BOOKSHELF

4 STAR BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND REVIEW

Review – Soul Avenged (Sons of Wrath #1) by Keri Lake

Soul Avenged Book Cover Soul Avenged
Sons of Wrath #1
Keri Lake
Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
16th January 2013
ebook/Kindle Edition/Paperback
535

Passion is blind in vengeance and love ...

Ayden’s suburban home was invaded by a pack of Lycans.

The brutal attack is the only memory she carries of her former life.

Now, one motive burns in her soul:

KILL THEM ALL.

The Sons of Wrath—a brood of vengeance-dealing warrior demons—band with Ayden to hunt the Lycans on Detroit’s most deadly feeding grounds.

Kane Walker should’ve been her easiest kill.

Unfortunately, the newly bitten Lycan has something she wants—clues that may finally lay her past to rest. To reach them, she must be willing to submit to the sensual pleasures awakened by his touch.

Time is running out.

In seven days, Kane will become what Ayden despises most. She can halt his transformation but the antidote requires the ultimate sacrifice. As the beast takes hold, Kane becomes more of a threat.

Ayden must choose between her lust for revenge, or surrender to her enemy and discover a horrible truth.

Sons of Wrath
Never gamble with vengeance

 

I saw a lot of my GR friends speak very highly of this series and when it came in a boxset and as a deal I snapped it up. I am so glad that I did. Lately I feel as if I haven’t been reading enough PNR/UF so I’ve been looking for new series that are unique and different. The Sons of Wrath is most certainly one of them and I can still play catch up to book 4 so the task isn’t that daunting.

Ayden is Selene. Pure and simple. I don’t know if the author had her mind when it came to the heroine but it just seems to fit. A totally kick arse heroine.

A Beretta, loaded with silver bullets and a silver parrying dagger rested at one of her hips, a silver bullwhip at another.  – my kind of heroine.

Ayden is out on the hunt for Lycans. Since her change five years ago and being part of the Alexi, she is out for vengeance there was more taken from her than she initially thought. But she is also a deserter to the Alexi and if they find her. Well, let’s just say it ain’t going to be pretty.

On that night, she runs into a man who is becoming a halfling/changeling and for reasons she can’t fathom she doesn’t kill him and takes him back to the Manor. He has seven days until he turns into a full lycan and a killer and then she kills him.

Kane Walker has lead a normal life until he gets attacked late one night. He imprints, blacks out and wakes up in a strange room. His life is about to end well in 7 days he will be killed but first Ayden wants his memories.

“So, how do you think you’ll go about killing me?” Stupid question. “What the hell is wrong with you?” “What?” “What kind of question is that?” “I don’t know. Just curious to know how you kill a lycan.” “It’s incredible violent.”

Her first urge is to always kill him but her hatred lessens to dislike. Her dislike becomes less and she sees his innocence. I felt as if they didn’t really spend enough quality time together to make them attracted to one another. I felt the connection to be somewhat flimsy.

I’m not entirely sure how Ayden fits in as it seems to be Son of Wrath series but I’m sure Ms. Lake had her reasons there is the obvious world building and I personally think that a fantastic and unique paranormal world has been created. Although there is a lot going on lycans, ghouls, demons and Alexi it all worked for me. It might not work for everyone.

I look forward to the other books with Logan, Gavin, Zeke, Calix, Zayne, Ferno and Maddox.

3 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Blog Tour – So Good (An Alpha Dogs novel) by Nicola Rendell

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3322.PNG

 

AP new - synopsis.jpg

On the roof of a house outside Truelove, Maine, master carpenter Max Doyle looks down through a skylight and sees the most beautiful woman he’s ever laid eyes on. She’s naked, she’s gorgeous, and everything about her is perfect, down to the ball-busting tattoo of a rose that wraps around her hip. But it isn’t just any woman making his knees buckle. It’s his best friend, Rosie Madden. And as he stands there, mesmerized and precariously close to toppling off the roof, he knows he’ll never, ever be able to look at her the same way again.

Rosie can’t help but notice that Max is suddenly acting very strange—lots of long stares, totally tongue-tied, and not at all like the slightly cocky hunk she’s proud to call her best friend. She can’t figure it out, until later that night when Max rescues her from the world’s worst date, challenges her to a game of pool, and shows her just exactly what she’s got him thinking about. Repeatedly.

But life is complicated. Rosie’s cat, Julia Caesar, wants to eat Max’s dog Cupcake for an afternoon snack. A dream job threatens to pull them apart. And another glance through the skylight changes everything, one more time. Yet try as they might, they can’t go back to being just friends, because falling in love with the one you’ve always adored?

It feels so good.

 

Max

As I unlocked the door to my houseboat, I heard it. At first, it sounded like a duck paddling, but then I heard something else—a panting, or a gasping. For a second, it died down. It didn’t worry me, really, because the docks were full of weird noises, and boats were noisy as fuck. But I turned the deadbolt turned, the sound got louder and more frantic. Whatever it was, it didn’t sound good and it sure as hell didn’t sound like a duck. I let my work belt slide off my shoulder onto the deck, and looked down in the water, gripping the taffrail. There in the shadows, gasping, paddling, and panicking, I saw something small and wet and terrified.
​Holy fuck. It was a dog. A tiny, drowning dog.
​Fully clothed, boots on, I jumped into the water off the sternside. I plunged in deep, submerged in a world of shadowy barnacle-crusted dock pilings and chains holding anchors far below. Holding my breath and looking up toward the sunshine, through the bubbles that came down with me, I saw it. No bigger than a chicken, and kicking hard. I breaststroked toward the dog, aiming to come up right below it, but the salt water stung my eyes, and I closed them out of reflex. When I surfaced, it had gotten a few feet away. It was just a tiny thing, soaking wet, sucking in terrified breaths. It doggy-paddled in circles, slipping down into the water so that only its nose was above the surface. I did one strong breaststroke, but it was in full flight-or-fight mode, absolutely fucking petrified, and it paddled away from me, slipping out of my grasp. With one more big stroke, I had it, and I scooped it up into my arms to held her up out of the water, the way people do when the hold babies in the air. I saw it was a girl, her tummy soft and much less furry than the rest of her. Her big black eyes bugged out for an instant, and then…
She went limp in my hands. Lifeless, with her feet dangling down, her tongue hanging out. Her eyes were closed. On my palm, I couldn’t feel a heartbeat where I was sure there should have been one thrumming along.
​Fuck. Fuck.
​I gave her a shake, but she dangled like a rag doll.
I held her out of the water, keeping her in a tight bicep curl over my shoulder. Carefully, I maneuvered under the jetty that led to my boat. I got a toehold on the old dock ladder, rusty and unsteady. Using one hand to climb up, and using both boots like climbing picks, I emerged from my boat’s shadow and out into the sunshine of the dock. I laid her down on her back, supporting her lifeless body. With every passing millisecond, my heart fucking broke more and more. I could not let this happen. I could not let her die. I pulled myself up all the way and knelt beside her. She was flat on her back, with no signs of life at all. Her arms were limp at the wrists, and her paws dripped onto the dry wood beneath her. Still, her tongue hung out. Still, her eyes were shut. Still, she wasn’t breathing.
Somewhere, buried deep in my memory, I remembered learning the basics of canine CPR. I felt like maybe it was in my lifeguard class when I was in high school, but I didn’t fucking know and it didn’t fucking matter. All I knew was I had to do something, and fast. So I did. I wrapped my fingers around her tiny muzzle and brought my lips to her leathery nose. I blew gently, and as I did I felt her chest swell up. I held my own breath and prayed for anything, any sign of life, but there was nothing. Lightly, with the tips of my fingers, I did compressions on her soaking wet fur. One. Two. Three. And then I did another breath. One. Two. Three.
“Come on, little lady,” I whispered, and rolled her onto her side. I gave her a few pats, firm but not too hard. She was absolutely tiny—from scruff to tail, hardly bigger than the span of my hand. I rolled her over onto her back again and gave her one more breath, all the while going through the paces of what the fuck to do if this didn’t work. I had no goddamned idea whatsoever where the vet was. Did we even have a vet? Would she survive that long? What the fuck was I going to do?
But as I started the next set of compressions, she coughed. She actually coughed, like a tiny person, a gasping choking hack, accompanied by a few mouthfuls of water spilling out onto the wood planks.
Holy shit.
I froze with my hands just above her tiny body. Her strange, buggy eyes opened up and she started panting hard.
“Hey, hey!” I scooped her up in my arms, cradling her to my chest. I could tell by the way she was so limp against me that she was exhausted. Keeping her close to my body, to keep her warm and safe, I scratched the fur at the back of her neck, her tail started to wag. But she was also shivering hard, and I didn’t like that one bit.

 

 

 

AP  new -about the author.jpg

 

Nicola Rendell writes dirty, funny, erotic romance. She likes a stiff drink and a well-frosted cake. She is at an unnamed Ivy and prefers to remain mostly anonymous for professional reasons. She has a PhD in English and an MFA in Creative Writing from schools that shall not be named here. She loves to cook, sew, and play the piano. She realizes that her hobbies might make her sound like an old lady and she’s totally okay with that. She lives with her husband and her dogs. She is from Taos, New Mexico.
Author Links

 

ArdentProse_LogoMain.jpg

 

 

 

For Keeps.

A sweet, sexy, witty friends to lover’s story.

I really like Ms. Rendell’s writing style she sucks you in with her writing and the characters that she has created. And I will be reading her other books as well.  

Max and Rosie have been friends for going on twenty years. Not once did they recognise that they could be anything more than friends.

That is until…

Max catches Rosie and sees her in a light he thought he never would. Things will never be the same. They cross the line. A sweet romance of getting to know your best friend differently.

Can you really be friend zoned for twenty years and then become a couple?  I guess but it would be hard to shake off that mentality after so long unless those feelings were always there but had been ignored all this time. As you can tell I’m having problems here.

I love both the MC and they are really good together. They have all the makings of a perfect couple.

As I said I enjoy this book but I wanted more story. Different strokes I need some action not a lot but I always find it hard when it is solely about the couple. But this is just me.  I love Julia Caesar and her SPAM addiction. A good alpha hero with a miniature dog called Cupcake.  

Romantic comedies aren’t always my thing but I do like to give them a try. I was really enjoying it at the beginning and then the jokes and banter were just going on and on. So yeah I liked it and I didn’t BUT if you like romance comedies than this is the book for you.

 

 

 

 

 

3 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF RELEASE REVIEW

Review – The Haunting of Alcott Manor by Alyssa Richards

The Haunting of Alcott Manor Book Cover The Haunting of Alcott Manor
Alyssa Richards
suspense/paranormal
Self published
1st August 2017
ebook

She has a gift. His family has a past. Can they solve a century-old mystery… together?

Gemma doesn't miss working for the family business. She has a knack for restoring older properties, but after a vicious haunting nearly killed her, she was more than ready to move on. Gemma agrees to one last job to save her parents’ business, but the 1880s historical estate has its fair share of dark secrets…

Henry Alcott wants nothing more than to free the spirit from his family’s property. Ever since the original owner was wrongfully convicted of murder and sentenced to death, the ghost has made sure every restoration effort was a miserable failure. But there’s something about Gemma that makes Henry believe in a much brighter future…

Gemma and Henry must solve a hundred-year mystery to complete the restoration in time. Failure to do so could cost Gemma’s parents their business, but staying in the house could cost them much, much more…

The Haunting of Alcott Manor is a contemporary gothic paranormal romance. If you like fateful chemistry, engaging characters, and mysteries that keep you guessing until the very end, then you’ll love the first book in Alyssa Richards’ chilling new series.

 

Solely based on what I’ve read I give this book 3 Stars.

I won’t say at what mark I stopped but all I can say when it comes to the book it is me. All me. The beginning starts of strong and the author sucks you into the book and you need to know more and you need it as quick as possible.

I was enjoying the spooky aspect of everything but then the main characters meet and on the same day they had sex. For some of you this won’t be an issue but it was for me. I felt as if there wasn’t any chemistry between the couple and was under the impression they didn’t like one another.

As to the plot of Alcott Manor? Brilliant, spooky and interesting until it got too spooky for me and creepy. Not to mention I was home alone last night so not a good time to read a Gothic Romance. I nearly stuck my kindle in the freezer. I myself am a firm believer and have had experiences I can’t explain and reading it during the day won’t help because night time will come soon enough. My hat off to the author to scarring the bejesus out of little old me.

Nevertheless I can recommend this book even if it isn’t my type of book.

Book received in exchange for an honest review.

5 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

SBPRBanner-JEM-TF-BT

The Forbidden
by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Publication Date: August 8th, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Romance

The Forbidden, an all-new story from Jodi Ellen Malpas is available now!!

TheForbidden

Annie has never experienced the ‘spark’ with a guy-that instant chemistry that renders you weak in the knees. That is, until a night out brings her face to face with the dangerously sexy and mysterious Jack. It’s not just a spark that ignites between them. It’s an explosion. Jack promises to consume Annie, and he fully delivers on that promise.

Overwhelmed by the intensity of their one night together, Annie slips out of their hotel room. She is certain that a man who’s had such a powerful impact on her must be dangerous. She has no idea that he belongs to another. That he’s forbidden.

💛 A Note From The Author 💛

“The Forbidden” is exactly that. Not allowed. Prohibited. Banned. At least, that’s what society says. But what about your heart? It took a massive leap of faith for me to put these words on paper. I’ve always said that I write what my heart tells me to write, not what people want me to write. Never has my own motto been so significant in my writing career. I questioned my sense when I came up with the idea of The Forbidden. Then I reminded myself of my motto, of my heart’s desire, and my heart really wanted to tell this story, despite knowing that it might not be what people expect from me. I couldn’t let my fear of the taboo subject matter dictate my writing. So I dove right in—no holding back, no inhibitions, no softly-softly approach. The Forbidden is controversial. I’ve no doubt it’ll cause debate, and I’m cool with that. As a writer, you accept that what you send out into the world is going to be picked apart, sometimes for the good, sometimes for the bad. This story is about the conflict. The feelings. The questions. It’s about the heart ruling the head. I ask you to go into it with an open mind, and please remember that it is a story. One of passion, of love, and of heartache. It’s about falling in love with the wrong person at the wrong time. Because it happens. Every single day. But above all of that, it’s about being true to yourself and your heart. It’s about finding your soulmate and fighting for them. It’s about standing by what you believe in. And we all believe in true love.

JEM x

JEM-TF-AN

Read Today!

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2wxldGo

Amazon UK: https://goo.gl/higox5

iBooks: https://goo.gl/Z182zB

Nook: https://goo.gl/3GdHzy

Kobo: https://goo.gl/zoM2ZQ

Add to GoodReads: https://goo.gl/1qjL9E

Photo of sensual kissing couple

About Jodi:

Jodi Ellen Malpas wrote her debut series, The This Man Trilogy, in secret, worried about what people might think if they knew what her imagination was capable of. She was shocked herself. But she finally found the courage to unleash her creative streak and self-published THIS MAN – the first book of the This Man Trilogy – in October 2012. She took a chance on the story with a hero who soon became one of modern day fictions most prolific alpha male characters. Jesse Ward – also affectionately known as The Lord of The Manor, sparked incredible reactions from women across the globe and catapulted Jodi into the world of women’s fiction.

Jodi went on to self-publish the second book in the trilogy, Beneath This Man in Jan 2013, just before Grand Central Publishing, part of the Hachette Book Group, picked up the popular trilogy and the unknown Jodi. The third book of the trilogy, This Man Confessed, took Jodi to the top of the bestsellers lists, earning her the proud title of #1 New York Times Bestselling Author. This Man has since been voted one of the top romance novels of all time.

With so much love, enthusiasm and a thirst for her words from her readers, Jodi suddenly wasn’t afraid of her imagination anymore. She went on to write The One Night Trilogy with the delectable and mysterious Miller Hart, and stole the hearts of her readers once again. Her first stand-alone novel, THE PROTECTOR, released in September 2016 and has since been nominated for a Reviewers’ Choice Best Book Award. Jodi’s next stand-alone novel. THE FORBIDDEN, is set for release in August 2017.

All seven of her published novels have hit the New York Times best sellers list – as well as the Sunday Times list and various international best seller lists. Her work is now published in over 24 languages across the world.

Jodi was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys and a beagle. She is a self-professed daydreamer, a mojito addict, is famous for her obsession with Converse, and has a terrible weak spot for Alpha Males. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters has become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers

JEM LOGO - Copy

Connect with Jodi:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JodiEllenMalpas/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JodiEllenMalpas

YouTube: https://goo.gl/2kGLbt

Instagram: http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/instagram/

http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/home/

Bookbub: bit.ly/JEM-BookBub

Movie News: bit.ly/JEM-Movies

 

 

 

The Before and After of The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

 

Actually this is the first time I am doing something like this. And maybe I will crumble this electronical paper into a ball and dispose it later on to start a normal review but for now this is the way it is going to be.

 

The Before ….

 

As you can never “unsee” / “unhear” or “unknow” anything I have to start writing now .. while it is still “before”. When a book is titled “The forbidden” – the Blurb tells you it is “forbidden” and the author opens the book with a warning well then there is actually only a few “excuses” to read on … one being the obvious, which is curiosity and the other is the love for the writing of a specific author.

 

I was fangirling when I saw this author has a new book coming out – I was sure I wanted to read the book. Then I saw the blurb and I was starting to get intrigued … I mean who doesn’t like a most probably (knowing the author) well written book.

 

So when you are offered to read the book early who is going to say NO – well not me obviously. But then you open the book and you see this warning and well lets say now right this moment I am scared. I love this author so I will read the book but I was thinking what if my oppinon changes once I know “IT” … ?

 

That is when I decided this is going to be a before and after review

I started reading and I have to admit the writing is as solid and developed as I expected no surprises here. And I loved the way the book opens to introduce us to the leads (well at least I assume they are the leads) …

 

My mind starts to swirl on what could be forbidden … thoughts pop up and already disappear as I mentally check them as “not that is not the reason” … and the list is getting shorter and shorter…

 

I get the attraction the leads have for each other and Ms. Malpas is doing great in getting that across to the reader – so whatever happens next well – for now I get what is going on.

During my lunchbreak I had the chance to read a little further –

 

Ms. Malpas describes the connection between the leads in a way that I can almost feel myself what those characters describe as their chemistry – it feels of the charts. I really do get it and I also get the reason why the female lead acts the way she does. What I don’t get are her tears at a certain moment – they make no sense as they look to others as if something happened that she did not want …

 

But back to my list of reasons to be forbidden – it  is very short now and that is why I started writing here … Maybe it is something totally different. Something that has not crossed my mind yet.

 

And if it is not – there are many ways to maneuver in a dangerous territory but still I admit to being scared because whatever happens next might cross the line of triggers I have … Will I be able to read on ? Will I like it ?

 

Anyway the inevitable is coming closer I can sense it – I read a line that indicated a revelation is nearing

 

So any minute now I might enter the line of “after” – and it is no joke or game for me – there are already reviews that I could have read to find out what happens but I didn’t do that – I am maneuvering blind…. Let’s head for

 

The After…

 

 

I am there – to be precise I am at 75 % probably heading for the finale … so I thought I’d drop a line here again …

 

What I am thinking – well … actually Ms. Malpas brought it down to one line and it was like

“Cause our Symptom” ….

 

As I did not read any reviews that are already out there I have no idea how much of the story has been disclosed – so I will stay true to my ways and try not to spoiler.

What I am feeling though is simply two things that could not be further apart from each other if they wanted.

 

Yes it was one of the triggers I feared but actually I get it … I am not going to disclose on the reasons of WHY I get it – because for one they would be of a private nature. Secondly, Ms. Malpas writes them in a way that almost everyone that is not ice-cold (or has a stick where it should not be) should be able to relate to the situation.  

 

My reasons for this situation being a trigger will never change because it simply is one …but as always in life there are two sides. And for every black and white there is also a gray and I think this trigger is a sort of gray. Gosh I never thought I would ever say this but there might actually be a situation when this gray is acceptable. But only as long as the leading characters are looking for a solution. And I am not moving from this PoV … this kind of Gray can never be the grand finale …

 

I have some ideas what the last 25 % will bring and I assure you my thoughts are not pretty lets see how you get this mess sorted out Ms. Malpas – shall we ?

 

The End

 

There are many things I could tell you now but all of them would either spoiler to much of the story or would hit to close to the home of my trigger. So I will stay with this being the most emotional book from Ms. Malpas for me since the “grand finale” of the “this man” trilogy.

I am pretty sure Lovers of her writing style will not be disappointed as she remains true to herself. But I am also pretty sure that there will be a bunch of people that will have a problem with the plotline and its triggers and will therefore not like the book. But if you like the writing style up to the moment when the trigger occurs I can only ask those people to remain open and try to feel for the leading characters. Place yourself in their position …. try to answer yourself one question … if you would be in that position could you continue your original path – the path before you met – knowing it was not the right one – for the rest of your life ? knowing you have only ONE LIFE …. Being human means making mistakes – but why does it have to be the new decision that is the mistake – couldn’t it also be the old one ?

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 STAR ARC BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

SBPRBanner-JEM-TF-RB.jpg

The Forbidden
by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Publication Date: August 8th, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Romance

The Forbidden, an all-new story from Jodi Ellen Malpas is LIVE!!

TheForbidden

Annie has never experienced the ‘spark’ with a guy-that instant chemistry that renders you weak in the knees. That is, until a night out brings her face to face with the dangerously sexy and mysterious Jack. It’s not just a spark that ignites between them. It’s an explosion. Jack promises to consume Annie, and he fully delivers on that promise.

Overwhelmed by the intensity of their one night together, Annie slips out of their hotel room. She is certain that a man who’s had such a powerful impact on her must be dangerous. She has no idea that he belongs to another. That he’s forbidden.

JEM-TF-ReviewBlurb-RTBookReviews

Read Today!

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2wxldGo

Amazon UK: https://goo.gl/higox5

iBooks: https://goo.gl/Z182zB

Nook: https://goo.gl/3GdHzy

Kobo: https://goo.gl/zoM2ZQ

Add to GoodReads: https://goo.gl/1qjL9E

RDBlitz

About Jodi:

Jodi Ellen Malpas wrote her debut series, The This Man Trilogy, in secret, worried about what people might think if they knew what her imagination was capable of. She was shocked herself. But she finally found the courage to unleash her creative streak and self-published THIS MAN – the first book of the This Man Trilogy – in October 2012. She took a chance on the story with a hero who soon became one of modern day fictions most prolific alpha male characters. Jesse Ward – also affectionately known as The Lord of The Manor, sparked incredible reactions from women across the globe and catapulted Jodi into the world of women’s fiction.

Jodi went on to self-publish the second book in the trilogy, Beneath This Man in Jan 2013, just before Grand Central Publishing, part of the Hachette Book Group, picked up the popular trilogy and the unknown Jodi. The third book of the trilogy, This Man Confessed, took Jodi to the top of the bestsellers lists, earning her the proud title of #1 New York Times Bestselling Author. This Man has since been voted one of the top romance novels of all time.

With so much love, enthusiasm and a thirst for her words from her readers, Jodi suddenly wasn’t afraid of her imagination anymore. She went on to write The One Night Trilogy with the delectable and mysterious Miller Hart, and stole the hearts of her readers once again. Her first stand-alone novel, THE PROTECTOR, released in September 2016 and has since been nominated for a Reviewers’ Choice Best Book Award. Jodi’s next stand-alone novel. THE FORBIDDEN, is set for release in August 2017.

All seven of her published novels have hit the New York Times best sellers list – as well as the Sunday Times list and various international best seller lists. Her work is now published in over 24 languages across the world.

Jodi was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys and a beagle. She is a self-professed daydreamer, a mojito addict, is famous for her obsession with Converse, and has a terrible weak spot for Alpha Males. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters has become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers

JEM LOGO - Copy

Connect with Jodi:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JodiEllenMalpas/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JodiEllenMalpas

YouTube: https://goo.gl/2kGLbt

Instagram: http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/instagram/

http://www.jodiellenmalpas.co.uk/home/

Bookbub: bit.ly/JEM-BookBub

Movie News: bit.ly/JEM-Movies

 

 

The Before and After of The Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

 

Actually this is the first time I am doing something like this. And maybe I will crumble this electronical paper into a ball and dispose it later on to start a normal review but for now this is the way it is going to be.

 

The Before ….

 

As you can never “unsee” / “unhear” or “unknow” anything I have to start writing now .. while it is still “before”. When a book is titled “The forbidden” – the Blurb tells you it is “forbidden” and the author opens the book with a warning well then there is actually only a few “excuses” to read on … one being the obvious, which is curiosity and the other is the love for the writing of a specific author.

 

I was fangirling when I saw this author has a new book coming out – I was sure I wanted to read the book. Then I saw the blurb and I was starting to get intrigued … I mean who doesn’t like a most probably (knowing the author) well written book.

 

So when you are offered to read the book early who is going to say NO – well not me obviously. But then you open the book and you see this warning and well lets say now right this moment I am scared. I love this author so I will read the book but I was thinking what if my oppinon changes once I know “IT” … ?

 

That is when I decided this is going to be a before and after review

I started reading and I have to admit the writing is as solid and developed as I expected no surprises here. And I loved the way the book opens to introduce us to the leads (well at least I assume they are the leads) …

 

My mind starts to swirl on what could be forbidden … thoughts pop up and already disappear as I mentally check them as “not that is not the reason” … and the list is getting shorter and shorter…

 

I get the attraction the leads have for each other and Ms. Malpas is doing great in getting that across to the reader – so whatever happens next well – for now I get what is going on.

During my lunchbreak I had the chance to read a little further –

 

Ms. Malpas describes the connection between the leads in a way that I can almost feel myself what those characters describe as their chemistry – it feels of the charts. I really do get it and I also get the reason why the female lead acts the way she does. What I don’t get are her tears at a certain moment – they make no sense as they look to others as if something happened that she did not want …

 

But back to my list of reasons to be forbidden – it  is very short now and that is why I started writing here … Maybe it is something totally different. Something that has not crossed my mind yet.

 

And if it is not – there are many ways to maneuver in a dangerous territory but still I admit to being scared because whatever happens next might cross the line of triggers I have … Will I be able to read on ? Will I like it ?

 

Anyway the inevitable is coming closer I can sense it – I read a line that indicated a revelation is nearing

 

So any minute now I might enter the line of “after” – and it is no joke or game for me – there are already reviews that I could have read to find out what happens but I didn’t do that – I am maneuvering blind…. Let’s head for

 

The After…

 

 

I am there – to be precise I am at 75 % probably heading for the finale … so I thought I’d drop a line here again …

 

What I am thinking – well … actually Ms. Malpas brought it down to one line and it was like

“Cause our Symptom” ….

 

As I did not read any reviews that are already out there I have no idea how much of the story has been disclosed – so I will stay true to my ways and try not to spoiler.

What I am feeling though is simply two things that could not be further apart from each other if they wanted.

 

Yes it was one of the triggers I feared but actually I get it … I am not going to disclose on the reasons of WHY I get it – because for one they would be of a private nature. Secondly, Ms. Malpas writes them in a way that almost everyone that is not ice-cold (or has a stick where it should not be) should be able to relate to the situation.  

 

My reasons for this situation being a trigger will never change because it simply is one …but as always in life there are two sides. And for every black and white there is also a gray and I think this trigger is a sort of gray. Gosh I never thought I would ever say this but there might actually be a situation when this gray is acceptable. But only as long as the leading characters are looking for a solution. And I am not moving from this PoV … this kind of Gray can never be the grand finale …

 

I have some ideas what the last 25 % will bring and I assure you my thoughts are not pretty lets see how you get this mess sorted out Ms. Malpas – shall we ?

 

The End

 

There are many things I could tell you now but all of them would either spoiler to much of the story or would hit to close to the home of my trigger. So I will stay with this being the most emotional book from Ms. Malpas for me since the “grand finale” of the “this man” trilogy.

I am pretty sure Lovers of her writing style will not be disappointed as she remains true to herself. But I am also pretty sure that there will be a bunch of people that will have a problem with the plotline and its triggers and will therefore not like the book. But if you like the writing style up to the moment when the trigger occurs I can only ask those people to remain open and try to feel for the leading characters. Place yourself in their position …. try to answer yourself one question … if you would be in that position could you continue your original path – the path before you met – knowing it was not the right one – for the rest of your life ? knowing you have only ONE LIFE …. Being human means making mistakes – but why does it have to be the new decision that is the mistake – couldn’t it also be the old one ?

 

4 STAR BLOG TOUR BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Review – The Contract by Melanie Moreland

Today we are sharing some teasers from The Contract Series by NYT and USA Today Bestselling author Melanie Moreland. You can grab The Contract now, and the recent novella in the series, The Baby Clause 2.0. Buy links, and teasers, for each title are below.

————————–

The Contract by Melanie Moreland

Available Now!

Blurb:

A tyrant by day, a playboy by night. That is the reputation that precedes Richard VanRyan. He lives life the way he wants, no concern for the opinion of others. He cares for no one, is completely unrepentant, and he has no desire to change his ways.

Katharine Elliott works under Richard as his PA. She despises him and his questionable ethics, but endures all the garbage he sends her way, because she needs the job. Her end goal is far more important than the daily abuse and demands she tolerates from her nasty tyrant of a boss.

Until the day, he asks her for something she never expected. A new role with a personal contract — fiancée instead of PA.

What happens when two people who loathe each other, have to live together and act as though they are madly in love?

Sparks.

That’s what happens.

Can the power of love really change a person?

Will they survive the contract?

What do you do when the one person you hate the most becomes the one person you can’t live without?

——–

Purchase Now

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo | GooglePlay


PURCHASE THE NOVELLA

Purchase Now

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo | GooglePlay

 

 

———————

AUTHOR INFORMATION:

Melanie Moreland – Bio:

New York Times/USA Today bestselling author Melanie Moreland, lives a happy and content life in a quiet area of Ontario with her beloved husband of twenty-seven-plus years and their rescue cat Amber. Nothing means more to her than her friends and family, and she cherishes every moment spent with them.

While seriously addicted to coffee, and highly challenged with all things computer-related and technical, she relishes baking, cooking, and trying new recipes for people to sample. She loves to throw dinner parties, and also enjoys travelling, here and abroad, but finds coming home is always the best part of any trip.

Melanie delights in a good romance story with some bumps along the way, but is a true believer in happily ever after. When her head isn’t buried in a book, it is bent over a keyboard, furiously typing away as her characters dictate their creative storylines to her, often with a large glass of wine keeping her company.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Newsletter

 

InkSlinger PR Blogger Banner - New

 

 

3.5

Surprisingly enough I really enjoyed this book.

We have the rich man whore Hero. Not only is he a man whore but a cold hearted, caustic bastard who has no thought for anyone else or their life.

I must say I thought I’d hate him but I didn’t. The author brings his arse-holish ways over as somewhat endearing. Crazy I know but true.

Richard VanRyan is one of the biggest dicks in the city. He’s been passed up for a promotion AGAIN so it is time to get a little payback.

In no way, whatsoever was this going to turn out well but he has a plan for everything and for some reason the heroine goes along with it.

We also have the gentle soul virgin heroine. Yes, a typically trope nowadays. But she does have a backbone and comes into her own and isn’t a doormat heroine.

I enjoyed the story from how it went from loathing, to tolerating from tolerating to allies and in the end to lovers. It is cheesy as hell but somehow it worked. Sometimes there is a need for some cheese.

The author kept it upbeat and knew when to activate the waterworks. Worth a read IMO.

2 STAR BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Damage Control by Eva King

 

 

 

Damage Control

  

Damage Control
Eva King
May 2017

 

Recovering from a broken relationship, Emma Mitchell moves in with her best friend. Her life is quiet and uneventful, just how she likes it. Little does she know that the events of the following months will change her life forever. 
 
Famous Hollywood actor James McNair is a renowned womaniser with a penchant for partying and hitting the tabloids for all the wrong reasons. When a night of partying a little too hard means he finally has to take stock and reevaluate his lifestyle, a week away from the flashing lights of Hollywood is just what he needs. What better place to hide than in his childhood home in Edinburgh, Scotland?
 
When the old friends are reunited, feelings resurface and sparks fly. But James must keep the pretence of his new persona until the premier of his biggest film in his career. He just has no idea if he’ll be able to keep his feelings for Emma under wraps until then.

Sometimes it takes more than damage control to find a happily ever after.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 STAR ARC BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Review – Leave The Night On by Laura Trentham

Leave The Night On Book Cover Leave The Night On
Cottonbloom #4
Laura Trentham
Contemporary Romance
St. Martin's Press
1st August 2017
ebook/Kindle Edition/Paperback
350

Love, betrayal, and sweet revenge--life in Cottonbloom is about to get a whole lot hotter . . .

Sutton Mize is known for lavishing attention on the customers who flock to her boutique on the wealthy side of her Mississippi town. So when she finds a lace thong in her fiance's classic cherry-red Camaro, she knows just who she sold it to: her own best friend. In an instant, Sutton's whole world goes up in flames. . .

Wyatt Abbott has harbored a crush on Sutton since he was a young kid from the other side of the tracks. He witnessed Sutton's shocking discovery in the Camaro at his family-owned garage--and it made him angry. What kind of man could take lovely, gorgeous Sutton for granted? But then Sutton comes up with an idea: Why not give her betrothed a taste of his own medicine and pretend that she's got a lover of her own? Wyatt is more than happy to play the hot-and-heavy boyfriend. But what begins as a fictional affair soon develops into something more real, and more passionate, than either Sutton or Wyatt could have imagined. Could it be that true love has been waiting under the hood all along?

4 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF REVIEW

Record of Wrongs (Redemption County #1) by Sharon Kay

 

 

Do your past mistakes define you forever?

Cruz Zaffino leaves prison after a serving a decade for a crime he didn’t commit. With his life all over the internet, there’s nowhere he can go to avoid his illicit past. Involved with one of Chicago’s toughest gangs, he made enemies bent on ruining everything he has. Nowhere is beyond their reach.

Every day, Rosie Marlow lives with the scars from the worst mistake of her life. It’s the one secret she has in her tiny, gossip-fueled town. When Cruz walks into her bar, covered in tattoos and dangerous attitude, she’s captivated. His rough sexuality makes her melt, and his harsh experience calls to her own broken soul. But her story is private and buried so deep, she’s never had the strength to share it.

She’s the unexpected light to his darkness, yet he knows she’s hiding something. Sultry summer nights in each other’s arms weaken her resistance and taunt her with the idea of forever. But as his adversaries draw close, can she love him enough to let him go?

 

Every Saint has a past and every sinner has a future. – Oscar Wilde –

What a great start to the series. This was so good. It had everything that kept my heart beating. Well balanced angst, downright filthy with a side dish of sweet.

Cruz threw a dart on a whim to start a new life and landed in Sundown, Illinois. Population 782. A quaint town where everyone knows everyone.

He got a job, rented a house and could leave any time with no regrets. Just to start afresh. Trying to deal with ten years of prison for a crime he didn’t commit. He was exonerated. But those ten years are still gone. Things change when he goes out for a drink.

How in the hell had he been in this room for ninety minutes and not noticed her?

Rosie Harlow is the sweet country girl she works at the Sundown Bar and Grille. She’s taking life as it comes. And for the moment it’s going well until someone walks up to the bar. And for her things change as well.

Whoa. Her mind and body stopped. Froze. Her mouth may have dropped open. Because walking toward the bar, cutting path through the busy country cacophony, was a dark force of nature.

Despite the “don’t mess with me” attitude he is one of the good ones. The past stays no matter where you go. And for these two lovebirds it is no different. Rosie finds out about Cruz being an ex-inmate and being exonerated unfortunately from her brother but she still gives Cruz a chance.

Cruz realises that is path could have gone a different route. He dodged a bullet

Gang life, dodged a bullet. He is one of the good ones. A dark knight, an anti-Hero. He saves her and their lives become intertwined. Rosie has secrets and it is heart breaking what these two have gone through how they grow together and have something real special.

Ms. Kay got all the emotions spot on in the book. I love her writing style as well. She captivates you and pulls you into the story. Besides I’m a fan of small town romances everything has a slower pace.

I docked a star cause there were two things that I guessed that were going to happen. But it doesn’t make the story any less exciting and feel good as it was.

Book 2 – Shane and Becca Gable. And you know what? I can’t wait.

 

 

 

5 STAR ARC BOOKPROMO BOOKSHELF RECOMMEND RELEASE REVIEW

Release – The Silent (Irin Chronicles #5) by Elizabeth Hunter

The Silent Book Cover The Silent
Irin Chronicles # 5
Elizabeth Hunter
Paranormal/Fantasy
Elizabeth Hunter
28th July
ebook/Kindle Edition/Paperback
336

They are called kareshta, the silent ones.
But the silent are waking.

Kyra has lived her life in the shadow of a powerful Grigori brother. She’s ignored her own desires for the good of her family, but an unexpected request from Thailand sends her on a mission that could change her life and alter the fate of free Grigori all over the world. Sons of the Fallen hidden in the mountains of Thailand have adapted an ancient human magic for their own purposes. Will this practice bring peace or lead to even greater danger for the Irin race?

A simple diplomatic mission sends Leo to Bangkok, but he didn’t expect to see a familiar face in surveillance photographs. He’s tried everything to drive Kyra from his mind, since he was convinced the gentle kareshta wanted to hide from the world. How did she turn up halfway across the globe, living with Grigori who may or may not be Irin allies?

Leo has bided his time. He’s given Kyra her space.

But this scribe is ready to hear a kareshta sing.

THE SILENT is a romantic fantasy, and the fifth book in the Irin Chronicles series.

 

 

Still the mind. Still the soul. Still the heart.

Kyra, one of the oldest Kareshta is in a gilded cage and the time has come for her to spread her wings and fly. Sent to Thailand on a mission to help others in her situation in return the they will help their fellow Grigori.

Kyra might seem demure but she is far from it. She has an inner strength that would rival any Irina. As the daughter of a cardinal angel she has her own powers but The Silent are still trying to find their voices. The Irina are skeptical to pass on the knowledge they have. The Rending broke a lot and it will take time to heal.

I had my difficulties with Kyra but through her development throughout the book she really started to stand out. I liked her and then I loved her but torn at the same time. She wanted to live the life she has to the fullest but she is on borrowed time.

Leo is sent to Thailand to open up communications between the Thailand Scribe house and the honorable Grigori. Finally, to his surprise he can get closer to Kyra.

Now Leo on the other hand I love Leo. He knows exactly what he wants. Kyra. And no one can stop him. He is badass with a soft and gooey center. He is absolutely adorable. I want my own Leo.

“I’m very large,” he said. “Damian says if I’m not thinking about it, I can mow through a room like an enthusiastic tank.” Kyra smiled. “I’ve never felt mowed down.” “I’m glad.”

Be still my beating heart. I wanted to wrap him up in a big bow and take him with me.

Leo & Kyra have been on a collision course for years now and the inevitable is finally happening. Each love that is created by Ms. Hunter between the main characters of the book is beautiful, unique and wonderful to experience.

Kyra is other. Leo’s heart ached for her. They try a relationship and although they are different it works. They are both vulnerable and inexperienced. Although though they are so different. Leo comes across as naïve but he is just very optimistic.

Throughout most of the books we made to believe that the Grigori are evil very few manage to lead an honorable life. But here a balance has been achieved. And I sympathize with Kostas, Sirius and the other honorable Grigori.

Beautifully written. Flawless writing and absolutely stunning. With each new book Ms. Hunter expands the Irin/Grigori world that flows well and isn’t stilted. That the possibilities here are endless. What I love about these books is that there is no other man/woman drama there is no room for as they are either mated or Reshon.

One of my favorite side characters? Vasu. There is something quite childlike about him but also mature if that makes sense. He talks in riddles and is hilarious.

“I’ll let Kyra know you’re thinking about helping her brother,” Leo said. “I’m sure she’d be grateful.” Vasu disappeared and reappeared as a cat that jumped on Leo’s lap. “You try to create obligation in me. It’s an interesting theory. I told them you were smarter than you appeared,” the cat said, curling up on Leo’s lap. “Now pet me.” “Are you serious?” Narrow claws dug into Leo’s leg.

What is to come next? What I would like to see? A Grigori male and an Irina. But I’m positive no matter what Ms. Hunter will knock me off my feet.

I do have one small thing to complain about. I hope that the plot will not be a constant throughout other books that are too come. Not that I don’t love her plots I just don’t want the author to get stuck in a rut.

Oh, and another thing when we introduced to Kenneth I swear that I heard his British accent in my head. Exactly what a Brit should sound like.

 

 

1 2 3 7