IS READING

BOOKSHELF READING

Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas

Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas

 

November 19, 2016

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

Title :              Punk 57

Author :           Penelope Douglas

Series :            n/a

Release date :   October 21st 2016

 

 

 

Blurb :  “We were perfect together. Until we met.” Misha

 

I can’t help but smile at the words in her letter. She misses me. In fifth grade, my teacher set us up with pen pals from a different school. Thinking I was a girl, with a name like Misha, the other teacher paired me up with her student, Ryen. My teacher, believing Ryen was a boy like me, agreed.

 

It didn’t take long for us to figure out the mistake. And in no time at all, we were arguing about everything. The best take-out pizza. Android vs. iPhone. Whether or not Eminem is the greatest rapper ever…And that was the start.

 

For the next seven years, it was us.

 

Her letters are always on black paper with silver writing. Sometimes there’s one a week or three in a day, but I need them. She’s the only one who keeps me on track, talks me down, and accepts everything I am.

 

We only had three rules. No social media, no phone numbers, no pictures. We had a good thing going. Why ruin it?

 

Until I run across a photo of a girl online. Name’s Ryen, loves Gallo’s pizza, and worships her iPhone.

 

What are the chances? F*ck it. I need to meet her. I just don’t expect to hate what I find.

 

Ryen

 

He hasn’t written in three months. Something’s wrong. Did he die? Get arrested? Knowing Misha, neither would be a stretch.

 

Without him around, I’m going crazy. I need to know someone is listening. It’s my own fault. I should’ve gotten his number or picture or something.He could be gone forever.

 

Or right under my nose, and I wouldn’t even know it.

 

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

Anti-Stepbrother by Tijan

Anti-Stepbrother by Tijan

 

November 20, 2016

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

Title :              Anti-Stepbrother

Author :           Tijan

Series :            n/a

Release date :   August 22nd 2016

 

 

 

Blurb : He told me to ‘settle, girl.’ He asked if ‘something was wrong with me?’ He said I was an ‘easy target.’ That was within minutes when I first met Caden Banks. I labeled him an *sshole, but he was more than that. Arrogant. Smug. Alpha. He was also to-die-for gorgeous, and my stepbrother’s fraternity brother. Okay, yes I was a little naive, a tad bit socially awkward, and the smallest amount of stalker-ish, but if Caden Banks thought he could tell me what to do, he had another thing coming. I came to college with daydreams about being with my stepbrother, but what if I fell for the anti-stepbrother instead?

 

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

I Found You by Lisa Jewell

I Found You by Lisa Jewell

 

November 21, 2016

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

Title :              I Found You

Author :           Lisa Jewell

Series :            n/a

Release date :   July 14th 2016

 

 

 

Blurb :

‘How long have you been sitting out here?’

‘I got here yesterday.’

‘Where did you come from?’

‘I have no idea.’

 

East Yorkshire: Single mum Alice Lake finds a man on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, no idea what he is doing there. Against her better judgement she invites him in to her home.Surrey: Twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.Two women, twenty years of secrets and a man who can’t remember lie at the heart of Lisa Jewell’s brilliant new novel.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

Leave a Mark by Stephanie Fournet

Leave a Mark by Stephanie Fournet

 

November 22, 2016

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

Title :              Leave a Mark

Author :           Stephanie Fournet

Series :            n/a

Release date :   April 28th 2016

 

 

 

Blurb : Dyed, pierced, and covered in tattoos, Wren Blanchard is the exact opposite of everything Dr. Lee Hawthorne thought he wanted. His residency is almost finished. With the perfect job, the beautiful house, and the polished girlfriend, he knows he should be happy, yet he isn’t. But once Wren lands in his ER with her sharp tongue and artist’s soul, she leaves a mark on him that just won’t fade. Wren knows the good doctor is way out of her league. To people like him, she’s a circus freak. Besides, she’s not the type to get hung up on guys, especially ones with midnight blue eyes—ones who know all about antiques, crack bad jokes, and love Joss Whedon. No. She doesn’t need that. After all, she has friends, a psychotic cat, and a promising career as one of the best tattoo artists in town. And it’s enough. Really, it is. Or it would be if Lee weren’t there every time she turned around. One kiss seals their fate. Their attraction is undeniable–but Wren’s past is full of ghosts. Is their bond strong enough for a solid future? Or will their new relationship crumble beneath the weight of all she carries?

 

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

Unforgettable by Elise K. Ackers

Unforgettable by Elise K. Ackers

 

November 23, 2016

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

Title :              Unforgettable

Author :           Elise K. Ackers

Series :            n/a

Release date :   January 10th 2013

 

 

 

Blurb : In hospital following a near-fatal accident, Connor has temporary retrograde amnesia, and there’s a blank slate where the last three years of his life should be. It’s a woman with haunted eyes and secrets who offers to help him rediscover his past.Colleague, friend and ex-lover, Emma warns him they must be discreet. No one knows about their past relationship, and for the sake of their jobs, no one can. She reintroduces him to his life and the fascinating redevelopment project they are working on, and the more time Connor spends with her, the more he wants a future with her in it.But Emma blames herself for Connor’s accident and she won’t confess to what broke their relationship in the past. Now Connor is fighting for love, for his job, and for another chance.A story about second chances, a second look, and the futility of fighting fate, Unforgettable explores the concept of walking a path already traveled and learning from your mistakes.

 

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

Saving Ben (The Saving Series Book 1) by Tiffany Winters

Saving Ben (The Saving Series Book 1) by Tiffany Winters

 

November 24, 2016

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

Title :              Saving Ben

Author :           Tiffany Winters

Series :            The Saving Series Book 1

Release date :   October 28th 2016

 

 

 

Blurb : He lives in the limelight, her life depends on staying out of it…

 

On the run from a dangerous stalker and plagued by a traumatic past, coffee-shop manager Maggie Nelson avoids relationships at all costs. When a homeless man steps in to help her at work, she feels safe for the first time in years. There’s only one problem; Maggie can’t stop thinking about him and it scares her more than anything ever has. Everything she believed about love is about to be turned upside down.

 

Rock star Ben Fisher committed the ultimate sin, a secret that haunts him to this day. He disguises himself in the city of Portland, Oregon, determined to beat down his demons and get his life back on track. Becoming infatuated with the quirky loner behind the counter at his favorite coffee shop wasn’t part of the plan. When a creepy customer leaves her visibly shaken, he can’t restrain his protective instincts.

 

Maggie might be the one in danger, but ultimately it’s Ben who needs saving.

 

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

Collecting the Pieces by L.A. Fiore

Collecting the Pieces by L.A. Fiore

 

November 25, 2016

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

Title :              Collecting the Pieces

Author :           L.A. Fiore

Series :            n/a

Release date :   November 15th 2016

 

 

 

Blurb : At fifteen I fell in love. His name was Jake Stephens and he took the abandoned, lonely girl I had been and made me whole. His love was a pure and unconditional love that made every day better than the last…a fairy tale of my very own.

 

But this story isn’t about Jake. It’s about Abel Madden; the man I meet after the fairy tale goes to hell. A cocky, arrogant man who says what he wants, does as he pleases, and makes no excuses for it. He irritates me—downright pisses me off at times—but he also brings me back to life.

 

My name is Sidney Ellis and this is my story of finding love twice—the first when I needed it most and the second when I never saw it coming.

 

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

Worth Fighting For by Charity West

Worth Fighting For by Charity West

 

November 26, 2016

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

Title :              Worth Fighting For

Author :           Charity West

Series :            n/a

Release date :   October 17th 2016

 

 

 

Blurb : High School senior Lily Rhodes has been in love with her brother’s best friend nearly all her life. When nineteen year old Jake joins the Marines and is shipped overseas, she worries she’ll never see him again, and wishes she’d been braver before he left. Lily vows that if Jake comes home, she’ll tell him how she feels. But when Jake is injured by an IED and is discharged from the Marines, he comes home changed, bitter and broken. Despite the fact he’s loved Lily for the past three years, he no longer feels worthy of someone like her. Not one to back down from a challenge, Lily knows the best things in life are worth fighting for.

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

You First by Stephanie Fournet

You First by Stephanie Fournet

 

January 2, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

Title :              You First

Author :           Stephanie Fournet

Series :            n/a

Release date :   December 13th 2016

 

 

Blurb : Driven. Private. Insanely talented.

 

Gray Blakewood is the most successful crime writer under the age of thirty—and he has a secret that could cost him his life.

 

He just wants to finish his latest novel before his world unravels, and the last thing he needs is a beautiful distraction.

 

Meredith Ryan, his new personal assistant, has seen more than her fair share of hard knocks. And, still, she’s the sweetest person he’s ever met.

 

She deserves a lifetime of happiness—which he can’t offer.

 

But he can’t seem to stay away.

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

Worth the Wait (Kingston Ale House, #4) by A.J. Pine

Worth the Wait (Kingston Ale House, #4) by A.J. Pine

 

April 15, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

Title :              Worth the Wait

Author :            A.J. Pine

Series :            Kingston Ale House, #4

Release date :   January 16th 2017

 

 

 

Blurb : I like to think of myself as a man of pleasure…I enjoy a good pint of ale, being in the arms of a beautiful woman, and living by my own rules. The only thing I try to avoid? Commitment. And I’ve got a three-year success rate to prove it.I wasn’t planning on Grace—the beautiful, funny, totally off-limits massage therapist who keeps popping up in my life. She’s on a six-month mission to rid her life of toxins. No alcohol. No red meat. And, yeah, no men. I’m talking full-on man cleanse.I know I should walk away, but I can’t…and the only way to keep her in my life is to live by her rules. I’ll need to prove to a woman who’s lost all trust in men that I’m worthy of her love. And do it all without so much as a single kiss.The only problem? If I win, I’ll lose the one thing I swore I’d never give up. My heart.

 

Review : Worth The Wait was not the first book I read by A.J. Pine, so I knew I would at least like her writing style. Question was as this is a book in the middle of the series – would I be able to follow the story not knowing what happened before.

 

The answer is yes – it is possible to read this book as a standalone you only have to face possible spoilers on previous books ( I usually do not mind them – in fact they only increase my tendency to read the those books if I like what I hear about them)

 

My thoughts on Jeremy and Grace – well both have been burned by relationships and have either trust issues, are not willing to put their heart on the line or are in completely unwilling to be in a relationship.

 

But the reader instantly notices the sparks between them and will be drawn into their building relationship. The author manages to catch and keep the readers attention throughout the whole book. The story is well developed and the pace is steady, the reading felt good and I enjoyed it from beginning to end. Therefore it is easy to recommend

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 2 3 33
error: Content is protected !!