RECOMMENDING BOOK’s

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

REVIEW : #Moonstruck (#Lovestruck #2) by Sariah Wilson

 

 

#Moonstruck (#Lovestruck #2)

  

#Moonstruck
#Lovestruck #2
Sariah Wilson
 July 17th 2018

 

Over one million “likes”—but only one of them matters.

After pop star Ryan De Luna praises Maisy Harrison’s YouTube cover of his classic hit, he offers Maisy and her fledgling band the opportunity of a lifetime: to be his opening act.

Music may be Maisy’s life, but she has one ground rule: never date a musician. That goes double for a heartbreaker like Ryan. If only she didn’t feel so vulnerable to his larger-than-life charm. And maybe now more than ever, when he asks for her help to shake off his playboy image. How can she resist playing the part of his fake girlfriend for the duration of the tour?

Ryan’s never met anyone like Maisy. She sees past all the star-studded fame and treats him like any other guy. And the more time they spend together, the more he finds himself falling for her. Now he’d like to make their imaginary fling an IRL thing. But can he convince her to take a chance and trust him with her heart?

 

 

 

Already when I read #Starstruck I knew this would become a great series – don’t ask me why it was just my gut feeling.

 

#Starstruck and #Moonstruck are the first books I read by this author and if they are indication on the writing style her other books should be equally addictive.

She presents well-developed characters and a great story and I loved the developing relationship between the leads.

If you are a lover of books, where stars meet and engage with “commoners” these books will be a great addition to your collection.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

REVIEW : Incognito by Siobhan Davis

 

 

Incognito

  

Incognito
Siobhan Davis
June 30th 2018

 

 

 

A troubled popstar forced into hiding… A sweet small-town girl overcoming tragedy… And the kind of love that only happens once in a lifetime.

Dakota’s dreams of attending Juilliard were shattered the night tragedy struck her family. It’s one year later, and she’s now enrolled at a local university trying to piece her life back together.

Shawn is one of the world’s most famous faces, having lived under a spotlight since his star exploded when he was fourteen. Now jaded by an industry forcing him to perform music he no longer enjoys, he craves normalcy and the opportunity to rediscover his muse. When a crazy stalker gets too close, and death threats start mounting, Shawn’s management team comes up with a plan—one which will allow him to work on his latest album while staying incognito on a college campus.

Romance is the last thing on Dakota’s mind, but after she crosses paths with a hot, prickly cutie with rock-hard abs and smoldering good looks, she can’t shake him from her thoughts.

Shawn can’t afford to bring any girl into his fucked-up life, but the gorgeous blonde with the sad blue eyes captivates him in a way no girl ever has, and he finds himself falling hard and fast.

But outside forces are conspiring against them.

When danger draws closer, and secrets are revealed, will their love survive?

 

 

If you would request that I describe Incognito by Siobhan Davis with one word that word would be

DOOMED

When you are reading a lot of books you might have come across a plot looking like this one once or twice already. But I am pretty sure it only LOOKED like this plot – because honestly sofar I never read a story of two persons in this situation that felt so doomed from the beginning.

Imagine a typical storyline … and than think again adding a twist and turn at every possible corner. When the focus of a relationship should be going forward – here in this story the author tortures his leadas not only by going forward and backward but also be going in circles. So its character torture at its finest. And I loved every second of it.

Being on Top of everything – seperated from the real world and being in the spotlight – dissected – subjected to the mercy of the public eye – basically public property – that is Shawn our male lead here.

At the Bottom of everything – at least when it comes to personal wishes, hopes and loss – that is Dakota

These two could not be more different and more perfect together. Their story is a trainwreck waiting to happen. As a reader you get the front row – including the “no don’t do that please” moments where you know what will happen, that it will be bad but you still get the reasons. Talking about a rock and a hard place.

A thought that crossed my mind was that I felt our leads should have been a year or two older. There were some plot related moments that had me feeling this way. Everything was perfectly working from the timeline its just a very personal feeling.

On a sidenote – I was pleased to read that the author did not let go of two of my favorite previous characters. I was delighted to see them here in a secondary but still centere role.

I am not sure if Inseperable and Incognito are ment to be a series or not but due to the reoccuring characters I would suggest reading Inseperable first – also because its a great story.

Incognito is slighty sweeter than Inseperable was. Reading the story of Shawn and Dakota did not nearly hurt so much as the other book. But here it was really intersiting how many missunderstandings could be placed in one story and magically the story did not suffer. If anything it became more intriguing.

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Dear Bridget, I Want You by Penelope Ward, Vi Keeland

 

 

Dear Bridget, I Want You

  

 Dear Bridget, I Want You
Penelope Ward, Vi Keeland
September 18th 2017

 

From the New York Times Bestselling authors of Stuck-Up Suit and Mister Moneybags, comes a sexy new standalone novel.

Dear Bridget,
I’m writing this letter because it’s highly doubtful I’ll ever garner the courage to say this to your face.
So, here goes.
We’re totally wrong for each other. You’re the proper single mum with a good head on your shoulders. I’m just the carefree British doctor passing through town and temporarily living in your converted garage until I head back to England.
But here’s the thing… for some bloody reason, I can’t stop thinking about you in very inappropriate ways.
I want you.
The only reason I’m even admitting all of this to you right now is because I don’t believe it’s one-sided. I notice your eyes when you look at me, too. And as crass as I appear when we’re joking around about sex, my attraction to you is not a joke.
So, what’s the purpose of this note? I guess it’s a reminder that we’re adults, that sex is healthy and natural, and that you can find me just through the door past the kitchen. More specifically, it’s to let you know that I’m leaving said door cracked open from now on in case you’d like to visit me in the middle of the night sometime.
No questions asked.
Think about it.
Or don’t.
Whatever you choose.
It’s doubtful I’ll even end up sliding this letter under your door anyway.
–Simon

 

 

 

Dear Ms. Ward – What is it with you and your “thing” for underwear ? – #MeLaughing … I am not sure but this book reminded me in so many GOOD way’s of Stepbrother Dearest … I really loved every minute of it.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Racer (Real #7) by Katy Evans

 

 

Racer (Real, #7)

  

Racer
Real #7
Katy Evans
September 28th 2017

 

A bad boy with something to prove.
A woman with a mission.
The race of their lives.
The love of a lifetime.

I don’t think his parents expected him to live up to his name—Racer Tate—but once he felt the adrenaline rush behind the wheel, he was addicted.

He’s the fastest, fiercest driver around.

Scouting new talent brings me to his doorstep…
but his smile sends me to my knees.

The sexy, mysterious Racer Tate is not the kind of man a girl like me falls for. He’s secretive, reckless, elusive. But his proximity pushes me beyond reason, and his kiss….

This is our last chance to win, and he is our only hope. I’m supposed to watch him—make sure he doesn’t get into trouble. But it’s an impossible task. And now the one in heart wrenching, toe-curling, soul-crushing trouble is me. Because when your heart belongs to someone, their truths become your own, and their secrets become your salvation…or your curse.

He says he wants me. He says I’m the One. But he also thinks he’ll break my heart, one piece at a time until it’s gone.

 

 

 

I am still under the heavy impression of what I just finished reading … and that was Racer by Katy Evans …

When you aim to read a book a day (and almost mange it) you reach a point where you think that you will not encounter anything really new anymore. And in some dark moments you might even think that nothing really surprises or grips you anymore…. That being said and collecting my thoughts Here comes something NEW to me – something I was sure I would never say.

I think If you come across Katy Evans Books for the first time … you would expect me to tell you to read them in some sort of order … but Racer broke with that – and for the first time in my life I am not sure what I should suggest to tell a reader …..  read Racer first and then the other books or read them in the order like I did…

Trying to keep it vague for spoiler reasons let me phrase it this way … Racer is closely related to a previous lead in another book and I really struggled with two facts that came with that knowledge.

Readers knowing this authors books will understand and probably already guess one issue because it is a logical worry …..Where I personally was not so much struggling with the worry itself but more with the fact that at the moment I realized the relation I already KNEW “things”…

After some contemplating I think you should read them in the way they were released but you might encounter the same feeling that had me thinking – and that was my second “issue” and that is TIME …. Like in the moment when Racer said …. “together for 30 years” – well I am not sure what I felt but it was strange …

Do not misunderstand me – it is absolutely no issue of the book – just my personal issue – I felt OLDER in that moment … like I also met them 30 years ago – you know ? Where it still felt so real like it was yesterday…

Because that character I am talking about was so remarkable that he never left me … and as music is a big part in this book – Racer evoked the same feelings in me – it was like a renewal …

Everything about this guy was so raw …. And even when I felt that the love he developed with Lana was a little on the insta side – the knowledge of his background made me comfortable where I in any other case might have complained.

I am honest … some of the tears I encountered at a certain moment of the book felt like they were also due to the knowledge I already had – which also enforces my thoughts of keeping the reading order.

Racer 2.0 was “further” developed and knew better how to handle things and I admired him I really did …. (when you read the story you will get the meaning of this line)

You can read Racer as a standalone ( I think – I mean I can not know as I read all the other books too) but I strongly believe that you might not have the same range of deep feelings because you might not understand some of the struggle as it seems lighter in this book. Or maybe I am just thinking that because I encountered a really bad case before ? As I said – I will never know as I can not change my knowledge and the more I write I think I do not want to change that knowledge – so yes keep the reading order …

But those 30 years – damn – sorry – they are hard to digest for me … hahaha

Did I already say I love the book ? not sure (I try to never scroll back while writing)  – but anyway I DO-

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Blade of Darkness (Immortal Guardians #7) by Dianne Duvall

 

 

Blade of Darkness (Immortal Guardians, #7)

  

Blade of Darkness
Immortal Guardians #7
Dianne Duvall
September 19th 2017

 

Dana Pembroke has been able to glimpse the future of those she touches for as long as she can remember. But she never saw Aidan coming. When the tall, dark Celt with the charming grin yet world-weary eyes walks through her door, the future she sees for him is one full of violence, danger, deception… and passion. Because amidst the terrifying battles that unfold in her visions, she also sees herself in Aidan’s arms and in his bed. Dana knows she should keep her distance, but the tender moments and laughter they share entice her even as she finds herself thrust into a world of vampires, immortals, and other preternatural beings.

Immortal Guardian Aidan O’Byrne has been hunting and slaying psychotic vampires for nearly three thousand years, so visions of bloody battles don’t trouble him. The battles Dana foresees, however, show Aidan’s brethren turning against him, so he can’t help but feel alarmed. While he spends as much time as he can with Dana, struggling to decipher her dire predictions, Aidan finds himself utterly smitten. Hope rises that he has finally found a woman who can banish the darkness and loneliness that plague him. But when vampires begin targeting Dana and a powerful enemy spawns chaos, will fate grant them time to find happiness together?

 

 

 

To quote and use my favorite line of this book : “There is a slight chance … that I might have …. “ fallen in love with this series even more …. “how slight …. ? GARGANTUM!”

 

#sigh – I “live” for those small Zach and/or Bastien moments …

 

Series are usually heading into one direction when they go on for a long time and that is repeating previous stories.

With the immortal guardians I never experienced that problem so far and when I take a look at the background story and the characters I also do not see it anywhere in the future.

Quite the opposite actually I am kind of afraid that the author might at some point not continue that series and I will never get to hear all those great stories that I can practically see lurking in the background.

So DEAR AUTHOR don’t you ever do that to us please …

 

While the way the couples fall in love might always be close to instantly (which is normally something I dislike) their love stories never get boring. They are never common or easy … I agree with Seth on that fully … Non of our Guardians got a real nice courtship with his woman … so why should it be any different with Aidan – especially with him not leaving anything out to finally find a woman. (that is no spoiler but a fact that followers of the series know) …

 

I think there is no series honestly where I memorized so many character names … and no matter how much time passes the moment I open a new book all the stories that I read come back to me. Usually I have to re-read older books to get back into the story but here … the basic storyline always comes back to me …

 

So I really can not review this as “Aidan’s” story – for me this is a complex network of people and I love to revisit all of them at all times ….

Let me tease you … we all know our unsocial Roland right ? Are we sure he really is unsocial ? How much would you like to find out ?

Would you ever expect Bastien to care about anyone else then his woman ? …

And then there is Cliff …. Yeah he is there … no spoiler here but what will happen to him … ? He is this background secondary character that has I think like Sheldon his own fans waiting on hearing the full stories …

 

I loved that we got glimpses of a Seth that almost seemed “human” – and some comments make me wonder when we will get his story.

Readers will get to meet some new guardians as well …

And I loved the way the author threw some thoughts out there about stuff that happened that might not have been what it looked like … (sorry being vague on purpose) – so I hope to hear about a guardian again that ….(vague sorry)

 

See ? you open Aidan’s story but believe me you will get so much more …

And I honestly already can not wait on the next story and I am sure it will be far to long before we get it – but it will be OK  as long as we WILL get it … I can be patient … (But it would be nice as a Christmas present 2017 #laughing)

 

So in total ? you ask me for my NO. 1 paranormal series ?

Look no further start with this series WITH BOOK 1 and slowly fall in love …

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO RECOMMEND REVIEW

PROMO / REVIEW : When Forever Changes by Siobhan Davis

WFC_BLOGTOUR

When Forever Changes, an all-new emotional, angsty, new adult romance from USA Today bestselling author Siobhan Davis is available NOW!

WhenForeverChanges_ecover

Gabby

<

p style=”text-align: center;”>

Looking back, I should have seen the signs. Perhaps I did, but I subconsciously chose to ignore them.

From the time I was ten, when I first met Dylan, I knew he was my forever guy. Back then, I couldn’t put words to what I was feeling, but, as the years progressed, I came to recognize it for what it was—soul-deep love. The kind only very few people ever get to experience. Dylan was more than just my best friend, my childhood sweetheart, my lover.

He was my soulmate.

We were carved from the same whole—destined to be together forever.

Until he changed.

And I believed I was no longer good enough.

Until he shattered me so completely, it felt like I ceased to exist.

And I’d never experienced such heart-crushing pain.

Until he leveled me a second time, and I truly wanted to die.

But I had to stay strong because I wasn’t alone in this cruel twist of fate.

I look to the sky, pleading with the stars, begging someone to tell me what I should do because I don’t know how to deal with this. I don’t know how to cope when my forever has changed, and I can’t help wondering if I had seen the signs earlier, if I’d pushed him, would it have been enough to save us?

<

p style=”text-align: center;”>
Or had fate already decided to alter our forever?

WFC_AVAILABLE NWO

Download your copy today or read FREE in Kindle Unlimited!

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2NIzf4N

Amazon Worldwide: http://mybook.to/WhenForeverChanges

Add to GoodReads: https://smarturl.it/WhenForeverChangesGR

WhenForeverChanges__Teaser3

Excerpt:

A throat clearing alerts me to my brother’s presence. My eyes fly to the door, and Ryan is there, lounging against the wall, gaze narrowed as he watches us.

“Morning,” I croak, wincing at how hoarse my voice sounds.

“What the hell’s going on, Gabby? And why is Slate in your bed?”

“Technically, he’s not,” I say, unsuccessfully attempting to extricate myself from his grip.“He’s on top of my bed.”

At that moment, Slater, very unhelpfully, decides to nuzzle into my neck. A satisfied moan slips from his lips, and he blatantly inhales, rubbing his nose in my hair. “Mmm,you smell good,” he murmurs in a sleep-laced tone, pressing his morning wood against my ass. I can’t stop the whimper that escapes my mouth in time, and Ryan turns a very unflattering shade of red. If his jaw clenches any tighter, he’ll give himself lockjaw.

“This is not what it looks like,” I rush to assure him before he loses it.“And nothing happened, so there’s no need to go apeshit on Slate.”

“Someone better start explaining,” Ryan grumbles, and Slater stills behind me, slowly coming to.

“Ryan, dude. Stop freaking out,” Slater says after a tense minute of silence, his voice drenched with sleep.“I was only consoling Belle. That’s it. No need to look at me like you want to rip my head from my body.”

“That’s not the only part of your anatomy I’d like to dismantle right now,” my brother growls, slanting thunderous looks in Slater’s direction.

“Seriously, chill, bro.” Slater scoots away from me, and I instantly feel cold. I lie flat on my back as he swings his legs out the other side of the bed. Resting his elbows on his knees, he yawns. Thank God, he’s wearing a tank and sweats and that he’s hiding the evidence of his arousal until he’s gotten himself under control. The last thing I need is Ryan jumping to conclusions.

About Siobhan:

USA Today bestselling author Siobhan Davis writes emotionally intense young adult and new adult romantic fiction with swoon-worthy romance, complex characters, and tons of unexpected plot twists and turns that will have you flipping the pages beyond bedtime! She is the author of the international bestselling Kennedy Boys, Saven, and True Calling series’.

Siobhan’s family will tell you she’s a little bit obsessive when it comes to reading and writing, and they aren’t wrong. She can rarely be found without her trusty Kindle, a paperback book, or her laptop somewhere close at hand.

Prior to becoming a full-time writer, Siobhan forged a successful corporate career in human resource management.

She resides in the Garden County of Ireland with her husband and two sons.

sd author photo version 2

Connect with Siobhan:

Subscribe to romance newsletter: http://smarturl.it/KennedyBoysList

Amazon Author Page: http://smarturl.it/SiobhanDavisAmazon

Author website: http://smarturl.it/SiobhanDavisWebsite

Goodreads profile: http://smarturl.it/SiobhanGoodreads

Facebook page: http://smarturl.it/SiobhanDavisFacebook

Twitter profile: http://smarturl.it/SiobhanDavisTwitter

Author Blog: http://smarturl.it/SiobhanDavisBlog

BookBub Author Page: http://smarturl.it/SiobhanDavisBookbub

 

 

 

✔✖ My Review Check List ✖✔AKA significant signs for a good book

Here ? When Forever Changes by Siobhan Davis
– (NOT WANTING TO PUT THE BOOK DOWN – WHICH INCLUDES CARRYING AN E-BOOK READER LITERALLY EVERYWHERE I GO, ALLNIGHT READING SESSIONS AND SNEAKING OUT OR IN PLACES INCLUDING TOILETS TO READ A FEW PAGES)
✔ – that’s a yes

– (TALKING WITH YOUR BOOK – NOMATTER WHERE YOU ARE AND WHO IS WATCHING YOU)
✔ – you do not want to know what I looked like while reading

– (CRYING AND/OR LAUGHING – -OUT LOUD- NOMATTER WHERE YOU ARE)
✔ – another yes – and a lot more – but I will get to that in my Esscense of this book.

– (THE INTENSE FEELING OF WANTING TO PUNCH OR HUG A VIRTUAL CHARACTER IN REAL LIFE)
✔ – PUNCHING – yeah that was on my mind mostly

– (REMEMBERING THE PLOT/ THE AUTHOR / THINGS AND/OR CONVERTING CONTENT TO YOUR REAL LIFE)
✔ – OH YES believe me that author is now on my list … on the list of authors to be very careful when starting a book. As she draws you in – keeps you there only to torture you with well developed stories and real characters. Don’t worry – Dear Author you have famous company on that list … Colleen Hoover, Jojo Moyes, Katy Evans, etc. ….. so actually almost all of my favorite authors are there. SO yes it is not a bad place to be but its also def. not the place for fluffy readings….

My Essence ?
Honestly ? I had no idea what I would be getting myself into when I agreed to read this book. I could give you a book to compare that feeling but to many people would directly know where the plot is heading so I refrain from that – actually it would be two books that I am thinking of now …
I already read two books of this author and both were solid 5 star reads so I think it is safe to say that I assumed that this book two would be a SOLID star read …

And when I reached a certain point where I found myself thinking – wow the plot never gave any indication that this would happen I actually went back to check the plot. While rereading I thought what a clever writing that Blurb was – as suddenly anything in there could also be read and understood in a way that it DID actually meet the story only I would have never understood it in that way before.

Now – after I finished the book I am at a loss – I thought I had an idea what this was about when I read the Blurb but no … this book is like the best and the worst of all the well-known books of the last years out there in that genre….

And with “worst” I do not mean writing style or anything but the PLOT itself and I also do not mean it …. Gosh – Well how do I explain it ….actually “worst” is probably the wrong word – its more the worse that you use if you ask someone how he is feeling …

I had several stages during reading so without going into the spoiler section let me describe it like :
A love story that goes wrong – you connect to the characters and you start to like them but already from the Blurb you know something is going to happen. The words in the book show you a certain direction but ONE line showed me something else because I had an experience in that area from another book.

Still the obvious signs made me dislike the male lead Dylan – but that was obviously what the author wanted. So I started to look between the lines and I started noticing where this is going – and from there on it was like a train wreck waiting to happen – like watching the movie Titanic.

I knew what was happening – I was hoping – I was begging – I was cursing – I was hating – oh yeah and lets not forget the crying …. And during all that time I wanted to stop reading because If I did not read it I wouldn’t know if I was right and it would be like nothing happened. But did I stop ? obviously not….

If I would have a complain about this book than it would be – that this book felt to real. I bet you would never have guessed that I was ever going to write a line like that. Yeah me neither ….
Life itself is messy and this plot is not different. Lines were blurred in that plot – lines that are hard limits to me and forced me to stop several books in the past but here ? Here they felt more gray then black because I somehow knew (not going into that) ……

The question I asked myself the most was “why did nobody notice” but the characters themselves asked that question too – that took my anger and it felt like I was wondering alongside the characters – kind of lost….

The plot feels like two stories woven into each other so they fit perfectly like a glove. But my love for this plot is only within one string of this story. One plot string I would have loved to rewrite because ….. (insert curse word) I needed it to be different. And the other I would have probably never finished reading because of the hard limit. But it is what it is – this plot feels real and I can not punish it for that – just because I would have liked a fairytale.

I know I am rambling and this review has no structure but to me it is honestly just like that book left me – ALL OVER THE PLACE….

So what is this book. As it ticked of all the right places in my Review Check list – it should be a 5 star read and I will rate it as such but still something in the back of my mind will remain. Which again will ensure that I will keep a close Eye on this authors next books. So in total this author did everything right ….

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

The Bachelor Auction by Rachel Van Dyken

The Bachelor Auction by Rachel Van Dyken

 
 

October 6, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              The Bachelor Auction

Author :           Rachel Van Dyken

Series :            n/a

Release date :   04 Oct 2016

Rating :           5 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Cinderella never had to deal with this crap.

 

Jane isn’t entirely sure that Cinderella got such a raw deal. Sure, she had a rough start, but didn’t she eventually land a prince and a happily-ever-after? Meanwhile, Jane is busy waiting on her demanding, entitled sisters, running her cleaning business, and . . . yep, not a prince in sight. Until a party and a broken shoe incident leave Jane wondering if princes—or at least, a certain deliciously hunky billionaire—maybe do exist.Except Brock Wellington isn’t anyone’s dream guy. Hell, a prince would never agree to be auctioned off in marriage to the highest bidder. Or act like an arrogant jerk—even if it was just a façade. Now, as Brock is waiting for the auction chopping block, he figures it’s karmic retribution that he’s tempted by a sexy, sassy woman he can’t have. But while they can’t have a fairy-tale ending, maybe they can indulge in a little bit of fantasy . . .

 

Review :

You remember Cinderella right?

The girl with the shoe, the pumpkin and the prince ? It was such a cute fairytale – right ?

You can probably see those childhood images now right in front of you – right ?

Now that I got you so far as to smile about that memory I conjured for you..

 

YOU …

NEED …

TO …

FORGET …

ABOUT IT …

 

You are a grown up … at least I think you are if you are around here reading this review But don’t worry … you do not need to forget about Cinderella totally … just forget about that image you had so far.

 

I got a new image for you and that one is called “The Bachelor Auction” by Rachel Van Dyken

 

“Cinderella never had to deal with this crap.”

 

Usually I am that kind of reader that expects a book to be as realistic as the story allows but in this case I will make an exception.

 

Having read several of Rachel van Dyken’s books I never questioned that I would like her writing style. But there are always plots that you like more or less or where you feel that a certain author might not handle a story in a way that would get you to like it, even though you usually like this authors books.

 

I read the blurb and wondered if this author could handle that kind of plot and how .. But after the first few pages into the story I gave up wondering because I knew… SHE COULD … and O.M.G… HOW SHE COULD …

 

Please do not take the plot tooooo serious at certain points .. go with the flow and laugh your ass off (sorry about the language) … but trust me there is a lot of ASS oh and COCK inside .. just … #me-still-laughing maybe not the way YOU are imagining it right now

 

As I honestly have no idea how to explain that story to you I can just ask you to please read it … if you like fairytales, and you like this author … trust her (and me) READ IT – if you need something to cheer you up – READ IT NOW …

 

Because I am honest – I can hardly wait to read the next books of this (the reader gets a pretty good idea about whom and what they will be) – I just wonder if they will again be wrapped in a fairytale and which one the author will choose…#intriguing

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

REVIEW : Only Him (One and Only #2) by Melanie Harlow

 

 

Only Him (One and Only, #2)

  

Only Him
One and Only #2
Melanie Harlow
June 4th 2018

 

Sometimes your first love deserves a second chance.

He was my first crush, my first kiss, my first everything.
But I’m not a lovesick teenager anymore, and I’d never let that cocky troublemaker break my heart again.
So when he shows up out of the blue asking me to have dinner with him “for old time’s sake,” I say I will. After all, it’s been twelve years, and I’m stronger and smarter than I was back then.
Except…he still does something to me. He’s got those eyes that make me weak, those hands that drive me wild, and a body I can’t resist—especially once I see the tattoos. It doesn’t take long for our trip down memory lane to go from sweet to sizzling.
We’re just as good together as we were back then—better, even—and I’m willing to give the only man I’ve ever loved another chance.
But he’s got to tell me the truth.

* * *

All I wanted was to see her again. Tell her I’m sorry. Make her smile.
Okay, that’s a lie. I wanted to do more than that—a lot more. But I know she’s better off without me, and I promised myself I’d behave.
Except I’ve never been much good at keeping promises…or my hands to myself when I’m around her.
I can make her laugh, I can make her cry, I can make her body surrender to mine in ways that neither of us could have imagined back then. I can—and I do—love her more than she’ll ever know.
But I can’t tell her the real reason why I’m here.
And I can’t stay.

 

 

 

There are these types of books that make you wonder if your heart can actually break while reading a book.

Only Him (One and Only #2) by Melanie Harlow is a book like that.

The essence of that book does not stay hidden forever and the tone is not loud or an aggressive one. It is more the soft tone and the struggle that got to me as a reader.

I loved both leading characters and this story is one of the few times that the rekindling  second chance romance felt real and I could understand and feel as well as forgive along with the characters in the book.

Dallas our male lead struggles with family issues and other things that would spoiler to much of the story for me to recount. But his pain is visible, feels real and is def. justified. He wants to correct past mistakes but along the ride he actually gets drawn-in deeper and deeper. His actions are well meant and come from deep inside his heart but instead of making things better the situation is getting worse and it seems as if there is no way out.

Maren – The female lead finds herself in a situation that requires her to search for unfinished business and the only thing that comes to mind is her history with Dallas. So when out of nowhere he suddenly appears at her door she takes the chance to find closure. Only closure is not all she finds and she is drawn deeper and deeper, revisiting history. But will she also find herself in a repeated history ?

My thoughts on the story. In a for me “perfect” plot there would have been more power in the struggle for forgiveness. And more power would have also been in that lets say “dark cloud” that was floating above the relationship. Finally when it came near the end I felt that things went to fast suddenly which did not fit the pace of the story until then. But even with/without all of that that my heart felt like it was breaking at their struggle alone. I could understand both sides.

The story was a powerful one and I feel so far it is my favorite one from this author. I can fully recommend it and I am pretty sure that it will find many lovers.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Deliverance by Kristy Centeno

Deliverance by Kristy Centeno

 
 

December 3, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Deliverance

Author :           Kristy Centeno

Series :            n/a

Release date :   March 19th 2016

Rating :           5 Stars

 

 

Blurb : He’s been locked away his entire life. He dreams of freedom. The only way he can accomplish his goals is by breaking free of the chains tying him to a dark past and gloomy existence. But there’s one catch. He’s not human. And he’s never set foot outside his jail. Devoted to saving his peers as well as his own life, he sets out to find the one person that can help him achieve his objectives. He knows where she will be and what she will look like, but what he doesn’t anticipate is the fact he finds himself caring for the girl whose life he’s put at risk, more and more each day. He has no name. He has only known hatred and violence before her. However, she will teach him to have faith in humanity, even if she can’t trust him. Together they will embark on a journey to bring down a corrupt system responsible for the loss of many innocent lives. But when he finds his feelings compromised, can he still move on knowing that doing so will put an end to the life she once knew? How far is he willing to go to be free?

 

Review : Deliverance by Kristy Centeno really reset my view on this kind of paranormal novels. Reading as much as I do you reach a certain point when you think you have seen it all or that you can not take any more of a certain genre.

 

And I have to be totally honest – If I had known the “genre/idea” behind the story I might not have chosen the book BUT I also admit that would have been a BIG mistake. So I think it is good that the reader is left a little in the dark about certain stuff when he reads the blurb.

 

The author choose the way the Blurb is written wisely because it really fits the story. Therefore I am sorry to disappoint you but I will not be the one to give you more information about it.

 

The writing of this author is really very good and the storyline is absolutely intriguing. There was so much content that I wondered along reading if the reader would be left with a cliffhanger or if the author will choose to make a series out of it.

 

Well I can not answer the second but I can answer the first and take away your worry – you will NOT meet a cliffhanger.

 

When you read the story you will understand the surprise behind that fact. There is really so much material there that I thought until the last pages that there had to be a cliffhanger of sorts.

 

About the leading characters.

 

The “he” the blurb is talking about is such a wonderful “person” he is so sweet and naïve that it is hard to imagine he really is capable of all the stuff he lets the reader know about during the story. But given the right motivation – people are capable of a lot … I had tears in my eyes when he was explained the way humans usually interact because he never learned it could actually be that way.

 

The “she” we are getting to know is a strong woman that even though she is afraid she will stand her ground no matter the outcome – a remarkable character

 

And we should not forget about the secondary characters of the story that are built so strong that I still feel there will be more – it is one of those stories where you shake your head and think … ok this is an END but do I want it to be an END and my answer would be NO. There is easy room for more because so many things are left open … But on the other hand if you think a standalone is ok and you do not want a series – you will also be fully satisfied when you finished this book.

 

So it is really a remarkable writing style of this new to me author.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

REVIEW : Finding Wicked (The Mitchell Brother Wicked Series, #2) by Kathryn L. James

 

 

Finding Wicked (The Mitchell Brother Wicked Series, #2)

  

Finding Wicked
The Mitchell Brother Wicked Series, #2
Kathryn L. James
 June 6th 2018

 

Brooke Sheridan has the weight of the world on her shoulders—her mother’s terminal illness, financial
woes. When she’s offered a promotion as Executive Assistant to the cocky arrogant and sexy Garrett
Mitchell, CEO, she accepts without second thought.
Together on a business trip, Garrett an avid pilot must make an emergency crash landing on a deserted
island. With no satellite service, no phone signal, or any means of rescue on the horizon, they are forced
to find ways of survival. But that’s not all they find—sizzling chemistry, undeniable attraction, and HOT
passionate sex explode.
But amidst paradise, there are also secrets that threaten to tear them apart.

 

 

 

I remember vividly reading the first book in this series “Chasing Wicked” by this author. The plot so was not how I expected it to be (it was much more and far better). So when I now received “Finding Wicked” I admit I already had high expectations given the previous book. So I am happy to announce – the author again exceeded my expectations.

It just took me a little more than a day reading session (which is pretty good given the page count and the fact that I forgot my kindle at home and had to skip my lunch time reading) … I could hardly put the book down because the characters drew me in. Both male and female lead were beautifully developed with all their traits and edges. I could almost instantly connect with both of them which is a rare case and my heart went out to them when the situation called for it.

And don’t even get me started on the setting of the story.
A big part takes place in a setting that reminded me of a very famous and I think at that time scandalous movie – just in that movie the protagonists were younger. (I bet if I mention the title – 50% of the readers of this review know the setting. So I will place that in a spoiler section of my goodreads review only as the book still does not have a blurb and this seems to be the first review for it there) (view spoiler)

The Plot and its twists – well the author likes to torture the readers it seems (just kidding – well kind of at least). But fact is – you will think you know the twist – but I am pretty sure the author will surprise you – so don’t count on it. When the twist came I so felt for the leads – yeah correct I felt for both of them – even one of them was right and the other wrong … There was no winner – only losers in my mind.

Issues – well I had one or two – decisions of secondary characters I did not quite understand and one or two things that probably go by “the author said so – so it is “ but they still left me wondering because I have the tendency to dissect stories which isn’t always in their best interest. Still these tiny things crossing my mind did not change the fact that the story is beautiful and made me #sigh more than once .. so my 5 stars are valid.

If I may recommend this book for a certain reading setting – I would tell you to take it with you on your holiday to the beach or at least enjoy it outside in the sun – don’t ask me why just trust me. And you may also trust me when I tell you that I am SO looking forward what this author comes up with next.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 20
error: Content is protected !!