BOOKSHELF

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : The Bachelor Auction by J.C. Reed

 

 

The Bachelor Auction

  

The Bachelor Auction 
 J.C. Reed
July 1st 2018

 

All is fair in love and business…

My friend’s plan is pretty simple: win the bachelor auction in a charity event and get the most influential man to sign a business deal with us. It’s a do or die situation. But plans rarely go as you would expect.

When the bids begin to take ginormous proportions, my friend can’t stop in her rush of excitement. We don’t have the money. We can’t afford him, and yet, before I can even comprehend what’s happening, we’re the highest bid.

“The bachelor” aka Tyler Becks isn’t old and ugly. He isn’t very business-like, either. In fact, it’s hard to imagine that someone with his brain and bank account can be this sexy.
He understands our cash-strapped situation and is kind enough to cancel the bid. Let us out of the contract. No hard feelings. Or so he claims.

He’s even kind enough to want to work with us. With me, in particular. I can’t refuse, even though working for him means I have to see him every day. My future depends on it.

I won’t let my guard down. I won’t fall for him, and particularly not now that I know he’s hiding something from me. Everything comes at a price. Even Tyler’s generosity.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS REVIEW

REVIEW : Till Death Us Do Part by Cristina Slough

Title :

Till Death Us Do Part

Author :

Cristina Slough

Series :

N/A

Release date : December 29th 2015
Rating : 3 Stars
Blurb :

The fateful day Mimi Marcus has dreaded begins with a phone call… The wife of a U.S. Marine, Mimi spent countless nights worried that her husband Joel would fall in the line of duty. He had fought valiantly and served his country with honor. That’s exactly what they tell her when they deliver the news—Joel was taken by the enemy in Afghanistan. Her husband is dead. In desperate need of closure, Mimi travels to the one place Joel still has ties—The Marcus Ranch in Texas, inherited by his handsome younger brother Austin. New beginnings are only an illusion… The closer Mimi grows to the Marcus family, the more she considers it home. But when suspicions of Joel’s past surface, Austin refuses to disclose family secrets—even to his brother’s widow. It’s only by accident she uncovers evidence of Joel’s tainted past. Devastated by his lies and betrayal, she slowly opens up to Austin, and together they unfold layers of pain and grief. Mimi is sure she’ll never love again, but is Austin the man to prove her wrong? Then the unthinkable happens… Just as Mimi finds new hope in a future with Austin, Joel returns home from war. Enraged, traumatized, and teetering on the edge of insanity, Joel confesses to a history of deception, revealing yet another secret—this one too terrible to forgive. In an awful twist of fate, Joel proves marriage vows are made to be honored. No matter what.

Review :

Till Death Us Do Part by Cristina Slough was not an easy read for me. In fact it was a very hard one.

And I had to try twice to get myself to continue reading.
It might have been a mistake to read the Blurb – but on the other Hand I might not have chosen to read it at all without reading the Blurb.
And those divided feelings continue for me throughout the whole book. It is a well written novel with fully developed characters.
The problems I encountered are my personal ones only and result ín my very personal point of view on a soldier novel.
The storyline of this book definitively deserves reading attention and I am sure it will find many lovers.
As usual I will not comment on the story itself in this special case also to refrain myself from rubbing off my personal point of view on to fellow readers.
Instead I would like to invite you to read this story because I am curious what you think …
reviewed by

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Riss (Mystic Protectors #1) by Kathi S. Barton

 

 

Agon (Mystic Protectors, #2)

  

Riss
Mystic Protectors #1
Kathi S. Barton
February 10th 2014

 

His love for her was forbidden…

Riss has been around since the beginning of time and watching his charges be born, grow up, and die has taken a toll on him. Until lately, being a Protector has always been enough… The Archangel Michael, Riss’s mentor and superior, decides with the help of their “Boss” to change things up a bit―like the rest, he doesn’t want to lose one of his best Protectors. Riss is assigned to guide and protect Kala. Riss is not happy about the changes and hopes this is his last assignment as a Protector before he can quit and live his last year on Earth and die.

She has nothing left to lose―except her life…

Kala has lost everything: her family as a child, her job, and now her apartment. She is also having weird dreams that she can’t quite remember…dreams revolving around a single white feather. Kala’s sexual fascination with the feather brings forth the most gorgeous man she’s ever seen―Riss. He came for his feather―he can feel everything she does with it throughout his body.

Sex with a human is forbidden and Riss has never even considered it―until now.

A madman, suffering from a delusional fantasy, has set his sights on Kala. He has already killed and will kill again. She will be his or suffer the consequences…

And Riss has been forbidden to interfere…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS REVIEW

REVIEW : The Truth About Him (Everything I Left Unsaid #2) by Molly O’Keefe

Title :

The Truth About Him

Author :

Molly O’Keefe

Series :

Everything I Left Unsaid #2

Release date : November 24th 2015
Rating : 3 Stars
Blurb :

We played our roles, told each other lies.But now Dylan is no longer just a mysterious deep voice on the other end of the line. We’re face-to-face and our relationship is very, very real. We still have secrets—but so much is crystal clear: The thrilling danger.The raw, naked desire.The need to keep feeling the way he makes me feel. Forever.Dylan is putting up walls, trying to keep me safe, but he can’t shut me out. He has seen my darkness and rescued me. Now it’s my turn, if only he will let me.

Review :

The second book of the “Everything I Left Unsaid ” series starts where the first one finishes. We directly are confronted with this very tensed situation that makes you wondering: what is going to happen the next round about 350 pages…. Some things happened, but in my case not enough. While I really enjoyed getting to know more about the very special characters, it was difficult for me to fully enjoy the story as it all gor a bit confusing in my opinion. It felt like the author was not able to completely focus on the story in general which is why it was difficult to follow the story.

Because of the missing focus, it was also difficult to actually “feel” the relationship of the two main characters. Something we don´t have to talk about is the writing-style. Again as flawless as it could be!
reviewed by

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Agon (Mystic Protectors #2) by Kathi S. Barton

 

 

Agon (Mystic Protectors, #2)

  

Agon
Mystic Protectors #2
Kathi S. Barton
July 4th 2014

 

“She is not going to be my wife. In any way, Riss.” Riss nodded as Agon started pacing again. “I want to touch her. Feel her body close to mine and kiss her. I have a need to taste her mouth to see if it tastes as good as I think it might. Then there is my body. I cannot control it around her. I run so hot and hard that I feel as if the world knows that I need her in ways that are not right.”
“She will taste better than you can ever dream of, and her body will give you pleasure in ways you cannot imagine.” Agon stared at him for several seconds. “But you cannot touch her. She is your charge. If you do not wish to have her as your wife, then you must not touch her in any way. If you do…if you do, my friend, then there will be no turning back. For the touch of the woman you are to spend your days with will haunt you in ways that will make you want to end your life in order to be with her. Trust me on this. I am well aware of how your body will crave her, and you will stop at nothing to have her again and again.”
“I do not want her.” Riss nodded and could see that Agon was lying to him as much as he was himself. “She is beautiful and stubborn, but I do not want her. But I fear that it might be too late for me.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS REVIEW

REVIEW : 29 by Nancy Pennick

Title :

29

Author :

Nancy Pennick

Series :

N/A

Release date : November 3rd 2015
Rating : 4 Stars
Blurb :

Allie Sanders thinks life in a small town can’t get any more dull and boring. She plans to escape after graduation. After a bad break-up, she wants to sail through junior year without distraction. Then the mysterious loner sits down in front of her in AP English. He’s the guy she noticed last year desperately trying to stay invisible. She wants to know his secrets.Suddenly her much older military brother, Doug, makes a rare appearance. He takes a special interest in her life. Suspicious of his motives Allie holds back, never really trusting him. Doug wants what she wants—the boy she has come to love. No way would she let that happen. She’d go against family and friends to protect him—and his secrets—even if it ends up breaking her heart.

Review :

SPOILERALERT (if you want to call it like that) … THIS is NO STANDALONE …

I know I know – I am starting again with what annoys me most. I really dislike the fact when I stumble into a novel not knowing if it will be part of a series or not.
Do not misunderstand me – I know that some stories require more than one book to be told but as in all things life there is a time for everything and sometimes a reader just needs to have a story being told when he is turning the last page of the current book.
Well… that is … IF there will be a next book… after finishing the book I wondered so I checked what other readers think on that point and they all commented on looking forward to the next book… but will there be one … Or will we be left with what we know so far ?
Because again do not misunderstand … THERE IS AN ending … it just seems that me as well as the other readers I saw so far EXPECT there to be something “else”…
But I am afraid you will have to read the book to find out what I mean.
Other than this complain (if you want to call it like that) there is really nothing even remotely negative to be said about this book.
The readers will find an intriguing and well-developed plot. In the beginning I struggled a little with the love story within the plot as it seemed to be more the mystery of the loner than the person itself that was interesting to Allie.
But as the story continued those issues dissolved for me .
This book will draw the reader into its story and I am positive it will leave all other readers in the same position as the ones that already read the book. Expecting the next one….
reviewed by

2 Replies
4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS RECOMMEND REVIEW

Review -Waiting For You (McKinney/Walker Brothers #2) by Claudia Connor

Waiting For You Book Cover Waiting For You
McKinney/Walker Brothers #2
Claudia Connor
Contemporary Romance
15th March 2019
ebook
377
Netgalley

When ER nurse Nora Sellers is hurt in a hospital scuffle, firefighter Zach Walker blames himself. Blaming himself is nothing new. He’s been blaming himself for years for the trauma his baby sister endured as a teenager. Though with his happy–go–lucky attitude no one would know it. He’s good at his job, he’s a good brother, and a good friend, but Zach decided long ago he wasn’t husband and father material.


Even so, when Zach learns Nora is a single mother with a house that needs his help, he can’t walk away. After a few days with Nora and her ten month old son, he knows he doesn’t want to.


But Nora’s wary. She learned at a young age that the only person she can count on is herself. Now with a baby, a job, and a fixer–upper house, the last thing Nora wants is a sexy firefighter, making her heart flutter. But Zach is more than what he seems, and the more she gets to know him the harder he is to resist.


She’s been brave all her life. Can she be brave one more time and take a chance of a lifetime with her heart?

 

There is just something about Ms. Connor and this series that leaves me with a Happy Face & Goofy Smile.

The McKinney/Walker is one of my favourite series and when I saw this on Netgalley I just had to request it.

Zach Walker firefighter a slight commitment phobe a reformed manho still hasn’t processed what happened to his sister Hannah. But he meets his game changer. Nora Sellers.

I loved Zach, he is a knight in tarnished armour.

Nora Sellers has been alone all her life and it is hard for her to trust people and put down roots with an incident at the hospital where she works she meets the one man that will change everything. Zach Walker.

I docked a star because I wasn’t a fan of Nora but she grew on me and we became friends, we shall never be best buds though.

Waiting for You is a heartfelt romance full of feelz, sweet with an adorable baby (I’m a sucker for single parents, like catnip peeps) that will most likely melt the coldest of hearts.

A must read!

 

 

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Galin (Mystic Protectors #3) by Kathi S. Barton

 

 

Galin (Mystic Protectors, #3)

  

 Galin
 Mystic Protectors #43
  Kathi S. Barton
October 25th 2014

 

Galin knows it’s his turn and he isn’t having any part of it. He makes no bones about making it clear to Boss either that he both knows what he is up to and isn’t going to cooperate. He doesn’t now or ever want a wife.
“This boy you are going to protect is somewhat of a problem child. He has had a great deal thrown at him, but—”
“Boy?” Boss nodded and frowned. “No, I’m sorry, but it should be a woman, not a boy. I’m not…you’re going to assign me my wife to care for. I don’t want one, but I know it should be female. What is this about?” He pushed the file back at Michael.
“You want a wife? It was my understanding that you have no wish to be wed. Am I correct on that?” Galin nodded and looked at the file with the picture of a young boy on it. He appeared to be in his early teens maybe, but he wasn’t much older than that. “Galin? Do you wish for me to reassign you? Do you have no desire to help this young man?”
“I thought I was going into the rotation to find me a wife. The way that you did for Riss and Agon.” He looked up at Boss and Michael, who had summoned him today. “I had thought that the Mystics were a way for you to get rid of us all, and marrying us off was better than having us die. I’m…I’m not sure what’s going on now.”
Dusty McGee has just lost her sister to horrific accident and finds herself saddled with a very angry young nephew to raise. Now, some self-proclaimed protector, Galin, tells her that although he doesn’t want to marry her he would very much like to take her to his bed. She’s had about all that she can stand.
Markum has set his sights on taking the boy to his realm, convinced this is the alleged boy the demons have been searching for, and Dusty is an added bonus…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

BOOKSHELF RAMBLINGS REVIEW

REVIEW : Someone Else’s Fairytale (Someone Else’s Fairytale #1) by E.M. Tippetts

Title :

Someone Else’s Fairytale

Author :

E.M. Tippetts

Series :

Someone Else’s Fairytale #1

Release date : December 6th 2011
Rating : 3 Stars
Blurb :

Someone Else’s Fairytale (Someone Else’s Fairytale #1) by E.M. Tippetts (Goodreads Author) 3.67 · Rating Details · 4,957 Ratings · 516 Reviews Jason Vanderholt, Hollywood’s hottest actor, falls head over heels for everygirl, Chloe Winters, who hasn’t gotten around to watching most of his movies. She becomes the woman every other woman in America is dying to be, but it just isn’t her fairytale.

Review :

reviewed by

ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Blog Tour – Contract Signed by Marie Harte

Today we are celebrating the release of CONTRACT SIGNED by Marie Harte. CONTRACT SIGNED is a romantic suspense title, and it is the first book in the Triggerman, Inc. series! Be sure to follow Marie for exclusive news and giveaways!

———

Available Now!

Amazon | Nook | Apple | Kobo | GooglePlay

Join Marie’s Reader Group for Exclusive News!

Contract Signed by Marie Harte

Available Now!

Amazon | Nook | Apple | Kobo | GooglePlay

Book Blurb:

Three assassins and a… baby? Don’t miss the first in this sexy, fast-paced romantic suspense series–TRIGGERMAN INC.–from New York Times bestseller Marie Harte.

Noel “Ice” Cavanaugh’s method is foolproof. Get in, do the job, get out, melt away without a trace. Neat. Tidy. No mistakes.

This time, though, something isn’t right. Two somethings. First, a random attack that feels not-so-random. Then he discovers a baby on his doorstep with a note claiming it’s his. Unfortunately, the sexy neighbor who found the boy first has too many questions in her eyes to ignore.

When her handsome, mysterious neighbor suddenly asks her out on a date, Adeline Rose has suspicions he’s fishing for help with his bundle of…joy? By the date’s end, she’s convinced Noel’s just as distant as he seems–until a scorching goodnight kiss burns away all thoughts of being careful.

Now Noel has more than one problem on his hands. Splitting baby duty between three badass assassins, figuring out how to fit in more time with Addy…and keeping both of them safe from the danger that’s followed him home.

This book has been previously released.

Warning: Beware a killer with a heart of gold, a baby who needs constant changing, and unrequited love that’s actually quite…requited.

 

Add the book to Goodreads

————————-

AUTHOR INFORMATION:

 

Caffeine addict, boy referee, and romance aficionado, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Marie Harte has over 100 books published with more constantly on the way. She’s a confessed bibliophile and devotee of action movies. Whether hiking in Central Oregon, biking around town, or hanging at the local tea shop, she’s constantly plotting to give everyone a happily ever after. Visit http://marieharte.com and fall in love.

FIND MARIE:

Join Marie’s Reader Group

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Amazon | Instagram | Bookbub | Goodreads

InkSlinger Blogger Final

Thoughts & Feelings.

 

This isn’t really a review as the title states that it is my thoughts and feelings. There was just something about this book that just didn’t work for ME! (ME is big because I am picky in everything I am and everything I do)

Back on topic I read the blurb and was like oh cool, three men and a baby style, I love the film and I mean Tom Selleck and his tasche people.

Once again off topic, sorry. So I liked the concept but when it came to reading it I just didn’t like the characters. The writing is solid and I’m sure that the majority of everyone will dig the plot it is I just didn’t.

Different strokes and all that. But I still recommend the book for the suspense and the other characters in the book.

 

Peace out!!!

1 2 3 158
error: Content is protected !!