the way the character was developed.But even though the author spend this huge time with the “villain” I somehow could not feel anything for him.

He was a blank for me I could not even be angry with him and I guess the reason for that was that the reader knew from the very beginning everything that was going on.

It was like the whole plot was already laid bare from the beginning somehow, which was not bad and well told but it left no room for developments, which I felt was a shame as the story was really good.

I don’t know enough about the world of journalism to judge if what he did made any sense just that it reminded me really more of a stalker than a journalist. Not sure if I felt comfortable with that approach, I guess if I as the reader would not have gotten that look inside his head he would have given me shivers just seeing him creeping his way near to her.

And I am truly not sure how or when he fell for her and that is actually my biggest issue here. But well I have a certain feeling that this is only ME being the odd one out there and that most other readers will enjoy this plot as it is – so just ignore me will you #laughing

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Snare (Recoil Rock #3) by K.E. Osborn

BLOG REVIEW : Snare (Recoil Rock #3) by K.E. Osborn

 

October 20, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic 

Snare

K.E. Osborn

  

Recoil Rock #3

  

 May 11th 2017

 

 

 

 

 Fear—it’s swallowing me whole. The worry is always there of people finding out my secret. But she knew. The second we were alone…. she figured me out. My life has been one catastrophe after another, people judging without knowing me. I’m rude, obnoxious, stubborn, but that’s all to hide the pain of my demons.The pain of my childhood. No one knows why I’m the way I am. Except for my twin, but even he doesn’t know the extent of my despair. No one knew until Zaria Shafir came into our lives. Oscar-winning A-lister and actress extraordinaire.She saw right through me—through the bravado, through the act—she saw me.The thing is… she’s just as good at acting as I am. The diva attitude she throws around demanding everything like she owns the world. I see through her, too.We both have demons in our past.Will they keep us from having a future?

 Snare (Recoil Rock #3) by K.E. Osborn is the third book in this series that I read and while I still like the writing style of this author in general I have to say that the plotline of the particular book felt different to me than the others.

I enjoyed the book and storyline in general especially also because I already know about the history and dynamics having read the previous books. I know you sense the BUT coming and here it is.

Sorry to say so BUT there was something off in the relationship dynamic between the leading characters. It felt like both of them were missing their backbone. The forward and backward without any real reason gave me a whiplash of the worst kind.

Especially when it came to the female lead. Not going to spoiler on the actual story, but when I am pissed at someone for saying or doing something that is not simply disappearing within 2 minutes.

And more often than not in this storyline I found dialogues where there was an argument – and the relationship was stopped from developing or was dissolved – only to be reset by simply one of the involved parties changing their mind.

“I think we should not be together” – “OK”

“I think we should be together” – OK”

Yeah I know there was more to it and this is exaggerated but when I was nearing the end this is really the way I felt they were reacting whenever a disagreement turned up.

And that bugged me because they were interesting characters in an interesting setting. So yeah I am giving 3.5 Stars (counted as 4) because they were interesting but still to be honest their relationship development got on my nerves and I can not say I liked it very much because I need my characters to have more backbone.

I can work with them being wrong and changing their mind but the question is how that is transferred to the reader. Still I look forward to the next book because not every book can be loved the same as the previous.

Reviewed by

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

BLOG REVIEW : Last by J.L. Davis

 

October 19, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 Last

 J.L. Davis

  

 

   May 5th 2017

 

 

 

 

After losing her job, her bestie, and her boyfriend all at once, Jessa Phillips has no choice but to move back home and start over.

When she knocks on Alex Rogan’s door, she’s searching for employment but what she gets is so much more than a job. He’s tall, muscular, gorgeous…and very mysterious.

Jessa can’t shake the attraction and desperately wants more than he’s willing to provide. Can she get Alex to drop his guard in order to give them a real chance? To let her be his LAST?

 

Last by J.L. Davis was my First …

LOL – Pun intended

No seriously it was my first book by this author and somehow from what I found it might also be the debut novel of this author.

The author has an interesting and fresh writing style and the setting as well as the characters were well developed.

Additionally the setting of the storyline was different and a little unusual.

I am not sure how much to tell without spoilers but at first it sounded like there was an immense age difference between both leads which confused the setting a little. As I said “at first” but later it made the complete interaction between the characters more spunky I think. Especially when it came to Jesse’s new friend that actually got her the job with Alex.

Jesse and Alex were interesting yet totally opposite characters. While Jesse at first sight looked insecure she was the one getting Alex out of his funk. And on the other hand Alex who should be the more settled one is actually more insecure than Jesse.

Adding the circumstances, their environment and past – well lets say the reader is in for an interesting ride. But it will be one I am sure that the readers will enjoy – I can honestly say that I enjoyed it. It was a read that was a little fresher than the average sweet romance. If the author can keep up this kind of writing style the future will tell but for now I can say that I would pick up the next book by this author if the blurb appeals to me. 

Reviewed by

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Last by J.L. Davis

Last by J.L. Davis

 

October 19, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

  Last

 

  J.L. Davis

 

 

  

  May 5th 2017  

 

 

 

 

 

After losing her job, her bestie, and her boyfriend all at once, Jessa Phillips has no choice but to move back home and start over.

When she knocks on Alex Rogan’s door, she’s searching for employment but what she gets is so much more than a job. He’s tall, muscular, gorgeous…and very mysterious.

Jessa can’t shake the attraction and desperately wants more than he’s willing to provide. Can she get Alex to drop his guard in order to give them a real chance? To let her be his LAST?

 

 

 

 

 

Last by J.L. Davis was my First …

LOL – Pun intended

No seriously it was my first book by this author and somehow from what I found it might also be the debut novel of this author.

 

The author has an interesting and fresh writing style and the setting as well as the characters were well developed.

Additionally the setting of the storyline was different and a little unusual.

 

I am not sure how much to tell without spoilers but at first it sounded like there was an immense age difference between both leads which confused the setting a little. As I said “at first” but later it made the complete interaction between the characters more spunky I think. Especially when it came to Jesse’s new friend that actually got her the job with Alex.

 

Jesse and Alex were interesting yet totally opposite characters. While Jesse at first sight looked insecure she was the one getting Alex out of his funk. And on the other hand Alex who should be the more settled one is actually more insecure than Jesse.

 

Adding the circumstances, their environment and past – well lets say the reader is in for an interesting ride. But it will be one I am sure that the readers will enjoy – I can honestly say that I enjoyed it. It was a read that was a little fresher than the average sweet romance. If the author can keep up this kind of writing style the future will tell but for now I can say that I would pick up the next book by this author if the blurb appeals to me.

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Perfect Illusion by Winter Renshaw

The Perfect Illusion by Winter Renshaw

 

October 18, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 The Perfect Illusion

 

 Winter Renshaw

 

 

  April 4th 2017  

 

 

 

 

 

It’s only pretend…

And it’s only three months.

I’m in the midst of scrawling “I QUIT!” onto his fancy cardstock letterhead when my boss corners me. He needs a favor, he says. And then he asks how well I can act …

Hudson Rutherford needs a fiancée.

With his old-moneyed parents forcing him to marry some bratty hotel heiress and his hedonistic, playboy lifestyle at stake, the only way to get them to back off is to make them think he’s truly, madly, deeply in love … with me—his third personal assistant this year.

But I can hardly stand working for him as it is.

Hudson is crazy hot and well-aware. He’s arrogant, spoiled, and silver-spooned. He checks me out when he thinks I’m not looking, and his life is a revolving door of beautiful women. Plus, he can’t even pronounce my name correctly—how’s he going to convince his family he’s in love with me?!

I’m seconds from giving him a resounding “no” when he flashes his signature dimpled smirk and gives me a number that happens to contain a whole mess of zeroes …

On second thought, I think I can swallow my pride.

But, oh baby, there’s one thing I haven’t told him, one teensy-tiny thing that could make this just a hair complicated …

Here’s hoping this entire thing doesn’t explode in our faces.

 

 

 

 

 

The Perfect Illusion by Winter Renshaw was not the first book by this author that I read and I really love her writing style.

 

She perfectly manages to draw you into the story that she presents you at that time. No matter where your mind was before but after 10 minutes you are in the story.

 

The Perfect Illusion is not different. Starting from 0 to 100 within 5 minutes you are thrown into a whirlwind of emotions that you have trouble keeping up until you finally reach a calmer water that lets your breath and think about what just happened.

 

Which brings me to the story and its leading character. I liked the characters – I can not say I LOVED them to be honest because I kind of stumbled over one or two things within the storyline that I either have to count as mayor character flaw of the leads or as glitch in the storyline.

 

One was that I could not really follow the female lead falling in love because it went to fast for my taste.

 

The other – and that was more serious – was that I had trouble digesting some reasoning’s that were uncovered as the story unfolded. They were explained but honestly they sounded childish in the concept of the whole storyline. More like something I would have expected from a YA novel and not from this book.

 

But anyway that is just my personal taste and others might see it totally different.

 

AND (and that is more important) it does not change my opinion on this authors writing – I love it – and as not every story can be a love at first sight – it would never stop me from picking up her next book at any given time.

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Ghost in His Eyes by Carrie Aarons

Ghost in His Eyes by Carrie Aarons

 

October 17, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Ghost in His Eyes

 

 Carrie Aarons

 

 

 

 

  April 23rd 2017  

 

 

 

 

 

He was as magnetic as a deadly hurricane to the shore.Carson Cole was my first love. The boy I’d shared my whole self with.He was the man who’d taken the other part of my soul and drowned it in the sea we’d grown up in.And now he’s back. Ten years later, and the demons of our past are still haunting every breath trapped between us.She was as wild as the horses who owned the beach highways we drove down.Blake Sayer was the beautiful daredevil who had me wrapped around her finger from the time we were seven.Until a horrible accident stole every piece of joy from her life.Ten years later, she’s a shell of the girl she once was, and it’s all my fault. The whispers of our history shackle her to the island I left behind.Just like lost years and unspoken words, love had slipped from our fingers like grains of sand. We’d barely made it out alive last time, was it even possible to reconstruct the shattered pieces of us?

 

 

 

 

 

While the plotline of Ghost in His Eyesby Carrie Aarons was enjoyable I still have to admit that I could not get into the story the way I wished I would have.

 

It took me a while to realize that it was the writing style that somehow disconnected me from the characters. And I really need to feel close to the characters to be able to give a good rating to the book.

 

Strangely there was so much emotion WRITTEN in the book but I could not feel it while reading.

 

Not long ago I read a book with a very similar plot and I could not help but compare the story as it progressed and here I felt it was very slow – to slow in fact.

 

The characters – especially the female lead seemed to wallow in their despair without any chance of moving forward. Also I felt it was suddenly a too fast (or too easy?) when it came to their HEA, with all the despair I would have expected more drama towards their goal.

 

So overall I have to admit that while I like a good second chance novel – this version will not be one of my favorites. But judging from the raving ratings I see I think the author does not need to worry about the reviews and I am just the odd one out here. So don’t mind me and enjoy this read.  

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKPROMO RELEASE REVIEW

BURN FOR YOU by J.T. Geissinger

About BURN FOR YOU (Slow Burn #1)

Available October 17th

The marriage is fake. But for a sassy chef and an arrogant billionaire, the sparks are real… Jackson “The Beast” Boudreaux is rich, gorgeous, and unbelievably rude to the staff at Chef Bianca Hardwick’s New Orleans restaurant. Bianca would sooner douse herself in hot sauce than cook for Jackson again, but when he asks her to cater his fund-raiser, Bianca can’t refuse, knowing the cash will help pay her mother’s medical bills. Then Jackson makes another outrageous request: Marry me. The unconventional offer includes an enormous sum—money Bianca desperately needs, even if it does come with a contract—and a stunning ring.

The heir to a family bourbon dynasty, Jackson knows the rumors swirling around him. The truth is even darker. Still, he needs a wife to secure his inheritance, and free-spirited, sassy Bianca would play the part beautifully. Soon, though, their simple business deal evolves into an emotional intimacy he’s built walls to avoid.

As the passion heats up between them, Bianca and Jackson struggle to define which feelings are real and which are for show. Is falling for your fake fiancé the best happy ending…or a recipe for disaster?

Add BURN FOR YOU to your Goodreads list here!

 

Get your hands on BURN FOR YOU now!

 

See the BURN FOR YOU trailer:

 

About J.T. Geissinger

A former headhunter, J.T. Geissinger is the author of more than a dozen novels in contemporary romance, paranormal romance, and romantic suspense.

She is the recipient of the Prism Award for Best First Book, the Golden Quill Award for Best Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, and is a two-time finalist for the RITA® Award from the Romance Writers of America®. Her work has also finaled in the Booksellers’ Best, National Readers’ Choice, and Daphne du Maurier Awards.

Join her Facebook reader’s group, Geissinger’s Gang, to take part in weekly Wine Wednesday live chats and giveaways, find out more information about works in progress, have access to exclusive excerpts and contests, and get advance reader copies of her upcoming releases.

Website | Newsletter | Facebook | Geissinger’s Gang | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

 

The first book by JT Geissinger that I read left me speechless because of its depth and the desperation it emanates…. Not sure how long I cried and they were really ugly tears

 

So I was almost surprised (yet looking back I should not have been)  that this author is also able to mix that depth and emotion with humor … And OMG did she mix it … I can not remember laughing this hard in the last week.

 

You might also award this book with a gold star for the highest occurrence of figure of speech.

I cannot remember reading any book that this count of lines that left me laughing out loud … so

 #butter my bum and call me biscuit if there ever was another book like it …

 

For me as a bilingual person English is only my second language and I love those lines especially to compare them with equal ones in other languages – so yeah well I loved that book for this part alone.

 

Then there is the food … gosh – my mouth was watering and I will definitely try to make this cheesecake I love a good cheesecake … and maybe one or two other things also

#thank the gods for kindle marks

 

Looking at the plot the author created two wonderful characters who could not have been any more different … They were like night and day but I think one quote in the book covered the situation perfectly “#slap #slap #kiss”

 

Both had this amazing depth even if they came from totally different places they were described in such detail that it was so easy for me to feel with both of them – and I admit to wiping a stray tear from my eyes at certain points.

 

It really left me in awe of the writing of this author how she mixed severe topics with a banter that would make the ears of an experienced reader turn brightly red.  She mixed two worlds that looking at them separately seem like very unbendable.

 

If you loved previous books by this author you are going to adore this one – and if you do not know this author you will lover her after you read this book …

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Royally Screwed (Royally #1) by Emma Chase

Royally Screwed (Royally #1) by Emma Chase

 

October 16, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Royally Screwed

 

 Emma Chase

 

Royally #1

 

  October 18th 2016

 

 

 

 

 

 Nicholas Arthur Frederick Edward Pembrook, Crowned Prince of Wessco, aka His Royal Hotness, is wickedly charming, devastatingly handsome, and unabashedly arrogant; hard not to be when people are constantly bowing down to you. Then, one snowy night in Manhattan, the prince meets a dark haired beauty who doesn’t bow down. Instead, she throws a pie in his face.Nicholas wants to find out if she tastes as good as her pie, and this heir apparent is used to getting what he wants. Dating a prince isn’t what waitress Olivia Hammond ever imagined it would be.There’s a disapproving queen, a wildly inappropriate spare heir, relentless paparazzi, and brutal public scrutiny. While they’ve traded in horse drawn carriages for Rolls Royces, and haven’t chopped anyone’s head off lately, the royals are far from accepting of this commoner. But to Olivia, Nicholas is worth it.Nicholas grew up with the whole world watching, and now Marriage Watch is in full force. In the end, Nicholas has to decide who he is and, more importantly, who he wants to be: a King… or the man who gets to love Olivia forever.

 

 

 

 

 

I super enjoyed this read. There is a lot of cliché in the story that is for sure and I could see some strings to Books like “Princess Diaries” but I did not mind that at all.

 

The characters were enjoyable and the storyline was well developed and interesting.

 

And I totally did not see that “U-Turn” (if I may call it like that) coming – So the author got me there.

 

I am looking forward to pick up the next book of that series – I already have a suspicion about the leading couple.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

════  PLEASE SUBSCRIBE / LIKE / FOLLOW US  ════

Blog              : http://jeri-ryan.wix.com/jerisbookattic
FB Page       : https://www.facebook.com/JerisBookAttic
Twitter          : https://twitter.com/JeriTRyan
Goodreads   : https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/20537528-jeri
Bloglovin      : https://www.bloglovin.com/people/jerisbookattic-13468119

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Dane by Leddy Harper

Dane by Leddy Harper

 

October 15, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Dane

 

 Leddy Harper

 

  

 

 May 2017 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dane Kauffman:

 

Rich, smart, handsome, and selfless. He’s content with the direction of his life, until the moment he stares into her green eyes.

 

Eden Clare:

 

Determined, headstrong, and independent. Searching for a job, answers, and a purpose, she has no room for anything else. Until she glances in his direction. Crossing paths, tempting fate—Dane must make the ultimate decision. Sacrifice everything to get what he wants, or to continue to be benevolent.

 

 

 

 

 

There are moments when being a blogger that is supposed to be reviewing a book is a really hard thing. When you check my reviews for Leddy Harper you will know that I really love her writing and all of the books I read so far received good reviews.

 

SO…

 

Being honest here is a really tough thing for me but I can not help myself and with a small tear in my eye I must give this book a review of only 2 stars. It is not her writing style or the development of the story – all of that was terrific as usual. And it hurts to admit that…

 

As I usually avoid spoilers I also will not make an exception here as it is a main issue in the plot BUT my problem is : A main issue of the story is not mentioned in the blurb. And this issue would have been a reason for me NOT to choose this book for reading.

 

BUT as it is now – I read it and I am between a rock and a hard place… as I can not undo that fact. Every reader has a certain thing he loves, needs or refuses to read in a book.

 

Like needing a HEA , loving it when the leading character is an alpha male or refusing to read about BDSM. And I am pretty sure my issue will also be an issue for other readers and it should somehow be mentioned in the Blurb to avoid people like me choosing this book.

 

Gosh – dear author I really love your books and I hope you forgive me for this… But when a book has a disclaimer that it contains explicit sex I as a reader can not complain about to much sex – its my problem if I choose it.

 

But in this case – given the Blurb I read – I would have never expected this issue to arise so please forgive me for not liking the direction of this story

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

1 2 3 13

Merken

Merken

Merken