BOOKSHELF

4 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Perfect Illusion by Winter Renshaw

The Perfect Illusion by Winter Renshaw

 

October 18, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 The Perfect Illusion

 

 Winter Renshaw

 

 

  April 4th 2017  

 

 

 

 

 

It’s only pretend…

And it’s only three months.

I’m in the midst of scrawling “I QUIT!” onto his fancy cardstock letterhead when my boss corners me. He needs a favor, he says. And then he asks how well I can act …

Hudson Rutherford needs a fiancée.

With his old-moneyed parents forcing him to marry some bratty hotel heiress and his hedonistic, playboy lifestyle at stake, the only way to get them to back off is to make them think he’s truly, madly, deeply in love … with me—his third personal assistant this year.

But I can hardly stand working for him as it is.

Hudson is crazy hot and well-aware. He’s arrogant, spoiled, and silver-spooned. He checks me out when he thinks I’m not looking, and his life is a revolving door of beautiful women. Plus, he can’t even pronounce my name correctly—how’s he going to convince his family he’s in love with me?!

I’m seconds from giving him a resounding “no” when he flashes his signature dimpled smirk and gives me a number that happens to contain a whole mess of zeroes …

On second thought, I think I can swallow my pride.

But, oh baby, there’s one thing I haven’t told him, one teensy-tiny thing that could make this just a hair complicated …

Here’s hoping this entire thing doesn’t explode in our faces.

 

 

 

 

 

The Perfect Illusion by Winter Renshaw was not the first book by this author that I read and I really love her writing style.

 

She perfectly manages to draw you into the story that she presents you at that time. No matter where your mind was before but after 10 minutes you are in the story.

 

The Perfect Illusion is not different. Starting from 0 to 100 within 5 minutes you are thrown into a whirlwind of emotions that you have trouble keeping up until you finally reach a calmer water that lets your breath and think about what just happened.

 

Which brings me to the story and its leading character. I liked the characters – I can not say I LOVED them to be honest because I kind of stumbled over one or two things within the storyline that I either have to count as mayor character flaw of the leads or as glitch in the storyline.

 

One was that I could not really follow the female lead falling in love because it went to fast for my taste.

 

The other – and that was more serious – was that I had trouble digesting some reasoning’s that were uncovered as the story unfolded. They were explained but honestly they sounded childish in the concept of the whole storyline. More like something I would have expected from a YA novel and not from this book.

 

But anyway that is just my personal taste and others might see it totally different.

 

AND (and that is more important) it does not change my opinion on this authors writing – I love it – and as not every story can be a love at first sight – it would never stop me from picking up her next book at any given time.

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Ghost in His Eyes by Carrie Aarons

Ghost in His Eyes by Carrie Aarons

 

October 17, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Ghost in His Eyes

 

 Carrie Aarons

 

 

 

 

  April 23rd 2017  

 

 

 

 

 

He was as magnetic as a deadly hurricane to the shore.Carson Cole was my first love. The boy I’d shared my whole self with.He was the man who’d taken the other part of my soul and drowned it in the sea we’d grown up in.And now he’s back. Ten years later, and the demons of our past are still haunting every breath trapped between us.She was as wild as the horses who owned the beach highways we drove down.Blake Sayer was the beautiful daredevil who had me wrapped around her finger from the time we were seven.Until a horrible accident stole every piece of joy from her life.Ten years later, she’s a shell of the girl she once was, and it’s all my fault. The whispers of our history shackle her to the island I left behind.Just like lost years and unspoken words, love had slipped from our fingers like grains of sand. We’d barely made it out alive last time, was it even possible to reconstruct the shattered pieces of us?

 

 

 

 

 

While the plotline of Ghost in His Eyesby Carrie Aarons was enjoyable I still have to admit that I could not get into the story the way I wished I would have.

 

It took me a while to realize that it was the writing style that somehow disconnected me from the characters. And I really need to feel close to the characters to be able to give a good rating to the book.

 

Strangely there was so much emotion WRITTEN in the book but I could not feel it while reading.

 

Not long ago I read a book with a very similar plot and I could not help but compare the story as it progressed and here I felt it was very slow – to slow in fact.

 

The characters – especially the female lead seemed to wallow in their despair without any chance of moving forward. Also I felt it was suddenly a too fast (or too easy?) when it came to their HEA, with all the despair I would have expected more drama towards their goal.

 

So overall I have to admit that while I like a good second chance novel – this version will not be one of my favorites. But judging from the raving ratings I see I think the author does not need to worry about the reviews and I am just the odd one out here. So don’t mind me and enjoy this read.  

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BOOKPROMO RELEASE REVIEW

BURN FOR YOU by J.T. Geissinger

About BURN FOR YOU (Slow Burn #1)

Available October 17th

The marriage is fake. But for a sassy chef and an arrogant billionaire, the sparks are real… Jackson “The Beast” Boudreaux is rich, gorgeous, and unbelievably rude to the staff at Chef Bianca Hardwick’s New Orleans restaurant. Bianca would sooner douse herself in hot sauce than cook for Jackson again, but when he asks her to cater his fund-raiser, Bianca can’t refuse, knowing the cash will help pay her mother’s medical bills. Then Jackson makes another outrageous request: Marry me. The unconventional offer includes an enormous sum—money Bianca desperately needs, even if it does come with a contract—and a stunning ring.

The heir to a family bourbon dynasty, Jackson knows the rumors swirling around him. The truth is even darker. Still, he needs a wife to secure his inheritance, and free-spirited, sassy Bianca would play the part beautifully. Soon, though, their simple business deal evolves into an emotional intimacy he’s built walls to avoid.

As the passion heats up between them, Bianca and Jackson struggle to define which feelings are real and which are for show. Is falling for your fake fiancé the best happy ending…or a recipe for disaster?

Add BURN FOR YOU to your Goodreads list here!

 

Get your hands on BURN FOR YOU now!

 

See the BURN FOR YOU trailer:

 

About J.T. Geissinger

A former headhunter, J.T. Geissinger is the author of more than a dozen novels in contemporary romance, paranormal romance, and romantic suspense.

She is the recipient of the Prism Award for Best First Book, the Golden Quill Award for Best Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, and is a two-time finalist for the RITA® Award from the Romance Writers of America®. Her work has also finaled in the Booksellers’ Best, National Readers’ Choice, and Daphne du Maurier Awards.

Join her Facebook reader’s group, Geissinger’s Gang, to take part in weekly Wine Wednesday live chats and giveaways, find out more information about works in progress, have access to exclusive excerpts and contests, and get advance reader copies of her upcoming releases.

Website | Newsletter | Facebook | Geissinger’s Gang | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

 

The first book by JT Geissinger that I read left me speechless because of its depth and the desperation it emanates…. Not sure how long I cried and they were really ugly tears

 

So I was almost surprised (yet looking back I should not have been)  that this author is also able to mix that depth and emotion with humor … And OMG did she mix it … I can not remember laughing this hard in the last week.

 

You might also award this book with a gold star for the highest occurrence of figure of speech.

I cannot remember reading any book that this count of lines that left me laughing out loud … so

 #butter my bum and call me biscuit if there ever was another book like it …

 

For me as a bilingual person English is only my second language and I love those lines especially to compare them with equal ones in other languages – so yeah well I loved that book for this part alone.

 

Then there is the food … gosh – my mouth was watering and I will definitely try to make this cheesecake I love a good cheesecake … and maybe one or two other things also

#thank the gods for kindle marks

 

Looking at the plot the author created two wonderful characters who could not have been any more different … They were like night and day but I think one quote in the book covered the situation perfectly “#slap #slap #kiss”

 

Both had this amazing depth even if they came from totally different places they were described in such detail that it was so easy for me to feel with both of them – and I admit to wiping a stray tear from my eyes at certain points.

 

It really left me in awe of the writing of this author how she mixed severe topics with a banter that would make the ears of an experienced reader turn brightly red.  She mixed two worlds that looking at them separately seem like very unbendable.

 

If you loved previous books by this author you are going to adore this one – and if you do not know this author you will lover her after you read this book …

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Royally Screwed (Royally #1) by Emma Chase

Royally Screwed (Royally #1) by Emma Chase

 

October 16, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Royally Screwed

 

 Emma Chase

 

Royally #1

 

  October 18th 2016

 

 

 

 

 

 Nicholas Arthur Frederick Edward Pembrook, Crowned Prince of Wessco, aka His Royal Hotness, is wickedly charming, devastatingly handsome, and unabashedly arrogant; hard not to be when people are constantly bowing down to you. Then, one snowy night in Manhattan, the prince meets a dark haired beauty who doesn’t bow down. Instead, she throws a pie in his face.Nicholas wants to find out if she tastes as good as her pie, and this heir apparent is used to getting what he wants. Dating a prince isn’t what waitress Olivia Hammond ever imagined it would be.There’s a disapproving queen, a wildly inappropriate spare heir, relentless paparazzi, and brutal public scrutiny. While they’ve traded in horse drawn carriages for Rolls Royces, and haven’t chopped anyone’s head off lately, the royals are far from accepting of this commoner. But to Olivia, Nicholas is worth it.Nicholas grew up with the whole world watching, and now Marriage Watch is in full force. In the end, Nicholas has to decide who he is and, more importantly, who he wants to be: a King… or the man who gets to love Olivia forever.

 

 

 

 

 

I super enjoyed this read. There is a lot of cliché in the story that is for sure and I could see some strings to Books like “Princess Diaries” but I did not mind that at all.

 

The characters were enjoyable and the storyline was well developed and interesting.

 

And I totally did not see that “U-Turn” (if I may call it like that) coming – So the author got me there.

 

I am looking forward to pick up the next book of that series – I already have a suspicion about the leading couple.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

════  PLEASE SUBSCRIBE / LIKE / FOLLOW US  ════

Blog              : http://jeri-ryan.wix.com/jerisbookattic
FB Page       : https://www.facebook.com/JerisBookAttic
Twitter          : https://twitter.com/JeriTRyan
Goodreads   : https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/20537528-jeri
Bloglovin      : https://www.bloglovin.com/people/jerisbookattic-13468119

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Dane by Leddy Harper

Dane by Leddy Harper

 

October 15, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Dane

 

 Leddy Harper

 

  

 

 May 2017 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dane Kauffman:

 

Rich, smart, handsome, and selfless. He’s content with the direction of his life, until the moment he stares into her green eyes.

 

Eden Clare:

 

Determined, headstrong, and independent. Searching for a job, answers, and a purpose, she has no room for anything else. Until she glances in his direction. Crossing paths, tempting fate—Dane must make the ultimate decision. Sacrifice everything to get what he wants, or to continue to be benevolent.

 

 

 

 

 

There are moments when being a blogger that is supposed to be reviewing a book is a really hard thing. When you check my reviews for Leddy Harper you will know that I really love her writing and all of the books I read so far received good reviews.

 

SO…

 

Being honest here is a really tough thing for me but I can not help myself and with a small tear in my eye I must give this book a review of only 2 stars. It is not her writing style or the development of the story – all of that was terrific as usual. And it hurts to admit that…

 

As I usually avoid spoilers I also will not make an exception here as it is a main issue in the plot BUT my problem is : A main issue of the story is not mentioned in the blurb. And this issue would have been a reason for me NOT to choose this book for reading.

 

BUT as it is now – I read it and I am between a rock and a hard place… as I can not undo that fact. Every reader has a certain thing he loves, needs or refuses to read in a book.

 

Like needing a HEA , loving it when the leading character is an alpha male or refusing to read about BDSM. And I am pretty sure my issue will also be an issue for other readers and it should somehow be mentioned in the Blurb to avoid people like me choosing this book.

 

Gosh – dear author I really love your books and I hope you forgive me for this… But when a book has a disclaimer that it contains explicit sex I as a reader can not complain about to much sex – its my problem if I choose it.

 

But in this case – given the Blurb I read – I would have never expected this issue to arise so please forgive me for not liking the direction of this story

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

5 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Mister Moneybags by Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward

Mister Moneybags by Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward

 

October 14, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Mister Moneybags

 

 Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward

 

 

 

  April 8th 2017  

 

 

 

 

 

 A new standalone from New York Times bestselling authors Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward. I met Bianca in an elevator.She was on her way to interview me when we got stuck.The beautiful, raven-haired reporter assumed I was a delivery guy because of the way I was dressed.She had no clue I was really Dex Truitt, the wealthy, successful businessman she’d dubbed “Mister Moneybags”—her afternoon appointment. Bianca told me how much she hated Dex’s type—snobby, over educated, silver- spooned men who didn’t appreciate the simple things in life.So, after the elevator finally started moving again, I cancelled the interview and let her believe I was someone I wasn’t—a bike messenger named Jay. I loved the way she looked at the fake me and didn’t want it to end.I began dating her as “Jay”—all the while letting her interview the real me over email.I didn’t expect that our chemistry online would be just as hot. I didn’t expect the mess I’d gotten myself into.I didn’t expect that Jay and Dex would fall in love with her.And she was falling for two men. Only, both men were me. And when she found out, we were both going to lose her.Nothing could have prepared me for that day. And I certainly wasn’t prepared for what came after.All good things must come to an end, right?Except our ending was one I didn’t see coming. 

 

 

 

 

 

Once you started reading a book by the Duo Penelope Ward and Vi Keeland you simply have to love it. I already like both of their writing separately but together they are just unbelievably good.

 

I personally think one of them is the one with the MORE depth while the other is the one with the MORE fun in their writing – and together they simply highlight each other strength and make whatever they touch so much fun while never loosing the focus and development of a story.

 

Lover of the series will wonder if the reoccurring “thing” is going to making an appearance again and in which way. And I have to say they are becoming better and better at this … even though I was waiting for it I almost overlooked it when it came first and I only noticed it the second time around #congratulations ladies

 

I really hope the readers are getting more from you soon. I truly do not want this series to stop anytime soon.

 

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Blog Tour – Gun Shy by Lili St. Germain

Gun-Shy-iBooks.jpg



A stand alone psychological thriller.
** NOT A ROMANCE **



HAVE YOU SEEN THIS GIRL?

In the middle of a fierce snowstorm in Gun Creek, Nevada, seventeen-year-old Jennifer Thomas disappears without a trace.

The second girl in nine years.

Identical cases. Identical conditions. Only last time, the girl was found. Dead, stuffed in a well beside the creek that feeds the town’s water supply.

The killer was never found.

As the small town mobilizes and searches for newly vanished Jennifer Thomas, one suspect comes to the fore. But did he do it? Or is there something else at play? Something nobody could have anticipated?

For Jennifer’s friend Cassie Carlino, the worst is yet to come. As she pins MISSING posters to store windows and joins the search, she begins to suspect that Jennifer’s disappearance might be much closer to her than she could have ever imagined.


Leo

I visit Jennifer every evening at the diner; she seems to like the attention, and I could use the distraction. I make sure to turn up just before her shift ends, and she gives me a ride home every night. The first night she came over we ended up talking for hours. My mouth hurt by the end, every sense on high alert. I was a gentleman. I didn’t lay a hand on her again, not after she started to talk. She’s in trouble. A lot of trouble. I think it eased her mind to be able to confess to somebody who pretty much wrote the book on trouble in this town.
I mean, there’s not a thing I can do to help the girl. Not unless she tells me who got her into this mess in the first place. “That’s the problem with men,” she said to me when I urged her to give me the name of the guy blackmailing her. “They always jump straight to problem-solving. Men always want to fix everybody.”
“You don’t want to be fixed?” I’d asked her.
“I can fix myself,” she’d replied. “I just need somebody to understand.”
I don’t understand. Her predicament is something I’ve never experienced. But I can listen. I listen to her talk as she drives me home in her shiny new car every night, and it makes me feel less of a fuck-up. I mean, she hasn’t killed anyone. But she’s planning to. And that’s why we’ve found each other. I am a killer and she is ready to spill blood. She is a welcome distraction from my sins, and I am a makeshift altar for her to lay her own sins upon. Because when I’m with Jennifer, I don’t think about Cassie Carlino. I don’t think of Karen Brainard. And, most especially, I don’t think of Teresa King and the way she burned beside me in that car.
* * *
The night Jennifer Thomas disappears is like all the rest. I go to the diner. Order nachos and a Coke. I’m surprised Jennifer is working. It’s Thanksgiving, and the place is deserted. Even Amanda is nowhere to be seen.
“Working on Thanksgiving?” I ask Jennifer, as she slides my food in front of me. She shrugs, that glitter lipgloss catching the light as she moves. “It’s just another day, isn’t it?”
I nod.
“Besides,” she says, “It pisses my dad off. I asked for this shift.”
At ten, I help her to turn out all the lights. I wait beside her as she locks the front doors of the diner, feeling vaguely worried about the fact that somebody left a sixteen year old cheerleader alone to lock up this late at night. I note the lack of video surveillance, the remote location, the fact that everyone is tucked safely inside their houses while Jennifer is alone with a convicted criminal in the dead of night.
Jennifer offers me a ride home, which I accept. Except, instead of driving me straight home like she has done for the past six nights in a row, Jennifer pulls her Range Rover off the road into an uncleared section of pine trees that tower over us. The track is narrow and winding and she doesn’t answer me when I ask her where she’s taking us.
She stops in a small clearing and cuts the lights. The engine is still running. Bits of snow fall outside, slow and bloated in their trajectory toward the ground. Jennifer’s hands are small as they grip the steering wheel; her eyes lit up by the red illumination of the dashboard, making her look almost demonic.
“What are we doing here?” I ask her again.
“I don’t want to go home,” she says staring straight ahead.
“Fair enough,” I reply. I watch her as she struggles to find words. She squirms in her heated leather seat, her nails shiny and perfect, her shoulders sagging under the weight of something I cannot see.
“Do you think I’m pretty?” she asks me in a tiny voice, and she sounds so mouse-like and weak that I almost laugh.
“Do I think you’re pretty?” I echo, feeling a smirk cut its way across my face. “Jennifer, you’re so pretty I could die just from looking at you.”
She rolls her eyes. “You think I’m stupid. You’re just here because you feel sorry for me, Leo.”
I shake my head. “I don’t think you’re stupid. And I’m not here because I feel sorry for you.”
She swallows thickly; I can see the pulse beat nervously in her throat. “Then why are you here?”
“Well, I guess I’m here right now because you just drove us off the road and into the woods.”
“You know what I mean.”
Do, I, though? I sigh. “Because you’re the only person in this town worth talking to who will even look at me.”
She bites her lip and I have the sudden, piercing urge inside my skull to wrap my hands around her throat and drag her onto my lap. That’s some messed up shit. She’s sixteen. Six. TEEN. I’m repeating the number in my head over and over, willing my dick to settle down. I can feel the throb of wanting her in my cock, in the thunderous rush of blood that makes my heart hit my ribcage like the firing of a gun, bang, bang, bang. My need eclipses my rationality. So what if she’s sixteen? She drove into this fucking clearing and licked her lips and asked me if I thought she was pretty.
“Why have you been back to the diner every single night, just as I’m about to get off shift?”
“Umm,” I try. “It’s the only decent place in town?”
She narrows her eyes at me and there’s a fire inside her pupils; it might be below freezing outside, but it’s a billion degrees in here. We’re already fogging up the windows with our breath, and I haven’t even laid a finger on her.
“Liar,” she says. “I want the real reason.”
You’re about to get the real reason, sweetheart. I grip the armrest. I grip it so hard my fingernails ache.
“I’m here because I’m a bad guy, Jennifer.”
“And?”
“Because you’re so pretty I can’t think about anybody else. Because I want to do things to you… that would probably frighten you. Things that might hurt you.”
Her cheeks are flush; her breathing quickens. I haven’t even touched her, and she’s already excited. Or scared. Or both. I want to reach between her thighs and see if it’s lust I’m reading on her face.
“What kinds of things?” she asks.
I cover my face with my hands.  
“What kinds of things?” she repeats, a hand on my shoulder. I let my hands fall into my lap and fix my stare on this girl who should be home with her family, not out here in the dark in the woods and snow with a criminal. I watch in awe as she slides her seat back and reaches her hands up underneath her skirt, tugging a pair of panties down her legs and unhooking them from her heels. She can’t look at me as she hands me a pair of baby blue silk panties with a bow on the front. I grip the underwear in my fist so tight I could tear it to shreds with a single pull, but I don’t rip it. I find the damp spot of arousal in the center of the material and bring it up to my face. I close my eyes. I breathe Jennifer in.
I shouldn’t be here. Not with her. Not like this. I will get out of the car, I decide. I will walk home. I will not touch this girl.
But then, “I promise I won’t tell anyone,” she whispers.
Fuck.
I grab her. I drown her shock out with my mouth. I squeeze her slender neck with my prison-rough palms. I keep my promise and I hurt Jennifer Thomas until I’m sated.
It’s only after when I’m looking at the blank expression on her face, the odd tilt of her neck, the bruises blossoming on her spread thighs, that I understand what I have done.
By then, it’s too late.
The night Jennifer Thomas disappears is like all the rest.
Apart from the way it ends.

Lili writes dark, delicious romance full of love, lust and revenge. Her USA Today Bestselling Gypsy Brothers series focuses on a morally bankrupt biker gang and the young woman who seeks her vengeance upon them. The Cartel series is a trilogy that explores the beginnings of the club, published through HarperCollins.

Lili quit corporate life to focus on writing and so far is loving every minute of it. Her other loves in life include her gorgeous husband and beautiful daughter, excellent coffee, Tarantino movies and spending hours on Instagram.

She loves to read almost as much as she loves to write.
Author Links

LSG USA_logo with black tag.png

“Beware the dark pool at the bottom of our hearts. In its icy, black depths dwell strange and twisted creatures it is best not to disturb.”

I think that wraps up everything into a nice package but alas not possible so how do you write a review for a book that leaves you in a position not able to find the words, not yesterday when I finished it, not now while I’m writing my review and neither tomorrow or next week if I had to put down how this book made me feel? Near impossible but I will try.

I feel like I have waited an eternity for this book. Yeah mildly exaggerated but I wanted to read this book that bad. It wasn’t what I expected but when I pick up a Lili St. Germain book it usually isn’t. The writing was impeccable, the characters flawed, gritty and full of emotion. If I could pick her brain apart I would for sure. She can put a psychological spin on anything.

It is cruel and savage this is what real life can about. Small town living truly ain’t that grand after all. The town is toxic, poison and only a few manage to escape. Read about lust, about greed, wrath, envy and pride and how it can break all of us. How minds splinter and how being deranged makes sense.

I hang my head and say that I can’t give it the whole five stars as it was clear who was involved and to what extent that they went to. It is sick, it is depraved and yet it is a beauty to read. Yeah throw stones at me cause I love the book. It is always an experience for me to venture into unknown territory but when I do. I’m blown away. It had me on the edge of my seat. I felt with the characters. The book is crazy, amazing, violent and not for the faint of heart.

Before I sign off my last words are

This is not a fairytale and there is no happy ending, no prince to ride in on his horse to save her.
Sometimes a gal needs to save herself.

Read the book. It is worth it.

Songs listened to while writing my review.
Marilyn Manson – Killing Strangers
Curtis Stigers & The Forest Rangers – John the Revelator
Rage against the Machine – Killing in the Name of
Lukas Graham – Better Than Yourself
Aerosmith – Livin’ on the Edge
Three Doors Down – Kryptonite
Imagine Dragons – Believer
Matchbox Twenty – Unwell

 

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Starring Me and You (A Bad Boy Movie Star Romance) by Ella Bradshaw

Starring Me and You (A Bad Boy Movie Star Romance) by Ella Bradshaw

 

October 13, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 Starring Me and You

 

 Ella Bradshaw

 

 A Bad Boy Movie Star Romance

  

2017 

 

 

 

 

 

‘Hollywood’s hottest star is out of control.

Darcy

 

Nate McCoy is a bad boy through and through. He doesn’t give a damn about anyone or anything and has broken more hearts than he can count. So why have they hired an inexperienced little Southern Belle like me to keep him under control? Because I’m the only one that can resist his charms.I’m not gonna be tossed aside like all the other girls. I’ll reel Nate in and save his career if it’s the last thing I do!

 

Nate

 

I don’t do relationships. I do passionate one night stands that leave them all begging for more. So what if a few hearts get broken in the process? That’s just part of the game.Then Darcy walks into my life and ignites a fire inside me like no one else. I’ll have her and use her just like I do with all the others…unless there’s something more to be had…

 

*Starring me and You is a standalone romance with no cheating and a HEA. Due to the adult nature of the book’s content it is recommended for adults only.*’

 

 

 

 

 

 

In true Colleen Hoover fashion let me start with a CONFESSION. I #CONFESS that lately I found myself truly reluctant to accept review copies of authors that have not yet published anything.

 

Why ? you wonder… because more often than not those others confused the request to review a book with the so called “beta-reading” or even worse the expected some sort of “editing”.

 

So it took Ella Bradshaw quite some convincing to bring me tor read her debut novel “Starring Me and You -A Bad Boy Movie Star Romance” I gave her some pointers that much I admit and I also told her she still needs to put an official Blurb to this book.

 

Because already for my review I need that Blurb to know how much I can tell about the storyline as I try to avoid spoilers at all costs. As that is still no Blurb let me work with what I can say for sure.

 

For a debut novel this book is really well done. I still found some typos in it but they were in a very obvious way so I am pretty sure that Ella will do her best to erase those as fast as possible.

 

The writing style is everything I would expect from a novel with that title and the plot can hold that promise. There were some “are you serious” moments for me and I think I had one “that is to obivious” moment too, when it came to the story development BUT only a few pages later Ella surprised me with a total different direction.

 

Like in one of those moments when you follow the show of a magician staring into the intended direction while suddenly something happens right behind you. And I admit there were also some of the “cliché” moments that you would expect in this kind of novel.

 

But I was totally fine with those. I am pretty sure this book will find fans within the community of “Hollywood/Actor Romance Novels”. The way it is now I would rate it with 3.5 Stars – showing 4 here on Goodreads.

 

The 0.5 is for the typos and the missing 5th star is due to the fact that I had no emotional outbursts (read my reviewing regulations for an explanation to that)

 

Anyway I can recommend this Book and I hope that the author will soon make the necessary changes and publishes it so others can enjoy it.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

4 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Broken Dreams by Callie Anderson

Broken Dreams by Callie Anderson

 

October 12, 2017

reviewed for

Jeri’s Book Attic

 

 

 

 

 

 Broken Dreams

 

 Callie Anderson

 

 

 

 April 27th 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ethan is the boy who climbed into my bedroom every night.

He’s everything I love.

Laced with everything I despise.

 

He’s every happy memory.

And every shattered dream.

He’s my everything.

 

But he broke every part of me.

I’m supposed to hate him.

But I can’t.

I don’t know how.

 

 

 

 

 

Broken Dreams by Callie Anderson is a beautiful story full of second chances and love. It was my first book by this author and I truly devoured this complex and intense story. In parts it reminded my of the earlier books written by Colleen Hoover but there was still a tiny spark missing to her magic.

 

This comparison I made should ensure you of one thing …. This plot will hurt. One thing I am not a fan of is the “now and then” storyline, but this is an issue I have in general as to me it is quite clear what will happen once the contemporary part of the story has started so I hate going back all the time because that feels like watching Titanic.

 

I darn well know that ship will sink – if you get what I mean. I don’t mind an “then” start that changes to a “now” storyline, it is just the constant switching that I am not a fan of. Because of the way the story was woven into each other I had some problems to connect everything, I am not sure if the author really used the optimal way to present the plot.

 

Still – the plot is great no question about it and I will fully recommend the story to lovers of Colleen Hoover books as a “light” version / similar thinking style…. The complexity of this story is remarkable and you should make sure you have enough time to dive into this book as undisturbed as possible.

 

 

Reviewed by

 

2 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Review – Sledgehammer (Hard to Love #2) by P. Dangelico

Sledgehammer Book Cover Sledgehammer
(Hard to Love #2)
P. Dangelico
Sports Romance
-
11th September 2017
ebook
-

Amber Jones is in a pickle. And when I say pickle, I mean deep do-do. She knew she shouldn’t have gone to her ex’s New Year’s Eve party. And she reeeaally didn’t mean to almost burn down his house. It was the chafing dish’s fault, dang it! Now she needs a good lawyer, stat. But where to find one?

All work and no play make Ethan Vaughn a very sad and lonely lawyer. Not to mention horny. He really shouldn’t have agreed to help his best friend’s wife’s bestie with her imbroglio. Now she’s remanded on bail––and living in his house. The woman is a walking, talking category five hurricane. And considering his track record with women, he needs to stay as far away from this one as possible. Problem is, he just can't seem to make himself.

Heads up folks, this little heroine has a propensity for prolific profanity. Our girl's got a potty mouth and strong opinions. If you are easily offended, this book is not for you. If you have delicate nerves, this book is not for you. If you are under 18, this book is definitely not for you. Consider yourself warned.

Only 2.5 Stars. What can I say? This ain’t for me. Shocker. But I’m being benevolent and rounding it up.

Every epic love story starts with a grand gesture.

This is an okay read for me. Nothing to write home about if I’m being honest. It is funny, heartfelt in places and well written. I was at least tickled pink that it is well written but I have to say this is no Wrecking Ball. I know I’m in the minority here.

The author informs us in the blurb of the following:

This little heroine has a propensity for prolific profanity. Our girl’s got a potty mouth and strong opinions. If you are easily offended, this book is not for you. If you have delicate nerves, this book is not for you.

And whereas I like all of the above in a heroine it took me the whole book to figure out what Amber Jones is.

She is self-absorbed. There I said it and I am not ashamed by it.  

It is all about her and the apparent or not so apparent choices/mistakes she has made in life. She is selfish and only looking out for herself. She has a half-sister? Yeah she isn’t really interested. She doesn’t want to be like her mother? Well sweetheart you are on your best way of going there. I didn’t get her issues. I didn’t see her problems. I felt some sympathy for her but the shite she just spewed? Yeah oblivious to me. IMO I would have left her sorry arse to rot in jail.

Everybody is probably screaming at me that is her coping mechanism that may be but at the age of twenty something she should have realised that kind of shite hasn’t gotten her very far in life. Now she is being charged for arson and living in the house of the guy who bailed her out.  

My advice to Ethan Vaughn will go unheard because dude you should run the fuck away. But no it is too late for that. He is everything a book boyfriend is meant to be and he saved the book pretty much for me. Oh, Cam and Cal helped as well.

But getting back to Ethan, E my man why? I’m pleading with you here man. She. Isn’t. Worth. It.

The funny moments and banter when she wasn’t being selfish kept me going admittedly I did skim in places. I enjoy slow burn but to date I have only found one author who can pull it off. I started it and hit the 8% and decided it wasn’t a book wasn’t in the mood for. So I stopped but I was in a strange mood and had no idea what to read so in the end I went back to reading it. My interested waned throughout the book.

It got to the point that I started watching Ninja Warrior and I rarely watch TV so you can see where I’m coming from here. I was fascinated by their muscles, holy smokes I was drooling.

To each their own. Please read it cause you know my opinion is to be taken with a pinch of salt.

1 2 3 12