BOOKSHELF

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Turbulent Desires (Billionaire Aviators, Book 2) by Melody Anne

Turbulent Desires (Billionaire Aviators, Book 2) by Melody Anne

 
 

December 20, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Turbulent Desires

Author :           Melody Anne

Series :            Billionaire Aviators, Book 2 

Release date :   08 Nov 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : ER nurse Lindsey Helm used to be strong. Then a late-night attack at the hospital nearly killed her and left two close colleagues dead. Now Lindsey has retreated from the world. She knows she needs to move on, but every hint of danger seems threatening—including a certain sexy flyboy who’s determined to show Lindsey what she’s missing. But falling for F-18 pilot Maverick Armstrong is a risk she can’t afford…

 

Maverick knows that fear can eat away at the soul, and he won’t leave Lindsey to that fate. She needs someone to reach her and to remind her of the exhilaration and unbelievable passion of being touched. He’ll help her heal, and then he’ll walk away. He has to walk away. Because Maverick swore he would never fall in love and never marry. But this is a rescue operation, and Maverick will stay the course—even if things get hazardous. Even if saving Lindsey means surrendering his heart in the process…

 

Review : Hahaha – welcome to matchmaking 101… why wouldn’t the stuff that worked out so well in book 1 of the Billionaire Aviators also work in the newest book by Melody Anne.

 

I just read “Turbulent Desires” and I liked it as much as I did the first book. Also its nice to meet our old friends from the first book again. With Lindsey being the BFF to Stormy who’s story was featured in the first book, you can be sure that Maverick will not be far as Cooper is here as well.

 

Maverick and Lindsey have a story together – even though it is a short one and the attraction is there but it seems as if nothing would ever develop from that. And our Matchmaking friends from the first part have a hard time accepting that.

 

When Lindsey is facing massive problems due to an attack that nearly left her dead they see their chance to step in. Maverick is up for the challenge to try to get her back to the living even though he is not realizing that the endgame our matchmakers are planning is a little different.

 

Because as we know Sherman he will not accept anything less than a building romance between the two.

 

But with the woman who cannot stand to be touched by anyone and the man that swore to never fall in love might have been a to big bite to swallow, even for that usually successful group of matchmakers

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

BITING POINT (Sex on Wheels #1) by Azalea Amy Lezlynn

BITING POINT (Sex on Wheels #1) by Azalea Amy Lezlynn

 
 

December 19, 2016

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              BITING POINT

Author :           Azalea Amy Lezlynn

Series :            Sex on Wheels #1

Release date :   January 1st 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : LEGEND. KING. LOVER. RACER.

Three-T rules the roads.

 

But this is no televised championship, with its own rules and regulations.

 

There are no pretty flags or set race tracks in these street races.

 

My lover races raw.

He races wild.

He races illegally.

He races like a God.

 

I began to believe such a man could never love a girl like me, but love me he does… all of me … and there are plenty of my fuller-plus-size figured curves to love.

Together we stand strong at the head of his exotic car racing empire, but there is darkness brewing.

As fate would have it, regrets collect like old friends ready to relive his most agonizing moments. Dark secrets are awakened, whispering their threats of destruction. Will they be enough to take us down?

The moment arises for him to decide whom is more important. Me or his brotherhood of racing league members? This is where our legacy with the world’s fastest cars begins.

 

“We Ride Together … As One … ‘Til The End.”

 

WARNING : Possessive, Domineering, High-Handed, Loyal, Jealous, Protective, Loving & Passionately Sexual Italian Alpha Male – with – slight undertones of ‘Dominance & Submission’.{Contains Sexual Scenes with: strawberries, bondage with roses, ice cream, public & oral sex}

 

Modern Fantasy, New Adult, Contemporary, Erotica, Action Adventure.Due to strong language and graphic sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

 

Review : I just finished reading BITING POINT (Sex on Wheels #1) by Azalea Amy Lezlynn and now I am wondering how to explain this book to other readers.

 

Let me try like this … Think of it like a cocktail

 

The dedication at the beginning of the book (which is a beautiful one by the way) gives you a good idea about the book but I think it leaves out some important things

 

You need a big dose of fairytale and girly power (Ahm but not the Disney fluffy princess version – more the real life size 16 one)

 

Take a hot domineering Alpha male (I am talking Gideon Cross style) and place him in a “Fast and Furious” version of your favorite fairytale.

 

Yeah thinking about it I am acutally picturing Paul Walker here – his eyes were just one of the most remarkable ones I ever saw.

 

Still keep in mind we are talking fairytale style (so do not take the setting to serious there is just to much that you might find over the top or unrealistic) and

 

while you are shaking that cocktail you might want to at a hint of “Driven” by K. Bromberg just for good measures.

 

Take a sip … what do you think ?

 

Does it taste like something you might like ?

 

Than give this book a try – Enjoy

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Somewhere to Begin (Poison & Wine series #1) by Mika Jolie

Somewhere to Begin (Poison & Wine series #1) by Mika Jolie

 
 

February 7, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Somewhere to Begin

Author :           Mika Jolie

Series :            Poison & Wine series #1

Release date :   July 13th 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : There are wounds that never show on the body.For twenty-nine years, Colbie Bennington does as expected with an eternal smile stained on her lips. The biggest chances she’s ever taken can be counted on one hand, three fingers to be exact—her battered red chucks, painting her toenails a vibrant blue, and her wedding dress. Always the dutiful daughter and a Stepford fiancée, she has never acted on impulse, never been in love. She’s never lived.On her wedding day, Colbie ends a toxic relationship, drops the fake smile, and says, “I can’t do this anymore.”Navy SEAL Zander Serrano returns home broken and burdened with a volcano of remorse. Too trapped in a mental war to be at peace and too damaged to be at war, he shuts the world out. The last thing he expects is to feel, especially for a runaway bride with her own baggage.Two empty hearts marred in different spots find themselves drawn to one another. Each with their own scars. Some, the world can see. Others, unseen to the naked eye.They say two broken people should not be together. But for Colbie and Zander, their attraction is undeniable, unexpected. Can two souls with fractured parts be the best cure for each other’s wounds?Starting over is never easy, but sometimes in life, everyone needs somewhere to begin.

 

Review : The first maybe 20% of the story of Somewhere to Begin (Poison & Wine series #1) by Mika Jolie felt a little “bumpy” to me which made it a little bit more difficult for me to engage with the story.

 

But at around 25% the story started to take off at a reasonable pace and the story flow was steady and good until the end. I liked how the characters developed together with the story.

 

At times I felt that Zander was a little too reluctant but I got where he was coming from – Colbie on the other hand was a little more difficult – but once I had a closer look at her parents – well lets say. She turned out great DESPIDE the place she came from.

 

Both have to deal with a lot of issues from their past before they can even dare to attempt to think about a future. I liked the secondary characters that brought a lot of charm to the story.

 

Sometimes it felt as if they were carrying the leading characters to the place where they were supposed to be.

 

This author has a great way to approach the story and keep it real for the reader.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Split by JB Salsbury

Split by JB Salsbury

 
 

February 6, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

 

 

Title :              Split

Author :           JB Salsbury

Series :            n/a

Release date :   15 Nov 2016

Rating :           5 Stars

 

 

Blurb :  What do you do when you wake up with no memory of what you did last night?

 

Lucas spent the first half of his life protecting himself from others, but now his own mind is his biggest enemy. He doesn’t know what happens when the blackouts overtake him, but he can recall the feelings—the rage, the confusion, the fear. Thankfully the quiet life he’s found in Payson, Arizona has kept the darkness at bay. Until his boss’s estranged daughter shows up in town, asking questions she shouldn’t and sparking a desire Lucas can’t control. Getting close to Shyann is the best thing that’s ever happened to him, but when his blackouts return, unleashing the truth he’s battled so long to hide, he may just lose her forever . . .

 

Review : WOW

 

I finished reading Split by JB Salsbury last week and only just now I had time to sit down and write my review. Reading between 5-15 books a week (yes no joke) tends to leave your mind blank after just a few days when you try to remember the content of a book you read in the previous week.

 

I often stare at a title and have to reread the blurb and my kindle notes to remember my thoughts and feelings about a story.

 

BUT Not with this book.

– For me a book needs to fulfill 1 of 3 categories to receive 5 stars.

 

1. I need to cry

2. I need to laugh (not just a little but really really hard)

3. OR a story has to stay with me for a long time.

 

And no 3 is what applies in case of SPLIT….

 

When I just checked my schedule on what review was up next to write and I saw the title my thoughts directly wandered to the story. A story so unique – raw and real that it hurt.

 

The reader will find some suspense in it and romance but the biggest subject of the book for me was the well developed and raw storyline that surrounded Lucas.

 

I do not want to say anything about the plot itself or even compare it to other books because it feels as if I would betray the readers honest emotions to do so. But as the Blurb states it I would like to state that the line “perfect for fans of Katie Evans” feels very true to me. VERY TRUE and I have a very specific book in mind (which I can not mention for obvious reasons)

 

At the beginning I was not sure if I liked Shy as she felt a little rough around the edges to me but during the storyline she developed a very likeable character. But my heart really goes to Lucas – his character was written so wonderful

 

The main thing I liked about this book was that not everything is “fluffy” and “roses”. The plot does not ignore the problem or paints it in nice colors or even attempts to “remove” it (sorry for being so vague – I could tell a hole lot more but I do not want to) .

 

The story just showed a way of dealing with “IT” And that is where I started to like Shy. Not ignoring – not avoiding or trying to change what is a given – no she goes in HEAD FIRST and deals with it.

 

AND hey … refreshing was also … except for the “suspense factor” with its cliché touch – all the secondary characters for once lined up behind shy and not against her … NICE – really NICE …

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Hers to Heal (A Black Eagle Ops Novel) by Vonnie Davis

Hers to Heal (A Black Eagle Ops Novel) by Vonnie Davis

 
 

February 9, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Hers to Heal

Author :           Vonnie Davis

Series :            A Black Eagle Ops Novel

Release date :   22 Nov 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : In this powerful, sensual romance from the author of Her Survivor, a broken woman meets a shattered warrior—and discovers a passion strong enough to heal each other’s deepest wounds.

 

Navy SEAL Reece Browning sacrificed body and soul in the line of duty. He survived torture at the hands of America’s enemies, but lost his career and his voice in the process. Traumatized and desperate to get his PTSD under control, Reece escapes to Eagle Ridge Ranch. Under the big Texas sky, he finds peace, a renewed sense of purpose—and a woman who makes him feel like a man again. Her smile lights up his dark days, and her caress helps him forget the night terrors. Ex-Marine Gina Wilson also bears painful scars: emotional wounds inflicted by men she once trusted with her life. She has fought hard to overcome her demons and build a good life for her daughter, and Reece is too intense, too damaged, too raw to let into her heart. Yet she’s drawn irresistibly to his steely gaze and heated embrace. No one else understands what it’s like to suffer in silence. And when Gina’s daughter is threatened, it’s Reece who risks everything to save the day.

 

Review : OK – now it is official Vonnie Davis has me hocked to her “Black Eagle Ops” series – I just finished reading the second book in that series that is called “Hers to Heal”.

 

And I have to say that the second book held onto everything that the first book in that series promised.

 

When I read “Her Survivor” about half a year ago I found a romance that was just enough “sweet small town romance” to be endearing but not enough to make me run off and believe me I would have because I don’t “do” well with those “sugar coated romances”.

 

I fell in love with the characters and I could not wait to hear more about them. The intriguing part in this series is that the author uses components of those “small town sugar coated” romances and places some really tough soldiers in that setting.

 

And I can not help myself I love wounded warrior novels.

 

Also Ms. Davis used a clever spin as spice in this series (which I will not give away because using the words I would have to use to describe it some people might consider this book belonging to another genre and that is not true – it is just a little spice and not really a genre switch)

 

It seems that each book in the series will focus on a different couple and I have my feelings on what the next book(s) might be about.

 

Also the reader will find a background story that connects all of the books and that is connected to the fact that all of the leading characters are soldiers.

 

Reece and Gina were a great pairing and their developing relationship was well written. The suspense that was added was just the icing to this cake.

 

I really like the way this series is developing I hope we will not have to wait to long for the next release.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Change Rein (Willow Bay Stables #1) by Anne Jolin

Change Rein (Willow Bay Stables #1) by Anne Jolin

 
 

February 8, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Change Rein

Author :           Anne Jolin

Series :            Willow Bay Stables #1

Release date :   June 15th 2015

Rating :           3 Stars

 

 

Blurb : London Daniels is returning home to Willow Bay, Alberta, on the heels of a televised loss. She blew her shot at the Summer Olympics and cost Canada the gold medal in dressage. During her years of training abroad, her family’s stable has fallen on hard times, and thus, they’ve accepted an offer to board the racehorses of Branson Tucker, the infamous tycoon, for the winter.London lacks conviction after her ill-fated fall. And as if returning to her hometown to watch her epic failure replay on everyone’s big screen isn’t torture enough, she’s expected to cater to a man with an ego bigger than her hundred-acre farm just to earn a dime.Is London saddling up for another ride that will leave both her heart and her ass in the dirt? Or could the handsome, unwanted guest at Willow Bay Stables be her second chance to go for gold?

 

Review : The Blurb of Rein In (Willow Bay Stables #3) by Anne Jolin caught my eye and as it was already the third book in that series I thought (for a change) I should take the time and start a series at the beginning.

 

Therefore I took the time to first read Change Rein (Willow Bay Stables #1) and Eight-Second Ride (Willow Bay Stables #2)

 

And I think this series is a good example of an author that grew with writing…

 

In Change Rein I had trouble to connect to the leading characters the beginning was so sudden as was the appearance of Branson. It took me pages to get what he did and what was happening. And I have to be honest – for a very long time Branson felt more like a stalker to me than anything else and London is – I am not sure. Lets just say they were not my couple of the year.

 

With Eight Second Ride it was already a little different. Owen and Ray were a lot more likeable to me as a reader. I felt it was easier to connect with them. Maybe because by then I got a little used to the authors writing style ? Or because they were better developed ? not sure but for me as a “no Stetson” girl – I could work with that storyline a lot better.

 

Which brings me to the third book “Rein In” … it is the by far best of the three. From the first page on I was drawn into the story and connected with Rhys. He was a really great character so likeable from the start.

 

I can even confirm that Aurora the female lead is really like the blurb describes her – a modern day saint –The storyline is really well developed and contains a good dose suspense at the right moments.

 

It tugs and pulls at your heartstrings and I am pretty sure that the readers will love this book even more the previous books in that series.

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

So. Long.: Bad Boy Next Door by Kelley Harvey

So. Long.: Bad Boy Next Door by Kelley Harvey

 
 

February 10, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              So. Long

Author :           Kelley Harvey

Series :            Bad Boy Next Door

Release date :   August 29th 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : I won’t let another Mr. Wrong fool me. I thought I’d found my Mr. Right—then he turned wrong, and ran off with my best friend. After my divorce, I swore off love, romance, and smooth-talking, tattooed, bad boys. Until him. The worst mistake of my life moved in next door—a bona fide pain in my ass, even if he’s a pleasure everywhere else. Adam Hardick might hide behind his beard and sunglasses, but I see through him—he’s chronically single and just looking for trouble. And now his eyes are trained on my side of the fence. It doesn’t matter that Adam is sexier than any man I’ve ever known, or that he’s hiding a mysterious injury from his service overseas. I need stability, responsibility, and someone who can love me and my three-year-old daughter. I can’t risk another broken heart. But when our innocent fling becomes an accidental pregnancy, our relationship isn’t just for fun anymore. Can I trust a committed bachelor to become a devoted daddy? Falling in love is easy…but sometimes the best romance is the one you never expected.

 

Review : I choose to read this book when I had “a minute” off from my assigned blog review reads and I really enjoyed it.  Even more than what I assumed when reading the Blurb. There is a lot of fun hidden in this storyline and I found myself laughing out loud on several occasions.  The characters were well developed and the storyline well written.

A totally recommandable read  

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Filthy Rich (Blackstone Dynasty, Book 1) by Raine Miller

Filthy Rich (Blackstone Dynasty, Book 1) by Raine Miller

 
 

February 11, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Filthy Rich

Author :           Raine Miller

Series :            Blackstone Dynasty, Book 1

Release date :   15 Nov 2016

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Billionaire Caleb Blackstone lives in the glamorous world of wealth and success, with every material luxury. But the moment he sees Brooke Casterley, none of that matters. Caleb is filled with a raw, undeniable need that he can’t ignore…for a girl who is so completely different from everything and everyone he’s ever known.Only Brooke isn’t looking for love. She knows all too well just how much damage the wrong guy can do. Still, what sane, broke British girl can resist the charms of an incredibly sexy, chivalrous billionaire? What starts as flirtation quickly turns into all-consuming passion. Nothing could have prepared her for the searing heat of Caleb’s touch—or just how much she craves him.Their whirlwind romance is the stuff of high-society fantasy—but for every moment of pleasure, there is a cost. Past mistakes and tragedy shadow them both…and falling for him might be the kind of trouble she can’t afford.

 

Review : It has been quite some time since I read the books of the “Blackstone Affair” by Raine Miller – I think about 3 years ? – In Book Blogger time this equals a lifetime of books but still the Moment I read “Blackstone” and “Raine Miller” I knew I had to read “Filthy Rich”.

 

Because I directly remembered specific details of the “Blackstone Affair” that I had already read by this author. Considering the time that has past since I read Ethan’s and Brynne’s story and this is really a praise for this author because sometimes it only takes 1 or 2 days for a blurb to fade in my mind after reading a book.

 

Strong alpha males the way this author writes them are not something you can “digest” as a reader on every day but sometimes you crave them and when you do, you want them well written with a fully developed story. Raine Miller will give you that.

 

You will get Caleb the rich handsome alpha male that will sweep you off your feet. #check

 

The smart woman (Brooke) that doesn’t want too but still can not resist the guy #check

 

And their building relationship that is so well written that you can only enjoy it. #check

 

I am not sure what else to tell you and you will get what you expect – Solid Romance in a hot package 🙂

 

Except maybe – If you haven’t read the Blackstone Affair by this Author – I strongly suggest to correct this mistake #laughing

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

REVIEW : Rebel Heir (Rush Series Duet #1) by Vi Keeland, Penelope Ward

 

Rebel Heir (Rush Series Duet, #1)

  

Rebel Heir
Rush Series Duet #1
Vi Keeland, Penelope Ward
 April 7th 2018

 

From New York Times Bestselling authors Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward, comes the first book in a new, sexy duet.

How to kick off a great summer in the Hamptons:

Snag a gorgeous rental on the beach. Check.

Get a job at a trendy summer haunt. Check.

How to screw up a great summer in the Hamptons:

Fall for the one guy with a dark leather jacket, scruff on his face, and intense eyes that doesn’t fit in with the rest of the tony looking crowd. A guy you can’t have when you’ll be leaving at the end of the season.

Check. Check. Check.

I should add—especially when the guy is your sexy, tattooed God of a boss.

Especially when he not only owns your place of employment but inherited half of the town.

Especially when he’s mean to you.

Or so I thought.

Until one night when he demanded I get in his car so he could drive me home because he didn’t want me walking in the dark.

That was sort of how it all started with Rush.

And then little by little, some of the walls of this hardass man started to come down.

I never expected that the two of us, seemingly opposites from the outside, would grow so close.

I wasn’t supposed to fall for the rebel heir, especially when he made it clear he didn’t want to cross the line with me.

As the temperature turned cooler, the nights became hotter. My summer became a lot more interesting—and complicated.

All good things must come to an end, right?

Except our ending was one I didn’t see coming.

Rebel Heir is the first book in the Rush Series Duet. Book Two, Rebel Heart, will release six weeks later on May, 22, 2018.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Writing Mr. Right by Michaela Wright

Writing Mr. Right by Michaela Wright

 
 

February 13, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Writing Mr. Right

Author :           Michaela Wright

Series :            n/a

Release date :   August 28th 2015

Rating :           4 Stars

 

 

Blurb : #1 Bestseller in British Contemporary Fiction

 

What would you do if every word you wrote came true? That’s Georgia’s blessing – or curse. Ever since she was little, if Georgia Kilduff wrote a wish on paper, that wish would come true. Except for one – Georgia can’t seem to write her Happily Ever After. Now a successful romance novelist, Georgia travels the world signing copies of her novels for avid fans of her main character – ‘the perfect man,’ Douglas MacCready. Get in line, ladies. Georgia loves him too. If only he really existed. When she meets Garrett MacCauley – a charming book store owner in Inverness – Georgia is startled by some striking similarities, from his middle name to a scar on his right hand. Hell, he even shags like him! But Douglas MacCready can’t be real. He’s just a character in her book, right? Or has Georgia carried him with her all along? A story of love and destiny, WRITING MR. RIGHT shows the magic of true love, the mischief of fate, and reminds us all that when two people are meant to be together, nothing can keep them apart.

 

Review : Somewhere between a written fairytale and a contemporary romance novel – that is where you will find “Writing Mr. Right” by Michaela Wright. In a beautiful setting the author created a plot that was easy enough to get lost in and engaging enough to keep on sucking the reader into it. I felt myself longing for a deep breath in a tiny old English Bookstore. Goosebumps running along my arms while I thought of that Scottish Charm mixed with the smell of an old novel. Beautiful written

 

reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 2 3 105
error: Content is protected !!