IS READING

BOOKSHELF READING

Singe (Guardian Protection #1) by Aly Martinez

Singe (Guardian Protection #1) by Aly Martinez

 

June 24, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Singe

 

 Aly Martinez

 

Guardian Protection #1

 

 

February 6th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

She was my nightmare. Every time I closed my eyes, I watched her fall into that inferno. Over and over, I failed to save her.I hadn’t been able to reach her, and the guilt only burned hotter over time. Four years later, I was the unreachable one. Heroes aren’t always saints. Sometimes, we’re nothing more than jaded sinners driven by sleepless nights and hearts full of darkness. And then I met her. She was a dreamer who managed to soothe my scars and heal my wounds. But, as the flames closed in around us, I feared I wasn’t the right man to save her. That is until I realized she was the one woman I’d burn the world down to protect.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

Defying the Odds (Battered Hearts #1) by Kele Moon

Defying the Odds (Battered Hearts #1) by Kele Moon

 

December 27, 2016

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

Title :              Defying the Odds

Author :           Kele Moon

Series :            Battered Hearts #1

Release date :   March 15th 2016

 

 

 

Blurb : A MMA Romance

 

When struggling waitress Melody Dylan gives a handsome, lonely stranger a simple gift she has no clue her life is about to take a drastic turn. The stranger ends up being Clay Powers, a famous UFC heavyweight fighter. Clay’s large build and dangerous fists have always intimidated. People in his hometown keep their distance and Clay is fine with that.

 

Everything changes when a new waitress at the local diner buys him a piece of pie on Thanksgiving. Touched by the gesture when it’s obvious she can barely afford to survive, her warm smile and lush body churn up powerful feelings that leave Clay wanting more from her than pie. Melody is running from her past and the small, country town of Garnet is the perfect hiding place.

 

With an ex-husband after her and scars from her abusive marriage etched deep, the last thing she expects is to fall for a man who makes a living with his fists, but she can’t resist Clay or the tender connection they share. Finding love in the most unlikely of places, the passion is undeniable, but Clay and Melody know their haunted pasts and unpredictable futures leave the odds stacked against them.

 

Review : Defying the Odds by Kele Moon presents its readers a solid MMA romance. The story is well enough developed when you consider that the book is not really a thick one. A Binge reader like me can finish it in one session. My only complain for this otherwise good working plot is that the build up of the relationship felt to shallow. With a few more pages and a little story filling this could well easy turn into a 5 star read.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

Fake Fiancée by Ilsa Madden-Mills

Fake Fiancée by Ilsa Madden-Mills

 

June 24, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Fake Fiancée

 

 Ilsa Madden-Mills

 

 

 

 February 6th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

A new standalone romance from Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author Ilsa Madden-Mills…They say nothing compares to your first kiss,But our first kiss was orchestrated for an audience.Our second kiss…that one was REAL.He cradled my face like he was terrified he’d f*ck it up.He stared into my eyes until the air buzzed.Soft and slow, full of sighs and little laughs,He inhaled me like I was the finest Belgian chocolate,And he’d never get another piece.A nip of his teeth, his hand at my waist…And I was lost.I forgot he was paying me to be his fake fiancée.I forgot we weren’t REAL.Our kiss was pure magic, and before you laugh and say those kinds of kisses don’t exist…Then you’ve never touched lips with Max Kent, the hottest quarterback in college history. Get ready for breathtaking kisses, dreamy football players, a heroine who yearns for the guy she can’t have, and a hero who will do anything for the girl he loves…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

trans·fer·ence by Ava Harrison

trans·fer·ence by Ava Harrison

 

December 28, 2016

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

Title :              trans·fer·ence

Author :           Ava Harrison

Series :            n/a

Release date :   November 10th 2016

 

 

 

Blurb : The nightmares find me.

They steal my breath, slowly suffocating me.

I’m scared.

I want it to stop.

He’s supposed to help me.

Instead, he evokes something forbidden.

I know I should run.

But I can’t.

I’ve made my choice.

I want him.

There’s only one problem

 

…He’s my therapist.

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

#1 Crush (#1 Series #1) by T. Gephart

#1 Crush (#1 Series #1) by T. Gephart

 

June 26, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 #1 Crush

 

 T. Gephart

 

#1 Series

 

 February 20th 2017

 

 

 

#1 Crush

Tia Monroe was smart, sassy and successful. Sure, she could get a little crazy at times—life around Tia was never boring—but that was part of her appeal. And while she didn’t see herself as ‘classically beautiful’, she had no shortage of options in the boyfriend department. She just hadn’t found one who held her interest.

 

Until she laid eyes on Eric Larsson, and then it was lust at first sight.He packed the perfect mix of smoldering sexy and unapologetic cool into his blond-haired, blue-eyed, ridiculously hot six-foot-four frame. One smile from him was enough to twist her insides, making her girlie bits tingle in the most delicious way. But it wasn’t just his looks, he was smart and funny—charming in the most a-dork-able way.The only problem was . . .

 

Tia had never actually met him.Eric Larsson was one of Hollywood’s hottest movie stars, rising to the top of his game and leaving a trail of disintegrated panties in his wake. Tia’s were no exception—but she wasn’t delusional. Love, marriage and happily-ever-after were not part of her fantasy; she just wanted to meet him. Just one time. One time. Confident that just seeing him in the flesh would get him out of her system.

 

So, with her resolve steeled, Tia set off on a quest to make it happen while avoiding her mug shot being splayed across the five o’clock news.

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

Wired (The Solomon Brothers #1) by Leslie North

Wired (The Solomon Brothers #1) by Leslie North

 

December 29, 2016

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

Title :              Wired

Author :           Leslie North

Series :            The Solomon Brothers #1

Release date :   November 1st 2016

 

 

 

Blurb : Star quarterback Marcus Kingston lives and breathes football. He’s trusted his abilities and instincts to get him this far, but an injury last season nearly ended his career. When his coaches want him to wear biofeedback technology to analyze his game, Marcus thinks the idea is ridiculous. Plus, the mousy scientist behind the project knows nothing about sports, and she quickly gets under his skin. But with another QB waiting on the sidelines, Marcus can either agree to participate, or be benched—permanently.

 

Scientist Clare Wynifred values intellect above most things. With her brain constantly working, she has little interest in her appearance and zero interest in sports. She never imagined her wearable tech being used to improve someone’s game, but its success with the team could get her a military contract. Clare may be too late to save her brother, but her technology could save the lives of countless soldiers. She just has to make it work with the stubborn quarterback, and she’ll be one step closer to her goal.

 

Marcus and Clare butt heads at first, but their mutual attraction quickly grows. And yet, with everything to lose, it’s easy to ignore that together they might be able to go the distance.

 

 

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

What Lies Beneath (Enigma #1) by Ditter Kellen

What Lies Beneath (Enigma #1) by Ditter Kellen

 

December 31, 2016

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

Title :              What Lies Beneath

Author :           Ditter Kellen

Series :            Enigma #1

Release date :   February 23rd 2016

 

 

 

Blurb : Doctor Abbigail Sutherland is used to being alone. Between twelve hour shifts at the hospital and looking after her eccentric father, she has very little time for much else. Until an unexpected call one night, sends her racing to the lab where she discovers a secret that could change the world forever. Hauke awakens after an underwater explosion, strapped to a bed and on his way to a site known as Area 51. His only hope for survival lies in Abbie Sutherland, the beautiful doctor that saved his life. Amidst a deadly virus, seemingly impossible to stop, and a corrupt Government placing a price on their heads, Hauke and Abbie run for their lives, uncovering conspiracies, deceptions, and a love that won’t be denied…

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKSHELF READING

Rock Star Billionaire (An Alpha Billionaire Romance Love Story) by Claire Adams

Rock Star Billionaire (An Alpha Billionaire Romance Love Story) by Claire Adams

 

January 1, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

Title :              Rock Star Billionaire

Author :           Claire Adams

Series :            An Alpha Billionaire Romance Love Story

Release date :   November 9th 2016

 

 

 

Blurb : Nalia is an aspiring singer looking for a gig to keep her going. Lucky for her, sexy billionaire Owen is looking for an assistant to help organize his band’s next tour so he can focus more on running his record company. After agreeing to help him they end up on the road together. That’s where she falls for him, but it’s hard for her to trust him because of his rocker lifestyle. And it’s even harder to overcome all obstacles thrown in their path. Owen isn’t one to give up though and neither is Nalia. Will they be to find true love and beat every problem along the way?

 

Rock Star Billionaire is a 90,000-word, FULL LENGTH, Standalone steamy sexy bad boy alpha billionaire romance. No cliffhanger and has a HEA. Includes 4 free bonus full-length box sets and novels for a limited time. Perfect for fans of Cassie Cross, Hannah Ford, Glenna Sinclair, Kendall Ryan, Krista Lakes, Alexa Riley, and J.S. Scott

 

 

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF READING

REVIEW : Tailor Made by Tasha Lewis

 

 

 

Tailor Made

  

Tailor Made
Tasha Lewis
May 14th 2018

 

Rayleigh
Dating, who has time for that? Between working and my art, I have room for nothing else. That is until my best friend sets me up on Tailor Made: a website where I can design the perfect guy and my dream date. Crazy? I thought so too. Until he shows up and proves me wrong. It’s supposed to be just one night of fun, but in my life, things rarely go according to plan.

Mason
Working at Tailor Made is the perfect arrangement: all the perks of dating without the commitment. Between school, two jobs and raising my sister, I don’t have time for relationships, nor the demands that come with them. Then a client books me for a night out and I know, one night will never be enough. What’s supposed to be a simple date, just a job, flips my world upside down.

Sometimes the perfect fit comes along when you least expect it.

 

 

 

I usually don’t “do” spoilers and this is actually not a review – this is the email that I send the author to explain my rating therfore it contains spoilers so do not read further if you would like to avoid those

Knowing how hard it is to place your debut “baby” out there it is double bad to get the first rating that is not good.

Thing is reviews need to be respectful BUT honest otherwise they do not help in any way

I liked the storyline really but I feel it needs editing. There are the issues I mentioned and while I read on (and finished) there were a few others that I did not list because at that time I already felt that the story needed someone to have a look at it. I rarely do Beta reading because English is only my second language and hesitate to correct grammar when I can hardly follow the rules myself.

What I do is automatically check the consistency of stories … it’s like a curse like an OCD I can not stop it.

Don’t feel bad if several people read the story and did not find the issues … I think its impossible to have one person do both at the same time – check grammar and consistency.
Also if people close to you read the story they will never be as critical as strangers no matter how hard they try – only strangers can do that
And the author is also not able to check because when you are the source of the story everything makes sense.

The consistency issues are one thing but why I honestly can not give the book the 4/5 stars that the storyline should have received is another problem. This book is designed as a romance and it starts out great and mysterious but then the romance gets lost in tiny details that are repeated several times (like the way the breakfast sandwich is prepared – just one example). The spark is taken out of the plot to early (he knows where she lives – he could have simply dropped the phone number at any given time in her mailbox) and the characters seem to be sidelined around their issues (at times they almost forget about each other I could not feel the yearning), after their first meeting where they really had something in the storyline going for them THEIR story is lost … People pop up throwing things into the plot just to disappear again leaving me as a reader wondering about the meaning – her boss – the tailor … there were just too many things around their romance that left me wondering …. other issues were left open or disappeared into thin air (he could not contact her – even given her his number for months and then suddenly it was just a mistake that he kind of misunderstood the contract he requested himself) – at the end I wondered where the romance went because the spark I felt, in the beginning, was not there anymore #sigh

Really it might be just me and my curse to always think too deep when I go into a book but I need things to make sense no matter if a story is contemporary or even paranormal – my “curse” demands that.
I checked last night after I finished what other readers thought so far – ( I try to avoid doing that before I write my review so I am not influenced) – so far the readers were generous. Are they avoiding to be the first ones to give a bad rating ? not sure. Am I to critical ? Maybe

But one thing is sure – I will not be the only one noticing things and now there is still time to consider combing the story with some very critical beta readers.

So – this email is basically my review that I will hide on Goodreads as I usually don’t post spoilers but when I started reviewing – much like Mason made his contract – I made my review rules so I do not waver when it gets hard/difficult and when I take a look at them I have no other choice and I hope you can forgive me for only leaving two stars with the story as it is .

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

BOOKSHELF READING

Silenced by Leddy Harper

Silenced by Leddy Harper

 

June 28, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Silenced

 

 Leddy Harper

 

 

 

  February 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 Haunted by a photographic memory, I couldn’t escape the worst night of my life.

 

The blood they shed.

The pain they endured.

The evil that still walked free.

It was all I saw.

 

Those memories, my childhood—the images.

Silenced and scarred.

But nothing lasts forever.

Torment turned to blinding rage.

Hate sought revenge, which pursued death.

 

Then there was life.

The moon.

Rylee Anderson.

I had to choose…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 2 3 25
error: Content is protected !!