RECOMMENDING BOOK’s

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan

Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan

 
 

March 19, 2014

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri

 
 

 

Title : Archer’s Voice

Author : Mia Sheridan

Series : N/A

Rating : 5 Stars

 

Blurb : A New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling book. Archer’s Voice is a full-length, standalone romance.
When Bree Prescott arrives in the sleepy, lakeside town of Pelion, Maine, she hopes against hope that this is the place where she will finally find the peace she so desperately seeks. On her first day there, her life collides with Archer Hale, an isolated man who holds a secret agony of his own. A man no one else sees.
Archer’s Voice is the story of a woman chained to the memory of one horrifying night and the man whose love is the key to her freedom. It is the story of a silent man who lives with an excruciating wound and the woman who helps him find his voice. It is the story of suffering, fate, and the transformative power of love.
THIS IS A STANDALONE SIGN OF LOVE NOVEL, INSPIRED BY SAGITTARIUS. New Adult Contemporary Romance: Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18

 

Review : Simply wonderful – No other words needed
            

 

 

 

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Crashed by K. Bromberg

Crashed by K. Bromberg

 
 

June 24, 2014

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri

 
 

 

Title :  Crashed

Author : K. Bromberg

Series : Driven, #3

Rating :  5 Stars

 

Blurb : When life crashes down around us, how hard are we willing to fight for the one thing we can’t live without, each other? Life is full of moments. Big moments. Little moments. And none of them are inconsequential. Every single moment prepares you for that one instance that defines your life. You must overcome all your fears, confront the demons that chase you, and cleanse the poison that clings to your soul or you risk the chance of losing everything.

Mine started the minute Rylee fell out of that damn storage closet. She made me feel. Made me whole when all I thought I could ever be was incomplete. Became the lifeline I never knew I needed. Hell yes, she’s worth the fight…but how do you fight for someone you know you don’t deserve?

Love is full of ups and downs.
Heart stopping highs.
Soul shattering lows.
And none of them are insignificant.
Love is a racecourse of unexpected twists and turns that must be negotiated. You have to break down walls, learn to trust, and heal from your past in order to win. But sometimes it’s the expected that’s the hardest to hold on to.

Colton has healed and completed me, stolen my heart, and made me realize our love’s not predictable nor perfect—it’s bent. And bent’s okay. But when outside factors put our relationship to the test, what lengths will I have to go to prove to him that he’s worth the fight?

Whoever said love is patient and love is kind, never met the two of us. We know our love is worth it—have acknowledged that we were meant to be—but when our pasts crash into our future, will the repercussions make us stronger or break us apart?

 

Review : I race this series

       

 

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Fueled by K. Bromberg

Fueled by K. Bromberg

 
 

June 24, 2014

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri

 
 

 

Title :  Fueled

Author : K. Bromberg

Series : Driven, #2

Rating :  5 Stars

 

Blurb : Book #2 of the Driven Trilogy What happens when the one person you never expected suddenly happens to be the one you’ll fight the hardest to keep? Colton stole my heart. He wasn’t supposed to, and I sure as hell didn’t want him to, but he crashed into my life, ignited feelings within me that I thought had died forever, and fueled a passion that I never knew could exist. Rylee fell out of that damn storage closet and into my life. Now I don’t think I’ll ever be the same. She’s seen glimpses of the darkness within me, and yet she’s still here. Still fighting for me. She is without a doubt the saint, and I am most definitely the sinner. How is it the one thing neither of us wanted—neither of us anticipated that fateful night—has us fighting so hard to keep? He steals my breath, stops my heart, and brings me back to life again all in a split second of time. But how can I love a man who won’t let me in? Who continually pushes me away to prevent me from seeing the damaged secrets in his past? My heart has fallen, but patience and forgiveness can only go so far. How can I desire a woman who unnerves me, defies me, and forces me to see that in the deep, black abyss of my soul there’s someone worthy of her love? A place and person I swore I’d never be again. Her selfless heart and sexy body deserve so much more than I’ll ever be capable of giving her. I know I can’t be what she needs, so why can’t I just let her go? We are driven by need and fueled with desire, but is that enough for us to crash into love?

 

Review : I can finally fully relate to the characters and I think I like the book a lot. Definitvly a promising author to read

 

 

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Tied (Devil’s Wolves #2) by Carian Cole

 

 

Tied (Devil's Wolves, #2)

  

Tied
Devil’s Wolves #2
Carian Cole
 June 24th 2017

 

He was the myth and the legend of our small town. But no one knew the truth… except me.

Me
My childhood was stolen by a monster. I’ve forgotten what love feels like. What happiness feels like. What hope feels like. I am numb.

Him
He’s possibly as damaged as I am. Maybe even more. Scarred just as much on the inside as the outside. Just like me. He doesn’t speak. He doesn’t smile. He hides in the woods like an animal. I should be scared of him. But I’m not. He’s the only one who has ever made me feel. And I want to make him feel, too.
Everything…

** Can be read stand-alone.

** This is a slow burn romance. It is not erotica, nor are there lots of sex scenes. This is about two lonely, damaged people learning to trust, love, and find happiness. Their story does not revolve around sex.

** There is no cheating in this book.

** While the heroine was kidnapped and abused mentally and physically as a child, I do not give any graphic details about what happened to her out of respect to survivors who may read this book. This book focuses on hope and moving forward and I felt there was no need to include graphic details to get the point across.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Tattoo Thief (Tattoo Thief #1) by Heidi Joy Tretheway

 

 

Tattoo Thief (Tattoo Thief, #1)

  

Tattoo Thief
Tattoo Thief, #1
Heidi Joy Tretheway
 October 8th 2013

 

22-year-old Beryl doesn’t know why Gavin Slater trashed his penthouse, abandoned his dog and fled the country. But as his house sitter, she must pick up the pieces for the front man of the white-hot rock band Tattoo Thief.

When ultra-responsible Beryl confronts the reckless rock star, she wants to know more than just what to do with his mess. Why is he running? What’s he searching for? And is he responsible for the death of his muse?

New York newbie Beryl must find her footing in Gavin’s crazy world of the ultra-wealthy to discover her own direction and what can bring him back.

Steamy, sassy and tender, Tattoo Thief is a story of breaking from a comfort zone to find a second chance.

 

 

 

My first book by this author was a quite remarkable one I have to say. Most of the story felt fresh and real to me – might be because I know some of the places (in oregon) and therfore I could picture things easily. I loved the characters and the plot and I can truely recommend this book. I will have an eye on this author.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

PROMO / REVIEW : Irish Crown by Nashoda Rose

Title: Irish Crown
Author: Nashoda Rose
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: November 26, 2018
Cover Designer: Sara Eirew
Model: Mike Chabot
Hosted by: Buoni Amici Press, LLC.

From the New York Times & USA Today bestselling author Nashoda Rose, comes a new, sexy standalone romance novel.
It was one night together.
I wasn’t supposed to see him again.
I never thought I would.
And then, the six foot three cement graffiti wall of badass strides back into my life, and does it full force.
Now he’s protecting me from his past and I’m protecting myself against the heated chaos he erupts in my body. It doesn’t help that he can do playful and sweet, when he’s not doing bossy.
But the overly confident, playboy Deaglan Kane is danger, has no boundaries, and is totally off limits.
And I know behind his walls there’s a man with a dark and damaged past.
A man more dangerous. A man who may be the greatest threat of all.
The Irish Crown.

 

 

 

Nashoda Rose is a New York Times and USA Today International bestselling author of twelve novels, including the Tear Asunder series, the spin-off Unyielding series, and her paranormal Scars of the Wraiths.

She lives outside of Toronto where she enjoys hiking with her Newfoundland dog and riding her horses

BookBub

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

I am not exactly sure how long “Irish Crown” by Nashoda Rose was on my reading schedule – but even after the first release was postponed I could not bring myself to take it off the list. Usually I mark these books in Goodreads and clear my reading schedule but I read a bunch of books by this author and I knew this book would be worth keeping it on that list.

Having it there ensured that I would keep in mind to check upon the status regularly and you can imagine my joy when about two weeks ago I got the notice that the book will now be finally released. During one of my check in’s with the author she told me that she felt something as not right with the story so she postponed the release. Now after reading the book I really wonder –  I wonder what the plot was like before because now – well now it was damn’ near perfect for me. 

It had been a loooooong while since I read her previous books but I directly felt – wow – I know a bunch of these guys (which is a feature considering I read like a 1000 books or so since then NO KIDDING). So I went back to check on the authors book list to refresh my memory – there they were – gosh it all came flooding back. But make no mistake – If you haven’t read anything by this author before – you will be perfectly able to read this book as a standalone – and you will be yearning to hear more about some of the secondary characters. Surprise surprise – their books are already there … Usually with other authors you often get spoilered on these kind of characters and you learn their whole story – so you would never go back to read the other books. Here ? nothing like that – you will only be left with a pull towards these guys wanting to know more about them – and well you can…

With my memories also my NEED came back –  how much I loved these character and how I wanted to have more – (greedy little reader that I am) and even I got a surprise – because there is still room for new books as even I found a new and interesting character I want to read more about – (his name is Vic by the way).

And finally – there was this damn near perfect male specimen that got the lead in this book and I am still looking for his flaws – nope sorry couldn’t find anything worth mentioning. Except maybe his questionable taste for one night stands. Interesting is the authors ability to make this character so damn ( I use that word a lot today I am noticing) intriguing without really given a lot of information on him for a loooooong time – #writer magic – I guess. Oh and his Name is “Deaglan” by the way and “he has such a way with words” – well that alone should have been enough to dislike him – but NOPE that did not work. Any other guy calling telling his girl “Pet, I got shit to do” well – lets say it would not have been pretty But Deaglan well he lets a line like that get followed by “Baby, I broke every fuckin’ rule in my book the second I walked up to you. Did it anyway” –And any half sane woman has molten by the time he is finished speaking.

Eva the female lead feels good to read, believable – not to soft and not to hard as a character. I liked her as she was easy to relate to. So it was no hardship that most of the book is told from her PoV – it only made the few chapters that Deaglan spend with the reader even more remarkable.

There is not a lot of forward and backward like other romances with tortured heroes tend to have – these characters only go one way and that is forward without apologizing. And it’s refreshing. No excuses – no complaining and a male lead that is almost psychic in his abilities when it comes to his woman – crazy ? no more remarkable and probably what every woman dreams about if she is honest with herself.

So is there anything that this book did not have –

Yeah – one tiny thing – MORE PAGES …. And please dear Ms. Rose – do not let us wait to long on the next chapter of this amazing journey through the plots you pull from your mind. I understand perfection like Deaglan needs time but your readers are a greedy bunch and your characters are simply to amazing ….

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

REVIEW : Awaken the Darkness (Immortal Guardians #8) by Dianne Duvall

 

 

Awaken the Darkness (Immortal Guardians #8)

  

Awaken the Darkness
Immortal Guardians #8
Dianne Duvall
July 10th 2018

 

He awakens encapsulated in dirt with no knowledge of how he came to be there. Riddled with injuries, he can remember neither his past nor who he is. Nor can he remember what he is. But surely no mortal man could survive being buried deep beneath the earth. All he knows with certainty is that the soothing voice and presence of the woman moving around above enables him to endure the agony of his wounds. And he will do whatever it takes to be with her.

When Susan first sees the old two-story house for sale, such warmth and longing fill her that—against all reason—she makes an offer. It will take years of hard work and money she frankly doesn’t have to fix up the place. So she can’t explain why she bought it. She also can’t explain what compels her to spend hours one night, digging in the basement until she unearths a man. A man who still lives and breathes despite having been buried alive. A man whose intense brown eyes glow amber with pain, declaring him far more than ordinary. Susan knows she should keep her distance. He has no memory and possesses gifts that would make most fear him. But as the two work together to unravel the mystery of his past, she finds herself drawn in by his teasing nature and tender touch. So much so that she loses her heart to him even as they find themselves hunted by unknown enemies who are ruthless in their quest to capture them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Mutilate My Heart (Mutilated #1) by Emily Godwin

 

 

Mutilate My Heart (Mutilated, #1)

  

Mutilate My Heart
Mutilated #1 
Emily Godwin
July 9th 2013

 

T

 

 

 

I can honestly say that this YA is like nothing I ever read before. And I have to admit – it is good that I did not know or have any clue about the twist of the story because I would not have chosen to read the book in that case.

Yes I am honest about that and about the fact that I really loved it and I was surprised about it myself.

Sit down

relax

Enjoy the right

oh and do not stick to your idea of conventional romance too much will you ?

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

An Accidental Affair by Holly Blackstone

An Accidental Affair by Holly Blackstone

 
 

July 14, 2013

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri

 
 

 

Title : An Accidental Affair

Author : Holly Blackstone

Series : Liliana Batchelor, #1

Rating : 5 Stars

 

Blurb : Lily Batchelor is on her way home and resigned to another boring Friday night eating dinner alone when one small seemingly insignificant decision to stop at the local grocery store changes her life forever. Successful CEO Stuart Watson seems to have it all -looks, money, power and an apparently endless string of women who are willing to throw themselves at him. A car accident at a railroad crossing renders him unconscious and it’s only Lily’s selfless actions that save his life. Recovering in the hospital, Stuart realises that Lily has no idea who he is and plans to keep it that way, at least for a little while. The accident has changed both of them. Stuart, sensing a new lease on life and impressed by Lily’s heroism, is surprised when he meets her and there is instant attraction. Lily, who only wanted to ‘do the right thing’, is shocked by the small media circus that ensues in response to her heroism. When Stuart exudes an air of sexuality even from his hospital bed, Lily is fearful of the attraction while at the same time intrigued by it. Disappointed that despite his promise he doesn’t call before her trip to Edinburgh, Lily manages to convince herself that it’s all for the best. When Stuart unexpectedly reappears in her life, Lily realises just how dangerous a presence he is; the chemistry is undeniable and she knows that saying no to him might close the door to love forever while saying yes might well mean a broken heart.

 

Review : Where to begin ? maybe with „wow“ …this was not what i expected … that would fit best I think.
(please excuse me if the choice of my words is not the best possible one as English is not my native language)

I tried to remember how I found the books – I think it was because of the authors post in one of the groups I joined on goodreads
I read the starter and thought – ok – that sounds interesting …
Then I bought the 3 !!! books on amazon on Friday – and by Sunday night I was done … and left (like a fish without water) craving for more

Reading many of the now available “similar” story’s (just check my goodreads profile) – you easily find a pattern which they all seem to follow – but this teaser sounded different and got me interested.
At first I had a little difficulty about the writing style – most of the other books in those area are written form either HER or HIS point of view only – and this story seems to jump… pointing out his and her thinking and a kind of neutral point of view … so the first chapters took some time to get used to – but maybe that is only my problem as not native English speaker.

I do not want to make to many spoilers so I try to state my opinion without giving to much away.
To make a long story short …These books are really good ! They may contain many of the known elements of other storys –

the strong dominating male/ceo
the submissive female
the fact that at least one of them has binding issures
the running away / breakup thing
the strange/crazy boss/ ex-boyfriend/ex-girlfriend/ex-wife factors

But it became different in the moment when the relationship between Stuart and Lily hit the bottom of what Stuart actually wants and what he is willing to do to get it.

At the beginning I thought this is too much how could he actually expect that from her ??

But reading further and further – the story made it really believable . I could relate to what he was thinking and how Lily was feeling about it. And believe me if you would just state here now the plain cold facts of what Stuart wants you would consider it/him crazy and the whole story totally nuts ….

But the miracle itself is how Holly Blackstone made it possible that you actually move on with the persons and start to relate to their thinking and somehow it suddenly makes sense (at least to me)

And just in case – that the author might read this – I have to put a maybe minor spoiler here but I try to keep it as general as possible giving away as little as possible:

Dear Ms. Blackstone – I already loved your detailed description of the “things going on in the basement” in the 2nd book – especially as you write with such passion not only the description of the surrounding but also Stuart’s and Lily’s feeling about it – they are by far the best I have read up to now – BUT you really got me in the 3rd book when “Stuart is giving his second “PAYMENT” to Lina” ….”Lily’s “PART” in that payment” nearly killed me during reading!

Not to mention … your description of THE piercing nearly made me faint thinking about it

PLEASE hurry up … I need to read more … but please don’t make it to many remaing parts

Wo soll ich anfangen …
WOW – trifft es vermutlich nicht ganz …

Durch Zufall bin ich in einer Goodreads gruppe auf diese Bücher gestoßen – und da ich schon fast alles was so bekannt ist zu diesem Thema gelesen habe gräbt man ja tiefer und findet dann auch unbekanntere neue Autoren wie diesen hier.

Der Teaser klang interessant also habe ich mir das erste Buch am Freitag bei Amazon geladen und was soll ich sagen – am Sonntagabend hatte ich alle drei bisher erschienenen Bücher durch und sitze nun mit meinem Cliffhanger da in der Hoffnung das bald mehr zu lesen kommt.
Freunde von 50 Shades oder Crossfire und ähnlichem werden hier viele bekannte Elemente finden

Den dominatnen starken CEO / Mann
Die ihm ergebene Frau
Die Tatsache das mindestens einer der beiden Bindungsprobleme hat
Dieses Weglauf-/Schlussmach DING
Den verrückten/seltsamen Chef/Ex-freund(in)/ Ex-Ehefrau Faktor

Aber wo es dann wirklich anders wird ist wenn Lily von Stuart klar und deutlich seine Vorstellungen zu Ihrer Beziehung erklärt bekommt (Ich halte meine Erklärungen extra so allgemein)

Auch die Beschreibungen wie sie ihre Beziehung ausleben sind viel detaillierter und schöner beschrieben als ich es bisher aus anderen Büchern kenne.

Würde man Stuarts Forderungen einfach kurz hier auflisten – wäre wahrscheinlich die einstimmige Meinung das das unglaublich ist und unmöglich aber irgendwie hat die Autorin es geschafft das der Leser mit der Story mitschwimmt und so werden sogar die unmöglichsten Ansprüche plötzlich irgendwie glaubhaft

Sie beschreibt die Beziehung der Beiden ständig aus seiner Sicht / ihrer Sicht und teilweise aus einer neutralen dritten perspektive – da ich es auf Englisch gelesen habe war das anfangs teilweise schwierig zu folgen – kam dem Buch aber im Nachhinein wirklich zugute, da man so alles was Stuart und Lily erleben immer aus beiden Sichten sieht und empfindet.  

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Burn for You (Slow Burn #1) by J.T. Geissinger

 

 

Burn for You (Slow Burn #1)

  

 Burn for You
 Slow Burn #1
 J.T. Geissinger
October 17th 2017

 

The marriage is fake. But for a sassy chef and an arrogant billionaire, the sparks are real…

Jackson “The Beast” Boudreaux is rich, gorgeous, and unbelievably rude to the staff at Chef Bianca Hardwick’s New Orleans restaurant. Bianca would sooner douse herself in hot sauce than cook for Jackson again, but when he asks her to cater his fund-raiser, Bianca can’t refuse, knowing the cash will help pay her mother’s medical bills. Then Jackson makes another outrageous request: Marry me. The unconventional offer includes an enormous sum—money Bianca desperately needs, even if it does come with a contract—and a stunning ring.

The heir to a family bourbon dynasty, Jackson knows the rumors swirling around him. The truth is even darker. Still, he needs a wife to secure his inheritance, and free-spirited, sassy Bianca would play the part beautifully. Soon, though, their simple business deal evolves into an emotional intimacy he’s built walls to avoid.

As the passion heats up between them, Bianca and Jackson struggle to define which feelings are real and which are for show. Is falling for your fake fiancé the best happy ending…or a recipe for disaster?

 

 

 

The first book by JT Geissinger that I read left me speechless because of its depth and the desperation it emanates…. Not sure how long I cried and they were really ugly tears

 

So I was almost surprised (yet looking back I should not have been)  that this author is also able to mix that depth and emotion with humor … And OMG did she mix it … I can not remember laughing this hard in the last week.

 

You might also award this book with a gold star for the highest occurrence of figure of speech.

I cannot remember reading any book that this count of lines that left me laughing out loud … so

 #butter my bum and call me biscuit if there ever was another book like it …

 

For me as a bilingual person English is only my second language and I love those lines especially to compare them with equal ones in other languages – so yeah well I loved that book for this part alone.

 

Then there is the food … gosh – my mouth was watering and I will definitely try to make this cheesecake I love a good cheesecake … and maybe one or two other things also

#thank the gods for kindle marks

 

Looking at the plot the author created two wonderful characters who could not have been any more different … They were like night and day but I think one quote in the book covered the situation perfectly “#slap #slap #kiss”

 

Both had this amazing depth even if they came from totally different places they were described in such detail that it was so easy for me to feel with both of them – and I admit to wiping a stray tear from my eyes at certain points.

 

It really left me in awe of the writing of this author how she mixed severe topics with a banter that would make the ears of an experienced reader turn brightly red.  She mixed two worlds that looking at them separately seem like very unbendable.

 

If you loved previous books by this author you are going to adore this one – and if you do not know this author you will lover her after you read this book …


 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 22
error: Content is protected !!