BOOKSHELF

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Worth The Fight (Book 1 in the Worth It series) by Breanna Mansfield

Worth The Fight (Book 1 in the Worth It series) by Breanna Mansfield

 

September 21, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Worth The Fight

 

 Breanna Mansfield

 

Book 1 in the Worth It series

 

 Published 2017

 

 

 

 

 

Its hard to write the wrongs in your life, but when you have to right a wrong you unknowingly made? That’s when things get tricky. In an effort to save his sister, he unintentionally ruined lives of many. Aaron works hard day in and day out to make his businesses thrive. Every other waking moment is spent looking for his opportunity to finally right the ultimate wrong hes made. – with a little bit of payback on the side. What happens when a fiery redheaded nurse waltz in his life and plants herself right in the middle of a brewing storm? Can Bridget save herself and Aaron from drowning in the darkness that is crashing down around them? Or can they lean on each other in order to survive the storm that’s coming for them both?

 

 

 

 

GREAT DEBUT NOVEL

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

With This Man (This Man #4) by Jodi Ellen Malpas

 

 

With This Man (This Man, #4)

  

With This Man
This Man #4
Jodi Ellen Malpas
March 20th 2018

 

Jesse Ward is back in the newest novel in the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling This Man series!

Life is good for Jesse ‘The Lord’ Ward. Perfect, actually. He still has the charm, he’s in great shape, and he still reduces his wife, Ava, to a pool of desire with a mere look. He’s in full control, just how he likes it.

But Jesse’s perfect world falls apart when a terrible accident lands Ava in hospital with a life-threatening head injury. Devastated and angry, he feels like his entire existence hangs in the balance. He cannot survive without this woman’s love. So when she finally comes around, his shaking world begins to level out. But his nightmare doesn’t end there. It’s only just begun. Because his wife can’t remember the last sixteen years of her life. That’s all of him. All of their time together. He is a stranger to her.

Now Jesse must do whatever it takes to find her memories . . . and help her fall madly, passionately in love with him all over again.

 

 

 

Rewriting an already written romance novel from a different kind of perspective is one thing. But leave it to Jodi Ellen Malpas to do something totally different with that concept.

 

“With this Man” follows the “This Man” series and actually, when you look at it closely (and believe me I DID) it is the Love story of Ava and Jesse told from a different perspective. Not like in other novels when simply the other lead retells the already existing story from his PoV. No … something that simple would never do Justice to our beloved Lord.

 

While telling a complete new story Ms. Malpas also brought their old story back to life – moment for moment – one beloved quote of mine followed the other – Lovers of the series will devour this book – there is no question at all about that.

 

Only Jesse Ward is able to retell their love story in such a significant way that it leaves the Readers breathless. The story is a wild ride that reminds anybody why the fell in love with this demanding character (and I am purposefully avoiding all other words that come to my mind incase I ever want to post this review on amazon this is highly advised as there would be a lot of non appropriate words included – blame Jesse not me)

 

The Magic of Ava and Jesse is unbroken – It only took the author about 10 pages to bring me back right to where I was years ago when first reading “this man” – and that alone is a feature after such a long time. There really is no character anywhere like this Man … he is really the most ignorant inappropriate domineering alpha male that I ever met in the reading world so far. And we love him. END OFF.

 

And knowing he will soon be brought to the big Screen scares me a little because it will surely take a very special actor to fill this shoes.

 

What makes Jesse special in this book is how he asses his situation – their situation and her situation all in one. While trying to go through wall after wall he always stays true to himself.

The difference between him and other Male Leads is he is always aware that he is a Jerk or unreasonable but that never stops him. He is unreasonable, arrogant,  overbearing and irrational but always within his set pattern that Ava knows how to handle and manipulate. ( again I am using not the words that come to my mind first but the most appropriate ones. Because if there is one thing that you really need to do after spending some hours in his presence that is WATCH YOUR MOUTH)

 

Watching their story unfold in this new chapter is like watching an exploding star you simply stare. They are like magnets drawn to each other. And when Jesse says he is nothing without Ava you do not question it you believe it, even if it sounds over the top … it is not – not in their world.

 

And seeing the development of the twins I could even envision to read at least Jacobs’ love story in a distant future. Not that he could ever replace Jesse, but I am pretty sure that he would be a pain in the backside for the woman that ever had the “pleasure” to get in “his ways” … allow me a little play with words if I am not allowed to curse.

 

Trust me when I say that I marked quotes on my kindle that will be stuff for legends.

 

.

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

REVIEW : Vow of Retribution (Vow Series, #1) by Emma Renshaw

 

 

Vow of Retribution (Vow Series, #1)

  

Vow of Retribution
Vow Series, #1
Emma Renshaw
 May 3rd 2018

 

I want revenge.
With scars like these, I knew I could never forget my past.
With threats like these, I can’t escape, either.
This time, I’m fighting back. I don’t just want my life back. I want vengeance for what was done to me.
I didn’t plan to fall in love.

I want to save her.
A girl like her isn’t easily forgotten.
A girl like her doesn’t trust easily.
I’ll fight for her—I’ll fight with her. Together, we can build a new life, free from the past. Together, we can rise.
Even if we could lose everything by trying

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Rock Hard by Paige North

Rock Hard by Paige North

 

September 22, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Rock Hard

 

 Paige North

 

 

 

 March 2nd 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 *Rock Hard is a standalone romance with a guaranteed HEA*

 

Jayce Owens. Music’s biggest star. Sexiest man alive. My new boss. And the man who could bring my world crashing down around me… I felt like I couldn’t breathe when he stared at me from underneath the brim of his cowboy hat. Those sexy brown eyes, the way his penetrating gaze raked up my body… it made me break out in goose bumps. Why did he single me out? I’d seen the women he’d taken to the CMAs before, and they were tall and lanky and fancy, like gourmet biscotti. Me? I was vanilla ice cream. His presence overpowered, commanded, and given different circumstances, I might’ve said yes to a date. But I couldn’t. I worked for him now, and I refused to be one of those girls who slept their way to stardom. I didn’t spend four years getting a B.A. in Music Performance, learning guitar, piano, and vocals, moving to Nashville to try and make it against my family’s will, all so some cocky country star could woo me with his charisma. But with the way he looked at me, the way he touched me, the way he said my name….I just couldn’t resist. Before I knew it, I was just like every other girl who’d met Jayce Owens…tangled up in his web of secrets, half-truths, and twisted desire. And just like any good country song… the whole thing was destined to end in nothing but heartbreak.

 

 

 

 

 

I am really sorry to say that from the first page I had problems to get into this book. What could have been a gorgeous story was somehow disturbed by the characterdevelopment. I totally did not like the characters and as I am known for having a problem with anything that feels “INSTA” – I have to say that this book was not for me.  I might be the odd one out here as this is really just my personal issue – so I am not the one to tell you to not read this book.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO REVIEW

PROMO / REVIEW : Bane (Sinners of Saint #4) by LJ Shen

SBPR-BT-BANNER-2

Bane-Cover-Facebook

Bane, the highly-anticipated next standalone in the Sinners of Saint Series by L.J. Shen is LIVE

Bane

Naked surfer. Habitual pothead. A con, a liar, a thief and a fraud.

Last I heard, he was extorting the rich and screwing their wives for a living.

Which is why I’m more than a little surprised to find him at my threshold, looking for my friendship, my services, and most puzzling of all—looking humbled.

Thing is, I’m on a boycott. Literally—I cut boys from my life. Permanently.

Problem is, Bane is not a boy, he is all man, and I’m falling, crashing, drowning in his sweet, perfect lies.

Jesse Carter

Hot as hell, cold as ice.

I wasn’t aware of her existence until a fat, juicy deal landed in my lap.

She’s a part of it, a little plaything to kill some time.

She is collateral, a means to an end, and a side-bonus for striking a deal with her oil tycoon stepdad.

More than anything, Jesse Carter is a tough nut to crack.

Little does she know, I have the f****** teeth for it.

EXCERPT

Bane

Then.

A liar.

A con.

A godless thief.

My reputation was a big wave that I rode, one that swallowed everyone around me, drowning every attempt to fuck with what’s mine.

I’d been known as a stoner, but power was my real drug of choice. Money meant nothing. It was tangible, and therefore easy to lose. See, to me, people were a game. One I’d always known how to win.

Move the rooks around.

Change the queen when necessary.

Guard the king at all fucking times.

I was never distracted, never deterred, and never jealous.

So, imagine my surprise when I found myself being all three at once.

It was a siren with coal black hair who robbed me of riding the biggest wave I’d seen that summer. Of my precious attention. Of my goddamn breath.

She glided from the ocean to the beach like nightfall.

I crouched down, straddling my surfboard, gawking.

Edie and Beck stopped beside me, floating on their boards in my periphery.

“This one’s taken by Emery Wallace,” Edie had warned. Thief.

“This one’s the hottest masterpiece in town.” Beck had chuckled. Con.

“More importantly, she only dates rich bastards.” Liar.

I had all the ingredients to pull her in.

Her body was a patch of fresh snow. White, fair, like the sun shone through her, never quite soaking in. Her skin defied nature, her ass defied my sanity, but it was the words on her back that made my logic rebel.

It wasn’t her curves or the way she swayed her hips like a dangling, poisonous apple that warranted my reaction to her.

It was that tattoo I had noticed when she swam close to me earlier, the words trickling down the nape of her neck and back in a straight arrow.

My Whole Life Has Been Pledged to This Meeting with You

Pushkin.

I only knew one person who went gaga over the Russian poet, and, like the famous Alexander, he was currently six feet under.

My friends began to paddle back to shore. I couldn’t move. It felt like my balls were ten tons heavy. I didn’t believe in love at first sight. Lust, maybe, but even that wasn’t the word I was looking for. No. This girl fucking intrigued me.

“What’s her name?” I snatched Beck’s ankle, yanking him back to me. Edie stopped pedaling and looked back, her gaze ping-ponging between us.

“Doesn’t matter, bro.”

“What’s. Her. Name?” I repeated through a locked jaw.

“Dude, she’s, like, way young.”

“I will not repeat myself a third time.”

Beck’s throat bobbed with a swallow. He knew damn well that I didn’t mess around. If she was legal—it was on.

“Jesse Carter.”

Jesse Carter was going to be mine before she even knew me.

Before I even knew her.

Before her life turned upside down and her fate rewrote itself with her blood.

So here was the truth that even my lying ass wouldn’t admit later on in our story—I wanted her before.

Before she became business.

Before the truth caged her in.

Before the secrets gushed out.

I never did get to surf that day.

My surfboard broke.

Should have known it was an omen.

My heart was going to be next in line.

And for a small chick, she did one hell of a fucking job obliterating it.

BANE_AVAILABLE NOW

Download today or read FREE in Kindle Unlimited!

Amazon US I Amazon Universal

Add to GoodReads

1I'm not afraid (1)

Start the Series of Standalones Today!

Vicious

Amazon US I Amazon Universal

Add to GoodReads

About LJ Shen

LJShenL.J. Shen is an International #1 best-selling author of Contemporary Romance and New Adult novels. She lives in Northern California with her husband, young son and chubby cat.

Before she’d settled down, L.J. (who thinks referring to herself in the third person is really silly, by the way) traveled the world, and collected friends from all across the globe. Friends who’d be happy to report that she is a rubbish companion, always forgets peoples’ birthdays and never sends Christmas cards.

She enjoys the simple things in life, like spending time with her family and friends, reading, HBO, Netflix and internet-stalking Stephen James. She reads between three to five books a week and firmly believes Crocs shoes and mullets should be outlawed.

Connect with LJ Shen

Facebook I Twitter I Pinterest I Instagram I Website

Stay up to date with LJ Shen by signing up for her mailing list

 

 

 

No matter how hard the blub tries …. It can not convey what really is going on in this book.

I read a bunch of books by this author and even I was not prepared for THIS

 

Loving the writing style of LJ Shen it was no secret that I needed to read this book – but what surprised me was that her writing style was again stronger and bolder than before (like that was even possible?!?) We def. reached the point in “our reader/writer relationship” where I can say without a doubt “until further notice this author has reached ONE-CLICK status”

 

Bane the male lead and eponym of the book was an asshole (no nice way around the truth) but his view upon himself is pure and honest and I loved it. And it didn’t hurt that his description simply sounded delicious. Also I am pretty sure that I know the exact moment when I fell in love with him. Its no spoiler just now as you have no idea of the context but it happens on the birthday of the female lead … when he looks up from under his hoodie – you will understand when you get to that point.

 

I know precisely what it was about this book that made it so special and made me want to read on and on … it was the way the author allowed the reader to look into the male leads mind.

 

His “thoughts” were simply unique.  It made you wish that the world was full of assholes – if they all could be like him.  My kindle is full of markings – did you know that there is a maximum that one can mark in one book ? – well I reached it .

 

Then there is Jesse, I could tell you so many things about her, yet it would never be enough so I will simply say that I think she is one of the strongest female leads I read so far. Also very unique in a way.

The plot was also so much more than you might have imagined at first look. The depth was overwhelming and I had to stop at times to take a breath – But I could never stop for long because the book was like a beacon. And then there were the surprises the story had in store for the reader – so never feel to save … never assume you know what will happen – because it probably won’t be what you thought.

 

So in short

READ THIS BOOK ITS EPIC

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Crazy Madly Deeply by Lily White

 

 

Crazy Madly Deeply

  

 Crazy Madly Deeply
 Lily White
March 14th 2018

 

Holden sees things.
Lots of things.
Things we would call ugly, but he believes are beautiful.He paints sad pictures.
And strums lonely guitars.
He drowns out the taunting voices while shunning the expected norms.

I let them hurt him.
I wasn’t strong enough to speak out.
I hurt him, too, only to prove I wasn’t just like him.

But then I saw him.
I heard him.
I learned why Holden wasn’t CRAZY like they said.

I loved him MADLY.
I fell for him DEEPLY.
And alone, I decided to save a man who was the most beautiful of us all.

 

 

 

After only reading a few pages of Crazy Madly Deeply by Lily White I had a moment where I thought I made a mistake in choosing this book because there was something so different about the way the story was told.

 

I wasn’t sure if I would able to connect with the characters in the way they deserved. But something about the unfolding story kept me going and going … I passed my 3 chapter rule and continued to read.

 

Getting drawn into the plot I experienced the hurt and anger of the leads. I suffered with them and I was shocked how the story developed. At the outskirts of my mind I am reminded of another story that might have been totally different yet in a way expressed the same devastation to me. That story was “Split” by J.B. Salsbury and if you read that Book I am pretty sure you can imagine where my mind is going.

 

I am not sure actually what or how much I can tell you about this plot because I went into it blindly not knowing anything except the Blurb and I would recommend to other readers to do the same.

 

Just be prepared for it to be a darker

Be prepared for it to hurt

Because you won’t be prepared for what will happen

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Only You by Melanie Harlow

 

 

Only You

  

Only You
Melanie Harlow
March 12th 2018

 

Nate Pearson is ridiculously handsome and wears the hell out of a suit and tie, but I’ve seen the parade of beautiful women leaving his apartment across the hall—a different one every time—and I want no part of it. When it comes to romance, I’m looking for something real, something that will last: the happily ever after.

As a divorce attorney, he loves to tell me there’s no such thing.

As a wedding planner, I choose to disagree.

We disagree on almost everything, in fact. Everything except James Bond. The only time we really get along is when we’re watching 007 flicks together, and I’ll admit—he has rescued me from a disaster or five. So when one of the baton twirlers from his parade leaves a baby girl at his door with a note that says “I’ll come back for her” and he begs me for help, I can’t turn him down.

But it’s a mistake.

Because watching him with his daughter, I start to see another side of Nate, a side that has my breath coming faster, my body craving his, my heart longing for him to change his mind about love and tell me there’s a chance for us.

I don’t want to be just another girl leaving his apartment in the morning.

I want to be the one he asks to stay.

 

 

 

I think Only You by Melanie Harlow is the best friends to lovers romance I read in a long time.

 

Creating a bridge from friends to lovers is not an easy feature I believe when it comes to writing a book. Simply because the reader has to believe what is happening and to find something that changes a situation that drastically is not as easy as it might seem.

Melanie Harlow did a great job at that.

 

She describes two leads that are so different that it is really a miracle in itself that they are connecting so well as friends. But somehow she pulls it off. And even more I could connect to the leads really well. The authors writing style allowed it to understand what they were thinking and follow the story.

 

The plot itself feels believable in a strange kind of way. Meaning while it might be rare that it could happen – I would still believe that IF it happened it would be like she described it … (If that makes any sense to you) …

 

Well written, great characters and a solid plot are all the ingredients that I needed to really like this book and it will be all you need to do the same.

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Untamed by Kira Blakely

Untamed by Kira Blakely

 

September 23, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

  Untamed

 

 Kira Blakely

 

 

 

 March 17th 17  

 

 

 

 

 

 Falling prey to a lion! Nathan Landers, New York’s, hottest, most eligible… womanizer… just strolled up and started kissing me.He said it was to hide from another woman, but the kiss lasted too long to be fake.His passion, his lips, those muscular arms wrapped around my waist. It was enough to make my knees buckle and my cheeks catch on fire.I try to escape him. But I can’t resist. I fight his power at first. But it’s useless. I’m the prey, and he’s the predator.And once I’ve felt what it’s like to be in his clutches, I don’t mind being devoured.This novella is a fun, fast-paced steamy treat with a happily ever after, no cliffhangers and no cheating! 

 

 

 

 

 

This Story was a crazy and joyful ride. I would have never guessed that I would enjoy this so much. I am known for not being a fan of INSTA anything but this story really drew a picture that worked. There were moments that I could not relate to the characters but the total was really well done. While I felt the characters could have been a tad deeper they still held enough background to relate to them. I did not like everything in the development of their relationship but it was well constructed and I can recommend this book to others – so enjoy.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

To the Fall by Prescott Lane

 

 

To the Fall

  

 To the Fall
 Prescott Lane
June 05th 2017

 

You know the story.  
Boy meets girl, they fall in love, two kids, white picket fence.  
This isn’t that story.  

This is more like…  
Man meets woman.  Man sleeps with woman.  
Man meets another woman, sleeps with her.  
And so on.  You get the idea.

I own a small boutique hotel in New Orleans, the Kingston.  I’ve seen men do some stupid stuff in the name of the woman they love, or at least the woman they love for the night.  

That’s not me.  I’m always in control.  You’d be surprised how much you can get away with on just good manners and a smile. It’s the only way to keep my secrets safely locked away.

And my smile hides a lot.  Until her.

She turns me down flat.  Playing hard to get is my favorite game.  It’s the thrill of the chase.  

Only problem is, I think it’s me that’s getting caught.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Accidental Tryst by Natasha Boyd

 

Accidental Tryst

  

 Accidental Tryst
Natasha Boyd
 March 6th 2018

 

 

A new standalone, sexy, romantic comedy! Meet Trystan Montgomery. Suit monkey, commitment-phobic serial dater. No more than three dates, unless he hasn’t … you know.

Emmy:
What a disaster! I only just made my flight to New York to help my uncle, and the phone I’m holding is not mine! It seems to belong to some commitment-phobic serial dater who’s never made it past four dates (according to the constant notifications he’s getting from his fake dating profile…) And worse? I have a sinking feeling it’s that hot suit-monkey with the arctic grey eyes I just had a run-in with at the airport. Somehow I have to persuade him not to get a new phone until I get back. My whole life is on that phone. It’s only a few days. Surely we can handle it.

Trystan :
This is a joke, right? My life could not get more f*cked up. I’m in the middle of selling my company and on my way to a funeral and that hot mess hippie-chick stole my freaking phone. I’m not sure how she convinced me not to immediately walk into a smart phone store and get a new one, but now she’s going to have to play stand in and distract me while I deal with my long-avoided and estranged family. I don’t have my dating apps after all, and frankly she’s pretty funny. And sexy. And why can’t I stop texting her? And now we’re talking. And … look, I’ll admit that I usually run for the hills the morning after, but the morning after phone sex? That’s not really real, right?

 

 

 

Lately I found that I really enjoy those “switch-my-phone-with-a-stranger” romances a lot – so it was a “No-Brainer” that when one of my GO-TO Authors releases a book in that area I had to read it. And what else can I say except that I loved it ….

 

Natasha Boyd takes a theme that has been used in other romances but as she did in Eversea she approaches it different than other authors making it feel fresh. After reading the first few pages I could even picture a cast for the movie … because somehow in my mind I ended up right in the middle of “Two Weeks Notice” with Sandra Bullock – please do not ask me why but that’s just how my brain works.

 

Where most of those “phone-mix-up” novels tend to bring the leads together after only a few chapters Ms. Boyd keeps her leads apart for a really long time and it made the tension thick and the plot believable.

 

I mean lets be honest in times of Facebook and Social Media there always comes that moment when you wonder if a person, that you feel close to but never met in person, would be just as you imagine.

 

Or just think about how easy it is to tell someone you never met and most probably never will meet secrets you would not even share with your best friend.

And be honest while you ask yourself that question.

 

When you place aside the fact of the money this whole story could happen at anytime anywhere and that is what makes this story good.

 

My favorite Moment ? The Moment when they actually meet (not the first time … #hahaha but the first time for real) That moment was a written masterpiece that left my heart beating …

And my favorite Quote (amongst at least a dozen others) “The Suit-Monkey isn’t wearing a suit anymore” (or something along the lines of that)

 

When you are looking for something romantic and funny,

When you love well-written characters that give as good as they take …

You should read Trystan and Emmys’ story

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

1 2 3 73
error: Content is protected !!