BOOKSHELF

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Textrovert by Lindsey Summers

 

 

Textrovert

  

 Textrovert
Lindsey Summers
May 2nd 2017

 

Can you fall in ♥ with someone you’ve never met?

Summer is nearly over and Keeley is about to start her senior year when disaster strikes: she picks up the wrong cell phone by mistake. 😞 Just her luck that it belongs to Talon, a totally arrogant jock 🏈 who’s just left for football camp—with her phone. Keeley doesn’t know him, but they’ll need to rely on each other to forward their messages for an entire week.

Talon is so full of himself, but Keeley quickly discovers he’s funny, too—at least his texts are. 😅 And he listens to Keeley—which is more than anyone else does. Texting Talon, she can be more than just the quiet twin sister of a popular boy. Texting Talon, she can be the outgoing person she’s always wanted to be. Soon the two are falling for each other, hard.

But when true identities are revealed and secrets are exposed, will Keeley’s feelings stay the same?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : More Than This (More Than #1) by Jay McLean

 

 

More Than This (More Than, #1)

  

More Than This
  More Than #1
  Jay McLean
  July 10th 2013

 

When Mikayla imagined her prom night, she envisioned a fairy-tale evening full of romance. So when betrayal and tragedy come in quick succession, Mikayla is completely destroyed. Suddenly, everything she loved and everyone she relied on are tragically, irrevocably gone.

Jake, a handsome boy she just met, happens to witness her loss. With no one to turn to, Mikayla is forced to depend on this near stranger and his family, and he in turn is determined to take care of her. But Mikayla—thrust into adulthood with no one to guide her—is desperate to contain her grief and hide what she considers to be her weakness. Mikayla and Jake both want more, but despite their growing closeness and intense chemistry, she tries to keep her distance and protect her heart. As he does everything in his power to win her trust, Mikayla must choose between remaining alone and safe or letting love in.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Dangerous Therapy (O’Connor Brother Series) (Book 1) by Rhonda Brewer

 

 

 

Dangerous Therapy (O'Connor Brother Series) (Book 1)

 Dangerous Therapy
O’Connor Brother Series # 1
Rhonda Brewer
 February 20th 2016

 

Officer John O’Connor is giving up on life after a terrible accident. His family are at their wits end when he refuses any kind of therapy. The only thing keeping him sane is his dreams of a beautiful woman he pulled in for a traffic violation months before.

Physical Therapist Stephanie Kelly is healing from a broken heart. When she is hired by Nightingale’s personal care and physical therapy, she’s ecstatic but she’s shocked when her boss asks her to take on a new patient. Shocked because the patient is her boss’s nephew and he’s not exactly keen on therapy. He’s also the cop who’s been heating up her dreams.

As Stephanie helps John get back on his feet, they grow closer, but someone is out to hurt Stephanie, or worse. After multiple attempts on her life, John’s family tries to figure out who’s after the woman he loves and stop them before it’s too late.

 

 

 

Nice plotline but the content is really simply too much of everything. Too sweet – too over-the-top – too many characters – too cliché – I think the author wanted too much at the same time ….

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : More Than Enough (More Than #5) by Jay McLean

 

 

More Than Enough (More Than, #5)

  

More Than Enough
 More Than #5
 Jay McLean
  November 5th 2015

 

More Than Enough is book five in the More Than series and may be read as a standalone, though it is recommended to read in series order.

Series reading order:
More Than This (Book one)
More Than Her (Book two)
More Than Him (Book three)
More Than Forever (Book four)

There’s no emotion greater than fear.
No ache greater than grief.
No sound greater than silence.
***
I’m grateful he showed up on my doorstep,
pissed off and angry at the world.
If he hadn’t, I wouldn’t be here.
And I don’t just mean here on this journey with him.
I mean here, in this world.
*
I wonder what events in all our lives—hers included—are The Turning Points? The points where we all determine that the fear of our pasts and the uncertainty of our futures are greater than our need for happiness.
Here.
Now.
While time and everything around us stands unmoving… who’s to say we can’t have it all?
***
We wanted it all.
We wanted it with each other.
We thrived on the chaos we created.
And ignored the Mayhem that ensued.
Because falling in love was easy.
But sometimes, love isn’t enough.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Tempting the Beast (Breeds #1) by Lora Leigh

 

 

 

Tempting the Beast (Breeds, #1; Feline Breeds, #1)

  

 Tempting the Beast
 Breeds #1
 Lora Leigh
November 24th 2003

 

Callan Lyons is a genetic experiment. One of six fighting for freedom and the survival of their Pride. Merinus Tyler is the reporter who will tempt him, draw him, until the fury of the “mating frenzy” locks them into a battle of sexual heat there is no escape from.

Deception, blood, and the evil Genetics Council are hot on their trail. Callan will use his strength to try and save them both…and do all in his power to keep his woman in the process.

 

 

 

I really tried to get into this writing style because this plot is rally SO up my Alley but I am sorry I can not “work” with it. I know there are tons of readers out there that love it – But I am not one of them

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Shattered by You (Tear Asunder #3) by Nashoda Rose

 

 

Shattered by You (Tear Asunder, #3)

  

Shattered by You
Tear Asunder 3
Nashoda Rose
 June 21st 2015

 

What started out as a deal quickly became a friendship that conquered monsters.

I killed, but I escaped hell.
Emotionless. Disconnected. Cold. A mannequin. It’s what I’d become in order to survive the years held in captivity. I was able to endure the abuse and devastating loss as long as I remained detached.

But he wouldn’t let me.
Crisis, the bass guitarist in my brother’s rock band, Tear Asunder. He’s cocky, rude, a total man-whore. But the rock star has far more beneath the surface of his inked skin, and he’s determined to make me laugh again.
He made me a “deal”, but really, it was blackmail.
His terms were simple. Until his playful honesty became the building blocks to something unexpected. Something strong enough to pull me from the eye of the storm.

Because even though I escaped years of abuse, it didn’t mean I was free.

For mature audiences only.

Shattered by You is written as a standalone, however, it is recommended you read the Tear Asunder books in order.
*Contains spoilers for “Overwhelmed by You”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Fighting Solitude (On the Ropes #3) by Aly Martinez

Title :

Fighting Solitude

Author :

Aly Martinez

Series :

On the Ropes #3

Release date : February 2nd 2016
Rating : 5 Stars
Blurb :

I was born a fighter. Abandoned by my parents, I spent my life forging my own path—one guided by my fists and paved with pain. Untouchable in the ring, I destroyed everyone who faced me, but that’s where my victories ended. Outside the ropes, I repeatedly failed the few people who loved me. Including my best friend, Liv James—the one person I’d die to protect. Even though I didn’t deserve her, Liv never stopped believing in me. Never gave up. Never let go. After all, she understood what I’d lost, because she’d lost it too. Liv was everything to me, but she was never truly mine. That was going to change. I lost my first love, but I refused to lose my soulmate. Now, I’m on the ropes during the toughest battles of my life. Fighting to be the man she deserves. Fighting the solitude of our pasts. Fighting for her.

Review :
I loved
EVERY. SINGLE. PAGE.
(after you read the book you will understand THAT line)

reviewed by

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Perfect Ruin (Unyielding #2) by Nashoda Rose

 

 

Perfect Ruin (Unyielding, #2)

  

Perfect Ruin
Unyielding #2
Nashoda Rose
 December 14th 2015

 

Kai

There is nothing I care about.
No attachments.
No connections.
Outwardly, I’m a perfect gentleman.
Until my target sees my knife.
I fear nothing, not even death.
In my world, death is considered a privilege.
But my life comes with unbreakable cruel strings and
when I met her, I should’ve walked away.
I didn’t.
I was too selfish.
And that sealed her fate.
Because one week with me led her into the hands of ruin.

London

We all have unique layers that make up who we are.
What makes us vulnerable or strong.
What we fear and what excites us.
But peel back those layers and you’re left naked and exposed.
They did that to me.
Each piece was slowly stripped away then burned.
I merely existed.
But there was one layer they overlooked.
The most important of them all—the tie to one man.
The man responsible for me being this way.
The man who found me.
And the killer who would do anything to protect me.

Perfect Ruin is the story of Kai and London.

Must be read in order:
Perfect Chaos (Unyielding, #1) Deck and Georgie
Perfect Ruin (Unyielding, #2) Kai and London
Perfect Rage (Unyielding, #3) Connor’s story (Early 2016)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Ruin You (The Debt #3) by Molly O’Keefe

 

 

Ruin You (The Debt, #3)

  

 Ruin You
 The Debt #3
 Molly O’Keefe
November 9th 2017

 

Simon

The only thing that stands in the way of my revenge is her.

The lying scheming daughter of the man who killed my parents. She has the secrets I need to bring down her father.

And I’ll do anything to get them. I will lie to her. Steal from her. Use her.
Ruin her.

It helps that our chemistry is explosive.

What I’m not expecting is for her to be so sweet. And so strong.

So…irresistible.

Penny

After so many years of lying and hiding, I finally have a place to call home. With people I can call a family. The Paintbrush Inn is my life now, and I won’t let anyone ruin it.

When sexy and world-weary Simon checks in to the Inn, I never expect him to glance my way. I’ve spent my whole life blending into the background. Being overlooked and ignored. It’s been helpful, even though it’s lonely. And he’s way out of my league.

But our attraction is powerful. Undeniable.

Dangerous.

Because I can’t let anyone close. If the secrets I keep were to be revealed, my whole life would be destroyed. But something about Simon makes me break all my own rules. I’m letting him in to my home, my body, my life, never expecting he has his own secrets.

His own lies.

When the truth comes out, we’ll both be ruined.

 

 

 

Reading Ruin You by Molly O’Keefe was not my first rodeo with this author but I have to admit I had no Idea it was already the third book in this series called “The Debt”. Which proofs that even though the characters are connected it is easy to read as a standalone.

Obviously I like the writing style of this author or I would not have selected this book. As I already read 4 or 5 books from her.

 

But now lets go to the core of my thoughts and they are and honestly they are widely spread for once.

First of all and dear to my heart :  The setting … I love SF can not help it so I felt right at home. But when it came to the setting of the Paintbrush inn I could not help myself and my mind went to a place I know of that I love dearly. Everything about this Paintbrush Inn reminded me of the herb farm in Seattle right down to the food (just google it and check if you agree). So my mind already had the perfect setting for the plot

 

Second : And I have to admit dear author it took me a moment or two until I connected the dots. I loved the movies (and I mean the older ones not the one from 2017) dearly. So ones my mind finally found what it reminded me of the name Simon was almost TO obvious #laughing. Ok I guess not everybody can follow my line of thoughts here so I would like to whisper a line to give a hint “the Saint” …. Clearly its not THAT story but please admit there are some parallels at least I found them enough to be reminded.

 

And with all these warm feelings about the story I felt so far it was kind of hard for me to realize one thing. As the story went on I knew this thing there between the leads had to blow up at one point. Hey no spoiler here right ? But could I feel that the characters had enough going for them that their relationship would survive this ? And when I asked myself that question I noticed something strange.

 

It did not feel like an Insta love what they had. But it also did not feel like love to me. It felt like need and lust like a web of betrayal that can only be survived because both are equal partners in the same yet different crime. The story moved into the background for me at that point and I only wondered how this situation would be solved.

 

And I have to be honest for me it wasn’t solved. The story has ended but until the final end I am still not convinced that Simon and Penny were really in love. They were in lust for sure and they had something but even there I am not sure if they had chemistry or just a connection in their past that links them together.

 

Still I like the writing of this author and I will always pick up a book from her if the blurb appeals to me.

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne
4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne

Title : Blurred Lines
Author : Lauren Layne
Series : N/A
Rating : 4 Stars
 
Blurb : In a novel that’s perfect for fans of Abbi Glines and Jessica Sorensen, USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”? When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they’re still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland’s trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker’s boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben’s no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can’t seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him. The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker’s ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can’t go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.
 
Review : When you read Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne you will find that the storyline is very “cliché” orientated. Friends to lovers or friends with benefits with the option of going back – only to find out it’s not possible.
But still the author manages to makes it interesting. Her writing is good and you are captured in the story. The leads are interesting and their development is sufficient enough for the reader to feel with them.
I can promise the story will draw you in from the first page – enjoy
 
> > > I have received this Book as an ARC from the Publisher < < < > > > In Exchange I promised an honest Review < < <
1 2 3 146
error: Content is protected !!