BOOKSHELF

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : A Thousand Reasons by Mariah Dietz

 

 

A Thousand Reasons

  

A Thousand Reasons
  Mariah Dietz
 June 21st 2018

 

My life is like a coin.
There are two sides.

On one side, I am Leela Walsh: daughter, sister, employee at three minimum-wage jobs.
I cook. Do laundry. Contribute to the debt my family is sinking in.

On the second side, I am Leela Walsh: Straight-A student, top graduate of my class, med student.
No one knows of my brother’s sordid past. My sister’s poor decisions. Or that I’m the first in my family to graduate high school.

The balance between these two sides is nearly impossible to maintain. And it only becomes more difficult when I meet Wes McCleary.

He’s never had a job. Never wanted for anything.
And now, he wants me.

There are a thousand reasons we shouldn’t be together, and just one that keeps bringing us together.

Will that one reason be enough?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Wrong Number, Right Guy (The Bourbon Street Boys #1) by Elle Casey

Wrong Number, Right Guy (The Bourbon Street Boys #1) by Elle Casey

September 14, 2016

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

Title :              Wrong Number, Right Guy 

Author :           Elle Casey

Series :            The Bourbon Street Boys #1

Release date :   September 22nd 2015

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : When a mysterious text message summons May Wexler to a biker bar in downtown New Orleans, she knows something is very wrong. Her sister has sent out an SOS, but when May gets there, she’s nowhere to be found and May is the one in trouble—she’s wearing pink espadrilles, she’s got a Chihuahua in her purse, and she’s in the middle of a shootout.After tall, muscular Ozzie comes to her rescue, May has no choice but to follow him to safety. At the headquarters of his private security firm, the Bourbon Street Boys, she finds a refuge for the night—and the offer of a job. But it’s not long before a gun-toting stalker isn’t the only complication in May’s life: the more time she spends with Ozzie, the less she can deny that they’ve got some serious chemistry. A wrong number got her into this mess…Will it also get her the right guy?

 

Review : so one of the downsides of reading a series in the wrong order defentivly is that you spoiler yourself the story up to a point where it feels difficult to give it 5 stars because you were not surprised as you already knew what was going to happen because you already read a newer book.  Thats why I usualy try to avoid this – but I felt I needed to in this case –

 

Indeed it was a worthy start of a series but still I liked the second book that I read first better …

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Throb (Life on Stage #1) by Vi Keeland

Throb (Life on Stage #1) by Vi Keeland

 
 

September 15, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Throb

Author :           Vi Keeland

Series :            Life on Stage #1

Release date :   January 25th 2015

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb :

 

The rules:

No dating.

No sex outside of the game.

No disclosing the terms of the contract.

 

Rules were made to be broken, right?

 

Eight weeks ago I signed a contract. One that seemed like a good idea at the time. A handsome bachelor, luxury accommodations, and a chance to win a prize my family desperately needed. There were some rules though. Lots of them actually. Follow the script, no dating, sex, or disclosing the terms of the deal. After my self-imposed moratorium on men the last year, it wouldn’t be hard to live up to my end of the bargain… so I thought. Until I realized the deal I’d made was with the devil… and I was in love with his dirty-talking brother.

 

Review : I love my Go-To Authors … the ones I always return to. Usually when you fall in love with an author it is not his first novel you love, because you join this development somewhere along ride.

 

Therefore it is only natural that even your favorite author still has a few older books that you did not read so far. Just now I “took care” of one of this older ones from Vi Keeland.

 

Reading “Throb” felt strange to me. While it is not “that” old you can still feel the huge development that this author made in just 1,5 years. While Throb is a really solid read it does not feel like for example “Bossman” because it seemed that her “bite” and the witty Banter between the characters was still “under construction in the beginning.

 

I will have to read another older book to confirm that feeling. But at this moment it feels like that.

 

But still it was an enjoyable story, its only problem was that the Vi Keeland now is far better even than the Vi Keeland was back than – therefore she basically deducted 1 star herself #laughing

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Many Sounds of Silence (Seattle Sound #4) by Alexa Padgett

 

Many Sounds of Silence (Seattle Sound #4)

  

Many Sounds of Silence
 Seattle Sound #4
 Alexa Padgett
 January 9th 2017

 

 

An Awful Night

Maybe she should have sensed the envy when her friends told her how smart, beautiful, and confident she was. But once her mother married a rock star, college freshman Abbi Dorsey suddenly had too many things going for her. One night she can’t remember produced a brutal set of photos the media—and the student body—won’t let her forget. No matter what she does, she can’t escape the fallout… or the threat of more to come.

A Great Lie
Green-eyed senior Clay Rippey has a famous father of his own, and he knows the sting of betrayal. From the moment he sees Abbi, he can’t stop thinking about her. He’s not the relationship type. But he can play one for the press…

A Dangerous Hope
There’s nothing made up about the desire sizzling between Abbi and Clay. But a bond built on fear and faking it doesn’t lead to happy endings. Too bad sticking to the safe route is all but impossible…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Special Forces: Operation Alpha: Protecting Us (Special Forces: Operation Alpha #12) by Magan Vernon

Special Forces: Operation Alpha: Protecting Us (Special Forces: Operation Alpha #12) by Magan Vernon

 
 

September 17, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Special Forces: Operation Alpha: Protecting Us 

Author :           Magan Vernon

Series :            Special Forces: Operation Alpha #12

Release date :   July 19th 2016

Rating :           3 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Calder “Doc” Thompson spent his whole life preparing to be an Undersea Medical Officer for the United States Navy. When an IED took out both of his legs, he was left with a pair of prosthetics and a job he hated at the local university Student Health Services. Ready to drown it all, he headed to Ace’s Bar and Grill where he met Maya Halliwell, the beautiful new bartender with a secret. A secret that has kept her away from the water for the last four years. Until she watches Calder step into the water and never come up. Now both of their lives are unraveling and the only way they’re able to stay afloat is if they protect each other.

 

Review : Adminting I had no Idea this would be turning out into a paranormal novel. I am not sure If I would have chosen to read it – had I known that fact before. Because eventhough I like paranormal – I do not read all kinds of paranormal and this would have been one of the kinds I do not read. 

 

I think this must have been the first time ever to combine such sensitve subjects like PTSD to … well a paranormal subject. And funny about that is – it actually worked. And while it was a short read and felt not really totally developed at times it was still enjoyable once I managed to read it with an raised eyebrow.

 

BUT because of the missing relationship devolpment / insta love and what felt like unfinsihed business in the end and that plus the (for me missing emotions) lead to the “only” 3 stars

 

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Visibly Broken by Chelsea Camaron, M.J. Fields

Visibly Broken by Chelsea Camaron, M.J. Fields

 
 

September 20, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Visibly Broken

Author :           Chelsea Camaron, MJ Fields

Series :            n/a

Release date :   20 Sep 2016

Rating :           3 Stars

 

 

Blurb : In a powerful, smoldering novel from the bestselling authors of the Caldwell Brothers series (“Bad boy heroes to die for!”—Tracy Wolff), two tortured souls team up to overcome the past, finding the courage to heal . . . and to love.Jason “Cobra” Stanley was born to fight. With a father like his, he had to toughen up just to survive. Now Cobra tries to take out all of his frustration, all of his anger, and all of his pain in the MMA cage. But after he receives one too many hits to the head during a match with Jagger Caldwell, the cycle of violence comes to a screeching halt. Cobra wakes up in the hospital, under the care of a nurse whose blond hair shines like a halo—and whose pure heart touches him on the deepest level.Lorraine Bosch is a fighter too. Having escaped from her own controlling father, she prides herself on remaining professional, despite the chaos of the ER. But Cobra is the ultimate distraction. Lorraine knows she should run away screaming from his rippling muscles and shattered psyche. And yet how can she deny this broken man a second chance—especially since she knows exactly what he’s been through? Lorraine’s used to playing guardian angel. Now it’s her turn to find heaven in Cobra’s arms.

 

Review : I just finished reading Visibly Broken by Chelsea Camaron, M.J. Fields a few days ago and I am still not sure how I feel about it.

 

The book is a well written novel about two people that are (from my point of view) already more than just “broken”.

 

“Cobra” is dealing with it more or less for anyone to see – using violence as his outlet. An underground fighter who’s family is basically destroying him bit by bit – day by day just by being there. But the other one I think is even worse, because

 

“angel” is basically living several life’s. A before and an after, her life and … another, the nurse and the ….(spoiler alert). And the downward spiral for her seems to go even faster than “cobras”

 

Can two broken – basically really broken beyond repair – people really save each other ?

 

During reading I often wonder where those two were ever going to find a common ground. Because the darkness within and around them just seemed to constantly pile up instead of getting less.

 

But I could not feel the buildup between them, for me the spark was missing. It felt more like it remained what it was from beginning on “his DREAM of an Angel with blond hair shining like a halo”

 

But judging from the other reviews I see I am the odd one out here so I think if you feel you like the blurb you should give it a try and then later please comment to me what you felt …

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Neighbor Dearest by Penelope Ward

Neighbor Dearest by Penelope Ward

 
 

September 25, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Neighbor Dearest

Author :           Penelope Ward

Series :            n/a

Release date :   August 15th 2016

Rating :           5 Stars

 

 

Blurb : A STANDALONE NOVEL that does *not* need to be read in conjunction with any other book.

 

From New York Times bestselling author, Penelope Ward, comes a friends to lovers story with sexy new characters.After getting dumped, the last thing I needed was to move next door to someone who reminded me of my ex-boyfriend, Elec.

 

Damien was a hotter version of my ex.The neighbor I’d dubbed “Angry Artist” also had two massive dogs that kept me up with their barking.He wanted nothing to do with me. Or so I thought until one night I heard laughter coming through an apparent hole in my bedroom wall. Damien had been listening to all of my phone sessions with my therapist. The sexy artist next door now knew all of my deepest secrets and insecurities.

 

We got to talking. He set me straight with tips to get over my breakup. He became a good friend, but Damien made it clear that he couldn’t be anything more. Problem was, I was falling hard for him anyway. And as much as he pushed me away, I knew he felt the same…because his heartbeat didn’t lie.

 

I thought my heart had been broken by Elec, but it was alive and beating harder than ever for Damien. I just hoped he wouldn’t shatter it for good.

 

Author’s note – Neighbor Dearest is a full-length standalone novel. Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

 

Review : Penelope Ward will never cease to amaze me it seems. Worshipping might be a to strong word but definitely I am hooked to reading novels by this really brilliant author.

 

Just like Colleen Hoover she has yet to write a book that does not fully capture me with all of my heart and soul.

 

No matter if she writes alone or with Vi Keeland she does magic with pen and paper and as far as I am concerned she could release a book every month and I would read it and most probably love it.

 

Actually I am forcing Karma to contradict me here because I would really like a book a month from her.

 

I admit that I had my suspicions about Damien almost from the beginning on, maybe I am already tuned into the Penelope vibes.

 

Not sure what I should tell about the plot … I am really afraid that once I start to write I will tell more than I want to and spoiler stuff. So let me stick to just saying if you read books from Penelope before and liked them – you will like this one too.

 

And If (by any mysterious coincidence) you happen to take a look at this book before you read any of her books … AHM … STOP right here and read her older books first. Its not so much that her books are depending on a specific order- its more that she has a way of leaving kind of “inside jokes” or “hints” in the story that you will not notice when you did not read the previous books.

 

BUT you will not miss out usually as you will not even notice those inside jokes…

 

Only – how am I going to explain that … no let me phrase it in another way – You do not know me but please trust me when I tell you the following. In THIS specific case, even though it is not necessary, do yourself a favor and to fully get the RIGHT impression of “something” … please read “Stepbrother Dearest” before you read this book.

 

Trust me when I tell you I am “between a rock and a hard place” – because any hint I might give you will spoiler something that I do not want to give a way. You will not notice anything while you read THIS book if your read it first BUT you will not “look” at Stepbrother Dearest in the same way – and that is not ok.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Gilt Hollow by Lorie Langdon

Gilt Hollow by Lorie Langdon

 
 

September 27, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title:  Gilt Hollow

Author :  Lorie Langdon

Series:  n/a

Release date:  September 27th 2016

Rating : 4 Stars

 

Blurb : Willow Lamott’s best friend is a convicted killer, and no one in the small town of Gilt Hollow will let her forget it. Over four long years, she’s tried to fade into the background—but none of that matters when Ashton Keller comes striding into school, fresh out of juvie and fueled by revenge.

 

The moment their eyes meet, Willow no longer feels invisible. Drawn to the vulnerability behind Ashton’s mask of rage, she sinks deeper into his sinister world and begins to question whether he’s a villain, a savior, or both.

 

Ashton thought he wanted vengeance, until Willow Lamott stepped back into his life. Now he longs to clear his name and become the person she sees in him. But the closer they get to uncovering the truth, the darker the secrets become, and Ashton wonders if his return to Gilt Hollow will destroy everyone he loves.

 

 

Review : After a long time I finally came across a really good YA Novel again. Gilt Hollow by Lorie Langdon was a very satisfying read. The author did a really great job on capturing all that is to say about small towns and how they work.

 

The setting of Gilt Hollow brings us to a kind of darker version of a the Gilmore Girls’ Stars Hollow. At least I felt that way. And thinking about it you could also consider Willow a kind of sad version of Rory Gilmore (but that’s where the comparison ends – because all the other characters were in no way to compare to the Gilmore Girls)

 

Also please don’t let me bring the wrong light onto that story- the story has no comparison to that TV series – it were just some things in the town setting that reminded me of it a lot only in a darker more twisted way.

 

We get to know Ashton and find out really soon about the background of the story and how he became the person he is now. It takes a lot of guts – walking back to where he came from knowing he would not be met with open arms. He is intriguing like a dark angel and the reader will feel compelled to follow him through his story.

 

Willow is pure loyalty – the kind of friend anyone could wish for. Nothing will make her stray from the right path once she set her mind to it. Not even the opinion of a whole town. Admirable. Really !

 

You will meet a lot of clichés throughout the story – but I honestly already expected those.

 

What I did not anticipate was the suspense.

The author had me really guessing for a while. What were the reasons, who were the responsible and what really happened that fateful day.

 

The pace of the book was not fast but I felt it was fitting to the development inside the story. The writing style was capturing and the characters were intriguing.

 

I would not mind reading another book like this.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Almost Never by Amy Lamont

 

 

Almost Never

  

Almost Never
Amy Lamont
 2018

 

A new standalone novel from USA Today Bestselling Author Amy Lamont…

Son of an aging rock star, Declan Cooper is considered royalty on the Warren College campus. When he meets petite freshman Harper Warden, he dismisses her as just another groupie. He realizes his mistake pretty quickly, but despite his near-obsession with the premed student, he keeps his distance. The last thing she needs is the notoriety that comes along with being connected to his infamous family.

Getting blown off by the sexy and popular King of Campus is the kiss of death for the new life Harper hoped to make for herself at college. Her only goal now is to get into medical school so she can leave her past, and Declan Cooper, far behind. But when the plans Harper made are threatened, Declan might be the only person who can help. All she has to do is trust him with a few small things—like her heart and her future.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

TRUCKER (The Good Guys #1) by Jamie Schlosser

TRUCKER (The Good Guys #1) by Jamie Schlosser

 
 

September 29, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              TRUCKER

Author :           Jamie Schlosser

Series :            The Good Guys #1r

Release date :   July 13th 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb :

 

ANGEL

I know what you’re whispering in the car as you pass me by. Hitchhiker. When you see me walking along the side of the road with my thumb out, you’ll probably keep driving without giving me a second glance. You probably think I’m foolish. Naïve. You might assume I’ve made some bad decisions. You might think I’m too young to be on my own. You might be right.

 

TRAVIS

I love my job, but driving an eighteen-wheeler comes with a certain stereotype. When you hear I’m a trucker, a specific image might come to mind. Uneducated. Dirty. Perverted. Rough around the edges and a little bit dangerous. But the truth is, I’m not any of those things. In fact, I’m pretty far from it. You’d be surprised to find out I’m one of the good guys.

 

Review : It has been a long time since I read such a sweet and almost innocent romance.

 

Amongst the tons of books it is a real rare treat to find a book that is filled with such a great story that needs almost no sex to be still totally hot and romantic at the same time.

 

Make no mistake it is not a “clean” book but in comparison to the stuff we usually read in our blog it is really innocent.

 

That is also why I had to smile at the chosen name for the female lead – “Angel” – the author could not have found a better name for her.

 

I am not sure what I should say about this book except that if you are looking for something entirely sweet with little drama and yet a full developed plot.

 

Choose this book.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 2 3 114
error: Content is protected !!