Tags

, ,

Heartthrob (Hollywood Hearts, #1) by Belinda Williams

 
 

May 21, 2017

 

reviewed for

 

Jeri’s Book Attic

 
 

 

 

Title :              Heartthrob

Author :           Belinda Williams

Series :            Hollywood Hearts, #1

Release date :   November 10th 2016

Rating :           5 Stars

 

 

Blurb : Can an average girl survive Hollywood? Ally Valenti doesn’t belong in Hollywood. Not like her friend and actress, Lena Lyons. Lena’s convinced Ally to pursue her dreams of fashion design, starting with some gowns for the awards season. Which Ally will get around to creating as soon as she can stop looking at Jacob Swan, Lena’s latest co-star. Not that she’s staring. Ally’s skeptical of anything celebrity and it’s not like she’d be pathetic enough to fall for a Hollywood heartthrob. Then Ally learns there’s more to Jacob than his good guy, all-American persona. She finds herself torn between the desire to get to know him better and her determination to stay out of the limelight. Of course the media has other ideas—and someone doesn’t like all the attention Ally’s getting. When threats aimed at destroying her fashion career go too far, Ally’s convinced she’s living in crazy town. The sensible thing would be to retreat home before it all ends in spectacular fashion. But will Ally be leaving more than her dreams behind if she says goodbye to Hollywood? This glamorous, fast-paced contemporary romance that will make you smile, is perfect for fans of Rachel Gibson, Victoria Dahl, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, and Liliana Hart.

 

Review : Lets talk about surprises – well I had one …. When I read Heartthrob by Belinda Williams. The plot sounded interesting but I am a very visual person and I need a cover to speak to me which in case of this book – IT DID NOT … In fact when I read the Blurb I thought this book had a 50:50 chance ending up as a DNF because judging from the cover and adding the blurb it felt like it would be one of those “Fluffy, cotton candy romances” …

 

Hence my surprise … when I found the story having an unusual POV on Hollywood life and a depth that made me question my first impression. Adding the fact that it all felt so real I was in for an interesting journey. After I finished this really great read I was left with the feeling that this is a story that might actually happen in real life.

 

Except the cover my only complaint would be Jacobs actions towards the end of the novel .. during the whole book he seemed to “be” so much better than the shallow fake façade that is Hollywood – but in those few moments he kind of destroyed that view on him. But anyway the unique POV on an often used plotline deserves 5 stars and I can hardly wait to read the second book – as I already have a pretty good idea who will feature it.

 

reviewed by