ARC’s

3 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Blog Tour – So Good (An Alpha Dogs novel) by Nicola Rendell

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3322.PNG

 

AP new - synopsis.jpg

On the roof of a house outside Truelove, Maine, master carpenter Max Doyle looks down through a skylight and sees the most beautiful woman he’s ever laid eyes on. She’s naked, she’s gorgeous, and everything about her is perfect, down to the ball-busting tattoo of a rose that wraps around her hip. But it isn’t just any woman making his knees buckle. It’s his best friend, Rosie Madden. And as he stands there, mesmerized and precariously close to toppling off the roof, he knows he’ll never, ever be able to look at her the same way again.

Rosie can’t help but notice that Max is suddenly acting very strange—lots of long stares, totally tongue-tied, and not at all like the slightly cocky hunk she’s proud to call her best friend. She can’t figure it out, until later that night when Max rescues her from the world’s worst date, challenges her to a game of pool, and shows her just exactly what she’s got him thinking about. Repeatedly.

But life is complicated. Rosie’s cat, Julia Caesar, wants to eat Max’s dog Cupcake for an afternoon snack. A dream job threatens to pull them apart. And another glance through the skylight changes everything, one more time. Yet try as they might, they can’t go back to being just friends, because falling in love with the one you’ve always adored?

It feels so good.

 

Max

As I unlocked the door to my houseboat, I heard it. At first, it sounded like a duck paddling, but then I heard something else—a panting, or a gasping. For a second, it died down. It didn’t worry me, really, because the docks were full of weird noises, and boats were noisy as fuck. But I turned the deadbolt turned, the sound got louder and more frantic. Whatever it was, it didn’t sound good and it sure as hell didn’t sound like a duck. I let my work belt slide off my shoulder onto the deck, and looked down in the water, gripping the taffrail. There in the shadows, gasping, paddling, and panicking, I saw something small and wet and terrified.
​Holy fuck. It was a dog. A tiny, drowning dog.
​Fully clothed, boots on, I jumped into the water off the sternside. I plunged in deep, submerged in a world of shadowy barnacle-crusted dock pilings and chains holding anchors far below. Holding my breath and looking up toward the sunshine, through the bubbles that came down with me, I saw it. No bigger than a chicken, and kicking hard. I breaststroked toward the dog, aiming to come up right below it, but the salt water stung my eyes, and I closed them out of reflex. When I surfaced, it had gotten a few feet away. It was just a tiny thing, soaking wet, sucking in terrified breaths. It doggy-paddled in circles, slipping down into the water so that only its nose was above the surface. I did one strong breaststroke, but it was in full flight-or-fight mode, absolutely fucking petrified, and it paddled away from me, slipping out of my grasp. With one more big stroke, I had it, and I scooped it up into my arms to held her up out of the water, the way people do when the hold babies in the air. I saw it was a girl, her tummy soft and much less furry than the rest of her. Her big black eyes bugged out for an instant, and then…
She went limp in my hands. Lifeless, with her feet dangling down, her tongue hanging out. Her eyes were closed. On my palm, I couldn’t feel a heartbeat where I was sure there should have been one thrumming along.
​Fuck. Fuck.
​I gave her a shake, but she dangled like a rag doll.
I held her out of the water, keeping her in a tight bicep curl over my shoulder. Carefully, I maneuvered under the jetty that led to my boat. I got a toehold on the old dock ladder, rusty and unsteady. Using one hand to climb up, and using both boots like climbing picks, I emerged from my boat’s shadow and out into the sunshine of the dock. I laid her down on her back, supporting her lifeless body. With every passing millisecond, my heart fucking broke more and more. I could not let this happen. I could not let her die. I pulled myself up all the way and knelt beside her. She was flat on her back, with no signs of life at all. Her arms were limp at the wrists, and her paws dripped onto the dry wood beneath her. Still, her tongue hung out. Still, her eyes were shut. Still, she wasn’t breathing.
Somewhere, buried deep in my memory, I remembered learning the basics of canine CPR. I felt like maybe it was in my lifeguard class when I was in high school, but I didn’t fucking know and it didn’t fucking matter. All I knew was I had to do something, and fast. So I did. I wrapped my fingers around her tiny muzzle and brought my lips to her leathery nose. I blew gently, and as I did I felt her chest swell up. I held my own breath and prayed for anything, any sign of life, but there was nothing. Lightly, with the tips of my fingers, I did compressions on her soaking wet fur. One. Two. Three. And then I did another breath. One. Two. Three.
“Come on, little lady,” I whispered, and rolled her onto her side. I gave her a few pats, firm but not too hard. She was absolutely tiny—from scruff to tail, hardly bigger than the span of my hand. I rolled her over onto her back again and gave her one more breath, all the while going through the paces of what the fuck to do if this didn’t work. I had no goddamned idea whatsoever where the vet was. Did we even have a vet? Would she survive that long? What the fuck was I going to do?
But as I started the next set of compressions, she coughed. She actually coughed, like a tiny person, a gasping choking hack, accompanied by a few mouthfuls of water spilling out onto the wood planks.
Holy shit.
I froze with my hands just above her tiny body. Her strange, buggy eyes opened up and she started panting hard.
“Hey, hey!” I scooped her up in my arms, cradling her to my chest. I could tell by the way she was so limp against me that she was exhausted. Keeping her close to my body, to keep her warm and safe, I scratched the fur at the back of her neck, her tail started to wag. But she was also shivering hard, and I didn’t like that one bit.

 

 

 

AP  new -about the author.jpg

 

Nicola Rendell writes dirty, funny, erotic romance. She likes a stiff drink and a well-frosted cake. She is at an unnamed Ivy and prefers to remain mostly anonymous for professional reasons. She has a PhD in English and an MFA in Creative Writing from schools that shall not be named here. She loves to cook, sew, and play the piano. She realizes that her hobbies might make her sound like an old lady and she’s totally okay with that. She lives with her husband and her dogs. She is from Taos, New Mexico.
Author Links

 

ArdentProse_LogoMain.jpg

 

 

 

For Keeps.

A sweet, sexy, witty friends to lover’s story.

I really like Ms. Rendell’s writing style she sucks you in with her writing and the characters that she has created. And I will be reading her other books as well.  

Max and Rosie have been friends for going on twenty years. Not once did they recognise that they could be anything more than friends.

That is until…

Max catches Rosie and sees her in a light he thought he never would. Things will never be the same. They cross the line. A sweet romance of getting to know your best friend differently.

Can you really be friend zoned for twenty years and then become a couple?  I guess but it would be hard to shake off that mentality after so long unless those feelings were always there but had been ignored all this time. As you can tell I’m having problems here.

I love both the MC and they are really good together. They have all the makings of a perfect couple.

As I said I enjoy this book but I wanted more story. Different strokes I need some action not a lot but I always find it hard when it is solely about the couple. But this is just me.  I love Julia Caesar and her SPAM addiction. A good alpha hero with a miniature dog called Cupcake.  

Romantic comedies aren’t always my thing but I do like to give them a try. I was really enjoying it at the beginning and then the jokes and banter were just going on and on. So yeah I liked it and I didn’t BUT if you like romance comedies than this is the book for you.

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF RELEASE REVIEW

Review – The Haunting of Alcott Manor by Alyssa Richards

The Haunting of Alcott Manor Book Cover The Haunting of Alcott Manor
Alyssa Richards
suspense/paranormal
Self published
1st August 2017
ebook

She has a gift. His family has a past. Can they solve a century-old mystery… together?

Gemma doesn't miss working for the family business. She has a knack for restoring older properties, but after a vicious haunting nearly killed her, she was more than ready to move on. Gemma agrees to one last job to save her parents’ business, but the 1880s historical estate has its fair share of dark secrets…

Henry Alcott wants nothing more than to free the spirit from his family’s property. Ever since the original owner was wrongfully convicted of murder and sentenced to death, the ghost has made sure every restoration effort was a miserable failure. But there’s something about Gemma that makes Henry believe in a much brighter future…

Gemma and Henry must solve a hundred-year mystery to complete the restoration in time. Failure to do so could cost Gemma’s parents their business, but staying in the house could cost them much, much more…

The Haunting of Alcott Manor is a contemporary gothic paranormal romance. If you like fateful chemistry, engaging characters, and mysteries that keep you guessing until the very end, then you’ll love the first book in Alyssa Richards’ chilling new series.

 

Solely based on what I’ve read I give this book 3 Stars.

I won’t say at what mark I stopped but all I can say when it comes to the book it is me. All me. The beginning starts of strong and the author sucks you into the book and you need to know more and you need it as quick as possible.

I was enjoying the spooky aspect of everything but then the main characters meet and on the same day they had sex. For some of you this won’t be an issue but it was for me. I felt as if there wasn’t any chemistry between the couple and was under the impression they didn’t like one another.

As to the plot of Alcott Manor? Brilliant, spooky and interesting until it got too spooky for me and creepy. Not to mention I was home alone last night so not a good time to read a Gothic Romance. I nearly stuck my kindle in the freezer. I myself am a firm believer and have had experiences I can’t explain and reading it during the day won’t help because night time will come soon enough. My hat off to the author to scarring the bejesus out of little old me.

Nevertheless I can recommend this book even if it isn’t my type of book.

Book received in exchange for an honest review.

5 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

SBPRBanner-JEM-TF-BT

The Forbidden
by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Publication Date: August 8th, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Romance

The Forbidden, an all-new story from Jodi Ellen Malpas is available now!!

TheForbidden

Annie has never experienced the ‘spark’ with a guy-that instant chemistry that renders you weak in the knees. That is, until a night out brings her face to face with the dangerously sexy and mysterious Jack. It’s not just a spark that ignites between them. It’s an explosion. Jack promises to consume Annie, and he fully delivers on that promise.

Overwhelmed by the intensity of their one night together, Annie slips out of their hotel room. She is certain that a man who’s had such a powerful impact on her must be dangerous. She has no idea that he belongs to another. That he’s forbidden.

💛 A Note From The Author 💛

“The Forbidden” is exactly that. Not allowed. Prohibited. Banned. At least, that’s what society says. But what about your heart? It took a massive leap of faith for me to put these words on paper. I’ve always said that I write what my heart tells me to write, not what people want me to write. Never has my own motto been so significant in my writing career. I questioned my sense when I came up with the idea of The Forbidden. Then I reminded myself of my motto, of my heart’s desire, and my heart really wanted to tell this story, despite knowing that it might not be what people expect from me. I couldn’t let my fear of the taboo subject matter dictate my writing. So I dove right in—no holding back, no inhibitions, no softly-softly approach. The Forbidden is controversial. I’ve no doubt it’ll cause debate, and I’m cool with that. As a writer, you accept that what you send out into the world is going to be picked apart, sometimes for the good, sometimes for the bad. This story is about the conflict. The feelings. The questions. It’s about the heart ruling the head. I ask you to go into it with an open mind, and please remember that it is a story. One of passion, of love, and of heartache. It’s about falling in love with the wrong person at the wrong time. Because it happens. Every single day. But above all of that, it’s about being true to yourself and your heart. It’s about finding your soulmate and fighting for them. It’s about standing by what you believe in. And we all believe in true love.

JEM x

JEM-TF-AN

Read Today!

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2wxldGo

Amazon UK: https://goo.gl/higox5

iBooks: https://goo.gl/Z182zB

Nook: https://goo.gl/3GdHzy

Kobo: https://goo.gl/zoM2ZQ

Add to GoodReads: https://goo.gl/1qjL9E

Photo of sensual kissing couple

About Jodi:

Jodi Ellen Malpas wrote her debut series, The This Man Trilogy, in secret, worried about what people might think if they knew what her imagination was capable of. She was shocked herself. But she finally found the courage to unleash her creative streak and self-published THIS MAN – the first book of the This Man Trilogy – in October 2012. She took a chance on the story with a hero who soon became one of modern day fictions most prolific alpha male characters. Jesse Ward – also affectionately known as The Lord of The Manor, sparked incredible reactions from women across the globe and catapulted Jodi into the world of women’s fiction.

Jodi went on to self-publish the second book in the trilogy, Beneath This Man in Jan 2013, just before Grand Central Publishing, part of the Hachette Book Group, picked up the popular trilogy and the unknown Jodi. The third book of the trilogy, This Man Confessed, took Jodi to the top of the bestsellers lists, earning her the proud title of #1 New York Times Bestselling Author. This Man has since been voted one of the top romance novels of all time.

With so much love, enthusiasm and a thirst for her words from her readers, Jodi suddenly wasn’t afraid of her imagination anymore. She went on to write The One Night Trilogy with the delectable and mysterious Miller Hart, and stole the hearts of her readers once again. Her first stand-alone novel, THE PROTECTOR, released in September 2016 and has since been nominated for a Reviewers’ Choice Best Book Award. Jodi’s next stand-alone novel. THE FORBIDDEN, is set for release in August 2017.

All seven of her published novels have hit the New York Times best sellers list – as well as the Sunday Times list and various international best seller lists. Her work is now published in over 24 languages across the world.

Jodi was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys and a beagle. She is a self-professed daydreamer, a mojito addict, is famous for her obsession with Converse, and has a terrible weak spot for Alpha Males. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters has become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers

JEM LOGO - Copy

Connect with Jodi:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JodiEllenMalpas/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JodiEllenMalpas

YouTube: https://goo.gl/2kGLbt

Instagram: http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/instagram/

http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/home/

Bookbub: bit.ly/JEM-BookBub

Movie News: bit.ly/JEM-Movies

 

 

 

The Before and After of The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

 

Actually this is the first time I am doing something like this. And maybe I will crumble this electronical paper into a ball and dispose it later on to start a normal review but for now this is the way it is going to be.

 

The Before ….

 

As you can never “unsee” / “unhear” or “unknow” anything I have to start writing now .. while it is still “before”. When a book is titled “The forbidden” – the Blurb tells you it is “forbidden” and the author opens the book with a warning well then there is actually only a few “excuses” to read on … one being the obvious, which is curiosity and the other is the love for the writing of a specific author.

 

I was fangirling when I saw this author has a new book coming out – I was sure I wanted to read the book. Then I saw the blurb and I was starting to get intrigued … I mean who doesn’t like a most probably (knowing the author) well written book.

 

So when you are offered to read the book early who is going to say NO – well not me obviously. But then you open the book and you see this warning and well lets say now right this moment I am scared. I love this author so I will read the book but I was thinking what if my oppinon changes once I know “IT” … ?

 

That is when I decided this is going to be a before and after review

I started reading and I have to admit the writing is as solid and developed as I expected no surprises here. And I loved the way the book opens to introduce us to the leads (well at least I assume they are the leads) …

 

My mind starts to swirl on what could be forbidden … thoughts pop up and already disappear as I mentally check them as “not that is not the reason” … and the list is getting shorter and shorter…

 

I get the attraction the leads have for each other and Ms. Malpas is doing great in getting that across to the reader – so whatever happens next well – for now I get what is going on.

During my lunchbreak I had the chance to read a little further –

 

Ms. Malpas describes the connection between the leads in a way that I can almost feel myself what those characters describe as their chemistry – it feels of the charts. I really do get it and I also get the reason why the female lead acts the way she does. What I don’t get are her tears at a certain moment – they make no sense as they look to others as if something happened that she did not want …

 

But back to my list of reasons to be forbidden – it  is very short now and that is why I started writing here … Maybe it is something totally different. Something that has not crossed my mind yet.

 

And if it is not – there are many ways to maneuver in a dangerous territory but still I admit to being scared because whatever happens next might cross the line of triggers I have … Will I be able to read on ? Will I like it ?

 

Anyway the inevitable is coming closer I can sense it – I read a line that indicated a revelation is nearing

 

So any minute now I might enter the line of “after” – and it is no joke or game for me – there are already reviews that I could have read to find out what happens but I didn’t do that – I am maneuvering blind…. Let’s head for

 

The After…

 

 

I am there – to be precise I am at 75 % probably heading for the finale … so I thought I’d drop a line here again …

 

What I am thinking – well … actually Ms. Malpas brought it down to one line and it was like

“Cause our Symptom” ….

 

As I did not read any reviews that are already out there I have no idea how much of the story has been disclosed – so I will stay true to my ways and try not to spoiler.

What I am feeling though is simply two things that could not be further apart from each other if they wanted.

 

Yes it was one of the triggers I feared but actually I get it … I am not going to disclose on the reasons of WHY I get it – because for one they would be of a private nature. Secondly, Ms. Malpas writes them in a way that almost everyone that is not ice-cold (or has a stick where it should not be) should be able to relate to the situation.  

 

My reasons for this situation being a trigger will never change because it simply is one …but as always in life there are two sides. And for every black and white there is also a gray and I think this trigger is a sort of gray. Gosh I never thought I would ever say this but there might actually be a situation when this gray is acceptable. But only as long as the leading characters are looking for a solution. And I am not moving from this PoV … this kind of Gray can never be the grand finale …

 

I have some ideas what the last 25 % will bring and I assure you my thoughts are not pretty lets see how you get this mess sorted out Ms. Malpas – shall we ?

 

The End

 

There are many things I could tell you now but all of them would either spoiler to much of the story or would hit to close to the home of my trigger. So I will stay with this being the most emotional book from Ms. Malpas for me since the “grand finale” of the “this man” trilogy.

I am pretty sure Lovers of her writing style will not be disappointed as she remains true to herself. But I am also pretty sure that there will be a bunch of people that will have a problem with the plotline and its triggers and will therefore not like the book. But if you like the writing style up to the moment when the trigger occurs I can only ask those people to remain open and try to feel for the leading characters. Place yourself in their position …. try to answer yourself one question … if you would be in that position could you continue your original path – the path before you met – knowing it was not the right one – for the rest of your life ? knowing you have only ONE LIFE …. Being human means making mistakes – but why does it have to be the new decision that is the mistake – couldn’t it also be the old one ?

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

SBPRBanner-JEM-TF-RB.jpg

The Forbidden
by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Publication Date: August 8th, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Romance

The Forbidden, an all-new story from Jodi Ellen Malpas is LIVE!!

TheForbidden

Annie has never experienced the ‘spark’ with a guy-that instant chemistry that renders you weak in the knees. That is, until a night out brings her face to face with the dangerously sexy and mysterious Jack. It’s not just a spark that ignites between them. It’s an explosion. Jack promises to consume Annie, and he fully delivers on that promise.

Overwhelmed by the intensity of their one night together, Annie slips out of their hotel room. She is certain that a man who’s had such a powerful impact on her must be dangerous. She has no idea that he belongs to another. That he’s forbidden.

JEM-TF-ReviewBlurb-RTBookReviews

Read Today!

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2wxldGo

Amazon UK: https://goo.gl/higox5

iBooks: https://goo.gl/Z182zB

Nook: https://goo.gl/3GdHzy

Kobo: https://goo.gl/zoM2ZQ

Add to GoodReads: https://goo.gl/1qjL9E

RDBlitz

About Jodi:

Jodi Ellen Malpas wrote her debut series, The This Man Trilogy, in secret, worried about what people might think if they knew what her imagination was capable of. She was shocked herself. But she finally found the courage to unleash her creative streak and self-published THIS MAN – the first book of the This Man Trilogy – in October 2012. She took a chance on the story with a hero who soon became one of modern day fictions most prolific alpha male characters. Jesse Ward – also affectionately known as The Lord of The Manor, sparked incredible reactions from women across the globe and catapulted Jodi into the world of women’s fiction.

Jodi went on to self-publish the second book in the trilogy, Beneath This Man in Jan 2013, just before Grand Central Publishing, part of the Hachette Book Group, picked up the popular trilogy and the unknown Jodi. The third book of the trilogy, This Man Confessed, took Jodi to the top of the bestsellers lists, earning her the proud title of #1 New York Times Bestselling Author. This Man has since been voted one of the top romance novels of all time.

With so much love, enthusiasm and a thirst for her words from her readers, Jodi suddenly wasn’t afraid of her imagination anymore. She went on to write The One Night Trilogy with the delectable and mysterious Miller Hart, and stole the hearts of her readers once again. Her first stand-alone novel, THE PROTECTOR, released in September 2016 and has since been nominated for a Reviewers’ Choice Best Book Award. Jodi’s next stand-alone novel. THE FORBIDDEN, is set for release in August 2017.

All seven of her published novels have hit the New York Times best sellers list – as well as the Sunday Times list and various international best seller lists. Her work is now published in over 24 languages across the world.

Jodi was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys and a beagle. She is a self-professed daydreamer, a mojito addict, is famous for her obsession with Converse, and has a terrible weak spot for Alpha Males. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters has become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers

JEM LOGO - Copy

Connect with Jodi:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JodiEllenMalpas/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JodiEllenMalpas

YouTube: https://goo.gl/2kGLbt

Instagram: http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/instagram/

http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/home/

Bookbub: bit.ly/JEM-BookBub

Movie News: bit.ly/JEM-Movies

 

 

The Before and After of The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

 

Actually this is the first time I am doing something like this. And maybe I will crumble this electronical paper into a ball and dispose it later on to start a normal review but for now this is the way it is going to be.

 

The Before ….

 

As you can never “unsee” / “unhear” or “unknow” anything I have to start writing now .. while it is still “before”. When a book is titled “The forbidden” – the Blurb tells you it is “forbidden” and the author opens the book with a warning well then there is actually only a few “excuses” to read on … one being the obvious, which is curiosity and the other is the love for the writing of a specific author.

 

I was fangirling when I saw this author has a new book coming out – I was sure I wanted to read the book. Then I saw the blurb and I was starting to get intrigued … I mean who doesn’t like a most probably (knowing the author) well written book.

 

So when you are offered to read the book early who is going to say NO – well not me obviously. But then you open the book and you see this warning and well lets say now right this moment I am scared. I love this author so I will read the book but I was thinking what if my oppinon changes once I know “IT” … ?

 

That is when I decided this is going to be a before and after review

I started reading and I have to admit the writing is as solid and developed as I expected no surprises here. And I loved the way the book opens to introduce us to the leads (well at least I assume they are the leads) …

 

My mind starts to swirl on what could be forbidden … thoughts pop up and already disappear as I mentally check them as “not that is not the reason” … and the list is getting shorter and shorter…

 

I get the attraction the leads have for each other and Ms. Malpas is doing great in getting that across to the reader – so whatever happens next well – for now I get what is going on.

During my lunchbreak I had the chance to read a little further –

 

Ms. Malpas describes the connection between the leads in a way that I can almost feel myself what those characters describe as their chemistry – it feels of the charts. I really do get it and I also get the reason why the female lead acts the way she does. What I don’t get are her tears at a certain moment – they make no sense as they look to others as if something happened that she did not want …

 

But back to my list of reasons to be forbidden – it  is very short now and that is why I started writing here … Maybe it is something totally different. Something that has not crossed my mind yet.

 

And if it is not – there are many ways to maneuver in a dangerous territory but still I admit to being scared because whatever happens next might cross the line of triggers I have … Will I be able to read on ? Will I like it ?

 

Anyway the inevitable is coming closer I can sense it – I read a line that indicated a revelation is nearing

 

So any minute now I might enter the line of “after” – and it is no joke or game for me – there are already reviews that I could have read to find out what happens but I didn’t do that – I am maneuvering blind…. Let’s head for

 

The After…

 

 

I am there – to be precise I am at 75 % probably heading for the finale … so I thought I’d drop a line here again …

 

What I am thinking – well … actually Ms. Malpas brought it down to one line and it was like

“Cause our Symptom” ….

 

As I did not read any reviews that are already out there I have no idea how much of the story has been disclosed – so I will stay true to my ways and try not to spoiler.

What I am feeling though is simply two things that could not be further apart from each other if they wanted.

 

Yes it was one of the triggers I feared but actually I get it … I am not going to disclose on the reasons of WHY I get it – because for one they would be of a private nature. Secondly, Ms. Malpas writes them in a way that almost everyone that is not ice-cold (or has a stick where it should not be) should be able to relate to the situation.  

 

My reasons for this situation being a trigger will never change because it simply is one …but as always in life there are two sides. And for every black and white there is also a gray and I think this trigger is a sort of gray. Gosh I never thought I would ever say this but there might actually be a situation when this gray is acceptable. But only as long as the leading characters are looking for a solution. And I am not moving from this PoV … this kind of Gray can never be the grand finale …

 

I have some ideas what the last 25 % will bring and I assure you my thoughts are not pretty lets see how you get this mess sorted out Ms. Malpas – shall we ?

 

The End

 

There are many things I could tell you now but all of them would either spoiler to much of the story or would hit to close to the home of my trigger. So I will stay with this being the most emotional book from Ms. Malpas for me since the “grand finale” of the “this man” trilogy.

I am pretty sure Lovers of her writing style will not be disappointed as she remains true to herself. But I am also pretty sure that there will be a bunch of people that will have a problem with the plotline and its triggers and will therefore not like the book. But if you like the writing style up to the moment when the trigger occurs I can only ask those people to remain open and try to feel for the leading characters. Place yourself in their position …. try to answer yourself one question … if you would be in that position could you continue your original path – the path before you met – knowing it was not the right one – for the rest of your life ? knowing you have only ONE LIFE …. Being human means making mistakes – but why does it have to be the new decision that is the mistake – couldn’t it also be the old one ?

 

3 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Review – Leave The Night On by Laura Trentham

Leave The Night On Book Cover Leave The Night On
Cottonbloom #4
Laura Trentham
Contemporary Romance
St. Martin's Press
1st August 2017
ebook/Kindle Edition/Paperback
350

Love, betrayal, and sweet revenge--life in Cottonbloom is about to get a whole lot hotter . . .

Sutton Mize is known for lavishing attention on the customers who flock to her boutique on the wealthy side of her Mississippi town. So when she finds a lace thong in her fiance's classic cherry-red Camaro, she knows just who she sold it to: her own best friend. In an instant, Sutton's whole world goes up in flames. . .

Wyatt Abbott has harbored a crush on Sutton since he was a young kid from the other side of the tracks. He witnessed Sutton's shocking discovery in the Camaro at his family-owned garage--and it made him angry. What kind of man could take lovely, gorgeous Sutton for granted? But then Sutton comes up with an idea: Why not give her betrothed a taste of his own medicine and pretend that she's got a lover of her own? Wyatt is more than happy to play the hot-and-heavy boyfriend. But what begins as a fictional affair soon develops into something more real, and more passionate, than either Sutton or Wyatt could have imagined. Could it be that true love has been waiting under the hood all along?

4 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Record of Wrongs (Redemption County #1) by Sharon Kay

 

 

Do your past mistakes define you forever?

Cruz Zaffino leaves prison after a serving a decade for a crime he didn’t commit. With his life all over the internet, there’s nowhere he can go to avoid his illicit past. Involved with one of Chicago’s toughest gangs, he made enemies bent on ruining everything he has. Nowhere is beyond their reach.

Every day, Rosie Marlow lives with the scars from the worst mistake of her life. It’s the one secret she has in her tiny, gossip-fueled town. When Cruz walks into her bar, covered in tattoos and dangerous attitude, she’s captivated. His rough sexuality makes her melt, and his harsh experience calls to her own broken soul. But her story is private and buried so deep, she’s never had the strength to share it.

She’s the unexpected light to his darkness, yet he knows she’s hiding something. Sultry summer nights in each other’s arms weaken her resistance and taunt her with the idea of forever. But as his adversaries draw close, can she love him enough to let him go?

 

Every Saint has a past and every sinner has a future. – Oscar Wilde –

What a great start to the series. This was so good. It had everything that kept my heart beating. Well balanced angst, downright filthy with a side dish of sweet.

Cruz threw a dart on a whim to start a new life and landed in Sundown, Illinois. Population 782. A quaint town where everyone knows everyone.

He got a job, rented a house and could leave any time with no regrets. Just to start afresh. Trying to deal with ten years of prison for a crime he didn’t commit. He was exonerated. But those ten years are still gone. Things change when he goes out for a drink.

How in the hell had he been in this room for ninety minutes and not noticed her?

Rosie Harlow is the sweet country girl she works at the Sundown Bar and Grille. She’s taking life as it comes. And for the moment it’s going well until someone walks up to the bar. And for her things change as well.

Whoa. Her mind and body stopped. Froze. Her mouth may have dropped open. Because walking toward the bar, cutting path through the busy country cacophony, was a dark force of nature.

Despite the “don’t mess with me” attitude he is one of the good ones. The past stays no matter where you go. And for these two lovebirds it is no different. Rosie finds out about Cruz being an ex-inmate and being exonerated unfortunately from her brother but she still gives Cruz a chance.

Cruz realises that is path could have gone a different route. He dodged a bullet

Gang life, dodged a bullet. He is one of the good ones. A dark knight, an anti-Hero. He saves her and their lives become intertwined. Rosie has secrets and it is heart breaking what these two have gone through how they grow together and have something real special.

Ms. Kay got all the emotions spot on in the book. I love her writing style as well. She captivates you and pulls you into the story. Besides I’m a fan of small town romances everything has a slower pace.

I docked a star cause there were two things that I guessed that were going to happen. But it doesn’t make the story any less exciting and feel good as it was.

Book 2 – Shane and Becca Gable. And you know what? I can’t wait.

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND RELEASE REVIEW

Release – The Silent (Irin Chronicles #5) by Elizabeth Hunter

The Silent Book Cover The Silent
Irin Chronicles # 5
Elizabeth Hunter
Paranormal/Fantasy
Elizabeth Hunter
28th July
ebook/Kindle Edition/Paperback
336

They are called kareshta, the silent ones.
But the silent are waking.

Kyra has lived her life in the shadow of a powerful Grigori brother. She’s ignored her own desires for the good of her family, but an unexpected request from Thailand sends her on a mission that could change her life and alter the fate of free Grigori all over the world. Sons of the Fallen hidden in the mountains of Thailand have adapted an ancient human magic for their own purposes. Will this practice bring peace or lead to even greater danger for the Irin race?

A simple diplomatic mission sends Leo to Bangkok, but he didn’t expect to see a familiar face in surveillance photographs. He’s tried everything to drive Kyra from his mind, since he was convinced the gentle kareshta wanted to hide from the world. How did she turn up halfway across the globe, living with Grigori who may or may not be Irin allies?

Leo has bided his time. He’s given Kyra her space.

But this scribe is ready to hear a kareshta sing.

THE SILENT is a romantic fantasy, and the fifth book in the Irin Chronicles series.

 

 

Still the mind. Still the soul. Still the heart.

Kyra, one of the oldest Kareshta is in a gilded cage and the time has come for her to spread her wings and fly. Sent to Thailand on a mission to help others in her situation in return the they will help their fellow Grigori.

Kyra might seem demure but she is far from it. She has an inner strength that would rival any Irina. As the daughter of a cardinal angel she has her own powers but The Silent are still trying to find their voices. The Irina are skeptical to pass on the knowledge they have. The Rending broke a lot and it will take time to heal.

I had my difficulties with Kyra but through her development throughout the book she really started to stand out. I liked her and then I loved her but torn at the same time. She wanted to live the life she has to the fullest but she is on borrowed time.

Leo is sent to Thailand to open up communications between the Thailand Scribe house and the honorable Grigori. Finally, to his surprise he can get closer to Kyra.

Now Leo on the other hand I love Leo. He knows exactly what he wants. Kyra. And no one can stop him. He is badass with a soft and gooey center. He is absolutely adorable. I want my own Leo.

“I’m very large,” he said. “Damian says if I’m not thinking about it, I can mow through a room like an enthusiastic tank.” Kyra smiled. “I’ve never felt mowed down.” “I’m glad.”

Be still my beating heart. I wanted to wrap him up in a big bow and take him with me.

Leo & Kyra have been on a collision course for years now and the inevitable is finally happening. Each love that is created by Ms. Hunter between the main characters of the book is beautiful, unique and wonderful to experience.

Kyra is other. Leo’s heart ached for her. They try a relationship and although they are different it works. They are both vulnerable and inexperienced. Although though they are so different. Leo comes across as naïve but he is just very optimistic.

Throughout most of the books we made to believe that the Grigori are evil very few manage to lead an honorable life. But here a balance has been achieved. And I sympathize with Kostas, Sirius and the other honorable Grigori.

Beautifully written. Flawless writing and absolutely stunning. With each new book Ms. Hunter expands the Irin/Grigori world that flows well and isn’t stilted. That the possibilities here are endless. What I love about these books is that there is no other man/woman drama there is no room for as they are either mated or Reshon.

One of my favorite side characters? Vasu. There is something quite childlike about him but also mature if that makes sense. He talks in riddles and is hilarious.

“I’ll let Kyra know you’re thinking about helping her brother,” Leo said. “I’m sure she’d be grateful.” Vasu disappeared and reappeared as a cat that jumped on Leo’s lap. “You try to create obligation in me. It’s an interesting theory. I told them you were smarter than you appeared,” the cat said, curling up on Leo’s lap. “Now pet me.” “Are you serious?” Narrow claws dug into Leo’s leg.

What is to come next? What I would like to see? A Grigori male and an Irina. But I’m positive no matter what Ms. Hunter will knock me off my feet.

I do have one small thing to complain about. I hope that the plot will not be a constant throughout other books that are too come. Not that I don’t love her plots I just don’t want the author to get stuck in a rut.

Oh, and another thing when we introduced to Kenneth I swear that I heard his British accent in my head. Exactly what a Brit should sound like.

 

 

2 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Wallflowers: Double Trouble (Wallflowers Series #2) by C.P. Smith

 

 

Book #2 in the Wallflower Series. Recommend you read Book #1 to follow story.

“ ’Tis better to never have loved and lost than to live with the regret of your stupidity.” ~ Sienna Miller, Wallflower

They say you can’t teach an old dog new tricks, or in this case, Wallflowers to behave. Then again . . .

Sienna Miller spent her whole life being the odd woman out. Shunned and misunderstood by her family, she finally has a chance for a new start thanks to Calla and Poppy, her Wallflower sisters. Now all she needs is a Prince Charming.

Bo Strawn is a cop with a troubled past. He’s stubborn and set in his ways until a certain Wallflower shakes up his life for good. Bo’s finally got a shot at happily ever after. That is, he’s got a shot if he can solve a mystery surrounding the Wallflowers and keep his headstrong woman off the back of a horse.

Rated mature for language and sexual content.

 

 

Gonna keep it short and sweet. I love this author’s work. She writes alpha males and instalove like no other and I squeal with joy every single time. Alas this did not work for me. At all. I’ll tell you why.

The main characters aggravated me to no end. That it actually ruined the whole book for me. The heroine has no self-preservation. There is being stubborn and then there is being Sienna. The voice of reason once in a while? Cali from book one.

They went from one crazy situation to the next and didn’t learn from their actions.

As to the Hero of the book?

I wanted to love Bo but he just didn’t work for me and I wish he did. Not once did I feel as if he was in any way kind to Sienna. There were so many communication problems and before it could be discussed the both threw hissy fits. I was so annoyed.

The revelation at the ending was very surprising which will lead me to most likely read the third book I just hope that Poppy and Nate are a better match than the two in this book.

 

 

4 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Blog Tour – The Gift (The Butterfly Effect #1) by Margaret McHeyzer

Title: The Gift
Series: The Butterfly Effect #1
Author: Margaret McHeyzer
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Release Date: July 23, 2017

Blurb

I have something people want. I have something they cannot take or steal. I have something they’d kill for.
The something I have, isn’t a possession, it’s more.
Much, much more.
It’s a gift.
It’s part of me.
Purchase Links
99c for release day only!!!
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Trailer

Coming Soon
Releasing August 20, 2017
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Author Bio
NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER OF UGLY AND MISTRUST
**Write something worth reading**

I’m Margaret and I’m a self-published author.

Recently I was fortunate in obtaining New York Times best selling status on my YA/NA book – Ugly, and my YA book – Mistrust.

My last three books have been YA and I’m completely in love with the genre. I love being able to communicate with people through my words and stories.

My writing genres all differ, but the one thing I keep consistent is my heroines. All my female lead characters are strong, gutsy and not the ‘perfect’ woman. While my books all have romantic elements in them, they aren’t just about the romance. They’re about finding strength, acceptance and making life long connections.

I hope you enjoy my stories as much as I have while writing them.

Author Links

 

 

I have something people want. I have something they cannot take or steal. I have something they’d kill for.
The something I have, isn’t a possession, it’s more.
Much, much more.
It’s a gift.
It’s part of me.

 

 

No good deed goes unpunished.

Alexa learns that the hard way. After an emergency operation, the heroine suddenly starts having visions which she can’t explain. Helping that person gets her kidnapped and used. She either stays there or helps Jude or she gets to leave and everyone she loves will be killed.

I panicked at the beginning when I thought it was YA. But rest assured it goes more to the NA direction. I had to keep reminding myself at times when the heroine was being juvenile that she is only seventeen. But at times she came across as more mature. What others see as a gift is a curse. It brings her nothing but confusion, sadness and heartbreak.

I am really surprised in how great this book is. It’s a book where you don’t know where things are going. Where you have no idea, what is going to happen and it’s not annoying that you don’t know what is going on.  Full of surprises and suspense I really did enjoy it.

This is just me but as it is YA I can’t give it a full five stars and I find the first person POV difficult.

There is a cliffhanger and I have no clue when the next one The Curse will be out. Or even if I signed up for it. Even if I haven’t I really want to read The Curse.

 

 

4 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Blog Tour – Out of the Ashes (Maji #1) by L.A. Casey

Title: Out of the Ashes
Series: Maji, Book 1
Genre: Science Fiction, Romance

LA Casey brings her readers OUT OF THE ASHES — the first Sci Fi Romance book in a new series of sexy standalone novels. These other world alphas are looking for their perfect mates that can bring them to their knees… and human women fit their criteria perfectly.

For Nova, a twenty-three-year-old survivalist, wandering a barren wasteland was a lonely existence. But her day-to-day life was about to drastically change forever. Gone were the days when her only worries were rabid animals, augmented humans, the unforgiving scorching sun, and rogue watchmen. Now, Nova found herself faced with a new threat, and he was tall, grey, and horribly stubborn.

For Kol, a two-hundred-year-old daredevil, sailing the never-ending waves of deep space was a vast and thrilling life to lead. He had one objective on Earth—rescue as many human females as possible and return them to his home planet. It was supposed to be simple, but no one told Kol that a human female’s tongue could slice a male like a blade. His charge was short, strikingly attractive, and she talked way too much.

Nova wasn’t going to be kidnapped without putting up a fight, but Kol was more than ready to go toe to toe with her. These two species set out on a collision course that would redefine the phrase “The Big Bang” forever.

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA

I swayed from side to side as my pain and shock became too much for me. I focused my blurring vision dead ahead and made out six dark figures walking toward me. Six huge figures. When they stopped a few metres from me, they stared at me, and me at them. They were fully clothed in a black armour of some kind, and it only made them look that much more intimidating.

The man in the front said something in a language that didn’t sound of this planet, and without thinking, I stammered, “Wh-what?”

The man grunted and turned to his right and spoke to the person behind him in that same strange language.

“No,” the man behind replied in strained English. “We’ve practiced for weeks; you have not. You need to learn how to speak the human languages to make this mission easier, just until we fit them with translators of their own. Do what I told you to do. Repeat what your translator says through your comm, and the female will understand you like you can understand me right now. I’m not responding to you anymore unless you use this particular human language.”

With a defeated sigh, the large man turned back in my direction.

“I sa-said,” he rumbled in a bizarre accent as he switched to an extremely choppy version of English, pausing every couple of words as if he was trying to form them as he spoke. “What ‘re … you ‘oing … out … ‘ere?”

After he had spoken, he removed the mask that covered his face. The now well-lit area shone brightly on his face and revealed all I needed to know about him to be terrified. He had vibrant grey skin, dazzling violet eyes, and menacing sharp teeth with gold caps on them. That was the moment I dropped to the ground like a sack of potatoes and began tumbling into darkness.

“Why do fe-females … ‘eep ‘oing … dat ‘round me?” the Maji asked with a tired sigh.

Without missing a beat, the other voice said, “I told you that you were ugly. How many human females must faint before you until you realise that?”

L.A. Casey is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who juggles her time with her mini-me and writing. She was born, raised and currently resides in Dublin, Ireland. She enjoys chatting with her readers, who love her humor and Irish accent as much as her books.

Casey’s first book Dominic, was independently published in 2014 and became an instant success on Amazon. She is both traditionally and independently published and is represented by Mark Gottlieb from Trident Media Group.

Facebook | Twitter | Website | Instagram | Amazon | Goodreads

Subscribe to L.A. Casey’s Newsletter

 

 

 

 

For Nova, a twenty-three-year-old survivalist, wandering a barren wasteland was a lonely existence. But her day-to-day life was about to drastically change forever. Gone were the days when her only worries were rabid animals, augmented humans, the unforgiving scorching sun, and rogue watchmen. Now, Nova found herself faced with a new threat, and he was tall, grey, and horribly stubborn.

For Kol, a two-hundred-year-old daredevil, sailing the never-ending waves of deep space was a vast and thrilling life to lead. He had one objective on Earth—rescue as many human females as possible and return them to his home planet. It was supposed to be simple, but no one told Kol that a human female’s tongue could slice a male like a blade. His charge was short, strikingly attractive, and she talked way too much.

Nova wasn’t going to be kidnapped without putting up a fight, but Kol was more than ready to go toe to toe with her. These two species set out on a collision course that would redefine the phrase “The Big Bang” forever.

4 It’s the Maji Way Stars

The Earth is dying. For the first time in existence humans are the endangered species.

Our heroine Nova is totally kickarse she knows when she is in the wrong she has strong self-preservation which I loved and the author managed to balance her out well with dealing with what was going on being a strong and independent female and appealing to me as a reader.  Nova’s sarcastic comments are placed well and infuse humour throughout the book. Nova had a hard life on earth living in barren lands, being by herself and never being able to trust anyone for fear of being killed or worse sold into slavery.

 

The shipmaster Kol meet the tiny human female while out scouting no one knew why the Maji came only that they did. From the first moment, he sees the tiny human he feels a connection. But they also need her.

 

“Are you sure we’re compatible?” he asked Surkah without looking away from me. “She is very small.” What the fuck does that mean?

Kol lied by omission a lot of by omission But I also got why he did it there is also such a lack of communication which was really funny in places.

“Kol,” Mikoh said firmly, ignoring me completely. “Remember what we said? Offspring steps for the human females so we don’t scare them with their transition the Maji way.”

Trust is broken but it is also a learning curve for everyone. Nova thought that the one person she could trust was Surkah and turns out she couldn’t. But she was only following orders.

 

For all the technology that they have they still seem to be quite barbaric they love to fight with one another. The oldest brother Ezah is a little big shit stirrer. Although I would really like him to find his fated mate. He deserves it and I understood where he was coming from.

 

In the end, the world that has been created by the author of augmented humans, of original humans and of aliens is bloody brilliant. That we in the end with our greed and thirst for power killed our own planet is no surprise. Where another World War augmented against originals.

 

I really enjoyed this book it was tough going to begin with as I personally had to push past the first 12 % of the book. The narration of the world and how it had changed felt somewhat tedious. For all of you who are screaming world building at me believe me I get it. But if you are like me then tough it out because it is worth it.

 

There are a lot of books out there with the same premise, an alien race is mainly male populated and need females to continue their race. Human females are compatible and they are taken with their consent to live. Two thousand seven hundred females were saved. Looking for their intended.

Don’t think that there will be that many books though. What most don’t know the world that they inhabit is about to explode. This book has a strong emphasis on the survival of the fittest.

 

Now with some sci-fi romances the Heroes are quite human looking but here that isn’t the case and let me tell you something they are hawt. Fated mates so no cheating. Didn’t expect it to be any other way. No other woman drama.

 

Praise the Lord Ms. Casey didn’t overuse the word snicker in this book which she did in her other books. So, I am one happy bunny.

 

1 2 3 6