REVIEW

 

Merken

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Scarred Perceptions Jackie Williams

 

 

Scarred Perceptions

  

Scarred Perceptions
Scarred
Jackie Williams
November 13th 2017

 

A chance sighting started it. A mere bump and the slightest flicker of recognition, but there are some people so vile, so greedy, self-centred and egotistical, they are impossible to forget. Why was the man there? And what havoc was the slime about to unleash? Surely a little digging through some computer databases wouldn’t go amiss.

The truth is almost too much to handle. Alex is already way too late. The damage has been going on for years. Will carry on if he doesn’t do something about it. But who can he trust? Not the military. They are already ignoring his frantic calls, his terrifying emails. And now they have sent someone after him. They are on his tail, closing in fast, and he’s out of time, out of luck, and out of options. Until he can get hold of vital evidence, he’s on the run.

But how could he leave without seeing his friends one last time? It would be chancy. Though he trusts them with his life, he daren’t let them know the truth. They wouldn’t stand back and let things run their course. They would require action. Fast and furious. Lethal retribution. Immediately. But one wrong move would bring them all down, close the château, and finish the rehabilitation centre. Something that couldn’t happen. Too many people needed them.

Perhaps if the person following him could be avoided, Alex would have time to complete his investigation. Time to collect enough proof to give them all some peace of mind. All he needs to do is find out who they are. Then shut them out and take them down.

With right on his side it should be easy. It’s just a pity that their investigator has stalked a path straight into his heart.

Scarred Perceptions is an easy read romance suitable for anyone 16+ due to sensual scenes and typical army guy language. The book can be read as a standalone romance but the Scarred series is best read in order to appreciate the relationships between past characters and situations.

 

 

 

I was taken by surprise do find this next installment in a series I love very much. And I directly started reading it. There is not much I have left to say about the writing style of the author as I obviously like it, otherwise I would not have already read the previous 6(?) books.  Anyway – please do not attempt do read this story as a standalone – it will not work because you will have no idea about the people and what is really going on. I admit you might be able to read it but you will never enjoy it fully.

I have to admit even I never knew or recognized really what was going on with Alex. And due to very personal reasons Alex is now a character very close and dear to my heart. Because there are some things that distinguish one person from another person a the first look and there are other issues that you will never directly see.  And I would like to use this moment for a very personal message. If you see a person in a situation where food is involved asking strange questions please do not automatically think  they are just trying  to be a pain – do not assume they are snobs or picky if they do not eat stuff that is served. I have been living with this “sticker” now for 10 years always between a rock and a hard place. I either have to tell my lifestory and and take the pitty that is not wanted nor does it help. Or I choose to look like a prick resuming to not eat or bring my own food.  And I can not even count the times or occasions that I paid for food at places just to look normal in a group and never ate it.  I know this has nothing to do with the story but yeah but reading about Alex again made me realize I never read about this before so it mad me feel things and I would like to thank the author to also bring subjects like this into her books.

So yeah I really liked this book as it fits perfectly into the already existing series and I am looking forward to the next stories

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Soul (Spirit Trilogy #3) by D. Nichole King


   

The Soul (Spirit Trilogy, #3)

The Soul
Spirit Trilogy #3
D. Nichole King
October 2016

 

A soul is not meant to be severed from its spirit.

Neither is it meant to be ripped in two.

Half of Lucas’s soul is lost, and the rest he forfeited to save Carrie’s life. Now, the piece residing in her calls out for unity, and the cry is too much for her to bear. Her spirit suffers, and Lucas fears for her life.

The connection between the couple grows, but so does the evil pursuing them.

When Carrie falls into the clutches of a demon, she and Lucas realize Hell is invested in their search for his soul. Demons know Villisca is without a necromancer, and that Carrie sees the auras of supernaturals. So they offer Carrie a deal.

A prophecy is given. A choice is made.

Love is supposed to conquer all, but the closer Lucas and Carrie come to merging his soul, the more ephemeral their future together appears. When the price is finally revealed—

More than one life is at stake.

 

 

 

Gosh – I knew why I waited so long to start reading the Spirit Triology by D. Nichole King.

I had several reasons, one was that at first I wanted the trilogy to be complete before starting (again as mentioned before you may thank Sylvia Day for that OCD). Another reason was that as a blogger my reading schedule is always more than full. But the morst important was that I need to have the right mindset.

I promised to read it and now over the last weekend I finally did. And wow … this was just like I hoped it would be. A reader always looks for that HIGH he felt the first time he read a book and loved it. And when you read a Blurb and think “this could be the next one of those” you tend to get afraid of disappointment (at least I do).

So when I read the blurb of this series I felt THIS COULD BE IT … the next really big story after a series that left real big footsteps to follow. And I got scared… of me being not open minded enough. (I am not going to mention the series because that has been done so often in other cases and I know I tends to irritate me – not going there) …

And what can I say … it did not last long and my mind was drawing lines to connect dots in the plot right to THOSE books…. There was even one passage where I thought “seriously?” .. but suddenly I felt I was being unfair to the book and it was when talked myself into letting this comparison go I really started to like the book.

Still I can not get all those thoughts out of my mind because really there are a lot of similarities in the plotline but the characters themselves are completely different.

If there is one thing I do not like about these books it is the triangle factor. I always struggle with that – no matter the novel. The blurb never mentioned that and I am not sure what my reaction would have been when it came to choosing this book to read it – if I had known about that.  

Other than that I am not really sure what to say about the plot that has not been mentioned in the blurb. Telling much more would be spoilering parts of the story and I think I already did enough of that by simply mentioning the triangle …

But on the other hand these few lines feel insignificant and insufficient for the quantity of pages that I read.

So lets stick to feelings during reading. From the first pages the reader feels welcome in this new world that the author created. It seems to be a simple world and the reader is slowly eased into the plot. Then step by step this world becomes more complicated until you realize that you have been drawn into it and I could not put the book down. So yes I am happy to have decided that I will only start reading until this series is completed.

BUT to be fair to the Author – she was kind to the reader, even if you knew that the story continued you never felt like you were left with a huge cliffhanger at the end of book 1 & 2. It was like eating tofu, you weren’t hungry anymore but you were never fully satisfied (I think some people are staring at me now… others will get it)

There is love, friendship and sacrifices.

So many feelings….

In total the way this story is written it might have been better to make the characters a tiny bit older… more college than high school, because they felt so grown up … all of them from the first page on that some moments you wondered how old they really were.

I really loved this story and I want to recommend it to all lovers of YA/NA paranormal romances. Let this Idea of Lucas grow… it is really so well developed an unique

Be open … don’t let other stories cloud your mind.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Snowed In by Shannon R. Nemechek

 

 

Snowed In (A Warranted Series Novella)

  

 Snowed In
Shannon R. Nemechek
 November 7th 2017

 

I met her, the girl of my dreams. We shared a kiss, we fell in love…and then I was deployed.

Now I’m back, but I’m no longer the man I used to be. I’m injured, scarred, and chances are I might never fully recover.

My heart still belongs to her—Annabelle—but my love for her demands I let her go. She deserves more than a broken man’s love, more than what I can offer.

But now, as I stare at her beautiful face, the sight of her cracking my heart in two, I pray I can be strong enough not to succumb to temptation. Both of us need time alone with our thoughts, so we came to the one place that made us feel whole again.   

Now we’re trapped in her family cabin, and I can’t help but wonder whether being snowed in with Annabelle is a wonderful mistake…or a disaster waiting to happen.

 

 

 

Most probably this is a nice story. But it really felt unreadable as a standalone to me. I only managed to read the first maybe 20 pages and I had to DNF because I could not get through the amount of stuff I did not know. Most probably because it had been told before in another book. So if you try to read this story be sure to check on previous books. I might revisit this at a later time when I had the chance to read previous stories but until than this is my oppinion … 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Body (Spirit Trilogy #2) by D. Nichole King


   

The Body (Spirit Trilogy, #2)

The Body
Spirit Trilogy #2
D. Nichole King
November 18th 2014

 

They vowed to never return.

Their lives depend on it. With last summer behind them, Lucas and Carrie think they’re safe.

Only the Moore House isn’t through with them.

When Lucas receives bad news, the search for the elusive half-demon who holds the key to Lucas’s death becomes first priority. The creature might be Lucas’s only shot at finding his soul. Problem is he doesn’t want to be found.

Dead ends and blocked attempts leave them wary.

Lucas seems to be fading away. His eyes no longer glow, his skin pales. Exhaustion consumes him, leaving him distant when he’s with Carrie. Not knowing what’s happening to him kills her.

From all around, shadows creep in, and there’s nowhere to hide.

Then, a mysterious stranger suddenly appears in town and unlocks a deadly secret from Lucas’s past. When the Moore House becomes their only escape—

No one is safe.

 

 

 

Gosh – I knew why I waited so long to start reading the Spirit Triology by D. Nichole King.

I had several reasons, one was that at first I wanted the trilogy to be complete before starting (again as mentioned before you may thank Sylvia Day for that OCD). Another reason was that as a blogger my reading schedule is always more than full. But the morst important was that I need to have the right mindset.

I promised to read it and now over the last weekend I finally did. And wow … this was just like I hoped it would be. A reader always looks for that HIGH he felt the first time he read a book and loved it. And when you read a Blurb and think “this could be the next one of those” you tend to get afraid of disappointment (at least I do).

So when I read the blurb of this series I felt THIS COULD BE IT … the next really big story after a series that left real big footsteps to follow. And I got scared… of me being not open minded enough. (I am not going to mention the series because that has been done so often in other cases and I know I tends to irritate me – not going there) …

And what can I say … it did not last long and my mind was drawing lines to connect dots in the plot right to THOSE books…. There was even one passage where I thought “seriously?” .. but suddenly I felt I was being unfair to the book and it was when talked myself into letting this comparison go I really started to like the book.

Still I can not get all those thoughts out of my mind because really there are a lot of similarities in the plotline but the characters themselves are completely different.

If there is one thing I do not like about these books it is the triangle factor. I always struggle with that – no matter the novel. The blurb never mentioned that and I am not sure what my reaction would have been when it came to choosing this book to read it – if I had known about that.  

Other than that I am not really sure what to say about the plot that has not been mentioned in the blurb. Telling much more would be spoilering parts of the story and I think I already did enough of that by simply mentioning the triangle …

But on the other hand these few lines feel insignificant and insufficient for the quantity of pages that I read.

So lets stick to feelings during reading. From the first pages the reader feels welcome in this new world that the author created. It seems to be a simple world and the reader is slowly eased into the plot. Then step by step this world becomes more complicated until you realize that you have been drawn into it and I could not put the book down. So yes I am happy to have decided that I will only start reading until this series is completed.

BUT to be fair to the Author – she was kind to the reader, even if you knew that the story continued you never felt like you were left with a huge cliffhanger at the end of book 1 & 2. It was like eating tofu, you weren’t hungry anymore but you were never fully satisfied (I think some people are staring at me now… others will get it)

There is love, friendship and sacrifices.

So many feelings….

In total the way this story is written it might have been better to make the characters a tiny bit older… more college than high school, because they felt so grown up … all of them from the first page on that some moments you wondered how old they really were.

I really loved this story and I want to recommend it to all lovers of YA/NA paranormal romances. Let this Idea of Lucas grow… it is really so well developed an unique

Be open … don’t let other stories cloud your mind.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Release – Down on Me (Man of the Month #1) by J. Kenner

DOM_RB_BANNERDown On Me, the first standalone in the Man of the Month Series by #1 New York Times bestselling author J. Kenner is LIVE!

1 - January - Down On Me

Title: Down On Me

Author: J. Kenner

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publishing Date: January 16th

Tight muscles. Vibrant Ink.

Meet Mr. January. Winter’s never looked so hot …

Certified bachelor Reece Walker wants two things—to save the local bar he manages and to get Jenna Montgomery into his bed.

He has a few ideas for the bar. But Jenna . . . well, he’s going to have to rely on cold showers, because she’s been his best friend for years, and that’s a line he just can’t cross.

Until one wild kiss on a dark night changes everything. Now Reece is certain Jenna’s meant to be his.

And with long nights in bed, sensual caresses, and deep, lingering kisses, he sets out to thoroughly convince her that friends can be lovers, too.

**Down On Me is the first in a binge read series by New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Publishers Weekly, and #1 International bestselling author of the million copy Stark series, J. Kenner.

Each book in the series is a STANDALONE novel with NO cliffhanger and a guaranteed HEAT!

But even so, you won’t want to miss any in the series. Because then you can answer the question…

Who’s Your Man of the Month?

AVNOW

Read Today!

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2hqLF2p

Amazon Universal: myBook.to/DownOnMe

iBooks: http://apple.co/2AsnDrJ

Nook: http://bit.ly/2AsnOmT

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2iN8nOZ

Google Play: http://bit.ly/2iNkziM

Add to GoodReads: http://bit.ly/2jd6hs6

TEASER_5

About J. Kenner

J. Kenner (aka Julie Kenner) is the New York Times, USA Today, Publishers Weekly, Wall Street Journal and #1 International bestselling author of over seventy novels, novellas and short stories in a variety of genres.

Though known primarily for her award-winning and international bestselling erotic romances (including the Stark and Most Wanted series) that have reached as high as #2 on the New York Times bestseller list, JK has been writing full time for over a decade in a variety of genres including paranormal and contemporary romance, “chicklit” suspense, urban fantasy, and paranormal mommy lit.

JK has been praised by Publishers Weekly as an author with a “flair for dialogue and eccentric characterizations” and by RT Bookclub for having “cornered the market on sinfully attractive, dominant antiheroes and the women who swoon for them.” A five time finalist for Romance Writers of America’s prestigious RITA award, JK took home the first RITA trophy awarded in the category of erotic romance in 2014 for her novel, Claim Me (book 2 of her Stark Trilogy). Her Demon Hunting Soccer Mom series (as Julie Kenner) is currently in development with AwesomenessTV/Awestruck.

Her books have sold over three million copies and are published in over twenty languages.

In her previous career as an attorney, JK worked as a clerk on the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, and practiced primarily civil, entertainment and First Amendment litigation in Los Angeles and Irvine, California, as well as in Austin, Texas. She currently lives in Central Texas, with her husband, two daughters, and two rather spastic cats.jkenner

Connect with Julie:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JKennerBooks/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/juliekenner

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/juliekenner/

Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/+JulieKenner-author

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/juliekenner/

Tumblr: http://juliekenner.tumblr.com

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/juliekenner

4ish stars.

Overall and surprising enough an enjoyable read. See spoiler for why it shouldn’t have been.
I had a lot of fun with this book. It is upbeat with some angst but very entertaining.

Reece, Brent & Jenna have been best friends since childhood. Only 8 months ago things changed. Reece sees her for what she is. A beautiful woman. Not quite willing to take that step he lets it drop and she leaves the next day for LA.

Jenna has come back to Austin it didn’t quite work out in LA. She comes home to her family. And to the attraction that she left behind for one of her best friends. They both notice that it has become awkward and that something has changed but they need time to come to terms with it. Once they do they are all in. A romance from friends to lovers. There is inner monologue of push and pull because the dynamic of their relationship has changed or will change which was somewhat repetitive.

Reece is a bit of an arse but he has good character development throughout the book. Although he is an arse I still really liked him. God knows why if I’m being honest.

Jenna is a strong and sassy heroine and she stands up for what she wants but she doesn’t give Reece a chance an unfair ultimatium IMO.

With all books there is the buildup of the romance and then a spanner is thrown in the works. This spanner is slightly predictable but the grand gesture isn’t too bad.

The setup of saving The Fix on sixth street which is their local hangout is interesting and a lot can be done with the series. I like the author’s writing style it flows well and is easy to read. I don’t know if I’d read any of the other series by this author.

I’ve signed up for all twelve books ambitious, right? So, fingers crossed peeps. In a way I’m glad that I have because the secondary characters here are amazing and I’m sure that they are going to get their books.

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Since Drew by J. Nathan

 

 

Since Drew

  

 Since Drew
 J. Nathan
 April 23rd 2015

 

All Andi Parker has ever wanted, all she’s ever dreamed of is a spot on the Olympic track team. But when an accident leaves her hospitalized with serious injuries and shattered dreams, she’s not only uncertain what her future holds but also completely alone.

Drew Slater is a wanted man. Professional football teams want him for his arm. Women want him for his good looks and magnetic personality. But the well-crafted disguise he wears, the one that helps him score on and off the field, hides secrets. Conceals lies. Threatens the happiness of everyone around him.

One chance encounter brings Andi and Drew together, changing their worlds in ways they never thought possible. Unfortunately, what they thought they knew about themselves—and about each other—might just be the biggest lie of all.

*A NEW ADULT SPORTS ROMANCE WITH A TWIST!!!

 

 

 

This was an amazing story – with a twist I did see coming a mile away like literally within 20 pages after starting. But the other twist – well THAT one took me by surprise and I really loved how it was played. I really loved the writing style of the author, the plot development and the characters. 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

ARC BOOKPROMO REVIEW

#Starstruck by Sariah Wilson

Title: #Starstruck (#Lovestruck, #1)
Author: Sariah Wilson
Genre: Contemporary Romance/ Romantic comedy
Release Date: January 16, 2018
Cover Designer: Micheal Rehder
Hosted by: Buoni Amici Press, LLC.

With one uncharacteristically sassy tweet to her longtime celebrity crush, Zoe Miller’s life turns upside down. Ultrahot A-lister Chase Covington doesn’t just respond to Zoe’s tweet, he does the unthinkable: he messages Zoe directly. Now she must decide between walking away or meeting her crush in person.

Chase knows better than to trust anyone from the Internet, but Zoe’s saucy challenge has totally caught his interest—and her girl-next-door personality is keeping it. He’s been burned enough to know he needs to keep his heart close. But his feelings for Zoe might be a lot more than just an online flirtation. He just has to convince her…

When the press gets wind of Zoe and Chase’s secret relationship, their romance turns into tabloid headlines. Will they be able to hold on to their Hollywood love story?

“You must be Zoe Miller. I’m Chase. Covington.”
He added on his last name like I wouldn’t know who he was. It was kind of endearing. I stared at his hand until the girl on my right nudged me and I gave him mine. A zap of raw electricity sparked at his touch, his hand warm and strong and big. It shot up my arm and spread all throughout my body making every part of me tingle.
“Hi Chase Covington.” I don’t know how I was able to form words. Or how I hadn’t dissolved into an incoherent, blubbering pile of Zoe goo.
“Hi Zoe Miller.”
We were still shaking hands, which was basically holding hands at this point as it had gone on for so long. He was just grinning at me, like I was some long-lost friend he was excited to catch up with.
I didn’t want to imagine what my slack-jawed, overwhelmed face looked like. He would probably think I was an idiot.
A guy with dark brown hair and wearing a Bluetooth device in one ear came over. “Chase, Marty wants a word.”
Chase finally let go of my hand. “Thanks, One-F. Stick around Zoe Miller. There’s more to say.” He walked backwards a few steps, like he didn’t want to stop looking at me. With a wink he finally turned and headed over to the director.

Hollywood boulevard sign, with palm trees in the background

 

 

 

Bestselling author Sariah Wilson has never jumped out of an airplane, never climbed Mt. Everest, and is not a former CIA operative. She has, however, been madly, passionately in love with her soulmate and is a fervent believer in happily ever afters–which is why she writes romance. She has published many happily ever after stories. She grew up in southern California, graduated from Brigham Young University (go Cougars!) with a semi-useless degree in history, and is the oldest of nine (yes, nine) children. She currently lives with the aforementioned soulmate and their four children in Utah, along with three tiger barb fish, a cat named Tiger, and a recently departed hamster that is buried in the backyard (and has nothing at all to do with tigers).

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

I have divided feelings about #Starstruck by Sariah Wilson.

 

It was the first book by this author that I read. I really liked her fresh writing style that was really down to how life with social media is working today. I found myself in some of the lines of this book. Because I have been there as a fan.

 

The author really hit all the marks and clichés that are out there when it comes to the dreams of fans. When it comes to stardom and fandom. And there are some really great quotes I could repeat here from this book that will not leave me anytime soon.

 

But on the other hand the author really did use ALL there is out there and that means some of it was too much and if you want your “star-meets-fan” to feel real to you this might not be your book. Because the picture that was drawn there really is not realistic no matter how much you try to twist your view on it so it might look different.

 

There also were two comments in there that I did not like – one concerning the fandom of a certain type of novels and one about a country – nothing mayor but it still ruffled my feathers. (I am only human as I have personal relations to that country and that fandom) At first I thought it would weight into my rating but the great banters between the characters made up for it so in the end I decided to not do that but still mention it here.

 

No offense to fandom – as I have been there and actually I still am – but to really believe stuff to happen and turn out like it does here would be (no words)….  And this is coming from a woman that slept days at red carpets just to be in the front row for the evening when it happens…so I know what I am talking about.

 

Still there is a lot of good stuff in here and while it is cliché from beginning to end I truly loved too much about the dialogue to not like the book so do not misunderstand this as a negative review. It is really just that I have divided feelings like I said.

 

Especially the “thing” that twisted the story felt unsatisfying to me as actually all actions of one character proved the opposite of what the other was supposed to believe in that moment so I was like “wait what?” So for me personally that was a point where I would have wished for something with a little more power. But I guess that is really a matter of preferences and others might think its sufficient for the plot.

 

Still the dialogues between the characters had so much great banter that the things I did not like so much really moved to the background to be honest. It is hard to describe the style of these dialogues but it kind of felt that while the main story was really 100 % chliche – those dialogues were 100% unique and made me laugh.

 

If the plot twist had been a little stronger this would have been a 5 star review but as it is I will go for the best laughing 4 stars I had lately … so

 I can really recommend this book to you if you like feel good novels and dream about meeting your idol.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Spirit (Spirit Trilogy #1) by D. Nichole King


   

The Spirit (Spirit Trilogy, #1)

The Spirit
Spirit Trilogy #1
D. Nichole King
 April 28th 2014

 

Carrie Reese doesn’t believe in ghosts—until she falls in love with one.

From the moment he walks through the door, a cool breeze surrounds Carrie. She knows Lucas is too good to be true…and he is. Because he’s dead.

Devastated over her parents’ divorce, 17 year-old Carrie is spending the summer with her grandparents in Villisca—the creepiest town in Iowa. Even though it makes her skin crawl, Carrie doesn’t regard the haunting of the infamous Moore House to be anything more than superstition.

Lucas, however, knows exactly why the mysterious farmhouse should be avoided. But that’s not what brings him to town. As a ghost, he cannot cross over into the afterlife until he finds his soul, and there’s someone in Villisca who can help. Instead, he finds Carrie. And there’s something about her that draws him in. Why didn’t he find her sooner? Like, when he was alive?

When the force of their love disrupts the containment spell around the Moore House, the rift to Hell inside the attic opens, releasing the demons. Since love isn’t meant to be shared between the living and the dead, the demons target the lovers, intent on dragging them to where their souls will face eternal destruction.

Sometimes there’s more at risk than merely dying.

 

 

 

Gosh – I knew why I waited so long to start reading the Spirit Triology by D. Nichole King.

I had several reasons, one was that at first I wanted the trilogy to be complete before starting (again as mentioned before you may thank Sylvia Day for that OCD). Another reason was that as a blogger my reading schedule is always more than full. But the morst important was that I need to have the right mindset.

I promised to read it and now over the last weekend I finally did. And wow … this was just like I hoped it would be. A reader always looks for that HIGH he felt the first time he read a book and loved it. And when you read a Blurb and think “this could be the next one of those” you tend to get afraid of disappointment (at least I do).

So when I read the blurb of this series I felt THIS COULD BE IT … the next really big story after a series that left real big footsteps to follow. And I got scared… of me being not open minded enough. (I am not going to mention the series because that has been done so often in other cases and I know I tends to irritate me – not going there) …

And what can I say … it did not last long and my mind was drawing lines to connect dots in the plot right to THOSE books…. There was even one passage where I thought “seriously?” .. but suddenly I felt I was being unfair to the book and it was when talked myself into letting this comparison go I really started to like the book.

Still I can not get all those thoughts out of my mind because really there are a lot of similarities in the plotline but the characters themselves are completely different.

If there is one thing I do not like about these books it is the triangle factor. I always struggle with that – no matter the novel. The blurb never mentioned that and I am not sure what my reaction would have been when it came to choosing this book to read it – if I had known about that.  

Other than that I am not really sure what to say about the plot that has not been mentioned in the blurb. Telling much more would be spoilering parts of the story and I think I already did enough of that by simply mentioning the triangle …

But on the other hand these few lines feel insignificant and insufficient for the quantity of pages that I read.

So lets stick to feelings during reading. From the first pages the reader feels welcome in this new world that the author created. It seems to be a simple world and the reader is slowly eased into the plot. Then step by step this world becomes more complicated until you realize that you have been drawn into it and I could not put the book down. So yes I am happy to have decided that I will only start reading until this series is completed.

BUT to be fair to the Author – she was kind to the reader, even if you knew that the story continued you never felt like you were left with a huge cliffhanger at the end of book 1 & 2. It was like eating tofu, you weren’t hungry anymore but you were never fully satisfied (I think some people are staring at me now… others will get it)

There is love, friendship and sacrifices.

So many feelings….

In total the way this story is written it might have been better to make the characters a tiny bit older… more college than high school, because they felt so grown up … all of them from the first page on that some moments you wondered how old they really were.

I really loved this story and I want to recommend it to all lovers of YA/NA paranormal romances. Let this Idea of Lucas grow… it is really so well developed an unique

Be open … don’t let other stories cloud your mind.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Review – To Have and to Hold (The Wedding Belles #1) by Lauren Layne

Goodreads Review

Discovering her fiance is an international con man just moments before they exchange vows devastates celebrity wedding planner Brooke Baldwin’s business—and breaks her heart. Now a pariah in Los Angeles, she seeks a fresh start in New York City and thinks she’s found it with her first bridal client, a sweet—if slightly spoiled—hotel heiress. Then she meets the uptight businessman who’s holding the purse strings.

Seth Tyler wishes he could write a blank check and be done with his sister Maya’s fancy-pants wedding. Unfortunately, micromanaging the event is his only chance at proving Maya’s fiance is a liar. Standing directly in his way is the stunning blonde wedding planner whose practiced smiles and sassy comebacks both irritate and arouse him. He needs Brooke’s help. But can he persuade a wedding planner on a comeback mission to unplan a wedding? And more importantly, how will he convince her that the wedding she should be planning… is theirs?  

5 ‘Wedding Belle’ Stars 

Lauren Layne is one of my favorite authors. She manages in comparison to other authors to hit the right spot in it being sweet & funny but with a pinch of angst and a plus not so much fluff. Some authors tend to go overboard with the fluff which kind of makes me cringe. I am NOT a fluffy person.

 

Brooke Baldwin has moved from the West Coast to the East Coast due to some unfortunate event that made her flee. My heart went out to Brooke what with the embarrassment and the humiliation of the situation. So she starts over in New York as a Belle. 

Her first big wedding is the wedding of Maya Tyler, a heiress of Hotels that belong to the Tyler Group. The thorn in her side? Seth Tyler the brother.

 

Seth Tyler the CEO of the Tyler Group is controlling and after the death of his father he has become even more so. When his little sister confesses that she is getting married after only three months? His temper is hard to contain. So what is a possessive, controlling yet adorable big brother to do but tag along to damage control the situation. What also doesn’t help is that he is also an absolute cynic when it comes to love. But understandably so when he but his well you can’t really say heart but was rejected in a cruel manner that has colored many an aspect of his life. 

The mission for Seth is to implement stop sister marrying a dodgy bloke but the ditzy, bubbly wedding planner is in the way. He never expected to be instantly attracted to her. Brooke has in her opinion a conflict of interest and that conflict is Seth Tyler and his domineering ways. In the end they give into their attraction to one another and well they are a great couple. Seth did take some things a little too far. 

The secondary characters are just as fleshed out as the main characters and I love how we get a feel for them to see them in their upcoming books. What I find pretty cool is that Ms. Layne has a writing bucket list. So expect more awesomeness from the author.  

I am of the opinion that when I like an author I don’t always like all of her books but so far the books that I have read by LL have been a winner for me.

 

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Blindsided (The Sisters #1) by Holly Mortimer

 

 

 

Blindsided (The Sisters Series #1)

  

 Blindsided
The Sisters #1
 Holly Mortimer
June 05th 2017

 

Georgina
I went on the blind date to get my friends off my back. I wasn’t prepared for Finn. Hot, famous, take-my-breath-away Finn. But no amount of chemistry with a movie star changes the fact that I’m a widow. That my heart is lost forever. And if Finn needs something, too? That’s not my problem. Except… I can’t stop thinking about him.

Finn
I thought LA could offer me no more surprises. I’ve seen it all. The good, the bad and the plastic. Turns out, LA had one last surprise for me. George was everything I knew I shouldn’t want, but I couldn’t make myself stay away from her. The only thing standing in my way? Her.

 

 

 

This book was waiting to be read for quite some time now and I finally manged some time for it but I am honestly super confused about this book. The story could have been really good – not like “over-the-moon-great” but good. But the book (I am sorry I have to be so open and honest and I do not mean to disrespect the writing) was killed by its writing style. The plot had repetitions of stuff that was totally unnecessary. The writing changed from first to third person with one sentence. And the characters never followed a straight line in anything they did – changing their directions and oppinions sometimes twice on one page. I am sorry for the story but it really hurt to read this book

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 33

Merken

Merken

Merken