BOOKSHELF

3 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Last Chance Season (Plum Harbor #1) by Brenna Mills

REVIEW : Last Chance Season (Plum Harbor #1) by Brenna Mills

 
 

July 5, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

Title :             Last Chance Season

Author :           Brenna Mills

Series :            Plum Harbor #1

Release date :   05 Jul 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

Blurb : He was an outsider, taking refuge from the past. She was an adored Cape Cod local. Their summer together changed both their lives, and when they find each other again, nothing will ever be the same…As a headstrong teenager, Zach Stanley thought spending his summer at his aunt’s Plum Harbor inn was just an escape from his troubled life back in Arizona. Little did he know he’d end up meeting the love of his life, breaking both their hearts, and never forgetting her…Confident spitfire Ashleigh Jones has long since moved on with her life, but remembers that summer as if it was yesterday—the joy, the passion, the promises they made. In the end, she had no choice but to forget about her beach-season boyfriend, Zach…until, nearly a decade later, she finds herself on an Arizona horse ranch that he just happens to own. Their reunion is more than a fateful coincidence—it’s a bitter reminder of all Ash lost. Can Zach explain his past demons and earn her forgiveness? Or is it too late for Ash to recapture those long-ago Cape Cod days…and risk her heart on Zach once more?

 

Review : I just finished reading Last Chance Season (Plum Harbor #1) by Brenna Mills. It was my first book by this author and I believe it is well written.

 

But personally – and a review can only be personal – I feel that even though the reader gets a lot of background to the history of Ash and Zach in the flashbacks of this story there is something missing.

 

The story floats quite slowly and should therefore be fully developed but I just can not feel the spark between the characters.

 

Actually it might be that the flashbacks have too much content already and take away from the present story.

 

A second chance romance needs a very special kind of story to work for me and this was just not it. I think the focus was a little lost

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Bound Beneath His Pain (Dirty Little Secrets #1) by Stacey Kennedy

REVIEW : Bound Beneath His Pain (Dirty Little Secrets #1) by Stacey Kennedy

 
 

July 5, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title: Bound Beneath His Pain 

Author : Stacey Kennedy

Series: Dirty Little Secrets #1

Release date: 05 Jul 2016

Rating : 4 Stars

 

 

Blurb: Real estate mogul Micah Holt exerts absolute control over all aspects of his life. As a founding member of the Dominants Council that oversees San Francisco’s sex club scene, he keeps his dark side hidden away from the press, who will chase down any hint of scandal. He’s always in command of his world, careful to expose his closely guarded secrets only to those he knows he can trust. Then Allie Bennett shakes his legendary discipline. She’s beautiful, pure, untainted. But is Micah willing to sacrifice her innocence for his own selfish obsessions?
 
When that sexy smile makes her body burn, Allie tries with all her might to ignore it. For one thing, Micah’s her new boss. For another, he’s as complicated as he is devastatingly handsome. Still, Allie can only fight so much before she gives in to his dangerous games. She knows he’s got dark secrets. But when she discovers the true depth of his pain, Allie must decide how far she’s willing to go to light the way for love.

 

Review : While the blurb might suggest that Bound Beneath His Pain (Dirty Little Secrets #1) by Stacey Kennedy is taking place in the BDSM scene, actually if we are being honest it is not.

 

Having said that – I also said my only complain about this book – which is actually not the book but the blurb.

 

So in my case I was rather pleasantly surprised, because I almost expected a book along the lines of many other similar books. But I got more, because the plotline of this book is not only intense but it is also a little different than others.

 

There is more feeling and love inside than simple BDSM

 

.From the first second there is no doubt about Micah Holt. He is dominant and leaving no doubt that once he makes up his mind he is sticking with his decision … Or is he not ?

 

Well yes he is – but only as long as his decisions do not include the word “Allie”… For me as a reader it was funny to “watch” him trying to find out what was “wrong” with him.

 

Allie was not the “submissive” a guy like Micah would want – in fact she was the opposite of submissive for most of the story and this contradiction made the story different and interesting for me.

 

There were predictable twists and turns to the story as well as unpredictable ones. All characters had well developed backgrounds and I can easily see the plotline ahead of some of the next books in that series.

 

And I liked what I saw because for example I want to know about Allie’s half-brother.

 

If I was to give a final opinion on both leading characters, it would be –

 

“Micah might be dominant but he is no DOM and while Allie does not have a submissive bone in her body – she will gladly submit to Micah … “

 

Not sure if that makes sense to you – so in fact – you better read the book and you will understand

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Chaos (Dogs of War #1) by J.M. Madden

 

 

Chaos (Dogs of War, #1)

  

Chaos
Dogs of War #1
J.M. Madden
June 26th 2018

 

Finally, the long-awaited spin-off from the Lost and Found Series!

Aiden Willingham has lived a hard life. As a Navy SEAL, he agreed to take part in an ultra-secret government testing program. The company running the program, the Silverstone Collaborative, has produced a serum from an Amazonian plant that’s been proven to enhance physical abilities and mental fortitude. Problem is, men– heroes– have died during the testing, and it’s time for the company to be taken down before more men die needlessly.
Aiden, along with three others, have escaped the camp with evidence of the company’s horrendous practices. Now they’re in a race to expose them. They’ve already lost one of their team, and the Collaborative’s mercenaries are converging. 
Angela Holloway knew the homeless man with sadness in his eyes was trouble as soon as she saw him hanging around the site of a murder. Uncooperative, he stonewalls her investigation, but draws her in when the badge comes off. Aiden has scars, both internal and external, that make her heart ache. It’s a serious no-no getting involved with a suspect… too bad her heart isn’t listening. As details come to light about what’s going on in her city, she has to fight for what she believes is right, as well as the man on the wrong side of the law.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Good Girl by Lauren Layne

REVIEW : Good Girl by Lauren Layne

 
 

July 10, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title: Good Girl

Author : Lauren Layne

Series: N/A

Release date: 17 May 2016

Rating : 4 Stars

 

Blurb : Jenny Dawson moved to Nashville to write music, not get famous. But when her latest record goes double platinum, Jenny’s suddenly one of the town’s biggest stars—and the center of a tabloid scandal connecting her with a pop star she’s barely even met. With paparazzi tracking her every move, Jenny flees to a remote mansion in Louisiana to write her next album. The only hiccup is the unexpected presence of a brooding young caretaker named Noah, whose foul mouth and snap judgments lead to constant bickering—and serious heat.

 

Noah really should tell Jenny that he’s Preston Noah Maxwell Walcott, the owner of the estate where the feisty country singer has made her spoiled self at home. But the charade gives Noah a much-needed break from his own troubles, and before long, their verbal sparring is indistinguishable from foreplay. But as sizzling nights give way to quiet pillow talk, Noah begins to realize that Jenny’s almost as complicated as he is. To fit into each other’s lives, they’ll need the courage to face their problems together—before the outside world catches up to them.

 

Review : The book has been released now for a while so I guess there are definitely some people out there that are just in this second considering to read it while they check out the blurb. And yes – I can only recommend to do so.

 

Good Girl by Lauren Layne is a sweet romance, that is well written and well developed. It has totally likeable characters and is not too deep so it makes a wonderful summer read.

 

In fact – I would like to suggest the perfect setting as follows :

 

You wait for a hot day that promises a warm evening – and just when the sun is going deeper you sit outside with the view of something nice and green. If you have a swing maybe even on a porch ? USE it … take a glass of wine with you or if you don’t want alcohol … take an ice tea. Something to eat would also not be bad – don’t worry about calories – because Jenny is also learning that.

 

Jenny – by the way is the female lead in the book you are about to read. She is actually supposed to be happy – because she has it all – but is she really ? It is one of those evenings that when you breath in you can not find any difference in the temperature of the fresh air from the one you just breathed out.

 

The wine is good and I promise you you will get into this book. Did you bring a light with you outside ? If not – you should go back and get one you will need it – because you will not want to stop reading once you met Noah.

 

Gosh – Noah – our male lead he is so hot – really he will make some mistakes – I can guarantee you that – and he will have a lot to apologize for . In fact – he will do that constantly – almost that is – but who counts …when he is in the end just a really nice guy getting a wrong start at life in total and with Jenny in particular.

 

And while your sipping your 2nd or is it your 3rd glas – you will encounter more and more steam in this novel. You will not want to stop reading while the building relationship between those two really gets intense and believe me I would love to give some quotes here on this. Looking up you will notice that its complete dark now outside and you have still some chapters to go – thank god your eBook reader comes with light – right ? right !

 

Because you can not bring yourself to stop. The bottle is empty – The popcorn you got yourselfs at some point (Jenny will explain) is long gone but you can not bring yourself to stop reading because there is this big mistake about to happen.. So who cares if it is already 3 am you will continue to finish this book.

 

Then finally … the credits roll to this “movie” and you feel good – you are tired – still sitting outside and it is already getting brighter – the night will make place for the sun. Soon the birds are already starting with their good morning songs – yet you feel utterly satisfied.

 

I guess you wonder by now where I came up with that suggestion – well this is what happened to me last night … while I read this book

 

SO enjoy….

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : His to Protect (Fireside , #2) by Stacey Lynn

REVIEW : His to Protect (Fireside , #2) by Stacey Lynn

 
 

July 12, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title: His to Protect

Author : Stacey Lynn

Series: Fireside #2

Release date: 12 Jul 2016

Rating : 4 Stars

 

Blurb : A warm home for broken hearts, the Fireside Grill serves up hope and healing in equal measure. Stacey Lynn’s sensual, deeply emotional series heats up as a jaded restaurateur falls hard for a woman who’s hiding from a damaged past. Declan James lost his last ounce of trust the day his wife walked out the door, leaving him to save the restaurant they built together. Throwing himself into his work, Declan swears off women—or at least, women who expect him to stick around in the morning. But when he discovers a skittish beauty scrounging through the Fireside’s trash to feed her dog, Declan offers her a job and a place to rest her head. There’s just something about her that awakens his protective side. And soon, not even that mangy mutt can stop Declan from caring for her.After one too many trips to the ER, Trina Wilson finally gathered the courage to leave her husband, taking only her car and hyperactive boxer. Unfortunately, life on the run proves harder than she anticipated—until Declan takes a leap of faith on her. But even as Trina starts to see beyond his gruff exterior, she can’t relax, even for a moment. Not with her husband still tracking her down. What Trina doesn’t know is that in Declan, she has a powerful ally—and, if she would only follow her heart, a devoted lover.

 

Review : 4 warm stars for His to Protect (Fireside #2) by Stacey Lynn.

 

Trina – the female lead – is a woman on the run. Used by her family and abused by her husband. But even hurt and broken she still remembers the woman she once was. She knows what is wrong with her – every time she flinches just when someone comes a little to close to her. She is a well written and developed character – from her appearance to her struggles and demons. They are clear to the reader and we can see quite easy the transformations she is going through

 

Declan – our male lead – was little more difficult for me. The author paid great attention to details like his appearance and even his voice. Basically everything that related to how Trina was feeling or acting because of certain things he did or said. Like when he speaks to loud or moves to fast and she flinches. But what I was missing out was his struggle. It was described what went wrong in his marriage with Mara.

 

But those descriptions felt detached – I could not make out his hurt in those. They felt like the hearsay description of events by a third party. Together they made (just) a good team – not a great one – if you get what I mean.

 

With the focus on TWO hurt people becoming ONE whole pair … one of those was missing out for me.

 

I liked the story development and the writing style so I will definitely read the next part of this series as well if the plotline will appeal to me. (The first part I left out because I was not attracted to the “mafia” background of the story – but those books read well as standalone so that is no problem)

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Genesis (Dogs of War 0.5) by J.M. Madden

 

 

Genesis (Dogs of War, #0.5)

  

Genesis
Dogs of War 0.5
J.M. Madden
 June 20th 2018

 

After a harrowing mission, Navy SEAL Aiden Willingham was approached to participate in a secret research project. Now he realizes the Spartan Project is a covert, multinational government testing program run by a private company called The Silverstone Collaborative. The company’s mission is to create super soldiers, men capable of recovering from horrendous illness and injuries, using a serum derived from indigenous plants in the Amazon rainforest. The program is brutal and when the men object, they go from test subjects to caged prisoners overnight.

The doctor leading the program is world-renowned for his cutting-edge cures, but Aiden sees only the madness in his eyes. The serum is producing results, but men are dying every day of testing. And, as more men die, the experiments turn more deadly. What the research team doesn’t realize is exactly what the serum is doing … creating a psychic connection between four of the men.

Aiden and his team have to break out of the camp before they’re compromised further. But getting out of the camp is the easy part. They know that actually living to bring the Silverstone Collaborative to justice is going to be the most difficult mission any of them have ever undertaken.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

REVIEW : RUSH (City Lights #3) by Emma Scott

 
 
 

REVIEW : RUSH (City Lights #3) by Emma Scott

 
 

July 12, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

Title :              RUSH

Author :           Emma Scott

Series :            City Lights #3

Release date :   June 30th 2015

Rating :           5 Stars

 

 

Blurb : To be blind is not miserable; not to be able to bear blindness, that is miserable. –John Milton Charlotte Conroy, Juilliard-trained violinist, was on the cusp of greatness when tragedy swooped down on dark wings, crushing her hopes and breaking her heart. The music that used to sing in her soul has grown quiet, and she feels on the verge of setting down her violin for good. To pay the bills, she accepts a job as a personal assistant to a bitter, angry young man who’s been disabled by a horrific accident … Noah Lake was an extreme sport athlete, journalist and photographer. He roamed the world in search of his next adrenaline high, until a cliff-dive left him in a coma. He awakes to find his career gone, his dreams shattered to pieces, his world an endless blackness that will never lift. Charlotte begins to see that beneath Noah’s angry, brittle exterior is a young man in a pain. She is determined to show him that his life isn’t over, that he has so much to live for, never dreaming that she would become the only light in his darkness, or that he would help her find the music in hers. The life he knew is over. The life she wants is just out of reach. Together, they must face their fears and rediscover what it means to really live.

 

RUSH is Book III in the City Lights Series, and each can be read as a standalone.

 

The City Lights Series:

 

Book I: San Francisco Julian and Natalie (slow-burn, New Adult, romantic suspense)

Book II: Los Angeles Cory and Alex (contemporary romance, romantic suspense)

Book III: New York City Noah and Charlotte (Beauty and the Beast, New Adult)

Book IV: Paris (forthcoming) Tristan and Zoey (sports romance, New Adult)

 

Review : In an on a spur of the moment decision (Eyes closed finger I choose a page on my kindle and touched somewhere on a page) I was greeted with RUSH (City Lights #3) by Emma Scott. How fitting it was to find after a few pages that I choose blindly a book with a blind leading character. It was an interesting way to interpret the well known story of “the beauty and the Beast” and I honestly loved everything about this book. I had been on my kindle for a long time always neglected because of other urgent reads that needed to be read before release. And I can see now that this was a mistake.

 

This book is a must read.

 

I think it is a very honest vision of a person in Noah’s position. No sugarcoating

And Charlotte is just great.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Searching for Harmony by Kelly Elliott

REVIEW : Searching for Harmony by Kelly Elliott

 

 
 

July 12, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title:  Searching for Harmony

Author :  Kelly Elliott

Series:  N/A

Release date:  July 12th 2016

Rating : 3 Stars

 

Blurb : From New York Times bestselling author Kelly Elliott comes the gut-wrenching story of a love that transcends all odds—and transforms the deepest pain into the brightest hope. Firefighter and first responder Preston Ward thought he had grown immune to the job’s emotional burns. But when he goes out on a particularly tragic call, he realizes that some scenes are too devastating to forget. And yet, if it weren’t for that terrible night, he never would have met the woman who makes him want to risk his heart. More than once, Harmony Banks has watched her perfectly ordered world torn apart by fate. Now she’s finding out that what she lost wasn’t as perfect as she thought—and it’s tearing her apart. The only thing that keeps her going is the kindness of a stranger: the firefighter who saved her life the night everything changed. Preston isn’t like the men who have come before. For one thing, he’s far more genuine. And the love Harmony feels growing between them is almost too intense for her wounded soul. But if she and Preston can push past heartbreak, they’ll find that something incredible awaits in each other’s arms. Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

 

Review : Without knowing it – as the Blurb of Searching For Harmony by Kelly Elliott is a little vague on that part – I read a book with very similar subline directly before this book.

 

When I was about 3 chapters into the book I did something I usually not do – I stopped reading and went to the rating scores for this book wondering if it was only me. And judging from the impressive rating – it really seems to be only me and the problem that I just read almost the same story like a minute before.

 

But I found myself having certain expectations and I anticipated certain reactions out of the leading characters. But their reactions where totally different from anything I expected.

 

I thought in the beginning that Preston’s actions were kind of relatable and I am not sure what to think of Harmony at all.

 

I honestly have no words to describe her.

 

And the pace at which the story progressed also felt totally off for me because again – I could not help comparing it to the other novel and it felt wrong here from beginning to end.

 

I think from all the characters in this book it was only Harmony’s brother I could relate to which feels kind of strange.

 

I guess I am the odd one out there but this book was not for me – probably because I just read a book where it felt different to me.

 

So – if you like this the blurb of this book – just go ahead and read it – probably you will love it like the rest of the readers seem to.

 

But also do me a favor and read “Seven” by Susan Renee afterwards – maybe that will explain better what I felt.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
3 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Christmas Romance 2015: (The Best Short Story Christmas Romances) by Jennifer Conner , Sharon Kleve and Angela Ford

Christmas Romance 2015: (The Best Short Story Christmas Romances) by Jennifer Conner , Sharon Kleve and Angela Ford

 

December 9, 2015

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

Title : Christmas Romance 2015

Author : Jennifer Conner , Sharon Kleve and Angela Ford

Series : N/A

Release date : November 25th 2015

Rating : 3 Stars

 

Blurb : Together for the first time together in a boxed set. Aubri, Paget, Erika, and Jade were there to support their boss after the loss of his daughter. Mr. Simon knows the women work too hard and with his daughter’s death, he’s found that life is short. For Christmas, he decides to give the four women an early present and fly them anywhere in the world they want to go with all expenses paid. They chose Germany, France, Italy, and Bulgaria. The girls know how to work but can they learn how to have fun? Come along with Aubri, Paget, Erica, and Jade and they travel around the world and maybe along the way…even fall in love! Kisses and Strudel – Places to See Germany – Jennifer Conner In Love with Paris – Places to See France – Sharon Kleve Christmas in Tuscany – Places to See Italy – Angela Ford Twice as Nice Christmas – Places to See Bulgaria – Natalie-Nicole Bates

 

Review : Aubri, Paget, Erika, and Jade were there to support their boss after the loss of his daughter. Mr. Simon knows the women work too hard and with his daughter’s death, he’s found that life is short. For Christmas, he decides to give the four women an early present and fly them anywhere in the world they want to go with all expenses paid.

 

They chose Germany, France, Italy, and Bulgaria.

 

Beforehand I would like to say that I love Christmas. I love spending time with my family and well the spirit of things. But unfortunately I find Christmas books/romances to be sickengly sweet. I find it too hard to believe in them sometimes.

 

 

Kisses and Strudel – Places to See Germany – Jennifer Conner – 3 Stars.

 

This was a cute read and I enjoyed that it took place in Germany. Aubri decides to go for Business but finds pleasure. I liked that the H had a disability but for someone who lives in Germany I have never ever met anyone called Ryker. I mean he is German right? So Hans would be a good Name or Olaf.

 

In Love with Paris – Places to See France – Sharon Kleve – 2 Stars

 

Also cute and they met at the airport and instantly met and fell in love. Paget and Christopher get their happily ever after.

 

Christmas in Tuscany – Places to See Italy – Angela Ford – 4 Stars

 

This was my favourite out of the bunch. I loved Erika and what she had with Massimo and there was more story. Some drama for a short novella though.

 

Twice as Nice Christmas – Places to See Bulgaria – Natalie-Nicole Bates – 2 Stars

 

Once again a quick and sweet read with great characters. They have good chemistry and Bulgaria sounds beautiful.Please note that this is my personal opinion and that yes when it Comes to Xmas romances I’m a cynic.

 

A sweet holiday read just right for Xmas.

 

Merry Xmas everyone!

 

reviewed by

 

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

REVIEW : Moonlight Seduction (de Vincent #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

 

 

Moonlight Seduction (de Vincent, #2)

  

Moonlight Seduction
de Vincent #2
Jennifer L. Armentrout
June 26th 2018

 

The de Vincent brothers are back—and so is the intrigue that surrounds them—in New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout’s sizzling new novel…

Nicolette Bresson never thought she’d return to the de Vincents’ bayou compound. It’s where her parents work, where Nikki grew up… and where she got her heart broken by Gabriel de Vincent himself. Yet here she is, filling in for her sick mother. Avoiding Gabe should be easy, especially when so much of Nikki’s time is spent trying not to be stabbed in the back by the malicious hangers-on who frequent the mansion. But escaping memories of Gabe, much less his smoking-hot presence, is harder than expected—especially since he seems determined to be in Nikki’s space as much as possible.

Gabriel spent years beating himself up over his last encounter with Nikki. He’d wanted her then, but for reasons that were bad for both of them. Things have now changed. Gabe sees more than a girl he’s known forever; he sees a smart, talented, and heartbreakingly beautiful woman… one who’s being stalked from the shadows. Now, Gabe will do anything to keep Nikki safe—and to stop the de Vincent curse from striking again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 124
error: Content is protected !!