REVIEW

 

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

BLOG REVIEW : Carny by Simone Sowood

BLOG REVIEW : Carny by Simone Sowood

 
 

March 19, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Carny

Author :           Simone Sowood

Series :            n/a

Release date :   November 11th 2016

Rating :           5 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Different town every week means a different woman in my bed. No complaints here. That’s how I f*cking want it. One look of my handsome smile has them weak in the knees. One touch of my rock hard muscles has their panties dropping. One night of pounding with my pierced, tattooed c*ck and they beg me to stay.But when the weekend’s over, I move on to the next town, and next woman.Until Emily.One look at the beautiful blonde and I know she’s the one I want in this town. One taste of her innocence and I need more.The last thing she wants is anything to do with me; she know’s I’m nothing but trouble — until a fight with her parents pushes her straight into my arms. I’ll be damned if I’m letting her walk away, no matter what her rich parents think of their precious princess with a bad boy.I finally have a woman I wanna keep. I’m not letting her go now. *** A steamy STANDALONE contemporary romance with a smoking hot alpha. No cliffhanger, no cheating, and a guaranteed happily-ever-after.***

 

Review : You also sometimes have this phenomenon that you bring a song and a book in close relation ?

Either because that song is mentioned in a specific moment of the book or just because you relate the context of the song closely to the plot ?

 

I have that quite frequently because music is very important for my reading and writing. So when I was asked to read Simone Sowood’s latest book “carny” it only took me a few pages and I was unconsciously (at first) humming a song (and testing with my singing talents by husbands nerves).

 

It was a very old song my mother loved and probably nobody knows because the text is not English and the woman singing that song died a long time ago in 1969 and very young and became a member of the infamous club 27.

 

Amongst the few songs she had there was one referring to a situation just like the one described in Ms. Sowood’s “Carny” and it actually brought tears to my eyes while I read and hummed that song.

 

I have read quite a few books by this author now but this is the first time she actually reached a depth in her writing that made me cry. Not because the moment was so deep but because of all the assumptions that “towny” people are capable of and because of the actual raw beauty of the “carny” life.

 

She really draws the perfect small town cliché life that is turned up side down by just one event and I really loved the beauty of the plot.

 

You might come up with the fact that there is a lot of naïveté on Emily’s side and I tend to agree but it fit the plot so I can not find it in me to complain about it. Its part of the raw beauty I was talking about.

 

The story unfolds in such a beautiful way that I can only recommend it warmly

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Beautiful Monster (Beautiful Monster #1) by Bella Forrest

 

 

Beautiful Monster

  

Beautiful Monster
Beautiful Monster #1
Bella Forrest
 May 13th 2013

 

Liam Swift is a young man Amy has always admired from afar. She’s seen his face a thousand times; on the screen and in magazines. He seems unstoppable as his talent and beauty send him hurtling toward becoming a Hollywood legend…

Until one day – in what appears to be a fit of madness – he stuns the world by throwing it all away. Not even the most persistent reporter can fathom the reason behind Liam’s decision.

Never in Amy’s wildest dreams could she have imagined this God of acting would go on to accept employment at her local boarding school. Or that he’d personally start teaching her drama lessons.

It seems life can’t get much better for Amy… until the sound of tortured weeping starts echoing through the thin walls of her dorm room each night, leading her to stumble upon a horrifying secret Liam had hoped to keep hidden forever.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

ATTIC REVIEW : Jerk: Bad Boy Sports Romance by Vanessa La Porte

ATTIC REVIEW : Jerk: Bad Boy Sports Romance by Vanessa La Porte

 
 

March 20, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :             Jerk: Bad Boy Sports Romance

Author :           Vanessa La Porte

Series :            n/a

Release date :   November 2nd 2016

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : The Star of the Football Team is Her Idea of A Neighbor From H-E-L-L!

So Why is She So Attracted to Him?

 

~*Chance*~

 

Another day, another letter.

 

Another STUPID-ASS letter from my stick in the mud neighbor complaining about the noise… again! She thinks annoying me with these dumb notes is the best way to get me to turn the music down? Yeah right! Every time I get another complaint from her, I’m just going to turn the music up louder and party even harder. And if she calls the cops on me one more time, I will make her life hell! I’m just having a little fun… maybe she should try it sometime.

 

When I finally come face to face with her… I’ll be damned if she isn’t the hottest stick in the mud I’ve ever seen. I’m about to pound this girl hard and make her scream my name louder than my music ever was… she can write me a letter about it later. I won’t stop until I make this girl mine…

 

Read to the end and enjoy FREE full story bonuses!!

 

AUTHOR’S NOTE: This book contains adult themes and language and is intended for 18+ readers only.

 

Review : 

 

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

 
 
 
 
5 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

BLOG REVIEW : DANCER (The Good Guys #2) by Jamie Schlosser

BLOG REVIEW : DANCER (The Good Guys #2) by Jamie Schlosser

 
 

March 21, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              DANCER

Author :           Jamie Schlosser

Series :            The Good Guys #2

Release date :   December 8th 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb :

 

BRIELLE

 

Technically, I’m not a stripper. As a cage dancer, I don’t take all my clothes off and no one gets to touch me. I’m just the eye-candy.And I can feel their eyes on me. I know they’re watching, but I don’t do this for them.This is my time.My life may not have turned out the way I thought it would, but I’m not complaining. From 9pm to 1am several days a week I get paid to feel sexy, to feel desired, to do what I love.I always knew I wanted to be a dancer—I just didn’t realize I’d be doing it in a cage.

 

COLTON

 

Erectile dysfunction—two words that can cause a collective cringe from men everywhere. The doctors can call it ‘performance anxiety’ all they want, but that’s just a fancy way of saying my dick doesn’t work.Just when I start to think there’s no hope for me, I see her. She’s gorgeous, sexy, and goofy as f*ck. She also looks really familiar but I can’t put my finger on it.When I find out who she really is, my world is turned upside-down and everything seems to fall into place.She’s not gonna make it easy for me, but I’ve never been one to back down from a challenge. She’s convinced I won’t stick around.I’ll prove her wrong.I’ll show her I’m one of the good guys.

 

Review : Funny enough when I chose to read “Dancer” by Jamie Schlosser, I did not realize that I had read the first book in that series too. Shame on me I know but I hope with the amount of books I devour on regular base it is somewhat understandable that I do not have the name and titles of all authors I liked on speed dial.

 

But it did not take long for me to remember because this author has such a sweet and innocent style that directly something started to nag me. And only a few pages in I recognized the setting and Angel… (Don’t get me wrong – the book is perfectly readable as a standalone – you will only spoiler yourself the ending of the first book – but the stories are independed)

 

I liked the complete story development and similar to “Trucker” this book is exuding innocence while not being innocent at all. I am not sure what it is about this series but it feels like the title “the good guys” is broadcasted in a way that the reader can actually feel it. The leading characters appear sweet without being naïve (or at least not that much) at one moment, while at the next there is a heat present between them that is off the charts.

 

Still I have to be honest I like Angel more than Brielle – the reasons for that are among the storyline therefore due to spoilers it is impossible for me to elaborate. Lets just say I could not follow all her thoughts. And with Logan I am not sure why he had to have a medical condition, because it never was an issue for the flow of the story, only a reason why his last relationship did not work out. I think the story would have worked without it just fine.

 

Now I am left wondering what kind of sweet romance the author will present next …

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

REVIEW : The Controversial Princess (Smoke & Mirrors #1) by Jodi Ellen Malpas

 

 

The Controversial Princess (Smoke & Mirrors, #1)

  

The Controversial Princess
Smoke & Mirrors #1
Jodi Ellen Malpas
May 22nd 2018

 

Her father is The King of England.

She is The Controversial Princess.

Regarded as down to earth by the press and rebellious by The King, Princess Adeline refuses to bow to the royal expectations her title carries. She knows better than anyone that the united front of the royal family is nothing but smoke and mirrors – lies and secrets masked by power and privilege. She wants no part of it, and she will never surrender to The King’s demand to marry a man she does not love. But despite Adeline’s determination to retain her free will, she remains deeply unfulfilled, feeling caged and suffocated.

That is until she meets Josh Jameson. Drawn in by his confidence, Adeline is soon captivated by the scandalously sexy American actor. His ability to penetrate her defences overwhelms her – his touch is pure fire, and his allure overpowering. Nothing has ever made her feel so alive in a world where she’s otherwise slowly drowning. However, while Josh may be Hollywood royalty, he’s not actual royalty, and Adeline knows The King and his advisors will do everything in their power to keep them apart.

But Josh Jameson becomes the princess’s ultimate vice.

And although she bows to no one, she bows to him.

 

 

This morning when I turned on the radio – the first song I heard was “Human” from Rag’n’Bone Man – and to be honest – it shocked me how well it fitted the book I just spend an allnighter with. When I finished my last read yesterday and went to check for my next book I noticed that I had a new arrival – I was gifted with “The Controversial Princess” (Smoke & Mirrors, #1) by Jodi Ellen Malpas and I thought why not directly start … Well I can tell you it was a good and a bad idea – the bad part being that it was a Sunday and I needed to work on Monday.

If there ever was a perfect time to release this book at the moment than Ms. Malpas sure found it.
But I am getting ahead of myself.

I love the books by this author since I read This Man when it was released several years back so it was no question that I would at least love her writing style. But I have to admit when I read the blurb of this book I wasn’t to sure if the plot was for me. I am not even sure if there ever has been a book like this – I doubt it.

On the other hand I usually do not read books with princesses and it is really only the unique way of writing that this author is able to get me to dive into a plot like that.

Also I am trying to remember when I first heard about the book if I knew that it would be a duet – or if that came up later – not that it would have mattered – because I also trust her to be one of the few authors that I will start a series without all books being released.

Well back to the issue of the music – so this song “human” really is the essence of this book for me. Adeline is such a contradiction. She knows what is expected of her – and she follows the rules ! … mostly ! …. Sometimes ? … well lets be honest … when she is forced to. Deep down I feel she would follow many of the rules if she had some room to breath but as this is always refused her reactions to that are only logical – rebellion in any way that is possible.

So when I heard that song on the radio – it felt like Adeline. Not sure if Ms. Malpas listens to music when she is writing but I could imagine this song to be an inspiration for the character.

Then there is Josh – I am not sure I can get a clear picture of him yet. And that is my only problem with this first part of the duet and the reason why I am at 4.5 Stars just now (I always reserve the right to change my mind when a series is complete).

So about Josh – The whole story is in the beginning basically Adeline’s struggle with life. And believe me it IS a struggle because I feel deeply sorry for her. So when Josh enters the story he is like a beacon,

he shouldn’t be there – yet he is,
she shouldn’t be interested – yet she is,
he shouldn’t talk to her like that
and MOST definitely he shouldn’t touch her like that.

He is everything she can not have and maybe in the beginning that is the reason that he is all she wants.

As the story moves on Adeline gets more desperate by the minute her life is not only a cage – it becomes a prison, the walls are closing in on her and her few ways to escape are shut down one after the other – and her desperation feels very real.

Usually when I read books I am very connected to the male leads but in case of this book I felt truly connected to the Princess because even though Josh has a remarkable presence the plot doesn’t give the reader much of his intentions.

He felt like the calm right in the middle of the storm without giving away anything of himself to the reader and maybe that was on purpose because he was like a quiet source of strength – while I grew more and more desperate alongside of Adeline.

And while we are at that point – there are some very well written secondary characters in this plot – both in the good and bad way of the storyline. Believe me you are going to dislike some people very deeply. I know I did.

Oh and – yeah true to Ms. Malpas wicked sense of ?shall I call it humor? … she placed some cruel twists and turns you will not see coming – (well that’s not entirely true because if you read books from her you know what you are in for – so no mercy for us fans) … Yes you are a cruel cruel Woman Ms. Malpas and I mean that in the most loving way ever.

Because I am sitting here thinking about what I read and there really isn’t much that I can add to my review as that would add spoilers which I will under no circumstance give away.

My thoughts on book one : Just let me say. If you think you know the story – forget about it. There is nothing familiar about this plot. And I officially want to state – that “the Lord” now has a Highness at this side in the bookshelf and this women really bows to no one.

My hopes for book two : I want to see more of Josh to understand him better. And all the other things I hope for are too much of a spoiler so please just cross your fingers together with me because I know you will want the same things.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

ATTIC REVIEW : Sweet Cheeks by K. Bromberg

Sweet Cheeks by K. Bromberg

 
 

March 22, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Sweet Cheeks

Author :           K. Bromberg

Series :            n/a

Release date :   November 14th 2016

Rating :           5 Stars

 

 

Blurb : An all new second chance love story by the New York Times Bestselling author of the Driven series.

 

It all started with the invitation. To my ex-fiance’s new wedding. I should have ignored it.Thrown it away. Set it afire. But I didn’t. I replied. With a plus one. And then my assistant accidentally mailed it.

 

Enter Hayes Whitley.

 

Mega-movie star. The man who has captured the hearts of millions. But I gave him mine years ago. He was my first love. He was my everything. Right until he up and left to chase his dreams without so much as a simple goodbye.

 

When he showed up out of the blue ten years later, I should have known to steer clear. I should have rejected his offer to take me to my ex’s wedding. I should have never let him kiss me.

 

But I didn’t.

 

And now we’re left wondering if the pieces of the life we once shared still fit together somehow. First loves are hard to forget. The question is, do we want to forget? Or do we risk the chance and see what happens next?

 

Review : K. Bromberg had me in her corner after reading “Driven” … like in really HAD me … I am still using phrases from that book in daily life … #IRaceYou.

 

So when I found her new book “Sweet Cheeks” was released it was a no brainer that I needed to read that one.

 

Again she surprised me, because she uses a different focus on a story that has been told so many times that one might think it became boring or that there would be now new angle possible to refresh what has been visited that often.

 

But with just a few perfectly placed lines she creates a whole new view. The Movie star and the normal girl, that one has been told a million times. In the version of being a second chance novel probably again thousands of times. But in the Bromberg’way it is unique.

 

The focus is on the girl – not the movie star … Hayes is just that Hayes … He is her first love and the reader really tends to forget what he is to others – just like our leading lady does.

 

So everthing that happens works out perfectly believable after that.

 

I am not sure it really made sense what the two of them did. How they threw themselves out there to the wolves but I admire their guts to do it.

 

Well written …

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

BLOG REVIEW : Blind (Senses #1) by Xavier Neal

BLOG REVIEW : Blind (Senses #1) by Xavier Neal

 
 

March 23, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Blind

Author :           Xavier Neal

Series :            Senses #1

Release date :   September 1st 2014

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Aside from being blind to the fact his best friend, Maxx Hughes, is madly in love with him, Logan ‘Unbreakable’ Kellar has it made. He’s the best amateur fighter at TKO, has a buffet line of women desperate to be taken by him, and three friends that are his family. However, when Maxx crosses over from Logan’s blind spot on the side lines to the dead center of his vision, he realizes that he can’t stay blind to the fact this girl, is the girl.

 

Review : Yeah its probably me being the odd one out here but this was an almost DNF for me – because I found myself skimming the pages. Others found the writings style charming – I thought it was rather annoying. And the leading characters were not that good either. I am really sorry for being so blunt but this was not a book for me. 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

ATTIC REVIEW : Submission is Not Enough (Masters and Mercenaries #12) by Lexi Blake

ATTIC REVIEW : Submission is Not Enough (Masters and Mercenaries #12) by Lexi Blake

 
 

March 28, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Submission is Not Enough

Author :           Lexi Blake

Series :            Masters and Mercenaries #12

Release date :   October 25th 2016

Rating :           3 Stars

 

 

Blurb : A fallen hero rebornTheo Taggart lost everything the night he died. His family, his beautiful Erin, and worst of all, he lost himself. A twisted doctor brought him back from the brink of death, but reprogrammed his identity to serve her will. Rescued by his brothers, he must fight to reclaim the man he was and the life, and love, that were stolen from him.A love worth fighting forErin Argent thought she’d lost Theo forever. When he walked back into her life, it was nothing short of a miracle. Months of torture and conditioning at the hands of Dr. Hope McDonald have done damage to Theo that may never be mended. He has no memory of her or the life they shared. Breaking through to him, and helping him rediscover all he lost, will be the toughest mission she’s ever faced. Luckily for Theo, Erin loves a good fight.Their reunion under siegeUnfortunately, Hope is far from done with Theo Taggart. Obsession with her prize experiment, she will do anything to get him back. If the only way to finally break him of his past life is to kill Erin and his son, then she’s only too happy to oblige…

 

Review : I think it is a well written story but my attempt to read it as a standalone failed miserably …

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

ATTIC REVIEW : Woodsman: A Bad Boy Romance by Abby Brooks, Wren Williams

ATTIC REVIEW : Woodsman: A Bad Boy Romance by Abby Brooks, Wren Williams

 
 

March 27, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Woodsman: A Bad Boy Romance

Author :           Abby Brooks, Wren Williams

Series :            n/a

Release date :   October 2nd 2016

Rating :           2 Stars

 

 

Blurb : “Oh you sweet thing. Tonight, let me show you what it means to be mine.”

 

Skye

 

On my twenty-first birthday, I did a dangerous thing. Something so reckless and wild it changed the way I think of myself. The only person who knows the whole story is a man with a gun and a thunderstorm in his eyes. A man I never thought I’d see again outside of my wildest fantasies and dirtiest daydreams. Now, three years later, I see him walking down the street in my hometown like he belongs here. I need to find him. I need to talk to him. I never even found out his name.

 

Ethan

 

I’m not a bad man, but I’ve done bad things. Three years ago, I made a choice that changed the course of my life. A choice that made me drop everything and run. A choice with only one witness, a girl in a black dress and red f*ck me heels. A girl so beautiful, no woman has lived up to her since. When I see her again three years later, I know I should keep on walking. Danger is following me and I’d be a fool to lead it to her. Turns out I’m a selfish bastard because nothing on earth could make me walk away without her.

 

Review :

 

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

ATTIC REVIEW : Beautifully Forgotten (Beautifully Damaged #2) by L.A. Fiore

ATTIC REVIEW : Beautifully Forgotten (Beautifully Damaged #2) by L.A. Fiore

 
 

March 29, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Beautifully Forgotten 

Author :           L.A. Fiore

Series :            Beautifully Damaged #2

Release date :   July 29th 2014

Rating :           5 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Successful restaurateur Lucien Black’s blue-green eyes and unattainable attitude drive women wild. But his abandonment issues and criminal past have left him emotionally closed off. When a familiar face shows up for a job interview at his nightclub, the ache he has tried to forget tears at his heart—it’s the girl who once healed him… and then abandoned him.Darcy MacBride still remembers Lucien’s delicate touch when they were both wildly in love teenagers. His gorgeous eyes had soothed her hurt after she’d been dumped off at the orphanage where Lucien lived.

 

Darcy felt his jagged edges fit perfectly into her own, and she’d planned to spend the rest of her life with him—until a mysterious man warned her away. Now, fourteen years later, she’s ready to endure the torture of Lucien’s indifference and having him as her boss…just to be near him. But when it seems that they might finally take up where they left off, a devastating secret buried in their past threatens to tear them apart again.

 

L.A. Fiore’s story of smoldering love recaptures the tormented romance of Beautifully Damaged.

 

Review :

 

1 2 3 97

Merken

Merken

Merken

error: Content is protected !!