REVIEW

 

Merken

5 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Perfect Strangers by Abby Gale

Perfect Strangers by Abby Gale

 
 

July 21, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Perfect Strangers

 

 

 

Abby Gale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

January 27th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Melody

 

How did my life get so complicated? Going to my ex-boyfriend’s party seemed like a good idea to prove I moved on. And that’s where I saw him –the stranger with the perfect amount of cocksure promises. So I took everything he offered, every delicious inch. It’s just that I wasn’t completely aware of the entire package.

 

Kellan

 

How did my life get so perfect? Sure, I’m a complete package and I know how to use my assets. I’m never lonely and the ladies drop to their knees for a night with me. I know what you’re thinking –I’m a manwhore, well, you’re right, but I’m always honest with my one night stands – there’s never an encore But now I must get my game on because there’s much more at stake than I could have imagined.For one night, we surrendered to our desires and it was sublime.

 

But then our worlds unexpectedly collided once again. What are the odds?

THIS IS A STAND-ALONE.

 

 

 

 

 

I think I am having a 5Star moment just now.. – this is my 3rd 5Star review in a line. Its not even possible to point out what it was that drew me in. Kellan was just a very intersting package. He was pushing several buttons when it comes to genres, buttons I wont repeat because they will give away to much of the story. But this was really an interesting setting with well developed and really interesting characters.

 

Readers need more books like that …

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Cold Hearted by Winter Renshaw

Cold Hearted by Winter Renshaw

 
 

July 20, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cold Hearted

 

 

 

Winter Renshaw

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

January 31st 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I wish I could say our meeting was happenstance.I wish I could say we took one look and we just knew.I wish I could say falling for him was the best thing that ever happened to me.But none of that would be true.Rhett Carson was as cold as the ice on which he skated. He was as calloused as the hands that shot the goals that won world titles. He was also damaged. And broken. And he didn’t know it, but I knew all about him. I knew why he was so bitter and angry. I knew why he was so coldhearted.But I didn’t know why I allowed myself fall in love with him, and I didn’t know why I couldn’t stop… even when he told me to. And that’s when everything changed.

 

 

 

 

 

I remember how surprised I was about the first Book by Winter Renshaw That I read, which was “Heartless” – that also was a solid 5 star read with an unusual plot.

 

So when this new book “Cold Hearted „ came up I had no other choice than to read it basically. And I devoured it whithin just a few hours.

 

Again this author surprises by giving a simple sounding plot such an unusual touch that it ends up being something really unique. I am not even sure what I should tell about the plot to not steal any of the magic that she wove through the plot.

 

The title of the book was well chosen for the journey the reader was about to take.

 

Anything she wrote could be felt. The simple rejection of a brother, the hurt of a friend, the betrayal of a lover, the newfound love… really everything. While most of the book is taken over by darker colors because of the heavy weight those emotions carried.

 

There are also moments of pure love, love that said “when you love someone you will set them free no matter the hurt” …

 

And among all of this I even had a “Notting Hill” moment – if you know the movie you will recognize the moment I am pretty sure – I will not elaborate to avoid spoilers but since that epiphany I could not help but see Ayla with the face of Julia Roberts.

#talk about feelings

 

Anybody that read “Heartless” and like it – I can only recommend to read “Cold Hearted” and vice versa. So please enjoy!

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Dirty Pleasures (Dirty Billionaire #2) by Meghan March

Dirty Pleasures (Dirty Billionaire #2) by Meghan March

 

August 23, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Dirty Pleasures

 

 Meghan March

 

Dirty Billionaire #2

 

 December 29th 2015

 

 

 

 

 

I did it. I married a billionaire.My reasons are my own, but the last thing I expected was to feel owned.I may have taken vows, but I’m still determined to be me.Now his rules are taking over my world, but I’m not the kind of girl to just obey.There’s only one problem: I might actually be falling for him…I have no idea how this marriage is going to go, but holding onto a piece of myself while succumbing to his dirty pleasures is shaping up to be the ride of a lifetime.

 

Dirty Pleasures is the second book in The Dirty Billionaire Trilogy. Dirty Together, the conclusion of this filthy trilogy, will release on 1/12/2016.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Beauty & the Beast (Beauty #1-4) by Skye Warren

 

 

 

Beauty & the Beast (Beauty, #1-4)
 
 

  

Beauty & the Beast
Beauty, #1-4
Skye Warren
 October 7th 2013

 

Fall in love with this modern day fairy tale…

BEAUTY TOUCHED THE BEAST

Erin cleans Mr. Morris’s house twice a week, soaking up every moment with the reclusive ex-soldier she secretly loves.Blake Morris knows he’s scarred both inside and out and is no good for the beautiful young woman who cleans his house to pay for college. But when Erin walks in on Blake touching himself and moaning her name, all bets are off.

BENEATH THE BEAUTY

When Blake receives an offer to return to his alma mater as an associate professor, he knows this is his chance to reenter the world–and to be worthy of the woman he loves. Erin wants this chance for him to heal…even if it means leaving her behind.

And when they enter the classroom on the first day, both of them are in for a shock.

BROKEN BEAUTY

A troubling revelation puts Blake’s newfound career in jeopardy and Erin’s impending graduation at risk. The couple forge ahead, determined that love conquers all. They find a new depth to their respect for one another and new heights for their sensual play, but secrets and shadows lay in wait along the path.

BEAUTY BECOMES YOU

With the end of semester approaching,Erin and Blake decide to lay low. After all, they have all the time in the world after that. Except Blake’s future at the university is up in the air and trouble is brewing back in Erin’s hometown. When the couple is tested, they will have to trust each other to forge their own sexy ending.

This omnibus edition contains the original Beauty series, including:
1. Beauty Touched the Beast
2. Beneath the Beauty
3. Broken Beauty
4. Beauty Becomes You

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Fake Fiancée by Ilsa Madden-Mills

Fake Fiancée by Ilsa Madden-Mills

July 24, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fake Fiancée

 

 

 

Ilsa Madden-Mills

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

February 6th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A new standalone romance from Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author Ilsa Madden-Mills…They say nothing compares to your first kiss,But our first kiss was orchestrated for an audience.Our second kiss…that one was REAL.He cradled my face like he was terrified he’d f*ck it up.He stared into my eyes until the air buzzed.Soft and slow, full of sighs and little laughs,He inhaled me like I was the finest Belgian chocolate,And he’d never get another piece.A nip of his teeth, his hand at my waist…And I was lost.I forgot he was paying me to be his fake fiancée.I forgot we weren’t REAL.Our kiss was pure magic, and before you laugh and say those kinds of kisses don’t exist…Then you’ve never touched lips with Max Kent, the hottest quarterback in college history. Get ready for breathtaking kisses, dreamy football players, a heroine who yearns for the guy she can’t have, and a hero who will do anything for the girl he loves…

 

 

 

 

 

Having read and enjoyed Dirty English and Filthy English by Ilsa Madden-Mills it was not farfetched to assume that I also might like Fake Fiancée which is the newest novel by this author. It seems that this author is getting better and better with each book and if it is not a subject that is totally against me likes it seems fair to assume that she might be a safe “one-click-to-buy” in future.

 

Her writing is so engaging and her characters are so alive that they seem to leave the book and fill your surrounding while your reading. At first I was a little hesitant about the subject and wondered how it would be approached but. But my worries soon disappear as the author approached the subject head on just like the previous books I read from her.

 

Sunny, Max the secondary characters – well actually the whole setting felt so real I could hardly put down the book while reading and I can truly hardy wait to get the next book by this author in my hands. I need to engage with the characters of a book to really enjoy myself and this author makes it so easy for you – a true MUST READ

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Loving the Beast (Beauty #5) by Skye Warren

 

 

 

Loving the Beast (Beauty, #5)
 
 

  

Loving the Beast
Beauty, #5
Skye Warren
 April 28th 2015

 

The sexy journey began in Beauty Touched the Beast and continued in the Beauty series. Now read the breathtaking conclusion in this epilogue novella from New York Times bestselling author Skye Warren…

Since their forbidden beginning, Erin and Blake’s relationship has been marked by deep sensuality and intense emotion. Each challenge only makes them stronger, and Blake is ready to take his new fiance to meet his family. And to meet hers.

Home holds secrets for them both. A dark legacy threatens everything they’ve worked to build. When old debt comes between them, both Blake and Erin must fight to protect each other—and their love.

Books in the Beauty series:
1. Beauty Touched the Beast
2. Beneath the Beauty
3. Broken Beauty
4. Beauty Becomes You
5. Loving the Beast: A Beauty Epilogue

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Story of Us by D. Nichole King

The Story of Us by D. Nichole King

 
 

July 22, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Story of Us

 

 

 

D. Nichole King

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

February 9th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Moments.

Every life is made of thousands of them, each one strung together with the next. Some are yellow and happy, some are blue and sad, and some…Some wipe out color altogether.“I love you,” is what I should have told Maverick.“I’m sorry.”“I’m still fighting.”Instead I just watched him leave.Now my husband, my everything is battling for each breath, and all I can do is stare at the machines as the clock ticks off precious minutes.The doctors said the first twenty-four hours are critical—but every moment is critical.You never know which will be your last.This is our story, and I’m not ready for it to end.

 

 

 

 

 

When I read THE STORY OF US by D. Nichole King all I could think about was … She must have experienced something like this or know someone who has.

 

There is no way you could write something like this in such a way without having the misfortune of a personal experience.

 

Because of the very special way the story is told basically everything about this story hurt. And it hurt a lot. It felt so real … this story could be you, me, anybody.

 

At times again I thought that I will hopefully never find myself in such a situation. But in the blink of an eye anything can change and and the only hope is that when it happens you will have no regrets.

 

We walk through little more than 2 years in the life of the leading characters – we follow their building relationship, in a “now and then kind” of telling.

 

With the focus and starting point of the now where we find them at the crossroads from several points of views that will be revealed during reading.

 

The setting is gut-wrenching and I felt that hart and cold steel cramp around my body that would not let me breath at times.

 

One session deep into the night was all it took for me to finish this book as I could not find a point where I was comfortable enough to stop reading to go to sleep.

 

That being said … please feel this book as much as I did … 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF RELEASE REVIEW

Review – Locked Out by Anna Chastain

Locked Out Book Cover Locked Out
Anna Chastain
contemporary romance
19.06.2018
ebook

My name is Holly O'Brian and I am a cautionary tale.
I saw a sexy man across the bar, I let him walk me home, and now I'm pregnant.
Obviously, I left out a few minor details, but I think you get the idea.
I've lived a quiet adult life: high school librarian by day, book editor by night (glamorous, I know), and I was fine with it. I loved my jobs, I loved my cute little house...so why did I tempt the fates and go all cave woman over Dean Slade and drag him home with me by the hair (okay, that's a slight exaggeration)?
Well, he is the most handsome man I've ever laid eyes on, it's true. He is broody and gruff and so, so sexy, also true. And the storm that hovers in his eyes, I can't help but want to be the calm to, at least for one night.
So I guess there is no answer, I guess I followed my heart (a.k.a., my loins) and decided to spend a night with a sexy Marine.
Only now I'm pregnant. And I have to tell him. And I have to let his family into my life. And I have to figure out how I'm going to make room in my schedule for a big, stupid, sexy Marine. Oh. My. Lanta, my life.

 

I am a mixed bag of emotions on this one.

So be patient with me.

I have read all of Anna Chastain’s books and I have enjoyed all of them, but it seems that here this book wasn’t for me.

The first time we meet Holly and Dean it is in Locked In and I was dying to see what these two were going to get up to.

They spend one night of passion and then two pink lines pop up a couple of weeks later. Holly sees Grace, Dean’s sister in a café and blurts out that she is pregnant and so it all begins. Holly has more time to acclimatize to becoming a parent. Dean has some problems at the beginning, but he really does try to get his head on straight.

He does behave like a douchecanoe but I do understand his point of view in the matter. Now let me get to the lovely, funny, infuriating, immature and selfish Holly. There is having pride and then there is Holly anymore false pride and yes, I would have decked a pregnant woman ß no need to hate, I’m kidding kind of. Holly’s inner monologue and her inability to accept help from people who want to help just grated on me so much.  I thought we were making progress and then she’d pull something silly.

It depicts how to strangers must come to terms and adjust that they will be in both of their lives forever. The struggles are real for both couples and this book is as close to RL as you can get which is refreshing.

To be honest this is all ME and not the book. My love for romance is currently waning Take my review with a pinch of salt and give the truly talented Ms. Chastain a chance as she writes down to earth and light bantered romance with some angst.

I would most certainly read other books by AC once they have been released and if she was to approach me again.

 

5 STAR BOOKPROMO RELEASE REVIEW

PROMO / REVIEW : Finding Wicked by Kathryn L. James

Today we have the release blitz for Finding Wicked by Kathryn L. James! Check it out and grab your copy on today!

Title: Finding Wicked

Author: Kathryn L. James

Genre: Contemporary Romance

 

About Finding Wicked:

Brooke Sheridan has the weight of the world on her shoulders—her mother’s terminal illness, financial woes. When she’s offered a promotion as Executive Assistant to the cocky arrogant and sexy Garrett Mitchell, CEO, she accepts without second thought.

Together on a business trip, Garrett an avid pilot must make an emergency crash landing on a deserted island. With no satellite service, no phone signal, or any means of rescue on the horizon, they are forced to find ways of survival. But that’s not all they find—sizzling chemistry, undeniable attraction, and HOT passionate sex explode.

But amidst paradise, there are also secrets that threaten to tear them apart.

Exclusive Excerpt:

“Before signing the acceptance offer, you’ll need to know some of the obligations. There will be traveling, often on short notice. I expect you to always be available. There will be numerous meetings, including after-hours board sessions. Late nights are common, and you may have to arrive before dawn. Some Saturdays are expected. Sundays are off limits. The job is salaried. With successful completion, you’ll be awarded a bonus. Are these things you can live with?”
I nodded. “Yes.”
“Cordelia, prepare the personnel action forms for my signature. Also, give her an elevator key card. She’ll also need appropriate digital access to administrative files.” He turned his attention toward me. “After lunch, move your things up and familiarize yourself with the top floor. You won’t have time tomorrow.”
After a few clicks on her computer, Cordelia pulled the forms from the printer and handed them to Mr. Mitchell. He scrawled his signature along the line on the bottom of the page before moving around the desk toward me.
“Read over it before signing. I’ll see you in a couple of hours, Ms. Sheridan.”
“Thank you for this opportunity, Mr. Mitchell.”
“We’ll see if you feel that way after a week of working for me.” He raised an eyebrow, wearing a sexy smirk.
“After a week, you might find it’s me who’s two steps ahead of you.” The words flew out of my mouth before I could stop my snarky thoughts from rolling off my tongue.

About the Author:

Kathryn James lives in a southern small town with her husband and a very sweet and spoiled poodle named Macy. Being a hopeless romantic, she loves to read and write about bad-boy sexy alpha males and strong heroines. The beach is one of her favorite places to hangout, relax, and write. She debuted her first novel, Crazy Beautiful Lies and released a short Crazy Beautiful Kiss which was published in A Story of a Kiss anthology. She plans to release it again as a novella by the end of summer.

 

For information about Kathryn L. James or to stay updated on upcoming releases, please drop by:

 

Facebook | Website | Blog | Twitter | Goodreads

 

Enter Kathryn’s Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

 

I remember vividly reading the first book in this series “Chasing Wicked” by this author. The plot so was not how I expected it to be (it was much more and far better). So when I now received “Finding Wicked” I admit I already had high expectations given the previous book. So I am happy to announce – the author again exceeded my expectations.

It just took me a little more than a day reading session (which is pretty good given the page count and the fact that I forgot my kindle at home and had to skip my lunch time reading) … I could hardly put the book down because the characters drew me in. Both male and female lead were beautifully developed with all their traits and edges. I could almost instantly connect with both of them which is a rare case and my heart went out to them when the situation called for it.

And don’t even get me started on the setting of the story.
A big part takes place in a setting that reminded me of a very famous and I think at that time scandalous movie – just in that movie the protagonists were younger. (I bet if I mention the title – 50% of the readers of this review know the setting. So I will place that in a spoiler section of my goodreads review only as the book still does not have a blurb and this seems to be the first review for it there) (view spoiler)

The Plot and its twists – well the author likes to torture the readers it seems (just kidding – well kind of at least). But fact is – you will think you know the twist – but I am pretty sure the author will surprise you – so don’t count on it. When the twist came I so felt for the leads – yeah correct I felt for both of them – even one of them was right and the other wrong … There was no winner – only losers in my mind.

Issues – well I had one or two – decisions of secondary characters I did not quite understand and one or two things that probably go by “the author said so – so it is “ but they still left me wondering because I have the tendency to dissect stories which isn’t always in their best interest. Still these tiny things crossing my mind did not change the fact that the story is beautiful and made me #sigh more than once .. so my 5 stars are valid.

If I may recommend this book for a certain reading setting – I would tell you to take it with you on your holiday to the beach or at least enjoy it outside in the sun – don’t ask me why just trust me. And you may also trust me when I tell you that I am SO looking forward what this author comes up with next.

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Chasing Kade (Thrill of the Chase, #1) by Anna Paige

Chasing Kade (Thrill of the Chase, #1) by Anna Paige

 

August 24, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Chasing Kade

 

 Anna Paige

 

Thrill of the Chase

 

 Published 2017

 

 

 

 

 

There’s no such thing as too much fun…Wrong. Incredibly, immeasurably, categorically false.Try: It’s all fun and games until someone ends up in the tabloids. Again. Kade Edenfield was rock royalty. If every rock god in history gathered for dinner, his seat would be at the head of the table. He was that good. His band was elevated to a level few ever reached, and he was having the time of his life. Until one misstep too many landed him on the front page of every gossip rag around the globe, and the band’s label decided to saddle them with a PR priss whose sole mission in life was to suck the fun right out of his. He wanted her gone. Until he realized he just plain wanted her. Aubrey Taylor didn’t ask to be assigned to babysit a band full of troublemakers, but she wasn’t given a choice. Wanted or not, she intended to fix the mess they’d made. She’d do it quickly, efficiently, and then she’d get the hell out of there. Unfortunately, after meeting their openly hostile singer—the one with the notoriously menacing stare—it was clear she was in over her head. When Kade made a point to challenge her at every turn, unafraid of using intimidation to get her to back down, she found herself in even deeper trouble.While she ‘officially’ resented and feared him, their power struggle secretly turned her on.She desperately wanted to win their little standoff, but what was she supposed to do when she realized she wanted him even more?

 

 

 

 

 

I just finished reading Chasing Kade by Anna Paige which is the first book in the “Thrill of the Chase” series and also my first book by this author.

 

It can be read as a standalone – but you will soon notice that there have to be other books by this author as there are characters crossing your path that you will want to know more about and those are from the “Broken” series. So in case you planned on reading that series you should do so before reading this book or it will spoiler you their ending – obviously.

 

Well where do I start with this book. Maybe with my thought that this could have been a 5 star read if the ending had not been the way it was. I will not go into detail but for all the build up in the book I expected an equal loud blow up in the end and I felt that this was not “loud” enough – If I may describe it in a non spoilering way.

 

I liked several things about this book but the problem is all of them would be to detailed to be mentioned without spoilers, but I will try.

 

So there is the reason why “the warden” #chuckling was brought in … I liked that the facts were quiet obvious for the reader from beginning on.

 

And then there was the kind of “banter” that went on between the leads … it is so different from what I was used to and it was well… HOT

 

Then there was this chapter where something that happened between Aubrey, Kade and “someone” and I never read anything like it so far. And if you had asked my yesterday I would have told you I have no interest in ever reading something like that but … here – in this story and with these persons it was special and reading it felt right …. I admit I liked it a lot.

 

So I learned that my answer to a situation like this from now on will not be NO WAY but simply “With the right person and in the right moment – anything is possible” #yeah I see a lot of people scratching their heads at my cryptic comments – sorry

 

The dynamics in the complete group of characters in this group felt real and believable. I liked the personalities that were given to the group and I am really looking forward to reading more about the other members as my interest was peaked many times by actions or comments.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 2 3 81

Merken

Merken

Merken

error: Content is protected !!