5 STARS

5 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

SBPRBanner-JEM-TF-BT

The Forbidden
by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Publication Date: August 8th, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Romance

The Forbidden, an all-new story from Jodi Ellen Malpas is available now!!

TheForbidden

Annie has never experienced the ‘spark’ with a guy-that instant chemistry that renders you weak in the knees. That is, until a night out brings her face to face with the dangerously sexy and mysterious Jack. It’s not just a spark that ignites between them. It’s an explosion. Jack promises to consume Annie, and he fully delivers on that promise.

Overwhelmed by the intensity of their one night together, Annie slips out of their hotel room. She is certain that a man who’s had such a powerful impact on her must be dangerous. She has no idea that he belongs to another. That he’s forbidden.

💛 A Note From The Author 💛

“The Forbidden” is exactly that. Not allowed. Prohibited. Banned. At least, that’s what society says. But what about your heart? It took a massive leap of faith for me to put these words on paper. I’ve always said that I write what my heart tells me to write, not what people want me to write. Never has my own motto been so significant in my writing career. I questioned my sense when I came up with the idea of The Forbidden. Then I reminded myself of my motto, of my heart’s desire, and my heart really wanted to tell this story, despite knowing that it might not be what people expect from me. I couldn’t let my fear of the taboo subject matter dictate my writing. So I dove right in—no holding back, no inhibitions, no softly-softly approach. The Forbidden is controversial. I’ve no doubt it’ll cause debate, and I’m cool with that. As a writer, you accept that what you send out into the world is going to be picked apart, sometimes for the good, sometimes for the bad. This story is about the conflict. The feelings. The questions. It’s about the heart ruling the head. I ask you to go into it with an open mind, and please remember that it is a story. One of passion, of love, and of heartache. It’s about falling in love with the wrong person at the wrong time. Because it happens. Every single day. But above all of that, it’s about being true to yourself and your heart. It’s about finding your soulmate and fighting for them. It’s about standing by what you believe in. And we all believe in true love.

JEM x

JEM-TF-AN

Read Today!

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2wxldGo

Amazon UK: https://goo.gl/higox5

iBooks: https://goo.gl/Z182zB

Nook: https://goo.gl/3GdHzy

Kobo: https://goo.gl/zoM2ZQ

Add to GoodReads: https://goo.gl/1qjL9E

Photo of sensual kissing couple

About Jodi:

Jodi Ellen Malpas wrote her debut series, The This Man Trilogy, in secret, worried about what people might think if they knew what her imagination was capable of. She was shocked herself. But she finally found the courage to unleash her creative streak and self-published THIS MAN – the first book of the This Man Trilogy – in October 2012. She took a chance on the story with a hero who soon became one of modern day fictions most prolific alpha male characters. Jesse Ward – also affectionately known as The Lord of The Manor, sparked incredible reactions from women across the globe and catapulted Jodi into the world of women’s fiction.

Jodi went on to self-publish the second book in the trilogy, Beneath This Man in Jan 2013, just before Grand Central Publishing, part of the Hachette Book Group, picked up the popular trilogy and the unknown Jodi. The third book of the trilogy, This Man Confessed, took Jodi to the top of the bestsellers lists, earning her the proud title of #1 New York Times Bestselling Author. This Man has since been voted one of the top romance novels of all time.

With so much love, enthusiasm and a thirst for her words from her readers, Jodi suddenly wasn’t afraid of her imagination anymore. She went on to write The One Night Trilogy with the delectable and mysterious Miller Hart, and stole the hearts of her readers once again. Her first stand-alone novel, THE PROTECTOR, released in September 2016 and has since been nominated for a Reviewers’ Choice Best Book Award. Jodi’s next stand-alone novel. THE FORBIDDEN, is set for release in August 2017.

All seven of her published novels have hit the New York Times best sellers list – as well as the Sunday Times list and various international best seller lists. Her work is now published in over 24 languages across the world.

Jodi was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys and a beagle. She is a self-professed daydreamer, a mojito addict, is famous for her obsession with Converse, and has a terrible weak spot for Alpha Males. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters has become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers

JEM LOGO - Copy

Connect with Jodi:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JodiEllenMalpas/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JodiEllenMalpas

YouTube: https://goo.gl/2kGLbt

Instagram: http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/instagram/

http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/home/

Bookbub: bit.ly/JEM-BookBub

Movie News: bit.ly/JEM-Movies

 

 

 

The Before and After of The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

 

Actually this is the first time I am doing something like this. And maybe I will crumble this electronical paper into a ball and dispose it later on to start a normal review but for now this is the way it is going to be.

 

The Before ….

 

As you can never “unsee” / “unhear” or “unknow” anything I have to start writing now .. while it is still “before”. When a book is titled “The forbidden” – the Blurb tells you it is “forbidden” and the author opens the book with a warning well then there is actually only a few “excuses” to read on … one being the obvious, which is curiosity and the other is the love for the writing of a specific author.

 

I was fangirling when I saw this author has a new book coming out – I was sure I wanted to read the book. Then I saw the blurb and I was starting to get intrigued … I mean who doesn’t like a most probably (knowing the author) well written book.

 

So when you are offered to read the book early who is going to say NO – well not me obviously. But then you open the book and you see this warning and well lets say now right this moment I am scared. I love this author so I will read the book but I was thinking what if my oppinon changes once I know “IT” … ?

 

That is when I decided this is going to be a before and after review

I started reading and I have to admit the writing is as solid and developed as I expected no surprises here. And I loved the way the book opens to introduce us to the leads (well at least I assume they are the leads) …

 

My mind starts to swirl on what could be forbidden … thoughts pop up and already disappear as I mentally check them as “not that is not the reason” … and the list is getting shorter and shorter…

 

I get the attraction the leads have for each other and Ms. Malpas is doing great in getting that across to the reader – so whatever happens next well – for now I get what is going on.

During my lunchbreak I had the chance to read a little further –

 

Ms. Malpas describes the connection between the leads in a way that I can almost feel myself what those characters describe as their chemistry – it feels of the charts. I really do get it and I also get the reason why the female lead acts the way she does. What I don’t get are her tears at a certain moment – they make no sense as they look to others as if something happened that she did not want …

 

But back to my list of reasons to be forbidden – it  is very short now and that is why I started writing here … Maybe it is something totally different. Something that has not crossed my mind yet.

 

And if it is not – there are many ways to maneuver in a dangerous territory but still I admit to being scared because whatever happens next might cross the line of triggers I have … Will I be able to read on ? Will I like it ?

 

Anyway the inevitable is coming closer I can sense it – I read a line that indicated a revelation is nearing

 

So any minute now I might enter the line of “after” – and it is no joke or game for me – there are already reviews that I could have read to find out what happens but I didn’t do that – I am maneuvering blind…. Let’s head for

 

The After…

 

 

I am there – to be precise I am at 75 % probably heading for the finale … so I thought I’d drop a line here again …

 

What I am thinking – well … actually Ms. Malpas brought it down to one line and it was like

“Cause our Symptom” ….

 

As I did not read any reviews that are already out there I have no idea how much of the story has been disclosed – so I will stay true to my ways and try not to spoiler.

What I am feeling though is simply two things that could not be further apart from each other if they wanted.

 

Yes it was one of the triggers I feared but actually I get it … I am not going to disclose on the reasons of WHY I get it – because for one they would be of a private nature. Secondly, Ms. Malpas writes them in a way that almost everyone that is not ice-cold (or has a stick where it should not be) should be able to relate to the situation.  

 

My reasons for this situation being a trigger will never change because it simply is one …but as always in life there are two sides. And for every black and white there is also a gray and I think this trigger is a sort of gray. Gosh I never thought I would ever say this but there might actually be a situation when this gray is acceptable. But only as long as the leading characters are looking for a solution. And I am not moving from this PoV … this kind of Gray can never be the grand finale …

 

I have some ideas what the last 25 % will bring and I assure you my thoughts are not pretty lets see how you get this mess sorted out Ms. Malpas – shall we ?

 

The End

 

There are many things I could tell you now but all of them would either spoiler to much of the story or would hit to close to the home of my trigger. So I will stay with this being the most emotional book from Ms. Malpas for me since the “grand finale” of the “this man” trilogy.

I am pretty sure Lovers of her writing style will not be disappointed as she remains true to herself. But I am also pretty sure that there will be a bunch of people that will have a problem with the plotline and its triggers and will therefore not like the book. But if you like the writing style up to the moment when the trigger occurs I can only ask those people to remain open and try to feel for the leading characters. Place yourself in their position …. try to answer yourself one question … if you would be in that position could you continue your original path – the path before you met – knowing it was not the right one – for the rest of your life ? knowing you have only ONE LIFE …. Being human means making mistakes – but why does it have to be the new decision that is the mistake – couldn’t it also be the old one ?

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

SBPRBanner-JEM-TF-RB.jpg

The Forbidden
by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Publication Date: August 8th, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Romance

The Forbidden, an all-new story from Jodi Ellen Malpas is LIVE!!

TheForbidden

Annie has never experienced the ‘spark’ with a guy-that instant chemistry that renders you weak in the knees. That is, until a night out brings her face to face with the dangerously sexy and mysterious Jack. It’s not just a spark that ignites between them. It’s an explosion. Jack promises to consume Annie, and he fully delivers on that promise.

Overwhelmed by the intensity of their one night together, Annie slips out of their hotel room. She is certain that a man who’s had such a powerful impact on her must be dangerous. She has no idea that he belongs to another. That he’s forbidden.

JEM-TF-ReviewBlurb-RTBookReviews

Read Today!

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2wxldGo

Amazon UK: https://goo.gl/higox5

iBooks: https://goo.gl/Z182zB

Nook: https://goo.gl/3GdHzy

Kobo: https://goo.gl/zoM2ZQ

Add to GoodReads: https://goo.gl/1qjL9E

RDBlitz

About Jodi:

Jodi Ellen Malpas wrote her debut series, The This Man Trilogy, in secret, worried about what people might think if they knew what her imagination was capable of. She was shocked herself. But she finally found the courage to unleash her creative streak and self-published THIS MAN – the first book of the This Man Trilogy – in October 2012. She took a chance on the story with a hero who soon became one of modern day fictions most prolific alpha male characters. Jesse Ward – also affectionately known as The Lord of The Manor, sparked incredible reactions from women across the globe and catapulted Jodi into the world of women’s fiction.

Jodi went on to self-publish the second book in the trilogy, Beneath This Man in Jan 2013, just before Grand Central Publishing, part of the Hachette Book Group, picked up the popular trilogy and the unknown Jodi. The third book of the trilogy, This Man Confessed, took Jodi to the top of the bestsellers lists, earning her the proud title of #1 New York Times Bestselling Author. This Man has since been voted one of the top romance novels of all time.

With so much love, enthusiasm and a thirst for her words from her readers, Jodi suddenly wasn’t afraid of her imagination anymore. She went on to write The One Night Trilogy with the delectable and mysterious Miller Hart, and stole the hearts of her readers once again. Her first stand-alone novel, THE PROTECTOR, released in September 2016 and has since been nominated for a Reviewers’ Choice Best Book Award. Jodi’s next stand-alone novel. THE FORBIDDEN, is set for release in August 2017.

All seven of her published novels have hit the New York Times best sellers list – as well as the Sunday Times list and various international best seller lists. Her work is now published in over 24 languages across the world.

Jodi was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys and a beagle. She is a self-professed daydreamer, a mojito addict, is famous for her obsession with Converse, and has a terrible weak spot for Alpha Males. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters has become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers

JEM LOGO - Copy

Connect with Jodi:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JodiEllenMalpas/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JodiEllenMalpas

YouTube: https://goo.gl/2kGLbt

Instagram: http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/instagram/

http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/home/

Bookbub: bit.ly/JEM-BookBub

Movie News: bit.ly/JEM-Movies

 

 

The Before and After of The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

 

Actually this is the first time I am doing something like this. And maybe I will crumble this electronical paper into a ball and dispose it later on to start a normal review but for now this is the way it is going to be.

 

The Before ….

 

As you can never “unsee” / “unhear” or “unknow” anything I have to start writing now .. while it is still “before”. When a book is titled “The forbidden” – the Blurb tells you it is “forbidden” and the author opens the book with a warning well then there is actually only a few “excuses” to read on … one being the obvious, which is curiosity and the other is the love for the writing of a specific author.

 

I was fangirling when I saw this author has a new book coming out – I was sure I wanted to read the book. Then I saw the blurb and I was starting to get intrigued … I mean who doesn’t like a most probably (knowing the author) well written book.

 

So when you are offered to read the book early who is going to say NO – well not me obviously. But then you open the book and you see this warning and well lets say now right this moment I am scared. I love this author so I will read the book but I was thinking what if my oppinon changes once I know “IT” … ?

 

That is when I decided this is going to be a before and after review

I started reading and I have to admit the writing is as solid and developed as I expected no surprises here. And I loved the way the book opens to introduce us to the leads (well at least I assume they are the leads) …

 

My mind starts to swirl on what could be forbidden … thoughts pop up and already disappear as I mentally check them as “not that is not the reason” … and the list is getting shorter and shorter…

 

I get the attraction the leads have for each other and Ms. Malpas is doing great in getting that across to the reader – so whatever happens next well – for now I get what is going on.

During my lunchbreak I had the chance to read a little further –

 

Ms. Malpas describes the connection between the leads in a way that I can almost feel myself what those characters describe as their chemistry – it feels of the charts. I really do get it and I also get the reason why the female lead acts the way she does. What I don’t get are her tears at a certain moment – they make no sense as they look to others as if something happened that she did not want …

 

But back to my list of reasons to be forbidden – it  is very short now and that is why I started writing here … Maybe it is something totally different. Something that has not crossed my mind yet.

 

And if it is not – there are many ways to maneuver in a dangerous territory but still I admit to being scared because whatever happens next might cross the line of triggers I have … Will I be able to read on ? Will I like it ?

 

Anyway the inevitable is coming closer I can sense it – I read a line that indicated a revelation is nearing

 

So any minute now I might enter the line of “after” – and it is no joke or game for me – there are already reviews that I could have read to find out what happens but I didn’t do that – I am maneuvering blind…. Let’s head for

 

The After…

 

 

I am there – to be precise I am at 75 % probably heading for the finale … so I thought I’d drop a line here again …

 

What I am thinking – well … actually Ms. Malpas brought it down to one line and it was like

“Cause our Symptom” ….

 

As I did not read any reviews that are already out there I have no idea how much of the story has been disclosed – so I will stay true to my ways and try not to spoiler.

What I am feeling though is simply two things that could not be further apart from each other if they wanted.

 

Yes it was one of the triggers I feared but actually I get it … I am not going to disclose on the reasons of WHY I get it – because for one they would be of a private nature. Secondly, Ms. Malpas writes them in a way that almost everyone that is not ice-cold (or has a stick where it should not be) should be able to relate to the situation.  

 

My reasons for this situation being a trigger will never change because it simply is one …but as always in life there are two sides. And for every black and white there is also a gray and I think this trigger is a sort of gray. Gosh I never thought I would ever say this but there might actually be a situation when this gray is acceptable. But only as long as the leading characters are looking for a solution. And I am not moving from this PoV … this kind of Gray can never be the grand finale …

 

I have some ideas what the last 25 % will bring and I assure you my thoughts are not pretty lets see how you get this mess sorted out Ms. Malpas – shall we ?

 

The End

 

There are many things I could tell you now but all of them would either spoiler to much of the story or would hit to close to the home of my trigger. So I will stay with this being the most emotional book from Ms. Malpas for me since the “grand finale” of the “this man” trilogy.

I am pretty sure Lovers of her writing style will not be disappointed as she remains true to herself. But I am also pretty sure that there will be a bunch of people that will have a problem with the plotline and its triggers and will therefore not like the book. But if you like the writing style up to the moment when the trigger occurs I can only ask those people to remain open and try to feel for the leading characters. Place yourself in their position …. try to answer yourself one question … if you would be in that position could you continue your original path – the path before you met – knowing it was not the right one – for the rest of your life ? knowing you have only ONE LIFE …. Being human means making mistakes – but why does it have to be the new decision that is the mistake – couldn’t it also be the old one ?

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND RELEASE REVIEW

Release – The Silent (Irin Chronicles #5) by Elizabeth Hunter

The Silent Book Cover The Silent
Irin Chronicles # 5
Elizabeth Hunter
Paranormal/Fantasy
Elizabeth Hunter
28th July
ebook/Kindle Edition/Paperback
336

They are called kareshta, the silent ones.
But the silent are waking.

Kyra has lived her life in the shadow of a powerful Grigori brother. She’s ignored her own desires for the good of her family, but an unexpected request from Thailand sends her on a mission that could change her life and alter the fate of free Grigori all over the world. Sons of the Fallen hidden in the mountains of Thailand have adapted an ancient human magic for their own purposes. Will this practice bring peace or lead to even greater danger for the Irin race?

A simple diplomatic mission sends Leo to Bangkok, but he didn’t expect to see a familiar face in surveillance photographs. He’s tried everything to drive Kyra from his mind, since he was convinced the gentle kareshta wanted to hide from the world. How did she turn up halfway across the globe, living with Grigori who may or may not be Irin allies?

Leo has bided his time. He’s given Kyra her space.

But this scribe is ready to hear a kareshta sing.

THE SILENT is a romantic fantasy, and the fifth book in the Irin Chronicles series.

 

 

Still the mind. Still the soul. Still the heart.

Kyra, one of the oldest Kareshta is in a gilded cage and the time has come for her to spread her wings and fly. Sent to Thailand on a mission to help others in her situation in return the they will help their fellow Grigori.

Kyra might seem demure but she is far from it. She has an inner strength that would rival any Irina. As the daughter of a cardinal angel she has her own powers but The Silent are still trying to find their voices. The Irina are skeptical to pass on the knowledge they have. The Rending broke a lot and it will take time to heal.

I had my difficulties with Kyra but through her development throughout the book she really started to stand out. I liked her and then I loved her but torn at the same time. She wanted to live the life she has to the fullest but she is on borrowed time.

Leo is sent to Thailand to open up communications between the Thailand Scribe house and the honorable Grigori. Finally, to his surprise he can get closer to Kyra.

Now Leo on the other hand I love Leo. He knows exactly what he wants. Kyra. And no one can stop him. He is badass with a soft and gooey center. He is absolutely adorable. I want my own Leo.

“I’m very large,” he said. “Damian says if I’m not thinking about it, I can mow through a room like an enthusiastic tank.” Kyra smiled. “I’ve never felt mowed down.” “I’m glad.”

Be still my beating heart. I wanted to wrap him up in a big bow and take him with me.

Leo & Kyra have been on a collision course for years now and the inevitable is finally happening. Each love that is created by Ms. Hunter between the main characters of the book is beautiful, unique and wonderful to experience.

Kyra is other. Leo’s heart ached for her. They try a relationship and although they are different it works. They are both vulnerable and inexperienced. Although though they are so different. Leo comes across as naïve but he is just very optimistic.

Throughout most of the books we made to believe that the Grigori are evil very few manage to lead an honorable life. But here a balance has been achieved. And I sympathize with Kostas, Sirius and the other honorable Grigori.

Beautifully written. Flawless writing and absolutely stunning. With each new book Ms. Hunter expands the Irin/Grigori world that flows well and isn’t stilted. That the possibilities here are endless. What I love about these books is that there is no other man/woman drama there is no room for as they are either mated or Reshon.

One of my favorite side characters? Vasu. There is something quite childlike about him but also mature if that makes sense. He talks in riddles and is hilarious.

“I’ll let Kyra know you’re thinking about helping her brother,” Leo said. “I’m sure she’d be grateful.” Vasu disappeared and reappeared as a cat that jumped on Leo’s lap. “You try to create obligation in me. It’s an interesting theory. I told them you were smarter than you appeared,” the cat said, curling up on Leo’s lap. “Now pet me.” “Are you serious?” Narrow claws dug into Leo’s leg.

What is to come next? What I would like to see? A Grigori male and an Irina. But I’m positive no matter what Ms. Hunter will knock me off my feet.

I do have one small thing to complain about. I hope that the plot will not be a constant throughout other books that are too come. Not that I don’t love her plots I just don’t want the author to get stuck in a rut.

Oh, and another thing when we introduced to Kenneth I swear that I heard his British accent in my head. Exactly what a Brit should sound like.

 

 

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

The Staff and the Blade (Irin Chronicles #4) by Elizabeth Hunter

The Staff and The Blade Book Cover The Staff and The Blade
Irin Chronicles # 4
Elizabeth Hunter
Paranormal/Fantasy
Elizabeth Hunter
12th July 2016
Kindle Edition
480

Warriors. Lovers. Enemies. Legends.

Their union became pivotal in Irin history, but to understand Damien and Sari's ending, you must go back to their beginning. Four hundred years ago, a young singer and a hardened warrior met and loved each other, but their life was torn apart by violence.

Love. Desire. Grief. Betrayal.

No matter how much pain and anger stain their lives, bonds in the Irin race cannot be abandoned. Damien and Sari will never truly leave each other, because those who are destined cannot be ignored.

The Staff and the Blade is a four part stand-alone book of approximately 480 pages. It is the fourth book in the Irin Chronicles.

DREAMS: Damien of Bohemia was a legend content to live in obscurity. Weary from a century of human and Irin bloodshed, he took shelter among those who would not question his silence or the martial spells he wore over his body. Until an earth singer of raw power and no delicacy came to the village where he hid. Sari of Vestfold wasn't intrigued by the mysterious warrior or his moody silences. And she wasn't interested in listening for the whisper of his soul. Even when those whispers promised a connection that could tie them for eternity.

GHOSTS: A new posting in Paris during Napoleon’s reign leads Sari and Damien back to familiar faces and the Council politics Damien has tried so hard to avoid. But the Irin world has changed in the two hundred years since their mating. The singers have become more isolated. The scribes are more martial. And the Grigori flood growing cities and lay in wait. When Sari’s sister envisions the future, she sees emptiness, chaos, and a darkness that threatens to overtake their world.

MEMORIES: Hidden from Irin society, the Irina have learned to take their revenge on the Grigori. They answer to no one. They ask for no mercy. And forgiveness? That’s the last thing on anyone’s mind. Two hundred years after the Rending, Damien and Sari are thrown together to face a new threat, a girl who might be key to the healing of the Irin race. If they can survive the anger and grief that has separated them for two hundred years.

VISIONS: The Irin and Irina are together again. Society is being rebuilt. But what do you do when the foundation of your world has crumbled? Where do you go when all the boundaries have been redrawn? For Damien and Sari, charting a new path into the future means confronting the demons of the past. They’ve forgiven each other, but can they forgive themselves?

 

 

 

 

 

I am going to TRY convey how amazing this book is.

Our journey spans from Orkney to London to Norway to Istanbul and Prague. It was so exciting experiencing these different parts of the world. An upbeat book with fast paced action not once did the book come across as being dull. A world created that is beautiful and wild but filled with violence and danger.

I was intrigued by Sari and Damien and the palpable feelings they had for one another when I read about them in book three, if I remember correctly but from the start it was clear that is an old love where the MC have a lot to overcome.

Damien of Bohemia was a legend content to live in obscurity. Weary from a century of human and Irin bloodshed. He lost so much that he needed two hundred years of solitude to heal. True healing started when his Reshon. Where the heaven has sent the other half but Sari doesn’t believe in fate.

Damien is one of the best Heroes that I have read this year. He came to life on each page. He is moody, mysterious and yet kind and compassionate.

Sari is an earth singer and is being sent to Scotland, Orkney to help the community there with the crops. Sari is unlike any other earth singer Damien has ever meet. He didn’t want to be attracted.

Sari is a fantastic heroine and my kind of heroine.

She was honest to the point of rudeness. – So true and so refreshing.

She is strong, compassionate, fierce and Damien’s equal.

Sari & Damien’s love spans of nearly 800+ years and oh my gosh was there love a beauty to watch how it blossomed and how it was heart wrenching to see it break. The Rending changed everything and the Irin race was divided. The Irina retreated, traps were laid and the death of so many in such a brief time. There was so much loss and heartache. But the book also included joy and happiness. Each word and sentence was emotional.  But it is also about forgiveness and grief and moving on.

All the characters came to life. I felt with them every step of the way. With Ms. Hunter’s writing, I was welcomed into their world. I was sucked in and I had no chance of fighting it. Damien and Sari are so different from one another and that is why they are so good together.

One thing did bother me Sari was being too stubborn and not bending she didn’t have to break but at least bend. But not enough to dock a star.

I can only recommend this series and maybe I am totally biased but it is worth it. Trust me. Famous last words. I have loved this author’s work since B & Gio. Each book has gotten better.

I was positive that Ms. Hunter couldn’t have been able to pull it off. As their love was woven around Ava and Malachi. I should never have doubted you. I quite frankly find it hard to wrap my mind around it as the couple is captured in the past, with a crossover into Ava’s story and to the future the after of revealing a thousand stars.

There are layers upon layers of complexity that even if you read it again and again you would still find something gripping and fascinating. Experiencing the characters emotions and not being bored.

There was humor to break up the tense interactions now sometimes some authors can’t get that balance right but it worked here and it worked well.

I don’t usually compare authors but if I had to then Ms. Hunter would be on par with Nalini Singh.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Spellbinder (Moonshadow #2) by Thea Harrison

 

 

 

 

From author Thea Harrison comes the latest story in the New York Times bestselling Moonshadow trilogy….

Kidnapped while on tour, musician Sidonie Martel is transported to the mystical land of Avalon. A human without magical ability, she is completely vulnerable to the deadly forces surrounding her.

When she defies her captors and refuses to share her music, an act of violent cruelty leaves her broken, her ability to play silenced, maybe forever. Her only hope is a whisper in the dark, gentle hands that offer healing, and a man who refuses to show her his face yet who offers advice she dare not ignore.

One of the most feared and powerful sorcerers in history, Morgan le Fae serves a Queen he despises, Isabeau of the Light Court. Once a famous bard and an advisor to kings, Morgan has been enslaved to Isabeau for hundreds of years, acting as enforcer and the commander of her deadly Hounds.

Sidonie’s music touches Morgan in places he had abandoned centuries ago, and her fiery spirit resurrects feelings he had believed long dead. For Sidonie, trapped in captivity, passion offers a comfort she cannot resist.

But Isabeau holds Morgan bound in magical chains that only Death can break. And in the court of a cruel, jealous Queen, the only thing that burns hotter than love is revenge…

 

The tale that told everything came down to just one thing. I fell in love, he thought, and smiled. It was a miracle, and despite everything he had been through, he felt blessed with having been given such a fortune.

Morgan Le Fae one of the most powerful sorcerer’s in Avalon. Of earth magic and spells. Is most certainly not the man he used to be.

Isabeau the Queen of the Light Fae Court trapped Morgan a very long time ago. The Queen used Azreal’s Athame to gain his unwilling allegiance. A geas has kept him bound to a woman he despises and hates. To do what she commands. He can’t do anything to stop it. But wording is always the key. He can skirt them but not defy them. The tide of the war has shifted and it is not in her favor. But the Queen makes a mistake.

“What use are you like this? Get out of my sight. I don’t want to see you again until you’re fully healed.”

Morgan is a very patient man. And so, he has his freedom for while at least. He escapes to figure out how to escape his entrapment. He lands in Glasgow.

Sidonie Martel one of the best music players in the world. Sid has no spark of magic at all which makes things difficult for her. A wealth of favors by the Djinn. Flowing with music she becomes the music.

Robyn the puck is up to no good and drags Sidonie into the mess. The Puck knows nothing but he is about to learn what he cannot see. There is no reasoning with the Puck. Kidnapped and given to the Isabeau, Sid’s nightmare begins. Her future uncertain. Never to play music again. When all is lost a man comes to help her

Morgan feels manipulated into helping Sid. But things start to change. They become close. He has wandered alone for a very long time but with Sid he has someone at his side.

I loved Morgan. He is a fantastic Hero and I felt for him and his entrapment and his loss of free will. That is main goal was always to break it.

Sid is also a totally kickarse female. She plays on her strengths where others only see weaknesses. She gets herself out of many an awkward situation. She is sly and cunning. Two attributes I like in a heroine.

This could have gone terribly wrong. Why do you ask? Well I requested the book before I read the blurb. I read the blurb and it is with Morgan Le Fae. Shocked I didn’t know how that was going to be pulled off after what I saw of him in the first book.

The plot is brilliant so unique and creative. The author has added layer upon layer of plot that there is no way that you can be bored with this book. I need more of this series. I know that Lionheart is next but I don’t know who it is about. Please hurry up Ms. Harrison.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Review – Sugar & Gold (Dreamcatcher #2) by Emma Scott

Goodreads Review

Nikolai Alexei Young was born with a special gift…one he’d do anything to lose. The heart and soul of every person he comes into contact with is an open book to his heightened senses. Colorful emotions, whispers of thoughts, the sour tastes of old memories…He feels them all. The sci-fi books would call him an empath. For Nikolai, his ability has made him an exile. He roams the U.S. alone, avoiding the glut of life in big cities, and using his innate talents to win money in underground poker games. Just enough to keep going, one town to the next. He has no hope that his life can be anything else, until he meets her…

At nineteen, Fiona Starling was trapped in an ugly, desperate situation until she freed herself the only way she knew how. Now three years later, living outside Savannah, Georgia, she is rebuilding her life on her own terms; seizing every moment and saving every penny so that she might fulfill her dream of moving to the raw wilderness of Costa Rica. But behind her carefree smile beats the heart of a lonely young woman haunted by her past, until a chance encounter with a tattooed stranger changes everything…

Fiona takes Nikolai under her roof for three sultry nights, waiting out the rain of a summer storm. She grows more and more fascinated by this brooding stranger with whom she shares an intense physical connection—a connection so strong, she wonders if there is something between them beyond lust and passion. Nikolai is shocked to discover that Fiona calms the raging turmoil in his heart. She alone silences the din of other people’s lives, and envelops him in the sweet beauty of her inner self. Every moment he’s with her—every touch of her skin—brings him closer to the peace that’s been eluding him his entire life.

But Fiona harbors secrets that she is too terrified to reveal. After Nikolai confesses his unique ability, she is caught between wanting to believe him and fearing he’ll eventually unearth her own dark past. When the unthinkable happens, Fiona’s plans come crashing down, and Nikolai discovers his hated ability might be the only thing that can save the woman he loves.

Nikolai walks through life with the attitude that we are all pawns and that life is a hoax and maybe it is or maybe it isn’t it really depends where one looks and for sure Nik has been looking in the wrong places. It’s not to be found in a cellar or a shed.  But at Club 91 where he finds pink kindness and compassion. He feels peace an unknown feeling. A want to keep it is so strong.

Fiona Starling is pure light, she has an innocence about her that no one can take away from her and she has fought so damn hard for it. No rules. Live out Loud. Find the sunshine.  She finds a whole lot more but there are choices that need to be made, which road to take and if a detour is worth it in the end.

The characters emotions come off the pages, be it the hopelessness of wanting something but thinking that one is undeserving of adapting of making the choice for yourself.

Wistful at times you feel the loneliness of the our characters and that fate intervened and gave one another each other in the most heart breaking yet equally soul lifting way. If there is one thing that can be the most rewarding and yet the most destroying in the world it is love. There is one love that tops all and that is unconditional love.

This started with a prologue which already set a tone for the book where you knew that this was going to be unique yet you were going to walk away with scars no matter how much you don’t. With each part of the book we all somehow have the devil inside us, the Doe should be saved by the Black Prince cause if not then where is the magic?

When you start a book by Ms. Scott it’s like a box of chocolates cause you never know what you are going to get. Sugar and Gold is the same. It took a lot out of me but it also gave me a lot but that is something I will be telling the author. It doesn’t belong here.

We have a story so complex and intricate that there is not one thing that I can see that specifically stood out to me but here it is the overall package, the book. In no way will my review ever do the book justice. Gosh there is so much I would love to say but somehow the words just don’t seem to come. They are there in my heart but they won’t compute to my brain let alone trying to get them from my brain down to my hands to type it.

So many shades, so many emotions, so many colours but only two count the most here pink and gold. Throughout the book I was beaten black and blue metaphorically speaking of course. My soul took a beating and I was slayed by the beauty of the story. The unfairness of life, yet the true depth that is shown when it comes to love and to hope.

Without a shadow of a doubt but this is a book that one must read with a slight touch of the mystic it is worth the 5 stars but different strokes and all that but take a chance. As I said box of chocolates peeps.

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Review – The Clover Chapel (Jamison Valley #2) by Devney Perry

Goodreads Review

She took a dare and fell in love. Truth would have been the smarter choice.

After years of living under her father’s thumb, Emmeline is ready to break free. She’s abandoned her life as a New York socialite to follow her dream of becoming a kindergarten teacher in a small, wholesome town. Seeing the man that nearly broke her was absolutely not what she had hoped to find in Prescott, Montana.

Nick hasn’t seen his Emmy in nine years, but that doesn’t mean he’s forgotten a thing about the woman he loves. After just one blissful night as man and wife, he gave her up, sacrificing his own happiness to keep her safe—far away from him. But the moment she walks back into his lonely life is the moment he decides never to let her go again. He won’t waste his second chance. All he has to do is win back Emmeline’s heart, keep her safe from the shadows in his past and prove to her that taking a wager on him is a sure bet.

Oh. So. Good. 

Life doesn’t always go as planned and for our heroine this is most certainly the case. After meeting the love of her life and him feeling the same let’s say fate intercepts well actually stupidity on the Hero’s part but I guess that is neither here nor there otherwise there wouldn’t be a book now would there? 

Emmy Austin is tired of her Upper East Side life in New York and working for her father’s company she has finally got her degree in teaching and is in Prescott, Montana to teach Kindergarten.  Leaving her boyfriend well fiancée of five years back in NY. But the relationship was more of convenience than anything else. Her one true love left her a long time ago.  

Nick Slater has always thought of what ifs in life and but Lady Luck is on his side and has given him a second chance and he fights Emmy for that second chance. 5 dates. To win her back. He moved from Colorado to Montana but could never be found. As the fire fighter in Prescott he has led a somewhat happy life to this moment.  

In my opinion he made up for the gap. He grovelled and Emmy made him grovel. Finally enough grovelling to feed my monster when people screw up. 

The one thing that I have to say is I mean seriously what are the odds that you pick the one town where you liked the school mascot and you see your husband who you have been looking for ten years even with a PI. I mean that is serendipity at its best. Kismet, karma, providence. DIVINE INTERVENTION. You name it they had it on their side from day one. 

I enjoyed the first book in the series but here the author has done an outstanding job of developing her writing style and the characters are loveable, down to earth and real.  I was rooting for this couple every step of the way and they deserve every ounce of happiness that they have. They are so good together and the sex is a steaming. And that last twist in the plot well didn’t see that a coming.  

This had a lot of pet peeves and yet I loved every hour, minute, second. 

Let me list my pet peeves: 

Pet Peeve 1: Second chance romances are NOT my thing. But I adore this book and the couple. They have something truly beautiful. I didn’t quite get Emmy’s logic but who am I to judge.

Pet Peeve 2: Our heroine was in a relationship, a flailing relationship nevertheless a relationship. They weren’t suited for one another. There was emotional cheating and a kiss but that didn’t bother me. Under normal circumstances I would have flipped my lid but there was so much heartfelt emotion I just couldn’t.  

Pet Peeve 3: Being married, separated and being with other people. But these two were always meant to be together. The others were just side notes in the story. IMO at least.  

I really do not see how I’m going to like Felicity, in book one she is a right mare and we didn’t see her at all in this book. Gonna be tough.  

If I had more than two thumbs then I would stick them up. A book to read and to enjoy. Take enough time to read it in one go because I felt gutted every time I had to put it down cause of RL.

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Review – Fierce Obsessions (The Phoenix Pack #6) by Suzanne Wright

Goodreads Review

When raven shifter Riley Porter was given sanctuary by the Phoenix Pack, she let them believe she had left her flock. Reluctant to divulge the secrets of her past, she was still embraced as family. Only Tao Lukas, the protective and passionate Head Enforcer of the pack, was resistant to the enigmatic shifter. Until Riley started to arouse in him something other than suspicion.

Tao doesn’t trust lone shifters, especially ones so guarded—and tempting. But the sexual tension between them is making them both come undone, and vulnerable to more than desire. All Tao wants is for Riley to stay with him and to trust him with the truth of her past.

As Riley’s mysteries come to light, so does a danger that threatens not only her life but the safety of the entire pack. For Tao, keeping Riley safe means keeping her close—forever—as his mate.

“You really should learn to control your anger better. Eighty-Eight percent of men with bad tempers end up with high blood pressure and die an early death.” “They do not.” “They could do.”  

I originally gave it 4 stars but what the heck I’ve bumped it up to 5 stars.  

Ms. Wright is the dog’s bollocks. It’s a compliment believe me. She is my one click. My go to author. My if the world is a being a fickle bugger she will get me out of my funk author. For me she is one of the best paranormal romance authors out there. With Fierce Obsessions, she absolutely got it right. 

I worship the ground you walk on. This author thinks out of the box when it comes to shifters. Wolves, wolves are everywhere but other shifters be it Marquay or in this case Ravens? Bloody brilliant I tell you. 

As a reader, I dread when an author sticks to the mold that they use. SW has taken on board not what not to do and has developed and expanded on the world that she has created and made a world different from other shifter romances. Fingers crossed for The Movement as a series. 

If you hadn’t guessed then I’m a total fan girl. So, sue me!  

I want to go into the plot of the story but I won’t what I can say is that it is gripping, in depth and unique naturally I loved every moment of it.  

Riley Porter is one of the best heroines that I have read in the series. She is a rock especially for the kids. She is ruthless, fierce, vengeful and so very over protective but has always tried to keep her distance from the pack.  

Times run out sweetheart.  

Tao Lukas, head enforcer has wanted Riley from the start although he has acted like he didn’t. Tao is so fucking sweet and yet a total badass he will protect all of his pack. Tao doesn’t like humans he doesn’t get them and he can be really mean.  

Together the chemistry is fierce. It is true opposites do attract. They have a fantastic rapport going on. I could go on and on about it but basically just read it.

 
5 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Review – Silver Silence (Psy-Changeling Trinity #1) by Nalini Singh

Goodreads Review

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh introduces a bold new chapter in her extraordinary paranormal romance saga with the Psy-Changeling Trinity series. Wild passion will encounter the darkest of betrayal…

Control. Precision. Family. These are the principles that drive Silver Mercant. At a time when the fledgling Trinity Accord seeks to unite a divided world, with Silver playing a crucial role as director of a worldwide emergency response network, wildness and chaos are the last things she needs in her life. But that’s exactly what Valentin Nikolaev, alpha of the StoneWater Bears, brings with him.

Valentin has never met a more fascinating woman. Though Silver is ruled by Silence—her mind clear of all emotion—Valentin senses a whisper of fire around her. That’s what keeps him climbing apartment buildings to be near her. But when a shadow assassin almost succeeds in poisoning Silver, the stakes become deadly serious…and Silver finds herself in the heart of a powerful bear clan.

Her would-be assassin has no idea what their poison has unleashed…

I loved every hour, minute, second, millisecond, every letter, word, sentence and paragraph in this book. This says it all really.

10++++ Be sneaky like a cat Stars.

Book 16 in the Psy/Changeling series and book 1 in the Trinity you’d think it couldn’t get any better? Well you are wrong.

I really do not know how Ms. Singh does but she is a genius. If I had to name a favourite series in the paranormal romance genre then this would be one of them the other one? The Guild Hunter Series. If you haven’t read the series then it is a must for 2017.

I had high hopes for this book and I my anticipation for it was high and I can say that I wasn’t disappointed. Psy/Changeling are my favourite types of couples. Basically I love shifters.

Valentin alpha of the StoneWater Bear Clan is persistent in courting his ice queen Silver Merchant. Ten months he has been courting her and it takes a poisoning to get Silver into clan territory.  This is one of the best clans there is because Bears.  Boisterous, love to party and well Bears. Especially the barnacle.

Several bears- in bear form- stand up on their back paws to dance. At least two were holding beer bottles in their paws. One had tinsel wrapped around his neck and was, for some unknown reason, wearing sunglasses.

Valentin is one of my favourite Heroes of this series.

Silver fucking Merchant protégé to the Merchant house. Director to the EmNet. She is one of the very few that needs silence as a pure telepath she also has a gift that is a curse. She is pure ice, ruthless and a true equal. And yet I still thought that she is a fantastic heroine. 

Silver and Valentin together. Epic. True mates and bloody awesome.

The Psy need the humans now more than ever. The plot is outstanding as per usual and although navigating new territory it doesn’t get boring. I was highly entertained the whole time throughout the book.  I was trying really hard not to let those tears out and the hubby caught me.

 

What I would love to see? BlackEdge (Wolves) & StoneWater (Bears) would be very cool Ms. Singh just saying. 

 

For the moment and the next one

 

5 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Review – Bombshell (Hollywood A-List #1) by CD Reiss

Goodreads Review

Hollywood bad boy Brad Sinclair always gets his way, whether it’s the role he wants or the bikini-clad model he has to have. But when a bombshell gets dropped in his lap in the form of a dimpled five-year-old from a forgotten relationship, he knows his life is about to change forever.

Cara DuMont isn’t exactly thrilled when she gets assigned to be the nanny for the latest box-office king. She has one rule: no celebrity fathers, especially single ones with devilish good looks and rock-hard abs.

But as soon as Cara meets Brad and his adorable little girl, she knows she’s in for a world of trouble. Because there’s something about the way Brad looks at her that makes her believe that some rules are meant to be broken…

Love can be found in the most unexpected places.

THIS. BOOK. HAS. EVERYTHING. I. LOVE. AND. MORE.

Brad Sinclair Celebrity actor near King of Hollywood. Originally from Redfield, Arkansas he is going places. A notorious playboy and the life of any party. His partying days are over when an adorable six-year-old left on his doorstep. What can I say about Brad? I loved him and hated him at the same time. He is selfish yet caring. An idiot who screws up. Old habits are hard to break but tries to make amends. With his charisma, he has no problem wooing and making you forgive him without realizing you and even if you don’t want to.

Cara DuMont is the best in the industry let me clarify that the best in the nanny industry. While helping a friend with a small blonde sweetheart with a toilet incident. She doesn’t want to be in the limelight and has tried to keep herself on the sidelines as much as possible. She doesn’t want the job but becomes the reluctant nanny. Her past has led her to believe that she doesn’t deserve certain things. She wants stability but Brad isn’t stable.

Cara is the help in Hollywood you don’t start anything with the help. Brad wants to be better for Cara and for his daughter. It is a balance of what people think to not caring what people think.

You can’t help but not fall in love with Cara and Brad. They are steaming together. They test the boundaries know that it is a good idea but weaken and break them to only go back to being what they were before. There was so much buildup with what was between them and that added more to the book. They really get to know one another and they start to change. They become an us and a family without realizing.

There are so many moments that I highlighted between the two that I have only picked two which really struck with me.

He was beautiful as ever, but starkly human. Flawed beyond belief. Emotional and broken. He needed me to fill his empty places and in letting me do that, he filled mine. – Cara –

“You’re my glue. You’ve made me bigger. Better. And you hold it all together. All my life. I’m nothing without you.” I squeezed his hand. “You were a good man before you met me.” “I was worthless.” – Brad –

Nicole Garcia is there are no words really to describe Nicole. She is bright, and meddling for her age. She knows what she wants and well she had all the important people wrapped around her little finger. Hell, I would have given her everything she would have asked for. At the beginning, I felt so sorry for her and her situation. But Cara sure did work her magic.

“Nice to meet you, Nicole. Wanna help clean this up? “Can we do my butt first?” “Great idea.” I liked this little one. Good thing I already had a job lined up or I could have fallen for her and her dad in a heartbeat.

If this is what goes on in Hollywood then I am happy that I live a normal life because it is just cray cray crazy. Bonkers, nuts.

This is one of the best books that I have read in a long time. It sucked me in. It made me want to drop everything and read it in one sitting alas RL got in the way. I had so many feels. I laughed, I smiled, I wanted more. The story is flawless and flowed so well. It is real and raw in places and I love that. I never knew what was going to happen which is an added bonus for me. Like Cara I went back and forth to liking him and the cussing him for being an arse.

A delightful read with an angst level I can deal with. There is an epilogue to the epilogue and it is freaking A-D-O-R-A-B-L-E.

I am so going to read Shuttergirl I want to know Michael’s story as well.

On a side note I personally consider Ms. Reiss to be an inspiration. After 24 years, yes you read right 24 years she got signed with Publisher. Now that is what I call dedication peeps and many of us can take a page out of that.